Twins Babies SG

Dear all mommies, I am experiencing a dilemma right now.. I'm seeing a private doctor but i heard that twins delivery usually has a higher risk of birth complications etc.. As such, if i were to stick on to my private doctor right now.. the cost of delivery may be much higher than if i were to go to perhaps KK. But my mom is telling me not opt for KK unless i'm going for their specialist doctors.. My main concern is that i would incur a huge hospital bill in the unfortunate event that my twins come out much earlier if i go to private hospital like Thomson of Mt Alvernia. Please advise me. Thank you.

Yuffie,my 1st was private.When i found i got twins i also like u tts y i m trying out KKH specialist,nt sure whether she is gd,gg to c her end nov.Tink for me i cnt afford if the bill gg to b v high so i choose KK.

Dear all mommies, I am experiencing a dilemma right now.. I'm seeing a private doctor but i heard that twins delivery usually has a higher risk of birth complications etc.. As such, if i were to stick on to my private doctor right now.. the cost of delivery may be much higher than if i were to go to perhaps KK. But my mom is telling me not opt for KK unless i'm going for their specialist doctors.. My main concern is that i would incur a huge hospital bill in the unfortunate event that my twins come out much earlier if i go to private hospital like Thomson of Mt Alvernia. Please advise me. Thank you.

Hi yuffie, I am with private doc now. My doc advised that if I were to deliver before 34 weeks (or if there are any complications) I should just check myself in at KKH due to the cost involved. On his part, he will prescribe medication that can help prevent pre-term labour. I guess I can find out more from him when I see him this Wed and update further :)

Hi Rainingcows, i brought it when its towards the end of my 2nd trimester. I brought it during baby fair because they usually have better discount and free gifts. If you prefer to do exclusive pumping, it is better to get a dual electric pump because it saves alot of time and also please get a hands free pumping bra too, its very useful! Your hand won't be so tired from holding the bottles every time you want to pump. The last time i saw the bra at baby fair, it cost about 39+ and if you buy at any shop, it usually cost about 50+. So look out for this item at any baby fair ya.

Thanks outliers.. shall check out all baby fairs now!

Yuffie,my 1st was private.When i found i got twins i also like u tts y i m trying out KKH specialist,nt sure whether she is gd,gg to c her end nov.Tink for me i cnt afford if the bill gg to b v high so i choose KK.

Hi Wanda, having chosen a specialist doctor in KK, does it mean that you are paying more also?
I read that for mothers going for their checkups in KK, the doctors are not tied to you. instead, it's like a polyclinic visit where the doctors just note down their findings and for the next appointment, another doctor who has never seen you before may attend to you and address your concerns based on the previous doctors' notes.
I have to admit i'm very confused about KK in this aspect.

If you are seeing a specialist doctor in KK, could it mean that you are paying like a private patient?
Or perhaps the medical care for birth complications at later stage will be cheaper since KK is not a private hospital?
I really am puzzled. Anybody can share?

Thanks outliers.. shall check out all baby fairs now!

There is a parenthood fair from 8-10 November at Singapore Expo Hall 5B.
Be sure to go check it out!
I should be going to have a feel of the stuff i need to look out for.
Haven't bought anything for the twins yet.

Hi yuffie, I am with private doc now. My doc advised that if I were to deliver before 34 weeks (or if there are any complications) I should just check myself in at KKH due to the cost involved. On his part, he will prescribe medication that can help prevent pre-term labour. I guess I can find out more from him when I see him this Wed and update further :)

I just realised that we both are in the same stage of pregnancy. =D
Have you been scheduled for your NT scan?

I could imagine myself with hubby having candy light dinner - just like how Bsparkle shared in her post. Plus, I am so looking forward enjoying baby high chair dinners too. Heheh ;) Such a blessing. <3 I agreed with outliers about purchasing baby items towards the end of 2nd trimester. Going baby fairs seems so much fun. As everyone is looking forward for the next baby fair event, I am going online browsing for twins items that are cost effective for me - hahah, I am so financially screwed at times when food craving kicks in. So I will be going to JB Malaysia to get Autumnz ultimate convertible double electric/manual breastpump @ RM499.00, cloth diapering that can be use from birth to potty training for indoor use and will grab some mics items as well. I will be shopping at onebabyworld outlet in JB - http://www.onebabyworld.com/ - they sell items that comes in package too which included breastpump, nursing bra, cooler bags and many more for just below RM400.00. A friend of mine recommended Autumnz double breastpump as the suction is good for her. So I will give it a try too.

Package link: http://www.onebabyworld.com/nursing-breastfeeding-breastpump-packages-c-4_179.html

Untitled.jpg
Moo Moo Cow brown.jpg

Here is something to share on where you can find the estimated Hospital bills size for both Govt hospitals (KKH, NUH & SHG) and Private hospitals (GEH, MAH, MEH, PEH, RH & TMC). This is updated on 31st Oct 2013 and some private hospitals do not provide twins packages whereby patient need to pay twice of single baby cost and also note that majority of private hospital patient cost similar to private patient in Govt hospital. This hospital bills size is not including doctor's fee. Some doctor can cost higher than the other. So it is always best to seek for the estimated bill from the clinic, they will compute for you. Take your time in finding the right hospital and doctor that suit you best ya. :) Take care mommies!!

Delivery (Normal)
http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/HospitalBillSize/delivery_normal.html

Delivery (Caesarean section)
http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_w...spitalBillSize/delivery_caesareansection.html

Others:
There is Twins Clinic in KKH for high risk pregnancy such as identical twins and fraternal twins that has complication. If fraternal twins which do not have any complication, they will not be in Twins Clinic and will be treated as normal pregnancy because each baby has their own sac and own placenta. Twins Clinic are taken care by specialist doctors and also cater to subsidies patient.

There is high risk pregnancy department (including twins) by specialist doctors for subsidies patient in NUH too.

Hi Wanda, having chosen a specialist doctor in KK, does it mean that you are paying more also?
I read that for mothers going for their checkups in KK, the doctors are not tied to you. instead, it's like a polyclinic visit where the doctors just note down their findings and for the next appointment, another doctor who has never seen you before may attend to you and address your concerns based on the previous doctors' notes.
I have to admit i'm very confused about KK in this aspect.

If you are seeing a specialist doctor in KK, could it mean that you are paying like a private patient?
Or perhaps the medical care for birth complications at later stage will be cheaper since KK is not a private hospital?
I really am puzzled. Anybody can share?

Hi Yuffie, it really depends whether your twins are fraternal or identical and whether do they share the same placenta. If they do same the same placenta, then probably higher risk and more complicated thus advisable to get a twins specialist. However if yours is a fraternal twins which they each have their own sac and placenta, then you can treat it as normal pregnancy. That's what my gynae told me. He said that fraternal twins with their own sac and placenta are just like normal pregnancy and you can carry it to full term. Mine is a fraternal twins and i carried till 36 weeks+ (consider as slight premature), the babies weight was quite alright during birth, so no need to stay in NICU, this reduce the cost by alot.

You can try private gynae first and change to KKH during later part of pregnancy if you think there are complications in your pregnancy and would like to reduce the cost. In KKH, if you want to see the same gynae every visit, then you can make appointment at the private suite and its consider as private patient. The private suite has a nice environment compare to the clinic D where most of the subsidies patients are there. Subsidies patients do not have a fix gynae, it depends on availability of whichever doc and it has long waiting time.

If your pregnancy is complicated and high chance of twins need to stay in NICU, then it is recommended to do deliver at a government hospital because the cost of NICU is much lower compare to private hospital.

I could imagine myself with hubby having candy light dinner - just like how Bsparkle shared in her post. Plus, I am so looking forward enjoying baby high chair dinners too. Heheh ;) Such a blessing. <3 I agreed with outliers about purchasing baby items towards the end of 2nd trimester. Going baby fairs seems so much fun. As everyone is looking forward for the next baby fair event, I am going online browsing for twins items that are cost effective for me - hahah, I am so financially screwed at times when food craving kicks in. So I will be going to JB Malaysia to get Autumnz ultimate convertible double electric/manual breastpump @ RM499.00, cloth diapering that can be use from birth to potty training for indoor use and will grab some mics items as well. I will be shopping at onebabyworld outlet in JB - http://www.onebabyworld.com/ - they sell items that comes in package too which included breastpump, nursing bra, cooler bags and many more for just below RM400.00. A friend of mine recommended Autumnz double breastpump as the suction is good for her. So I will give it a try too.

Package link: http://www.onebabyworld.com/nursing-breastfeeding-breastpump-packages-c-4_179.html

View attachment 106599 View attachment 106600

Hi Sharifah, currently I'm using the modern cloth diaper and I would like to say its very very good. I brought it from Moo Moo Kow during baby fair. I only start using when baby is about 2month+, initially I was using the traditional cloth diaper (had to wash like hell). I highly recommend this modern cloth diaper to mummies who wants to use cloth diaper for their babies.

Amazing thing about this modern cloth diaper is that the poo poo stain on the inserts can be remove by sunning it after wash. You sun it for 1-2 hrs and the stain just gone by itself! The inserts also quite absorbent, i only need to change the inserts every 3-4hrs. However, for convenience sake, I only use the cloth diaper during the day time, night time and when I'm out with babies, i would still use disposable diaper.

My confinement nanny told me that baby's first month probably better to use disposable diaper because they poo poo alot (almost after every feed). If use disposable, easier to clean up their poo poo, no need to wash so much. But i still use half traditional cloth diaper and half disposable diapers. This helps to prevent diaper rash.

Yeah!! Awesome to know that it is very very good!! :) Thanks for the best advise outliers. Shall plan to strategies my future with precious, hehe.. Moo Moo Kow is the best brand to get in SG and given great discount during baby fair so keep a look out ladies. In Msia, brand Autumnz. Oversea with free international delivery for bulk ordering is brand Shopdiaper - check out the great discounts too and how cost effective it is for all 3 brands.

Moo Moo Kow Link:
http://www.moomookow.com

Shopdiaper Link:
http://www.shopdiaper.com/cloth-diaper-brands/shopdiaper

Autumnz Link:
http://www.onebabyworld.com/baby-clothing-cloth-diaper-c-10_11.html

As for disposable pampers, my sister did a lot of survey plus try outs and discovered that Giant disposable pampers are the cheapest compared to other brands. Even though Giant pampers are the cheapest, it does prevent pampers rash in her experience and can gain Giant points to those who are giant member, hahah! :cool: Negative point is that the "pampers sticker attach" part will only be 1 or 2-times use so advise not to keep opening the pampers to check if baby poo pee or not - otherwise it will wore off very easily. I don't mind the sticker attach actually because I can look see from the side of the pampers. hehe.. ;)

Can I ask if having a twins does the uterus stretch even more n have more cramps then those single baby?

Hi Snow19, welcome to our Forum!

Yes very much, Our uterus stretch even more for our extra passenger. We feel more cramps for legs and a lot of Braxton Hicks contractions. A Braxton Hicks contraction is a contraction of the uterus and feels similar to a menstrual cramp. In my experience if I am not mistaken, I only came across Braxton Hicks thrice during my entire 6months pregnancy now. My babies is growing and expanding my uterus since this is my 1st pregnancy.

Info, Answers are support by Twinsuk
http://www.twinsuk.co.uk/twinstips/...-births/twin-pregnancy-week-by-week-calendar/

Hi Snow19, yes very much. Our uterus stretch even more for our extra passenger. We feel more cramps for legs and a lot of Braxton Hicks contractions. A Braxton Hicks contraction is a contraction of the uterus and feels similar to a menstrual cramp. In my experience, I only came across Braxton Hicks thrice in my whole pregnancy. I assume that my babies is growing and expanding my uterus since this is my 1st pregnancy.

Info, Answers are support by Twinsuk - http://www.twinsuk.co.uk/twinstips/...-births/twin-pregnancy-week-by-week-calendar/

Hi sharifah,

Thanks for the answer by the way if my HCG is high does that mean I got chances of having twins as well? I've experience cramps a lot and sometimes the cramp occur after my toilet visit n there's once in the night where I can feel the pain is stretching or pulling n my lower back also feel the pain so is normal right

Hi sharifah,

Thanks for the answer by the way if my HCG is high does that mean I got chances of having twins as well? I've experience cramps a lot and sometimes the cramp occur after my toilet visit n there's once in the night where I can feel the pain is stretching or pulling n my lower back also feel the pain so is normal right

I experienced the same before I found out that I am pregnant with twins. My lower back cramp really bad for daysss and was breathless during my sleepsss. Do place pillow beneath the side where your back hurts to help your back heal faster and prevent it by getting worst. The cramps are normal, as long as there is no bleeding. If there is bleeding and you're pregnant, please go see a doctor. I have read about HCG is higher for twins but mine wasn't I guess because when I took a test (not clear blue) from home, it was sooooo slow to give me the result that I am pregnant. Hehehe o_O So really depends on HCG.

Remember the last day of your last menstruation. Go purchase clear blue and do a test at home. Once positive, see doctor at polyclinic to get referral letter and they will refer you to hospital. Hopefully you get your 1st scan during your 10 weeks pregnancy to receive a better scan of your twins! Weeeee... hahaha!! I could still remember my moment when I found out. Pray for the best :)

I experienced the same before I found out that I am pregnant with twins. My lower back cramp really bad for daysss and was breathless during my sleepsss. Do place pillow beneath the side where your back hurts to help your back heal faster and prevent it by getting worst. I have read about HCG is higher for twins but mine wasn't I guess because when I took a test (not clear blue) from home, it was sooooo slow to give me the result that I am pregnant. Hehehe o_O So really depends on HCG.

Remember the last day of your last menstruation. Go purchase clear blue and do a test at home. Once positive, see doctor at polyclinic to get referral letter and they will refer you to hospital. Hopefully you get your 1st scan during your 10 weeks pregnant to receive a better scan of your twins! Weeeee... hahaha!! I could still remember my moment when I found out. Pray for the best :)

Hi sharifah,

My first scan is on the 19 nov, my gynae is dr tan frm kkh, and I'm one of the ivf patient the doc implant 2 embryo I've tested positive on the 1 nov with a 900+ of HCG so I'm wondering is it I'm having twins initially I get hungry very easily but recently it slows down leh I can't wait for my first scan to see how it goes as I'm quite worrying also. Except to know that the cramps is normally pain for those who are having twins

Hi sharifah,

My first scan is on the 19 nov, my gynae is dr tan frm kkh, and I'm one of the ivf patient the doc implant 2 embryo I've tested positive on the 1 nov with a 900+ of HCG so I'm wondering is it I'm having twins initially I get hungry very easily but recently it slows down leh I can't wait for my first scan to see how it goes as I'm quite worrying also. Except to know that the cramps is normally pain for those who are having twins

Read my edited reply above in bold, I have the habit of missing some important info sometimes. sheesh, sorry ya. hehe.. Bearable pain is normal but if awful pain till we bleed, best to see doctor. Congratulation dear for your positive result!! Ouh please don't worry too much. Have positive energy race in your bloodstream ya so that everything is happy happy going. hehe! 19 Nov is my birthday and I wish that you are blessed with twins. hehe. Whatever it is, single or double is still a blessing - always remember that. Keep us update ya, take care for now and keep on smiling. :D

Thanks keeping my finger crossed so far I dun have any bleeding or spotting *touch wood*

Hi sharifah,

Congrates Snow19! I got my twins through IVF too. My first HCG blood test result shows 2000+ and I don't have much cramps but I have very bad morning sickness-constantly feeling nauseous and sick. This could partly due to the progesterone medication that I have intake. Anyway, every women have different symptoms during pregnancy, so don't worry so much about the cramp unless there is bleeding.

Take care and enjoy the pregnancy at the meantime!

Here is something to share on where you can find the estimated Hospital bills size for both Govt hospitals (KKH, NUH & SHG) and Private hospitals (GEH, MAH, MEH, PEH, RH & TMC). This is updated on 31st Oct 2013 and some private hospitals do not provide twins packages whereby patient need to pay twice of single baby cost and also note that majority of private hospital patient cost similar to private patient in Govt hospital. This hospital bills size is not including doctor's fee. Some doctor can cost higher than the other. So it is always best to seek for the estimated bill from the clinic, they will compute for you. Take your time in finding the right hospital and doctor that suit you best ya. :) Take care mommies!!

Delivery (Normal)
http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/HospitalBillSize/delivery_normal.html

Delivery (Caesarean section)
http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_w...spitalBillSize/delivery_caesareansection.html

Others:
There is Twins Clinic in KKH for high risk pregnancy such as identical twins and fraternal twins that has complication. If fraternal twins which do not have any complication, they will not be in Twins Clinic and will be treated as normal pregnancy because each baby has their own sac and own placenta. Twins Clinic are taken care by specialist doctors and also cater to subsidies patient.

There is high risk pregnancy department (including twins) by specialist doctors for subsidies patient in NUH too.

Hi Sharifah, that is a very good piece of information you shared.
I'm hoping TMC delivery wouldn't be too costly for twins.
Having read your experience at KK... i think i would really think twice because my mom is also not supportive of me delivering at KK at all.
NUH is really too far. i would puke my journey

Silly me thought that i would only have to pay similar to a singleton mommy despite delivering twins. LOL. I even thought i was saving money from all those gynae visits since i carried 2 at once.

Hi Sharifah, that is a very good piece of information you shared.
I'm hoping TMC delivery wouldn't be too costly for twins.
Having read your experience at KK... i think i would really think twice because my mom is also not supportive of me delivering at KK at all.
NUH is really too far. i would puke my journey

Silly me thought that i would only have to pay similar to a singleton mommy despite delivering twins. LOL. I even thought i was saving money from all those gynae visits since i carried 2 at once.

Hi Yuffie, I delivered in TMC and my gynae's clinic is in TMC also, the delivery and Dr's fee is the same for singleton and twins. The only difference is the baby's ward charges which will be base on individual baby. Usually the gynae's assistant will be able to explain and show you the breakdown of charges for delivery.

I was told that if you decided to give deliver via vaginal birth, when one is out via vagina birth and last minute the 2nd one has to deliver via e-csect, then there will be 2 charges - vaginal birth and e-csect. So better check with your gynae's assistant on the charges.

Agreed with outliers. So far mine under subsidies - consultation fee are similar to single baby but only the multiples pregnancy scanning are higher. My friend paid less then 90 for consultation + scanning but as for me, I have been paying in the range from 130 - 150 inclusive of multiples pragnancy scan. How about govt private patient? If I am not under subsidies, looking at my current bill before subsidized reached nearly 300. Outliers, did yours ever reached that high in TMC?

Yuffie, guess your doctor wants you to have plan B in case if there is major complication or babies need to be in NICU (pray your pregnancy goes smoothly) - being in private hospitals would cost way higher when there is any extra care/treatment needed such as NICU for pre mature babies after delivery and any last minute emergency cesarean section taken place during labor.

Remember that it is our doctor responsibilities to make us aware of all the possibility of risk that may incur during our pregnancy but it is not 100% true that it will happen - only God knows. That is why it is very important that we take care of ourselves and our babies by eating well. Plus having your body ready if you planned for natural birth plus read more on what to expect during labor (e.g pre labor exercise, breathing/pushing techniques and etc). In our old post in previous pages of this forum, we have shared from healthy food for baby's developing and how to be ready for both natural and also cesarean delivery. Read and fill yourself with needed information ya. All the best dear. :)

I paid about $130 for each gynae visit. This include scan and consultation fees only. For 2nd trimester, I only need to visit the gynae once a month and in third trimester, its once every 2 weeks and nearer to the EDD, will be once a week.

Waah. You are private patient right? The last I paid was $146 for consultation and detailed scanning for subsidies. If with normal scanning was $130. At least now I won't worried if I need to fix to 1 doctor. Currently I have 4 doctors to speak to till I fix to 1. Pray the best.

Just to share..

I just admitted on monday due to contractions and will be discharging later..

If bbies are well behaved and able to wait till full term.. goin private like tmc is not a problem.. if risk of preterm then i will suggest u all to consider restructured hospital :)

Just to share..

I just admitted on monday due to contractions and will be discharging later..

If bbies are well behaved and able to wait till full term.. goin private like tmc is not a problem.. if risk of preterm then i will suggest u all to consider restructured hospital :)

Kmei2, thanks for the advise. Hope you and your precious are all well now. Take care. :)

Ladies: Bedrest, drink plenty of water, level you legs higher while resting - something to share on what we can do to ease early constractions. If it does not decrease, please see doctor.

What can I do to prevent pre-term delivery?

I went for my scan at TMC. For my OSCAR (at 12th week) +FA Scan (booked at 5th month). the cost is about 580 for my twins.
The main purpose for the scan is to test for DS. The results come out to be quite optimistic.
Their NT is about 1.5mm.. suspected DS thickness is about 2.5mm.
Presence of nasal bones for both also helps to eliminate possibilities of DS as DS babies have flat features, about 60% of them wouldn't have nasal bones.
The radiologist who scanned me was a singapore lady and i was very happy that she is so knowledgable and shares with me these useful pieces of information.

The twins are doing well, sharing the same placenta, different sacs (visibility of a membrane separating time)
At 12 weeks, they are about 6cm each, no signs of twin twin transfusion since their growth are equal.

I also signed up for their First Born incentive (FBI) package at 148$ which will give me a 5% savings of their scan and a couple of other benefits. The goodie bag is inclusive of 3 books and a diaper bag. I forgot to bring the goodie bag home because i left it at the information counter and left in a hurry.
If you plan to deliver at TMC, and your doctor is also under the TMC.. i would highly recommend that you sign up for their FBI package.
Just to share what the main incentives are:
- $100 off single room package
-$80 off 2-bedded room package (i'll be utilising this)
-10% off paediatric professional fees
-5% off maternity professional fees
-15% off 28 Days TCM confinement herbal care. ($338 instead of $398) (i'm considering this as well)
-10% off Retail pharmacy , 24 Hr family clinic (standby for the next 2 years' baby needs)
-5% off hospital hospital services (including FA scans, Ultrasound svcs, childbirth education class) (definitely will utilise this)
-
10% off delifrance alacarte meals (very important as it is the only cafe in TMC apart from the cosy cafeteria)

I think the free 6 months insurance coverage by AXA for newborn is something that comforts me greatly too..
Before i decide which company to sign my twins to, it's always good to have a backup insurance in case of need.
But i need to find out if the 6 months is "free" or maybe i need to sign them up before i'm giving free 6 months.. Anybody knows?

So far, i'm quite pleased with my experience at TMC.
Highly likely that i will continue my consultation with my doctor who is also under TMC.
I will be seeing my doctor 2 weeks later for a more detailed outcome of the scan.

Hi Yuffie, I delivered in TMC and my gynae's clinic is in TMC also, the delivery and Dr's fee is the same for singleton and twins. The only difference is the baby's ward charges which will be base on individual baby. Usually the gynae's assistant will be able to explain and show you the breakdown of charges for delivery.

I was told that if you decided to give deliver via vaginal birth, when one is out via vagina birth and last minute the 2nd one has to deliver via e-csect, then there will be 2 charges - vaginal birth and e-csect. So better check with your gynae's assistant on the charges.

Thanks for sharing Outliers, I'm glad to know not everything is multiplied by 2!
if i could have vagina birth, i would really love to go through that.
But the decision on which type of birthing would really depend of how my twins position themselves nearing the last stage of pregnancy right?
Did you do vagina birth?

Agreed with outliers. So far mine under subsidies - consultation fee are similar to single baby but only the multiples pregnancy scanning are higher. My friend paid less then 90 for consultation + scanning but as for me, I have been paying in the range from 130 - 150 inclusive of multiples pragnancy scan. How about govt private patient? If I am not under subsidies, looking at my current bill before subsidized reached nearly 300. Outliers, did yours ever reached that high in TMC?

Yuffie, guess your doctor wants you to have plan B in case if there is major complication or babies need to be in NICU (pray your pregnancy goes smoothly) - being in private hospitals would cost way higher when there is any extra care/treatment needed such as NICU for pre mature babies after delivery and any last minute emergency cesarean section taken place during labor.

Remember that it is our doctor responsibilities to make us aware of all the possibility of risk that may incur during our pregnancy but it is not 100% true that it will happen - only God knows. That is why it is very important that we take care of ourselves and our babies by eating well. Plus having your body ready if you planned for natural birth plus read more on what to expect during labor (e.g pre labor exercise, breathing/pushing techniques and etc). In our old post in previous pages of this forum, we have shared from healthy food for baby's developing and how to be ready for both natural and also cesarean delivery. Read and fill yourself with needed information ya. All the best dear.
C:\Users\Tammy\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.png

Hi Sharifah,

I can only look forward to a healthy journey with the babies.
So far, things are looking optimistic and i'm really happy with how the twins are growing despite my vomitting...
I must say they truly are picky with food.

Just to share how much i paid for each visit for the standard consultation and medication:

Urine Test - $5
Consultation - $80
Ultrasound scan - $80
Folic Acid (30 tabs) - $6
Maxolon, for nauseating/ dizzyness (10 tabs) - $5
Prenavit (30 caps) - $9

So far, my visits cost about $250 each with abit of variations of extra medications and tests etc..

Thanks for sharing Outliers, I'm glad to know not everything is multiplied by 2!
But the decision on which type of birthing would really depend of how my twins position themselves nearing the last stage of pregnancy right?
Did you do vagina birth?

Hi Sharifah,

So far, things are looking optimistic and i'm really happy with how the twins are growing despite my vomitting...

Just to share how much i paid for each visit for the standard consultation and medication:

Urine Test - $5
Consultation - $80
Ultrasound scan - $80
Prenavit (30 caps) - $9

So far, my visits cost about $250 each with abit of variations of extra medications and tests etc..

Hi Yuffie, thanks for sharing and that everything looking good. :) Continue to be happy and positive. I was never picky on food till it all started from 6 weeks pregnant with my precious. Vomiting all day everyday for 4 months - Quit my job and be at home for good. Lose weight up to 8kg during 1st trimester and now on my 25weeks weight check, I've gained 12kg, hehe. So glad - still have to monitor on my intake. Take good care ya. ;)

Hi ladies, I hope all do not mind me sharing my experiences. I was controlling my worries and kept babies+mine safe in my prayers. Every mom here may have experienced it differently or are currently experiencing the same. It may happen now, later or never. This forum is to give support, offer mothers information so they can make informed decisions surrounding the birth of her baby, to strengthen and build mothers' confidence in their choices and in their ability to birth their children gently. Hopefully we benefit from each other. :)

10 weeks - On my first visit in KKH, I opted out the DS scan during the counselling session. Reason being, I find that it was unnecessary to spend too much $$. I am that kind of person who followed the old days where there are no such procedures. After doing some medical reading and listening from moms who had experienced it, this method was not 100% accurate. There are cases where everything was negative of DS but babies born with DS. Likewise some who had positive DS results, babies was born normal - Miracle of God. Finally, hubby and I leave it in God's hands instead of depending on the results because either negative or positive of DS won't lessen my worries.

12 weeks - Surprise, they marked me as absent on my 10 weeks visit and reports went missing. So from now on, I have decided to ask for a copied of my reports during each visit. It was a painful scanning and I could not received any answers from the female sonographer. Only to refer to the doctor as per her. My babies were seen with only 1 placenta and they are in 2 separated sacs. Everything went well with my babies - growth equally, hearts beats well. Hubby and I took blood test to see if there is any positive of diabetes and etc.

20 weeks - Our detailed scanning day! (Super excited to know babies genders) I told hubby to record during scanning - by right hospital in Singapore does not allow any recording but we managed to, hehe. Overall, 2 female sonographers and 1 male doctor attended to me (I am a subsidies patient so I am aware that the medical officers will change during each visit)

This is where it all began - First sonographer was accompanied by a senior or trainee. During the scanning, they confirmed 2 placentas and 2 sacs - Fraternal Twins. Both commented that they are all well included precious hearts beats are well, organs are developing well and "so far so good". Just that, babies are very active and not staying still to measure their nose nasal bone. She advised me to have a walk and will be expecting another sonographer to scan again. Otherwise, they have to schedule me another day if it is still unsuccessful. I was so happy on how well babies have grown till I met this really unfriendly grumpy Aunty (second sonographer). She told me that babies are still not in the right position. Twin B was moving actively - always looking away. Suddenly a male Doctor came in from nowhere and wrote that babies heart beats was not seen clearly. In closed doors, Doctor said that there are high chances of down syndrome because of absent nose nasal for Twin A. In fact the sonographers told me that they could NOT get a good view because they are not in the right position. We had nearly 3 hours of ultrasound and I am sure my precious incl. me are too tired having to lie on my back + all those pressure on my tummy. That Doctor was not being tactful; instead he was like selling/promoting the Amnio test. I firmly said "no" to Amnio test and he kept "promoting" till I told him to stop explaining since I have heard it from another doctor during my 1st visit. He has the guts to ask me this, "Do you know how Down syndrome babies look like?” I answered, "Yes very much". He suggested me to terminate my precious if DS is positive and repeatedly tell me about miscarriage cases if I do not go for the test (He thinks he can cheat my feelings when the fact I know that those test could even cause miscarriage too). I cut him off by asking him for my blood test result and why was I told that babies were well during my 12 weeks scan if they have DS. His answer was my blood test are all well and told me that during 12 weeks, doctor are not able to see any DS during scan till baby are grown bigger. I still firmly said "no" to those procedures because what had happened on that day was not logic enough. I felt something fishy - sonographers said babies is not in the right position and doctor was not even in the room during my scanning. He can raise his voice at me as much as he wants but I still keep my smile on. Even hubby heard that this grumpy Aunty said my baby is weird. :eek: She was weird to me!

So this is what I did when I reached home, I Google on image of DS baby's scanning and YouTube on how I can identify nose nasal bone during scanning. I felt relieved that hubby video of our precious and I was so glad that their nose nasal bone can be seen. I wasn't so worried about my babies after educating myself. I was more worried of the care provider that I am with. With the advise of Nurse Manager, Doula and Friends, I have finally decided to seek 2nd opinion in NUH.

25 weeks – My first visit in NUH, gave my hard copies of medical reports to NUH excluding the last visit report from KKH. This time round, I prepared a birth plan for natural and cesarean birth and stated all sort of unnecessary procedures that could be avoided during labor. This able me to find a pro natural doctor in NUH. Met with Dr. Clara who gave me specified details on what to expect during my pregnancy. Even accommodate to my needs on finding the right doctor for my natural birth plan. Finally she was the first doctor who told me that I can still go natural as long as first baby is head down and second baby is still fine in any position. She had arranged my next visit to see a doctor who handles most of the twins’ pregnancy and if I am still not comfortable with her, she will arrange my future visit with a different doctor that I have listed - was recommended by Friends and Doula. All of them are under subsidy. That financially helped me a lot.

During my detailed scanning with NUH, Dr. Dawn was super detailed. She even explained to me and hubby of the colour that indicate on the screen. We had good laugh in the room and advise me to talk to babies instead of walking so that we can end the scanning soonest. Babies were still so active but with all the babies talking, babies behave and stay still. Dr. Dawn will say "good babies" and will tell me what's next that she needs for my report. All parameters are within range for dates. No obvious structural abnormalities seen. She was being honest on how difficult twins pregnancy during scanning can be since babies are all cramp up in 1 mother’s tummy. She then had shown us how true it was with the hands and legs here and there, Hehe. I was so thankful when she explained about the limitations of Ultrasound scanning. Even in the best of hands, a small % of fetal anomalies, in particular certain heart defects, can remain undetectable. For all the knowledge reading that I filled in during my pregnancy was finally heard by an experience doctor. Detailed scanning went well and no signs of DS.

I be at my utmost positive for now onwards. Tell myself that it is better to know what to expect during pregnancy and labor before having my happiness taken away. Gaining this experience makes me fearless and push me more to good reading. Always keep my precious and myself in my prayers.

Did you do vagina birth?

Hi Sharifah,

Urine Test - $5
Consultation - $80
Ultrasound scan - $80
Prenavit (30 caps) - $9

The folic acid I purchase at kkh is only $1.50 for 30 tablets I remember there's a clinic in beauty world plaza their folic acid is free coz consultation include it the gynae told me folic acid very cheap so he give me like 60 tablets for free.

Hello all:
Thats so much infor to look at here. I am glad i join this thread. I am expecting twins too but doctor told me to goback 2 weeks later for another scan to see if both developed. Do anyone of your know roughly by when you will know that the bbies are well behaved and able to wait till full term? and when will we know there may be risk of preterm? the reason i asked is because i heard that restrucutured hospital only accepts patients who are less than 20 weeks pregnant and if you are more than 20 weeks pregnant, they will not accept you anymore. I am more worried about the cost of the babies staying in the "ICU" if their weight are less than the acceptable range after birth. any experiences to share?

I went for my scan at TMC. For my OSCAR (at 12th week) +FA Scan (booked at 5th month). the cost is about 580 for my twins.
The main purpose for the scan is to test for DS. The results come out to be quite optimistic.
Their NT is about 1.5mm.. suspected DS thickness is about 2.5mm.
Presence of nasal bones for both also helps to eliminate possibilities of DS as DS babies have flat features, about 60% of them wouldn't have nasal bones.
The radiologist who scanned me was a singapore lady and i was very happy that she is so knowledgable and shares with me these useful pieces of information.

The twins are doing well, sharing the same placenta, different sacs (visibility of a membrane separating time)
At 12 weeks, they are about 6cm each, no signs of twin twin transfusion since their growth are equal.

I also signed up for their First Born incentive (FBI) package at 148$ which will give me a 5% savings of their scan and a couple of other benefits. The goodie bag is inclusive of 3 books and a diaper bag. I forgot to bring the goodie bag home because i left it at the information counter and left in a hurry.
If you plan to deliver at TMC, and your doctor is also under the TMC.. i would highly recommend that you sign up for their FBI package.
Just to share what the main incentives are:
- $100 off single room package
-$80 off 2-bedded room package (i'll be utilising this)
-10% off paediatric professional fees
-5% off maternity professional fees
-15% off 28 Days TCM confinement herbal care. ($338 instead of $398) (i'm considering this as well)
-10% off Retail pharmacy , 24 Hr family clinic (standby for the next 2 years' baby needs)
-5% off hospital hospital services (including FA scans, Ultrasound svcs, childbirth education class) (definitely will utilise this)
-
10% off delifrance alacarte meals (very important as it is the only cafe in TMC apart from the cosy cafeteria)

I think the free 6 months insurance coverage by AXA for newborn is something that comforts me greatly too..
Before i decide which company to sign my twins to, it's always good to have a backup insurance in case of need.
But i need to find out if the 6 months is "free" or maybe i need to sign them up before i'm giving free 6 months.. Anybody knows?

So far, i'm quite pleased with my experience at TMC.
Highly likely that i will continue my consultation with my doctor who is also under TMC.
I will be seeing my doctor 2 weeks later for a more detailed outcome of the scan.

Hi yuffie! I went for my OSCAR last Wed. Similar results as yours (6cm each too, they are now in top/bottom position). Mine has 2 separate placenta though. Yeah to the good results :)

I thinking if I should sign up for the FBI package.. my next appointment is 4 Dec.. maybe I will decide then. I have also signed up for a hospital tour on that day. Have you made a tentative booking for the room that you want? I signed up a package with my gynae too.

Hi ladies, I hope all do not mind me sharing my experiences. I was controlling my worries and kept babies+mine safe in my prayers. Every mom here may have experienced it differently or are currently experiencing the same. It may happen now, later or never. This forum is to give support, offer mothers information so they can make informed decisions surrounding the birth of her baby, to strengthen and build mothers' confidence in their choices and in their ability to birth their children gently. Hopefully we benefit from each other. :)

10 weeks - On my first visit in KKH, I opted out the DS scan during the counselling session. Reason being, I find that it was unnecessary to spend too much $$. I am that kind of person who followed the old days where there are no such procedures. After doing some medical reading and listening from moms who had experienced it, this method was not 100% accurate. There are cases where everything was negative of DS but babies born with DS. Likewise some who had positive DS results, babies was born normal - Miracle of God. Finally, hubby and I leave it in God's hands instead of depending on the results because either negative or positive of DS won't lessen my worries.

12 weeks - Surprise, they marked me as absent on my 10 weeks visit and reports went missing. So from now on, I have decided to ask for a copied of my reports during each visit. It was a painful scanning and I could not received any answers from the female sonographer. Only to refer to the doctor as per her. My babies were seen with only 1 placenta and they are in 2 separated sacs. Everything went well with my babies - growth equally, hearts beats well. Hubby and I took blood test to see if there is any positive of diabetes and etc.

20 weeks - Our detailed scanning day! (Super excited to know babies genders) I told hubby to record during scanning - by right hospital in Singapore does not allow any recording but we managed to, hehe. Overall, 2 female sonographers and 1 male doctor attended to me (I am a subsidies patient so I am aware that the medical officers will change during each visit)

This is where it all began - First sonographer was accompanied by a senior or trainee. During the scanning, they confirmed 2 placentas and 2 sacs - Fraternal Twins. Both commented that they are all well included precious hearts beats are well, organs are developing well and "so far so good". Just that, babies are very active and not staying still to measure their nose nasal bone. She advised me to have a walk and will be expecting another sonographer to scan again. Otherwise, they have to schedule me another day if it is still unsuccessful. I was so happy on how well babies have grown till I met this really unfriendly grumpy Aunty (second sonographer). She told me that babies are still not in the right position. Twin B was moving actively - always looking away. Suddenly a male Doctor came in from nowhere and wrote that babies heart beats was not seen clearly. In closed doors, Doctor said that there are high chances of down syndrome because of absent nose nasal for Twin A. In fact the sonographers told me that they could NOT get a good view because they are not in the right position. We had nearly 3 hours of ultrasound and I am sure my precious incl. me are too tired having to lie on my back + all those pressure on my tummy. That Doctor was not being tactful; instead he was like selling/promoting the Amnio test. I firmly said "no" to Amnio test and he kept "promoting" till I told him to stop explaining since I have heard it from another doctor during my 1st visit. He has the guts to ask me this, "Do you know how Down syndrome babies look like?” I answered, "Yes very much". He suggested me to terminate my precious if DS is positive and repeatedly tell me about miscarriage cases if I do not go for the test (He thinks he can cheat my feelings when the fact I know that those test could even cause miscarriage too). I cut him off by asking him for my blood test result and why was I told that babies were well during my 12 weeks scan if they have DS. His answer was my blood test are all well and told me that during 12 weeks, doctor are not able to see any DS during scan till baby are grown bigger. I still firmly said "no" to those procedures because what had happened on that day was not logic enough. I felt something fishy - sonographers said babies is not in the right position and doctor was not even in the room during my scanning. He can raise his voice at me as much as he wants but I still keep my smile on. Even hubby heard that this grumpy Aunty said my baby is weird. :eek: She was weird to me!

So this is what I did when I reached home, I Google on image of DS baby's scanning and YouTube on how I can identify nose nasal bone during scanning. I felt relieved that hubby video of our precious and I was so glad that their nose nasal bone can be seen. I wasn't so worried about my babies after educating myself. I was more worried of the care provider that I am with. With the advise of Nurse Manager, Doula and Friends, I have finally decided to seek 2nd opinion in NUH.

25 weeks – My first visit in NUH, gave my hard copies of medical reports to NUH excluding the last visit report from KKH. This time round, I prepared a birth plan for natural and cesarean birth and stated all sort of unnecessary procedures that could be avoided during labor. This able me to find a pro natural doctor in NUH. Met with Dr. Clara who gave me specified details on what to expect during my pregnancy. Even accommodate to my needs on finding the right doctor for my natural birth plan. Finally she was the first doctor who told me that I can still go natural as long as first baby is head down and second baby is still fine in any position. She had arranged my next visit to see a doctor who handles most of the twins’ pregnancy and if I am still not comfortable with her, she will arrange my future visit with a different doctor that I have listed - was recommended by Friends and Doula. All of them are under subsidy. That financially helped me a lot.

During my detailed scanning with NUH, Dr. Dawn was super detailed. She even explained to me and hubby of the colour that indicate on the screen. We had good laugh in the room and advise me to talk to babies instead of walking so that we can end the scanning soonest. Babies were still so active but with all the babies talking, babies behave and stay still. Dr. Dawn will say "good babies" and will tell me what's next that she needs for my report. All parameters are within range for dates. No obvious structural abnormalities seen. She was being honest on how difficult twins pregnancy during scanning can be since babies are all cramp up in 1 mother’s tummy. She then had shown us how true it was with the hands and legs here and there, Hehe. I was so thankful when she explained about the limitations of Ultrasound scanning. Even in the best of hands, a small % of fetal anomalies, in particular certain heart defects, can remain undetectable. For all the knowledge reading that I filled in during my pregnancy was finally heard by an experience doctor. Detailed scanning went well and no signs of DS.

I be at my utmost positive for now onwards. Tell myself that it is better to know what to expect during pregnancy and labor before having my happiness taken away. Gaining this experience makes me fearless and push me more to good reading. Always keep my precious and myself in my prayers.

Hi Sharifah, thanks for sharing. You are one brave mummy - my inspiration! :)

Hello all:
Thats so much infor to look at here. I am glad i join this thread. I am expecting twins too but doctor told me to goback 2 weeks later for another scan to see if both developed. Do anyone of your know roughly by when you will know that the bbies are well behaved and able to wait till full term? and when will we know there may be risk of preterm? the reason i asked is because i heard that restrucutured hospital only accepts patients who are less than 20 weeks pregnant and if you are more than 20 weeks pregnant, they will not accept you anymore. I am more worried about the cost of the babies staying in the "ICU" if their weight are less than the acceptable range after birth. any experiences to share?

Hi Zucal, not so true that doctor won't accept you in the hospital above 20weeks pregnant. My first visit with NUH is at 25weeks. I have friends who obtain their referral letter from polyclinic and made appointment with their preferred govt hospital. There will be nurses who may tell you that hospital won't take 20weeks preggy mommies which seriously I find that silly. Only doctors can tell you that. Some mom even only came to the hospital to deliver her baby and never went for check up, very rare to be honest but hey, anything is possible. Whatever it is, have them to make a copy of your medical reports in case if you want to move to other hospital. It is free to ask a copy. :) about pre term babies, none of us can predict if they are pre term babies. Not even the doctors. Once faith happens such like waterbag broke or there are signs of bleeding or babies have serious medical conditions that need them to grow better in outside environment, early stage of strong contractions before full term, those can cause pre term babies.. best to always take care and monitor you and babies through your food intake, mentally and physically, having a good rest. Don't overwork yourself. Always see doctor immediately if you came across any of the above. Hope this helps. :)

I love this apps - Babybump Pregnancy. They also have question and answer in "Group" forum. Can simply type your concern in the search and it will direct you to moms who had the same concern. Especially the daily and weekly tips are great. It will sometime mentioned about twins too. :)
Screenshot_2013-11-11-12-00-26.png
Screenshot_2013-11-11-12-02-40.png

I hope u all don mind me joining.. i m the 2013 twin mum. My girls were delivered in May 2013. First time mummy here too with twin, and i m learning as well. Hope to be able to get advise from the experience mummies here :)

Hi yuffie! I went for my OSCAR last Wed. Similar results as yours (6cm each too, they are now in top/bottom position). Mine has 2 separate placenta though. Yeah to the good results :)

I thinking if I should sign up for the FBI package.. my next appointment is 4 Dec.. maybe I will decide then. I have also signed up for a hospital tour on that day. Have you made a tentative booking for the room that you want? I signed up a package with my gynae too.

Hi rainingcows, i did not sign up for the hospital tour i will do so at my next scan appointment which is end of the year.
If you are delivering at TMC you can consider to sign up. there are some discounts for the various room types. If you are still unsure, you may want to check it out at the information counter where you sign up for the hospital tour.

I will see my gynae next week... how is your package like? Would be good if there is a fellow TMC mommy who can share with me.
I need to prepare myself before i get a shock of my life next week. =P

I hope u all don mind me joining.. i m the 2013 twin mum. My girls were delivered in May 2013. First time mummy here too with twin, and i m learning as well. Hope to be able to get advise from the experience mummies here :)

Welcome mommy morticia!! Congratulations to you and your precious..!! Awww... It must be such a blessing journey for you and your family. How was your labor experience like? I have another 3-4 months to go, soo excited!

hahaha.. i went thru c-section wor. my girls were not swimming here and there. delivered them at 36 weeks.. Jia you wor Sharifah.. almost starting liao..

Hi ladies,me super stress at work,my MS also v bad & everyday afternoon &evening v v tired.Hw do u all cope with it?

Can i check with experience twins mummy,hw do u all arrange 2 bbs to slp?did u all buy 2 cots?Or slp on the floor?for me,i gt a cat at hm,&my flat v small.Dont knw hw to put so many things.Hw abt strollers?Did u all buy the twin stroller or separate?

Hi ladies,me super stress at work,my MS also v bad & everyday afternoon &evening v v tired.Hw do u all cope with it?

Can i check with experience twins mummy,hw do u all arrange 2 bbs to slp?did u all buy 2 cots?Or slp on the floor?for me,i gt a cat at hm,&my flat v small.Dont knw hw to put so many things.Hw abt strollers?Did u all buy the twin stroller or separate?

Hi wanda my MS is quite a problem too. it comes any time of the day. I keep a bag of prunes with me wherever i go. And a plastic bag in case i need to puke.

I'm thinking of buying 2 cots for the twins.. by sleeping separately it will prevent their sickness from passing to each other.

As for the twin stroller, i'm not a big fan of the side-by-side stroller because it's too wide to navigate around.. i'm thinking of the front and back kind of stroller but i'm not sure if it's suitable for infants, will need to check.

well.. i nv buy 2 cot.. i just bought 1 cot bed for them to share. and they are still sharing even till now (6mths old). Somedays when one of the twin is sleeping and another one does not want to sleep, i place her in the playpen so as not to disturb her sister.

As for prams, i nv buy the side by side one as i heard from other experience twin mummies, some escalator is very small so they have problem when they try to push and take the escalator. I bought 2 separate stroller as i realise that on days when only one twin is sick, i can just push a stroller to the doctor and its easier to navigate ard. I nv let them sleep on the stroller till they 3 mths old as mine was a premature babies thus everything was handle in more greater care than a normal full mth baby.

Wanda my MS comes only in the late afternoon/ evening/ night.. but it got better now going into the 2nd trimester. I eat some plain biscuits or any other dry food stuff - finds that it keeps me from puking or stops the urge for puking.

Yuffie I left my gynae package details at home.. shall dig it up tonight and let you know more details!

I am thinking of not buying any cot, just let them sleep on mattresses on the floor. For strollers, considering to buy 1 first then see if need to buy another after testing if having 1 is enough.. car seats have to buy 2 I guess, no choice..

Hi Wanda, I also only brought 1 baby cot, but i brought a slightly bigger size one. Both babies share the cot (sleep side by side I I). They are quite alright to sleep (day and night) in the cot for the first 2 months. Then come 3rd month, they don't really like to nap in their cot anymore, they wake up easily whenever I put them to nap in the cot.

I had 2 rocker chairs, so my twins nap in their rocker chair during the day time. When comes to night time, I only put them in the cot when they are very sleepy and they tend to be able to sleep through the night except when its time to drink milk. Sometimes I put the babies to sleep in our bed and i guess they quite like it (better than their own cot) but we try not to do it often otherwise they won't want to sleep in their own cot (end up we waste money on the cot).

Currently they are 4 months and still using their cot for night time sleep only (they slept in this position - _ one corner each ) The only disadvantage for having one cot is that at 3month plus, both babies are quite active already and they love to kick their legs so the one sleeping will be disturbed by the awake one. Thus the cot must be long enough to separate the 2 so that they don't kick each other in the same cot.

I brought the baby cot from baby kingdom during baby fair, which comes with free delivery and installation. You can request the cot to deliver nearer to your EDD and it's up to you whether you want to setup the baby cot before your delivery. For Chinese, there's this myth that if you setup the babycot before your EDD, your baby will come out earlier. We setup the babycot early and who knows one day after the babycot is setup, i delivered the twins. ;D

As for stroller, haha.. I brought the side by side twin stroller (Silvercross). It's quite heavy about 15kg but good thing is that its quite easy to setup and close. I hardly use the stroller because the twins don't like to sit in the stroller for too long. The funny thing is that they like the stroller to move on a bumpy road, if the road is very smooth, they will start making noise and want to be carry. So far I only use the stroller when we go to park for a walk. Hardly bring them to shopping mall because they are still quite young and I don't want to expose them to crowded areas. When we bring them out for vaccination, I would use sarong carrier because its so much easier than using stroller. My advise is that you don't really need to buy a twin stroller so early, maybe at later stage. Twin stroller is really not convenient if you are taking public transport.

We brought 2 car seats (Britax) for the twins at Taka baby fair. However, after putting the 2 car seats at the passenger seats, there is no space for an adult to sit in between. So if the babies cry when you are driving, you will feel stressful driving because you cannot see them (car seats have to be rearward facing) and cannot calm them too. What we did was to make sure they are fed full before putting them into the car seat. Generally they will fall asleep in the car (because the road is bumpy and got aircon). And again, they like bumpy road especially roads with hump.. hahaha.. they don't like traffic jam or too many traffic lights because the car is not moving.