(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

dear all, thanks for your words of comfort. My cousin is eating well but prefer not to see anyone, so we have not visit her yet. Can only hope she recover and move on strongly.

Coen's first birthday
======================
Hi, any other Mummies can attend? Let me know by next Monday and I'll plan accordingly. Thank you.

Adeline,
yup, no flouride is fine. I find pureen is better than pigeon (as in cleaner), maybe you can give it a try.
My gals are using kids colgate for quite some time.
Argh... I need to correct Jas's brushing. I'm quite sure the dentist will say her again haha..

Coral,
I'm sure you can feel for your cousin. Frankly speaking, it's not a good time to visit her now (what can we said? We can only say comfort words which makes her feel even worse). I believe your cousin needs her immediate family's support (or rather her hb) more than anyone else. Perhaps for now, send her a bouquet of flowers/card to cheer her up.
I let you know by next Mon, unlikely to attend I think, cos my friend given birth last mth, she hasn't confirm with me on the bb shower date, and my bro's bday is on Sun. My mum has not confirm if is a lunch or dinner. Sorry...

Jenny, you're right. I feel so much for her and wish to give her strenght...but I think at a time like this only herself and her hb and son could pull her through. The rest of us would just be bad reminder to her. It's ok about the party, got your sms.

Has anyone bought their kids for eyesight check?
i'm pretty concern abt that cause i realise kim squint while watching TV and only watching TV she does that i not sure if it's she cannot see or she concentrate too much and too much squinting will lead to bad eyesight..

Can anyone advise one hte no. of pax I should order for buffet? I seem to over order everytime and waste lotsa food...

If I have 65 adults, how many should I order? Will 45 pax be enough? Thank you.

Coral
Hey Sorry I totally forgot when is the celebration, forgot to inform u going or not.
Just remembered my hubby has to go for his RT and only comes back abt 1-2pm on Sundays so we can't go le.
Can't meetup with the rest of the mummies le. U all have fun k.

Oh yah D's partner in sch a girl is very naughty. N she has caused him to fall a few times. 1st few times nothing happened cos he jus told me about it after sch. N I have seen the girl pulling D in running when D go into sch.

But Fri D's knees were scratched. He told me the girl pushed him in the toilet. He said his teacher know cos he did cry abit n they tell the girl off. But they did not tell me anything when I went to fetch D home. So upset lor cos I believe the girl is notorious 1.
I have heard D when pretending to be teacher at home mention the girl's name a few times when scolding. N his friend's mum also told me her son mention the girl also so she believe the girl really always kanna scolding 1.

Sian lor, I told D 1 more time he girl make him fall I will speak to his teachers to let him change partner. But they are going to the Zoo this fri so abit worried the girl might get into her acts there. But trying to think positive.... maybe the teachers will keep a closer eye on them cos they know she is naughty.
Sigh...........

hi coral,

at the moment, i can tell you should be no problem. but if on sun, my hb receive a last min service call, sorry i cant make it.
to make it easier for you, maybe u just want to cater for 1 pax for my whole family.

Hi Dor, too bad...but if you want to come later we'll still be there but the balloon twister might be gone liao...

Gemini, it'll be the firt time I see you face-to-face...hope you can make it. No worries about the food, always got extra if not Changi village is just near by, we sure can get more food.
See ya!

Hi Coral,
Due to family commitments, I will need to give Coen's first bd party a miss. Wishing Coen a funfilled day and may he be blessed with good health in the coming year

Dor,
I think you can just let D's teacher know of your concern about his classmate and that you hope the teachers will keep a close watch when they are at the zoo. Even though this is a given, but I think you can definitely make your concerns heard and hopefully the teacher will be more vigilant. Don't worry too much. I believe D will have a smashing good time!

Adeline,
Jo just had her eye check yesterday at sch. She told me there will be another round check next week.
If I'm not wrong, MOH (or HPB?) has made it compulsory for all kids aged 5 and above to have the eye check yearly in sch.

Coral,
For catering, it all depends on if your guests are big eaters and if relatives like to pack food home?
I usually order more for relatives to pack home for dinner. I take the ratio of 3 pri sch kids = 1 adult share. Those aged under 5 don't need to take into account as they dun eat much.
Eg. if I'm in yr case, I will order 55 pax for 65 adults.
Re: Neo Garden, their portion has been getting lesser. My cousin just used it few mths back for her house warming, and will be using again next mth for her wedding.

Doreen,
Talk to Damien's teacher to take note of the gal.
Jo's class used to have a rough boy too. I didn't make noise but just told Jo to stay away from the boy if possible, until one day, Jo came home with scratches on her cheek bleeding. That's my limit already, hence I called up teacher and situation improved.

hi coral,

i find that Neo Garden portion is quite generous. but normally i will tell them to give a bigger portion for the fried rice.

coral

is the party this coming weekend? i have lost track of time. i should be able to make it with the kiddos. can sms me your number? my hubby lost his iphone and i gave him my iphone as he has over a thousand contacts to synch. so all my contacts gone liao.

dor
you cant make it. so sad thought zac and le can finally play with D and E...

Coral,
For Neo Gardens, I will go with the exact number of adults and rounding it up for the kids. Cos for Neo Gardens, they go in incremental of 5 pax and for my experience, they dishes taste quite good and get finished up quite fast! For baby K's first month, I ordered more than the number of guests I have (meaning I rounded up to the nearest 5) and yet those guests who came later didn't have much to eat! I felt so bad... luckily all are very understanding relatives. But be prepared for the staple, that is the rice or noodle or bee hoon, to have some leftovers cos these come in very generous proportion.

Do give their cereal fish and chicken curry a try. Some of their buffets come with optional satay at an additional price and I would suggest you take the satay. Taste quite good and not dripping with oil type.

Jen
I jus realised that girl..........'s mother works in the sch lor.
I been trying to see who her parents are liao but always dun see 1 leh. So suspect liao cos the girl hor is the really like da jie kind lor n very talkative to the kids around her. Then some like keep trying to talk to her but must see her mood wanna talk to them anot kind lor.

But I already told D, if the girl pull him n run, he must push her hand away. Then if teacher ask him why he push the girl, tell them mama ask him to do it cos she dun want him to fall.
N today when I ask him, he said he push the girl's hand away when she run while holding his hand. N he told his chinese teacher cos the girl ran holding his hand and I told him to push her hand away cos I will be angry if he falls. N so his teacher called the girl not to run. So okie lah at least the teacher responds to him so for now I'll leave it.

Shirley
Sad huh....sigh
Tot can finally meet the other mummies after so long. But sian leh my hubby have RT. N by the time he comes back what time liao. N I very scared to take cab for long trips with the kids alone cos D very prone to carsickness esp on cabs.

Hi Pups, thank you, I reckon so. I ordered up for the adults and children above 3, hopefully it's enough, if not Changi Villageis awlays nearby for hb to go ta bao. Yes, I ordered both the cereal fish and curry

Shirley, I've sms you, but not sure if that's your most current number.

Dor, I've rented the bouncing castle and they'll only collect after 5pm, so if you come later can still let D play... and there's the beach too. See if you wanna come or not...

hi coral,

sorry, think we have to miss each other again...
tristan is down with hives and high fever and it's quite bad, so dont think i will be going down to Coen party... *sigh* was looking forward to seeing u and the rest of the mummies...

dor

or i can go to your place first then go together? maybe with friends around it will be distraction for D and he will forget about his carsickness? haha

coral,
it sounds so fun with the upcoming party.
Hives is known as "feng mo". Patches of red rashes which will spread all over the body, super itchy!

Gemini,
Hope Tristan is better. Have you tried the traditional method to apply white wine to ease his comfort? Calamine lotion is bad, cos it makes the skin drier and will worsen the condition.

hi mummies..
sorry for missing out here for awhile..was swamped with work lately & Hubby is sick while Mav is coughing AGAIN..sian leh..sometimes see him coughed till soo "tensed" up also "cake-sim"..sigh..my mum is soo used to him gg to sch at 8-11am that she dun really want to "stop" this routine even when he's on MC for only 2days..

coral..
sorry for not catching up with u abt the updates..i think next wk i can meet u to pass to u..as for coen's big 1...sorry but i think i cant make it this round..hubby just recovered and Mav is dwn coughing..sorry..

Jen, thanks for the explanation...sounds like something triggered from allery to food or environment...I'm very excited too...Gonna make my own Balloon Arch, ordered 168 balloons t make it, hope I can succeed, shall post pic if make-it ;p Can start 2nd career of party deco if successful :D haha.

Wendy, okie, no problem!
I also need part-time helper, if you find can recommend to me too since we're both in the east...

Guess what I fell off the stairs after work yesterday, think not major, but more of the vein/muscle strained, so now can only limp around in one foot. Super sian...But still I'm ON LEAVE till next Tue...much need break!

Tristan is warded for observation at mt A since yesterday. His hives popped up again and was super itchy. Pd suggested check him in 4 observation. His fever has finally subsided n he's not scratching anymore.
Was in kkh A&E on wed which was a mistake, they can't find anything wrong wif him n juz ask us 2 keep monitoring for the next few days

gemini

hope tristan recover soon. i always prefer MtA to other hospital although KK is suppose to be specialise in kids

Wendy

Take care too, hope Mav recovers soon. The problem with Zac's cough is sometime he cough so hard that he merlion.

coral..
the part-time helper that used to help me is not back from her country yet, so the 1st round when i posted for contacts of part-time helper previously i got her sisters over to help me aft "asking" for 2 wks..but i hv to help clean up some areas aft they left so i think better dun recommend u..aa...my toilet kinda stinks la..haha..ops...

gemini..
oh dear..is Tristan ok? did he ate anything wrong or how did PD commented? he took blood test?

shirley..
ya..thanks..i v sian also..coz Mav also is the type that will "purposely" cough out even more & then vomit out..esp aft milk..we kena the last round & hv to change 2 sets of bedsheets in the middle of the night..so now we will "leave" some towels on bed..just in case...:p

Shirley
Thanx for the offer. I was so keento take it up but heng never confirm with u aah.
Cos D is down with stomache flu n so am I. 2nd time in my life down with stomache flu n it so feel like when I was preg lor. Keep feeling like wanting to vomit till I tot I ate something spoilt.
Then D looked sian n kept vomiting after he came back frm the Zoo. So confirm we both down with the same virus. Now hoping E confirm never kanna anything from us.....arghh

Wendy
I bought the bed liner from 1 of the BPs cos also sick of the kids vomiting on the bed when they are sick. I also have 2 smaller pieces of those from babysafe that I put under them when they are unwell. So if they vomit or what my bed still safe.......hehe

D also got a bad habit that he will make himself vomit very easily even if he happen to choke. So sometimes I must tell him that if he vomits I will make him sleep in the toilet. Then he will not vomit out. Else last time taking meds he also sure will vomit 1.

Gemini
So Tristan is okie now??

Oh dear, so many kids are down.

Earlier, I got a shock when hubby exclaimed that K had blood all over his hands! On closer examination the blood is from his nose. Quite a lot of dark blood. I asked if he was picking his nose prior to that but he said no. I really hope it is nothing serious. Was observing him for level of alertness and he appeared ok just now.....

Gemini,
How's Tristan? Did the observation yield any diagnosis?

MIA again for so long - work and other commitments as usual...anyway the good news is I finally stopped working on 1 April! And I have also moved to Ocean Park some 3 weeks ago. Settled in happily and my tenants are moving into my house next week. Enjoying my "tai tai" life so far :p

Viv
Congratulations!!! When do you get to know gender? Tell us!

Coral
Many thanks for inviting us to Coen's party, we had lots of fun and yes, Neo Garden food is yummy (see lah, like that how to lose weight?). Your balloon arch is super lovely, I love it, the banner is so affordable I didn't believe it! Anyway, thanks for the arch wire and links to banner in advance. Post the photos on FB soon. Enjoy your spa trip on Tues!

Shirley and Jackiejon
It was really nice seeing you guys at the party, and good catching up too...hope your girl is okay from her fall, Shir. We really should organise some get-together soon - it has been too long!

Telling lies
My girl does the same, when she had a hard time pooing, she blamed the helper for not giving her vegetables, which is certainly not true for we eat together at meal times and coz I know what was served.

Dentist
$9!? Then I seriously overpaid, the dentist my girl goes to is $150 per visit! Perhaps you guys can give me the contact of YOUR dentist? #$%^&*()

Dor, Gemini
Sorry to hear your little ones are not well, and Dor, your mom's lack of sensitivity towards D's carsicknes but I agree with pups that moms will worry much more than others. Gem, is hives contagious? Anyway, all moms do rest well, for you need to take good care and keep healthy so your kids can get well soon...

Pups
Did K knock his nose against something hard like wall or floor? Pick nose won't have so much blood right??

Jen
Scratches on cheek? I would have spoke to the kid's mother/father directly!

Thanks to Mummies who were here on SUnday and the other Mummies for your well-wishes. Proudly sharing the arch and the cake for Coen's bday.

3901409.jpg

3901410.jpg

hi coral,

the cake is very nice! the cake look big? how many kg? the figurines look the same as the ones on tristan bday cake..which i have got it from one of the BP. the balloon arch look very nice too

thanks for the well wishes. tristan has been discharged on Friday. he's on antibotics now, which hopefully can clear up all the virus.

hi wendy,

he has taken the blood and urine test in kkh which are normal.

hi pups,

the PD tell us the hives was caused by something like the virus from the fever which triggered the hives. luckily, Aerius managed to suppress the hives or else PD will have to give him steroid liao..
oh dear, how is K now?

hi jerene,

hives are not contagious.

hi shirley,

tricia also like that, sometimes she cough so badly that she vomit, which normally happen when she sleeping. the chinese sinseh was saying, the muscles contract and tricia wei1 qian4, so will easily merlion.

hi dor,

same as u, sometimes tricia will also force herself to vomit out. so we tell her, if she vomit out (esp sometimes she purposely eat forbidden things or she whining/screaming), we slap her. so she dare not vomit out.
hopefully you and D get well soon

Gemini the cake is 5kg. Yes, I got he figurine from BP too. But realise I got it expensive, cos I paid 30+, but my friend only bought 20+

hi coral,

wow, 5 kg! yeah, i think i also bought it about $30+ too. it's only after i bought it then the 20+ figurines appeared in another BP.

hi jerene

nice seeing you, think the first time i spoke to you in person although i think we spoke on the phone before (to get blue label bags
)Anyway lele is fine, she is well known to be clumsy and known as miss bump in our family.

dor
oh dear hope you and D feeling better now. i had that experience before and my LS non stop. feeling terrible. must be very watchful in terms of hygeience as i think it is air borne so easily spread. you take care, we catch up again another time. now with the circle line, i can go bishan easily can meet up at junction 8 haha

pup
it should be nothing serious as i have that problem too when in dry countries. my nose tend to have blood clot and it can be so bad that it blocked up my nose. sometimes i have to blow very hard and there can be some blood

coral
happy birthday to COEN! he is indeed a charming boy, char also have grown up a lot. saw her kissing coen very heart warming. i really admire your balloon arch, great job and great party. until now, lele still remember the bouncing castle.

Happy Birthday to Coen!!

REally wish the kids to recover soon!..
Kat has been having fever for like 7 days till i cannot tahan and then bring her to kkh for blood test and xray scan.
Discover she have pneumonia hence her phelmy cough cannot be cured and bad running nose.
But thankfully it's not serious kind no need to be hospitalized.
Dr gave strong antibiotics and luckily my kids love taking medication..
After 1 day of antibiotics we can see drastic improvement and no more fever..

Really hard to tell that its pneumonia..!
The worse thing is when kids get sick.. sleepless nights, more leave taken and drained!

Hope all the kids stay healthy and recover soon!

Coral,
Wonderful deco and cake! Cute little sailor boy and girl you have there

Jerene and Gemini,
K's ok after that one episode and I am still keeping my fingers crossed that it is once off.

Shirley,
Guess it should be ok. Just that the copious amount of blood did look scary at that moment. Thank goodness I am not the panicky type so K was not unduly frightened as well.

Gemini,
Glad to hear Tristan is fine now.

Adeline,
I hope Kat will be totally cleared of her pneumonia soon! Poor girl.

Happy 1st Birthday, Coen, and to many more!
So did you get another cake?
Speaking of birthdays, it's my helper's birthday tomorrow and we are bringing to an Indonesian buffet at Kallang Leisure Mall called I wanna get stuffed! Hope she enjoys the meal...

Shirley, I have already two blue label bags so I think enough
Glad to know lele is okay now, the knock sounded quite loud so was a bit worried...If she is Miss Bump, what is Zaczac?

Happy Belated Birthday to Coen!
Coral, it's a beautiful balloon arch. Well done!

Jerene, you shifted to Ocean park to be within 1 km of that school? Now you are getting nearer and nearer to me.

Gemini
Glad Tristan is fine now. I'm still really very scared to see dots on Ember cos worry her hives come back.

Shirley
Oh yah circleline but also 1 whole round lor take train.
Take cab nearer......hahaha

Coral
Aiyah in the end I still cannot go....haha
Wah u really did alot for Coen's bday. Too bad I gotta miss it......arghh

Happy Belated Bday to Coen!!

Babygrace, yup, moved and settled in, swing by for a visit when you are free...now juz gotta get that PV thing sorta out...

Shir, I have almost the whole series of Mr and Miss books (give by ex-neighbour) - are your kids big fans of this series?

jerene,
looking at the statistics of getting selected as pv, i'm not gonna try. Anyway, i've already missed it for josh. I'll just wait and see how.

Thank you mummies. Glad that the chores are over and only happy memories left.

Looks like quite a number of kiddos are down. Hope everyone recover soon. Both mine got lotsa phlegm.

still rememeber me? anyway its been so long since i last post here but i have been a silent reader of this thread.

Can i ask where is the dentist u all bring ur kids to as mentioned here. can share with me the telephne number. I m thinkg to bring my son to dentist. This will be his first visit, so hope to find a caring dentist else he may be afraid of going next time. tks in advance.

Dor, yup I moved earlier this month, so that alexis can hopefully get into Tao Nan, and I will also apply to be a PV to up her chances...once she is in, didi also in mah...

Shir, why Mr small in particular? Mine is not into this series yet...