(2015/12) Dec 2015 Mummies

on 2nd floor right?? think my mum told me b4 (i used to live in hougang b4 i got married) are their dresses nice?? ex??

Yes. Is on 2nd floor. The price is in range of 56.90 and the current promotion is 2nd pcs at 50% off. So, in average is between 30-40 per piece. Yes, is quite nice and they have both formal and non formal wear for office. I am getting mostly formal type for work. Importantly, their design is modern and don't really look like traditional maternity wear. ;)

good good i shall go see see look look when i go back hougang. thanks for the info :D:D

on the topic of screening tests, anyone knows the difference btw KK's first trimester screening and Harmony test?

In KK they just call it oscar test. bt i realise the full report combined with all the blood tests is called 1st trimester screening. it also tests trisomy 21, 18 n 13 like harmony test.

my qn is is it the same as harmony test or harmony still more accurate? i feel abit unsettled tt KK didnt offer harmony option.

Mummies going to Kk, are u sticking to this screening offered or going for smthn more?

Had posted the difference earlier last month in this thread - http://singaporemotherhood.com/forum/threads/2015-12-dec-2015-mummies.167163/page-10#post-7956252

Here is the info below in case you missed it out ;)

Both harmony test and oscar test for the same 3 trisomy, trisomy 21, 18 & 13.

trisomy 21 (ie down syndrome) has a higher detection rate via harmony test.

based on what my gynae said and the brochures given us,

Harmony test detection rate
T21: >99%
T18: >98%
T13: 8/10

Oscar -
risk assessment is done through a combination of maternal age, fetal NT and serum biochemistry
Detection rate
T21: 90%
T18: 80%
T13: 80%

Harmony additionally tests for the sex chromosome (X , Y), accuracy > 99%. so this means that will know the gender earlier if opting for harmony test

Oscar measures fetal NT which harmony doesn't. ie. taking the measurements of fetal structure to check for abnormalities etc

If opting for harmony test, for my gynae, you will be given a harmony test kit which will be sent to USA for analysis after tests are done. The test results will take about 2 weeks.

A combination of harmony + oscar will cover more (harmony higher detection rate + gender , while oscar includes fetal NT scan)

Hope the above helps everyone ~ :) I had a much clearer picture of the differences in the different tests after a run-through with my gynae during the last checkup.

on the topic of screening tests, anyone knows the difference btw KK's first trimester screening and Harmony test?

In KK they just call it oscar test. bt i realise the full report combined with all the blood tests is called 1st trimester screening. it also tests trisomy 21, 18 n 13 like harmony test.

my qn is is it the same as harmony test or harmony still more accurate? i feel abit unsettled tt KK didnt offer harmony option.

Mummies going to Kk, are u sticking to this screening offered or going for smthn more?

dear mummies, where do you go to get maternity clothing? i've been to Spring Maternity but the dresses selection not that great...
For my first pregnancy i was also looking for maternity shops. But at the end i realized mark & spencer is the best as i only go for the larger size dresses! I dont like the maternity style clothings as they all look very auntie... lol
Price is ok, around $40 to $80, depends on promotion or not.

Had posted the difference earlier last month in this thread - http://singaporemotherhood.com/forum/threads/2015-12-dec-2015-mummies.167163/page-10#post-7956252

Here is the info below in case you missed it out ;)

Both harmony test and oscar test for the same 3 trisomy, trisomy 21, 18 & 13.

trisomy 21 (ie down syndrome) has a higher detection rate via harmony test.

based on what my gynae said and the brochures given us,

Harmony test detection rate
T21: >99%
T18: >98%
T13: 8/10

Oscar -
risk assessment is done through a combination of maternal age, fetal NT and serum biochemistry
Detection rate
T21: 90%
T18: 80%
T13: 80%

Harmony additionally tests for the sex chromosome (X , Y), accuracy > 99%. so this means that will know the gender earlier if opting for harmony test

Oscar measures fetal NT which harmony doesn't. ie. taking the measurements of fetal structure to check for abnormalities etc

If opting for harmony test, for my gynae, you will be given a harmony test kit which will be sent to USA for analysis after tests are done. The test results will take about 2 weeks.

A combination of harmony + oscar will cover more (harmony higher detection rate + gender , while oscar includes fetal NT scan)

Hope the above helps everyone ~ :) I had a much clearer picture of the differences in the different tests after a run-through with my gynae during the last checkup.

Just to share another option called Verifi test that was offer by my gynae. It screen more than 14 chromosome and more detail compare to harmony test. More detail can refer to this link below.

http://asia-genomics.com/home/verifi-nipt/

Oscar is not the same as Harmony. They test for similar conditions but Oscar is only testing chemical markers and gives you statistical probability based on the combination of NT scan and chemical markers. Whereas Harmony extracts the fetal cells from the mother's blood and runs DNA tests. There is very high rate of false positives for Oscar, but it's also very much cheaper - $400 compared to $1200.

For my first pregnancy i was also looking for maternity shops. But at the end i realized mark & spencer is the best as i only go for the larger size dresses! I dont like the maternity style clothings as they all look very auntie... lol
Price is ok, around $40 to $80, depends on promotion or not.

only bottoms i have to go to maternity shops to buy cause buttons don work for me anymore :oops: . for dresses and tops i don see the point of buying from maternity shops so was searching everywhere.... managed to get 2 from H&M ....just buy bigger size lo

i have a few dresses that can tahan for the most another 2 months....,

I buy mine online from USA from online shops like Old Navy or Gap especially bottom wear. clothes are comfy and reasonably priced.

after a few attempts of buying clothes online i dare not buy anymore lol . somehow even after i follow their sizing guideline i still managed to get something not fitting . so i gave up . :(

for bottoms i usually buy those with adjustable waist bands or rubberized waist bands like capri or yoga pants. if too long then just fold up or alter for length. tops like t shirts / shirts sizing usually alright for me. hehe :)

will reuse previous maternity wear when stomach gets bigger. now bigger sized normal clothes still can fit. no need maternity tops yet. :D

after a few attempts of buying clothes online i dare not buy anymore lol . somehow even after i follow their sizing guideline i still managed to get something not fitting . so i gave up . :(

Yah, I understand... I waited for my results and it was a long wait... and results turn out to be non-conclusive and we decided to do Amnio test in 2 weeks' time and another 2 weeks wait for results again!

What do you mean by the results were non-conclusive, if you don't mind me asking.

Hope both of our babies will turn out to be fine!

May I know where the clinic is? Can I just go to the doctor and say I only want to have the test done?

The clinic is at Novena Specialist Center 6th floor. Healthcare for Woman Clinic. Maybe you can ask your gynae if they offer it? I did it during 12 week checkup.

What do you mean by the results were non-conclusive, if you don't mind me asking.

Hope both of our babies will turn out to be fine!

The test report shows that my bb is a girl. But it also said that there is a 1% chance of Monosomy X (1 missing chromosomes) which will affects bb girl and it is also known as Turner Syndrome. When we ask our doc if it is considered high or low risk, he couldn't answer us and the results does not show if it is high or low risk. It only said there is 1 out of 99 chance that my girl would have this.

My doc said alternative option is to go for Amnio Test whereby there is a 0.5% chance of miscarriage. I have two miscarriage before in the 1st trimester and I am quite worried if my previous cases will further escalate the risk if I take the Amnio Test. My doc just told me there will be a small chance. And it is up to us to decide. I can't decide what I should do also. Still thinking what is the best my girl.

Hi MTBs,

Just a religious question,

The test report shows that my bb is a girl. But it also said that there is a 1% chance of Monosomy X (1 missing chromosomes) which will affects bb girl and it is also known as Turner Syndrome. When we ask our doc if it is considered high or low risk, he couldn't answer us and the results does not show if it is high or low risk. It only said there is 1 out of 99 chance that my girl would have this.

My doc said alternative option is to go for Amnio Test whereby there is a 0.5% chance of miscarriage. I have two miscarriage before in the 1st trimester and I am quite worried if my previous cases will further escalate the risk if I take the Amnio Test. My doc just told me there will be a small chance. And it is up to us to decide. I can't decide what I should do also. Still thinking what is the best my girl.

I guess it depends on whether if your bb really does have Turner (touch wood), whether you are prepared to keep the baby. You and hubby can read up on it first and also see what other parents have to share about having a child with Turner?

My first pregnancy was miscarriage too, then second one Oscar results had high risk of Patau and Downs. I knew I wouldn't be able to handle emotionally having a kid with mental disability, so went for the amino test.

The risk for amnio test lies in the chance that because the amniotic sac has been punctured, it may introduce bacteria and infection directly to fetus. Or the amniotic fluid levels were already too low, and removing some put the baby at risk. If your doctor takes the necessary precautions, the risk is very much lower. Your doctor will probably prescribe very strong antibiotics as well as a precaution (be warned that it may give you yeast infection because it really screws up your natural balance, but that's small price to pay for healthy baby!) But yeah I suppose some factors of luck do play a part.

You still have some weeks before you can do the amnio test right? Take your time to discuss with hubby.

really does have Turner (touch wood), whether you are prepared to keep the baby. You and hubby can read up on it first and also see what other parents have to share about having a child with Turner?
I guess it depends on whether if your bb really does have Turner (touch wood), whether you are prepared to keep the baby. You and hubby can read up on it first and also see what other parents have to share about having a child with Turner?

My first pregnancy was miscarriage too, then second one Oscar results had high risk of Patau and Downs. I knew I wouldn't be able to handle emotionally having a kid with mental disability, so went for the amino test.

The risk for amnio test lies in the chance that because the amniotic sac has been punctured, it may introduce bacteria and infection directly to fetus. Or the amniotic fluid levels were already too low, and removing some put the baby at risk. If your doctor takes the necessary precautions, the risk is very much lower. Your doctor will probably prescribe very strong antibiotics as well as a precaution (be warned that it may give you yeast infection because it really screws up your natural balance, but that's small price to pay for healthy baby!) But yeah I suppose some factors of luck do play a part.

You still have some weeks before you can do the amnio test right? Take your time to discuss with hubby.

Thanks for the advice. May I know when did you do the Anmio Test? Because my gynea has not mentioned all the above to me and seems like the risk is there. My sister did Anmio test and she simply said it is fast and not painful.

thnx for the info! wish kkh had given more options. test result was low risk but i guess its natural to leave no stones unturned. i ll just try and stop worrying and let nature take its course

losing concentration at work... not sure if it's my work that i'm losing interest in or im simply not feeling up to it. energy alot better than first tri but still feel like i wanna be home the whole time ..

Thanks for the advice. May I know when did you do the Anmio Test? Because my gynea has not mentioned all the above to me and seems like the risk is there. My sister did Anmio test and she simply said it is fast and not painful.

I think I did at around 17+weeks? My doc tried to do at around 16weeks but amniotic fluid levels were low so he said don't risk it, wait another week.

But yeah it is fast and not really painful. Like drawing blood lor.

thnx for the info! wish kkh had given more options. test result was low risk but i guess its natural to leave no stones unturned. i ll just try and stop worrying and let nature take its course

Oscar does have pretty good detection accuracy though. So if results are good should be ok!

Thanks for sharing! :)

No problem. If you do indeed choose to go for amnio, maybe it helps you and baby if you try to talk to baby and prepare yourself, don't be too nervous. Gotta stay strong for your girl ok?

Actually my friend had a rather amusing story when she went for amnio, her baby actually punched the needle when it came too near!

No problem. If you do indeed choose to go for amnio, maybe it helps you and baby if you try to talk to baby and prepare yourself, don't be too nervous. Gotta stay strong for your girl ok?

Actually my friend had a rather amusing story when she went for amnio, her baby actually punched the needle when it came too near!

Hugs!

I will be very lost like you too. In fact, I am starting to wonder if I should do amino if my test results come back no good too.

Logically, I know I should, but emotionally, I still need time to decide...

@tethysea, thanks for your advice to faith&hope. I feel that I might have found a little confidence from your conversations too... :)

YahisaMai, you don't worry. Your results may turn out to be okie. When are you getting your results?

tethysea, thanks for your advice. I hope everything turns out ok. For now, I just enjoy the pregnancy.

has anyone thought of putting your baby in infant care after ML ends or gonna find a nanny?? heard that infant care are very hot these days hence vacancy not alot... im not that keen on getting a helper as i've read articles about some abusing the kids ...so kinda scared.of course there are good ones but wont know till one is being hired.

I got a helper instead coz parents n in laws couldn't help n there was no vacancy for e infant care in my estate. We were lucky to get a gd helper n she was v happy when I was preggie wif number 2 coz she luv babies. If u wanna put ur baby in infant care, better chk early. My number 1 also couldn't get into e childcare in my estate, so he's now attending playgroup near my office instead. When I went to ask abt e playgroup when he was nearing 1, e centre juz told me there wun b space even when my boy hits 3, so dun even haf a waiting list.

U nv try, u nv noe. But dun decide too last min. My helper only joined us 5 days before my boy was born, so we really could do nothing but cross fingers den. If she was no gd, I'd prob end up wif postnatal blues...
has anyone thought of putting your baby in infant care after ML ends or gonna find a nanny?? heard that infant care are very hot these days hence vacancy not alot... im not that keen on getting a helper as i've read articles about some abusing the kids ...so kinda scared.of course there are good ones but wont know till one is being hired.

I got a helper instead coz parents n in laws couldn't help n there was no vacancy for e infant care in my estate. We were lucky to get a gd helper n she was v happy when I was preggie wif number 2 coz she luv babies. If u wanna put ur baby in infant care, better chk early. My number 1 also couldn't get into e childcare in my estate, so he's now attending playgroup near my office instead. When I went to ask abt e playgroup when he was nearing 1, e centre juz told me there wun b space even when my boy hits 3, so dun even haf a waiting list.

U nv try, u nv noe. But dun decide too last min. My helper only joined us 5 days before my boy was born, so we really could do nothing but cross fingers den. If she was no gd, I'd prob end up wif postnatal blues...

@tazf17 my mil cant help cause she works and my mum lives far from me. did some checks on infant care yesterday and found a few ard my estate . Had emailed to ask how in advance i need to register. For helper wise, not sure if my mil or my husband is keen on the idea, though my mil used to have a wonderful helper when she had my husband.

Though i understand there are different kinds of people around, but may i ask how do u pick your helper or any tips u have? I'm torn between letting my mil, own mom or myself to take care of my baby later.

Initially my hubby also din any helper coz both of us grew up without helpers. I insisted on having 1 coz my hubby is on e hands on kind. Use mouth nia, I will die if I gotta work n still take care of e baby at nite.

After a while, he got used to it coz when he was totally blur at e hospital, my helper took care of him first even before she started taking care of my baby n me. Lol

But if u manage to find an infant care, can try first if it's ur preferred way. We wanted to try, but coz no vacancy, so we took e helper as a last alternative.
@tazf17 my mil cant help cause she works and my mum lives far from me. did some checks on infant care yesterday and found a few ard my estate . Had emailed to ask how in advance i need to register. For helper wise, not sure if my mil or my husband is keen on the idea, though my mil used to have a wonderful helper when she had my husband.

I also knew nuts abt employing helper. Got my colleague to help me choose coz my hubby din wan to get involved den. Really by luck, we only knew she has experience taking care of 3 children at 1 go, one of which she took care since baby n she nv changed employer for 6 yrs. I was looking at another helper initially but my colleague told me my current helper prob would b more suitable so I juz took.
Though i understand there are different kinds of people around, but may i ask how do u pick your helper or any tips u have? I'm torn between letting my mil, own mom or myself to take care of my baby later.

I just take the first trimester scan at Kkh . They nurse said same as osca . I did not take harmony test

Hello all mummies to be,

I'm a new mummy to be and is currently 11 weeks now and my EDD is on 8th Jan but my gynae said i should be delivering in end december. I'm seeing dr ben at mount elizabeth.

I would like to join this group, pls add me in any facebook group or watsapp grpchat. My email add [email protected]

Hope to be involve and get to learn more about pregnancy. Hehe

Hi all mummies to be,

I went for my Oscar test last week and the results shows that I am borderline case for DS. Have been feeling so worried and restless since that I have been unable to concentrate at work.

I am not willing to consider amino or cvs because of the nature of the test and hence went for Harmony test. So now I am waiting anxiously for the result and praying that it is positive.

I read many mummies opinion that Oscar test is not accurate and such but since I am a worrier, I am unable to shake off the uneasy feeling.

My friend recommend me to do illumina test as it is more accurate than harmony, but my gynae doesn't offer that. Any one knows where I can go and do the test?

I am also considering doing detailed scan with Dr Ananda but my gynae says the technology is not recognised yet and doesn't encourage.

I am very confused and worried.. Any advice?

My hubby received a call from my clinic, saying that I do not pass my OSCAR test and am asked to see my gynae for further review/discussion this coming week..

I am kinda worried what's it about..