@ hopeful13, thanks for the TCM advise on DR Que. Is Dr Tan Kian Sing medicine brew type or ready powder type? How much avg to pay a month for both hubby and you? Previously, we went to a TCM from Yu ren sheng but it got the hubby results worse instead, so we stopped..
so will a bit more careful on selecting another TCM cos money also not much as TCM also not cheap..

Babydust to you for your this cycle, shun shun li li!

@ faithfully yours, how much is Dr Que's consultation? I understand he can give convenient packet medication. Do you know is he good at improving male SA and morphalogy besides treating womans conditions?

Also considering TSB but understand she is quite ex though cheaper than Yu ren sheng..
@connie_hopeful.. u oso previously went Eu Yan Sang ar?.. very expensive right?.. i tried thrice than cannot take it liao.. each time per person close to $300 per visit.. and my hubby too.. take the med liao SA drop!!!!!..

@rachel, yup seen dr zxm n sa results come out worse, .super ex too. did yr hubby morphalogy improved after seeing tsb? or only can improve e count?my hubby swimmer also is of low grade beside low count. so pretty worrying..

i faithfully tried yrs for 3mths, but e sa deteriorates to veri bad, so we stopped.yup,rachel super ex of $300 for 2wks medicine..so maybi cos our case is super bad ..i saw online got pp successfully conceived with her also

thanks @faithfullyyours. understand will ask dr tan when will be the next slot avail when i see him.
just curious, anyone knows wat determines a long or short protocol?

@jklim4642 - envy you that you get to be under dr loh, read so much abt him but due to cost, cant afford to do ivf with him at private rate, somemore dunno how many cycles got to go thru. if the wait wif kkh really 6mths n i decide to go to dr loh instead, do u think they'll take all the tests we have done? or need to repeat?

Need some help...

For wolf berries and red dates drink. Can i just put some of them in mug and pour hot water den wait a while and drink or do i need to boil it? Do i need to eat the red dates too? How about the wolf berries eat or throw.

And for red bean soup, need to soak and let the red bean break first before boiling? Coz i just boil it but around 45 minutes the red beans is still so hard.

I bought a thermal flask and just put red dates and wolf berries into the flask and pour boiling water into it. Some say buy red dates without seeds, it's not so heaty but I drank with the ones with seeds.

Dr que herbs smell nice taste bitter hor. Me n hubby taking too. He never comment whether I improve or not le
@mesara you can ask dr que if he doesn't tell you. Every 3 to 4 weeks I will ask him if there is improvement. I have not been ovulating since mid of last yr but after taking his med since end jan this yr, I am ovulating again. But I don't know if it's due to his med or dhea, and I'm also taking lots of other supplements together, so don't really know which one is helping... lol

Iamabbdreamer, kkh wun ask u to retest. Just bring the reports over.

Sf loh is always my fav dr. I was warded in tmc coz i had spotting on wk 36, he was in KL. He came bk that night to see me n decided to induce me. In case, history repeat itself again like my elder daughter case where i lost her.

When my 2nd daughter was warded in nicu shortly after birth, i requested him to visit her and see how she was and his views. I trusted him more than the tmc pd. HE really did after his clinic closed and came to see me in my ward thereafter to talk to me.

Now he is in tmc, he knew i went to dr tan hh in kkh to do FET early this yr. I consulted him via email n he still responded n offered me his views for free!

HE nv turn me away no matter how biz he is.. even when he was on holidays, he will respond. He is really a dedicated dr and understands our worries.

@ faithfully yours, thanks for your reply! Its very appreciative on the food to take etc, cos reali lost as I think its like walking alone in this journey as we do not intend to tell our friends or parents as worried it will create more stress to the already stressful procedure. The trigger jab will be advised is it 3 to 4 days before ER? or is it only zhun zhun 2 days(36 hrs) before ER than we will know when to come down for the jab?

All the best to you and may all the good blessings be with you.

Thanks for the well wishes! :)

The trigger jab is advised based on the sizes and the growth rate of your follicles. You can say about 3-4 days before ER, you will know. After trigger jab, ER must be done after 36 hours.

@faithfully yrs, i think i type yr tcm wrongly, its dr zou and not dr que. i am confused liao lol

Dr Zou's acupuncture is $30/session. Powdered medicine is about $3-4/sachet. I've seen male patients there too but I really don't know if it helps.

I was first with Dr TSB after recommendation from my friend who was going through IVF then. I went to her twice. I personally don't click with her somehow and I find her medicine concoction is very time consuming. So I went to Dr ZYM. I find her friendlier and more approachable and I think she really cares for her patients lots.

Just a bit more info about Dr Zou. She used to be a western gynae specialising in IVF in China but when she came to Singapore, her certification was not recognised. So she went to study TCM to be a certified TCM doctor. Her knowledge on IVF is very good! She even knows every doctor's (Dr Tan HH, Dr S, Dr Loh) style.

Hi Connie hopeful, did seeing dr tan kian Seng improve yr hb sperm quality? My hb seeing him for 3 mths oredi. Gg for a review soon...

@rachel, yup seen dr zxm n sa results come out worse, .super ex too. did yr hubby morphalogy improved after seeing tsb? or only can improve e count?my hubby swimmer also is of low grade beside low count. so pretty worrying..
my hubby's overall results improved after seeing TSB wor.. for hubby.. she oso treated his sinus issue..

i faithfully tried yrs for 3mths, but e sa deteriorates to veri bad, so we stopped.yup,rachel super ex of $300 for 2wks medicine..so maybi cos our case is super bad ..i saw online got pp successfully conceived with her also
ya.. EYS we oso tried 3 months.. how to tahan the pricing.. can die lor.. and ar.. after we see.. hubby's SA worsen.. originally 11mil see liao bcome 4mil.. den change to TSB now up 1.5 mil.. at least now moderate low at 5.5mil.. btr den EYS time.. 4mil.. is no good at all..

thanks @faithfullyyours. understand will ask dr tan when will be the next slot avail when i see him.

@jklim4642 - envy you that you get to be under dr loh, read so much abt him but due to cost, cant afford to do ivf with him at private rate, somemore dunno how many cycles got to go thru. if the wait wif kkh really 6mths n i decide to go to dr loh instead, do u think they'll take all the tests we have done? or need to repeat?
@iamababydreamer.. if you're under 40yo den should utilise the govt's co-pay benefits for singaporeans.. if abv 40yo u can use your medisave if see dr loh.. :)

@rachelt and @connie_hopeful I also saw dr zxm of EYS before 1st cycle & it's way too expensive especially the acupuncture. Dr zxm also don't tell me much unless I ask. She also said for my condition no use doing acu before ER. So l didn't do lor. After I failed the 1st cycle I went to dr zou & dr que, both said they don't understand why dr zxm said that.

I was w xia rong, a fertility gynae w eys paragon for at least a yr. Stopped completely n did ivf. N got pregnant 3x but only one live birth without any tcm help.

Your age, body condition, any failed cycle before are some of the determinants what doctor will recommend.

My friend who is a year my senior was on short protocol and it was her first IVF. She had an ectopic pregnancy conceived naturally. She had an operation to remove one of her Fallopian tubes. After trying for another year, she still couldn't conceive naturally, so she went for IVF. she was under Dr TSB for TCM. After ER, she had OHSS, so she didn't do a fresh ET. She did he FET instead after OHSS recovered. She BFP on her first FET.

For me, Dr Tan recommended long protocol because I have spotting that lasts for a week before AF every month.

@rachelt and @connie_hopeful I also saw dr zxm of EYS before 1st cycle & it's way too expensive especially the acupuncture. Dr zxm also don't tell me much unless I ask. She also said for my condition no use doing acu before ER. So l didn't do lor. After I failed the 1st cycle I went to dr zou & dr que, both said they don't understand why dr zxm said that.
Now i recalled and dbl cnfm fm EYS website.. Mine oso ZXM leh!.. It was nightmare when she told us "zao le zao le" for our case after we went for SA consulting her and results worsen..

I was w xia rong, a fertility gynae w eys paragon for at least a yr. Stopped completely n did ivf. N got pregnant 3x but only one live birth without any tcm help.
@jklim4642, XR of EYS is the one on tv and highly recommended de right?.. wah.. u can tahan 1 year ar.. we 3 months throw white towel liao.. so x..

@faithfullyours,thanks for yr notes!

@tsf0205,nope, not seen tks yet, still contemplating on which tcm, now purely on multivits n regular jogging regime.

@Babygrin, do you know if dr que treats m
ale infertility n successful in that?

@rachel, how long did yr hubby see tsb to see improved results in sa? yup, yrs is premium. i see dr xia and hubby see zxm.we went on separate tcm as zxm mediciation dun suit me. my temp did improved under xia rong after 3mths but hubby case his went downhill.

Et2180: so sorry to hear the BFN.

No one will know for sure why the embbies didnt make it. Bfp depends on embryo, womb, body accepting, doctor's skill.. but most of all, in the hands of God.

We have all seem ladies with perfect embryos, seemingly no womb nor lining issue fail. We have heard of so many cases of ladies who put back average or poor graded embbies and had successful pregnancies

You doctors will be able to make some educated guesses but in the end, no one knows.

But dont give up..sometimes it just takes a few tries.

Hi ron8129,

Thank you for your precious comfort.. I had my menses on Sat already.. so cfm all GONE! Yeah.. guess have to wait for my gynea to return next week to discuss our condition & situation...

@connie_hopeful I'm not sure abt male fertility but I do see some couple both wife & husband seeing dr que. My hubby has low morphology & dr que said tcm can help to tiao his body but my hubby very stubborn, refuse to go.

@rachel, how long did yr hubby see tsb to see improved results in sa? yup, yrs is premium. i see dr xia and hubby see zxm.we went on separate tcm as zxm mediciation dun suit me. my temp did improved under xia rong after 3mths but hubby case his went downhill.
hmm.. we took the SA after a year leh..

@jklim4642, XR of EYS is the one on tv and highly recommended de right?.. wah.. u can tahan 1 year ar.. we 3 months throw white towel liao.. so x..

I also started seeing Dr Zou back in Feb 2013 before I started my IVF.

By the way, this Dr Zou is at Blk 505 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8 #01-266. Tel no.: 6456 0833 if you gals are interested. She is not Dr ZXM from EYS.

How many days of stimulation do we do for short protocol? Thanks! :)

Depends on your response to the stimulation drugs and the growth rate of your follicles. My stimulation days were 10 days under long protocol. Usually minimum about 8-10 days for the follicles to grow to the desired sizes before trigger.

faithfulky yours, so u will told on yr trigger jab date on e day 8 of yr simulation? hows yr afc count? u did it at kkh under dr tan? for kkh is u name e doc that u want to see or they assign to you?mean* each time see different gynae?

When I did my SIS in Jan 2013, I had about 24 AFC. My AMH was 2.7 in Jan 2013. Dr Tan said my ovarian reserve is reasonably good but Dr Zou said it's a bit on the low side.

As I was on long protocol, I had to go back for a scan on D16 of Lucrin injections of 10 units/day (a drug to suppress hormones). Scan showed no cyst and only 5 follicles of about 4-6 mm. I was told to start stimulation injections (Gonal F 225 iu/day) on D18 of Lucrin. Together with Lucrin and Gonal F injected for 7 days, I went back for a scan. Scan showed no cyst and 17 follicles of about 7-16 mm. Doctor on duty reviewed and said continue injections of same dosage and come back the next day to see my follicles' growth rate. So the next day, I went back for scan again. D8 of Lucrin and Gonal F injected, scan showed no cyst and 17 follicles and my follicles were growing at 2 mm/day. So doctor on duty said okay continue to inject 2 more days and trigger on the the 3rd day. On D8, my 3 leading follicles were about 16-18 mm big already but my middle range ones were like 12-15 mm. So doctor said need to let the middle range catch up to harvest more eggs. That explained why inject 2 more days.

We were referred to Dr Tan HH by Tan Tock Seng Hospital. So right from the beginning, we are considered private patients and pay private rates. Only if you are private patients then you can keep seeing the same doctor. If you go polyclinics and get a referral letter, you can be under subsidised rates but you don't get to choose your doctor.

17 eggs retrieved, 14 fertilised, 8 embryos, 2 grade 3 embryos transferred, 2 grade 4 & 2 grade 3 embryos frozen, another 2 tried to be cultivated to blastocyst but couldn't make it by D4.

Hey guys! i'm on day 5 of stimulation today. Went to NUH for my scan today.

Right Ovary: 8 follicles range from 6mm -8mm
Left Ovary: 6 Follicles range from 7mm - 9mm but there was one follicle which is 14mm!
Not sure why that one is maturing too fast so doc started me on Cetrotide this morning.

I was on Gonal-F 150iu but increased to 225iu for today and tomorrow.
Thursday is my next appointment and hopefully the other smaller follicles grow!

When I did my SIS in Jan 2013, I had about 24 AFC. My AMH was 2.7 in Jan 2013. Dr Tan said my ovarian reserve is reasonably good but Dr Zou said it's a bit on the low side.

As I was on long protocol, I had to go back for a scan on D16 of Lucrin injections of 10 units/day (a drug to suppress hormones). Scan showed no cyst and only 5 follicles of about 4-6 mm. I was told to start stimulation injections (Gonal F 225 iu/day) on D18 of Lucrin. Together with Lucrin and Gonal F injected for 7 days, I went back for a scan. Scan showed no cyst and 17 follicles of about 7-16 mm. Doctor on duty reviewed and said continue injections of same dosage and come back the next day to see my follicles' growth rate. So the next day, I went back for scan again. D8 of Lucrin and Gonal F injected, scan showed no cyst and 17 follicles and my follicles were growing at 2 mm/day. So doctor on duty said okay continue to inject 2 more days and trigger on the the 3rd day. On D8, my 3 leading follicles were about 16-18 mm big already but my middle range ones were like 12-15 mm. So doctor said need to let the middle range catch up to harvest more eggs. That explained why inject 2 more days.

We were referred to Dr Tan HH by Tan Tock Seng Hospital. So right from the beginning, we are considered private patients and pay private rates. Only if you are private patients then you can keep seeing the same doctor. If you go polyclinics and get a referral letter, you can be under subsidised rates but you don't get to choose your doctor.
@faithfullyyours, so as private patient you oso only see review doctor before ER huh?.. i'm oso under private cos called in and requested to see dr tan only.. wah.. seems like once start procedures must go kkh several times before ER.. heng june my boss not in else i duno how man.. sure stress.. and i'm veri confused with all these abbreviations :confused:

any of you ladies oso see dr tan after successful et?.. as in still see him as ur gynae and see thru delivery..

Hey guys! i'm on day 5 of stimulation today. Went to NUH for my scan today.

Right Ovary: 8 follicles range from 6mm -8mm
Left Ovary: 6 Follicles range from 7mm - 9mm but there was one follicle which is 14mm!
Not sure why that one is maturing too fast so doc started me on Cetrotide this morning.

I was on Gonal-F 150iu but increased to 225iu for today and tomorrow.
Thursday is my next appointment and hopefully the other smaller follicles grow!

yeay!

I didnt manage to see dr jerry chan but another doc told mi tt my failure could b due to imnature eggs or sperm they chose to fertilize us not gd enuf ... she told me e next round they will use 3-4 sperms instead of one to fertilise e egg... I dun understand even after she explained couple times... anyone can help advise?

hi gals, yr follicles sounds a lot. so envious. more follicles means more chances ya.if day 2 scan shows x follicles, after stim it will still remain x rite? will not increase anymore ya?. so those with more follicles will have a chance of getting more eggs

hi zann, maybi yr doc talking abt icsi where 1 sperm is injected into 1 egg.e embrologist will choose e best sperm to inject to e egg for icsi, whereas ivf is millions of sperms need to swim n 1 will succeed to fertilisr instead if being injected

Can anyone advise.. If i'm to confirm to go ahead with IVF for the next month.. When will the counseling and signing of papers + briefing be?.. Can it be done a month before or must it be done closer to the IVF month?

Dr Zou's acupuncture is $30/session. Powdered medicine is about $3-4/sachet. I've seen male patients there too but I really don't know if it helps.

I was first with Dr TSB after recommendation from my friend who was going through IVF then. I went to her twice. I personally don't click with her somehow and I find her medicine concoction is very time consuming. So I went to Dr ZYM. I find her friendlier and more approachable and I think she really cares for her patients lots.

Just a bit more info about Dr Zou. She used to be a western gynae specialising in IVF in China but when she came to Singapore, her certification was not recognised. So she went to study TCM to be a certified TCM doctor. Her knowledge on IVF is very good! She even knows every doctor's (Dr Tan HH, Dr S, Dr Loh) style.

Hi faithfullyyours,
Is Dr zou from raffles hospital?
You got her full name & contact?

Can anyone advise.. If i'm to confirm to go ahead with IVF for the next month.. When will the counseling and signing of papers + briefing be?.. Can it be done a month before or must it be done closer to the IVF month?
At least 2 weeks before, preferably 1 month before your AF.

Yes. I went for the briefing in feb and my cycle is in march.