(2004/12) Year 2004 December Mummies

Washing their own hair,

So happy now my boys can both wash their own hair. so now they have nice clean hair after playing with the sand in the playground.

they use the Johnson buddies easy rinse shampoo (yellow with pump). easy enough for my 2yr old to use.

was quite "desperate" already becos WW refuse to let me wash his hair. so shampoo how expensive also buy.

Hi Rochelle,
my ger already potty trained since she go in her new school now, and its very easy getting her used to it at home now... but hair washing??? still have to argue with her daily...

btw anybody been to beijing lately?

Hi Rochelle/carnellin,
My gals also start potty trained when she attend playgroup last year. She can do it in the daytime but during sleeping time.....it is a bit difficult.

Any method/way to train her not to wear diaper during night time?

As for hair washing, still need my help...

hi ailsa,
somehow cellin never pee during sleeping, even when she still wore diaper, hers is always dry when she wake up, so hmm maybe let her pee right before bed and immediately when she wake up?

Sorry to interrupt. I have 2 boys of preschool age and want to send them to school. May I find out from you what are the important factors that you all consider when choosing a preschool?

Hi Chihuahua,

What I would usually ask the school is their program. For me, I hope my gal can learn something, not only going there to play.

What kind of food they offer, whether 'home-made' or instant food like muffin, pizza (yes, my gal's 1st preschool gave her such food and she was only 2+!) I think food is important.

Next is to consider teacher-to-child ratio, usually i am ok with 1:8. Of course small ratio the better so that more attention will be given to your child.

Location could be impt too because I chose one near my workplace so that I can pick up right after I knock off from work. They charge $10 per 10 mins for late pick up.

Hope that the above helps

Hi Neko,
Thanks for the prompt reply!. Just wondering how much are you paying for your fees now? A couple of schools that i checked with is about $650-$800 per month. I wonder if it's worth it to pay so much for just preschool? (but have to say their environment and curriculum is quite good)

Mine is about $650 after govt subsidies for working mum. May be mine is at CBD, that is why it is at this range. I know some of them located at HDB estates seems to be cheaper. You can also ask if they have any corporate rate, some schools offer special rates for certain company

carnellin, mngo,

my boys still prefer to sleep with us

my younger boy is more willing to use the potty than the older one. now waiting for younger one to be able to use the potty successfully so that the older one will use.

night potty training,

paed say no drinks after 8pm, then potty before bed. should be dry through the night

if not than try no drinks after dinner.

hi dec 04 mummies,
my girl bec 04 too, she comes out 3 mths earily. Very keen in study, read n learn, protend she is teacher. very skilly as well. she is polly train already. dont want sleep alone some time. when she is very tired. she will say, i sleep self.
Her name Elin.

hi mummies, mine is also a dec 04 boy. Just wondering are ur kids all off diaper at night? he's still with diaper at night cos he needs milk b4 he sleeps. btw do ur kids in preschool learn writing already?

yes, my girl don't use any dryer or diaper liao when she is 3 yrs last yr.She drinks milk and gone to sleep, before that much ask them urine 1st b4 sleep.

She is in preschool for 1 yr 2 mths and now on 3 hours nusery lesson. She is learning how to write A and small a to Zz in preschool and also nusery. On top enrichment a to z phonics.

I realised that some of the 4 to 5 yrs children are slowest. But mine is rather fast. Don't stress them be natural.

wow baby-elin,
you have a genius kid!

hi juxta,
my kid is off day n night diaper just before she turned two. she just decided by herself one night that she didn't want to wear diaper anymore.
maybe the cloth diapering helps.
but initially, need to frequently wake up n bring her to the toilet and do be prepared for "accidents".
my kid still drink milk before she sleeps. but will make a trip to the loo before lights out. and sometimes she still wakes in the middle of the night for another trip to the loo.

i believe most preschools are already do some form of writing exercises with the kids. just not 'structure' a-z. they need to be comfortable holding writing instruments and writing strokes first. so it can be just writing horizontal, vertical lines, curves etc.. which is actually preparing the kid to write later on.
of course there are preschools who are alredy getting kids at this age to write proper lettering. it all depends on the readiness of the kids.

this thread is getting abit sleepy!!

hi mummies, we do bring him to the toilet b4 lights out too, but lazy to wake him up in the night haha. somedays he wakes up dry, well i gotta be more dilligent

my boy's preschool does writing too, they're learning to write a-z, numbers and all the basic chinese strokes and chinese words too. He loves to read and have bedtime story sessions and able to read a simple book by himself now. I'm just curious to find out what other preschool does thats why the qn!

writing,

my 04 boy can write english Aa to Zz already. taught by me and hubby as he does not go to preschool.

my 05 boy can only trace anything but not write.

we are in the states so me too lazy to teach them to write chinese since teach them to write english already so difficult (they rather play)

rochelle,
cellin also still sleep in the same room with us
, bought a small ikea bed put it next to our bed.
wow ur boy can write already? i better be diligent from now on

carnellin,

a friend gave us the doodle pro toy for my older boy's 2nd birthday so my hubby happily use it to teach him. we also have the cheap small ones for the car.

then we also have those wipe off practise writing books that you use white board markers. I just wipe off with tissue paper

somehow he remember and just write on blank paper when he feel like it.

my boys started with the big crayons. than the normal size crayons. now can use pencil.

no hurry. kids catch up v fast.

juxta,
your boy school is very "academic"

every kid has different interest, strengths so can't really 'benchmark'.
I know of kids this age who are able to write chinese/english words/phrases, swim, draw beautifully, read, play the piano, play a sport rather well for this age and more ...
so it all depends on the kid's interest and readiness.

I know my kid loves to scream n shout and run about.. and is very good at it :p

hi mummies, i let him do what the school decides otherwise i just let him "roam" freely as of now and enjoy his childhood! He loves to go to the driving range with my dad and to the field and kick ball, nothing too structured and plenty of cartoons haha

OMG!!
all the 04 kids are progressing so fast!!
my boy refuse to go off diapers!!! how ah? when will he ever learn? do i force?
he also cannot write. teacher told he he he hates to sit to do writing or art n craft.. only interested in drama n story telling..
teacher says my son cannot be artist. maybe a possible lawyer cos often talk his way out of doing things.. :S
think i better buckle up as a mummy!!

ep,

my older boy also refuse to go off diapers. he is potty trained when 2.5yrs old so now every morning have to nag him to change to underwear. he wear pull ups for sleeping. we had to use a firm angry voice to get him to do that.

my boys write for average 10-20 mins a day. its v normal for this age to dislike writing. they can do hours of arts and craft though

baby elin,
are you intending to?
chinese or english.
I am thinking of letting my girl attend chinese drama...but was thinking, once a week might not reinforce much 'chinese', but it might be good to spark more interest in the language.

hi ethel,
hehe.. my kid also prefer to be up and about..
so need to give her 'table' work which she is more interested in.
maybe Josh is more of a kinesthetic learner?

rochelle,
heehee, i guess so, its useless being envy, my friend's gal is 6 months younger than mine but already K1 cause she's really big (height and weight according to K1 kids), able do alphabet in 2 language, can do simple math like 1+1 etc, woaaaaaaaaaaaa
kao_scared.gif
and the parents always try to compare their kids to other and keep asking how come my gal havent this or that....
... tired leh

carnellin,

I have the same problem with the other parents and grannies asking how come I didnt breastfeed and how come my boys are not in preschool/nursery.

I just learn to pretend I didnt hear than just move away when I can

rochelle,
correct! i told my hubby to stop goo goo gaa gaa about them (his husband is my hubby's colleague)..
btw how's america? i heard a lot of news there (not the good one) i hope your family and you didnt affected
... my friend have a lot of chinese buffet restaurants there, she said so far 'eating' business still going

hi dec 04 mummies, i should have joined this thread earlier.
My gal is a 31 dec 04 baby. Potty trained, attending full-day child care for 5 mths but recently, have been refusing to go school.

carnellin,

you can ask your hubby to read the book "Einstein Never Used Flashcards: How Our Children Really Learn--and Why They Need to Play More and Memorize Less"

height like K1 is ok. weight like K1 is overweight? my hubby always say those weight like K1 and roly poly is future obese kids.

there is recession here. hubby's company had retrenchment exercise last yr and this yr. luckily we are ok.

inflation is up, same as singapore. good thing is california grow alot of vegetables so the price for vegetables didnt go up much.

now less people spending money here. go shopping centres can see alot of people window shopping instead of buying. v different from 2006

Nicole,

they say its v common for children to refuse to go to school after a few months. its their way to get more attention as they feel stay at home get lots more attention. as long as they are not bullied in school, thats ok.

rochelle

thanks. i hope it is a passing phase.

her teacher said it could be because my gal knows i'm pregnant and she is leaving the school (we are changing her school as we are shifting). Not sure whether that plays a part.

Nicole,

your daughter may be jealous that you are pregnant and feels that she needs to spend more time with you before baby is born. it does happen especially since your daughter is old enough to want mummy all to herself.

my neighbour's son told his mum that he does not want any siblings, when he saw my boys sharing all their toys.

Hi mummies. I've just joined his forum. Nice hearing you exchanging pointers on your child development. My elder daughter was born in Dec 2004 too.

My daughter is bit slow in her development. Can't write, can't join dots-to-dots. She can't focus doing a single task. Very similar syndrome to ADHD babies. But people kept saying year-end babies are like that. I doubt so. How about your children? Can they speak very well, write or recognize A-Z, 1-9? Or are they able to read?

Hi Nicole and Poh Lian, I'm very new to this thread myself.

My boy also started having probs in the morning after going to school for awhile, he'll have this detachment issue when i leave. When I check with his teachers later, told me he is ok very quickly, so its attention seeking behaviour.

Poh Lian, my boy has a slight speech prob, he cant do the "t, s and r" sounds very well, his stop will be like top and slow be like low. Often, adults dun really catch what he's saying. Seeing some improvement but I think he may need alittle help in this dept. He can recognise his abcs and numbers, writing skills are ok, and he can do a simple book. But like what the other mummies said, every child is different and some might take abit more time.

if any of u is interested to watch fireworks.
THE SINGAPORE FIREWORKS CELEBRATIONS 2008 –
CORPORATE BOOKINGS FOR EXCLUSIVE TICKETS AT $12

The Singapore Fireworks Celebrations 2008 will be a major highlight of the National Day Celebrations. This spectacular event will be staged once again at the Viewing Gallery at the Marina Waterfront, sharing the same site as the National Day Parade 2008. The dates for the Singapore Fireworks Celebrations 2008 are 22 & 23 August 2008.

2. The Singapore Fireworks Celebrations will feature something for everyone, including:

Fireworks Display by Award Winning International Teams – France and Korea
Carnival and Street Performances

3. After clinching the People’s Choice and Finalist of The Singapore Tourism Awards for last year’s event, this year’s Fireworks Display promises to be yet another spectacular and breathtaking experience. To celebrate Singapore as a global destination hub and its strong friendship with communities around the world, 2 international award winning teams will be invited to showcase their cultures, through a dazzling display of fireworks blended with moving music, and to stage amazing pyromusicals in Singapore’s night skies.

4. The best seats to view the Fireworks Display and to immerse in the festivity are located at the Marina Waterfront Viewing Gallery. Access to the Viewing Gallery will be by tickets only, which we are now making available to your esteemed organisation.

5. The Singapore Fireworks Celebrations 2008 offers an excellent platform for hosting your distinguished guests, rewarding your loyal customers and employees. Based on last year’s experience, the tickets will be in high demand and highly valued, and will be snapped up very quickly. Your guests will be treated to an exclusive and memorable experience that is priceless and will be greatly cherished.

6. We wish to invite your organization to be a part of the Singapore Fireworks Celebrations 2008 by booking a corporate package. Corporate packages are priced at a low $12 per ticket(applicable only if you book your tickets by 30 June 2008 and a minimum 50 tickets) to the Marina Waterfront Viewing Gallery to enjoy the Singapore Fireworks Celebrations 2008 festive carnival and show.

all infants n child need to get tickets.. they advise against bringing kids below 2 yrs as the fireworks may be very loud.

pm me if u want me to book the tickets for u... i m not selling tickets... this is offered to my organisation..

Thanks Juxta. I do come across a few mummies, complaining that their children can't pronounce certain words probably. "r" is one of them. I think he's not having speech problem. It seems common among kids. Don't harpt oo much on that. He should be fine. Glad to hear that your boy can read and write. More worries for me... Anyway arranging to bring him to see the PD.

I've tried the fireworks last year. It was nice. I brought my son there (at that time he was only 3 months old). He's ok. He slept throughout. I believe the kids will enjoy, seeing so much fireworks right in front of them, up in the sky. My daughter enjoyed a lot. Go for it...

hi hannah, what do u have to see ur PD abt regarding ur boy? well, mine could be more than that few letters, cos the way he speaks is very "mouthful" many ppl dun understand him, his cousin had this problem too and had to undergo speech therapy, i'm just waiting for awhile more to see if he's going to make it good himself hahaha

My girl's childcare teachers, as well as all her enrichment classes' teachers are complaining about her attention span. She can't focus and do a single task. Since she can't focus, she can't learn. That's why till now, she can't write and recognize letters/words. her fine motor skills is bad. Although she can speak, but not very fluent. She can't express herself well. She'll keep saying "Uuuhhh uuhhhhh". She wanted to say, but can't express in words. In class, she's the slowest and that's why teachers all recommended me to bring her to the PD to assess. I thought of waiting till end of the year before I assess her as I always feel she's still young. But not after when i saw how her other friends did in class. So i think it's best to assess earlier in case she need to go thru occupational therapy. If you think your son is having speech problem, I would say it's better to pay money to see a specialist just to set your mind at ease.

hannah, we do intend to send him in. he has prob expressing himself sometimes and when he try to relate something to me, i've to try to pose many different qns so i can actually know what he's trying to say, i've seen most of his classmates and they seemed so "articulate". Our PD told us to try correcting him word by word and see if it helps. Yes all intervention is best when they're younger.

rochelle,
yup, their gal is def look 'heavy' her mom kept on bragging she drink pediasure all the time even though she had no prob at all on solid food, so i guess she's eating double as pediasure are liquid food.

anyway, yes i guess the economic can be felt everywhere
...heehee funny couple days ago i watch discovery travel and living for worlds richerst people and they seem to be untouched from the world's economy (said the host) the demand for pricey stuff still very high..

carnellin,

americans are bad at saving money except for asians and jewish. they buy alot of branded stuff and then complain pay not enough.

the office "coffee lady" here earns $11 per hr and still complain say its too low. the starbucks people get paid $7-10 per hr and they dont complain so much.

pediasure is for kids who are fussy about food or who are sick. not for healthy kids who have no problem eating. no wonder she is heavy

hannah, juxta,

my brother had speech problem until he had braces. then the problem was much less. before that his primary school teachers couldnt understand what he was saying. even the cinema ticket seller also didnt understand which show he wanted to buy tickets for.

my two boys full set of teeth (20 teeth) came in early so that help alot. my older boy had all his teeth before 12mths old and his speech was clear by 15mths. my younger boy had all his teeth before 24mths and his speech was clear at 28mths.

so it might be a dental "problem" instead because the teeth spacing affect speech.

Hannah,

my older boy is v focus only on what he likes. but if he doesnt like to do something, my hubby have to persuade alot before he do it. Is there something she likes alot? like Dora, Sesame Street?

my younger boy loves sesame street so he learn his ABCs and 123s from sesame street DVD.

my older boy loves word world so he learns to spell from word world.

its hard to test ADHD accurately at this age. its easier after 4yrs old to get more accurate results.

I am a december baby myself and I still can't do skipping rope and I can't ride a bicycle. I still graduate as a engineer. my hubby is a november baby and he has a phd. So dont let the teachers put your child down for being a year end baby.

hi mummies and kiddos of 2004,

anyone of you keen to have a playdate or meet-together-&-interact session?

We can meet up at central locations or parks or beaches, or my house even.

hope to hear from all of you! cheers!

Reading your posts and i suddenly feel concerned over my boy over his development. Wat are characteristics of ADHD?

Do share. Thanks!

Hi juxta & hannah,
There was at a stage, my gal can't express herself properly, can't really write or recognise alphabets or numbers and can't sit still for long as well. I tot she was very slow compare to other kids. But I believed in her and continue to teach her and lead her when she is trying to talk to me, and it just occur to me one day, my gal has become a chatter box and now comfortably writing and reading.

But she still can't pronounce "sch", "school" will sound like "shoe". i remember this cos i always poke fun at her for that. keke...

Hi canellin and rochelle,
yeah man, now very siong, everything also go up. Even just buying the necessities, also Feelin the heat as well.

Hey sunbloom and all,
am trying to get together with some mummies and kiddos. do pop by at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353638/1457411.html?1212683868.