(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Caicai...
Thanks for the pm! Michele asked me to check it out...and I booked the hotel from them. Really quite good deal!

Rina...
Cannot take everything wholesale from the blog...she is not always well behaved, in fact, she is starting the terrible 2 syndrome already!

Yes..she is a lucky kid....but i think no more travelling after these trips!

coold,
actually, I don't like dolls, stuffed toys and all that cutesy stuff. Only because of Jesse that I learn to talk to stuffed toys. That's probably why Disney doesn't appeal to me as much as Universal...of course when I'm there, I'll try to enjoy and I sure don't mind being photographer!

hi cindy
if u like to eat then u'll like taiwan! i put on weight after my taiwan trip! but in terms of sightseeing, i went to jiu fen - this mountaineous area where there are quite a few tea lodges. abit commercialised but quite nice to be drinking tea there. but think caitlyn may not like taiwan tho coz nothing for babies.

hey mick
i can only go for my trip in the 1st 2 weeks of april coz' my in laws are going for 2-weeks' holiday in china then. hokkaido sounds good too but can't go in may. i like tasmania - go stay in the cradle mountain lodge. i went there years ago and it was nice.

cindy
i also think Cait is sucha an angel when i read your blog

kaexin
was wondering will hokaido be cold for our kids?

cai2
our boys will be turning 2yo in 2mths time!

btw, any mummies still celebrate their 2nd lunar b'day with meesua + drumstick?
i hope i can will rmbr to do it on D's lunar day

kaizer has been whiney these few days. been coughing and is a bit phlegmy too. affected his food and milk intake. hope the medicine that we've been feeding him will get him well by weekend. otherwise my mum will be facing a whiney kid on saturday/sunday. i've already called her to "pre-empt" her abt his temperaments.

michele and d,
7.40pm sounds a wee bit too late. how long does the program last?

min,
how to calculate the chinese b-day? mine loves mee sua and chix wings, i'm sure my mum won't mind cooking mee sua with chix for him on his chinese b-day.

blueroti...
yes yes...i love to eat! think i m going to put on wt after the trip! as for tea...i don't like. but can take in the scenery lah. hahaha. as for our babies right now...i dun think they even care if there's anything for them to see or do...so long as they have the company of the people they love! if there's something for them it's a bonus!! i m so horrible hor.

min,
it's becos i call cait my lil' angel in the blog so u think she is like an angel! i have been thinking of changing it to my lil' terror instead...

s/w...
so sad to hear that. i think 10% means she is at the very advanced stage already...
poor girl...she's so young.

cindy
cait is not a terror.. all the photos you posted makes her sucha sweet gal!
actualy i always think that girls are better behaved not as irritating as boys

s/w
not sure how you count leh.
maybe can let you know that D born on 5 apr 07 which is lunar date of 2 nd month 18th day (lazy to convert into chinese character)

perhaps you can add on and agar Kai's lunar date
don't forget to add 1 hard boiled egg

hope Kai gets better.. i hate it when they cough.. it makes them wake up at night.
and D had been like a bull dozer lately as he prefers to sleep the horizontal position and kept stuffing his head underneath my pillow and then placing his feet on his dady's face!

lately D had been a terror.

e.g. when we waling on the street.. he can suddenly grab a passer-by's hand or a shopping bag when they walked passed us.
i tell you he had oredi frighten a few adults with his antics

and today he actually kicked a young chap standing beside us in the mrt. the young chap smile at him then D lagi happy.. went and kick more *faint*.

i seriously think i gonna get complaint calls from teacher everyday in future!

min , D so cute ...
he is not afraid of strangers , frenly lil chap !

my son is a shy boy , he usually kips to one corner and walk away when lil kids come up to him

s/w - to find out the lunar b'day - u'll need to look at the chinese calendar for that year.

for songs of the sea, there are only 2 timings - 7.40 and 8.40 if i'm not wrong

i'll also cook the meesua with chicken drumstick and hard boiled egg - mine loves noodles anyway but not really a fan of meat!

Min,
cher is also displaying terror 2 behaviour now. she alwy say, 'i dont want'. n if she ask for somtg n i dun give in to her request, she wld cry or throw tantrum. she is frdly to strangers too but she wld jus wave n say hi. D is so frdly, mus mt up w u agn one of these days. does D get bored at hm? cher does..

CoolD,
same for JK = 16 milk teeth. total 20 milk teeth.

chinese horoscope:
i realized there are at least 6 horses in our thread. not trying to b kapo "release" any1 age but knowing these "herds" in our thread

at least:
4 each from bunny and dragon
3 snakes
2 each from moo moo n tigress
1 monkey

i dunno s/w's horoscope, only know she is very young

augleo
wah, so JK has his full set of teeth liao. Started brushing wif toothpaste?

Btw, is s/w the only 80s mummy? i still rmbr our some time back zoo outing, my hb commented she is a young n energetic mummy

J only has 16 teeth too...
But has been acting like he's teething since...a few months ago. Haha. Maybe he's like me, always cranky.

Wah...6 horses...horse year very popular!

i'm back in the office today =) my chinese sign is chicken (1981). i think there are younger april mummies than me, ie kris, who's sign is a dog (1982). but don't see her online often nowadays.

augleo,
i shall go and count kaizer's teeth when he sleeps tonight.

Long time not been here. How's everyone?

Sandwich,
The mum of the little girl is my friend's friend.
I felt so heartache knowing what the girl has to go through.

Leo,
how you count the number of teeth JK has?
Nic not willing to open her mouth long enough for me to count.

Cool D,
Im also 80s but I dont think I'm that young looking as Sandwich. I agree she's very young looking.

darbebe
oops .. hehe, dats not wat i meant :p
Btw, u found a playgrp for nic liao?

re counting teeth
can try open ur mouth 1st, let nic see. Than ask her open hers let u c??

s/w
i thot u are like mid-80s

Darbebe,

we're fine.

I don't "count" J's teeth per se. All his teeth have sprouted except for the four back molars at each corner, so I know he has 16 teeth. Jesse chomps at me if I stick my finger in...but when I'm feeding him or when he laughs, I just take a quick look. If it's still that one molar...we know he's still at 16.

What I'd like to know is...

s/w
you mean you can touch Kaizer when he's sleeping and he won't wake up?

hi sandwich
i juz read your the blog and it's really very very heartrenching...i really hope charmaine will get well soon. i've also heard of 2 frens whose 4-year-old kids were diagnosed with leukaemia last year...met 1 of them recently and she was pretty upbeat as her girl was doing well. but i can tell she was also putting up a brave front.

halo cindy
i love the original ah zhong mian xian at ximenting! all the customers will juz hang around the shop and slurp it all up while standing (there're no chairs/tables)! if u like spicy food, juz put a few drops of the chilli oil in - not too much coz' it's really hot!
i had that 3/4 days in a row, and juz b4 i went to the airport!
and there's also a hot pot restaurant in ximenting (on the fringe) wh is pretty good. it's S$15 per pax (but duno if the price has gone up) and the buffet spread for the hot pot is much better than what you've in s'pore, but they've a lot of the chicken/pig/duck innards etc. different sauces, and you get ice cream and a big packet of green tea as well. we had that like twice/thrice. but can't remember the shop's name. and if you like those braised chicken/duck organs etc., there's this shop in ximenting too that sells chicken heart, duck feet and duno wat. i dun dare to eat but my hubby said the chicken heart is nice and tender! = o P
there're some dessert shops there too and the serving is huge! and i like the papaya milk in tetra packs that you can get fr the convenience stores. it's been like 5 years (i think) since i went and yet every time i talk about it, i drool! and the memories of the food is so vivid!
but shopping wise, it's not great - at least for me coz i'm not into those frilly sweetie clothes.

Chinese Horoscope:
at least:
6 horses
4 each from bunny and dragon
3 snakes
2 each from moo moo n tigress
1 each from monkey, piglet, goat, doggy and hen

still "incomplete" yet

short of mouse???

darbebe,
whenever "new arrival" will take note

8 each from top n bottom.
usually when JK is laughing, will take a peep.
if not, my finger will take the "risk" to feel

Leo,

if JK is as sensitive as J, then wah...when I cry/tears flow, he'll usually listen to me. hahaha. But I don't fake cry lah... once he bit me so hard, my eyes watered and I milked it for what it was worth. Now he knows he cannot bite me...so far so good.

Then, yesterday I was soooo frustrated with him, I just cried...and then he ate.

re: teeth
My boy's teeth are growing quite slowly. Till now I think he's about 10 but can see 3 sprouting. Becoz of his lack of teeth, we tend to give him soft food (porridge) that are easy to swallow. But now, what worries me is that he still can't chew well. I guess it's becoz' we've been giving him soft food & he tends to swallow rather than chew. I don't know if it's become a habit. Really have no idea how to encourage him to chew. I've tried showing him the action of chewing & remind him constantly to chew his food. He can even tell me 'Chew food' when he eats but he doesn't really do it. To encourage him to bite & chew, I've tried giving him biscuits but will always break them into smaller pieces in case he just decided to swallow them. But then it defeated its purpose as this won't encourage him to bite and chew. However, if I don't do that, I'm afraid he may choke as he tends to swallow. There r a few occasions where he choked as he didn't chew well. Can give me some tips abt this issue?

sandwich,
As a mother, I understand that it's really heartwrenching watching the once healthy child falling so sick and there's little a parent can do to ease the child's suffering. Will pray for her & may she fight away the cancerous cells & have a speedy recovery!

fransea,

J is not into chewing meats or even "overcooked" fish. But he'll chew french fries, onion rings, chips, bread/toast, apples, cornflakes... guess it's a matter of motivation. I don't encourage fried foods though...we're just lax.

fransea , initially i was also worried abt zac's choking on foods .

usually i will break the biscuit into half and gv him .

recently , i cut the apple into strips like french fries and he began chomping on them .
last time , he was very used to eating scrapped apples / small bite size biscuits etc

and i notice he is more willing to chew meat nowadays . last time he will spit out the meat .

i heard fm my coll if we dun train them to chew and alwys gv them mashed foodstuff , next time they will be lazy to chew the bits/pieces.

as for no. of teeth , i think he had many teeth and i am not as brave as leo to put my fingers into his mouth , he is a terror

think D has the least no. of teeth!! he only got 12 teeth! gosh so pathetic and 4 'dracular' teeth on way out.
PD say can't be helped that his so so slow in teething.

but he can chomp on big pc of meat / bread and also normal slice of apple and can eat and eat w/o drinking water!

Sanrio
yeah.. we shd meet up soon. wanna see Cher!
D nvr show signs of boredness maybe coz i always let him watch DVD whilst i cooked or i tend to bring him out almost everyday to buy my lunch or grocery shoppin.

cai2
D is too friendly oredi. he can go up to any stranger and pat their hand then look up at them and give a cheeky smile
then if stranger wanna take him away.. he is more than willing and can say 'bye' to me anytime!!!!!

I'm Little Meh Meh.

Raphael also stuck with 16 teeths. He loves to chew hard things since 10mth old. Never really likes soft porridge. He eats rice and drink soup seperately.He loves vegetables not a meat eater too.

Cindy,
Raphael also showing his terrible 2 symptoms, everytime throw tanthrum whenever the adults refused to give in to him.Getting naughtier. He is attending 2hr playgroup now.

Sandwich/Darbebe
Feel so heartache to learn about the little girl plight. Let's all pray for her to be on her recovery road.

Cool D,
Not yet. Found pre nursery that take in toddlers at 30 months on. Maybe I will take this. So few playgroup/cc available near my mum's place. *headache*

D,
Now that you mentioned, I think Nic has 16 teeth. I won't dare to put my finger inside to count.

Talking about tears, there was once when I teared watching a sad/touching show, Nic saw and was looking afraid. All she did was to come over and give me a hug. My heart melts at that moment.

darbebe and cool_daughter,
no lah not so young ...

d,
yes i can touch him while he's sleeping and not wake him up. we co-sleep and even co-share our blankets, so whenever me/him rouses, the other person has to get used to sleeping through. anyway, some of the things that i can do to him while he's asleep are to cut his nails, cut his sideburns (must use masking tape to catch the falling hair lest it falls into the ears) and dig his ears. i use a metal ear pick because he has horrible ear wax problem (sanrio: is this related to the allergies??)

blueroti and fransea and rina,
we all have to give thanks that our little ones are healthy now! yah, i hope she gets well soon ... my mum says that her colleague is divorced. so poor thing. dunno if the father is visiting the little girl in hospital or not.

s/w,
the more you dig, the more there'll be! The ones inside will naturally come out over time...that's the way it's "programmed". it's there for a reason...

d,
really? shucks ... we've had ear infection bouts before, so i thought if i don't manage to get the wax out, there might be an infection if it all accumulates. and then, they're also really big and gross to look at (those that can be physically seen with the eyes). okay, maybe in future i'll try to dig once every 3-4 days and slowly decrease the frequency.

sandwich,

try not to dig too much cos it can actually damage their ear drum. if it really are hard ear wax can see ur pd to prescribe some olive oil. it helps the ear wax to come out easier.

s/w
when Jesse was young, he had quite a bit of wax too. asked the pd, he said, it's okay. If it's on the surface can just wipe it off.

When we came back, his relatives here quite bothered with it but I didn't care lah...now, hardly have any anymore.

The purpose of the wax is to protect the ears (inside) if you dig, it'll keep producing. The wax will come to the surface in due course...that's the way it's been made. I don't know why they travel out...

Of course, this if from what I read, what the dr said and from Jesse's experience. If it really bothers you, should ask PD/Dr about it...but I don't think digging everyday is good.

blueroti
u make me drool too. I like e ah zhong mian xian too. The duck web shop is those braised (lor) kind rite? Nice leh, i tried e duck web n duck tongue i tink. My must eat recommendation for TW is the Hao da da chicken chop at Shi lin. And I love their 'Ai yu' jelly drink. I ate the smelly toufu (in soup) with pig blood too. .. haha, sounds scary but taste not bad actually.

Btw mummy
i juz came bac fm expo. Natas is super super crowed. Pple q-ing to go in. mothercare fair as usual. Similar booth as last yr. Watched the bb crawling contest n brought back fond memories of jboy participation last yr

cherryteq
i see e usual promo for nestle and huggies. I bot huggies swimmers n pull up. Buy 3 packs, free little tikes fishing toys. Avent stuffs are 20% off so I bot some new bottles n teat. .. And free gifts for purchase over 100d. Saw some bb wear promo, pureen, strollers n cots etc, but i din really go n see the px. Saw bum wear and drypers booth oso.

Frankly, nothing much la.

Cherry
Maybe you can visit the fair tomolo...see if can get anything for the little princess.

Caicai / Min
How's both of you? Time sure flies..recalled that our boys used to be in the "crawlers league'... you gals planning for any holiday trips? Your boys still with GUG? Any plans to place them in half/full day school?

Sandwich and Darbebe
Honestly, I do think both of you still look young & pretty...

Leo
Hmmm...you dun know my chinese horoscope hor? :p