!******!! Inferiority

Yup yup. I'm not the sort to gush over babies and motherhood but there are significantly memorable moments like when he drew 'me' and wrote some alphabets on his magnadoodle on the mrt last week and modifying household items for playing.

See our kid's 'bath-tub'. Hb bathes him every day (since he was a newborn) and we didn't even buy a conventional tub, bath toys etc. So much fun re-using stuff we have at home! http://mumusings.blogspot.com/2009/12/home-mumusings-12-water-tubby.html (something I wrote in 2009).

I definitely prefer to see my money spent on good/inexpensive/comfy clothing, home-cooked meals, useful toiletries, toys and learning resources THAN items which deflate in value by the minute like cars, IT gadgets and branded bags.

In my 20s, I was spending like nobody's business and chalking up big bills. I used to buy Kleenex 3-ply tissues, not bother about price difference in items and shop on non-sales days 'cos I didn't fancy the crowd. Now that I have literally no more income, the 20% discount or even buy-2-get-one free deals are making sense. We teach our boy to wait till there's a good offer and now he knows that 2 cars can become 3 cars if we wait for the sales at departmental stores. Even if I do buy stuff, I keep them away so that everyone gets a 'present' or 2 every other week!

With the transfer-fares, we have fun stopping by places for 40 mins (enough for a quick snack or visit to the stores) before returning home. I don't want my child to have a fixation on shopping and hedonistic lifestyle! We must teach out kids to be adaptable and flexible or else they'll grow up with pigeon-hole thinking.

hehe moorspa, the rental in TW is definitely affordable, the rental of a 5th storey terrace house with a parking lot is only $800+ while a higher end condo with facilities cost less than $1.5k.
The nearby lady boss who rent a whole 5th storey of shophouse selling hotpot steamboat for only $500+ while the market space for selling veggies are foc. The grannies are selling their home grown organic veggies.

They are very environment friendly too and we segregate the rubbish for recycling purposes, waste food to go into feeding the farm animals and the rest for recycling, bringing own shopping bags for grocery shopping and clear our own tray when eating in fastfood restuarants.

There are the values that we teach to our children. Respect, treasure n caring for the environment.

It's a wonderful country to live in with happy n friendly people.

Even if we go for holidays, there's don't need to go for expensive trips. We will drive up to Yilan for farm stay, picking fruits and BBQ tapioca underground, making sky lanterns etc.

mumusings, thanks for sharing your blog. Perhaps in the future, we can share cooking tips!

Hi Ser,

Great reading about your lovely experience in Taiwan. Thanks for popping by my blog.

I started keeping a blog in case my vocabulary and grammar slip... you know how convenient it is to lapse into code-mixing when dealing with children! I never used to have to cook and so these 3 years have been very enriching -- hb taught me how to cook properly by explaining why some ingredients/methods won't work.

Many blogs out there attract advertisers but I just want to keep mine non-commercial because I truly feel that one can help others without expecting benefits. Many mummies out there may be as blur as when I started out as a mother/housewife so I thought I'd just share good bargains and odd little household tips 'cos these are free of charge and may help others save money

I used to think it was my right to spend money on branded stuff to treat myself (a relief from stress at work etc). If I were to work again, I know very well that I won't lapse into impulse buying because I now see an expensive bag = many bags of diapers and boxes of milk powder hahaha...

Even my mom doesn't quite believe what I'm doing with myself these days until I showed her my blog as 'proof' that I'm really a 'changed' person and cook all my meals!

I just want to sincerely let all mummies, especially stayhomes know that there are many things we can do at home to keep kid/ourselves meaningfully occupied and happy. My sis insisted that I switch on the visitor-count last year. I didn't 'cos I thought maybe only a measly few hundreds. Such joy when I saw a 5-digit figure!! Quite a feat considering I don't photoshop pictures and style my food. All these little stuff help me stay sane, abreast of news and linguistically relevant meanwhile.

Stay strong, everyone! Believe in yourself and your abilities + don't let social pressures derail our priorities in life.

mumusings, I enjoy reading your blog, very interesting n pls continue posting!

In fact, I brought beanspouts just now as I read on how u store the salted fish. hehe..

Im going to cook beanspouts with salted fish lor..hehe..

Btw I brought threadfin salted fish while u brought whole fish. Which is better?

Ser, thanks for sharing more on Taiwan. For someone like me who rarely travels, it has enriched my knowledge abt the outside world. Recently, I get to know a foreign Indian mummy whose gal is in the same school with my son. I was surprised that she pays 2.5k for rental of 4 rm flat and send her gal to a Montessori school. The first thing in my mind, her husband must be earning a lot compared to a Singaporean. There is no way for a local to pay $2.5k house rental and montessori education in cash.  I am using the CDA acct to pay for my son's montessori school fees, and I still feel the pinch. In India, montessori preschool education cost abt $1k a year, while in Sg it cost 5 times more.  I was so surprised that India has become more advanced in education. 

The rental in Taiwan is really cheap and gives pple an opportunity to do small business to make a living. I feel it is healthier to live in Taiwan as you can eat organic veggies which are not expensive. Organic veggies are very tasty but you can't eat in abundant amt in Singapore cos of the high cost. Sg is also not very environment friendly, as it is not active in promoting recycling. 20 yrs ago, they hv bins for recycling for batteries, papers but pple treat it as trash cans. Singapore does not educate its pple on recycling, although they collect green bags in HDB flats every 2 weeks for items that are recyclable which I hv been doing faithfully for the past 10 over years. Do u think Taiwan is a gd place for retirement? After reading yr posting, I feel Taiwan is a very nice place to live in.

My brother went to Taiwan for holidays, he says the strawberries are sweet n road stall food are delicious. 

Mumusings, I hv read yr blog before. I read the part on where to buy cheap n good things. I remember you introduced Shine Korea and u tried cooking bulogi beef, but I couldn't find the sauce when I was there.  Really envy you that u hv someone to guide you in cooking. I learnt through reading recipe books and recipes in the Internet.

Sometimes I follow my own instincts when cooking, so the recipe becomes not the original version. I hv problems following a recipe, I tend to do freestyle cooking. Yr blog is informative. I am glad there are mums who blogs n share their experiences.  It has helped me in many ways.

Thanks, Moorspa,

I do freestyle too. Sometimes necessary 'cos I'm left with 2 strands of kailan, 3 pieces of lettuce, 2 slices of ham and 3 prawns hehe. No choice but to string all the ingredients together.

Hope u found the bulgogi sauce. Ang Mo, Sheng Siong, NTUC and Cold Storage also it. These days I wait till I pass by Shine Korea to top up on the Sing Long sauces (chilli) and our favourite Sammyang instant noodles. My motto now is: WAIT if the purchase is not life and death!

Yes, I'm very lucky hb loves cooking and takes good care of the technical stuff at home including polishing my kid's die-cast cars. Helps alot in balancing out our roles at home.

Hi Ser,

Sorry missed your post! You bought the whole salted fish! WOW! That one in my blog was sent over from a friend and I'm very bad with species of fish so no idea what that was
Careful of the very strong smell when frying!!!

Salted fish with bean sprouts is very yummy I remember having so much of this when I had a holiday in Ipoh when I was a kid. For lesser smells, I now fry flat fish to go with it (and other veg).

Happy to have joined this thread (I think I've only stuck to less than 10 active threads so far). Do share with us pics of your lovely place at Taiwan if you can!

It's really nice to hear SAHMs sharing things and experiences so enthusiatically. I must say I am quite a nuah type who has not been very hardworking in my cooking. Luckily, hubby takes over the cooking on some weeknights as well
I'm only good at bringing the kid out to the park to play with sand, climb on the playground, scribble in chalk on the void deck floor.. haha :p

Re: cooking, i do freestyle cooking too. My hubby too, although I must say his "paoshen-caixin-chili" combo was just too weird. Haha... that must have been one of the weirdest things he ever made! :p

What are some of the reasons that you became a SAHM? One of the reasons is because we don't have any help from family (I mean it, NONE. I have spent a maximum of 3h alone with my hubby since my son was born, and that's because he just started school this yr). My hubby also travels quite often for work. We figured getting a car to faciliate the daily rushing and picking up of the kid only to have a miserable portion of an 2nd income left while being deprived of proper care of our kid is just plain stupid. So we did it

moorspa, I tink the expatriate is quite well-paid. The salary of a India so called SAP expert fr my previous ex co is ard $5k n the co paid for his house rental as well.

Haha true, the organic veggies are v nice especially the "tapioca leaves", I like to cook with sambal chill..yummy..

Taiwan is a v good plc to stay for retirement! I wished I was born here..hehe..

mumusings, not a whole pc of salted fish but those in pcs..I luv salted fish..yummy waha..
Now reading your blog, I have more ideas for dinner!

Hi mummies, Taiwan has really lotsa interesting places, share some of the pics

6949402.jpg

One of the strawberry farm in Dahu.

6949403.jpg

Lavender farm, sunflower farm n mushroom farm.

6949404.jpg

The beautiful "Cingjing" farm.

Yilan farm stay, the farm is amidst the scenic mountains.

The place is huge with fruit farms, plantation, animal farms.

Some of the activities that we did there are plucking oranges/plums, BBQ the tapioca underground, BBQ at night, making sky lantern, DIY t-shirt, painting, tea-sessions etc.

6949528.jpg
6949529.jpg

Sometimes when we drive up the provinces, we can see guava farms, grapes farms, rows n rows of plantation that is very interesting.

Hi Ser,

Any tips on doing the taiwan mee sua? That's one thing I want to know how to cook -- as in what makes the noodles starchy and tasty (how much of what to put to make it so). Btw, I made a new blog in Jan just for food so am slowly migrating posts over. Too messy 500+ posts of all sorts of topics and already deleted 40+ due to outdated content or ugly pics hahaha. Here's the more focused blog: http://mumusingseat.blogspot.com

If you have any nice recipes to share I can post up for you so that more mommies can learn how to make simple foods. I don't know how to fry salted fish (hb did it when I was out one day). Alot of oil needed and any way to lower the 'fumes'??

The other thread I join which is very insightful is this one. Mummies who can bake and sew! http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?578191/406054

Wow Ser, Taiwan is very beautiful. When my kids are older, we must go there! Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures. I didn't know Taiwan is such a nice place until u mention it. My husband is not happy with so many expatriates in Singapore, he says they are overly paid and flooding Singapore. After what you said, I believe it's true.

Mumusings, thanks for sharing the new blog address. Hv to bookmark it.

moorspa, u must definitely bring the kids here!

Thanks mumusings, I will have more cooking ideas!

Sorry that I do not know how to cook the mee sua as I always use the one in instant pack n add in more oysters..hehe..

6950060.jpg

Thanks, the cooking thread looks interesting, will check it out.

I doesn't have much cooking recipes to share as I always get inspired by the thru FB, happycall group. http://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/HappyCallPan/

hehe..