2006/2007-Twins/Triplets MTBs

dawn
my boys able to call mama, baba quite clear. but my gal only can say "ah ba" or "ma" sometimes and not so clear yet. must b hubby n me work e whole day so less chance to teach her. haiz... but i m sure she wil b v noisy once she learn all e words coz now she alrdy ai ai ei ei shouting e whole day, event downstairs can hear. my home not children proof yet so din put her our to crawl often. good that u can bring ur twins out to get touch with other ppl. my family rather passive type,must get her out more so she wil slowly get used to e outside world. haiz...
1886415.gif

deasy,
mine drinkg abt 130ml now...sigh, takes very long to increase. Even now, sometimes my boy likes to stop drinkg halfway. So i have to try again 10min later...and again until he finishes it. He gets distracted easily. But doc says both their weight gains are gd for their age, so no need to worry abt the exact amt they drink. How abt yours? Oh, my boy still no teeth leh...when do we need to start brushing?

weiwei,
yes, after 2wks, my bbs are getting gd at their walkers. I think they suddenly discovered that they are mobile, and are happily exploring evry corner of the living rm.
Mine 7mths old, can't talk yet. Still babbling away. Find them so cute now, and I don't mind watching them when they sleep. Feel really thankful that they are growing well...

petals

ur babies started on solid food already? my boys wil take about 130mls of milk but with 1 bowl of porridge/noodle(about 150-170mls in volume) straight after the milk. i think once they taste outside food, wil not be so interested in milk already. so maybe u can add cereal to the balanced milk that they cant finish, then feed them by spoon. this work for all my babies, even my gal prefer to drink milk by spoon! i think it's more fun with the spoon??
1896697.gif
other alternative way is u can put their milk in stead of water when preparing pumkin or other puree for them. that help them to adapt to new taste also.

it's time to teach them words now esp if u want them call mama faster. just repeat e word mama to them e whole day lor, at least my mil repeat ah ba to my gal everyday, which means baba, now she can speak ah ba quite clear liow, but still dun knw how to say mama yet. maybe she mixed up with ah ma, which means grandma.....
1896698.gif

Hey Mummies, are your twins/triplets thrashing each other?

Mine (B/G combi, 23 months) are whacking, pinching and pushing each other. Think their behaviour has been exacerbated by their attending childcare as well. Strange thing is that Gor Gor is called 'an angel' by his school teachers for his model behaviour (he obeys instructions and is smiling and happy all day long) but Mei Mei, the teachers said she likes to disturb Gor Gor by walking past him to whack him on his head. Sometimes, she also disturbs him by taking something to him e.g. his water-bottle, and when he reaches out, she will snatch it back which gets him all frus and he cries.

But back at home, it's another story. Gor Gor will hit Mei Mei on the head, sometimes with toys (which can be painful) or shoves her when they are both fighting for something. When he doesnt get to shower/wash hands/wears his shoes first, he will shove and whack her on the head. Baffling behaviour. Any of your kids displaying such behaviour?

We have been telling them that this is wrong, and even scold and hit their hands, but don't think it's registered in them yet. How come they were in my tummy for 9 months and yet, can't live in harmony now? Sigh....

Hi,have a qn about maids and their home leave and increments.

Those of u who have renewed maid's contracts, when do the take home leave, for how long and is it paid or unpaid? Do we pay for the flight?

Then for increment what is market rate (esp for us with twins at home)...and does anyone give "year end bonus"???

weiwei, I also seldom bring them out one....only during Saturday afternoons for 3 to 4 hours. alot of work to bring twins out leh...need to pack so much things. there was once i took them out too long...they couldn't sleep/drink milk outside cos too distracted. on their way, super cranky...wailed on the way back.

JSJMum, mine also whacking other since they were 9 months...sigh.....now getting worse. i tot will get better as they grow bigger....reading what u have written...i think i have to wait long long?
do u think fighting is their way of communication? sometimes i wonder if they trying to sayang one another but can't control their strength, so end up looks like hitting each other's head? haha....this mummy v Ah Q!

ava, i think home leave is usually 2 weeks, it is paid and yes we pay for the flight. I do intend to give year end bonus as she has done a good job. I am not sure how much is the increment. u meant yearly or at the end of their contract?

jsjmum, dawn
mine not yet whacking, only touching n kissing n sometimes snatch toys. maybe not yet their turn ah, mummy shall not say too early...shh..... are they trying to attract more attention from us? by acting guaiguai or naughty? my 3 yr old niece will dirty her clothes to get grandma's attention. she sometimes purposely pour food on her clothes (she eats by herself since 2) then happily look at grandma, waiting to get changed. when my cousin back from work she wil push e food away n want mummy to feed her. so naughty!

JSJmum,
my kids also display different behaviours when out and at home!! My gal will always be the one kena bullied. The brother will pull her hair, bite her, snatch her toys and make her cry on purpose. But it's a total different story when they are out. I also don't understand this ...

Irin / Dawn, their behaviour has been really quite bad. Every single thing also fight over, and it's not as if we don't buy 1 of every item for each of them. Even over a bottle of soya bean drink they can also fight instead of taking turns. I'm not taking sides cos' tho' my boy behaves well in school (according to his teachers) and Mei Mei's the notti one, when he's home, he's damned 'ba4 dao4' (bossy and demanding) and wants to be first to do everything and hoards toys or food, refusing to share with Mei Mei, and yet, still whacks her on the head and grabs her by her clothes (even tho' he's smaller sized than her *haha*). So sometimes, I can't blame Mei Mei for retaliating and wachking him back.

This morning, they fought a few times (quite violent, they've even wrestled each other on the floor before). My hubby just bought a cane *faint* He claims that he will not use it to whip them but the floor just to frighten them cos' they're really getting out of hand. I'm really at my wits' end. I pity my poor baby, their Didi, who always looks around him quizzically when his Gor Gor an Jie Jie fight and wail, very noisy! Sigh....

<font color="0000ff">Ava</font>
My maid is going on home leave next month. It is nearly the end of her 2-year contract period with us, so we let her return home earlier for the festive period. Standard home leave is 2 weeks paid leave. Air tickets to be paid for by employer.

Standard increment is about $30, I think. My maid is quite good, so we do give her year end bonus. If things goes well after she returns, and my kids adapts well at CC, we will give her another day off in addition to her current one day off a month.

<font color="0000ff">RR</font> and <font color="0000ff">JSJMum</font>
Our kids are about the same age. Mine just turned 2 last month. Few months before they turned 2, I had a feeling they entered the terrible twos phase prematurely. A lot of fighting and wailing everyday. So irritating!!! But strangely, they kind of outgrow that phase and back to their friendly days now. I think the terms "share", "exchange" and "take turns" have finally entered their gradually thicken skull! They actually say these words when they play and exchange toys.

But of course they still have their occasional fights. I think better days are ahead for both of you, so hang in there!!!

JSJMum, oh dear...i hope this phase really passes fast...i hear already very scared. plus u got another little one, how do u cope?

dorayaki, is ur maid coming back after her leave? what r the procedures like to get her to come back? do we have to go to go to the maid agency to renew contract/work permit or can we save a bit of $$$ by going to the embassy ourselves to do the paper works?

weiwei,
my twins only can say "baba", mama is still not available in their dict, the eeeiii and urrrgghhh and awawawawa are always there. todays twins body temp is rising. probably fever liao, cause hubby got chicken pox this week, haiyaa..

petals,
mine drinking 180ml and 150ml. 5times daily, sometimes add with 100ml to 120ml at tea time. hahahhaa... 3x solid. will post their pics next time.

deasy
hiyo, better mornitor them closely. ur hubby so big liow still got chickenpox ah? ur twins 10mth alrdy? do they fight?

ur twins eats a lots ah, almost like my boys. but not my gal, she takes 400mls of milk plus 2x solid n 1x dessert(yoghurt) only, a small eater. but cant blame her la, she s only 6.3kg. my boys 11kg liow. so worry she wil remain short when grow up... but her motor power s better than my boys. can pull herself up in cot n walk a bit like crab ( but her hands still hold on to the cot), my boys can not yet, they need sb to hold then can walk a bit, cant stand very steady yet. maybe they r heavy tat's why difficult to move about?

Hi <font color="0000ff">dawn</font>
Yes, my maid has promised to return to us after her holiday home. Procedure for her to return is more or less same as getting a fresh maid. Like get her work permit renewed + buy her medical insurance + draft her a new contract + renew her passport if it is due to expire. It is not to difficult to DIY, except if your is a Filipina maid.

For Filipina maid (like mine), I suggest you engage an agency to do the renewal for you. This is because Philippines Embassy clearly states they do not allow "Direct Hire". You can still proceed to DIY but you may encounter the following issues later on.

(1) In the case of maid going on home leave, the embassy will not entertain her application because she is not employed via an authorised agent.

(2) You will have difficulty renewing your maid's passport for the same reason as above.

So to play safe, for my Filipina maid, I leave the embassy liaison work to the agent. It will probably cost about $100 more than DIY but certainly save us a lot of headache. Anyway, the time/transport to/fro work permit collection and embassy will probably cost us about that 100 bucks.

thanks dorayaki for the details, they r really helpful! Mine is a Filipina, I was reading on some threads that their embassy v strict, will not allow us employer to directly renew work permit on our own*sigh* why they make things so difficult? so wat is the total cost paid to the agent? i think they earning a lot from us leh!

weiwei, my kids also like ur gal, oni drinking 400 to 500ml milk daily, with lunch n dinner solids, breakfast they will have a slice of wholemeal bread. they can cruise quite well now, like u say, prob the weight is an impt factor? they are about 8.5kg now...so light enuff to move?

Deasy, urs really drinking alot! so envy, mine always can't finish their milk, esp morning 8am feed and afternoon 3pm feed.

dorayaki,
tks for your assurance. I certainly hope things will get better between them.

My maid contract ends in Mar 09 and she's not going to continue. I'm sending the kiddos to a CCC and most likely won't be taking a new maid. Hope I can cope. All the best to me. haha!

dawn
ur kids must b v active. ur maid alone can cope? really a good maid, so efficient!!
1917188.gif

just called my mum, she said korkor can crab walk in e cot alrdy, but didi, e bigger size one, v lazy leh, dun want to move much, just sit down n play, not like his korkor n jiejie, so restless!! my mum s trying her best to motivate him to move around, like putting his kiwi fruit a bit far so to get him crawl or walk there...... but bcoz he love to eat all kinds of food, he has 8 teeth liow, e other 2 only 6-7 teeth. haha........ they really grow in diff style. btw, my boys starting to pull each other's hair n sometimes slaping each other. think they finally learn how to fight.....

weiwei,
hubby not so big, but old liao, wakakakaka.... tonite took twins to their doc, he asked why bring them here, i said daddy got chicken pox and want to check whether they had or not lor, he examined and asked me if i had chicken pox oredi or not, if i had it oredi, then automatically, my immunity will transfer to them while they are inside me cause they have my blood which had antibody towards chicken pox. and this kind of antibody will disappear within month 9-12 since baby born. thts why chicken pox vaccine will be given around 1 year old. but, the younger one had chicken pox, the lighter it is, and the older one had it, the heavier. if 1week to come twins had it, then they had, if not, next time liao lar. cause the contagious part begin 2 or 3weeks after one had it.

weiwei, dawn, petals,
my babies still dont sleep through the nite, hahaha, the boy can sleep by himself if he's awaken midnite but the girl one, aiyooo... very noisy, scream so loud tht her bro oredi can sleep is awaken. the girl must be fed to sleep. so scary, until belly very big. now whatever she eats or drink, if finish, she will scream.

their schedule like this :
around 6am - milk (120-150ml)
wake up 730
8something - breakfast (cereal, wholemeal bread, instant baby food, oatmeal)
9am-bath
930-1000 - milk (150-180ml) then sleeping for 1/2hour to 1 hour
1130 - 12.00 - lunch (rice porridge)
1pm - milk (120-180) then sleep for another 1/2 hour or 1 hour, sometimes can sleep 2hours.
3pm - fruit juice or blended juice
430pm - rice porridge
5pm - bath
6 - 730pm - milk / fruit / snack
8pm - sleep
try to dream feed at 10pm but sometime can wake up at 12 again, then 5am or 6am milk again. like tht lo.

the girl can stand against the wall without us holding her. boy doesnt want e but would do crab walking around bed. they dont fight, boy like to bite. hahaha. while the girl will scream if she saw the boy come closer to her.

<font color="0000ff">dawn</font>
Though the agent may be earning from us, I think the embassy is worse! Anyway, here's the breakdown:

$100.00 - Agent fee for WP renewal + home leave paperwork
$192.60 - Standard insurance for 26 months
$250.00 - Home leave application to Philippines Embassy
TOTAL amount is $542.60

<font color="0000ff">RR</font>
All the best to you indeed! I'm sure you can cope. You can handle them so well and you cook yummy food too! I'm sure you're better off without your maid.

I'm returning to social work (part time) in Jan. And I'll probably get myself enrolled in a full time course in April, so I definitely need my maid around even though the kids will be in CC. Hope all turns out well when the munchkins start CC next month. Else I'll have a hard time when my maid goes on her 2 weeks+ home leave!

Dorayaki,
good that your maid's renewing her contract. I'll be more than happy to keep my maid if she wants to continue but she's going off for the better. I hate to go thru all the stress for a new maid so will try to go without one 1st.

Oh ya, your munchkins are starting CC next month too. So we are in the same boat.
Are you having mixed feelings about it? I've been feeling so lost cos of this. Not sure is it myself or it's normal ...

dorayaki, thanks for the breakdown. heard we can't go to the embassy directly right? they want us to go through the agent. tot i can save the $100 by going there myself.

Deasy, wow u kids drinking alot leh, after eating solids, still got drink milk. mine one solid food will completely replace one milk feed, so they oni have 4 milk feed n 2 solid food every day.

weiwei, yes my maid is v good end efficient, plus lots of initiative. so most of the time i dun need to tell her anything, she will know what should be done. dunno what to do if without her. during day time during the week, usu either my mum or mil will come over to help look after the kids while she do the washing n cleaning the house. both of them quite active which is quite a headache for us...cos my parents n pil are old, so v tiring to chase after them/stop them from fighting. hope this phase will pass soon!

when you gals are pregnant, how do you differentiate between which one of the twins is kicking / moving. How to reassure myself that both of them are fine? Sometimes i feel alot on the left, sometimes on the right. when will their position be more or less fixed?

Yes, I'm having a lot of mixed feelings nowadays. And I finally understood why Lyricist felt so down when she had her munchkins go full time at CC. I think its normal for us. But then again, as much as I feel rather "irresponsible" of myself to send them to CC at such a tender age, I also recognise the benefits of having them in a structured, routine environment where they get to socialise and learn new stuff. So I pray they'll enjoy CC more than I imagine, and hopefully settle down well by Jan. R&amp;R also starting to attend CC in Dec'08?

<font color="0000ff">dawn</font>
Yes, Philippines Embassy state very clearly their NO DIRECT HIRE policy in their website. Check out the URL below:
http://philippine-embassy.org.sg/index.cfm?GPID=14

<font color="0000ff">yck</font>
Your twins' position is actually fixed by the position of their placenta. Meaning to say, the twin on the left will stay on the left till delivery date. But of course when there is space in your womb for movement, they can kind of rotate within their sac. In the case of transverse position, it will be a little tricky to tell who's kicking. I think its best to check with your gynae the positioning at every visit. Then you can "talk" to your twins by touching them on their side.

Also, some of us don't feel a lot of kicking until pretty late in the pregnancy, so don't get too anxious when you don't feel them in he earlier months. How many weeks are you now? Must relax, okie? Relax mommy = happy babies. Its very true!

dorayaki,
so it's a mummy thing? My hubby thinks that I'm silly to feel so emotional. I'm hoping I won't be the one crying at the windows on their 1st day. :p
Ya, they are starting in Dec 08 cos the CC I'm sending them to has a price guaranteed policy and the price will be increased in Jan so got to send in Dec to lock in the price.

deasy
wow, ur kids drink a lot ah!! like my boys, nowadays they drink only 130-150mls milk each time, but can finish noodle(about 150-180mls in vol)straight after e milk. hai, they just dun like too much milk liow, i think. other than milk, my mum s feeding everything lor, noodle, dumpling, cake, bread, soft rice......she has 2 maids so got more time to prepare food for e boys. basiclly, except for night feeds, they will hav solid together with milk or just solid itself as a meal. think they take a lot of solid but never mind la. my mum tell e maids tat no matter what, must have at least 600mls milk per day. so they r adding milk to porride, fruid salad or with cake n bread.... haha, giv them a lot of work to do....

my gal s like dawn's babies, one solid will replace one meal. brought her for check up yesterday, she gain 300gm in 2 wks!! so happy! coz 2wks ago when she saw dietitian, e dietitian scolded me for not giving her meat n fish( waaa, not me la, my mil always said baby too small can not n she dun allow), so after that i thicken my skin n really put more time prepare food for my gal. i prepare beef porridge with 1-2veg once a day, egg york with cereal/touhua once a day, n friut with yoghurt once a day for her on my working days. so tat mil can just take out/warm up n feed her, wont take so much time so no complains. when i m at home, will then cook noodle for her, try to let her taste different food. thank GOD she really put on weight after mummy n daddy's hard work. b4 she only put on 200-300gm per month. hopefully she wil cont to grow faster n catch up with e boys....

dawn
ur maid will know what food to giv to ur twins? ur twins r so luky got such a superwoman auntie look after them. but i think e fighting wont b so fast over base on what sisters share here... ai....jiayou!!

dorayaki, thanks for the link. why the philippine government like that one...need to go through agent. *sigh&amp;

weiwei, i was not working first 9 months so maid already understudy during this period what to give them. plus i prepared most of the pureed vegetables for the week liow. so she juz need to boil egg or cook porridge/cereal and steam fish. my mum sometimes will come to help.
yah, man. the fighting is getting worse cos now both wants to exert their rights liow....screeching has started if one dares to try to snatch anything away from the other.

Haven't been here for a while cos was busy with their birthday celebration plus some renovations at my house ... ;)

Alonzo and Alena just turned 1 on 23 Nov! We had a birthday bash for them at Ellenborough Market Cafe at Merchant Court Hotel. I ordered a barn farm theme cake for them from Balmoral Bakery at Sunset Way which is really beautiful! ;P

Just learnt that Alena needs to remove a cyst near her right ear. It has grown slightly over the few months and doc says it is best to remove it as early as possible as it may cause infection. The surgery is scheduled on 18 Dec. I am a bit worried as she'll need to be on GA for half an hour. I heart pain!! She's so young and needs to be on GA, sigh....

hi mummies, at what age do you start your twins/triplets on CC? I am thinking of starting them around 2 years old but my hubby has a different opinion lei... he thinks should start later like 3 to 4 years old... cos he says they will fall sick very easily.

Sorry, had to cancel the playdate today. I'm down with very bad sinus infection. Cheeks are swollen due to fluid retention. Am on antibiotics. Keeping my fingers crossed the munchkins will not be infected by me. Had to wear face mask at home now. When the munchkins see me with the face mask, they called me "doctor!" and did the "tee" sound with their fingers pointing to their ears (as if taking tmeperature with thermoscan). Haha!

<font color="0000ff">dodo</font>
Actually, if you have to patience to home-school your kids till they are 3, I think thats the best. I personally feel the kids are physically &amp; cognitively ready for structured environment from 3 onwards. They would be toilet trained by then, can express themselves fairly well and probably built stronger immunity by then.

Most of us send our kids to CC early, probably because they drive us "insane" by the time they reach 2. Hahaha... But on the other hand, we also feel our sanity hanging by the thread when we start to worry about hygiene and the kids' physical/mental well-being. I think its too early for you to decide now. Perhaps when you and your hubby are confronted by the prelude to their terrible twos (about 20 months onwards), both of you will change your mind. He may think they should start early by then while you have acquired the immunity to handle them despite the mayhem. Who knows. Hee...

dorayaki,
it's ok, no problem. Hope you get well soon.
I was down with gastric flu on Tues too and I stayed in the room, away from them for the whole day.

Was hoping ot meet up to share our "blues" about sending our kids to CC. Hee... Maybe next time we meet we can share about their "adventures" in CC. Hahaha...

<font color="0000ff">dodo</font>
Sorry to hear about Alena's scheduled surgery. Bring lots of her favourite toys to hospital and buy new ones for her after the surgery to cheer her up. My younger twin was warded at KKH for 3D/2N when she was 7 months old. Very tiring cos she couldn't sleep well there, so I had to walk her around the ward for 2 nights. Plus the nurses were injecting her every 4 hours, so she hardly get to sleep at all. I also miss my elder twin when I was stuck in the hospial. Be prepared for lots of tears but there'll be lots of cuddling &amp; kisses as well. Take care!!!

P/S: Happy Belated Birthday to your cute toddlers!

I've 2 single pram for Graco to sell off as my gals seldom use it nowaday. Both are in good condition and clean. Bought it at $150+ and now willing to let go at cheap price cos i just want to clear my space. PM me for price okie!
1954892.jpg

like to check with u all, is there any where can we get a cheaper range of twins stroller(side-by-side) beside Maclaren? My MIL intends to get 1 to brg my twins to market every morning hehe..sourced at Babykingdom and hypermart, all so branded and ex. Do let me know u have any idea thanks!!

I just got to know im having triplets and in a dillemma now cause its a financial burden to me.. Please help me by letting me know what's the bill size to expect for delivering triplets?

sam
congrats!!!
1975331.gif

i delivered my triplets in jan n now they start to giv me headache coz moblie already.

having triplets s never a easy job to do, for u n for ur hubby as well. r u through ivf? coz i went through ivf n my insurrance help me a lot in e hospital bill for 3 babies. mine born in 34wks, considered full term for triplets. but they r too small, boys 2kg, gal even small, 1kg only. boys stay in scn for 1 wk as kk protocol all bb must stay in till 35wks. my gal spent 21days in icu n 28 days in scn b4 she finally wt 2kg. as bbs r in scn n icu, e charges r diff from normal ward, n much more things to charge. it all depend on ur bbs. there s a mummy who gav birth after me but her bbs din stay icu, i m not sure how long they stay in scn, but for sure her bill much smaller. all kids diff, it really depends. for ivf mummies, we must stay in b1 ward, e room itself s abt 160+ liow. bb will follow mummy, expect charges wil b 200+ per day for scn. but dun b scared, ask ur hubby to go up to business office right after he has seen u out safely from operation, ask for downgradingfor bbs class status. till now i dun understand, bb cots r all e same, milk s e same also, what so diff for b1 n a1 babies'? maybe change diappers faster? haha...i only see all babies r in e same room.

but, b4 delivery, u also hav a lot to take care. frequent check up, expensive scans as we need to see more than just 1 baby. i took HL frm 22wks onwards as tummy already look like 7mth preg. take balance diet n keep urself n bbs well, e longer u can keep them inside e lesser money u wil spend, mummy's womb free mah.... haha...

my twins have been having runny nose for more than a week... headache! and my girl is scheduled for a surgery to remove her cyst this coming thur! if have not recover by tomorrow, i'll have to postpone it. i am wondering whether need to change doc cos the meds does not seem to work lei... any advice? anyone has similar experience regarding runny nose? what can i do to hasten their recovery? thanks!

sam,
congrats and welcome to the twins/triplets club! sorry that i cannot advise you as i had twins and both were born at a good weight and need not go ICU. I understand that for triplets, the likelihood of going ICU is higher and that's where the cost is high. do take good care of yourself and rest more!

dodo,

my kids used to have runny nose when they 8 or 9 months, it takes quite a while to clear one...must put nose drop and use saline spray to remove congestion right? my fren told me to supplement with vitamin drops to help boost their immunity, which i did, so not sure if that had helped to hasten their recovery.

Sam, congrats n welcome! THough my twins were ok, b4 i delivered, my hubby and i sat down to decide on the class of our ward as that will affect the cost,and also make sure we have a sum of money in our account ready for this thing. Do plan what u going to do if ur kids really need to go ICU.

Mummies, update of my twins at 10months 2 weeks, at ikea.
1988932.jpg

I've been mia for a long time. trying to catch up with the new posts.

I've recently shifted house and everything is so chaotic. My gals used to sleep in separate rooms. One with me and the other with my parents-in-laws. Now, I'm trying to get them to sleep together with me. For the first few days, things seems ok. Think they didn't realised that they are sleeping in the same room. When they realised that, they keep waking up at night to fight for our attention.

They also seems more clingy nowadays, keep wanting to be carried. Do your 14 month old babies behave similarly?

ladies, sorry to interrupt this thread.

xixiweiwei, u've joined my desitin spree &amp; the cream r here. tried to PM u but u dun accept PM. pls PM me so that we can discuss abt the collectn at raffles place mrt

Hi xixiweiwei,

I read from the forum that you're also a triplets mother and that you gave birth on your 34th week. Can you pm me so I can check with you on more things? I'm also expecting triplets and is now in my 30th week...thanks!

hi mothers

i'm new to this thread and hope that i am welcome here..

i'm a mommy of identical twin gals and they are born in may2008..which means they are 8months old liao...having twins is really tired and tough...sometimes i do sub-consciously blame it on my 'luck' to have twins...

i felt very sad that i am not able to give my full attention to the babies whom other parents of one can... especially there were times when i carried one and the other just stared/cried at me from the walker...

do you all feel this way too?

Thanks Deasy!
u have got good memory leh. when is urs turning 1? very fast hor....they r 1 yr old liow...cant believe we were lying in hospital recovering from childbirth 1 yr ago.

bb08, welcome! of course u r welcome to this thread! I feel that the 1st day i brought them back from hospital and when i feed one, the other cries in another room, my maid/mum/confinement lady will pick the other one, i felt really terrible, as if i m a lousy mum, not able to give each 100% love equally....but i have come to accept that we can't be really equal, just try to be as fair as possible.

I am not sure how the rest cope with this feeling though, anybody else want to share?

dawn,
mine will be next ten days. really time flies so fast. u celebrated? any contact with weiwei?

bb08,
dont expect too much for being a mother of twins. do wht you can afford to do, if you keep thinking of giving love equally, u will go mad, hahahhaa... for me, i will love one more today and love another one more tomorrow. and nowadays, both will cling on my feet asking me to carry them. then, i'll carry one first and ask my maid to bring up another one for me. then i'll carry two, for a while, then put them down, there, they satisfy. do you have any maid or person to help you around?

all,
happy chinese new year. xin nian jin bu, bu bu gao sheng. can we wish for another twins? hahahha.. anyway, prosperous year ahead for us all.

bb08,
welcome to the thread.

It's pretty normal to have that kind of feelings. I used to envy mummies who can bring their singletons out for tea, shopping and spend quality time with them while we have to choose to bring either one or none. And if we bring one, we'll always think of the other one at home. And it seems like time is never enough for us.

However someone told me before that we shouldn't feel guilty or bad towards either one of them cos we gave them the best gift in the world - the other twin. So don't expect too much from ourselves as long as we know we love both equally much.