(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

Sorry to interrupt.

I’m a new mummy turning to full-time piano teaching. I specialise in coaching young children and teenagers. Able to teach for leisure or for preparation of ABRSM examination. Able to travel to your place to conduct the lesson. For any enquries, please sms/call me at 91230494. Thank you.

<font color="0077aa">Bubbliciouslee</font>
Meet-up at West Coast hao ma? Cos thinking of my mum's condo la. Function room right beside the baby swimming pool. Very wonderful...

angeline,
Pre-CNY gathering gathering huh?me back on 24th Jan. will let you know when I am back. forsee lots of things to keep me busy... find house/maid/school etc..

bubbliciouslee,
yeah! can't wait. shd have free time inbetween when hubby goes to work. i hope i do not hv to be SAHM for too long.

I am doing a BP on pashmina wrap/shawls.. set up a blog for that. These pashminas are good quality ones, much cheaper than what you can get on retail. can visit http://spreedivas.blogspot.com/ for details.. pls pass it on.. thanks!

<u><font color="aa00aa">Ladies!!</font></u>
Set the gathering to post CNY how? Just had a discussion with some mummies on MSN. THink after CNY will be much more logical right?

i had sent the latest contact list out..... for mummies with information missing out wrongly kindly send back for me to update hor....

Just in case if you did not received the email meaning email is wrong please send to me hor - [email protected]

here is the mummies on my contact list which i had send out..... if you wan tto be add (in case i had miss you out) please email me too hor...
<u>Mummies on contact list</u>
1. Adora
2. AngelNeo
3. Ariella
4. Babymich_milk
5. Batman
6. Bloomy12
7. Blueberry
8. Blurmom
9. Carla Lily
10. CG
11. Crystalmum
12. Debragoh
13. Dewdrop
14. Elaine
15. Fashionistamama
16. Forgetmenot
17. Glayz
18. Hytten
19. Jas03
20. Krazy
21. Meow
22. Ming
23. Oreo
24. Picnic03
25. Poohy
26. San
27. Bubblicious
28. Sgmom
29. Shadow
30. Shane
31. Stephy
32. Sweatcorn
33. Sweetbabe
34. Tigger88
35. TSP
36. Twinklets
37. Wenthena
38. ZYP

haha i though all in the order... just realise how come bubblicious will at 27 ...... haha i thought i suppose to be no 9...

San,
I went to sistic...its never 40% bah...its only 15% only. Anyway if purchase 10 tixs also can get 15% off. But still like not cheap wor...then this times its not princess but mickey and friends with Alice.

meow/sweatcorn,
i try to book online, notice that there is this Feld Friends &amp; Fmaily Password which can get 40% off! too bad dun have such lobang.

Poshies,
Wah my nick jump numbers arh??

Angie,
I sms'ed u regarding the hello kitty mj, did u receive?? Am fine wf post CNY gathering..

tsp,
My mom interested in the shawl. Will let u noe once she confirmed the colors..

bubblicious,
Let me know by today as I am leaving at 0500hrs on sunday. If she wants a good pashmina piece and in simple design, suggest she go for the Classic range - either the self design ones or the border embroidery. Price is higher at above sgd200. Those pieces are a mix of the top 2 grade of pashmina. Friend told me it costs more than double the price at retail.. SMS me at sgp no 96511214 for the range and colour (and alternate colour if not avail) cos I am vacating my house so won't have regular internet access

Hey Mummies who signed up for the baking class, don’t forget that the class will be on this sat (23rd Jan) at UE Square Bakerzin from 4-5.30pm.

See you there!

Thanks April for organizing the private brownies session! My gal enjoyed it so much, she was so happy when I told her there'll be a 3rd time for her next time. =) But i think i can only be free during March liao, so u gals enjoy in February bah! =)

Hi Hi...
morning.... thanks Tigger for organise the session.....

my boy at 1st say he don want to come again... then I tell if he come again can meet up with the rest of his friend again... then he say he will think about it.... haha.... i think we can organise again if the children is keen....

but i'm surprise to see all the gal is so guai can go in alone.... what happen to all the boy.... that is the same for my boy..... but the mei mei is so keen in staying inside the room to help the brother....

thanks bubbliciouslee for sending me back.... my boy enjoying his ride with your gal lah.... sorry that your no 2 had to squeeze infront with you and i think she kind of angry when she miss the fun with her sis behind....

hi shadow,
hayden really grow up lah.... should have more time for the chat... my children taking up too much of mine time..

hi angelneo,
we miss u lah.....

re: baking session

sounds like fun for the kids that went
Hope I can join u all next time... It would be so nice for S to see his old friends again...

S performed in his first solo performance last saturday evening... He was very nervous, cry and din want to perform at first... eventually he did.. he was very happy after it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVs9oPXn-uA

please advise any mummies here collecting National Library quest card..... i had been helping my boy to collect but till now he still have many missing card as he also got the same cards... so wondering if any mummies if collecting and happen on extra of the card that my son is short of ... then we can exchange....

Nice to see the kids and the mummies again after so long!

Like what Posh has mentioned, the gals are more independent. I was prepared for Keane's reluctance to attend the class on his own but didn't expect him to cry! Heng he was ok after a while. I think he enjoyed the class but when I asked if he wants to attend again, he said no.

<font color="0000ff">Poohy,</font>
I read about Samuel's solo performance from your blog. Well done Samuel!

Tigger,

Thanks for organising the brownies class. Hayden enjoys it and he wants to do it again.

Poshies,

We did have a gd chat while walking to McD. I must thank Sherly for 'entertaining' Hayden, otherwise he will be sticking to me. We can catch up more on our next gathering

Twinklets,

Sorry didnt have time to catch up with you. Heard from ur hb, you have got ur keys to your new place. Congrats!!

well done Samual! Impressive!!!

Shadow,
nah no problem! Ya thanks! but me &amp; hb are so busy with our work we not very enthusiastic of our new place. everything very delayed. Dunno when can start renovation.

To mummies who attended the baking class,
I have emailed my bank account details to you. Kindly send me an email once you have done with the fund transfer. Thanks!

hi poohy,
just finish watch samual's performance... very impressive lah.... i had hard time getting my little gerald to play his keyboard.... haiz... he is only interested in sing the solfe (dunno) the spell.... haha...

hi tigger,
will try to trf asap ... super paiseh....

thanks for watching S performance. He has progressed a lot in the last 6 months ever since he switched to individual class. In the last 6 months, he had learnt 10 new songs and progressed to mid Suzuki book 2. Will share again when he has his next performance in 2 months.

<font color="aa00aa">poohy:
well done, samuel!

i still remember watching a video of his very early days of playing the violin, when he first started out... and then this!

great job once again.</font>

Long time no post.

I need some advise from mummies whom bring their kids to Australia. For formula milk, we can bring those that are sealed, but do the custom limit us to a certain amount? And what about water for making the formula? How do we declare? And same goes for the shower gel and medicine for the children?

I am back!! busy unpacking, packing, shifting, unpacking, packing... endless!!

anyone free to makan, catch up, gossip, shopping? still a bummer for now

tsp
so after cny, u'll start scouting for new job? are u still stayg same place?

how's the kids adjusting so far? Justyn went to new kindy now?

Time really flies, i can still remember 2 yrs ago we farewell u, &amp; now u are back. hehe.

Florence
During my time at 2006, i brought 1 small tin &amp; put afew in those small containers, but not sure of now. But it seem that the customs pple seem to be pretty lenient when they see family pple with kids. I get water from the airplane.

where u going this time? Have fun!

morning...

hi tsp....
still havent think of way to meet u... or u want to meet tomorrow about 3pm??? i'm on leave... bring my 2 monster for photoshoot at 11am at north bridge road....

krazy,

thanks. ya, he had worked hard to come this far. Every night he had to spend at least 30 minute to practise, at times even more than an hour.

twinklets,
I have some plans, probably will take another 1 or 2 months before scouting for a job. My place is tenanted and only avail from Jun. Just moved into a place near Pine grove so will be here for 4 mths. Justyn had some difficulty adjusting to shcool life. He was ok on the first day and he refused to go school on day 3 and 4. Because of chinese! his classmates who started off in pre nursery can speak and write chinese except him. He is stressed, did not want to attend school because he did not want to learn chinese. Had a chat with him and he is better on friday. His stress also cause him to resist 'I can read' before first lesson, did not want to go too. After the first class, he enjoyed it and wants to go to class every day. Kids adjust fast but our concern is if this would affect him from his love to learn and school.. that also goes to say how stressful sch education system is

tsp,
oic. U guys got try to speak chinese to him? Chinese is a subject either u hate it or u like it.. Not easy to teach also, guess if u really want him to like this subject is to start interacting him with it.. Ya I also worry abt the stress they facing will affect them on their intial love to learn. Ashley has been complaining Daddy always scold her during coaching spelling time, she doesnt appear so eager to learn anymore as compare to 1st few lessons.

twinklets,
ashley got spelling liao ah... i dreaded the day when k gg to hv spelling... getting him to do writing on the exercise book is already a huge challenge!!! i think i'll be more stressed than him if he has spelling leh... sigh...

yes singapore education system is very stressful, esp for the parents... ahahahaha... i really wish the kids could grow up in less academic-based environment... sigh...

err... any updates on the cny gathering??

twinklet, sweatcorn,

indeed, I think Pri school these days are so stressful. I faint to see the K2 assessment book in the Popular bookshop.

do you all send your kids to enrichment? Mine currently only attends music and swimming.

I am thinking of sending my kids to enrichment ie. CMA and I-can-read.

sc
yes.. starting 2nd week of her K1 this year, already start both language spelling liao. This week dun have cos CNY approaching.. PHEW....... Although this week dun have, Daddy will still coach her on the words cos dun want the momentum to end. Really not easy to start this routine every nite leh (except Sat). I really pity our kids here leh, &amp; also we parents. Really so stressful.. I also wish my kids can grow up in less stressful &amp; academic based environment.. no need them to be so damn smart 1 lor.. sighs bobian unless migrate hor..

Btw.. BE PREPARED to puke blood when u need to coach spelling next time.. kekeke.. Me lucky as of now cos I need to make Julien drink milk.. kaka. But next time aiya I think I'll be the 1 to coach cos I think my patience is better than Dadddy.

No leh, Angeline bor wind bor sound wor.

Poohy
Ooohh I never go flip the K2 assessment book yet. HAHAHHA. For enrichment, She only goes to ESD&amp; Phonics arranged by the CC only. Sighs, i dunno, i'm contemplating to send her to ICR cos I see her like not learning much from the phonics class in her cc. Still considering lor.

haha....

Angeline....
where are you.... everyone waiting for u....

hi sweatcorn/twinklets,
haha taking about coaching spell.... haha i think i bochap.... actually Gerald had start 听写 since this year... i think i only coach him 一二三 then after i totally forgotten... luckily the English one will only start in term 2.... but the school never complain.... plus he since to be enjoy all those writing... and most of the time.... he do his own writing... i'm check when finish.... haha coz he need to finish all the homework before watching tv or play game.... haha.....

gerald also never go for any enrichment school actually music... i want to start swimming lesson... but need to find one good timing at weekday... prefer on wed coz weekend.... i need to look after mei mei.... tired lah...

I get stressed hearing what your kids having. Samuel still do not have any 听写 or spelling leh.

I am the one who give him daily maths worksheet, phonics consonant, digraph exercises, spelling using phonics and chinese writing.

No homework at all from school except to read a book they distributed daily.

He does all the above in the evening with me after practising violin.

In the morning on the car, I give him and Joelle phonics lesson eg. words with sh or pl etc. They are proficient with blends but still need brush up on their long vowels. And a few sight words a day. They read at least one page of Peter&amp;Jane daily and a small chinese reader book I chose.

Samuel still does not read as well as I like. He is ok with sight words though.

I am still pondering on ICR and CMA... scared later got a lot of homework or does not value add.

re: spelling

actually I am trying to coach the kids to use phonics to spell out words. They can spell any 3 letter blends now. But still weak in long vowels and silent e... memory is still required in those I feel. Another thing I am going to try is to introduce phonograms to them to help them further improve their spelling.

Frankly at times its really tiring to be coaching them in the evening followed by a series of story book reading (by me!). But no choice leh... maybe I allowed them to slacken too much in the last 2 years so I feel K1 onwards is the time to really prepare academically. Its a dillemma, at times I still to remind myself to take it easier by allowing them some days in a week with their own chosen activities like lego or painting.... cos next time when they enter P1, sure no choice but to do homework daily. So now, is probably the only time, in their next 15 years, to be slightly more relaxed.

Another thing is the time constraint, trying to split my attention between coaching them and taking care of Joshua.... poor Joshua gets the least attention.

<font color="0000ff">coaching &amp; spelling</font>
My work already drained me quite dry during the day so I just let val watch tv until it's time to do her daily worksheets (which is ard 8pm+ since I'm only done with my dinner then).

She had her 1st spelling last week and her result is a "gor-nort". So now I try to coach her by getting her to understand how to link the phonics together. But it's not everyday. I don't want her feel negative towards school.

She is slowly catching it but during spelling I doubt the teacher will repeat the words as I do so that she can catch all the phonics.

We shall see.. She is only K1 and it's way too young to be stressed over academics..

In my hb's family, alot of them are smart.. top graders.. but other than school, ECA, CCA etc.. there is nothing else in their life. My nephew who is Sec 2 this year dun venture out with friends on his own. He only goes where his parents allow him to go (which means only ECA, CCA etc).. so what if he studies in RI, top 10 in class etc. He is defenseless if you throw him to survive on his own.

My SIL/BIL apply the same "method" over their younger son and what they got is someone who hated school.. asked for home school.. drew pictures of burning school.. or him carrying a gun and guning down the teachers in school.. He is not stupid.. he can be top in class (which he did before).

Seeing these 2 contrast you cant help but ask urself.. is scoring really that impt. Does studying in RI guarantee them success? I seriously don't think so. Maybe becoz of this I become quite "against" over achieving. Over-achievers are not necessary the happiest person. Life is too short to gain everything but not happiness...

guess we are all at the 'preparing for academic' phase... life's gg to be more hectic for us as working mum cos imagine after work, already dead beat n still must coach the kids... patience shld be very very pte n ltd liao... now can still slag a bit cos not into formal schooling but i dread the day when they go to pri 1... now i can understand y some kids got tuition at k2... its sounded like a joke to me then, now i think its the reality...

poohy,
yes i saw k2 assessments before... then i ask myself when did we learn to do those?? think its like p2-p3 standard leh... faint...