(2002) Any 2002 babies?

maisy,
agree, but i also do enjoy the quiet moments with the kids in school. i am more mobile (go marketing etc) when the kids are in school.

MaisyDaisy - same here..I have stacks of assessments and test papers to mark..no mood to mark..

FZ - I also like the quiet and peace, but dread having to gear my engine to wake up at 5 and think of what to cook for their lunch..

Fz / bebe,
I fully understand what you mean. Holidays I've to take leave to bring them out if not they'll rot at home (or otherwise try to kill each other). This hol was good, we managed to catch 2 movies and went to Pulau Ubin for hiking. Other days, they played w my neighbors, cousins and do some homeworks.

On the other hand, starting school means start of nightly nagging at them to do homework and preparing for tests, tingxie etc. Greatest phobia of all is the SA2...... (school has no CA2 thank goodness!)

Argghhh..school re-opening means washing of school shoes, ironing of uniforms & nightly nagging ..... 5 months to go before the year-end break.

sem 2 has quite a fair bit of school holidays - youth day, national day, teachers' day, children's day, psle dunno what day (listening compre?? oral??) etc etc. :D

FZ
The supposedly PSLE oral, marking school holidays are for parents to coach the kids for final year exams. I already marked it down in my calendar to take leave for those days.

ya, cannot go 'short holidays' for these days because noticed my kids' CA2 and SA2 falls directly the week after these holidays

Good morn mummies,

After school reopens, every mummies have to start their engine again! Haiz...

Can I check with mummies, what type of toothpaste your kids are using? Do your kids teeth looks yellowish?

hothotmum, my engine refuse to start leh... my dd is using colgate gel type but her teeth also look yellowish. I guess because she only spent about less than 1 min brushing them. Have to nag at her every morning & night to brush longer.

My dd already got her Chinese spelling list which starts next week. Haiz...and its almost end of the week liao... guess i have to jump- start my engine before next monday.

hothotmum, my kids also using gel type toothpaste. Before school closes for holiday, had requested a dental check in the school for them. they came back happily telling me they teeth are very white liao. However, it still does not encourage them thorough brushing of teeth and started to become yellow during the hols... *sigh*

my ds started the remedial on monday this week liao, spelling on tuesday too, and TINGXIE probably today or tomorrow. Both spelling lists for the term were given before school closes but believe he did not learn bah.
. My girl's P2 deh only will start next week.

My kids also using colgate and also abit yellow. In order to remove the yellowish-ness, the kids need to go for cleaning with the dentist.

nat, i thought my dd having tingxie next week was bad but your ds already has his spelling on Monday... very stress leh.. Have not receive her remedial lesson schedule yet.

I started using my parent's toothpaste when i was yound...was it darlie or colgate?? Is it no children toothpaste then? but my dd says mine is too spicy for her... nowadays kids are so pampered.

hi Valerie, ya we started with our parent's toothpaste when young. there weren't what gel type or children type toothpaste then. My kids also find my Colgate too spicy. Probably we parents 'spoilt' them since young by buying toddler tootthpaste. If we were to train them using our toothpaste, probably we won't be facing such problem now. hahaha... Had started them with Jason Natural's Sulfate, Fluoride and Saccharin Free Toothpaste but not sure how good it can help them. So far I still find our Darlie or Colgate is able to give us that refreshing smell in our mouth.

my boy is using Darlie that we are using. but also yellow teeth. sometimes after eating, his teeth turn orangish! yikes!

seems like all geared up for CA2. my boy TINGXIE is today, spelling tomorrow. they still having PAL programme every monday but ending end of this term. then next term will have supplementary class on the same slot!

Exam timetable also out.

wow... fz.. yours same as mine staring tingxie and spelling this week. Ya our exam schedule should be out but in their school's web calendar. His supplementary is on every Monday and CCA prog on fridays. It's going to be a busy 2nd semester. The school is having a final year in current premise and will be relocated next year, for renovation. Hopefully the kids will not be involved in all the packings and shifting.

nat,
my boy said his CCA starting in Aug. that will be Mon afternoon sch prog and tues and Fri CCA. buzy buzy busy.
i don't think school will involve kids in packing cos nothing for them to pack but maybe to empty the space under their desk or lockers. but CCA may involve the more senior members or prefects in cataloguing (brass band, librarian etc?), housekeeping. yours only P3, think not involved ba. at least that happen to me in secondary school when we moved out from old place to new school. :D

Blur me, only when someone mentioned that Monday no sch then i realise it's Youth Day, else i blur blur get hubby send him to sch. :p

RE:Tooth paste: My son uses the same as ours.

RE:CCA started this week
Busy busy too...

May I know what are the lunch you all prepare for urs kids esp those SAMH. I need some references.

Toothpaste - My kids are still using the kiddy kind..those sweet flavored type..I tried to convince them to use the adult type but they complained "too spicy". I asked them then how come they dun complain abt "spicy" when eating mint sweet like "mentos" ??

This term has a lot of school "holiday"..I think that is why the schools are "so on"..my gals had their spelling/dictation this week liao..and everyday, there is homework. The teachers gave them revision papers..mainly to revisit last semester work. I thought first week of the new school term is always "honeymoon"..LOLz..

CCA - seemed like most of your kids hv CCA at P3..mine will have hers in P4. So I ask her to take her time to consider carefully cos once started..she cannot quit liao. So far, she has no ideas what does she want..I know ball games and uniform groups are out. The choirs and dance CCAs are the niche and only selected gals get to do it. I think she will end up in those "XX club" or library..

Currently she is staying back in sch twice a week until 330pm..her younger sis will be staying back in sch thrice a week until 4pm - 6pm. I am working round my schedules so that I can go and pick them up from sch..very tiring. Thinking of paying extra $$ to let them take the CCA buses home..now I am checking with the sch bus on the rates and timing. Not cheap leh..hiaz..hopefully can get everything settled by next week.

With the extra hours in schools and homework..I wonder where do kids find time to relax..I myself already struggling to squeeze in time to revise their work with them...my gal said they are learning system for science this term..that means I have to read up and make notes for her again..hiaz

Juzjazz - yr kid is in PM session? Mine are in AM sessions..as they are staying back in school most of the days, they have their lunch in school..sometimes I will give them packs of cereals, biscuits as snacks. I try not to give bread as usu they have breads for breakfast. And if they eat lunch at home, I keep it simple like fried rice, noodles, pasta, roti prata, sandwiches..those one dish kind, as they usu reach home around 2pm..too late to have heavy lunch.

Bebe,
Start of school means start of hectic life... sob sob.

I just got a maths tuition teacher for DS. His results has deteriorated alot this year. I've been focusing so much on dd so no time for him. Dh say better to outsource than to shout at him and tear my hair out before exam. Currently, his weekdays are full with activities including piano, violin, 2 CCA and now tuition. Dd also super busy having to stay back 3 times a week for 2 CCA and Malay lesson. Yes, no time to relax. Aiyo, beginning of school term and I'm looking forward to the next holiday already.

maisy daisy,
how is the malay lesson?
my boy said he is not keen to join. i expected it cos already need to stay back 3x aweek and he prefers to laze at home.
about better to outsource than shout, my boy has been with the CC creative writing for almost 2 months and a neighbourhood setup creative writing for 1 month and i don't see improvement! still have to shout at him to produce decent compo to submit as part of homework! is it because they are cheap, so not so good? or i should give him 6mths to produce results? haiz!

My dd becoming busy too. From Tue to Sun, everyday got activities, either CCA/school programme (twice a week) or enrichments/tuition. Only Mon is her off day. Need to monitor if become too overwhelming.

fz

I continue with CC writing classes for dd since she likes the teachers. At home, I find it very hard to get her to sit down, focus & write. She takes hours to write one compo! In class, she's 'forced' to write within time limit. Although she usually can't complete in class, slow snail mah, I feel that some sort of weekly practice is better than doing absolutely no writing at home lor

maisy

Your ds Maths tuition is by home tutor?

My dd also signed up for Malay. She has been looking forward to learning Malay

Malay - is this the course taught in sch? I almost wanted my gal to do it..think it will be a good idea to learn extra language and culture, but my hubby was dead against..he said no time and no value..ha ha. In a way, good also lah..else my gal's schedules will be too tight liao

writing class
Yawn Yawn / FZ - my gal is also taking hours to complete one writing piece at home..until I give up. I agree with YawnYawn..rather let the school/tuition center teach her writing..at least she is "forced" to complete within the time limit. At home, I just let her read the model compo and highlight those useful phrases.

Writing comes with practice - during sch holiday, I ask her to write a piece of journal weekly..no word limit but got time limit (an hour). She only did short para..but better than nothing...

Maths
My gal is doing time now..but her mindstretcher is teaching Fraction...the wordproblem is getting a bit complex..gotta remind her to keep up with revision..

yawnyawn, bebe75,
the CC teacher feedback to me that my son is not motivated in class. she said he gave very good write up (done and submitted in class) the first few lessons, but thereafter, he merely re-produces whatever flowery phrases with no improvement in storyline and style (his conclusion is the run-of-the-mill standard conclusion he uses for numerous similar conclusion compo!). i was thinking, isn't it the teacher's job to motivate and think of a solution? now the teacher want me to help him improve...then like that send to her class for what ah? his weekly compo which he could'nt finish in his CC class, i couldnot tahan his standard of writing and made him do a second draft every time he done almost half of his write up in class. that increased the workload and back to square one (which is spending more than needed time on learning compo skills) the cc did one different compo every week. wonder if my boy got bored of writing that's why he loses interest (ie more of a 'sprinter' than a 'long distance' runner type of learner??).
haiz. compo is one tough subject to cope.

bebe75,
fractions word problem? isn't that P4's work? dont tell me have fraction word problem in p3?!

fz

if you don't like the style of teaching, switch to another center. I always ask dd for feedback. She attended Chinese writing for one term with a new teacher in another CC because of timing but my dd doesn't like the structure of that new class so I've switched her back to her prior Chinese class upon her request. I always switch here switch there until we're both satisfied

Bebe,
Yes, the Malay is taught in school once a week. My gal wanted to learn. So far she only went for a lesson and seems to enjoy it. I think as long as no pressure and no exam, should be ok.

Yawnyawn,
Yes the Maths is home tutor. It's difficult to teach boys And I also have to teach my gal Maths and English. So decide to outsource. The tutor looks young and 'gin na' but seems to be able to control my boy. First lesson only so keep my fingers crossed...

Now my p3 gal has Chinese and science tuition, Maths and Eng I Diy. Weekdays must stay back 3 days for Malay and Cca. Ds has enrichment and tuition in all 3 subjects. He complained that why I only teach his sister and never teach him.

FZ
Ya..fraction problem sum like..eg I have 24 pies..I gave 1/4 of the pies away, and ate 2 pies. How many pies do I have now. My gal tends to confuse with fraction and whole number, show that her fraction concept is not strong..hiaz...really pulling my hair off teaching her..

back to school is so xiong.

Glad they had a break yday and we went one last time to USS before our annual pass expires on 9 Jul. Am I glad to get the express ticket to get priority Q for all rides.

I am guilty of not being hands on with my girl now as I outsource to tutors liao.Now I just have to ensure her homework are done, Ting Xie and Spelling are prepared.

Next week she will have chinese test again. Need to get her to prepare this week liao. Hope she gets better results with her new tutors too since she is not responding well in enrichment classes.

Praying hard she settles down this month as I will be helping my younger son to settle down in new childcare environment.

I need some advise - need to get rid of a very big and hard ear wax in my 2nd dd (5 yrs old) ears. Does anyone knows how to get it out without causing pain to her?

Chicken little
Does your gal go for tuition in all 4 subjects? My kids complained that they have too many homeworks and no time to play. I told them if they can do well without any tuitions and assessments then fine but however, this is not the case.

Valerie,
I use the pincer get "pull" it out. Those that we use for manicure. But your gal has to be cooperative and not move. Saw the ENT specialist does that last time.

Maisy
Mine at student care n now I even out source "monitoring" to tutors as I need to focus on my son. She missed 2 daya at student care due to cca n Friday I pick her early so tutor is to make up for lessons she missed

Thanks Maisy.

Will try it out, hopefully my gal will stay still while i am doing it. Anyone use ear wax softener before? Any brand to recommend?

Sorry for interruption.

I'm urgently looking for a good EL tutor, any recommendation. My son existing tutor is going to US for long term. I need to find replacement. Thanks in advance.

Valerie,

Heard from my colleague that she just buys eardrop from guardian pharmacy, tilt her son's head, drip a few drops into his ear and after 5-10 mins, the ear wax will soften and flow to the outer ear with the eardrop. She did not share the brand though, you may want to check with the pharmacist.

fz

I intend to drop the Engish writing class at CC too. Teacher keep postponing lesson. And always last minute when we're about to leave the house then receive call that there's no lesson. I find this very disruptive

yawnyawn,
We went for the last English Writing at CC yesterday. my son was so happy that it is the last lesson. all the hype about memorizing good phrases has taken a toll as the CC teacher told him that he only has nice phrases but no storyline and character development. ds told me that nothing else was taught in class except for some spelling words and memorise phrases to improve writing. his writing is very stale and standard kind. only nice if he has references to similar compo or after i 'brainstorm' with him how to build up the story aka nag and nag at how the story could have been written better. i usually discard his first draft and made him do 2nd or 3rd drafts before submitting. the teacher has no time to go through individual weaknesses or 2nd or 3rd drafts. i find that essentially, it is very difficult to teach creative writing if the kid does not know how to go through the brainstorming process independently or creatively. without storyline, nice phrases will make the story very 'fake'.
MHO.

maisy

She reads widely but all those authors' nice phrases & writing styles not reflected in her compo leh. She only read for content.

My dd likes the CC teacher. For me, my expectation of CC class isn't very high. I want her to practise writing at least once a week. At home she will dilly dally waste time & spend many many hours just to write one compo.
So no choice have send her to class to 'force' her to write, at least got some sort of time limit. Even if she doesn't complete in class, we only need to conquer 1 or 2 paragraphs at home.

fz

I don't usually ask my dd to write 2nd or 3rd draft. I think she will freak out, haha!
I'm satisfied as long she doesn't space out and spend hours to produce one piece of compo.

yawnyawn,
if i don't request for 2nd draft, my boy usually take only 15min can finish his standard compo; foolscap less than 1.5pg! i told him why P3 write P1 standard stuff. his compo has no flow and is boring. those nice new phrases he memorise, he also don't use appropriately. he only wants to use the same few nice ones that he said are versatile to use in any occasion. at times, even after giving suggestions to improve on certain paragraphs/scenerios, his next draft still missed out what we discussed. my husband said my boy is very stubborn. already taught him, gave him resources, and yet he rather write it his own way.

FZ,
Same for my boy! I've given up hope for him that's why now all his 3 subjects are outsourced. Every week, he will write 1 compo during his English enrichment class. If I teach him myself, sure vommit blood. During his SA1, my hubby also take over to revise with him. Because within 10 min of starting revision, I'll start scolding and losing my temper. Hubby say better outsource to keep my sanity.

So at least now, I just fully focus on my dd, not so xiong.

how's everybody? I hope you don't mind my popping in n out of this thread. very busy these days, I have hardly anytime to visit smh.

Valerie,
not sure if you have found the ear wax softener. I uses Tropex ear wax softener, available in Guardian.

Yawn,
wow, your dd sure sound busy. But ok lah, as long as she is not complaining but enjoying her activities.

want to check if any of your kiddos are taking public transport on their own, or planning to let them take it anytime soon? I'm toying with the idea, but a bit apprehensive. My gal no need to cross any road, just a short bus ride followed by a 3-stop MRT ride. May I seek your opinion?

Your kiddos' schools organises remedial classes for the kids? My dd's school has nothing at all. Wonder if that's a good thing.

aly nat, yes i bought Tropex too. Have use it for 2 days now but the wax still remain in her ear. Try to get it out but my gal started crying when my pincer touches the wax. Sigh...maybe need to to ent liao...

Valerie,
my 5yo was prescribed Tropex by the GP last year after we found out he has hearing problems due to huge earwax partially blocking his ear. after that, we went back to the GP to get the wax flushed out using water. quite 'traumatic' for the little boy as he said the sound of water is very loud.

aty_nat,
i feel that at this age, unless they have a friend or 2 to take the public transport together, it is better to wait for another year. i am paranoid cos met pervert on buses before. but my son already has female classmates (petite size!) taking bus home by herself (she very fiesty and outspoken type). so i think also depends on the character of the kid.

my son will be having supplementary classes after sept holidays.

aly nat

I will personally escort her if she needs to go anywhere. I think I will continue doing so even if she's in secondary school. Or at least until she feels embarass that her mommy is still sending/fetching her, haha!

For a couple minutes out of my sight, like taking a lift on her own to my mom's floor, I will give her a hp to call me when she reaches my mom's door step

Paranoid mommy hor, haha!

fz

My neighbour's dd started taking bus at P2. Even took a bus to interchange to pick her younger brother from childcare and go home together. Jaw drop when I heard that

But come to think of it, during my times, I walked home from primary school with my younger brother too. 4 bus stops away and we walked everyday. Need to cross many major roads.