Looking for Christian mums for sharing and support

happyfeet

kao_welcome.gif
Hi I believe there are many Christian mums out there. Would like you to share on Christian living and bringing up children, hubby-wife r/s, MIL r/s etc. To encourage each other in this imperfect world.

I am also a Christian. Where do you stay? I am staying in Yewtee. And which church you are attending?

Winnie, my son is 1.5 year old, currently taken care by nanny.

Happyfeet, how old is your child?

Hi Ladies, can I join? Not a christian yet but have been attending church services lately to find balance and spiritual healing.

My boy will be 3 yrs old next month.

Hi mums,

I'm a mother of 3 yr old boy. Been a Christian for 20+ yrs but feeling kinda down lately. Hope that thru this place, we can share encouragement for one another.

Just to share how important mums are to our kids - my church's last sunday sermon on 2nd Timothy, Paul wrote to Timothy says:

"I have been reminded of your sincere faith, which first lived in your grandmother Lois and in your mother Eunice and, I am persuaded, now lives in you also." 2 Timothy 1:5

What an impact a mother can have on her children that others can see!

Do you have any experience on teaching your kids about the bible? How do you do it? Do you have family devotion together? Care to share!

my husbd and i pray for my child when he was still in my womb and now we pray together as a family in the mornings and before our boy sleeps. got him a lot of bible books but he just flip and chew! haha, at least he seems to be enjoying them in his own way.

my boi is 10 month old and my hb and i bring him to church service. he's been quite good so far, as he is not very noisy at the manger. we will also include him when we say our prayers
my hb and i believe that he's a gift from God and we always tell him that. Tho' he's still very young to read, we bought him Christian children books and cloth books and read to him/ play with him.

We just brought him for a child dedication service on last Sun, dedicating him to the Lord.

Ladies, can share which church you are attending?

I thought of attending Church service with my son in CCK / Bukit Batok area. Any recommendation?

hi carebearland,
i bring my daughter (next week 3 yrs old) every sunday to Grace house church at bt batok west avenue 4, in front of driving range, they divided the class according to ages...(4th floor)

while me and hubby on 2nd/3 rd floor with other adult.. she's been there for 6 months now, and no need me accompanying her...
they taught her to sing and praise, pray and various activity plus gave her snack after service.. so we finish almost the same time..

hi hi, can i join in?

i have a 7yrs old gal n my no.2 is due in feb.
i am attending new creation church. my gal is with the children church under messiah kids.

i will say the children church has done a veri good job esp my gal is studying in a buddhist based primary school.

My son enjoys sunday school. But when we pray together at night, sometimes he's not very willing to do so. He'll roll around on bed and repeat after us, but we keep on reminding him that God is listening. I wonder if he understands what it's all about.

Hi, I had problems locating this thread.........glad that I found it back again.

Dorothy, I also attend the New Creation Church. Just about 2 weeks back, brought my son to children's ministry so that I can attend the 230pm service.

My son enjoys but doesn't like to join in the prayer's / singing session. At home, he listens to bible songs and sings these songs and sometimes even requested me to pray before we zz, but he'll always tell me he doesn't know how to pray............

Hi all! so glad to find this thread! can i join in? I'm also a Christian mum but sad to say, have not been doing very much except going to church every sunday. hope to have more family devotion time.

I have a 5 yr old girl who attends sunday sch and a 1 yr old boy. Due to the age of my son, my hubby and I sit in the cry room and i find that most of the time, i cannot pay attention to the sermon and end up talking to other mums.

We're staying in cck and attends Glory Presbyterian Church in upp bt timah.

hi IanAn,
dun know whether u rem me...
we usually attend 1st service...dun worry abt the part that he dun know how to pray... the ncc's children church is veri good... give him more times... soon he will come back n tell u bible stories....

Hi there may i join.

nice to hear from the christian moms out here. my boy is 32 mths . expecting my 2nd kid in early feb.
i'm trying very hard to get my boy to church on Sunday. Hoping to make it a "habit" for him. Hopefully as he socialise more, he'll enjoy going there more. Guess what he enjoys most now in church- snack time!

Hi Dorothy, I think I remember you :) Yeah, I used to attend the 1st service myself. But after I learnt of the recent arrangements, I now try to go to the 230pm service.

Happy New Year!

Hi mummies! So glad to know there are christian mums out there too! May I join? I have a 14 months old daughter and currently attending Grace AOG at Tanglin with my family.

Anyone joined a care group at your church? I am thinking of. Cos just by going church every week seems lacking. But I am hesistant as my girl is really active. So worried that I may end up babysitting her instead of fellowshiping or etc. That I might as well stay at home and do right? Headache.

Anyone who wants to transfer their maid (who can look after babies), pls. sms me urgently.I need one soonest. Tks. alot and God Bless. 91774200

hi mummies. stumble upon this thread and am glad. me a christian mummy too but have not been doing very much, not even attending church.

my son is 16 months old n i attend alive commmunity church at chinatown area.

no chance for family devotion time cos hb is non believer. but i strongly believe my son, Caleb, is GOD sent and GOD's promise. the name Caleb was by default.

now trying to make praying wif my son b4 he zz a routine as much as i can considering my heavy travelling schedule - writing while in KL now.

really looking for alot of support as i always feel lonely in this journey of faith but lucky i had my sister, BIL n nephew n niece to keep me going.

attending church is hard cos felt bad if i bring my son n hb will be deprived of the bonding time with Caleb. he only attends church service with us a couple of times n all times is very reluctantly.

hi ladies:

im new here.
and also a christian.

I will be giving birth on the 2nd of april. just a few weeks to go!!!

Hi Mothers

I am a Christian and m attending a church at Ang Mo Kio. Care to share any good playgroup, childcare or church school around Bishan or Ang Mo Kio ?

Hi All, I am also Christian for about 10 yrs liao. I am attending New Life Bibile-Presbyterian Church in Marsiling.
Switch to this church for about 2 yrs already. Previously with a reformed baptist church.

My gal is currently 1 yr old. Looking after by my mum. I encounter problems when it come to bibical teaching for my gal. My mum is a non believer and she disapprove our way of guiding in this aspect.
Eg. If my gal fell down and started crying, we will carry her started talking to her then say a short prayer for her and maybe tell her “Good gal, Lord Jesus is with you. Lord Jesue will take away the pain pain” this sort of words. But to my mum she think we are so odd, telling a baby all these.

Till now I still cant teach my gal how to say Grace for her meal . Cause each time I wanted to show her like what should she do (close her eye, bow her head), my mum will try to intervene.

HI Christian mommies wishing all God's tender care and empowering presence. I m currently worshipping at CEFC.
Mother to 2 girls, 7 and 3 yrs. Expecting BB no.3 in August.
If any of u ladies attend churches that run the Ezzos Christian parenting courses, highly recoommend everyone to attend.
Stormie omartian prayers for parents is also an invaluable tool. happy parenting.
Ang christian mommies in bt batok central / bt gombak?? Cheers MB

Hi Christian Mummies,

I don't know if u've this experience. That you find taking care of a newborn really a very trying experience, and testing your patience n endurance.

I've a infant of 1.5months.. she was very good in hospital the first week. however, upon returning to home, not withstanding an incompetent nanny, she cries so often that i almost gave up. in addition, she had 'nightmares', which i thot was the spiritual air tt she jerked n wakes up in tears...

my baby has a hot-tempered n impatient, she wants to be pacified immediately... it was very trying for me, as i had prayed to God for a happy n easy to care baby.. however, her temper plus her incessant crying really made me unspiritual at many times, and questioning God in giving me a difficult baby to care while most of my frens children r easy to care for..

*sigh*.. still trying to get used to this... esp when i was a free-spirited n indept b4 this.. so much so that now i felt caged n imprisoned to motherhood.. what's more challenging is that i can't tahan crying babies..

Anyone has to share on how she overcomes the toughest moments in taking care of thier infants?

Cheeres!

Mrs Yoong
Motherhood will definitely make you a better person.
A challenging child gives you an opportunity to make you a better parent.
My gal is extremely demanding, requesting a lot of patience and patience.
And yet each time, I thank God for HIS wisdom and peace HE has been giving to me.

I am the only caregiver to her.
Hence it makes me feel helpless especially I am alone with her most of the time.
When I really cannot tahan her, I will go to the living room, take a short break for 3-5mins before I attend to her again.

Newborn babies are trying to adapt to the new environent n sleeping pattern.
Perhaps when bb is sleeping, you also try to catch some nap.
So that when she is awake middle of the night, you would have enough energy and patience to attend to her.
Insufficient sleep will definitely makes you lose your temper easily.

Sooner and later, you will get used/ and able to identify her crying needs.

Mrs Yoong

Babies cry as a way for them to release their emotions and needs. This will improve over time. All babies will jerk in the first few mths. That's why u use a small beadbag on chest to prevent them from jerking. It is normal for baby to demand attention when they cry, it is also only right to give them immediate comfort as it will deem to be security and love to them.

It is never easy to be a mother, especially if you have a crying baby. Like what Celestine suggests, take a break or ask someone else to take over a while. We are human and have emotions, it's important to calm yourself first before handling the baby. Know that baby crys is not because of you. As a mother, we can only give them our love and comfort. The rest we can trust God to help us.

I have 2 girls, the younger one is 14mths now. The first 3 mths is never easy, having to deal with crying and breastfeeding. That's why a good help is important, my hubby has been a great help and support. Whenever I feel frustrated, I will take a break. Get myself calm before dealing with the infant.

Most important here is to remember that God loves you. He will never give you anything less, especially He has given you His Son Jesus. Always know that even how "unspiritual" you can be, He will stand by you and love you unconditionally. Talk to God and seek His peace, He will give you rest.

Nevertheless, talk to someone when you feel the frustration, and ask for help when you need. All mothers go through this.

OMG Geraldine, you're from New Life BP? I'm also from New Life! Are you from the Chinese service or the English service? ^^

I'm also a Christian but Hb's a Catholic so we attend a Catholic Mass instead. I really miss going to Church! SOmehow attending a Catholic Mass is different! But usually I'll just pray at home. Teaching my ger to pray. She loves listening to bible stories and only know how to do the "In the name of the Father, Son & Holy Spirit" sign.

My ger 22mths is also very demanding! Plus her temper is not very gd... she will throw tantrums and all but have to be really patient, tell her countless of times and at times have to threaten her then she will calm down n listen!

Ylc
Oh ya, attending a Catholic Mass is so different!
Do you bring your gal to nursery church as well?

CG,

nope, i dun think they have that for toddlers that age. SO we all attend mass together as a family. However, she is always running all ard.

I know NCC has that... quite impressed!

hello mommies,

me christian too.. have a 7mth old boy and another one coming in dec..

nice meeting you all..

hope to share/encourange each other during good/bad times..

Hi all, I am a Christian mom with 2 teenage kids. Reason why I am on this site for young moms is that I want to share some very valuable tips (hard knock lessons)on parenting. I also welcome any biblical sharing on managing teen conflicts.

The #1 tip is Try not to say to a little girl "What a pretty girl you are". It places emphasis on wrong values - beauty over character. The result can be very very very damaging in their teenage years.

Those who want to know more please write to me.

Hi there ladies!

Haven't been on this forum for a long time... but anyway...

Christian SAHM here, with 3 kids... still trying for #4, but nowhere to be seen... my kiddies are 8, 6+ and 3+ right now. Started staying home beginning of 2007, previously was a teacher.

Thank God for the opportunity to stay at home, cos we managed to confirm my daughter's dyslexia very early on, and get her on intervention classes, so now, she is coping very well in p1, despite being dyslexic. Now I'm doing her intervention myself lah... very expensive, sending her for classes... wah, 1 hr $140. One month, thousand over bucks. Can die.

Anyway, I read a lot of james dobson when the kids were young, "dare to discipline' is a very good book. If your kids are still young, can implement, makes for easier kids to handle as they are growing up. They are not perfect, but they are not the "monsters" I routinely see in shopping centres and public places... and sadly, even in church.

God bless!

Hi dorie,

I am a teacher who just returned to work in Term 3. I have a seven-month-old boy. Actually I took NPL to care for him but I sank into depression. In fact till now I'm still lost in this new role I'm playing -motherhood.

I realise that my professional life suffers.. Right now I'm praying to God to show me His direction for me.. I don't know if I should look after my son on my own..

Hi Phy,

Sorry to hear that you're struggling. It's very tough, being a teacher and a new mother at the same time... and harder without support.

My best advice is probably, don't try to go it alone... try to make sure you have help when you need it. Better than gung ho, then get more depressed. I am quite a logical person by nature, but even I succumbed to some depression when I had my first child... he was super colicky... so very tiring to go to work after being up all night with him and so on, dunno how to comfort him, dunno how to deal with it all in my tiredness. Like you, I took NPL, went back to work when he was 6mo... but I told myself I had to look after my sanity... so I let some things at work slide... admin stuff... but got into trouble, so ranking also slide and dropped. Even more depressing... but at that time, no money, cannot stop... so just continue. I told myself, my sanity is most important, cos my child needs a sane mother, so I prioritised and didn't bother about ranking. As long as don't get E grade...

I hope this little bit of sharing helps. If you need more personal help... more personal advice, you can PM me... and we can email each other, OK?

God bless...

Dear mummies

Glad to have found this thread on Christian mummies! I am glad and thank God that my company has allowed me to take a 3 mths no-pay leave, so that I could take time off to settle my daughter into childcare gradually. However, in the midst of these 3 mths, I also would like to explore other options such as being a stay at home mum. I am unsure what will be my decision currently.

Can any mummies advise me whether there are any verses or Christian books that will help us to decide and narrow down on our choices to take care of our children the best ways possible?

I just gave birth to a baby girl and she's about 2 weeks plus old now. I have to say that taking care of newborn babies are really tough, eventhough i have my confinement lady's help but it's still a very daunting task. Especially when i'm trying to breastfeed as much as i can. I'm currently mixing with formula as i do not have the energy to wake up in the middle of the night to breastfeed.My girl is jsut so active, she's awake more than asleep!sometimes she's just crying for milk every hour which makes me really stressed...afraid i dont have much breast milk for her. I was quite sure that i wanted to quit my job and take care of baby full time...but now i'm actually considering to work instead. Cos taking care of her full time is really tough especially i'll be doing it all by myself. I know i really got to pray very hard about this...as i'm still unsure. But most of my friends who take care of the baby themselves,they say i'll never regret if only i'm willing to take the challenge...any advise from SAHM??

hi madeleine
dont worry too much, sooner your child will be able to sleep through the night. I did almost same as u , feeding my first son formula at night, so he could be full so he wont wake up so often for feeding. Breastfeeding normally we cant see how much the baby takes, therefore resulting in regular feed.

always remember God is our strength, and ask for His wisdom while u parent your child. It helps alot.

Hi Madeline
My gal is coming 26mths old, and I am still breastfeeding her. I have no helper/confinement lady. Yes it is tough, especially my husband comes back home after 930pm daily. But each time when I feel frustrated, instead of thinking negatively, I thank God for the blessings to let me be a SAHM. To be able to watch her grow up each single day is priceless!

thanks for the encouragement....somehow i do know what i shd do...just that when going thru it is quite tough...i always remind myself that the joy of the lord is my strength...

is there any playgroup that is appropriate for 2 or 3 months baby? try to check out the websites but i think mostly are 18mths and above...

Hi madeline:

don't worry you're not alone, i think every mom has gone through the stage of stress, tiredness, sleepless nights and frustration especially during the first three months. During that time I was so tempted to send my little boy (who is now 4 months old) to my parents because of the stress, but thank God I didnt.

when i feel so tired, i remind myself that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I also really prayed to find joy in taking care of my baby eventhough I feel so tired and stressed.

Same here, im also looking for playgroup for 2-5 months babies. At least as early as now, my baby has some friends to play with and for myself, a support group.

Hope somebody will start here in our christian support group.

I am also a christian and would really like be frens with you people.

Currently my baby is seven months and I have been spending 7 gd months bonding with him. I have a maid and a mil helping to care for my son.
I have loads of clashes with mil of late and I am getting really drained up. Hence, I decided to go back to the work force full time to minimise such quareel. I never knew mil could be so hard to get along till my son came along. Any of you have suc problem?

Am pretty worried cos its my sil has a child in the future, I am sure mil will be gtg over to care for hers and my kids will be left with the maid I guess. I mean in future... wonder what can be done. My son is now 7 months and we plan to have a 2nd child guess in another 2 years time. Wondering what good options in mil will not be caring for my kids anymore. Would it be a good idea to leave two kids with bb sitter or with maid? Like one with maid and one with bb sitter given that I will be working huh? As I guess we cant be depending on mil for long too?

Personally I prefer two kids with bb sitter and maid be left to do house work b4 picking them up at night? Maybe once they are older leaving with maid alone should be ok right? For me, I definately want to have a chritain nanny or christian child care. Heard child care for older kids more fesible cos they immunity is stronger liao and hence they can learn be more independant too.

Any of you have such similar problem as mine. due to clashes with mil, we really need find alternatives esp if we are going back to work for good.

I am supportive of a christian support group too as sometimes even christian mummies feel so dry and we just neeed a little encouragment from felow christain mummies here

I am staying in sembawang.. hence cool to meet up mummies around this area too..
I tried being a SAHM but I kinda of feel so hard esp I got a mil and maid now so the care is more than sufficient and I am sure many of you know that mil staying with us really sounds not easy... and eventually hubby also suffer cos one mum one wife.. aiyah.. thats why I really prefer going back work though I miss my son really much.

Just some sharings here..

http://eliaswong.blogspot.com/

Enjoy my boy's blog .. loads and loads about him

hi fern:

what a dilemma u have there with ur mil... i pray that all will be smoothen out soon.

btw, i checked out ur blog. u have an adorable baby.

Hi mummies:

i will be going back to work next month after being a SAHM for 5 months. maid will be taking care of our baby.

i've been breastfeeding my baby and plans to continue even i go back to work... Any tips from working mummies out there who breastfed their babies? I am totally blah what to do...

Is it normal that baby keep falling asleep while breastfeeding? My baby always stop sucking and fell asleep after about 10mins feed. I dont even have chance to feed her with the other breast.And she'll not sleep long.Half hr to one hr later she'll start crying for milk again.That's really driving me nuts!I feel as though she's latching on me all the time!You think it's because she's too used to bottles?Cos bottles usually finish up by 10 to 15mins...any advise?

Hi Madeleine

I had the same experience with my first daughter. She was premie and was sleepy most times when feeding. I tried all kinds of method, like stroking her awake. She is the kind who will feed often as she doesn't take much at one go. All the theories in the books fly out of the window. If you want to persist at breast feeding, you need to accept that as a fact, otherwise, alot of self-doubt and anger which I think was unnecessary on hind sight.