(2008/11) November 2008

joyce,

my bb is 15.5 weeks liao...2 weeks later he will be going for his 2nd dose of pneumoccoccal vaccination. I have checked the price at the PD...she charges $150 for pneumoccoccal
i know... got some masks at home...last time hb sick always ask him to wear mask... but hor, i tried...very hot leh...so i gave up using mask....juz keep my fingers crossed that my baby will not get it from me.

alibaba

rota will not cause fever if i remember correctly...but 5-in-1, 6-in-1 or pneumoccocal may cause fever for up to 2 days max.

lynn

poor thing...like that bo pian...i guess u also can't wait to get back to work to avoid being wif ur MIL so often. Perhaps it is also a blessing in disguise that she doesn't look after ur bb...else may result in more conflict? Next time try to schedule lots of activities with hb and ur bb during weekends...then can avoid seeing ur MIL so much..,.

Fifi,
Yups, heeded your advice, hardened my heart and left the house early in the morning so that my mum can try and bottle feed the baby without me as a distraction to the baby. My colleague also taught me a trick, she said to feed the baby some fresh EBM then followed by FBM because the baby has been so used to having it fresh when she latched on. And true enough, the trick plus the fact that i wasn't around the whole morning, the baby is now taking to the bottle again! WHEW!

MILs:
My MIL always professed to be very modern and forward thinking but she has so many superstitions! Some are really ridiculous too! She told me not to talk so much to the baby or the baby will grow up to be a very talkative girl. :mad:

Hurting Wrist:
I have that too! Started when my baby turned 2 months. Think it's the way we carry the baby, my wrist is stiff when i wake up in the morning.

Krystel:
When i called the LC at KKH yesterday regarding my blister and blocked duct, she said latch on using football hold till the blister recovers. Think have to find out the reason behind your blister too. Most prob due to the way the baby is latched on, have to change that if it's the case.

Kash,
he look so cute on the bumbo chair!! i am tinking to buy tis anot cos.. tot maybe he will sit on it for awhile only... wanna buy 2nd hand one . but lazy to find online. hahaha..

Bear,
Ya lor. keep telling us to have children yet dash my hope for not helping me out. On the other hand, I console myself that being a SAHM, I can witness, bond and grow together with my children which is something money cant buy. So just take it in my stride lor.

Happywifey/lynn,
I'm a SAHM and I also pump. Tried to give bottle in the day and fully latched on at night. Pumping supply also not that great. But when latched on, milk ss is too much and let-down too fast that she could hardly catch up. Usually she will pull away when let down is strong and in the end milk spraying all over her face.

Haru,
I need help.... I think my bb is having nipple confusion. All the while we have been giving her bottle since she was 3-4weeks old but started from last week she would put up a struggle whenever bottle teat is placed in her mouth. She would scream and cried till I bo pian and give my breast then she will calm down and suck. Does yours also have the same problem especially you fully latch on most of the time other than at work. When a bottle feed is given, are you the 1 feedeing or someone else? How to tell if it is really nipple confusion?

<font color="ff0066"> Lynn</font>
No worries. Maybe you can take a look at her website first to find out more about the carrier yah.

<font color="ff006"> happywifey</font>
No worries...

<font color="ff0066"> Kash</font>
Wow!! Your boi can sit up liaoz. So impressive. Somemore he looks so cute and happy sitting there.

My gal still cannot cos her back still like soft soft leh. How do you find the bumbo seat? Good? I'm thinking of getting the pink one.

<font color="ff0066"> alibaba</font>
My gynae is a female - Dr Phyllis Liauw - TLC clinic @ TMC. Alternatively her partner, Dr Eunice Chua is also quite good. I find her charges quite ok lah.

I'm also thinking whtehr to buy the bumbo seat or not. Now the online store kidzloft got sale mah. Maybe you wanna take a look at it?
http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?cPath=40

<font color="ff0066"> Krystel</font>
Whenever I have blocked duct, after lots of massaging.. I will get a milk blister. This happens cos not only is the duct blocked... but the nipple opening also stucked.
Wat I will do is sterilise a needle by wiping wz alcohol then prick the blister. Then after bb has suckled, the skin there will be soften and I will kinda scratch it away lor.

You can refer to this webby for details on milk blister (aka Milk Plugs):
http://www.loveyourbaby.com/blocked-milk-duct-treatment-and-prevention.html

<font color="aa00aa">Female Gynae</font>
My Gynae is from pacific health holding, previously from TMC as well.

I find her quite good compared to the other female gynaes i've visited. You may read up abt her here.

http://www.pachealthholdings.com/psp/specialist.htm

<font color="aa00aa">Mamypoko</font>
Is the cutting small ? Cos i'm using Huggies Ultra (M) and Nepia (S). Not sure if MamyPoko is like huggies so small de.. I find mamypoko material is close to huggies ultra, so wanna try. 72pieces is what size ah ?

<font color="aa00aa">Bumbo Chair</font>
When do we start to use it for our little ones ?
Kash > Your boy looks so adorable !!!

<font color="aa00aa">Dymples</font>
Have seen you in most of the BPs and sprees .. hehe, think we got the same taste!
e.g : Bugaboo, Balboa Sling, Wetbags..

alibaba, teenweeny, dymples,

thanks thanks
no lah, he can't sit upright yet... that's why i placed him on the bumbo chair. Coz I find he very bored everyday either lie down or on tummy. But as they can't sit upright now so i will let him sit for awhile only...when more stable, u can place him there longer to watch tv etc..

i bought this 2nd hand from the forum last time for my #1.... good lah, now use for #2... material is very durable and good...for sure can keep long long if u intend to have more kids later...else, can also resell it

dymples,

the pink one is soooo nice! that time coz i got it 2nd hand, it was either blue or green, i chose the blue colour...

fifi,

u were asking abt citric acid for descaling the sterilizer? I bought it from avent showroom. they sell in packs of 10.

Re : mamypoko is soft and the cutting is bigger than huggies.

Dymples, no idea why my back hurt aft using Bjorn leh.. may be its becos i slouch.. haha..:p anyway we haven't used it for awhile cos we are training him with the stroller.

Kash, ur boy so cute leh.. i can't wait to get mine on the Bumbo too..
must wait another 4 wks although he can sit with pillows by his side.

Alibaba, a lot of ppl are selling their bumbo on the forum.. can check them out. i borrowed mine from a fren cos they can't sit long in there.. think till 6 mths at most.

Dymples ah.. the usual price of a Bumbo is $60+ leh.. that website is not having a sale lah.. seems like they marked up the price!

teeny weeny,
mamy poko 72 pieces is S, 3-8kg if am not wrong. the cutting is bigger than huggies and similar to pampers. hv been using pampers in the day and mamy poko at night, but am starting to prefer mamy poko cos baby's poo poo has been starting to leak thru pampers more often these days.

oh, i bought the balboa sling too! does your baby like it?

kash,
wow, yr boy looks all grown up on the bumbo seat! my baby still cant sit upright, still slouchy slouchy looking haha.

<font color="aa00aa">Kash</font>
Thanks for the sizing !! Was thinking to go and take a look at NTUC later on or tmr to stock up! heh heh..

<font color="aa00aa">Bumbo Seat</font>
I was thinking of renting it, cos i chanced upon a website that rents toys and thought its quite feasible for us cos i'ma SAHM and dun wanna anyhow spend on big ticket toys (no space in the hse also) then i realised that they also have smaller items to rent too! Like the bumbo seat! hehee..

<font color="ff0066"> teenyweeny</font>
hehehhe... yup yup... tink our taste quite similar.

Btw, have you start using your balboa sling already? Is it good? I'm still waiting for mine to come in.
But now will be getting the Beco carrier... so may end up selling the sling away. *faintz* cannot let hub see this or else...

<font color="ff0066"> Kash</font>,
Nice hor... I also tempted cos the pink is sssooo sweet lor. Usually when I go out.. can only see either yellow, green or purple bumbo's. Hv not come across pink b4.

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>
Really har... price marked up.. then dun tink will buy from there liaoz. Thks so much. Terrible lah these retailers.

<font color="aa00aa">happywifey</font>
I haven got to use it yet! Just tried it on once to test. heheeh, cos the idea was to use it when i'm alone bringing aden out. Cos the Bjorn seems to be a little more tough to handle on my own.
Which colour did u get? So far the 1st time i tried it on, aden slept in it, all cuddled up..

Diapers > I wanted to use Huggies Ultra for night also, but hubby was saying no point trying to save, cos if baby kenna diaper rash (suay suay) go see doc also needa spend $$.
Does Mamypoko hold up well ?

Dymples, when i saw that u said Kidzloft got sale for bumbo i tot i can get one at $40-50! saw that it was still the same at $65 wat.. hehe... try looking for 2nd hand one.. unless u gg to have more kids?? wahaha...

Triangle, the box says 3 mths onwards. but i think its up to indiv babies. u have to see if ur bb's neck and spine are strong enough.

I think this sling is more comparable to those of MIM or sarong kind, cos the weight distribution is solely on the shoulders. But what i really like is the padding and the material. Its not those thin thin cloth type, the trimmings, stitching and material can tell is of good quality. But then again, to each its own ..

kash> ur boy so cute! he's so alert! my boy's neck still not very strong leh, maybe i should try the bumbo chair after 4 mths.

oic... I bot it cos it looks better then those MIM or pouches. Plus I tink it's handy cos can stuff into bb bag for use during 'emergenices' mah. Like when go out shopping and #2 wanna sleep in stroller... can sling bb lor.

Btw, I've tried Huggies Ultra &amp; Mamy Poko for night. Both hold up quite well. Nepia also not bad. One way to prevent diaper rash is to apply lots of barrier cream b4 putting on the diapers. I use Pureen brand. Find it much better then Drapolene.

OMG!!! Cannot have more lah. ALready got 3 and my house like mayhem during the weekends and weekday nights. I really pity my neighbours lor. Everynight can hear me yelling at my gals to stop screaming and yelling, playing and jumping all over the place. *faintz*

think we can let them sit once their neck is firm.. my gal's neck still wobble.. cant sit on her own. i save $$, no nid buy Bumbo haha

Yes, i agree! All the designs are very nice ! I'ma sucker lar when it comes to this typa designs.. hehehe..

Diaper Rash Cream > I'm using A&amp;D recommended by my friend in the states and always slap on gao gao for Aden, so far so good ! *crosses fingers*

Diapers > Think i'll have to pop by NTUC to check out the Mamypoko!

Carrier - looks like only my gal cries on the carrier... she loves her stroller so much man. Now i nid to train her on carrier. sighz. Anyone knows stroller can board airplane mah?

Good Afternoon Ladies,

Bumbo Seat, i have 1 too, haven let my girl try yet though. i think the recommended age is 4 months up if i not wrong. when bb head is stable.

kash: i wanna buy bumbo seat already...seeing ur boy in it so cute...i agree lie down so boring all the time.

How much is bumbo sold at stores?

*hi-5* babe. We really are similar. *LOL* Me too!! A sucker for nice and unique designs. Find it hard to resist the temptation.
2150226.gif

<font color="ff0066"> Mummy</font>
Not all strollers and prams can push to the aerobridge. The heavier types usually hv to check-in as baggae. The last time I went BKK (last yr June), I managed to push my Maclaren Quest to the Aerobridge. Then the crew will take and keep in the aeroplane. After the plane land, the ground crew will take out and put on the aerobridge for us to collect.

teeny weeny,
i bought the dotted daisy brown, how about u? i find it abit hard to put baby in but once in, its ok, even managed to nurse her in it
i also bought it cos of the design, haha.

re: mamy poko holds up very well for my baby, i like that its quite 'cushiony' for baby buttocks too

dymples,
u also have the sling and wanna buy the beco too? haha! actually me too, just trying to resist the temptation of the beco now otherwise hubby will think that am buying all the pretty slings for myself instead of baby! :p

my baby doesnt seem to like any sling, carrier or stroller, and hates the car seat too. the only way to be out with her without crying is in our arms. its been quite a headache bringing her out

any advice from mummies?

kash: your boy so cute. still can pose for the camera. my boy the neck also still not very stable. how old is your boy?

carrier:
so far so good he like the sling, very comforty inside. i try the stroller. he don reali like it. i guess because of the seat belt. he can scream to get out of it. haizz.. waste money.

Food: any mummies starting the baby rice cereal when reach 4 mth? what other kind of food? and how frequent plus quantity? i read about starting baby food too soon will develope food allergies easier in the later stage...

Re: Bumbo
More details here http://www.bumboseat.com/ apparently 6 wks old also can use, as long as baby can hold their heads up.
and they have PINK too!

Dymples, hahaha.. so funny.. ya 3 kids not easy to handle. heard that gals are easier to handle? can't imagine if u have 3 boys.. i always find boys more active. always must jump here, jump there.. see them play i tired liao.

Happywifey, u gotta grit ur teeth and let ur gal wail for a bit.. everyday u gotta let her try the stroller or the carrier. try one first and when she is ok with it then move on to the next one. for the stroller, dun pick her up when she cries. let her cry for a min or two and try to distract her first.

blessed

i think in stores are selling at $69? sometimes JL has 20% off u can get it cheaper as well.

teenweeny

mamypoko holds pretty well. My gal has been using it for her night time diaper and going out diaper all the while. dunno why my gal doesn't suit huggies ultra at all always leak

my boy now seems to take huggies quite well... so i conclude every baby/toddler is different..think base on their thighs... but my boy is also wearing mamypoko for night time. We change at about 12.30am and can last till next morning at abt 10.30am.

i used baby cubes to store purees last time for my gal. For porridge, we cook fresh. if cook for both lunch and dinner, I will put the dinner in the thermal container. I nvr freeze porridge b4 leh...

Lynn,

i started my gal only at 5th mth last time with healthy times cereal.... most babies love HT. dunno why. I remembered i tried her on Heinz she spat out. After cereal, u can try fruit puree like apples or veg like sweet potato, pumpkin. suggest no need to start at 4th mth. I also plan to start my boy this time after 5 mths or later. my boy is 15.5 weeks now.

amooks,

yah, after 4th mth will be more stable. As I kept the bumbo in the storeroom for quite long liao, i can't wait to use it again...hehee...will let him sit for a few minutes only now...

^5 back! Hubby is beginning to suspect I’m shopping more for myself instead! Ahaha
Any idea if the bugaboo can fit into the aerobridge ?

<font color="aa00aa">Happywifey</font>
I bought the Geisha Trim.. Very nice hor… Its one of the slings I found that looks very trendy :0)

My son was also like urs, dun like sling, and fusses when in the stroller. But as he grew, we realized as long as he senses motion, he is fine, in fact can sleep through-out!

<font color="aa00aa">Lynn</font>
I have ordered some organic cereals via the spree. Its from Happybellies I think. My PD advised to introduce at about 6mths preferably. I got the brown rice and multi-grain. From the reviews like not bad wor..

<font color="aa00aa">Kash</font>
Previously I compared the prices with Ultra and Mamy it was about the same, but now knowing there’s a promotion, Mamy works out to be cheaper so wanna try .. Like pretty good hearing for all the mummies here

Anyone still want stuff from Drugstore? Some colleagues want something.

p.s. I've already ordered the first teeth, fenugreek and lasinoh milkbags for those who indicated they wanted.

kash,
Ur boy look so cute sitting on the bumbo chair.

Alibaba,
There is a Thomson Women Clinic @ AMKhub. If I'm nt wrong, thats a female gynae.

rice cereals:
I cant wait to give cereals when bb reached 4th mth. I really dunnoe what to do with my bb. Juz now for 1hr, he refused to drink at all. He juz spit all out. PD even said this cld be his STYLE. I'm really gg crazy soon. But most mummies here advice after 5th mth. What to do? Haiz.

Jenn,
I already bought 2 pk of MamyPoko from NTUC at $21.50 after I seen one of the post here on diaper discount. Are u still gg to buy it online? Issit cheaper? Feel like buying if its much cheaper but no place to store leh.

tri_angel,
Wow, ur bb gal weighs ard 8kg at 3.5mths. My boy is now 6.9kg at 3.5mths.

<font color="ff0066"> happywifey</font>
Yup. Me now getting the Beco too. I told hub that the sling is to put in BB's bag cos it's more compact and light.
Then can sling BB when bb dun wanna sit in stroller or if #2 wanna nap in the stroller. Slinging bb is easier then carrying in our arms mah.
But the Beco is for those days when I wanna bring bb out using carrier only wz-out stroller. hehehhe... Diff slings for diff use mah.

*LOL* yah... when I see my gals hoping and skiping... jumping and yelling... I'm thankful tat they are gals. Cannot imagine if they're boys.
Sure faintz and holler till my voice hoarse. hehehhehehe...
2150598.gif

<font color="ff0066"> Teenyweeny</font>
If I'm not wrong, the Bugaboo Bee is ok to travel on aerobridge. But tink it's better if you call the airline before hand to check cos diff airline got diff ruling.
You going on overseas trip? Holiday?

kash
Your boy is so handsome!!! Can book for my girl? :p

Happywifey
My girl is quite like yours. I don't have a stroller but intend to get one. She used to like the Bjorn but now quite fussy in it. Sigh.

re: mamy poko

website is www.bbshop.com.sg but since ntuc is having at cheaper price then can buy from ntuc. When promotion is over den can consider buying from this website ba but must buy $100 worth den have free delivery to 1 location only..

jo, if u wanna stock up den can buy wor.. 6 packets at one go.. hehe~

Kash,
After seeing ur boy pict on bumbo chair, i went to take mine out. Put my gal in it.. over-ambitious.. cos her head not steady yet.. haha. So no choice.. back to the storeroom it goes.

Amooks,
my bb drinking still same. Vol not much, considered bb of her age. She's coming to 4mths lor, but she's less than 6kg. Hopefully that's becos she is a small eater. And her intake fluctuates. So hard to catch.

Jo,
i'm also waiting and waiting to start her on semi-solid food. Hope it would be a better experience than drinking milk. *fingers crossed* But for now, guess we have to live with their styles and pump in more milk for these 1-2 months.

fifi,
does drugstore sell the spare parts kit and funnels for freestyle?

dymples,
haha, you so funny! but you hv 2 babies, guess that justifies trying out different carriers etc since all babies are different. i only have one, and a itchy backside one that doesnt like to be put down! but do let me know after the demo tmrw, am quite itchy backside myself!

teeny weeny,
i was considering the geisha trim too! let me know how your baby takes to the sling, maybe u can give me some tips! hv been wearing the sling out wihtout baby in it, think i like it more than her, haha!

karen,
maybe time to shop for another carrier, keke! beco? balboa?? haha, am such a bad influence ;p

Mine is the Cameleon, cos this july/aug gotta go back HK for my SILs baby’s full month, so wondering whether or not shld bring the stroller. But come to think of it, HK not like Spore. Very cramp and not very stroller-friendly.. so maybe just bring the carriers ba

<font color="aa00aa">happywifey</font>
Wa, you wear the sling out w/o the baby so stylo ah! Heheh!

<font color="aa00aa">Mamypoko</font>
Just went to grab a pack from NTUC! Its $21.90 Can’t wait to try them out!

<font color="aa00aa">blessed11</font>
Hello! http://www.rent-that-toy.com/ToysInfo.php?id=18 Its $10 for 1 month.

<font color="ff0066"> happywifey</font>
heheheh... yah lor... wz this type of 'reasoning' hub also boh pianz. *LOL*
You also berry cute leh... carry the sling but wz-out bb in it. Cannot imagine. Did your hub see it?

Oic... yup yup. If going HKG, I dun advise bringing stroller. Tink carrier will be more suited bah.

<font color="ffoo66"> Mamypoko</font>
Yeah!! Will pop by NTUC tomorrow to grab some. My stocks running low liaoz.

Alibaba,
I'm seeing my gynae Dr Yvonne Chan at TMC. Find her very assuring and professional. Located on 6th floor. You may want to try her service.

Kash,
Ur boy look so cute in the bumbo seat. I wanted to buy one but hubby say waste $$. Sigh..
Probably i can secretly go buy one 2nd hand one.

Hi, sorry to intrude...

got a Medela Pump In Style Advance with warranty til Feb 2010 and Avent Manual breast pump for sale (both pre loved). For more details, pls PM me. Thks!