Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Hi Jenn,

I have seen Prof. PC Wong few weeks back for opinions on my cysts condition.
To me he gave me an impression of serious, straight to the point and focus doctor. He also seems very busy to me. He asked me few questions did a brief v-scan and ask me to come back to scan again when my next AF reported and make another appointment with him after the scan.
Does Prof. PC Wong gives you a same impression too?

Hi Trustbaby,
Everyone scare of unknown, and especially there is no one to tell us whether our decision is right or wrong. I will choose to follow my heart when comes to this situation. From the conversation, I think you are still more comfortable with your current doctor. I think it is important to feel comfortable with your doctor. Anyway, I think you have already know how you want to proceed.

Hi Trustbaby,

Of cos I did. When I first met Prof Wong, he didn't really give me high hope, he was quite reluctant to do ivf for me, bcos my FSH was very high then. I even cried after seeing him. I was lost, I dunno what to do next. But after reading a few website on improving FSH, I went to TCM & slimming program, also took DHEA, finally managed to reduce my FSH. So when I saw him the 2nd time, he decided to give me and himself a chance.

I did my 1st ivf at TMC which failed. Then subsequently I read that the lab @ TMC is a bit old. I saw some people complaint that it cannot handle complicated issues. So I discussed with my hb, we think that my condition is not a straight forward kind, we need a more advance lab to handle. And I believe that NUH should have the most advance equipments among the govt hospitals.

Sometimes life is a gamble, such as marriage, you'll never know what will happen unless you try it. I am glad that my hb has always been very supportive, I won't be able to go so far without him.

Hi HeatherWhite,

Yup, he is quite stern & serious. I saw him scolded the trainee doctor at my 1st visit. He gave me the impression that he knows his stuff very well and no nonsense from him. He has 2 rooms, so he always busy walking from one to another, and he has a lot of patients too.

Trustbaby,
If you really feel more comfortable with Dr Loh, then just follow your feelings. I guess I am more KS, I want more opinions, that's why I went thru 5 gynaes.

hi heatherWhite and Jenn,

thanks for sharing your experiences. Its resourcesful and comforting. i m still seeking and hoping to find a good alternative before i consider to give up.

it is not that i m comfortable with dr loh. i hardly really see him so far twice in the private room when he study my reports and explain why i fail my fresh cycle and the rest were ET and ERs.
My impression of him is that he is a busy man. Mechanical treatment. Dont think he really knows who i m when he sees me down the hall. Just a hi and a bye. He probably thinking is she my patient? my thinking is that if i give another go with KKH which is ideal, i may subject to another mechanical protocol.

Since i hv experienced govt hosp, i want to know whether another govt hosp is the same. I know for sure if i m willing to pay more for private treatment, i may get wat i want. Again, nothing is guarantee even if i do pay more. You know that what we want is result and no where can give me the close assurance yet....and i m still searching.

My trouble on the back end is my hubby is not comfortable for me to go for 2nd cycle. there is a pulling back effect and there is a desire in me to try again. I dont know whether i m naive in thinking tt i still can despite my age and the risk i m subjected to. Is it worth the try?

Do you know much abt CARE? i heard that they specialises in treating fertility issues especially embryos development. they are costly...and i m considering.

does each ivf doctor has their own expert? eg, each govt has its own protocol diff from another govt hospitable. As for private, each doctor has its expert and focus. Any idea?

yes u r right, even marriage is a gamble. A huge one. Ppl change down the road.... Going with my heart is good after i hv gain enuf info on my options that best suit my needs to give a positive result. i m in dilemma still....

Hi Trustbaby,

I really dunno much abt CARE. Sorry couldn't help.
I think all hospitals have diff protocol. Are you still seeing Dr Zuo? You can ask her advice, she has so many patients from different doc & hospitals. She should be able to give more information.

Why is your hb not comfortable? izzi bcos of the side effect? Or bcos of money issue? If it's the side effect, you can opt to try a natural cycle, i.e. no drugs, do ER when you ovulate naturally. But there will only be 1 egg to fertilize. My friend did that, it's cheaper and no side effect.

hi jenn,

i was seeing her until ET. now she has gone to overseas for her son graduation.i may get in touch with her next year once i confirm my next cycle treatment.
he is not comfortable coz he doesnt think i cant conceive based on our past failures. Money is also an issue. He just think why cant we be just us. He believed i hv tried my best. Dont push it.

For me is to convince him that maybe another doc can do wonder and pin point to my prob and solve it. TT is why i feel i may hv a chance.

Hi Trustbaby,

oh i see. actually after my 1st ivf, I told my hb, I'll give myself 3 chances to do ivf. If god really doesn't think we should have kids, I will accept it after 3 tries.

why not give her a call after she comes back? if you decide to do with another doc, no need to wait until you confirm your next cycle treatment right?

Hi jenn,

good that u hv given yourself time line...why 3 times? may i ask.

do you consider FET a cycle or purely based on one full IVF cycle include fresh and FET?

good idea i may give her a call and see if she has any advice on my next treatment.

thanks for sharing your thots and ideas. i just need to find alternative treatment i shld be fine and full steam ahead.

when is your delivery date? did u sign up for prenatal classes in NUH?

Hi Trustbaby,

3 times is bcos we can only use our medisave for ivf 3 times and according to what govt said, usually after 3 times the success rate for ivf will deteriorate significantly.

No, I do not consider FET inside, FET cannot use medisave right?

I'm glad to help. I'll be due on 7 Apr, dunno will be early or not. I've signed up the antenatal class in NUH, will start in Jan.

Hi Jenn,

I din know after 3 times success rate will drop. Yes you can use medisave for FET. Just tt 2nd use of medisave allows u up to 5k claim. We will under utilized unless u won't do another Ivf cycle. Thus, I opt not to use. Just pay cash instead.

Time flies. So many will be popping in April. Rabbit baby! My fav animal.

Hi Trustbaby,

Probably the 3 times success rate is just an excuse for the govt not to allow us to use medisave. sometimes quite fed up, this is also our own money what.

Ya, not worth it to use on FET.

I'm starting to stock up baby stuff now. To save money, some of the things we get 2nd hand one. Anyway, baby outgrow very fast.

Hi Jenn,
Yes I agree our medisave is our "money". If we don't use at all worst. U can use to pay your enhance medishield insurance. I used it to pay my dad insurance.

Baby outgrow very fast. I agree. Take care of yourself n not exposed too much into crowded places. A lot of flu cases ard. I just recovered fr one.

What do you do now since you hv become a SAHM? Do U
plan to go bk to work after pg?

Hi Trustbaby,

Yes, I will go back to work after pg. I feel paisay that my boss allows me to take such long leave, better work there another year before thinking of changing.

I just went to the childcare center near my place, aiyo, they already full, I'm on their waiting list now.

Will be calling other childcare centers to check, but they are slightly further lor...

Hi jenn,

Ya man, nowadays whatever centre for kids are also fully book.
So kiasu the parents nowadays...makes u one of them eventually...

cant be helped...hearing it makes me wonder how to compete. there will always bound to be ppl earlier than u.

Hi Trustbaby,

Ya, should have register after 3 mths pg. The center near my place is so much more ex than other places, about $500 more leh... I guess it's bcos they are montessori... sigh... We are paying for convenience and hopefully better service and more professional lor... still waiting for them to call us back...

good morning ladies!

Ho Ho Ho! Merry Christmas! May all have a lovely Christmas this year. Next year this time, I hope all of us will be busy with our babies and can't truly celebrate Xmas! :p

Jenn, wow, time flies. Now you are already hunting for infant care. Maybe try to look for another centre as backup plan?

Merry Christmas!!!!! its been a long year for me. So much has happened. Yes next year will be a busy year again for all of us. Lets enjoy the remaining days ahead and start a new chapter.

Cheers to Good Health and Happiness

Dear ladies,

Merry X'mas and Happy New Year to all of you here.

dolphy,
I have registered with a few more childcare centres, hopefully can get one...

Ho folks, at first I tot got good news to share with all. However, my cramps came. I have never missed my menses before. Late for 7 days. I jus gt a feeling that the embryo cannot stick to our complicated walls. Hmmhmm quite upset now cos I really hate the cramps.

The good thing is I can go travelling again. Sad to say that I will prefer a baby than travelling.

Jenn: do u have severe cramps when u first discover that you are preggie huh? I tot my implantation bleeding happens after my missed period. Hmmhmm I m at a loss now. Strands of blood lines but not full flow. Been the third day liao. Today cramps more pain that why took leave tmrw to rest.

Trustbaby: what are u currently doin huh? I m also concern that after IVF, the embryo cannot stick leh. how k we get rid of the cramps? I hate them

Hi Sunbelle,

Hang it there, okay. Dont think otherwise. Think positive. Cramps can be good sign. If you missed period also good sign.

what day r u ah? maybe can test yourself using the test kit...at least if u know u r pg u can quickly go to early BT and get support, esp now u r spotting. U nvr know.

all the best.

Hi Trustbaby,

So happy to see your MSG. Yeah I have tested using the strip and negative. Been testing on and off for the past 7 days. Usually my menses very accurate one. This is the 1st time in my life that menses is late. Yeah is frustrating cos if menses come , I have to go do blood test at KKH. hmhhmm wished my cramps go away.

I really think that the sperm did meet the egg but din implant so cannot produce HCG. I am dilemma now cos I din dare to take painkillers. Brew Ginger with black sugar now. Hope dun need to go thru the pain forever.

Hi sunbelle,

Is this a SO IUI cycle?

Do give KKH a call and see if you can go there earlier for BT. Just to make sure and clear your doubt and ask if u can take the painkiller thereafter.

If you have heat pad that may help to ease the pain. Hang in there okay

Hi Trustbaby,

Nope is not SO-IUI. Mi thinking of goin for IVF soon. So they need to ask me to go for blood test on level of FH. And also a vaginal x Ray which can be uncomfortable. I guess for the sake of baby I m willing to go thru it.

Yeah did u go thru all these preparatory tests before goin thru IVF ? I felt sad that cannot give birth for my Hubby. All other aspects of my life are good. yeah life still goes on...

Hi sunbelle,
So this is your natural cycle?

Good thing tt u r going for Ivf soon. Chances are higher. blood test is a must. Go for it. There is a protocol for you go follow. So you will cruise thru. However I hope u can get pg now since your menses late. Pray hard.
u nvr know le.

I m not going to give up yet. Decided to see my dr first before decide next cause of action. One step at a time.

Hi Trustbaby,

I think my mense is here. Sumhow I know that the baby to be is fighting hard. Guess there might be some truth in the embyo sticking to the wall. yeah the pain is too great so I took the painkillers. I know that if is preggie, the cramps cannot be that intensive.

Did u do the vaginal x Ray huh? I am calling them up tmrw to book a date for the procedure itself.but I m wondering wat is the real reason for my delay in mense as I seldom
have delay in menses. Wish the cramps go away. I have seen TCM and also avoid kopi and cold stuff for a long time. How come not much improvement?

How is your experience with dr zuo huh? How we tell her we have adeyomosis huh?

Hi sunbelle,

I didn't feel any cramp at all when I first pg.
Hv u done BT yet? some pple may hv spotting even if they are pg. BT is the most accurate to confirm.

Dr zuo knows a bit of english, you can just tell her you hv adenomyosis.

You know when I heard my colleague is also pg, 3 mths with a twin... I was thinking some pple just can pg so easily, and I will feel very upset if I'm not pg now. I can understand how all of you feel, I went thru the same thing before. I just hope my bb is healthy and hope to see her in April.

Don't give up! Keep trying!

Hi Jenn,

yes i hope he can provide good prof. to me coz i seeked 2nd opinion and my prob is mainly due to my GH. it is near to zero due to my age. My ovarian reserve still good. So i need to improve on my GH. Hv u heard this problem before?
DHEA i just read more for DOR. My test result says my OR is good.

Can you tell me before you start ivf with NUH. Did they do any test on GH? I know KKH din do tt test for me.

Hi sunbelle,

i dont remember ever did vaginal x ray? i know vaginal ultrasound/scan.

As for Dr zou i only seen her since ivf and FET. I hv failed both so i hvt gone back since...on budget for now...

Hi Trustbaby,

I'm not sure whether NUH test for GH or not...

I just came back from my scan, bb still small... doc is concern... we are worried...

Hi Jenn,

Dont worry okay...just pray for the baby to grow. Pray every nite. I am doing it now everyday for my next ivf success. You shld be fine and meanwhile find out why.

Did doc say anything to make the baby grow? Maybe change of diet may help? or there may be bacteria so need medication?

As long as you know now, you find out more how to improve the situation. Dont stress... it will be worst okay. If your doctor is not aggressive enuf pls seek 2nd opinion to help the situation better. Sometime private will give u a quick fix and u can still go back to NUH. One of my fren is seeing both (govt and private) coz sometime govt is restricted thru its protocol and you certainly do not want this situation to affect u. Private will help you direct to the prob and u can continue to see the private again anytime. Rest well and dont stress okay.

Hi Trustbaby,

Thanks for the advice.

Doc says could be due to adenomyosis, my blood did not flow properly to the baby. My gynae has asked me to do some BT to check whether is there any infection.

bb small is not our major concern, we just want her to be normal...

Hi Jenn,

I understand. I din know adenomyosis can cause so much problem. I thot conceiving is hard enuf...

See how the BT result is and monitor closely. Hang in there okay.

Did u share with Dr Zou, does she have any advice?

Hi Jen,

No worries, baby usually grow super fast during the last two months. Yeah can eat more durians. They tend to make babies grow faster. Go for more frequent checkup.

Agree to get second opinion.

Mi going HSG soon. Ladies, can u all share what is the experience like huh?

Hi Trustbaby,

Yeah, adenomyosis is really a killer... Just went to see Dr Zou this afternoon, she said she got a patient worse, got a fibroid when she's pg, and it was also fighting nutrients with the bb, it even grew until 8cm. In the end, she had to take out the bb at her 7.5 mth, bb was only 1.9kg then. But now the bb is fine, no major problem.

She told me just be careful and eat as much as I can so that the nutrients will go to the bb. She has given me some med to pu & an tai. She said try to hold on until full term.

I will try my best to eat like a pig...

Hi sunbelle,

You will feel a little discomfort during HSG, I heard will also hv slight cramp after that, but I never experience it probably bcos mine is block.

Just relax will do.

I'll wait for the test results and see how...

<font color="0077aa">Hi Trustbaby,

Thanks. Doc said will call if results are no good, otherwise will just update during the next visit. Dunno should I call to ask... not sure can I wait for another 3 weeks...</font>

Hi Jenn,

If u think the result may be out soon. why not. they may hv them. Dont hv nvrmind at least u tried.

I will be going for my 2nd ivf again.

hi Jenn

how many months r u now and how heavy is ur bb ?During my 2nd pregnancy (twins),my gynae have been telling me tat my twin boy is v v small , even up till 7 months , my twin boy is still v small ( weighing only 1kg only )we were v worried at tat time but my gynae asked me to try tO carry till 38 weeks , in the end , i had c section at 38 weeks and my twin boy was only 1.5kg and the twin girl 3kg , but bcos he is a full term bb so his health was ok and only need to stay in NICU for 12 days to increase weight , no other tube was needed , in fact my gynae said he was struggling to come out from my womb .So my advise to u is that try to carry till full term if possible, if nt den at least 36 weeks , if e bb is full term but small , it is still ok , just like my boy , he is still v skinny now but he is so active and no problem w development , in fact he started talking at 12 months and started walking at 13 months .Just make sure u rest well and eat well can le , and talk to ur bb .

another thing to add , i went for 3d scan for my twins and the dr was able to noe how is the bb head grow , i rmb although my boy is small but his head was growing v well , even bigger den his fat mei mei so i recommend u to do a v detail scan , if the head grows well den u dun hv to be worry

Take care

Hi mummy,

Thanks for sharing...

I'm around 27 weeks. Gynae said normally bb shd weigh abt 1-1.2kg at this stage, but mine only 850g... her head is also slightly on the small side, but luckily still within the range.

I'm trying my best to eat as much as I can, I've gained abt 15kg so far... of cos will hope to carry my bb until full term if possible.

Hi Trustbaby,

Did Dr Loh give you any explanation?

When do you plan to start your 2nd ivf?
Hopefully this time can strike.

Hi Jenn,
Do you sleep often at home ? I heard sleeping more will help you conserve energy for your baby to grow better inside you. Try sleep more during daytime as well see if it helps for you. No harm since just gives effective rest to you.

Dr Loh, din say much until I asked why why n is it becoz of

this n that. He said I need to give another shot since I still hv good ovarian reserve at my age. The only thing contradicts me was when I asked 2nd opinion I was told I had v low growth hormone n tt is why my egg quality is low n affect implantation. Then when I asked him he said no coz I had 20 eggs at my age just tt fertilization is poor. No growth hormone issues. I m confuse a bit. Some how my hubby likes him n he is convinced. Thus, we decide to give it another go. I m not prepare to spend 20k on fertility unless guaranteed. Too obscene.

Hi Trustbaby,

I've been trying to sleep more, will take nap if possible. But dare not sleep too much in the day, cos it affects my sleep at night.

I guess at this point, you try to take more vitamins, hopefully it will help to improve the egg quality. Avoid tou fu, not gd for women's hormone, I heard.

Hi Jenn,

Ya sleep too much can affect at nite. If you sleep day n nite tt will be good. Furthermore when you pop where got time to sleep ah.

Yes now I m taking as much vit ie fruit stuff. Blueberries, strawberries n cherries. All the fresh berries. I heard need to eat overseas fruits. Good for me. Do u exercise? I m trying once every week. How do feel when embarking for the 2nd round? Is it easier?

How was your test result?

Hi Trustbaby &amp; Jenn

I've been more a silent reader of this thread now a days. Not veri convi to access internet at new work. Btw Jenn, I've send u PM, u saw it?

I starting ivf in 3-4mth time. Dr Fong put me on Lurcin now, in hope to shrink my 500cc womb size to 200-250cc.

Trustbaby, where u dng yr 2nd round? I still thinking if I shld do mine w Dr Fong or go to Dr Loh, Jenn's doc. The reason why I tot I shld go Dr Fong, tot I will be in better hands since it is pte. Silly tinking, I know. Such a sucker, yes I am! hahahahahahahha

I am trying very hard now to loose weight. I change white rice to organic brown rice, eat alot of veggies, fruits and fruits juices too. But still fat! Sigh....

I very excited and scare at the same time. Cos IVF is my last chance liao. Am hoping to be able to conceive thru jus 1 cycle and realli scare to find out that I will not be successful.

Has anyone tot of looking for a surrogate mom overseas?

Hi Hannah,

I truly understand your fear. I gone thru so much and i hv fear too but giving up is not an option now since i hv the momentum and means to still give another try. I m glad u taking a step forward n try ivf...chances is very high. How is dr zou u seeing her? hope she helps you well to tiao your body.

I know this treatment is all about mind over body. If you can conquer your mind, you will mostly succeed what u plan to do...

I m with Dr Loh. After i fail i was contemplating to change to private. But decided to give myself and himself another chance to do it again since we are trying to pinpoint the prob that i face. everyone is diff. Private is good depends on which doc i guess. i m not familiar with Dr Fong eventho i heard of him. In fact yes you are in better hand esp when you pg. Private tends to give extra and frequent flexible care. Unlike govt, diff...appt will take a long time and sometime no slot. But for ivf treatment is diff, there is protocol to follow so the nurses will be there to care for your needs. They are there for us. So far so good for me.

Dr loh is a very busy man. Once he send you to ivf treatment with the customised protocol for you, you basically talk to the nurse there on. You can email him if you hv any doubt so far i did he nvr answer but for others he did. i cant answer why and i din bother to ask him too.
I cant say much abt him yet coz i hv yet to conceive. But i m giving a go again as mentioned earlier...partly due to cost. Private cost can be quite horrendous for us i must say.

I will be put on lucrin too coz my protocol is a long one but yours seem long. a few months on lucrin? i din know it suppress the womb literally? i thot it this procedure with Lucrin is used "to prepare the woman for “in vitro”-fertilization. A woman’s own production of FSH and LH should be stopped before starting stimulation with synthetic FSH and LH from outside"

I dont hv weight issues, but i think Jenn can advise you on this since she mgd well in doing so.
Jenn, over to you
I was advised too eat fruits and organic stuffs...but i stick to fruits and normal eating as when i can. Eat as healthy as i can to keep my body fresh and good for conceiving. Exercise is another thing that we shld do..i only do once a week despite asked to do 3-4 times a week. We need to sweat off the toxic in our body.

When i first started with IVF i thot it is my last chance, and it is still is. I nvr thot of surrogacy. Spore doesnt hv, not allowed.
this will be my last try in ivf. i may postpone to March...since i m not ready in Jan due to some reason see how.

Hey we may do the ivf together in the same mth if i mgd to postpone.

Thks for sharing.

Hi Trustbaby,

I'm still waiting for the test result...

When I started my 2nd attempt in ivf, I was nervous and scared. But since this is my last resort, by hook or by crook, I will still go for it. I have promise to give myself 3 tries before I give up.

My 1st ivf was a long protocol, so Prof Wong decided to do a short protocol for my 2nd one. The drug is also slightly different. When I knew I only had 1 embryo fertilised, I was slightly disappointed. But still better than my previous attempt. Of cos my hard work paid off this time. I was very grateful.

Hi Hannah,

Err... didn't see your PM leh...

Anyway, my advice on losing weight is to skip carbohydrates. Do not eat rice, noodles, bee hoon, bread etc... Eat more meat and vegetables. My hb is trying to lose weight too, he has tried to skip carbo for lunch and dinner, had lost abt 1 kg in about a mth so far...

You can try to eat fish soup during lunch and eat western food without the potatoes for dinner. If you stick to this diet strictly, you'll sure see result in 1 mth's time.

Jia You!

Dear Trustbaby

I admire yr fighting spirit! I tink i kia see. Wan to try but scared will fail, dun noe how to deal w that kind of disappointment. Esp when I wanted my own child so much, the greater the expectation the harder the disappointment. You know what i mean? Ya, I am still seeing Dr Zou and she is giving me medicine to eat and to put on tummy. My womb have alot of blood clots, she is hoping by putting the medicine on the tummy will help dissolve the clots....I asked her how... She said like how our blue black will dissolve, being absorbed by the body. I din get it and still dun. But I tot since I at this stage, I dun loose anything by trying, dun try dun know.

You are w Dr Loh too, Jenn also w Dr Loh right? Or did I get mixed up? So at Dr Loh's u interact more w his nurses than him. But are his nurses any help? As in are they able to answer or help you when u needed clarification? It will be very unpleasant if we needed help/advise and cannot reach Dr and Nurses cannot help.

I think the reason why I am on Lucrin cos with Adenomyosis, the menses blood sip thru to other part of the womb thus causing it be hurt and swell. So long as no menses, there will be no back flow of blood and so no pain and no swelling of the womb. I tink this is the reason la. How many lucrin jabs are u suppose to take? Dr Fong was hoping after 3-4 jabs my womb wld shrink and can start ivf. I am into my 3 jab in Feb. So if all goes well, maybe you are right, we can start our cycle together. What is FSH and LH? I hv no idea... sorry i ignorant

I tinking of gng to sauna regularly to "steam" out the toxics in my body. Easier to sit and sweat than to exercise, i very lazy :)) i do exercise la, but not the cardio type. Walking and cycling most times, swim like 3 times a mth. Not enuf i guess.

Do i need to go for an "orientation" consultation w Dr Loh if I wan do ivf w him? A fren recommended Dr Yu Su Ling from SGH. She did her ivf there and strike on 1st try.

Thanks for reading and replying to me, Trustbaby.

Hannah

Dear Jenn

Ahhhh...u no received my PM. Hmmm i wonder where it went to..... Can eat western food? It's oily leh... cannot eat potatoes it's realli like cutting carbo off totally leh, so suffering leh, But for bigger pic, I guess I hv no choice but to forced myself to adapt to it. If not, i wil be wasting $$.

I guess I realli hv to put in the effort and loose weight since I already know being over weight can cause ivf failure.

Thanks for sharing and thanks for yr encouragement.

Hannah