Christian ivf mums or mums to be

<font color="119911">if i could i would like to stuff the sunday times down Lee Wei Ling's mouth and throat... i read like 2 paras and stopped cos i decided i dun want an ignorant FOOL to spoil my weekend.</font>

was just commenting to Yve today about the article. her argument is flawed and i was disturbed by her closing line. sometimes, i am in disbelief that such articles should be allowed to be published.

hopewaves - so u will start in Jun?

<font color="aa00aa">Hi hi hi, long time never pop in!!

Oh God is good then, never let me read that article...

I'm stim-ing now for cycle 2 and it feels really great this cyle - as I can feel God's presence with me each day
Please continue to uphold my cycle in prayer!</font>

<font color="ff6000">Hi ladies!
It has been almost two years since I last posted in this thread (under a different nick), although I do read it from time to time. I found much support and emphathy from you Christian sisters during my first IVF cycle in March/April 2009. TrustingHim will know who I am as I texted her recently when faced with some dilemmas!

My baby girl is more than a year old now. DH and I are ready for our next baby project and we thought we could try naturally or thru IUI this time around, but our attempts have failed. A BFP from IUI last September was short-lived, ended in a miscarriage in week 6. Had to rest for about two months after that before trying again and it seems like my hormones are still in chaos.

One cycle of IUI ended up with me having 6 mature follicles. Gynae aborted IUI and we tried naturally but no success. Next cycle, he cut down on my puregon dosage and my body produced only 2 miserable follicles which refused to grow fast enough. So aborted the cycle again.

Too tired to go down this road of disappointments/heartaches month after month so we have decided to do IVF again. My lucrin jabs begin on Feb 26 and God willing by end-March, I will be preggie again.

While I must admit I was very sad to have to go down this road again (I was so hopeful that the first pregnancy would kickstart my whole reproductive system but I guess age and PCOS doesn't go away with a successful pregnancy :p), I know our God is gracious and if He wants me to experience this again, His grace will be more than sufficient for me and I can count on His joy to be my strength.

As for that Weiling article, it only goes to show the stigma that still exists when it comes to artificial reproduction. Instead of spending more resources in research and towards helping couples with this problem, such views just add to the controversy. People who make such comments are just v clinical about it, they attach no emotions to the issue because they themselves are not married or dont want kids. And her arguments are not even based on studies but on some one-off cases of her personal friends!! *roll eyes* Totally misleading! No credibility!! So infuriating! But ignore la, anything that is not edifiying, we should ignore and rebuke IN JESUS' NAME!</font>

It's a good thing I did not read the article. The Lee family is elitist and wants only the good stuff. So much for Dr with a heart.

We who go through ivf really want a baby in our arms or else who wants to go through so many jabs, blood tests, hormonal havoc that cost so much$$ .. Gvt should be subsidizing us more to go through fertility treatments to boost SG birth rate!! Instead of coming out with stupid articles.

There is an email address at the end of the article. I think we should all give her a piece of our mind. Seriously the media should know better than to publish an article that is baseless and makes such sweeping statements about an issue that is so close to many womens' hearts.

Sunny, I'm sorry to hear abt the problems in ur work and family too. I read somewhere that "Like a runner who pulls a hamstring and can only limp along in excruciating pain, infertility cripples your walk with God. Infertility doesn’t gallop into your life as a lone rider stirring up trouble. No, it’s usually accompanied by problems at work, frustrations with family and friends, tension in your marriage, and personal insecurities. So while you’re trying to cure your infertility, you’re watching the rest of your life crumble, too. Hello, God? A little attention over this way would be appreciated…."

This resonated with me. While struggling with TTC, other storms in life can threaten to overwhelm us too. Perhaps God never promised us that in our earthly understanding and limitations, we would be able to comprehend His ways. Instead, He says the opposite: “‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,’ declares the Lord. ‘As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts’” (Isaiah 55:8) I really hope I can ask God on the last day why he chose me to go through this infertility nightmare!

Underhiswings- I had an aborted soiui cycle which also made me really depressed. It was just one day way from the insemination but somehow no matter how much we pumped in the Gonal F the eggs didn't grow but in fact shrunk! I felt betrayed by my body, why can't it just do as I want? I've ran to the end of the race only to not be able to cross the finishing line.. That was a few months back and I've put it behind.I've found a lot of comfort in the support of the sisters here. Let's look forward to the victories ahead of us.

Blackberry- I'm going for the ivf counselling in March, most likely will do ivf in June. In the meantime I'm seeing the TCM at Marine Parafe, Ban Choon Chan. He said that my temperature is low and estrogen level also low, and seemed to be confident in his herbs and said that 2 or 3 months is enough to "heal" the body with the herbs.

hello under his wings..i know who u are... n Vanilla too if she knows your previous nick! all the best for your next ivf.. hope it will be one time n succeed again!

Sunny- so did u sign up for dance class?

i felt so puzzled after reading the sunday times article. then why did the govt sub ART if it comes with such high risk? n the way she put it is that ivf higher chance of muliples n higher chance of abnormalities n then a burden to society in future?? then why not do more research on ART before encourging couples to go for ART at a sub rate?

so for those who taken the risk to have ART with the govt subsidies should also sign an undertaking with them that the govt should bear the medical cost if the bb borns are not healthy?

but whatever is written we rebuke it in Jesus name and we choose to bless all our children born via ART or adopted to be healthy and normal children. AMEN!

on 1 hand the govt is trying to boost birth rate this year n on the other hand they allow such a controverial article to be printed....

Hi sisters

I didnt read the article yet hearing from you about it already made my blood boil. How can she say anything like that, especially when she is not even married, not even faced with fertility/infertility issues?! She is the least fit to say anything. No wonder in Spore, not much of a hoot is given to couples trying to conceive. In other countries, there is not even age cap for ivf! What an insult, also to our ivf doctors and RE specialists? Wow, made my blood boil! She reminded me of someone of top mgt here at work, who said something about the same tone to me.

Hi UnderHisWings, me too came back with a new nick. Maybe we knew each other too.

Hopewaves, it feels good that more or less you know whats the plan and have a direction to head to right? Dont worry, time flies, soon you be counting eggs and embryos and in good 2ww for good BT results!

Thanks for hearing me though i keep telling myself try not to post about my issues, sigh ... I also dont know why things have to take such a downward turn in every aspects of my life, i can only hope God dont keep me this way too long. Aug 10 till now, 6 months already, my spirits have just been eroding and decaying, nothing else. At 1 point, i thought about death, how nice it will be if i can be *poof!* but i think God spoke to me "there are others with harder circumstances ... life has to go on, what will come out of it will be maturity and strength" I hope so. Abit update on myself ...

Work wise i have asked for a transfer. Looking out for greener pastures also but not easy to find something that wont leave me worse off. Family wise i have said what i can to both parents and sister, i got a lashing instead and the "dont tell me what to do" so i rest my case. They simply have to rough it out themselves, hopefully my words ring behind their heads. TTC wise i am meeting Dr Loh again today to go thru my karyotyping and auto immune test results. Dont know whats in store for me later. Then next week meet Dr Foong for 2nd opinion. If both doctors think ivf is still the way for us, maybe another cycle in may/jun so Hopewaves, i may be your cycle buddy.

<font color="119911">ooohhh i think i know who is under his wings.. it is a book in the bible right
....God bless u on TTC for ur 2nd bb...rem we leave everything to God...

hi hoepwaves/TH/sunny - lets not bother with Miss Lee...look at her... she is just empty noise vessel. lets not let her get into our nerves, not worth it... why SPH print her article? cos she is Miss Lee mah. As long as God is with us, what can (wo)man do?

Hi sunny - hugs hugs... good that u looking for transfer and another job. If pay cut just a bit, but work environment is better then just take it cos $ can be earned back. I am glad that God spoke and encouraged u..He wants u to know He is always there w u! </font>

<font color="0000ff">to welcome tokkie back who is free for lunch this fri?

Friday (18 Feb 2011)- most prob city hall
1. tokkie
2. bb
3. yve
4. vanilla</font>

<font color="ff6000">Yes yes yes it is me. If you can identify this verse, you will know who I am ;)
"He that dwells in the secret place of the most high shall abide under the shadow of the almighty. And I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress, My God, in Him I will trust.... He shall cover thee with His feathers and under His wings shalt thou trust. His truth shall be thy shield and buckler."

I had the most contact with TrustingHim &amp; Vanilla at that time. Sunny, i rem you too, part of your nick still the same rite? And also Mricky, Thistle, Joie.

Sunny, take it easy with the other aspects of your life. What's most important now is preparing yourself for your upcoming cycle. I can still hear myself telling my Dr last week that the timing was bad for me at work to start my cycle now: im due for a course next month, my appraisal already took a beating last year cos of extended maternity leave and all that, my bonus also affected - basically I was just whining cos I was really upset at the failed IUIs/my body not responding consistently to the puregon dosage, and just so exasperated with everything. He looked me in the eye and said: "Family is the most important thing now." So yeah, screw everything else.

I still worry what I am going to tell my supervisor. I haven't decided whether to tell my MIL (who comes in two days a week to babysit my kid) and DH's side of the family. Sometimes, I just feel like telling the whole wide world so that everyone will cut me some slack and stop wondering why I have to rush off at lunch time (for my acupuncture/gynae appts), why I cant take alcohol/caffeine, why I try to eat healthy, why during certain times of the month (2ww) I try not to walk too much or go too far for lunch, why when my menses comes I am espeically depressed.

hopewaves: when we see God in heaven, i'll be queueing up behind you to ask Him the same thing. Why me? I've told everyone since I was 18 that I want to have FOUR kids.. is that why He picked me to walk this journey? Maybe He chooses what breaks our hearts most to draw us closer to Him.</font>

<font color="119911">oohhh i guess correct!

Hi under his wings - God roughen us up for a purpose. I rem the book - streams in desert - it mentioned that He loves dearly those He puts them thru trials of fire and storm.</font>

Haha Vanilla then i think God loved me too much cuz too much trials!! hahahaha

UnderHisWings, i too forego career advancements at the expense of my infertility and ivfs. Not that i have a choice cuz if i fight for my career and delay or reduce ivf plans, when in old age, who will be the sorry one? Will not be my bank account nor my company but me and my loved ones for carrying the regret that we didnt try hard enough, didnt prioritise. Especially after what happened at work in recent months, all the more now i am convinced, a job is really only a job.

Going for my medical appointment now, wonder what God will say to me today, thru Dr Loh.

hi UnderHisWings - *wave* a hello from me since we have not met.

iloveshoes - hihi! Yes, it has been a while since we last heard from u. i am excited for u and to feel God's presence is awesome! keep on dwelling in Him and experiencing His love and joy ! all the best! keep us posted.

Hopewaves - glad u have arrived at a decision. sounds good. hope u are in better spirits too. in a way, we are all broken - by ailments, by sins, by decisions made by our forefathers, ourselves and others. By His grace, we can be whole, be blessed and be a blessing, can experience joy and peace. wishing u inner equilibrium and peace in God's love.

Sunny - i have left my stable promising job for 6 years. indeed a job is a job... well, still no baby to hold in my arms but i dont think these are wasted years. i am richer in so many ways tho not monetarily! lol! true significance is really in God. so, how did the appt go? thinking of you and hope to see u some time.

Hi sisters

Sorry Bb, i got your sms but was busy, then when i wanted to use my handphone, it died on me! End up i was totally handphoneless today and will be tomorrow also. Sigh ... cannot avoid not buying iphone liao. I was hoping can bear till iphone 5 is out, but oh well ...

Anyway, update about my karyotyping and auto immune tests ... all is normal! I should be happy and thankful right? But my first response was 'huh?' Dr Loh say 'why? U rather have something abnormal?' and gave me a puzzled look. Truth is i am equally puzzled. If all normal, why 4 cycles + 5 FETs and still not a single live birth? Dr Loh also scratched his head.

I think its God's will. Whatever we do, its ultimately up to God. Like Vanilla tells me, His ways are higher than mine. But so what do i do next? Humtum ivf all the way till God say yes? Maybe.

sorry won't be able to join lunch today ( though it's a good day, no police)

ya sunny, it's puzzling sometimes things happen ir don't happen to us. Only God knwz the answer

Btw icant find the infamous article that made our sisters' blood boiled!!! Pls direct me cos I may wanna hive my 2 ct worth!

Ihopewaves whichever path n at which point you decide to start ivf, may God's hands guide n His spirit b w u n hb

under his wings- hi hi I tk i kw who u r... Whether it's e 1st or 2nd child, the yearning is e same. U can pm me anytime

<font color="ff6000"> hi blackberry: *waves back* My heart goes out to you. SIX YEARS? Gosh, that's a long journey that hasn't ended but it's 6 years of learning to let go and let God. I really pray God answers your prayer soon and grant you a child.

hi Mricky, ya, the helplessness of not being able to have a child naturally hurts but thank goodness we have our Heavenly Daddy to turn to. I can't imagine how those who don't have a faith make it thru this infertility journey.

sunny: Gosh, I know what you mean. If there's something wrong, you can reason it out or you can treat it. But with nothing wrong, what do you do? God, you are so puzzling! It just means you must keep trying, ya? Stay strong, Sunny!

---------------------
My prayer for myself today is to please God, give me more patience. I wake up everyday and I want to know NOW NOW NOW if I will be successful with my ivf cycle this round. I dont want to wait, the journey ahead seems long and tedious, with lots to endure, so many explanations to give, long days of waiting. Why cant it be today and now?

I have to be patient with the situation, with the people around me and stop taking it out on my DH, maid etc when I'm frustrated. It's the waiting that kills me. I hate to be in limbo. In my mind I'm in limbo, but only God knows the plan and the path ahead. And thru His eyes, everything is perfectly in His will. I just have to see with His eyes and trust His heart. Help me, God.</font>

<font color="119911">i think God knows patience is not we humans virtue at all... it is hard cos we have to trust Him and really believe everything in His will</font>

Dear sisters, anyone here on max GonalF dose or above 300iu? And how much ($) is GonalF, say use 300iu as comparison?

If i cycle at KKH next, Dr Loh will give me 525iu GonalF, my first time trying this.

If Dr Foong, he also use GonalF right?

*headache* Have to save more and eat less liao.

<font color="119911">hi sunny, is 525iu ur daily shot? for me i was given 300 to start and 6 days later Dr F reduced to 225units. i rem one pen i had was $2250 and i had to buy 1.5 pens. But i think KKH shld be cheaper cos med is subsided. </font>

i also used gonal F..if rem correctly..i paid close to 400( plus GST) per pen..my dosage is low so i think i used about 3 pens.. but that was in 2009...not sure any increase lately.

Hi Vanilla

ya, he say 525iu per day. Normally stimulation is about 12days so i should need about 6300iu in total. I think the pen is standard size 300 and 900 iu? Then i might need 7 pens x 900 iu, oh dear .. stress ah. Whatever the cost for this, i will probably need double up if cycle at Dr F's.

<font color="119911">hi sunny - ya if do at Dr F costs will be higher cos the meds are not subsided. how much was ur past Puregon dosgae? is dr loh putting u on a short protocol instd? </font>

hi Vanilla, my last puregon was 600iu. I thought 600iu puregon was about 350iu gonalF equivalent, hmm, maybe i am wrong. No, he gonna put me on long proto cuz apparently my short proto didnt go well. Hmm .. going to see Dr F this thursday, will see what he think i should do also.

How's E recently? Settled down and having fun in school?

<font color="119911">oh i am not sure abt the translation... i only know GonalF has 1 more molecule compared to Puregon. Good that u seeing Dr F.. see what he says and u can always ask him to quote u a price for u if u do with him...

thanks for asking abt E. He seems to be settled down in school but still gets nightmares. the recent one is this morn 3.55am.. i didnt get to sleep after that..i lost it and scolded him in the morn. He pouted and cried and only wants his dad to carry him. Met his teachers today and they say he is coping well... not aggressive and could understand and reply back...hangs out w the boys in class only, ignores the girls -- haha even though one of the girl has a soft spot for him and everymorn will help him take his waterbottle and put in the designated plc and hold his hands.</font>

I find DrF very thoughtful, he will think of things maybe other doctors wont think of. He ask me to find out from each cycle, from all the eggs retrieve > how many mature > before becoming embryos. Normally we are only given number of eggs retrieved and embryos fertilised but not the middle info for how many mature. I felt that was good point to analyse. Luckily, Dr Loh could give me the stats, gonna share with DrF this week.

Oh my! So sweet the little girl! Hehehe. Good that he is coping well in school. He sounds to me he is having fun, maybe too fun thats why the nightmares! Some children are like this, day time too active, night time very wayang in their sleep!

<font color="119911">i agree w u sunny... maybe cos Dr F will keep each case and eliminate factors so by doing w him and he spending more time on each case he can understand better. I like how he changed some protocols to short protocols for some of his patients. Does not follow the textbook that if below 35 must long protocol.

take time to talk w him (since u paying for consultation and he does not rush u)....</font>

Have the prices and Gonal F gone up already? If really, then quite xian on the pocket :-(

So much for an all inclusuve election budget.. the rebates we get will not even be enough to pay for the course puregon/Gonal F, plus $$ all stuck in CPF.. only can see it when I turn old old..

Joie, i think i will expect the prices to be higher now since inflation is also settling in. And heard GST will increase also? Mine! Its getting costlier and costlier for ivf next time.

<font color="119911">sisters going on ur 2ww... if can get this korean drama- Secret garden... really nice... can keep u occupied during the 2ww..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hi hi,
How's everyone doing? I am heading to ER tomorrow - pray for strength to be strong (my DH will not physically be with me for the next few days), pray for skillful hands of Dr Paul and the supportive staff nurses and for peace for myself as well.

GST will increase? oh no!!!</font>

<font color="119911"> i doubt GST will increase if they planning to hold GE this yr or next yr...maybe after GE then they increase...

hi shoes - God bless...</font>

<font color="119911">thanks sunny and shoes...

shoes - when is ur ER? did more than just walk...haha went to pick up my boy from school and got swarmed by his classmates all asking me where is their mummies/daddies. Now i know how Santa feels...

sunny - now more than PISSED. brainless forward mail to GM who told me he wants to complain abt me to my overseas Big boss. I am like complain lah...what is the worst? I quit? and no one to take over the crap here.. hahahaha... i am having my dreams of staying and working overseas so now i m v daring w "take this job and stuff it down ur throat"...</font>

Iloveshoes - jia you! May God's peace be upon u n His guiding hands be on Dr Paul tmw. What time?

Vanilla - u r a chilly mamA. E is gonna break many girls' hearts when he is older;-)

my hb oso day gst will increase but likely after GE.

Joie don say $$ only enuf for a Puregon pen I don hv any cos non citizen.

Trusting Him fancy bumping into u after the fish steamboat shop last Saturday!!!

I brought bb a for a dip at my mil's pool a couple of weeks back. Now whenever she sees the pool, it's like there's a magnetic field pulling her there. She will stretch n bend her body just to touch the water! Noti gal!!! PTL, she has started crawling 2weeks back ( tho not far n fast yet). She has also started asking to hold her hands n walk at the same time!!

Vanilla, i can imagine how you feel.. dealing with a%^Ho^es in the office.. erghs.

But the joy of picking up your son during lunch might take off some of the unhappiness for a while :)

One of my friend told me that she is pregnant naturally and it is unexpected since their previous kid was via IVF. They were very hesistant to go for another round of IVF. It's a miracle baby as both the hubby and wife suffered from infertility issues (wife has PCOS), even the Dr told them medically it was not possible to get pregnant naturally - it is a miracle. Praise the Lord.

Miracles can happen.. with IVF and also naturally against all medical probability and what we as humans perceive.

Continue to Hope and Trust in our Lord's promises. Let's pray together to receive the promises we have received personally and that are declared in His word. "The Righteous shall flourish like the palm trees.. they SHALL bear fruit in old age and stay fresh and green” Ps92

<font color="aa00aa">Vanilla - how nice that you could go and pick your boy up
where will you like to go to (overseas) to work? Sometimes work challenges are hard to comprehend. Plan somethng fun for this weekend so there is something to look forward to?

Mricky, ER was done this am - ow it feels like an elephant has stomped on my uterus..hahahahaa. Sounds like your daughter is ready for a swim.</font>

<font color="119911">
hi shoes - God bless ur ER. Did clinic tell u how many eggs are retrieved? so ur ET on thur?

working overseas.. no lah more i tag if hb gets to go overseas to work.. but think it will be tough given we have lots of responsibilites here in Spore...

hi mricky - haha.. now he totally ignore the girls cos the boys more fun to play .. chase lah, play catching.. hide and seek...

hi joie - wah ur fren must be so happy. BTW, this is not the first time i heard of this. personally i know 2 of them. 2nd pregnancy is natural which shocked them cos when they first try so hard cant have any and had to do IVF. </font>

hi Vanilla, yup, take things easy. If people dont appreciate, all the more no point getting upset over them. At most, change job since we also dont owe our lives to our employers! Haha, yeah, E definitely sounds like he's having loads of fun in school!

hi Shoes, you are with CARE right? Will they tell you how many eggs mature out of retrieved? Doing D2 or D5 transfer? Jiayou ok?! Your journey has just begun! Take good care during 2ww!

hi Mricky, yeah, sounds like bb A sure wants a cool dip! My niece also, very addicted to the pool once she visit, cannot get her out, will wail the sky down!

hi Joie, i was just pondering recently, can supernatural conception really happen? And there you shared a miracle story!