Chinese at Berries World

caroline3sg

Many good comments here about Berries. I went to Woodlands for a trial but it is very disappointing. I want to comment on the way they teach. 2 A4 size flash cards, one is da sao (clean up), another is wu zi (house). The teacher alternate the flash cards many times to the class and individually where the children have to say it out. This part I don't like it.

Also, black & white flip chart of pictures with cheng yu at the bottom. The teacher sing the same tune with lyrics as the cheng yu and the meaning for about 20 cheng yu. In the first place, the charts should be colourful to attract children's attention. Secondly, should be one cheng yu per week in the form of story telling. Thirdly, the meaning are not exactly the actual meaning. Fourthly, the tune is very monotonuous. Lastly, singing session should be fun and rhythmic where children engage in some dancing.

I am trying out TienHsia Jurong East this Fri. If you have any comments on how they teach, do let me know.

Surprising, TienHsia at next to Lot 1 has many K1 classes on Sat & Sun. This shows they are more popular than Berries (only 2 classes).

Hi caroline3sg,

I'm not sure if there's any difference between Berries branches. My 4 year old has just begun N2 chinese lessons with Berries Bt Batok and JG. Between the 2, he likes Berries better. Although he has only attended 3 lessons with Berries, I am already seeing some results. And I attributed it to the method used by Berries (as you have described above). And I'm glad that the teacher takes the time to allow each child to practice saying the words. It allows immediate correction of any wrong pronounciation.

I have yet to try TienHsia, but I have the impression that they are very commercialised.

My 3 kids go to Berries at Tampines Mart. My baby went first, and had such a good time. She even wanted to go despite separation anxiety at first (she is in the N1 class, but her third birthday is only in Nov). Due to precisely the flash card method, she has managed to absorb an amazing number of words... even words that she didn't attend the class for... apparently they revise previously taught words, and she could remember and say them.

So I signed up my very backward older kids. So far, have seen more enthusiasm and willingness to use mandarin... and more recognition on the part of my #1 as well (my #2 is dyslexic, so I expect her to have trouble reading chinese... heck, even learning to read in english is problematic for her, never mind chinese).

So far, so good. Yes, and I think each branch is different, even though the material they use is supposed to be the same. Really depends on the teacher you get, and whether the teaching style & personality happens to suit your child.

Heard from a friend that each branch is a franchise... not sure how true that is.

Also heard from others that Tien Hsia is very academic.. also not sure how true. But for my kids, I needed something more "fun". It has helped so far.

Hi caroline3sg,

You mentioned about attending the trial. Did your kid's teacher provide feedback on your kid directly after the lesson? Mine provided a very detailed and observant feedback. In fact, she requested me to stay back for the feedback.

As what dorie mentioned, my son likes the fun environment too. He kept bugging me to send him for the lesson after observing a class in Berries Orchard.

I'm not a flashcard person. But I have to admit that using flash cards (not the flashing mtds) is a good way to aid kids in learning chinese characters. As one preschool principal shared with my friend, chinese characters are like drawings. So, using flashcards (not the flashing mtds) does have its merits.

Dear mummies
Thank you for replying. Didn't know Berries is franchise, no wonder make up class cannot go to other branch. Unlike Tienhsia, make up can go anywhere.

The teacher never gave me feedback because she knew I was peeping at the window. She only bothered to bring the class to my boy who was at a corner so that he can absorb, when she noticed me. It was because I peeped that's why I know how they teach. Another better teacher (ie better pronounciation and is currently a teacher, louder in her voice) also use same method regarding the flash cards.

While other centres also use flash cards, but not this method of flashing. Should be letting the children form the words from the several flash cards.

I enquired the counter staff at TienHsia Jurong East on the teacher for K1/K2. They only have 2 teachers (all their centres' teachers are from China, Berries have locals, M'sians & China) and apparently the one that is assigned has almost full class on Sat (I have this perception that if class is full, then the teacher is good). The counter staff told me some parents commented TienHsia a little boring, maybe too academic. But she said there are songs & story telling. I don't see any story telling in Berries. Besides content, the way it is taught is important for stimulating interest and retention.

There is another option for me if TienHsia is not suitable. Chicken Little has a Chinese national teaching at her house. According to several mummies, she is good and her lesson is fun.

Thank you for your comments

caroline3sg,
You wrote
<font color="0000ff">"the meaning are not exactly the actual meaning."</font>

I am quite surprised at this. My girl's berries teacher explains correctly, and my girl can apply the cheng yu correctly in her daily conversation.

Even though the cards are black and white, it still attracts the interests on the kids. I think the teacher really matters. My girl's teacher is very good.

caroline3sg

my K1 girl attended a trial at Berries recently.

She can read every word in the little orange booklet after the trial. But when I picked a few words to write on a piece of blank paper & asked her to read to me, I realized she didn't recognise those words. She read the booklet based on memory.

I think must reinforce over the week. I decided to kiv Berries. Now I just let her practice writing some characters in a exercise book & do some assessment books if she's in the mood.

by the way, there is story telling at Berries. I confirmed with my girl after the trial.

tamarind,

who is your girl's teacher? Maybe I ask for the teacher when my boy attend. I also agreed its the teacher that will makes the difference beyond methodology.

Hi caroline3sg,
I have the same concern about nationality before I enrolled my ds in Berries. But after observing the class at Orchard, I feel the teachers matter more than the nationality.

As for flashcards, personally I feel it's best to use black and white. It provides less distraction for the kids. In fact, the word cards I'm doing at home are also black and white. The crux is to get the kids to focus on the words.

My ds said they were brought to another room for storytelling. Even my 2 year old gal was allowed to join the N1 story telling once.

Hi Hippo,
My son has no problem recognising the characters taught in class. He could read the characters anywhere, not just from the Green books for N2. And that's directly after the class with no reinforcement yet. So, definitely not by memory. Even my friend also mentioned her gal is starting to read more chinese words after attending Berries. You might want to raise this up with your girl's teacher should you change your mind.

poohy,
The teacher's surname is Yang
Very good with kids.

hippo2002, serenade,
My girl can also read the characters anywhere. We practice with her at least 1 or 2 times at home every week, cannot only depend on once a week 2 hour class.

I actually find the Berries materials very good, will be using that for my younger boy instead of sending him to Berries, because he is the type who needs a lot of reinforcements, and I can save money too

Tamarind
The teacher at Berries Woodlands is Ms Hu (Sat 10.45am). She is not loud spoken. She is S'porean. Bukit Batok timing not suitable for me. Noted Ms Yang is good as her class is full. For flash cards, okay to be black & white. But it is the flip chart with pictures that are not in colour. At the bottom of each chart is cheng yu. She just sing the same tune for 20 cheng yu and their meaning. Meaning can never be explained using 4 words. This is certainly wrong way of teaching.

Hippo
The orange booklet and school's readers are about the same. Children tend to read from memory. No doubt about this.

Serenade
Oh yes, they were brought to Audio Visual Room. The teacher, not Ms Hu, just ask questions. Not telling story. It is not interesting at all. No body or facial expressions.

Thank you for all your comments

caroline3sg,
You mean the teacher only sing and never explain ? That is very bad. I have seen Ms Yang explain the cheng yu before, she explains it using lots of examples, so the children can understand the meaning.

I guess no matter what school the child goes to, it's the teacher that is important.

tamarind
precisely just sing the cheng yu and meaning in 4 words to rhyme and never explain.

I change phonics from Sat to Sun because Sun teacher is better. So this timing crash with Berries Bukit Batok Ms Yang's class (this is last vacancy for me).

Last nite I went to pick my son up from Berries class (Hougang). During the last 5 mins, i peeped at the door (a small portion of glass panel).

They were learning Ʋ֡ So I heard them singing, Ʋ ... to the tune of London Bridge is falling down.

Then.. on the way home in the mrt, my son kept humming this song.. and when i asked him the meaning, he cld also tell me. I think he is learning fine.

tamarind, caroline3sg
my boy also student of Berries (BB) Ms Yang...and he adores her.
Her words motivate him to learn chinese more than my words. :p

caroline3sg
as for the 'singing the same tune for 20 cheng yu and their meaning. Meaning can never be explained using 4 words', the class may be recapping wat has been taught over the past semester. they will usually introduce cheng yu fortnightly, where the kids have a small booklet illustrating the 'meaning' of the chengyu, with the actual meaning and usuage printed at the end of the pink booklet. thereafter then they use catchy tune (same tune basically) with catchy words to summarise the meaning.

Hi Caroline,

My daughter attends berries at orchard and she enjoys every lesson. She started berries without knowing a word of chinese.. but now she's able to construct simple chinese sentences and able to read some characters. Credit goes to Berriesworld.

My 4YO gal is at Tien Hsia at Jurong East Entertainment Ctr- she hsa been there since she was 3YO and she likes it there. Her Chinese has also improved a lot..

Yes, the teachers are from China, but my gal's teacher does her job well and love kids...

The class only has 5 kids to one teacher...

I heard Berries at Bukit Batok also received good reviews from mums so that may be another good choice...but I am happy with Tien Hsia...

Fairyprincess
Pls tell me the teacher's name at TienHsia Jurong East. Is it Xiao Yun? I was told she has 5 students on Fri 7.30pm. It is this class that I am going for trial tomorrow.

Pls tell me what she teach and how she teach. Thank you in advance.

Hi, caroline3sg

Did you manage to attend the trial at Tien Hsia (Jurong East)? Can you share your experience and feedback with me? Thank you.

Mlhg
Yes I went there. A few days before trial, I talked to the recep, not Jess but one girl who joined for one yr, long hair, patient in answering my questions though she doesn't know a lot of things, maybe try not to offend any teacher or say bad things.

She said there are only 2 teachers teaching pre-primary. Some parents commented TienHsia academic and boring (there are bound to have people who don't like).

On the day of trial, suprisingly, my boy participated. The blinds are down but somehow I still managed to peep at the corner. The teacher is animated. The flash cards are A4 size, one word per card (Berries is 2 words). About 10 words, the children would read together. Next, "story telling". There is a cut out house and a boy pasted on white board. Topic about "front", "back", "left"
and "right". She said "in front of the house, there is a boy". Then she brings the boy down to shake hand with every children. Then she stand up and make movement with the 4 words, asking the children to do likewise. This physical exercises the children likes.

Then she showed them the strokes of "front" & "back" in different colours of markers. Followed by writing exercies.

Comparing both TienHsia & Berries, content wise, Berries teach more but TienHsia conducts in a livelier way.

Hi, caroline3sg

Thanks for the feedback. From what I gather parents are not allowed to be in the class when the teacher is conducting the trial lessons for the children, is that right?

mlhg
Yes but I requested a short while. I prefer loud speaking teacher. So she is relatively loud, so I can hear from outside. Though the blinds are down, it happened that my son was near the door so I could see part of him. So is the teacher.

Hi, caroline3sg

Thanks for the feedback. I may want to give it a try at Tien Hsia. My son is currently in Xue Ni Chinese Lang centre and has been there since Jan 07. His chinese did improve a little but his interest is 'dwindling'... There is a change of at least 4 teachers during this period and the method they used is kinda boring...

Hi Caroline3sg,

I think your kid is 5YO? My gal's 4YO class is on Wed and Sat only, teacher name is Yun Fang laoshi, has been teaching her for a year, no change of teachers, so has established good rapport with the class by now. The 5 students are also the same from the start, so the kids know each other well...
so have you decided to enrol your kid there?

I find jurong east entertainment ctr very convenient as I can go to library while waiting, or shop at NTUC etc etc...so I chose the school for my benefit as well =)

mlhg
My girl was at Xueni for whole yr when she was P3. The teacher is Ms Yan, not bad. But my girl only improved 2 marks for compo. I can see tremendous improvement at TienHsia after attending almost 1 yr. When in primary level, don't expect fun type of teaching.

TienHsia classes are always full and they have long waiting list. Do let me know after you check.

Fairyprincess
Yes, my son is 5 yrs old. I bring my girl there on Fri for enrichment (mlhg, my girl attends both enrichment and compo, enrichment at JE, compo at next to Lot1) so timing matches at Fri 7.30pm. I can kill 2 birds with one stone (unlike Berries, Sat at Bukit Batok is full, they KIV Fri night).

The teacher is xiao yun. She has been here for several yrs. I find her little soft in discipline and sometimes she use "meh" --> singlish. She does not smile when she speaks to me. Unlike my girl's 2 Tienhsia teachers.

Next to Lot 1 has many schedules and 3-4 different teachers. All still have vacancies. It might be convenient for me at JE (though I stay at CCK).

Something is lacking at TienHsia. I don't think they have proper story telling. Also, one of the students has bad pronounciation, perhaps due to her tongue or nose? I am concerned whether it would affect my son.

Next to Lot1, Sun 4.30pm, I saw the teacher, smiling and animated. But this time, he may not have woken from his nap. So I am still thinking thinking.....

hi fz, is yr boy still at berries bb?

any comments/ feedback on the centers n teachers at berries bb or pandan valley?

j0L
ya. my boy still there. looking forward to every lesson. hope that next year change teacher he will still be enthused to learn chinese. :p

fz,
i juz registered my boy there. wana be my referral? think the sch would give u recommendation voucher. which class is he in?

my girl just started N2 at Berries Pandan Valley and is enjoying herself. After her very first lesson she impressed the heck out of my mother when she came home and proudly announced that the dining chairs were 'yi mu yi yang'

Her teacher is jing laoshi, a lively and animated China lady. Think that does affect the student's pronunciation as we've received comments that the few words that my daughter now says in Chinese are very 'precise'. Maybe it's partly the accent or partly because as a native speaker she's more picky?

The only thing is we've been rather lazy about revising with her so she knows the words from the earlier 2 lessons (coz they revise and revise over and over again in class) but not the ones from the last 2 lessons (4 so far).

hope this helps!

j0L (jteo)
have utilised the voucher. thanks. hope your boy is benefitting from berries.

Any mummies heard of Jiang Education Centre at Fu Lu Shou Complex ? I heard from my sil that they've very good chinese enrichment classes. Any comments from mummies here as i'm looking for an enrichment class for my P2 boy ?

i m wondering if anyone can update me regarding tien hsia (sembawang branch) and berries world (Woodlands CC). anyone any comments?

Hi mummies, my boy is attneding N2 berries(wdls cc) on very tues 7pm class as both chin teachers combi was great, Jin lao shi &amp; zheng lao shi. So far they teaches simple chinese, cheng yu &amp; chinese songs, story telling. Overall I am satisfied &amp; my boy was happy.

Hi yellowcutebaby,
I stayed at opp woodsvale near 3M factory. So far I sent my boy to Berries for few mths &amp; jus started kumon Maths abt 2mths ago. Overall he likes the classes. I hv enrol ICL(i-creative learner) at khatib for his english foundation which will be commenced in dec cos I enrol him 2 late liao.

yar the way they teach is fun hence alot of kids like it. Then jus receive notification fr Yamaha semb branch for commencement of class in oct. Still considering cos I am wwondering donno able to cope with the time anot. Also now my hb took over to bring him to classes &amp; hv to deal with all the chores bcos I am preg with 3rd kid now &amp; tis time round not smoothsailing, on and off will hv spotting lor..

Hi Jershem,

My K1 boy also at Berries@WD thursday evening class. So far so good and he enjoyed himself very much there. I'm keen to get him into math class. Any recommendation as I'm staying at Sembawang. Kumon or MPM are good? Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Hi Tamarind

I have just called up Berries Bt Batok today asking for enrolment into N1 class. Apparently there's no vacancy for both Sat &amp; Sun. Didnt know they are so popular. Anyway they may be opening another class on Sun 11am sometime in Sep/Oct soon.

I'm not sure who will be teaching bcos i have yet to try their trial class. U have any feedback on the teachers? I'll be enrolling my boy into N1 class though.

Hi Starling,
My boy joined Berries Bt Batok last year in K1 and he was under Ms Yang who is a very nice teacher. He is still under her, so i reckon Ms Yang is for K1 and 2s.
The admin staff are also accomodating to last min changes in schedule (eg i can't go on sun and then prior to the lesson, i call to arrange for make up lessons later in the week and they will obliged.)
Do try out the trial..it is only $15.
When you opt for Sunday class, do have a back up 'day' for make up lessons that both you and your kid are available (eg i opt for Sunday and have the option of going for make up on Tues evening as my boy is in afternoon kindergarten on weekdays).

Starling, fz,
My girl used to be under Ms Yang at Bukit Batok, yes she is a nice teacher. But she is so popular now, her classes are very full. Unfortunately her class on Thursday evening had some very noisy and naughty boys, and all the weekend classes are full. I have moved her to Woodlands Berries.

I think all their teachers follow the standard method of teaching, and they are generally nice and patient.

"There is another option for me if TienHsia is not suitable. Chicken Little has a Chinese national teaching at her house. According to several mummies, she is good and her lesson is fun. "

Hi may I have the contact for chicken little?

dear all
anyone tried Berries @ Kembangan (N1)? I've actually gotten a good feedback fr a Mummy but I don't mind soliciting more feedback please, thanks !

hi all mums
i hv try berries # thomson. but it doesnt help my kids, after the 3 term i withdraw them, and they conduct lesson during the jun holiday which dont like. if parent who dont like ur kids to go for lesson during the sch holiday, might hv to reconsider.