(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

pringles,
Thanks for the info. When does Alicia have her lessons? Is Joyce from a swim school or is she private freelance? I'm planning on organising a semi-private class of just 4-5 kids max.
I do leash Ben up when we go to the market or supermarket. He runs away without a care, and touches everything that he shouldn't. So I have no choice. Baby Gabriel occupies his pram now, and the two-seat pram that I have is reserved for when we walk to Punggol Plaza or go by public transport to Sengkang. A bit cumbersome, sometimes hard to maneuver, and it doesn't have a basket.

Emily,
Sorry, Jimmy, the swimming instructor I was hoping to get says he's not keen on taking lessons at Sengkang anymore cos he found that it takes him 1 hour to travel there each way. He doensn't have a car. Anyway, he gave me some tips on how to select a good swimming coach. This involves going down to the pool to observe some lessons in progress. So I shall be doing this sometime soon.

Sanrio
I don't know how i handle my three...i just take it one day at a time! My maid and i are always busy. But i do make sure they are occupied most of the time except for a few hrs of free time so that i can rest. Even nap time is unpredictable for Nigel these days as his energy level goes up. I try to make him take afternoon nap every two days or so. Other days i let him "tong" with Alicia til evening and both sleep by 8pm then adults have our own time. Same here for Alicia and Nigel. Alicia likes to hide all her favourite toys under her blankie or corner where no one can find. Then when we realise why everything is missing, we know its her. And not surprisingly, Nigel learns her hiding toy habit too. Fighting is quite a norm everyday amongst them, i usually try to let them settle it among themselves but if it comes to a chaotic point, i will intervene. Yes, hope to have a meet up soon. Anyone planning? Since its school vacation.

PVL
Joyce is from a swim school. Alicia goes on wednesday evenings. I know wat you mean, Nigel runs off too without any fear. I was told by his teacher the boys usually settle down more by K1 or K2. I cannot imagine if both boys are running around like that! You are amazing coping with all three with no help!

These are pictures of Alicia's bday celebration in school yesterday. Ethan turned 1 yesterday too

2505296.jpg

2505297.jpg

2505298.jpg

2505299.jpg

PVL,
how have u been? Sounds like u're coping well with 3

My girl still swimming but her coach refuses to teach group, only individual... so works out v. ex. mthly. She can swim unassisted now, but strokes not very effective in moving her from point A to point B, LOL!

Pris,
saw ur N's pic in the mag/ june birthday kids.
Dunno if I answered ur ballet qn... cos my girl's Excellent ballet teacher is leaving too.
Now I'm not sure where I shld go! :p

pawprint
Hoho... yes, tat is Nat.
So where you sending her to? Nat's ballet timing no good lah. Maybe i try the sun class, I heard it is a russian teacher.

Pringles
Looks like Alicia enjoyed her bday!! Her class few students hor. Nat's has 25!!

PVl
ay, tell me leh, how to select good swimming coach. nat's lesson 45min, 7 students! I find she spends a lot of time waiting at the wall for her turn. But he v popular in our estate.

mom2nat,
That's why my friends and I are forming a semi-private group of 4-5 kids max. The teacher cannot slot in anyone else to the private group. But fees are higher lor. When we observe the lesson, we must look at the teacher's rapport with the kids, how the teacher handles the kids, whether the teacher corrects the strokes or not etc etc.
Sarah could swim across a small pool by herself, breaststroke, but her strokes were not very good and the former coach didn't really correct it. So since I was stopping the lessons due to having my baby, I decided to look for a new coach to start again with.

Haiz, not only do I have to look for a new coach, I must look for a new PT helper now too. My PT helper had some family issues and is not doing house cleaning anymore.
Any contacts anyone?

Hihi... long time no 'talk'

I've been very busy after giving birth but enjoying myself lah.

Sherwin also run off w/o fear leh. Are boys all like that??? Vane was not like that one leh, she even ask me to hold her hands when we are out.

Here's the pic of my 3 kids.

2512905.jpg

Mom2Nat, Vane's class also very big leh. There's 30 of them!!! I think the teacher cant really cope lah cos she doesnt even know Vane speak in what language. Sigh...

2512922.jpg

Re: Primary Sch
I just went to a PV meeting with the principal at West Grove. This yr, there's an overwhelming no. of PV and the principal said that she's accepting everyone of us. So most likely that there's be balloting liao. Sian...

stressma, which sch do you intend to send Jovan to?

A's dad, you receive anything from Rulang Pr?

Viv, Pringles
Your 1st child look v different now

Pringles
If there is guarantee of getting gal, I will try
Beautiful cupcakes!! Alicia's b'dy on Mon, u celebrated for her on Thu?
I celebrated Chen Chen's b'dy y'dy

B2B3M4
My pleasure I m v happy dat their usage life is prolonged n in gd hands

Alicia's daddy
How wz your holiday?
Alicia swims v well
I already set my mind on Chen Chen's P1 registration. Enuff headache wif his acadamic work now

gacc
Wat u described abt Ash is so familiar to me. I said Chen Chen is in terrible 5. A few times, he is v displeased dat he beat my hand or ignore me n walk away. I fume wif anger n talk to him harshly n ask him to think over his action. He will cry n cover himself up in the rm. After some thinking, he realise he was wrong

Mon2nat, Giggler
Chen Chen's class 20 kids

Giggler
Wa West Grove principle accepts all PV so bound to hv some do n get nothing Tsk tsk tsk
Your kids all chubby chubby, my kids all feather wt. Chen Chen tek ko

Wow most of your kids attend swimming lesson n swim well My hubby is Chen Chen's swimming coach. Chen Chen still struggling wif hand float hahaha......

Now I m desparately looking for classes for Png Png. Any recommendation?

PV & Pringles...
sorry for the late reply. Woah.. very gd that alicia cam swim. Ethan won't even dare put his head in water.
PV, Am still interested in lessons for Ethan. Pls keep me updated. I agree with Mom2Nat, I prefer if the class size is not too bog too. U have my hp right? Call me anytime if u need to discuss as I am very busy in office. Thks. btw, shd we check out alicia's coach?

Giggler
Wah, your boy so cute and chubby!!! Look at his yummy cheeks!!! Hee...

2518120.jpg

Nat wanted a Mac's bday in sch. So I got them to go to her sch lor. She was beeming from cheek to cheek. This fri is her actual bday, gg lunch at Ritz with family. So fast 5 yr old liao. Sort of miss her cuteness when she was young.

How are you???

Pringles,
I like those cupcakes
, and the color of Alicia's uniform, very pleasant to the eyes.

Giggler,
I did not register as PV in Rulang. Guess I will leave it to fate..hahaha...Will weigh the chances from this year statistics.

Koala,
The holiday was fantastic. Nice timing on the weather (although hot). The kids really enjoyed themselves, while daddy is like a walking ATM lor..hahaha. wife and myself enjoyed too. I uploaded the pics in FB.
Alicia is making progress and can swim 100meters almost non stop

RE: Alicia's birthday in school
2526950.jpg

Its nice seeing all the pictures of the kids' bday celebrations
Can see how much they've all grown year after year.

Mom2nat and giggler
Alicia's class has total 20 kids.

Giggler
All your kids still look quite chubby
altho Vane has lost quite abit of bb fat.Must be your super BM! Any closed up shot? Do they look alike?

Mom2nat
Nat sure looks very happy on her bday! I miss their cuteness when younger too..thats why we must keep taking lots of photos for remembrance!

Koala
Yar, celebrated her bday earlier coz they had parent teacher meet and playhouse disney function on the last 2 days of school. It was nice that they sang bday song for Ethan too. What classes are you looking for png png?

Emily
I'm just glad that Alicia is making gradual progress and overcoming fear of the water. I want her to have basic water survival skills and strokes, thats all. There are abt 9 kids in her swim group. But because Alicia was the most junior and the rest are quite good swimmers, it sort of made it easier for her to give close attention to my girl.

A's dad
Where did you all go on holiday? That's a nice picture of Alicia's classmates posing together.I believe you coach your gal in swimming right?

We may be going to Boston for six months next year right in winter due to hubby's work posting. Appreciate if anyone has any useful tips or advice to give?

Wah... all the PV. I'm starting to get stressful.

Mon2nat,
nice family pix.

Alicia daddy,
Alicia class has a good ratio. only 10 kids. Mine is ard 18 kids per class.

Hope you don't mind that I join in the group to chat? Jus trying to socialise a bit and share on parenting every now and then.

I am working part-time (starting in July). I have 2 kids. A boy, 5.5 yrs in K1, and a girl, 3 years, in N1. Actually my boy is classmates with Hong's kid! (Yes, we met online.)

My boy is also currently learning swimming and piano. Swimming, he started 6 months ago, individual coaching by a patient teacher has helped him to swim, almost unassisted. Piano, he started 2 months ago. Progress is a little slow, but so far, he is still interested. I know piano and this helps coz i heard stories abt kids who cannot play a piece or play the same piece over and overagain, after 6 months of lessons, sigh.

Parenting is impt, but exhausting and challenging. So hope to have some mummies to chat with fr time to time

That's it for my introduction...

Welcome bboomer,
nice to meet u.

Ashley turn 5 by end of the mth. She's with Yamaha JMC. Her daddy has always been the one monitoring her progress. So far, she seems ok but poor attention span. She is also going thru a whiney phase which is getting on my nerves.

As both hb and I are working, we working towards getting Ashley to practise her piano on her own. So far, not so good. Play 1 piece, she will run n asked whether it is good enuf. The father is pretty strict wif her abt her piano and i am not sure whether this will kill off her interest eventually.

Hi B2B3M4

Think have to strike balance. On one hand, have to encourage, encourage A LOT coz really this works best. But on the other hand, have to set some stds. Like I will tell my kid that if he wants to continue lessons, he has to work hard. Same with wanting to be clever, has to work hard too! Of coz they may jus turn around and say they dont want to learn coz dont want to work hard... Then it's a judgement call, to coax or to scold, carrot or stick. That's wat makes parenting hard!

But honestly unless your child is mature for his age, cannot expect too much. I quote "If you insist on your 5 year old learning the piano, please know that the progress will be extremely slow and it will take them two years to learn what a 7 year old would learn in the first year." http://www.bukisa.com/articles/3913_is-your-4-year-old-ready-to-play-the-piano

bboomer,
hi, welcome

B2,
m planning to start ash on piano next yr. i hv been asking him but for now, his answer is no. dun wan to force him, wld try to 'persuade' him next yr. he is so active. i m sure if i ask him whether he wan to learn taekwando/judo, answer is yes. but i dun wan him to 'fight fight fight, kick kick kick' evyday. but boys enjoy all these leh.
wantet to tell u i m seriously considering to go bk work next yr. thou i m ok being a sahm but dun noe why i alwy hv such tot..

all the nice bday photos n reminded me ash is turning 5 soon. yes i miss his young tx. now so notti n stubborn. mummies having girls as 1st born, are they more 'guai'?

Bloomer,
gosh u manage to find me here. hahaha.
Still I have not send Janelle for swimming yet.
Where do u send Ian for piano, Janelle told me she wanted to learn.

Shld I send her for 1 to 1 coaching for Yahama? If Yahama, does she has to go thru the basic class again?

Hi sanrio,
I was into TKD too,
you'll be surprice it's not all 'fight fight fight, kick kick kick',
there's a lot of disipline teachings if he's with a good instructor.
A child who had gone thru martial arts training actually does lesser 'fight fight fight, kick kick kick'

Leng Leng

Hi Hong,

Little did you know i am your stalker haha... Kidding!!

My kid attends classes at Shaw Plaza Balestier's Le Classique. The sch has an outlet at Delfi Orchard. Shaw is jus nex to where we stay. Cut travelling time, coz as it is, he is in full day cc.

I think success feeds on itself. At first it was really hard getting my kid to detach himself fr mummy, daddy to join a bunch of strangers in an enrichment class. But with a lot of encouragement, after he perserves and experiences some success e.g. he can read/swim, he has become more enthusiastic. This kind of classes are good to teach the point that effort = success

Hope everyone is having a good weekend... Terribly hot though!

Pringles,
We went to HK disneyland

Not familiar with Boston. If California, can give some advise

I taught Alicia until the stage where she can blow bubbles, and basic strokes, however, she gets distracted easily with other kids around her. So....I got her a coach
. She's learning in a group now.

Hong,
That is one thing I like about ZP

Bboomer71,
Welcome.

Sanrio,
Although we do miss our #1 younger times, on the positive side, it is also wonderful to see them grow and able to communicate with you daya after day. Alicia went with me to look for tyres today. Although she said boring, but we had a good chat - father and daugher- in the car..hahaha

TKD- Agreed with TLL. TKD can help to instill discipline, and also "memory training"- got to remember the steps

Hi Alicia's daddy,

Interesting that a guy is involved to the extent of yakking on a motherhood forum.

Nice to know that you had fun bonding with your gal. I also have fond memories of sharing moments with my dad. Think dads n daughters hv a special bond.

Sanrio,
It is not uncommon to feel this way. Most of us women hv this battle with ourselves whether to work or not, or feel guilt not spending enof time with kids.

bboomer71,
It all started back in June 2006. Alicia (our #1) got constipation problem, so I started searching the web for possible solutions. Ended up making couple of friends in this thread, and yes, we are still keeping in touch
I am sure a lot of guys (as in some of my male friends) are very involve in parenthood and I believe there are probably numerous guys in this forum too

By the way, I have another son (Adrian). He will be 3YO this Sept.

Hi bboomer, welcome

B2, vane still in Yamaha also but I very relax with her one lah. Not sure if I shd continue the course cos Vane not very keen to practise with her piano.

A's dad, Alicia's swimming coach good? Thot of starting Vane and Sher with swimming soon

sanrio, I want sher to learn TKD leh, find it a good channel for him to let out his energy. Hahaha....

TLL, wow, you learnt TKD when young? What colour belt are u?

Mom2Nat, you brought Mac into the sch??? Possible? Ex or not?

giggler,
not young, learn when I'm in polytechnic...hehehe...
I think Blue belt.

Didn't get to learn & mom do not allow,
so learn when I'm independant... hahaha...

Giggler,
Did Vane practise her song for the concert? Alicia has been lazy nowsadays, so I will make sure she spend some time practising.

Personally, I like the coach's style. He is practical and objective in making sure the person can swim in the water. I saw some coaches teaches like in syllables, and 1 year on, still using the board to kick. Surprisingly, this coach came later than some other coachers, and I saw many of the residents here switch over to him. I think Sher too young lar, let him play play in the water, no need to learn how to swim yet.

TLL,
Why stop at blue belt?

Reread this page on the forum a little more closely...

Hey Sanrio,
If you putting your kid in Pei Chun, our kids will be sch/classmates. Hubbie is an alumnus...

What are you guys planning for the June Hols? I'm taking the kids to Bangkok nex weekend. Ok, not exactly a kid-frenly place... But anyway, will skip shopping at some hot & crowded weekend mkt like Chutuchak. Not too ambitious abt itinerary. THinking of palace, river ride, mall and temple nearby, tht's it!

bboomer71,
My kids have holiday program for 3 weeks, leaving the last week of Jun free. Probably take them to the zoo..hahaha..
There's a theme park (I think it i dreamland or something like that) in BKK. Heard it's a little run down but still can have some fun for the kids. Must go message!

TLL,
OIC. I learnt TKD during army days. Was brown2 before completing my national service.

Some cruise photos. More in fb.

2563182.jpg
2563183.jpg

Giggler
You can order Mac's to sch. $10 per child, comes with happy meal, door gift and 2 games to play together. Rather exp lor. Cost me $300 in all.
For Nat's actual bday, we went to Ritz's greenhouse for lunch with my family and 2 frens.

Mom2nat,
That is a very nice cake. This year, we bought the cake off the shelf, as Alicia said she want to have a cake with cherries, from Prima Deli.

Hi mom2nat,
Nice pxs. Your gal looks rather calm and steady.
I'm on FB too. Perhaps you could PM me your name on FB so that we could hook up?

A's Dad,
What holiday programme did you send up for? Anything interesting?

On martial arts...
Am thinking of enrolling kid in wushu at 7 at a CC. (That's the age they start accepting for wushu). Thot it doubles up as Chinese enrichment too hehe..

Mon2nat, Pringles
Can't agree more "So fast 5 yr old liao. Sort of miss her cuteness when she was young." At least we still hv a younger one to enjoy his cuteness

Alicia's daddy
Wow, swim 100m non stop. Dat's v v gd
U will enjoy daddy son looking at cars in the showrm soon. Few times, when my hubby needs to wait for me for 2 hrs or so, he brings Chen Chen to showrm to c cars
Your condo allows conducting of swimming lesson during wk end?

Pringles
U told the kids abt Ethan's b'dy? Do u celebrate both Ethan and Alicia's b'dy tog at home?
Nigel is v tall He looks taller than Alicia
I m looking for courses dat's smth like Baby Jumper Gym - ie all rounded not solely on gym, music Actually I like Baby Jumper Gym v much but it's shifted to Bt Batok too far. Bsides, the teacher I like left
I found a home base playgroup in Sengkang n Pasir Ris but the teacher accepts kids at 2 yr old
Wow go to Boston for 6 mths. Will u b bringing your helper along?

Bboomer71
Welcome to tis thread. Your boy borned in Jan 2004? R u a sahm all along?

B2B3M4
Tho at 5, kids' attention span is still pretty short

gacc
Chen Chen has no interest in music n art. He attended 2 terms of music appreciation enrichment class then said dun wanna cont liao
Do u let Ash take swimming lesson? Chen Chen likes to swim or I shld say play in the pool. My hubby is teaching Chen Chen to swim. Our plc doesn't allow conducting of swimming lesson on wk end. Wk day is impossible for us
Y do u hv the thot of joining work field?

Mon2nat
I like Nat's 3D cake. The color is v sweet n matches wif Nat's dress

koala / a's daddy
I bot this cake cos last min liao, and got candies on top, the kids will like... but the cake not nice. Very sweet oso.

Mom2nat,
where did u get the cake? It is really lovely.

Nat is 5yo. Happy Belated bday to Nat. I met ur neighbour yesterday at a bday bash. hee hee...

Koala,
since chen chen has no interest in music and art then u can channel ur effort and $$ to other area that he likes. What does he like?

A's dad,
is adrian born in 2006? he in ZP daily class? what time? i send my gal (born in 2006) to ZP, 1145 timing in april this year. wondering whether they same class.

giggler,
i didnt sign up for ru lang PV. doubt i got chance.... i heard abt westgrove PV also...i think the principle should ballot the PV in the first place, if not so many PV aiming for the limited seats next year, not very fair to the PV leh....are u westgrove PV? i am shifting to east side liao, so aiming for the schools in the "East"....hehe...i am aiming for the hock kian schools la and i joined hock kian huay kuan to "increase" my chance lo...

mom2nat,
does the mac party include the cake? heard can also invite KFC to school uh? when did u book the star crusie? i called in april for the star crusie in june, and apparently all booked liao leh....

mummies here...with this H1N1 flu thing, safe to take cruise? shld be better than plane uh? wanted to go holiday...but now seems better not to book anything first leh....

gacc,
Ha, ha.. i am the total opposite from u. I am trying to desuade ashley from continuing piano. She is already learning ballet, gymnastic and piano. Some how i feel she enjoys gym n ballet alot more and tot maybe she can focus on these 2. However, ashley insisted on continuig wif her piano.... dunno wat to do wif that. Was thinking when she starts primary school, how is she going to cope.
Hmm... going back to work? Lots of changes leh.. But big bosses still the same lah. Now lots of focus on pandemic planning. Not to mention we are still not sure what the future of healthcare services going to be like. Re-cluster, no more cluster etc. Some services like IT has already merge as one under MOH.

Giggler,
Aiyah.. think all the kids the same lah.. Whenever we want ashley to practise, got to nag and nag.. until i can get so angry that i will tell her to stop piano if she dun like it but she just won't let go. ya... think they are having their mini concert again by end of the mth. Sometimes i do wonder if i am a SAHM, things would have been better. Somehow i really have no patience for ashley's whininess and practising piano is always this mad rush, b4 we knew it, it wld be 10pm already.

Koala,
i know their attention span is short... but she can sit on the table to draw all day wif no probs. That is why i wonder if it is ashley has no interest in piano or she is still too young to grasp the concept of playing the piano.

viv,
wanna to check wif u how's ur PV at SNGS going?

mom2nat
the Mac's birthday party is $10 per child now? I did that for Jana last year and it was only $7+ per child. She wanted the same this year again, lucky we manage to persude her to just do a simple cake cutting.

b2
PV @ SNGS is going well, hubby have clocked 8 hours so far.

Wanted to check with you where is ashley learning piano? remember u said that ur huby is pro-yamaha right? I went to yamaha to check for the piano class for Jana, but they say that they only have piano class for 6yr old and above. Is ashley attending the electone class? Kinda regret not starting Jana on music earlier esp after seeing a 9 yr old kid performing Canon in D beautifully and without a music score at all.

viv,
wow, ur hubby already clocked 8 hrs?? Brought kids out for excursion??? I have actually talked to ashley's gym coach b4 and she was an SNGS alumnni. She was sharing that even alumni are having problems putting their own kids in the school.

Re: Piano,
Ashley, Vane and alicia are all in Yamaha JMC. In the class they play on electone but they are expected to practice on their piano at home. No worries abt starting late, some kids can just take off within a short time. Look at the of our kids who have started earlier, they are still struggling.
After putting ashley in piano, i was thinking whether to let chloe start on suzuki violin. But hubby is not too keen, he can't stand squeaky violin. For violin, Yamaha oso only have classes for kids above 6yr.

Hi Koala,
My kid is actually born Dec 2003. I spent the last 2 years in Taipei. We returned this year and were supposed to start son in K2. But then I had the shock of my life when i realised that SG syst has changed quite a bit since our school days. K1 is starting to recognise words, and K2 is already constructing sentences and learning spelling.

After a rather disastrous 2 mths in K2, as my boy struggled to keep up with his peers, we applied to MOE and got official permission to bring him down to K1 and defer entry to P1. With intensive coaching by mummy, daddy, phonics lessons, plus the school environment here.... he is now coping pretty well.

Well, our opinion is that by doing this, he will develop greater confidence and grow his love of learning, and enjoy his childhood more! In the greater scheme of things, one year is nothing. Given the current std of maths for instance, being a Dec child may well be a disadvantage anyway coz your brain jus has to be mature enof to fathom certain concepts. Anyway, am using the 'extra year' to offer him enrichment by way of piano classes and the like.

I was a FTWM until I left for Taipei. And will be returning to part-time work next mth.

Mom2nat,
the daddy neighbour. He was our photographer last night for a bb bash bday. Photos well taken. Hee... check my FB and his FB.

TLL,
I have both unarmed combat and TKD

Bboomer71,
Alicia learnt about the wonders of the world, and the solar system. This week, it is on festival of the world. As for Adrian, it was about sea creatures, and famous stories from (forget the author ...ooops).

Wow, you spent 2 years in Taipei, must have tried many Taiwan xiao che (yummy!). The only time I have been to Taiwan was in my army daze

Koala,
Other than showroom, it will be car accessories shop..hahahaha...
Yes,at the moment, still allow
. Weekend has around 2 coaches. I heard from one of my colleague that her condo banned swimming class due to residents complaint about space.

Stressma,
Yeap, Adrian is 2006 kiddo. He's in 130pm daily class. I think plane better than cruise, cos in a cruise, you will be confine in the ship for couple of days...hahaha (just my thoughts)

Hong, Mom2nat,
I love kids too leh, but sticking to TWO