(2005/06) Due in June 2005, Any 1

dunno,
how u know u're heaty ?

Btw, do u gals feel gal easily ? I feel cold very easily esp after preggie.

Yes I feel very cold. My hubby still wan ON aircon, cant stand him!
nono.gif

My hand and lips dry lor tats y I feel heaty. Now I hv ulcer and dun dare any how apply medicine
I tot heaty is the symptom of pregnancy too

Shane, i also feel cold that why i did not dare to on the air con in the nite. last time we used to on every nite.

dunnoleh, i thought preggie cannot drink coconut drink...it's too liang.
You can try to apply lip gloss for your lip and apply lotion for your dry hands.
Me also faced this problem of dryness.
even my face also quite dry so i always apply cream.

oh ... i also noticed i have dry lips since preggie. so that's heatiness? I just try to drink lots of water ...

I think we can't drink too much cooling things. But maybe can try to drink abit of barley once in awhile ?

Ya i really feel cold easily...on fan i also cold. But i still sleep in air con rm but hide under blanket hee hee ...

I drink coconut b4 I know I pregnant lah ;) I even ask pp go make new stove keke really hope nothing go wrong

dunnoleh, my first vist was to gynae Dr Lisa Chin from gleneagles. Was a very brief visit, so can't conclude much about her yet.

Yes yes, i feel horribly cold too! I guess that is because our body temperature has actually become higher with the pregnancy. So there's more contrast between our body temp and the external surrounding, causing the chills.

dunnoleh,

I married young wat. The folic acid that i am taking is also yellow in colour but 5mg. I got it from Pharmacy.

200+?? Wah, i think i better prepare 300 for my first consulation. Heard that first consultation always very ex one.

I have also been feeling very cold. Having cold hand and feet.. Always very thirsty too. Have been having infection. Nt sure if its cos too heaty...

U dun drink too much coconut. Its too liang. Might nt be good for bb.. Maybe drink barley or chrysanthem tea??

shekinah,

Most likely i will also be delivering in GEH. Will be gg to see Dr KH Chan in GEH for my first consultation..

Can u remember how much u paid for the first consultation?

Hello all mums to be,

I'm new on this thread. Just did a home pregnancy test and found that I'm pregnant. Think should be abt 3-4 weeks only. Now in abit of a confuse state. Have been trying for past 3 months to get pregnant, but now tat I am, quite shock. Think must have concieved in mid oct, so BB shld be due ard June or July.

Just wondering when I should make my first appointment with gynae. Should I wait for 1 or 2 months before going to gynae or just go to any GP to do pregnancy test to confirm?

My gynae is Dr Ho in Mt A, he's really nice and he delievered for a few of my frens already.

Hi ckluv2travel,

Congratulations! It must be such a happy thing and at the same overwhelming to see that 2 double lines on the HPT kit yah?!
For a start, it'll be good to pop by a nearby GP to get your pregnancy confirmed. Thereafter, you can try to book an appointment with ur gynae when you're about 5 weeks+. This is because by this time the gynae would be able to see something from the ultra-sound scan and give you & hubby and estimated due date of the baby.

For now, if you haven't started any supplements, it's ideal to start with folic acid first

Hi serrich (the youngest MTB) heee... i spent $180 on my first consultation... burnt a hole in my pocket man.

Morning ladies !

the downside, it's monday's bluez

the upside, only 2 more days to a long weekend !!!

dunno,
cannot drink chinese barley ? i still thot of drinking.

serrich,
i also feel thirsty constantly... i normally don't drink much water wan ...

hi ckluv2travel,
congrats ! as per shekinah advise, u can start taking folic acid and wait till u r 5-6 weeks before u go see gynae. By then u'll be able to see the sac and heartbeat, really quite amazing.
for me i'll skip the visit to gp cos they'll just give u another test using the kit, so quite waste $ and gp can't so U/S for u since they don't hv the equipment. so will be gd to save some money and spend it at the gynae. in the meantime, just take care of yourself.

girls,
not sure if its cos i took cold drinks. But i have slight staining. also experience some cramping over the weekend. everytime i feel cramps. i get worried

Thanks for all ur advice. yeap will have to start taking folic acid. tink i'm now in my 6th week already. made appointment with gynae and earliest date he is available is 23rd Nov...wat a long wait!!

These 2 days have been feeling slight cramps. do u girls tink there's anything for me to worry about???

ckluv2travel,

slight cramps should be ok if there's no bleeding or spotting. I think most of us experience cramping in early pregnancy. One of the reason given is the due to the expanding uterus.

aiyo me so heaty now ulcers and got piles. U gals do take care dun end up like me

Feel so uncomfortable for the past 2 days

Heard chinese Barley cant drink.

dunno,
must take care of yourself. try to drink more water. maybe can find out from those chinese medicine shop wat is gd to drink/eat for cooling during pregnancy.

ckluv2travel,
Congras! Me now in my 7th week. Will be gg to gynae for checkup tomorrow..

U also having slight cramp? Seems that its quite common in the 1st trimester huh?! Me also the same.. Dun think that we have to worry much abt this. I went to GP and he told me the possibility of ectopic pregnancy, i got a bad fright! But heard that its quite common, can be due to expanding uterus. So dont worry too much.

dunnoleh,
u sure or nt? Cannot drink chinese barley? Any idea wats the reason?

gals,
Now i started to experience chest pain lei.. Any of u have the same experience??

serrich,

it's true abt cramping related to ectopic pregnancy, i was reading up on pregnancy and read abt that too. got frightened also. But i think if there's no bleeding and already scan and checked with gynea that pregnancy is in the right place then there's nothing to worry about. I've been experience cramping on and off.

Ya, wat's the reason ? Also, is there other barley beside chinese barley ?

I like homemade barley ley ...

I didn't experience chest pain. How is it like ? breathing difficulty ? better let ur gynae know.

U so fast gg to see gynae already ? is this ur 2nd visit ? Mine is next week
still very long.
U can see your baby tomorrow already.

hi girls,

can i join in the conversation.... I went to see my O&G specialist yesterday.. scans and all that.. just started taking folic acid, it cost $1 per pill from the doctor!

Hi Shelle,

Welcome to the thread! Wah..your folic acid very expensive leh...after you finish this course, maybe can just get from normal NTUC pharmacy. It's much cheaper...can be as cheap as 2cents/pill.

Serrich, exactly where is the pain? Near the heart or lower down? I have discomfort too...but it's just below my bra-line (pardon me) right at the centre. I'm guessing it's stomach pain as it seems to be related to my nausea.

Hi Shelle,

Congrats and welcome ! When's ur EDD ? How many weeks are you now ?

Ya you folic acid expensive ley. Which doc did u see ?

Btw, we must take folic acid till ? Thru'out whole pregnancy ?

Just got to know that I'm pregnant during the weekend. Just went to see GP today to confirm my pregnancy. 5+ weeks. I have yet to fix an appt with a gynae. Still looking for a gynae. Anyone here can recommend any? Preferably in East Shore. Thanks.

shelle,
Congras & Welcome! Woh ur pills so ex?? I paid $5 for 30 pills. Which gynae u went to? How come so their pills so ex??

shane,
I also have no idea y to avoid chinese barley lei. I also love homecooked barley!! :)

It's my first visit to the gynae. So nervous and excited when i see my bb. It sooooo tiny... At first, i tot the yolk sac is the bb's head.. Hahahhaa... I was soooo happy to hear that its lying in the right position. And I could hear my bb's heartbeat so clearly via the 3D U/S scan!!

shekinah,
My chest pain just abt 2 inches above the braline.. Just now went checkup forgot to tell gynae. Will monitor and see if this persists.. U have any idea wat does CRL means? I am looking at the scan taken and came across this term but doesnt understand wat this means....

erlisa,
Congras & Welcome!

Thanks for all your reassurance. Feel much better knowing tat it's common.
Went to GP on Mon to confirm pregnancy, he said my EDD is 10th July.
These few days feel extra tired...yesterday can't even get out of bed to go to work. Think my BB abit of a sleepy head...always want to sleep.
Any of you have problems sleeping at night? Every night I seem to get backaches when i sleep. I try all different positions but still feel aches all over. Thought such aches should only come in later in our pregnancy.

Shekinah & serrich,
How are the chest pains? Hope they have passed and you feel more comfortable. In the beginning I also got chest pain...tot got some heart problem...then realised my bra too tight already!!!! Had to change 1 cup size :p
I only 5 weeks + into preggie but my breast already feels very swollen and pain....can't run or bounce...very swollen. Have any of you put on alot of weight early in the preggie? My tummy now getting big....pants are getting very tight...think I've been overeating, putting on weight too fast. No too good right?

Hi Girls

My gynae is Dr Chan from Gleneagles... very highly recommended because he is very professional and qualified... Baby is 8 weeks and 2 days old... i also did a 3D scan... heard Baby's heartbeat too!

I still get nausea sometimes... dont know how to stop it... sigh, havent put on any weight, worried for Baby...

ckluv2travel,

Maybe u're rite, the cause for chest pain might be due to the bra size. I also changed to 1 cup size but now its still growing, so might have to up 1 size again.. Sigh.. bras are also veri exp!!

My gynae told me to go for light exercise like swimming, doing situps but avoid jogging... So i think u better dont jog or run too much..

I put on a lot of wt before preggie.. almost 8-10kg within a year but i lost 2kg during preggie.. prob cos of poor appetite and bb taking up all the nutrients..

I also cannot wear my pants and jeans.. Now wearing those elastic pants lor.. Waiting for hubby to bring me buy maternity pants during the weekend..

Try not to snack too much.. eat a little at more frequent intervals. We should only start putting on 2kg every mth during the 2nd trimester. Ideally is to put on 10-12kg during the whole pregnancy..

Hi shelle,

Oh, i am also seeing Dr Chan!! Hehehe..... but how come ur pills so ex?? How much they charge u for the 3D scan??

Hi erlisa,

congrats and welcome !

do u live near hougang ? I'm seeing Dr Watt in hougang. I find her very nice and patient and she delivers in East Shore.

U live near East Shore or u heard gd reviews abt East shore ? I in dilemma to deliver there or not.
I prefer Mt A or TMC.

ooops sorry i just checked my receipt it's $1 for 1 week's supply...

Hi Serrich, how do you find Dr Chan?

hi serrich,
so it's ur first visit. Did the Doc tell u how many weeks r u ? U can hear heartbeat already ah..so gd. I can only see during my first visit, it was a tiny light flickering on the screen. so amazing.

I also saw the sac with a very very tiny baby inside. hee hee ... still in development stage...

The 3D scan is it the new thing in town ? I wonder how is it different from the scan with my gynae
My gynae one is the normal scan, black and white kind. 3D also like that ?

ckluv2travel,
it's normal to feel tired. try to sleep early every nite so that u hv enuf rest in the am. i everyday also don't feel like waking up to go to work :p hee hee ....

shelle,
He's very chatty and assuring lor.. During the scan, he's very patient, explained to me wat he is scanning for.. So far, I am comfortable with him. His nurses also very friendly and helpful.

What abt ur review on him and his clinic nurses/assistants??

We brought my niece along. She was delivered by him as well. He can still remember her lei.. Said that my niece looks like a michellin!

shane,
Actually i dont know wats the difference cos i never went for scanning before...

serrich,

i went for scanning, but all the time, the same kind of machine .... hee hee ...

but i thot the new 3D machine is very expensive and only got very few in singapore ...
This 3D machine can let u see very clearly baby face and everything, unlike the conventional one that is more blury and u don't really know wat u're looking at.

oic... yup, i can see my bb quite clearly from the 3D machine. Just tat its too tiny..

I saw the facial features of the previous mum who went for the scan. The bb's movements are recorded so Dr Chan showed me.. I can see the bb moving.. So cute!!

My bb shld be much bigger when i go for my 2nd appt in early Dec... :)

ahh...then urs has got to be the new 3D machine. lucky you ! If i didn't rem wrongly, the news also got say that the machine is at gleneagles. so interesting ....
my wasn't very clear, can only see a black mass there :p

can i join in for a while. actually i went to see a doc on Monday after testig in th pregnacy kit from guardian. it was positive.
then i went to the doc, however she introduced scan, and later found out she cannot see anything. then made me do another urine test, faint line. so she said unconfirmed?
now i am confused if i am preggie? anyone got any experiennce

bookworm,

it could be you're still in the early stage. Maybe u can wait a few more weeks then go back to gynae for confirmation. Best to go c gynae when u're abt 6-8 weeks. By then you should be able to see the sac.

Hi Shelle,

Thanks. I live in Punggol. Not too near to Hougang.
Where exactly is her clinic? How is Dr Watt like? Is she the straight-to-the-point kind or she takes time to explain to you things and does small talks to ya. Coz i've heard of some gynaes do things 'chop-chop' one... I don't really like those kind lor... I prefer a more interactive kind...

By the way, how much did u spend at ur first visit? The reason that I want to deliver in East Shore is that I have heard good reviews in East Shore. Also, the price is not too bad, considering a private hospital.

Lisa

Hi ckluv2travel,

Seems ur EDD date and mine is very near to each other. Mine's on 8th July, just 2 days before yours. I also experience tiredness and sleepiness especially during at work. Eyes simply cannot open. The moment get back home, I just want to lie down and be on the bed all the time. Guess it's very usual for mothers-to-be horr...

My breasts oso, damn swollen and painful. It already increase to 1 cup size since last week and bought a new bra. That time, I still don't know that I'm pregnant. Like dat, i have to buy a new cup size liaos... jia lat...

By the way, does any of you feel the top part of the breast, above the cup line, hurts quite bad? Mine is leh... Feel like as if it's bruised, like dat. Don't know if it's a cause for concern.

And the cramps also, comes and goes.. feel as if menses coming everyday.... But no spotting lah... and my tummy oso, bloated already...

Any of you got morning sickness already.. or will it come later ah? I'm quite worried about this one...

Lisa

Liza, I aso feel the swollen and pain in breast initally now much better (7th Week) hope u r ok by then liao. Me swollen till cant even sleep side way. Keke tin I have so much symptoms :p

I read chinese newspaper they said chinese barley can may cause miscarriage

hi erlisa,

Dr Watt clinic is in hougang mall. I think pungol is not too far from hougang. Dr Watt was very detailed. I was surprised too as I had a gynae last time and i didn't really like her cos she very chop chop and not very nice. So Dr Watt gave me a very gd impression. We stayed quite long in her clinic and she told us abt alot of things from tests to be done and wat to take note during pregnancy. She also asked if i'm a first time mum, so she knows that I need to know alot hee hee .. cos no experience before.

My first visit cost me abt $130. So far seems like the lowest among some of the gals here. At first i still thot it was quite expensive. My included consultation, folic acid, duphaston and scanning.

I would like to stick to Dr Watt but I'm not sure how is ESH. But Dr Watt did mention that she does deliver in Mt. A but very infrequent. So I quite headache.

U heard gd reviews regarding ESH ? Pls share. Are they pro breast feeding ? Heard some hospital not very pro breast feeding.

My breasts also very swollen but less painful now. Few weeks back was worse. Sleep also pain.

Btw, u can also go to ES website and take a look. they do list down the gynae that they have and the location that they are in.

Lisa,

re morning sickness, some might have, some might not have. all depends on individual. so you hope you don't have the best. But morning sickness might come back when we're in our 3rd trimester.

dunno,
then got other type of barley ? beside chinese type ?

got 2 type of barley mah one is ang mo barley, tasted better.

Shane u stayed near Hougang ah.

Any of you already look for maternity wear?

oh got ang mo barley ah ... ok then i'll look out for that ... hee hee ..

Yup i stay in hougang.

I hvn't look for maternity clothes i still can fit into my normal clothes. u look already ?

Hi Shane,

What i heard about East Shore is that, the nurses and mid-wife are really nice and very encouraging pple. And they are caring and helpful to first-time mommies. They will guide you in breast-feeding, etc. And the service there is good too, considering, it's the cheapest private hospital around. Because my hubby wants me to take the 1-bedder, we also compared the hospital charges between the different private hospitals and it's the cheapest. Another plus point, it's the nearest hospital to my home. So, those are the reasons why I chose East Shore. Based on other's experiences.

Personally, I think, all hospitals are more or less the same. If money is not an issue, any hospital will do. What's more important is the gynae that you're with to deliver your baby safe into this world :)

God Bless Everyone on our babies...

Lisa

I thought there isnt much different to the hospital.

Lisa do you have the list of differnt hospital?
I m taking Raffles and I tot price is all abt the same.

I heard East Shore no good from my col but she is diff case. She give birth when the baby is only 6 mths and she said the hospital everyday jus called and pressed her for payment

No lah, different hospital got different charges one... Basically, they broke down the price according to the different delivery type and the different ward class.
1. Normal delivery
2. Normal delivery (with severe complications)
3. Caesarean
4. Caesarean (with severe complications)

I got this info from the MOH website. You can go and see under 'Bill and Hospital Charges'.
e.g. Normal delivery <http://www.moh.gov.sg/corp/charges/common/billsize.do?id=9>

It's worth a look so that you'd basically know how much you're paying for!

Lisa

Shane,

Do you know how much Dr Watt is charging for delivery? And is there a package or sumthing?

And you mentioned duphaston, what's that?

Just to confirm, she a female gynaecologist, rite? :)

Lisa

hi and congras to all.

i'm just reached 7 weeks. :p still having slight spotting since 2 weeks ago, but lighter brown. does anyone have this problem too?

yah, heard that can't drink chinese barley and also mother-in-law does not allowed me to eat fruits... kind of difficult because i need them very much to clear up my constipation problem. so wonder if anyone heard of this before, as websites insisted to eat more fruits (and vegetables).

hi lisa,

I still don't know her charges cos she said to discussed during our 2nd visit. She has a package for antenatal check up but that start only after the 12 weeks. She wil also let me know the price when i see her during my 2nd visit.

duphaston is a hormone tablet, like an tai medicine. I had slight staining when i visited her so she gave me. asked me to eat when there's bleeding. My stopped so i stopped taking.

Yup she's a female gynaecolgist

The feedback u hear abt ES sounds gd. However, re the price that u mentioned. I actually compared the 1 bedder among ES, TMC and MtA, ES seems to be slightly more expensive by $100-$200. I went to their individual websites to check.

Btw, I think UOB also have some promo for parkway hospital gp with u sign ur bill with UOB card. But not sure wat's the details ?

Now i very headache which hospital to go to. ES is not exactly near my place ...or is it ? since u stay in pungol and u say it's the nearest. Hougang not very far from pungol right..

Hi Jane,

congrats ! I had staining a few weeks ago but now stop already. You try to rest more and stay away from cooling stuff. Have u seen a gynae. You can ask her for some medication.

I think fruits is very ok ley. It's gd to eat fruits. Just stay away from the cooling fruits like watermelon and pineapple. I normally take papaya, my mum say it's gd for preggie. I try to take a slice everyday.

Hi Shane,

I'm not too sure if ES is more expensive in terms of room charges lah. But I think we have to consider other factors like the services, medicine and doctor fees too. I think the website that i've put up earlier can give a rough gut feel on what we'll be expected to pay lor. Just my POV.

Actually, I think there is no exact need to worry if the hospital needs to be near our doorstep rite. Coz we would only go to the hospital when we want to deliver. But then again, must not be too far also lah, otherwise, later take cab to go to hospital cannot make it on time to deliver
Choice of hospital to deliver is just personal preferance only. It's the gynae which is the more important ... Just my POV

About the UOB card promo, not too sure about this. If I happen to find out anything, I'll let you know.

By the way, I just booked an appt with Dr Watt. My first appointment will be this coming Wednesday

Lisa