(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Aston shocked us with swollen eyelids this morn. It was eyelid infection and luckily it is not contagious. Now he looks better after few times of eye drops.

Hi Sarah and Moo87, I like Gucci bags too and my friend told me Gucci having sales now. But prices without sales are too expensive and I can't bear to splurge like that now. In the end, I was lucky to get a few COACH bags when DH travels to USA last year.

Apricot.. is it Chalazion (Bak Zam in hokkien)?

Moo87, any updates on Zavier? hope he is getting better. Could it be pneumococcal disease? Better seek other advise.. Cos symptons of Pneumococcal are like that.. I will PM u the brochure.

My boy now also under close monitoring.. he got fever and flu, maybe mild bronchitis. KY, MH any advise??

Serenade...we do not travel there frequent but friends who do that always go to their factory outlets. The products there is definitely much cheaper than same product found in the factory outlet here in Vancouver. We have 5 luggages full when we left Japan for Vancouver. I think when we are returning to Singapore, will shipped all the new winterwear, gaps, old navy and will probably to leaving those that we are wearing now behind and sell off all the furnitures etc and just bring back all ds's DVDs, Logico Learning systems, Thomas the Tank Engines books that cannot be found in Singapore and all his Thomas the tank engine train set and wooden train sets.

moshimoshi...I dun think it is worth the effort considering the shipping, taxes etc. Lots of work haahaa... And dh is not so keen about doing this too.

Hi WorryMum,
Yap, it is Bak Zam in Hokkien. Wow, you clever lah..I cannot even rem the English name for it.

Aston was vaccined aganist pneumococcal disease last year, after I read the information on the disease. Therefore, encouraged all mommies to vaccine our DS and DD.

Apricot, my benjamin kenna twice liao.. once with surgery leh.. haiz..

U try using hot water towel to compress.. it might get "ripe" and "explore" itself. If you go KKH, they also advise this steps. Hope this helps..

Pneumococcal - Still drag drag.. paiseh.. should I?

Hi WorryMum, thanks for your advice. Actually there are pus flowing out this morning when doc press his eyelids. But I will still try your method.

Actually besides reading the Pneumococcal brochure information, we ever saw the TV advertisement and Aston ask what happen to the gor gor. We realised we do not know how to explain to him. From there, it hasten our decision to vaccine him.

Oh dear, seems like lots of viruses around!! Hannah has been coughing which I believe due to the blocked nose (as in previous cases). Now with all these postings, think I should go to PD to make sure her lungs are clear.

Joanne,
How's little Benny?

Moo87,
Keep us updated on Zavier. You take care too.

Apricot,
Thought you disappear...Did Aston cry? Hmm...I did not think about pnuemococcal vaccine, perhaps should give it a thought. I did vaccine Hannah against chicken pox though.

Moshi,
The school sure has an interesting way for the teachers/students to know each other. Not too overwhelming for either party.

Hi Serenade,
Hannah is enjoying school though she cried for the past 2 mornings, first time since she starts pre-nursery. But she was ok after I left.

Enrichment class? Do not have spare cash leh, and guess there's no need for it yet. I'm keen to sign her for swimming and/or gymnastics or drawing class though. Currently, she is learning ballet, not classical just 'bebe' as they called it. Guess that's because we dance alot since she was young.

Have been quite relax in coaching Hannah at home ever since she starts school. Got to buck up now coz the core lessons such as reading/writing lessons are in the afternoon, and she's only in the CC for half day.

Anyway, I'm thinking of withdrawing her now. Been thinking of the following:

1. is the hygiene standard that unacceptable for me, or was I demanding too much;
2. curriculum - no issues;
3. long term absence - I was told to withdraw Hannah as the school has hit the maximum students in the school, and many more are waitlisting. 3months away from sch. I was told 'It wasn't an issue...' when signed up. Hahaha...this is what I get for choosing a CC so near home.

Oops, I wasn't too clear in the absence issue. Planning to go away for 3months, and so the principal told me to withdraw instead as she has many people on the waitlist. As soon as there's a opening, she will immediately put someone else in. Yep, I know 3months abit too long, but I was ready to pay a fee to retain Hannah's registration, just shocked to hear the principal's answer.

Hi Sarah,
Am here am here, I did not disappear. Aston cried a while when he wakes up this morning and it shld be the irritable pain that bothers him. He was given two days MC as requested by me to rest before he resume him. Taking a chance to let him rest more.
How nice and envy le..Hannah learns ballet..surely Aston cannot learn ballet. He is now learning fighting , aiyo..headache for us to correct him. Boys are boys and they are more active.

Hygience is very impt and you are only right to hold your demand to the school. Dun worry.
Wow, you are going away for 3mths..where to ?

Dear Mummies

I have given ds flu vaccine (yearly), chickenpox and Pneumococcal vaccine. I feel safer as ds has an episode of bronchitis before.

Now overseas, multi-vit daily, extra vit C when signs of flu, cold appear, adult chicken essence half a bottle, lots of herb soup and tuina (taught by ds's chinese physician in Singapore before I left) every evening. To strengthen his body.

Hi apricot,
How's Aston's eyes today? Any idea how he got the infection? From school?

Hi moo87,
How's Zavier getting on?

Hi Joanne,
How's Ben doing now? Has the lump subsided further?

Mommies, do take extra care now that school has started.

Hi moshimoshi,
Amazing, isn't it? That was what Brandon's teacher used to tell me. Despite his display of "reluctance" to attend school every morning, he actually enjoyed it. Sigh, if not for the big kids, I would have let him continue school...

Mel's school sounds really committed to the kids. You are lucky to find such a good school so near your place!

Hi sarah,

Is Hannah still in Kinderland CC? I would think a CC should adopt a stricter approach in hygiene since the children are around each other for the entire day. And besides, they are having meals together too...

Hmm, so where are you going for the 3 mths? Has your husband been deployed overseas?

Ballet, how nice! I intend to let Cheryl try it when she's eligible for classes too. You mentioned you like dancing. Were you a member of any dance groups previously? Took dance classes? I tried Salsa but could never get the steps right ...

What's the difference b/w CC and Nusery? Do you place Hannah from 7am to 12pm everyday in the CC? Any particular reason why you choose CC over Nursery? Sorry for the string of questions. I have been getting rather confused b/w CC and Nursery.

Hi Pris,
Is it worth investing in the wooden Thomas train set? Are the tracks able to withstand rough handling? How about fixing and dismantling every now and then? Brandon has the plastic version now. Think he will be thrilled to get the wooden version. But we are not sure if it's sturdy enough...

Is your Logico Set from US? Any difference from the sets available in Sg?

Both my kids are given pneumococcal vaccine but not flu jab. Does your pd advise flu jabs for kids? My pd thinks it's not necessary despite me asking. Was Kai En's previous bout of bronchitis severe? Over here, it's very common for kids to have bronchitis, esp during the cold seasons.

some of the mummies are meeting today at Plaza Sing for lunch ... do join us if keen. pm me.

Sarah
Just go with your instinct.... if u r uncomfortable with something even after informing the school and little action is taken, I'd say leave ... there are many others around and definitely one would suit hannah better.

Moo87, hope Zavier is getting better today ... ya, I think you should discuss with your PD why the situation is such ... I know the ear-nose-throat is linked up but for the ear drum to rupture, it sounds pretty serious. We too gave Ben the pneumococcal jab last yr ... will give Keith his jab this yr after he turns one.

WorryMum, for flu/fever, depending on the seriousness and type, we usually self-medicate with Actified (if there's phlegm) or Rhinatol (if it's just running nose)... there's abt 4-5 other types of common medicine that our PD/GP have given us over the past few yrs and hubby would decide wat suits Ben most ... if it gets more seriously or status quo after 2 wks, we'll pop into the doctor's. Keeping my fingers crossed, Ben's falling sick lesser now. I credit it to regular visit to the TCM doc. He's still taking chinese medication for "bu" ... besides that, he's been going to the playground everyday in school ... I just observe that he's more skinny these days at the hands and legs ... that's not too bad considering that he does eat quite a bit. think for each mummy, there's tons of "secret receipes" on how to strengten the kid's body.... and it works for some but not for others

Serenade, difference between a CC and nursery is one is more for caring and on is more for schooling. CC do not have school holidays and they only closed for 5 days in addition to the public holidays. These usually operate from 7am - 7 pm and that means the teachers would be working in shift. There would be bathing and meals facilities (some with dinners provided). For schools, these are usualy 3 hrs. Some have 2 or 2.5 hrs. They follow the school calendar and closes during the Mar/Jun/Sep/Dec holidays. Only snacks are provided. For me, there's little difference. Schools generally focus on curriculum and cc generally on care ... Some cc if you notice function very much like a school, ie giving more focus to curriculum and less on care and that's because they were formally a school before they converted to a cc... it's something to do with the building structure that they are not allowed to continue to function as a school ...

.ky.

Zavier has flu vaccine (yearly), chickenpox and Pneumococcal vaccine except Rotavirus. Cardi PD at SBCC insisted tt Zavier has these vaccines. His fever subsided on Wed after ear drum rupture. Blood flowing out on & off though. Effects of ear drum rupture not known yet as hole must heal and close up fully. His cough condition not improving despite nebuliser and antibiotics treatment. Will be sending him to AMK SBCC PD tomorrow and also to return the nebuliser equipment. It was on loan for a fee of S$10/day. Keeping him at home. trying to keep him occupied with vcds, drawings, story telling, puzzles. gtg. zavier is pestering me.

hi moo87, who are you seeing at SBCC? Dr Koh or Dr Ngiam or?? nebulizer is for phlegm ... he's probably coughing bcos of the phlegm. is he on other medication for the cough? if it's not improving, he may be required to stay on for nebulizer for another few days ... he's on ventolin? how many puffs? do observe if he's taking in deep breaths when doing the neubilizer

.ky.

hi ky, zavier is seeing Dr Koh. He is not on ventolin yet. I am thinking to switch him to Dr Ngiam @ Glenagles as Dr Koh is very cautious and slow on medication.

Hi Serenade,
I just love to dance, heehee...helps to keep me in shape. Interested to learn belly dance but can't find kakis. BUT...these days no matter what I do, the fats just refused to leave me, especially after giving birth. Arrgh...and it's almost 4yrs!!!

Planning to visit sis in Australia. It's a bi-annual thingy for me & Hannah. A friend commented that my sis must be the most boring person to live in such a boring place in Aust. Make a guess where she lives in.

I believe you mean difference between CC and kindergartens? They are pretty much the same, like Ky mentioned.

1. kindergartens under MOE, CC under MCYS;
2. holidays - kindergartens are closed during school holidays;
3. both run nursery class(3-4yrs old) up to K2 (some offers pre-nursery ie 18mths and above);
4. both are expected to teach/develop basic language/skills, curriculum are subject to respective authorities' approval; and
5. kindergartens are mostly run by church or charities, CC privately owned.

Moo87,
I saw the vcds at Parkway Parade.

Moshi, did you manage to buy them?

Hey Ky,
I have to say, Ben sure doesn't look like he has a good appetite based on size. Good metabolism.

Hi Serenade,

Aston's eyes are better today. Direct antibiotics eyedrops work faster and effective versus oral antibiotics. This is 1st time Aston apply eyedrops and luckily he cooperates with us.

OH, i forgot to mention his eyelids infection is due to dust/dirt trapped by eyelashes and ingrown in his eyelids, according to the doc.

Serenade, the wooden set is meant for younger children and Kao has both. He has the plastic set from a church friend and then we add on. And it is left behind in Singapore in the storage. And when we are in Japan, we found one of the shopping more selling it quite cheap so we bought him a couple more plastic one from there and my bro is the one who gave him the wooden set.

Moo87, have you tried Dr Ong Eng Keow at SBCC, he specialised in cough and children asthma. He is ds's paediatrician.

Kai missed preschool today as it was snowing heavier and there were traffic accidents and we have fun throwing snow ball at each other for a while earlier and Kai collected some snow to show his daddy.

Hi dear mommies,

Ds started N2 with PCF this yr. I am not sure what kind of routine should I "practice" on him now. He used to be able to skip afternoon nap and sleep around 8 or 9 at night. Now that he wakes at 715, school from 8 to 1030, i force him to take his afternoon nap after lunch ard 130pm so that he can sleep at night around 10 plus. But I am encountering difficulties in getting him to nap, always battling with him at least an hour or half an hr before he unwillingly doze off. Actually he is seen yawning away during lunch while watching TV already.

Shd I or shd i not let him skip the nap? Without the nap, he can still tahan till 9 plus pm then sleep. But I am thinking, sleeping at 9 plus without nap and waking at 7 plus with school is taxing for a little boy leh.

Any good suggestions?

Hi Sarah
I promised to buy the vcd, brought her there, only to find out that it costs $14.90, cheapo mommy trying to back out but as expected we bought it. I hesitated cos' it's a movie and there're 2 discs to finish, hated the thought of her sitting in front of the TV for more than 1/2 hr. Anyway, she tried it and wasn;t exactly thrilled abt the whole thing, enjoyed mostly the parts when George got into mischief. She still prefers the books which i am glad.

Hi Moo
If u like, i could lend u the VCD for a few weeks,
Mel won't miss it too much, no worries. Just send me a PM to arrange for pick up.

Hi Prisline
Mel got the stye a few times, PD have her some cream which worked, have to treat early to prevent bad swelling.

Hi Priscillia
While u have fun with snowballs, we will settle for water bombs here haha

Hi Sherlyn
Melody's naptime is what i look forward to every day. She naps abt 3 pm and turn in at 10pm at night, wakes up at 7ish. Must let your son nap, for his growth and for your sanity. How about 2pm or 3pm?

About school, was given an order form to buy readers, Kite's reading prog from australia, whatever this is, anyone knows?
And after i confirm that i won;t need those Letterland workbooks, i would sell them, lemme know if u are keen, letting go at below retail px.
Those thin, almost wordless readers are so expensive, $5 per book! Sigh... Or am i being cheapo again?

An excursion coming up in Feb, excited, wonder if they would want me as parent volunteer hee hee

hi moshi2,

my gal's CC is doing Letterland, let me know what did the workbook includes. Thanks.

Sarah,
keen to let my gal learn a bit dancing too, which school is ur gal in?

Apricot, sorry to hear abt Aston. hope he get wll soon.

Moshi,
Sorry, I thought I saw $6.90-$9.90 board on the shelves.

Is it compulsory to buy those readers? Never heard of leh. I'll check with my sis.

MH,
Hannah is with Crestar. Most kids in the East join Crestar's ballet, so naturally I didn't search around too. $154.35 for 3months, once a week, 45mins. Confirmed students are given a leotard, the rest to buy on your own. Trial class is available. Bebe ballet for 3-4yrs old, there were some 5yrs old last yr and has now switched to classical.

here are some snowing pictures from my apartment...

646331.jpg

646332.jpg

646333.jpg

My cake to celebrate ds going to preschool
646334.jpg

Mt Fuji from our flight from Osaka to Narita Airport in Tokyo
646335.jpg

Hi Priscilla,

Wow ... very nice leh!!
Brought my son to Tokyo last Dec, he wanted to see snow @ Mt Fuji but we went Nikko instead. He was very disappointed. Wait till he see this ...

aa....haahaa....we were in Tokyo but weather did not allowed us to go up but we have lots of fun in Disneyland and DisneySea since we were based in Kyoto for 2.5 months.

Hi ladies...

Have updated some Nara's photos in my blog but yet to arrange them since I compiled from 2 cameras.

And here's ds's snowman...

646799.jpg

646800.jpg

646801.jpg

646802.jpg

This is part of our homeschool about winter and ds got to create his own snowman....he has done a piece of art in preschool on Snowman too.

We also have this song...sing to the tune of 10 little indian boys

One little two little three
little snowmen
four little five little six
little snowmen
seven little eight little nine
little snowmen
ten little snowmen

sarah: we had a Crestar branch in Jurong East too. Confirmed=signed up for full term? Went to a trial class at Taman jurong and dd simply refused to join the class, just sticky to her daddy.

KY, Thanks.. DS is now on recovering stage..

Apricot, glad that Aston's eyes had recovered. And he is very cooperative with u. My Boy just couldn't cooperate for the eye drops. haiz..

Priscilla, wah.. so envy leh..

MH,
Yes, you have to sign full term, but I was told fees are refundable (pro-rated). How abt getting daddy to stay in class for a while then leave? I stood outside the class and sneaked off after 5mins.

Priscilla,
Nics pics. And nice view of the park from your apt. How long will you be based in Canada?

Sarah,
We were here from February to September last year and return for a short visit in Singapore for 1.5 months then stationed in Kyoto where dh conducted his testing and data collection in a research centre in Kyoto. And came back here, it depend whether dh is doing his Ph.D here or over in Australia, if he does it here should be another 3.5 yr if in Australia then one year here before we pack up and left for Brisbane.

Worry Mom, what happened to your ds? Hope that he has a speedy recovery.

MH
Will send u pix of what i have after i confirm that the sch will not use them. Hey don't worry too much abt your dd not wanting to go for extra lessons, she's probably not ready or has other interests, let her enjoy what she likes best, childhood is so preciously short.

Pris
What fantastic pix, i find your boy better looking than the snowman haha cool floppy fringe!
Your cake gave me the idea to get 1 too to celebrate Mel's bravery in sch!

ky n sarah
Managed to meet K's mom?

School update:
As expected, drop off drama but came out smiling at the end of the session, she even showed off her thumb to give the 'good' sign, teacher drew a happy face on her thumb. She managed to pee once which i am glad, horrific if she tries to hold urine for 3 hrs! Had some ME time while she was in sch, felt a bit strange without her bugging me for this that. Anyway, free time is good, hope to meet some of u in the mornings when things are more settled.

Serenade,
Forget to add one other thing - kindergartens charge fees per term (10weeks) whereas CC per month.

Priscilla,
Wow! That's long time away from home. Kai will be in junior school then. Good exposure for him. Sigh...how to get our kids living in tropical countries to appreciate seasons change? Over here, we imagine you picking up fallen leaves in autumn, and on your end, imagine us sunbathing and sipping lemonade under the sun. Heehee...

Moshi,
Didn't meet K's_mom. No caregiver though MIL wanted to take time off to mind Hannah. No point wasting her time off since only a couple of hours.

Any meeting for CNY? Other than mommy's shopping?

hi sarah
mel was real funny just now, i asked if she would like a cake or ice cream to celebrate her bravery, she paused and replied "it;s ok, it's the thought that counts" i burst out in laughter, kids! you duno what u would get from them! haha

Yep, CNY meet-up for the families is nice, mel gets a day off fr sch on 21 feb. how abt hannah?

Let's hear what the rest say, anyone wanna host?

moo87, Dr Ngiam specializes in asthma ... but tomo being sat, there'd be a long wait if you've got no appt. But judging from what I hear is given by another PD, SBCC is quite cautious on medication. Perhaps Dr Koh didn't prescribe Ventolin but something else. He's my SIL's PD but we don't use him. We used Dr Ngiam and I'm only familiar with the 3 docs in the SBCC in Gleneagles.

Sarah, some kindergardens are operated by private org too ... there were 2 that I considered and one of them charges by month ... and you have to pay for Jun & Dec both that and transport even when there's no school ... ya, but usually it's by by term and by churches and charities ...

yes, MeiLan and I met up with K's mom yesterday ... knew u couldn't get away ... was basically sharing experiences on kids and MILs!!! And K's mom got a good education on the fuss abt Daiso :> ... hope Hannah's feeling better now.

Pris, u do hs with Kai on top of the schooling in Canada right? can u share the schedule for hs? anyone doing homeschooling (partial or trying to) with 2 kids in tow?

.ky.

Apricot,
So you can 'phew' now...

Joanne,
Benny reviewing doc today right? Hope you have good news to share.

Moshi,
Kids say the darnest thing! Hannah's sch should be opened since a CC.

Re CNY meeting, how about 10/11 Feb? I may be going to Msia during CNY. If mommies do not mind travelling to Changi, I can try to book a room. Mommies?

Ky,
Do you have any complaints on Learning Ladder besides those you mentioned previously? My friend is keen on the CC.

Hi Sarah,

Am okay with 10Feb after 1pm or 11 Feb and let's see what other mummies says. Do u mean book a chalet at Changi ?

Hey apricot
Are u skiving? Get back to work, lady! ;)

11 feb for me! Whereabouts?

CNY gathering 11 feb
1. Sarah
2. Apricot
3. Moshi

Just taking a break as I sleep at 10pm last nite after reading to Ds and singing with him. And now awake to prepare more materials for next week's hs. So drop by to read post.

KY, as Kai just started his preschool this week after we came back from Kyoto, I am still trying and finetuning our schedule. Will share once we are more or less settle into the routine and I believe you are more experience than me in this area as Ben started half day CC mucher earlier than Kai, maybe you could like to share how you work out your schedule as well. Anyone other mummies have such experiences, dun mind sharing?