Hi Vanilla pod 2
Thanks. I’m drinking fresh milk and ensure milk everyday. I didn’t take egg whites during my previous cycle, now I’m trying every possible way to maximise my chances of getting pregnant again…

Hi Nancy
Think it’s not too late to do acupuncture (u can call to check?). As I’m not working, I usually go in the afternoon, there is no q..U can call Dr Zou to make appointment. Dr Zou’s medicine come in satchets just pour in hot water, stir for a while and drink it while it’s warm…

Hi Nancy,

I went to see Dr Zou when I was in my 2nd day of Lucrin and now I am seeing her twice a week for acupunture(Thur & Sun)and was told to do daily the week b4 ER, so think is still not too late to start acupunture and believe it do help a little in strenghtening our womb.
This morning went clinic for my 1st scanning and very sad there's only 3 eggs on my left and 2 eggs on my right. not growing much, was told to double up my Menogon dosages to 150IU

Most scary issued is that starting today i got to do 3 jabs per day (Lucrin, Gonal-F and Menogon) and sad to see so many needles holes around my tummy. Told the clinic nurse that now i can be a prof. nurse too doing injection for ppl ... ha ha

noi,

Sorry to hear your lost. All the best and good luck to you and all the ladies here in their IVF.
This is my 2nd try as while and try to take it as easy as possible.
I was told to take Folic acid (Vit D) & Baby Aspirin daily and vitamine C, E also, think these are the vitamine that require in order to have good eggs. check with your gynae if is ok for you to take also. take care

Hi oink oink
Thanks for your wishes, I also wish u success in your IVF! Just wondering, how come u need 3 jabs everyday?
As for the vitamins u had mention, last time my doc didn’t comment. okie, I’ll check with him next week when I see him.

Noi/ oink oink

Thanks for the info. I will call the clinic to check it out. I used to see one chinese doc at beijing tong ren tang . They will boil the herbs for u and pack in liquid pack. It's a bit steep abt $100 each session for 7 day medication. She is not familiar with IVF procedure so i will consult Dr Zou since many IVF ladies here see him.

I am waiting for my menses to arrive and make appt with dr cheng. I was reading this book written by a chinese gynae based in US. She said combined acu and tcm with IVF can increase up to 60per cent. I am not sure if i should start with TCM for 3 months then start IVF or start in march as planned. I am all stressed up

my hubby leaves all decisions to me. sometimes it seems that i am doing this all alone, he just need to produce sperm the last process. so easy for them. He has poor motility and morphology . Pretty severe male factor but i read that ivf will process the sample like IUI and improve quality. Thanks for sharing, ladies. I really appreciate as no family members knows abt us trying IVF yet. Sigh

I've ttc for many years but in vain and few months ago, my body, my skin became sensitive...started to itch and I've seen TCM as well as skin specialist but nothing work...has anyone of you any advise for me...I will be doing FET in June so I really hope to recover quickly....HELP : (

Hi Nancy
Acupuncture n tcm needs about 3 mths a cycle to see improvement. U can check with Dr Zou regarding this, she is a experience sinseh with IVF. As for husband problem, my husband are taking dong chong cao n vits e to improve his sperm quality. For IVF, think the embroyologist will choose the sperm that are swimming, I don’t think they will process the sample (like sperm washing process). My husband volunteered to jab for me as he is willing to understand and hope to be on the same path with me (his understanding is very important to me!)Wishing u all the best!

Hi Rose
How are you? Hang on there...All the best n good luck to your beta test tmr! JIA YOU!

Hi Noi

Vanilla Pod answered your qn on when to take.

You can buy Spirulina from health food stores. I got mine fr Nature's farm. I am now 24.5 weeks.

jo

Jenn, Nancy
Cool. but which stage are each of you at now? I should be doing egg collection this sun or mon.

Nancy
understand how you feel. my hubby also quite insensitive at times.

I got a number of follicles but only abt 10 are of the correct size. is that ok? now a bit worried abt the quality since so few dunno whether got good ones or not. Another question will they do the ET this month? or got to wait for another month then do FET? a bit confuse. the doc say might do this month but the nurse say must wait for another 2 mths for my body to settle down. erm....

Thanks Noi.
Wishing you the best too.
Not sure I made it this time. No symptoms at all. No nausea as well. I guess just hope for the best. If it does not work out, I will have try again.

hi ML, yes u will be sedated... not a strong one like the surgery type.. but u will sleep thru the whole thing....

ET then there will no sedation...so u can actually see what is happ...

Good luck & all the best...

hi ML, u shld be able to do ET 3 days after ER unless there is some things that the doc is not happy - like womb lining, u having OHSS...

Check with ur gynae on ur next visit....

Thanks vanilla! kinda of gan cheong. still lost as the decision to go IVF was only made this mon... haiz... stress!!!

Hi ML..no worries..I am on IVF journey right from the start and there are times I also rather anxious abt alot of things... it is indeed a tiring process and journey...after ET u will rest a couple of hrs in the hospital...after ER if u are in KK..u will be allowed to go home after 30mins rest..other hospitals practised a couple of hours.

Hi ttc5yrs...maybe u want to try aloe vera gel..u can get the tube form from Nature Farm's and they are rather soothing.

ML
Hope ur egg collection will go well on Monday. relax and good news will arrive soon
I am waiting fot my period to come and start the process

Noi
I have made appt to see dr zou tomorrow. Will ask her if i need to put off my ivf plan or go ahead when period comes. Thanks again for the recommendation

Jenn
yes, we will encourage each other along the way. baby dust to all ivf ladies

Hi Noi,

Actually I am not very sure why menogon is needed but I believe could be due to my age and so this medicine help to stimulate the process of the eggs ba.
I was told that if the eggs still don't grow well, she might need to pre-long my injection and ER (12/03) will be postpone to another date and due to linning issue, ET will also be postpone to following month. sigh..sigh..sigh..

Hi Nancy,
My hubby also have this sperm problem issue, Gynae advise him to take Vatamine C, E (1000mg each per day) Immuvital (2 capsules) Immunocal (1 pak per day) and drink fresh coconut per day, the reason for drinking coconut is bcos Man body can not take heat, if too heaty it will kills their sperm and woman body can not take "Liang" so try cut down on fruits like pear and cold drink.. after taking all these stuffs it do show some improvement in his sperm quality. All the best

Thanks vanilla! ok. will check with my doc tomorrow. i have PCOS. so how will i know if i have OHSS or not? heard from the nurse that it is ohss when there are abt 30 follicles...

So btw, are 10 follicles enough?

Hi ML...for me i had like 20 follicles and was stuck with OHSS which was a very difficult experience.

Dont worry abt the no of follicles...what matters is the grade and the fertilisation rate and of course the all impt implantation process.

vanilla
oh dear.. poor thing. i heard that it is quite painful and uncomfortable. Btw, which stage are you at now?

erm.. i actually have around 30 follicles. but only 10 are of the correct size. ya ya... hoping for the best now!!! :p

Nancy
I also seeing her at lunch time tomorrow.

Hi ML...u should check with ur gynae abt ur chances on getting OHSS. This is becos even though 10 are of correct size now, the other 20 will also continue to grow even afer u stop ur Gonal F or Puregon cos the medicine is already in ur system, increasing ur OHSS chances. It is really a horrible thing. Pls check with him/her.

I am currently going into my 7ww...but things are still not confirmed. Waiting for my scan this sat.

All the best to u...

Vanilla
oic. All the best to you!!! Hope you have good news on Sat. Rest well. I'm sure things will turn out fine.

Thanks for all the advice given. will check with the dr tomorrow.

Hi Budderball,
if on ER date they see u have OHSS or potentially will have OHSS soon, then they take the eggs and then fertilised and freeze them. So you will do a frozen cycle instead of a fresh.
The whole IVF process will not be cancelled...unless during the puregon, gonal F injection stage u have OHSS then I think it could be cancelled. That i cannot confirm cos I only got my ohss after ER.

Hi Nancy

The nurses are really helpful and friendly. They always make u feel secure. So don't worry, if u have any queries, just call them.

Rose
Bring us good news. Good luck. Baby dust to u and all ladies about to embark the IVF journey.

Nancy/ ML
I’m also seeing Dr Zou tmr.

ML
All the best to your ER on sun..

Vanilla
All the best to your scanning this sat.

oink oink
thanks for the info. my hubby dislike pills. i can do all the injections and all and he refuse to take few pills. sigh. can only fo my best for my part. somethings not my control. wsih my hubby as supportive as yours

babywishing
what exercise can i do during the process? swimming or running?

to all
I need to take no pay leave from the company. can ladies advise me how many weeks to take including the 2ww? the very first month to start with birth conrol pills , do i need to rest at home?Thanks for the info. i need to apply for leave soon . thanks

hi nancy,
taking leave has been quite a issue for me if i were to embark on ivf. just wondering if you are applying for unpaid leave as at the same time as you start your first lucrin jab? when are you starting your very first jab? please share...

Hi Budderball...there is no way to prevent or avoid OHSS.. it is one's body reaction to it. The doc could tune the dosage of Gonal F / Puregon down, but the downside is that u might get lesser follicles. anyway, the chances of OHSS is rather low - 3 to 5% amongst IVF patients. So dun worry.

Hi Noi - thanks!

Hi Nancy - technically u need not take leave during the injection stage, the critical time to stay at home is after ET - which is the usual 2ww. Unless u get complications u need not take more than 2ww leave.

Hi Vanilla,
When taking Puregon jab, how often do we need to go for scan to check for grow of follicles. To prevent colleauge from asking, why am i constantly taking 1/2 day leave, i am planning to take a few days leave in a row if the scanning dates are close.

How do u ladies settle your meals during the 2ww at home?
Can do household chores, cooking?
I'll be alone at home during the 2ww, so was thinking whether to go out "ta bao" or to do own cooking. as the nearest food outlet is abt 10min walk so dunno whether is it advisable to go out and eat.

hi nancy

Once u start the Gonal F injection, u will feel fatigue. If that is the case, u should cut down on exercise. Brisk walking or slow jog should be ok. Listen to your body, if u are tired, u should rest and stop all excercise. I remember during my 1st try, once i start the injection, i cut down on my exercise regime. Did brisk walking and slow jog if i'm not too tired.
Natural FET is different, because no stimulation injections are given, so i can exercise right up till the day i did my transfer.
For me, i normally jog 4 to 5 times per week and each time abt 4km to 5km. But once i start on the jabs, i stopped all vigorous exercise.

Hi Budderball -- for me i had 3 scans - once on 7 Jan, the other was 10 Jan and last on on 12 Jan.
I think it all depends on how well u are responding to Puregon. If u are responding well...u might just need 2 scans and the doc can ascertain ur egg pickup date.

Hi Jazz - I am v fortune to have my MIL doing everything for me during my 5ww leave. It is not very advisable to move too much especially the first 3 days as it is the implantation time. So try to get ur hubby to buy food for u during lunchtime or dinner. But during 2ww...better dont do any household chores...if u cannot tahan a dirty house maybe u try to hire a part time maid and get her to do the general cleaning and ironing.

Hi Shazzer - how are u?

Hi ML/nancy,

Today is my CD2, so going to do FSH blood test this afternoon. nervous leh, my 1st time. hopefully my FSH is low enough to proceed ivf.

Hi Budderball
When starting the Puregon/ Gonal F jab, we need to go to the hospital for scanning 2 to 3 times a week depending on the grow of the follicles..

Hi Jazz
During my previous cycle, I went to my mom’s hse to stay for almost 3 weeks, she cooked for me. It’s not advisable to do household chores, no carry heavy things..If it’s convenience for u n your mom, why not u stay at your mom’s hse so that she can take care of u and cook homecook food..

Hi vanilla pod,
I'm good thanks! Currently doing acu & tcm to prepare for my FET cycle in May /June. Good luck for your scan tomorrow. Remember to stay positive!

Thanks ladies.
my mum wasn't aware tt i'm going for ivf, she's got high blood pressure n was very upset when i m/c last yr.

is it ok to take fast food (Mc donalds / KFC / Pizza hut) during the 2ww? if ok, i can call for delivery n solve my problem. just worried not enough nutrient.

Any advise?

noi
thanks! will be doing ER on mon. won't be doing transfer this cycle. got to wait for another 2 months plus. so should be doing FET in may if nothing goes wrong...

haiz.. disappointed leh... But my doc says must let my system rest for a while. Will check with him on thurs to see if it's May.

Nancy/Noi
me just finish seeing dr zou.

Jazz
erm.. can try to cook something simple? ask your hubby to prepare the stuff for you? If not,tingkat is better. Firstly, fast food does not contain enougn nutrients and there is also a study which shows that pregnant mums who take a lot of fast food during pregnancy have a higher incidence of kids with behavioural problems.

Jenn
good luck! how come need to take FSH leh? thought FSH too high is no good? Anyway, GOOD LUCK!!!

Anyway hope that all of us succeed soon!!! Really can't wait to be mum.