(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

gen

I'm starting this thread in the hope that we can share & discuss everything including development, discpline method that works & even recipes or ideas to keep our little one away from boredom. My brief introduction. I'm SAHM with 2 lovely daughters. One is 2 yrs 8mth & the other is 9mth old .

helo...

me SAHM with 2 boys, 31mth old n 6mth old. kekeke... I was hoping for a girl... let's swop :p

but seriously, isn't it diff? u any helper? me with a helper already wan to pull all my hair out... my toddler is already a handful. sigh!

sunflower,

yes. I do have a helper. haha.. just like you alrady so tired. really cannot imagine without one. your first boy is born on which mth? Mine a oct baby. I'm hoping for a boy & a girl
but kanan 2 girls.

Hi all mommies,
Is yr kids schooling already? I just signed up my girl with MMI. Will be starting soon.

My Boy is born on 14 Oct 03, and I'm going to give birth again EDD 8 July. Girl this time...so it's close shop after this one

Gen - mine's Nov 03 and Dec 05... tired rt? but I guess it is gd also lah, all at 1 go, when they grow up a bit more, we will regain our freedom :p

Jordanmommy - kekeke, me too... factory close, even thoug I haven't gt my girl. Too bad, no daughter. :p

I'm FTWM with 2 gals, first one is 2yr 9mth and the little one is 7.5 mths!
Haven't sent my gal to any class! Hee.. But I'm not exactly in a hurry leh.. intend to start nursery for her next yr.

Sunflower,

Yahloh. Very tired. Me still thinking want to close factory or not. But very scared to go thru the pregnancy process again as both my pregnancy were not too smooth. But thinking of having a boy leh. (Not for the sake of carrying the surname, but feel that is just nice to have both gender only.)

hi kris,
me sent my #1 to Tumbletots since Jan tis yr. He seems to b having lotz of fun. But my helper is gg back in July, n the tot of having to re-train a new helper *pengz*
I am considering putting him in half day CC instead, so dat I can do some housewk, run some errands in the mornings. Handling 1 is easier than 2.

Gen - sigh! me dying for a girl, bt dun tink I can handle having 3 kids, so ... gt to shelve the idea lor. Mayb when my boys bigger, bt then again, the tot of having to go thru the preggy stage, plus the TBF, diaper changing... err... :p

I'm a SAHM with two kids, 36mths old boy and 12mths old gal.

Really glad that Gen started this thread.

Sunflower, i envy u.... at least the gap btw your kids is not too wide... :p
i'm TTC #2 this aug(hoping for a gal), if successful, age gap is 4yrs, don't know #1 can accommodate or not..... hehehe, am i thinking too early when i haven even start trying? ^_*

Sunflower: My maid is also going home in a few days! But I'm gonna get the new maid later (she has arrived and passed all the nec tests) and I'm housing both maid in the next few days so that the new one can learn from my old one. I also got a maid with experience in a city (Hong Kong in my case) so that there's little she needs to relearn. If u trust ur present maid enuf y not let her help to train the new maid b4 sending her back? Once you cancel the present maid's worl permit u still have 7 days' grace period b4 sending her home.

hi mommies!

my family will be going to langkawi end of the month? anyone got a hotel to recommend? somewhere between the beach(for the little one) and the town(for mommy & daddy)?

Sunflower,
Good that your kids age gap is 2 years apart.
It's very tiring for my case as my boy is in his terrible two period when I get pregnant again...and because he is very attached to me, i'm having a hard time making sure that he dun feel left out when the 2nd one come...and he's so demanding nowadays and i'm in my 3rd trimester...haiz...tired....b-(

jordanmommy - heh heh, I got preggy again when my boy was abt 15+ mth, n he was already at the 'terrible-two' stage lor, he now he is still stuck at this stage. seeme like he has been at tis stage forever lor... I'm getting so sick n tired of his current stage, can;t wait for him to outgrow it man!
so I guess unless your no. 1 is at least 4 -5yrs old when u preggy again, feeling tired is unavoidable! but try to rest as much as you can, coz when u pop, if u r intending to TBF, it will be more tiring.
Do remember to prepare a 'gift' for didi to gif to korkor. I heard tis will help alleviate the jealousy.

Rammy - can't help leh, the oni time I've been to Langkawi was when I was on cruise :p

Karen - no envy, no envy!!! me dying already, all my llife sucked out by my 2 towkays! :p

Vivian - wah! exactly 2 yrs apart, and now dat #2 is 1, are thgs easier?

Kris - I have tot abt it(maid-mentor-maid), but my helper has expressed she MIGHT want to come back n wk 4 me, bt till nw still cannot cfm if she wants to come back or not. She is not fantastic lah, but she knows the thgs ard, and most imptly, my helper has gt very clean hands lor (+ + pt bcoz my mom is the type who like to throw her $$$ n thgs ard, and I go over my mom's place 3-4time a wk)

aa - stopping at 1? :p

Hi Sunflower,

Actually, they are 2 yrs and 2 weeks apart. Noticed that Gen's kids are also abt 2 years apart.

Are things easier? Yes and no...
But sometimes, I wish I can spilt into half. Imagine I have to carry both at the same time. One on each hand... told my hubby there's no need to go gym cos got free weights training at home.

I am still undecided if I should get a helper next year. Currently, I'm in France looking after the kids myself. Extra pair of hands will be nice but we don't feel comfortable living with a stranger. Are there any day help available, i.e helps to peform maid duties in the day and go home at night?

Hi Sunflower,

Declared CLOSED at 1.

Cannot cope is one thing (as always need to travel for work), but gynae just told me that my chances of conceiving is actually less than 5%. Be able to get 1 is really a miracle!

serenade - haha, me too. I will sling my bb, n carry my toddler (only at hm) sometimes

ur Hb in RSAF?

my best fren used to have this kind of arrangement, coz her HB dead agst another stranger at hm, so in the day, helper will come over n help, nite time helper slps in her mom's house. only feasible if u stay near parents etc.

aa - so when u travel who watch ur kid? parents? maid?

Discipline
I noticed my toddler seems a little immune to me smacking his hands lio, so I recently intro the naughty wall, I make him stare at the wall for 3min whenever he is naughty.

Diet
As he was a TBF bb, he refuse to touch a single drop of milk powder. Plus he is a picky eater, sigh! recently he has been really trying, he'll hold the mouthful of rice in his mouth for more than 5 min, then gif me the 1-wan-to-gag look. *sigh* I was telling my mum, how not to feel like puking, since the mouthful of rice become so soggy n no taste. Any ideas wat I can do to let him outgrow this bad habit? ;(

Hi, I am FTWM to 2 gals. One is coming to 3 yrs old and the other is 5 months old....any 2003 kids not really talking yet?

MH, my son can only speak 4~5 words sentences, and the pronouncation not very clear...

any mum has way to handle this situation?
****everytime when we goes out, if we pass by toys stores, my rascal sure will go running in, and goes to the car depts, he will search around and will definitely carry somethings and ask me buy. when i tell him NO, he will sit on the floor and cry so loudly that all eyes is on us! even when i tried to lie to him that i'll bring to pay for it, he's not taken in! he will goes to the counter himself and pass to the cashier!

anyway to deal with this? I've try walking away, and he will scream much even louder! there's isnt a day where we will go back home empty handed whenever we goes out....

he has so many cars that it's has filled up 2 big storage box! and there are even many repeated set.

any advice?
thanks in advance.

sunflower,

My mom is the main caregiver for my boy and he's very sticky to her since birth, so he stayed at my parents' place 7 days a week.

Its me who missed him more when travelling. Noted lately, everytime after my trip, he demanded a lot of attention from me. Dunno whether that's another way of 'protesting'?

MH,
what do u meant by not really talking yet?
meaning full sentences?

hi karen

my son was like that. the only difference is, he would take any toy, saying that he didn't have that toy at home. yup, he would scream like we had beaten him up so badly.

slowly, we manage to distract him with other stuff until he outgrew his tantrums. luckily, he's easily bribed with mc's ice-cream.

now, if we're going out, we make him promise that he will not buy anything, that he can spend as much time browsing through the toys and books dept. if he insists on buying, we remind him of his promise. he usually relents. also, we always tell him to give/throw away his old & broken toys first before we buy him any new toy.

don't worry, your son will outgrow this stage.

btw, my son talks non-stop. quite legibly & in full sentences. the only time he's quiet is when he's asleep. a stranger even says that he should be a girl, as he talks too much!!

Hi Sunflower,

yup, my hubby is a RSAF serviceman. I toyed with the idea of letting the helper stay at my mil's place but not feasible. I stay in the West and my mil stays in town. sigh...

Discipline - ds is way past the smacking and facing wall phase. He's rather "mature" for his age, doesn't give me much problem. When he does get on my nerves, I always threaten him with the cane and that usually solves the problem.

Diet - Has been self feeding since 18 mths old. But sometimes when he toys with the food, I'll give him a time limit before removing his food away. Always works. sunflower, maybe u can let him skip a meal if he doesn't eat. But do not give him snacks before the next meal. When he realises u mean business, he will finish his food the next round. This is the advice given by my french pd.

Hi MH, those who could understand my son's speech comment that he speaks very well. But there are some who cannot understand him. How is your gal doing?

Karen, whenever ds wants a new train/truck, I'll tell him that we need to dump/give away something at home, otherwise no space for the new toy. And I'll ask him to choose between his favourite Thomas trains or Bob the Builder. Usually, he'll just walk away...

alrite, my question - does your 3 years old put on weight fast? My ds is 1m tall and weighs abt 18-19kg. I'm trying to keep his weight at 18kg. His weekly diet :
Breakfast - FM + a piece of bread
Lunch - 1 bowl* of porridge with broccoli & a lot of fish
Tea - FM
Dinner - 1 bowl of rice/porridge, usually with either pork/chicken/veal.
Supper - FM
Macdonald's kids' meal (orange juice)- once a week.
occassionally we have ice-cream.
*three-quarters full of an adult bowl
Is my ds eating too much?

Hi Serenade,

Looking at your son's menu, how I wish DS is like that. Always got problem getting him to eat, as he's been a fussy eater. Personally do not think your son is eating too much, as at this age, they move around a lot.

DS does not put on weight fast, but does loss weight very fast. Actually only started to see weight increase after putting him on Pediasure.

Just curious,
for your pork/chicken/veal, is it in slices or do you minced it?

welcome! all the new mommies
all is welcome... afterall, tis is forum

aa - me too! mine is also a fussy eater, n I dun have formula milk to fall back on. At least if your toddler drinks FM, u noe he is getting somethg nutritious

Serenade - your ds's menu looks ok, afterall, they r growing. but hmmm.. FM 3 times a day? I tot I read somewhere if they r eating main meals ok, FM can cut down to twice a day. Need to chk it out to cfm again. btw, each bottle of FM how many ml?

hmmm... will try the mtd ur french PD recommend. Let's see if it wks! *fingers crossed*

Re: Talking
my ds has been talking in full sentences since he is abt 24mth old. He is exceptionally talkative, can talk until the cows come hm type (High 5 - rammy!!). But no worries lah, for mommies whose kids r not talking much yet, coz my PD ever told me diff child progress differently. My cousin started talking only after he turned 4, and he is a lawyer now... there u go! dun worry!

Wow! This thread is moving faster than I thought. Sorry mommies no time to read today. Manage to read just a few posting.

Sunflower,
You mean you carry your 2 kids ard the hse for the whole day? Have you even think of them playing by themselve? I recommend you a book to read. Is call Terrific Toddler. Is talking on flexible routine & teaches toddler to have self control so that they can play by themselves. Hehe.. I'm still trying to teach my girls this.

gen - *horror* no lah, carry them whole day, tink my arms break lio. my bb now already 10kg wor! only for a while, to 'show' my toddler I love them equally. Occasionally when I bring them out without my helper, I will need to carry him onto the bus, dat's all.

my toddler I started him off the wrg foot(1st kid mah, too kan cheong. haha), so he is v 'sticky', watch tv also wan me to sit wif him. Now I am trying to undo the damage. For my 2nd bb, I am already starting to 'train' him to be independent.

Terrific Toddler? by which author huh?

Thanks, gen.. I would like to join in too...

I'm FTWM, with 1 boy - 33mth (Sept03), now 13.6kg, 93cm tall, currently study in Apple Tree Playgroup daily for 1.5hrs.

Serenade, ur son 18kg.. wow.. wonder is my son underweight..

BTW, do all ur kids know how to jump at this age? cos my son still dont jump at this age.. haiz.. really worry for him..

My son speaks well. .. in full sentence.. but more stronger in his mandarin, cos my mum look after him for the day time..

Karen, me too having the same problem.. I skipped the toys department usually...

Re: Talking
my gal is not talking with 2-word sentences yet...hope she will talk very soon.

Serneade: My gal is a featherweight at 11kg and she is 90 cm tall..no FM for her..

karen: tell him u got no money to buy lor...if our gal is crying, we just drag her out of the store...

Worry Mum,
not only toys depts, whenever he saw pasar malam, he will dash into it to search for those selling toys!

MH,
it's really so paiseh leh... he not only cry, he wil scream his lung out, sitting on the floor, kicking here and there. whenever hubby went over to carry, he will not allow hubby to carry, and turn his face away! arghhhh sometimes he really drive me crazy wor...

MH. no FM for ur gal??? why??

Karen, sama sama.. we will bring something his favorite whenever we go out and show him.. when he refuse to go off.. so as to divert his attention.. maybe u wanna try too..

worry_mum: my gal like to jump off the last step of the stairs, give me a shock the first time...
maybe u can try jumping games when he is more receptive?

karen: just carry him out and smack him or bring him home...alternative way is to tell him before u go out, that once he acts up, wou will go home..(of course must carry out the threat a few times to be effective)

worry_mum: I dun believe in milk (she's a tbf baby for 2 yrs) and I believe that milk can cause phlegm.

normally what do you do with your kids?
play puzzles? reading? watching TV? go to park?

quite loss what to do with him, other than role-play with him. hubby introduce him to computer games (those pooh education games), which i'm quite against it, so thinking what else can i do with him.

worry_mum: dun worry, my son (Jan'03) only mastered his balancing skills and jumping (thou still not good) this year. he used to fall easily, until got to bring him for checkup, to make sure he's fine. PD told me, he's very vocal, so his motorskills is not that good, and its normal as its rather rare to have a kid good in both ... dunno how true is that.

MH: always talk to your gal in full sentence, that'll get her to talk (according to PD).

YA.. aa, thanks.. at least not so worried now.. But all his classmates in playgroup all able to jump except him..my son loves to write.. he is good in academy but not atheltics..his teacher also notice that. I printed lots of wooksheet for him..he loves to see Barney's VCD, colouring, writing, singing.

Karen.. haha.. hope it works for your son.

Hi hi
I'm a WFHM with a 2 boys, 3+ yrs & 15mths.

My big boy is very active and talkative
and of course the little brother is picking up all sorts of things from him now

aa: I guess so..my gal is good in physical but social and verbal skills are slow in comparison...

she can climb up the stairs without holding to the railing and yesterday she show me she can cross the small drain without me holding her....

aa: my gal loves to play with play-doh and engage in pretend play. She also loves to colour and draw. Otherwise we play hide-and-seek at home. Hee.. Oh, we also play music and dance and sing to the songs! Daily morning walks in search of snails, worms, cats and butterflies are also a must for her. There's so much to do each day!

I think it's quite true that they dun develop every aspect equally. My gal (Sep '03) can balance on one leg well, star jumps, rolls forward etc etc but her speech is not super clear. She does speak in sentences and makes up lyrics to familiar tunes as well.

I have a suggestion to have a table for all mummies to update our details,eg:nick,no of kids,where we stay etc (saw some thread doing this).However,I'm a computor idot,don't know how to draw up the table.Anyone can help?

My son also very steady in his physical but slow in his adacemy & speech too.Even brought him to see a speech specialist as suggest by his PD when he went for his jab/development chk.Luckly,specialist said he OK cause he understand all instructions & it just that he not ready to speak out yet.She recommended us to let him plays with children more often so that they can learn fm each other.One gd way is to let him attend school.I enrolled him to wkly program.Currently,he's attending AppleTree Playground daily.Really show great improvement after he went to school,now he able to speak in short sentences & even can sings or mumble to some songs taught in school or vcds.I'm already very happy but still need to improve cause sometimes still cannot understand what's he saying.

Mummies,my son teacher feedback to me that he's still unable to identify colours,how?Repeat & repeat so many times but still just can't get into his head.Wonder is he colour blind?I'm so worry.How do u teach your kids & does they know the colours?At this age,is it true that they should recongise colours by now?Feel so stress.

chua family2003 - re: colors
is your boy consistently unable to identify the colors? or sometimes correct sometimes wrg? I noticed my boy will also have tis prob, sometimes can recognise, sometimes can't. Like u, I also wondered if he is colourblind.

re: prob with shopping/ toys dept
my boy also have tis prob, and wat I do is I will walk away fr him. (hide 1 corner n peep) Usu he will run after me, or I will go back after 5min to ask him if he is ready to go/ listen to me.

aa - my boy just got into the 'pretend play' stage, so I bought him some toys eg cooking set n doctor set to pretend play with him. I also watch VCD eg Barney, Hi 5 with him. If the weather permits, I will bring him to the playgd to let him interact with other children. He also enjoys wooden puzzles. Trying to get him interested in flash cds, so far not successful.

aa, Sunflower,
My son is fine with either type of preparation. He eats the minced type with his sis and slices with us during dinner. He has been drinking Enfa since birth. According to the milk can, it recommends 2 to 3 times per day. He drinks 4 scoops with 330ml water. Have tried to reduce to twice, but each time his sis drinks milks, he wants too...

Worry Mum,
I'm worrying that my son might be over weight if I don't take control. He's on the 97 percentile in both height and weight.

chua family2003,
When we first taught him colors, we thought he's color blind too,
He could consistenly name all the colours by 31 mths (Jan this year), two weeks after I gave up hope on teaching him. What I did was just pointing the colours out to him every now and then.

aa, is it really true that the kids are good only in one aspect? Compared to his 5 mths older cousin, he's really not as nimble. I keep thinking it's due to his size. He can do most of what of the activities listed above, but not the nimble type.

kris, how do you engage your gal in play-doh? No matter how I try, my son's not interested. Got a whole lot of play-doh lying around.

re pretend play - he likes to use the bolsters, pillows & blankets to build fire, tunnels, houses etc.

re writing skills - can't teach him cos he's left handed while I'm right handed. So far, we got him to trace numbers and letters. Can write certain letters on the whiteboard though...

re colouring skills - How do you define can color? Can color within the lines? Uses the appropriate colors on the objects, e.g green for grass? currently, he can color within the lines but I leave him to use his imagination to use the colors. Need to correct him?

Hi, pls check if there's any wrong info and let me know if I have accidentally left anyone out...

<table><tr><td></TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Mths</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower </TD><TD>B</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>6 </TD></TR><TR><TD>gen </TD><TD>G</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>9 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kris</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>7.5 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Worry Mum</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>33</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MH</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>5 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chua family2003</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>36</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>37</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jordanmummy</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>39</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD July </TD></TR><TR><TD>aa </TD><TD>B</TD><TD>40</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>noraserene</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>41</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>>36</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>15 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>
As at June 2006

my son also cant really identify colors

sometimes he gets it right, the next min i ask him, he got it wrong....
as for coloring, it's all out of line, have teach/guide him many many times, and he just can't get it right... i'm so stress, as i'm a FTWM so i can only guide him on wkend....

and till now, he can't really identify alphabet(only a few, such as those of his classmate's name), and numbers, he also can't identify.

mummies, is my son the only one here with such poor learning skills?

great job, serenade!

hey evryone, sori havnt been in here for awhile. bn busy researching for a hotel in langkawi.

mummies, don worry abt ur children's dvlpmt. evry child dvlps @ a diff rate. my nephew cant do stuff that my son could at his age.

as for colouring, don ever inhibit ur child's creativity. if he/she wants to colour the cat blue, so let it be. if u stifle his imagination, he will grow up having a one track mind.

let me share a story...
i was a former sch tchr, tching p1 evry yr. during 1 art lesson, i noticed a boy colouring all the horses in the picture, brown. when i askd him why he nvr used other colours, he said that his pre-sch tchr told the class that horses shd b coloured brown. he was so adamant in his choice of colour that he cried when the other kids teased him.

another time, i noticed another boy colouring the sky red. i askd him why &amp; he answered that was the colour of the sky when God is angry. he associates red with anger.

at this stage, children want to try diff sorts of colours. don correct the child, juz ask why he/she used the colours, &amp; u'll b amazed at the answers they give u...

Serenade, thanks for updating the list.

Karen, how about trying him with flashcards? My son learn ABC, abc, 123 and colours at around 24mths.. via DIY flashcards method.. He is now in the stage of spell out simple words.. and read on his own. But his stranger anxiety is very strong, he will hide himself by covering his eyes and faces..each time when we see or talk to "stranger". He is able to identify colours and just as KRIS's girl, able to make up lyrics from familiar tunes too..

I am very happy with his stage, only worried was he can't jump yet...haha..