Any gyne to recommend for incompetent cervix?

puipui80

Hi, I have been diagnosed with incompetent cervix after losing my triplet babies at 23 weeks. My previous gyne at KK was not even aware that I had this condition till I started spotting and by then it was too late to save the babies. Im hoping to find a good doctor before I get pregnant again. Hopef to get some referals or advice before my next pregnancy. Thanks!!!

Hi puipui80,

I'm sorry to hear abt your loss of your babies. Surely it must have been hard on you.

My doctor, Dr. Aziz is an obstetrician & gynaecologist. I'm lucky that he was the one who diagnosed me correctly the size of my fibroids, performed abdominal myomectomy (surgery to remove big fibroids) on me, who confirmed my pregnancy 7 mtnhs after surgery and he had safely delivered my baby 17.5 mnths ago. He also performs circumcisions on babies & kids as well. Dr. Aziz has his own women's clinic and is linked to both East Shore Hospital & Raffles Hospital. Here's his clinic:

Dr. Aziz @ Aziz Clinic For Women Pte Ltd
18, Jalan Masjid, #01-08 Kembangan Plaza (just directly opposite Kembangan MRT).
Tel: 6842 0220

I think it's better to bring along any medical history documents upon consultation.

Hope that helps

hi puipui80,
i've got a colleague who had the same problem. lost her first bb at >20 weeks due to incompetent cervix as well.

but her 2nd one, she went to see this doctor at kkh, who sewed up her cervix to prevent m/c, and she had to be on bed-rest all the way to preserve this bb. she was full of praise for this gynae, said he's v experienced and handled her case very well..

if you want the contacts of this gynae, pls pm me. thx

hi puipui80,
i've got a colleague who had the same problem. lost her first bb at >20 weeks due to incompetent cervix as well.

but her 2nd one, she went to see this doctor at kkh, who sewed up her cervix to prevent m/c, and she had to be on bed-rest all the way to preserve this bb. she was full of praise for this gynae, said he's v experienced and handled her case very well..

if you want the contacts of this gynae, pls pm me. thx

Hi belly button, i actually had my cerclage done at kkh when i started spotting. Was hospitalised for 2 weeks, on total bedrest as well but unfortunately developed an infection. This led to me having a premature delivery at 23 weeks. As my case was unique due to triplets, they assigned 2 of their multiples experts to me. But I guess it was all fated as by then it was too late to save the babies. Im actually hoping to see other doctors outside kkh cause my delivery itself was poorly handled.If you know of any other high risk pregnancy specialists, kindly let me knw, thks.

Hi Puipui80,
I am very sorry to hear that. I think you have to mention this situation to your gynae in your next pregnancy. I am having the same problem as you and my case was discovered at my 24 weeks gestation. As my husband and I don't want to get sitches on, my gynae prescribe me medications and he needs to check my cervix weekly until now (33 weeks gestation). I hope this help!

Hi, Im actually going to see Dr Henry Cheng at Gleneagles for a 2nd opinion soon. Funny thing was last month, I went to see Dr Ann Tan at Mount E to ask about IVF as well, she told me that I had a short cervix and that she will place a stitch in at 14 weeks at my next pregnancy. but just last week, when i went for a follow-up check up at kkh with dr sheila loh, she said my cervix is ok and that i wun need any stich as long i do not carry more than 1 baby. So its a little weird with two different opinions.

Jessyy- ur doc gave u medications instead of a stitch? im surprised that this could be done..do u mind if u could give me more details of ur gyne?
If so, could u email me at [email protected]

Thanks alot!

hey puipui,
i am having the incomplete cervix as well. I discovered it when i was in my 24week pregnancy. As i know that it is no use for stitch in such a late time, my gynae prescribes me medicine and injection and my girl was born in her 33week+. If you need the contact, please email me at [email protected]

I did not have an incompetent cervix, or at least, it was not discovered. During the end of my 16 weeks, had a miscarriage. This had caused a weakening of the cervix opening. My gynae had advised that when I get pregnant again, the opening might not be able to support the pregnancy throughout. So he suggested having the opening stitched when I get pregnant again. Losing one was painful for me. PuiPui,I can understand your loss.

Jessy, would you be able to provide details of your gynae? Thank you. You could email me at [email protected]

chua_ family...
Hi could you share with me about your gynae.
I had a recent miscarriage and was told by gynae that because I had no previous history hence the miscarriage. baby was already 21weeks ...
last visit to gynae on the 20th week. How did your gynae detected your incompetant cervix? was it through your normal 3d scan ?

hi LaL I would like to know which gynae you visited... I faced the same problem too... mine worst. my gynae clinic closed that night and my poor baby was lost as the pain grew severe and my water bag just burst at home. by the time I was rushed to hospital poor baby already slipping out of me... Its soo sad to see my poor baby lieing lifeless next to me... he still gave me the last kick at 7pm by 8pm my bag burst and 8.30 i was in hospital.

Hi BellsBells,

I was consulting Dr Jen at that time. I had pains on Sunday night but was very mild. So did not think much about it. Went to work the next day as there was no pain at all. Severe pain started in the evening. Clinic was closed that day. Went to hospital. GP contacted gynae and instructions were given over the phone. The pain was unbearable. Went home, took medication and slept. Woke suddenly to realise I was bleeding badly. Rushed to hospital and was admitted immediately. Gynae was called in and by then the membranes were fully engorged to indicate that I was in labour and was told to let nature take its course. Waterbag was broken(manually) two days later and the rest is history.

As I write, am holding back my tears. It is a painful experience that I do not wish for any mtb to go through.

Stay strong, BellsBells. This experience will only make you stronger.

Which gynae did you go to? Or rather were you told if you have a weak cervix? And any advice from your gynae?

LAL was using Dr. Jen also. He was refered to me by my hubby's sis-in-law. LAL are you still going back to Dr. Jen if you get preggie again ? I am still at a lost... my hubby say because he has our history... but I am scared if anything goes wrong again... I am not young anymore... I can' afford all these waiting time.. was already so much looking forward to this baby...

LAL did dr. jen detected your imcompetent cervix? I have yet asked him if mine is imcompetent cervix as I was more concern if I could still be pregnant after D&C.
I was only told that I had no previous history and everything happended so fast...
... I saw someone on the thread that her gynae detected her imcompetent cervix but she didn't reply to my email on which gynae she use. LAL it's a terrible experience... I didn't dare to sleep after my D& C and everything seems so sudden.

I am having twins, went through a few times of bleeding (red blood). The cervix dilate test (manual) indicates that there is no dilation.

But I went for the operation to stitch up the cervix as if the cervix were to dilate, it will be too fast to do anything.

Hi Bells,

I have posted under "Any comments on Dr Jen....?" thread.

Nevertheless....Dr Jen did not say that I have an incompetent cervix but he did say that my cervic opening has weakened slightly. After my mc, I went for a hysteroscopy to check if anything was wrong with the womb or cervix. Dr Jen said everything was fine and he did not find anything to indicate the cause of my mc. But he did say that the next time I get preg, will have to stitch the cervix up.

Am sure Dr Jen is not the only gynae who has a share of mc cases. And am sure all other gynaes would have handled their share mc's as well. Dr Jen must have handled many successful pregnancies, too, with his years of experience. Anyway, I'm confused too...abt whether I should stick with Dr Jen or try another gynae.

I can totally understand what you have gone thru and are going thru. I had many sleepless nights. The nights that I slept, I had nightmares. I'm over it...not totally but getting there. Looking foward to ttc.

You take care of your health. And let me know if you are going to stick with Dr Jen.

Lal ,
At last someone that shares my same sentiments....
Yeah I do agree with you... my husband also said the same things to me today... Was sharing with him what I read from the threads... I saw some other gynaes also quite unprofessional... esp in gov hos...
Lal are you still going to him... I am scheduled to see him again in about 3 weeks time to have a pap smear after my m/c
I am still contemplating whether to change or stick on. My husband suggested we stick on since he have my history...
LAL what does your hubby say ? are you sticking on with him... ?:

Bells,

My hb left the decision to me. He felt that it is important for me to feel comfortable with the gynae and also be able to reach him/her at the in times of an emergency.

I had gone to see Dr KK Ho. I felt very comfortable with him. He was extremely patient with my thounsands of queries. My hb felt the same. Dr Ho was very detailed and encouraging. That was only my first visit with him. Will have to wait and see with subsequent visits.

Have you decided on whether you are going to stick with the current gynae or not?

Hi All;

I have lost my baby due to incompetent cervix too and is being referred to Dr Tony Tan from KKH for my next pregancy. He specialised in twin and high risk pregnancies. Just like to know whoever has seen him before with cerlage and any comments for him?

As well, any ladies who had incompetent cervix and successful had a baby after which. Pls share the story with us and how you have gone through the entire 9 months. Are we supposed to bedrest or still able to work?

Belly Button, you mention the gynea from KKH who treated your friend, are you able to give his contact as i would like to have a second opinion too. I still have faith in govt hospital.. its just which gynea we should see. KKH still has the best equipment and govt hospital sees alot of different kind of patient.

thanks!!

Dear Mavis, my heart is with you as well as others who had been diagnosed incompetent cervix.
I lost my baby at 25weeks just a week ago. In fact i had a celclage done at 22halfweeks cos i could feel my water bag at my vagina. It was scary. But my Gynae had warned me the odds were low. After the cerclage, i developed acute pain down there and had to remove it, thereby waterbag burst manually along with the removal.

I was hospitalised for 2andhalfweeks with my baby in me but no water...i knew i was going to lose my baby boy for sure, just a matter of time.
the 2 half weeks for me were painful anticipating that cruel reality approaching.

I am also searching for a good gynae who handles such cases like ours.. i just can't get over me baby..innocent life..

hi khoo sylvia...
i went through almost the same as yours ... mine was at 21 weeks... my waterbag burst and poor baby just slipped out...
did you have any miscarriage before ? did they do stitching for you this round ? what is cerclage sorry.. is it stitching ? At least your gynae could detect... mine didn't even say anything... by the time my waterbag burst... my poor baby must be scared to death..
I saw his body like he was trying to hold on to me trying not to slip out... :~(

Mine they just told me no previous history... so next time if i pregnant again maybe have to go through stitching.

HI Erkerk
you drop me a message in my mailbox but your yahoo mail seems to be wrong... i could noy reply your email... hope you will see my reply here...

You have received a private message from the
following discussion board user: Erkerk
"
hi bell,

chanced by your post, I am on wk 18, started spotting 2 months ago but
no problem was detected, I suspected incompetent cervix. can share
more details of your condition like did you spot prior to your mc? I am
sorry but I am already 32 and so worry can't carry my BB to full
term..."

I do have twice spotting during 5th week and 7th week. after which no
spotting.
during the day of the miscarriage, saw some brown discharge.. shortly
after which about half hour some red discharge... after that was very
servere pain which i would reckon it's the contraction.
same here i'm 32 going 33 this year... suggest that you quickly see your gynae

hi mavis do let me know if you are visiting tony tan from kkh.

lal,
i think i am more or less decided that i will change gynae. got a malay massage lady to massage my womb and she suggested that i take a gynae from the hospital be it private or public.
I am considering either mt a , tmc or kkh ... gynaes who are stationed inside.

As I have posted earlier, I had incomplete cervix and my gynae managed to save my baby until her 33+ weeks. If anyone needs his contact, feel free to contact me at [email protected]
I know most of the gynae doesn't check for this condition until there is history. I think we all have to be caution in our next preggie. Gynae told me if there's IC, we must do stitching in earlier weeks instead of late. Hope this help.

Hi Sylvia;

when i was going for cerlarge, the waterbag burst (oso, cervix diliated to 6cm oreadi) and i knew i am going to loose my baby. Till now its so hard to accept the fact that we have to loose our baby in such manner. Incompetent cervix was so uncommon and why happen to us?? today was an extremely sad day for me, as my EDD was on 30 May... how nice if i am holding my baby now..sigh..

bells, actually am going to see tony tan currently. He is quite patient and i can email to him if any doubts.. my previous gynea was in TMC but was being referred to him for he is quite experience in cerlarge..

i really hope that girls like us who has incompetent cervix are able to have smooth pregnancies for the next round

Dear Bell, Mavis and all... i cried when i read your stories..i could visualise the whole scenarios, especially Bell's....

If only we could turn the clock back to when we were all 14 15 weeks which is when a cerclage ( stitching ) could be done.

But then, i also checked with a fren who did the cerclage at 16weeks and had to stay in bed until full term.I don't know whether i can withstand that cos there is no guarantee too....

i am going to look into chinese medicine. Maybe we could be spared that stitches?

Dear Mavis, do you have anything in memory of your baby? I am really sad for all of us...my bloodshot eyes are going to turn blind crying...

Bells,
sorry did not address you question in the previous msg. Ya cerclage is stitching. I had a m/c at 7weeks prior to this. In fact, i gave birth to my poor baby whose heartbeat was strong when he was delivered. But due to lost of amniotic water at early stage of 22hlf week, his lungs were not developed to pull him thru despite resuscitation. we gotta witness him gasp for air and turn blue and go......i can't accept this...

When did yours happen? Are you planning for preg now? i seriously want to consider Jessy's Gynae who did not stitch her up and yet things turned out well.

Hi All;

Cerlarge is being done on the 12 weeks of pregnancy, according to my gynea and lots of research through the internet. it is a simple procedure and the purpose is to hold the cervix till full term. Sylvia is right that it has no gurantee but if we are diagnoised with IC, i would really advise to do the cerlarge, losing one babie is already suffering enough but are we going to take risk further if no action is taken?

Chinese medicine can only tiao and bu our womb, i went to chinese sinseh too, she can't say that i do not need to go for cerlarge after taking chinese medicine.. her advise to me is that she will help me to build up my body to prepare for next pregnancy again..

Sylvia, i already plan to quit my job if i were to be pregnant again. I am ready to prepare for bedrest till full term, its a live that i got to protect my babie, though i told myself, there could be another miscarriage but i leave to god's will now but hopefully with no regrets.

cerlage is not a premanent cure, after doing the surgery we still need to take extra care, rest more, walk less, prevent strain to our body

Hi Mavis, i see...
Yes you are right...have to quit job no matter what if i were to be preg again. Thanks for the enlightenment. Was your 1st trimester ok? i bedrested due to spotting and bleeding. Then at 5th month i went back to work 1 full month before the tragedy happened. Do you think going back to work was the wrong move?

Dear Mum of Twins, You had the cerclage done too?
Do you mind elaborate on before and after? Should there be alot of pain or discomfort after the surgery?

I am still phobic.

sylvia
I am carrying twins, and had bleeding. cervix not dilated yet but gynea recommended to do it nevertheless as if it dilates it can happen at a very fast rate and there are 2 inside me.

It is a day surgery, no pain at all, once I am fully awake the nurses at the hospital gave me water and milo. once i can pee. the nurses took babies' heartbeat and call Gynea. Once he gave green light I went home and bedrest for 2 weeks.

Dear Erkerk,
I see your concern and fear. In my case, i did all i could to ensure cervix is ok even starting from 20th week because my Gynae ever related sad story like this to me. So his words samk into my mind.
I made him check my cervixs even 3days before my cervix dilated. 3days! My Gynae said there is totally no symptoms when cervix wants to dilate.

Thus my 2cents worth is, if you dun want to take chance, do the cerclage surgery.

I remember feeling great pressure on my pelvic bone the month before my tragedy..maybe that was a tell tale sign.

Hope this is a little helpful.

I am glad to hear it is smooth Mum of twins. happy for you. No pain at all? So no need hospitalisation. Any vomiting? I hate vomiting.

my surgery was at 10 am, was resting in hospital till 6 pm then i left. Need to llok out for fever, bleeding etc. i didnt vomit. the fee cause $1400+ but think it is worth it lor. But again need to take special care after it as cerlage is not a permantent cure

thanks so much Mum of twins. So i c..
When you said cerclage is not a permanent cure, what do you mean? not 100%? Or cerclage has to be remove some months down the road?

Are you resting at home? When is your EDD?
Really happy for you that you are having twins.
How i wish my next preg are twins.

Hi Sylvia;

my 1st trimester was o.k, only brown discharge for about a week and i did not rest for the rest of the months. I did blame myself initially that i did not rest but who knows that we have such condition right?

You should not blame yourself too but i think bedrest till full term after cerlarge is a precaution. My gynea told me one of his patientt did not rest after cerlarge and still goes to work and ended up miscarriag again. Next round, he make sure that this lady bedrest till full term and she succeeded after which. He told me my case could happen too if i walk too much and exert too much strength..

Sounds quite scary but nonetheless, i am looking forward for my next pregnancy and is TTC now after 4.5 mth rest..

Sorry Mavis, didn't quite get you..what is TTC?

When will you actively start trying again? I heard better let body rest for 18months..but i think too long a wait right?

Myself, since it just happened a week ago, may wait till at least another year.

Hi Sylvia;

TTC means, try to conceive. I have just started to try after chinese sinseh told me that my body is o.k to try again.

Seriously, i really hope to have a another baby, cos this is the only way for me to ' get over' it. Usually, after 3 months is o.k to try but may not so lucky, so at the same time to give my body more rest and 'tiao' my womb at the same time if i don't strike.

Mavis, can see the zest in you. i must look up to you and not be afraid of trying...how old are you? i am 28 already. Before knowing you all, me and husband almost set on staying childless forever already...now my confidence starts sprouting up. Or maybe shld say the instinct to be a mother. Especially Puipui80, iread her encounters am convinced there is will, there is a way.

Mavis, how often do you come online to this website? I wish to coincide with you to save all the waiting for your correspondences. Not fixed then it is ok. I am doing confinement now..very bitter..doing confinement without a baby..

khoo sylvia
I lost mine 3rd may this year. Now i am still in my confinement.i think abit earlier than yours right... my waterbag burst at home... by the time I rushed to hospital ... I was just crying and crying ... didn't know if my baby still had breadth when i arrived at hospital.. but i know when he just slip out of me i know i couldn't safe him...

why you need to rest 18 mths ? i thought usually 3-6 months ? heard from my gynae cerlage also have some percentage of miscarriage as it may cause contraction... though percentage is low.
gynae told me have to do close oberservation when i get pregnant again but he say cerlage may or maynot be required...
but i so scared if he wrong again i am dead! i read from net some uses medication to surpress and hold the baby...

i once joked with my mum that i hope twins for next round too... but to think one baby i also cannot hold.. better not risk two babies...

sylvia you still saw your baby gapsing for air.. my baby about the same as yours in terms of weeks.. maybe they are friends now in heaven...
what's your baby's name ? mine already named him Jen.. already bought some baby clothes to wait for him.. sigh... I wonder what I should do with his clothes when i get home...

mum of twins,

so happy for you that you are having twins... so nice to have two babies dressing the same when you bring them out... do have lots of rest...

By the way which hospital did you go to and which gynae you using?
i heard after cerlage you have to go hospital when baby about to due once they remove the stiching baby will just slide out...
don't know true or not..
mum of twins , do come back here and tell us after you give birth okay... please don't forget us... mine i have to ttc end of the year already..

sylvia and marvis..
each time i saw all your posting i couldn't help but cry also... at least you gals knows how it feels ... i still want to try for baby again end of year... but fear is definitely still there... I did ask my gynae if i need to rest for full term 9mths but he did mention that unless you have 5 times miscarriage than you will need to do full term bed rest..
but I think those of us who have went through it once.. i think we better rest for the full term as much as possible...
mum has been showing me articles in the newspaper where people do adoption and all..
one of them i saw lately, went to india to "borrow" a mum's womb to carry the baby till full term... they are chinese.

Hi Slyvia, mavis, bells,
Sorrie to kpo in here. Just wanted to provided some encouragement and advice. Pls do not give up! I feel that the chances of having a successful pregnancy is very good even for incompetent cervix. I lost my babies both at 35 weeks due to blood clotting disorder. As compared to IC (incompetent cervix), my losses are very silent. No heartbeat, no kicking. Despite the fear after losing my first one, I tried for second one, also lost! you can only imagine my despair and hopelessness. Nevertheless, by the grace of God, I got pregnant again the 3rd time. The pregnancy was smooth, but also with much pain as I had to give myself heparin injection from 13 - 34 weeks. I was given 2 painful steriod jabs to mature the lungs at 34 weeks and delivered my baby ALIVE! Nothing is impossible if you don't lose hope and keep trying!
You can read my story in the support group-Stillbirth http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/313179.html?1124186617 . I created that thread. Then this year, I created another thread to relate my success story under My Miracle Baby

Slyvia, think u know who I am.

GOSHH,it's you!!! java, i thought who on earth mirroring your encounter..

Java, you know how much comfort and consolation you had rendered on me? i can't say thank you enough.

Last night, me and hubby observed 30min silence and sobbed long and short..we miss our son so much..

Bells, i think you are right. tho i am a buddhist, am glad to know my son and yours and mavis's child are looking down from heaven at us.
The good news is, Java's two sons were up there looking after ours like big brother angels..

Bells, i lost my son on 23 May. 20days after you.
I am trying to regain confidence and overcome the fear to conceive asap.

But my mom in law prefered i ttc after 1-2years.
sigh..tho i know she means well, the urge and instinct to hold a dear baby is so strong.

Bells, one thing to bear in mind..don't cry as much as you can hold your tears because it is very detrimental to our eyes during this time. And i also know of a lady who developed cancer 2years after giving birth to a seriously ill baby. Apparently she cried almost everyday and had a poor confinement.

Java, we must meet again one of these days..i really hold you in high esteem.

Yes Bells, i saw that headline the day i lost my baby. Was very keen to explore that alternative.
It sounded win win for both surrogate and biological parents and the cost is manageable.

i pondered over the past week...the idea starts to lose steam...cos there is definitely no bonding between us and our baby. And we have no milk for baby too...so sad.

one more msg before i log off Bells, ( my backache on the way...)

knowing you are on confinement and same here,
i will come in 12pm tomorrow. See if we can coincide..

sylvia,
I purposely log in to see if you replied. Aaron is sleeping now, so can chat abit. I cried alot during my confinement too! I can imagine your pain, especially seeing your child pass away infront of you. My first bb, Jordan, passed away 1 week before I discovered I had lost him, so when he came out, his body already turn purple. As I was more aware of baby's movements, I was more alert during my second preg, during lunchtime, bb (I call him James) was still kicking. By dinnertime, no more liao. Very fast. When he came out, he was still rather pinkish. I cried when I carried him and asked the nurse to bathe him and wear the bb clothes that I bought. The sadness is something ppl who never experience such loss can understand. It pierced thru my heart when they had to wheel me up from the delivery ward to the normal ward and I can only see my baby lying lifelessly there and that I'm leaving him. My first loss was more traumatic because I tot all pregnancies will be successful. It came to a shock to me when the gynae told me that no fetal heartbeat detected. I remember sitting there shock and paralysed. I was only 1 mth away from my EDD. In the delivery room, I could hear other newborns crying, but my room was silent.

Many ppl including my own mother, told me to hold TTC until 1 year later. But I couldn't bear the feeling of emptiness. I remember everytime I took the bus back from work, I would stare blankly at the window. I couldn't bear going out with groups of frens and pretending to be happy. Took me a few months to get over and start going out again. Close frens were very supportive. I think you are better than me, you are very open with your feelings. I tend to keep to myself, maybe that's why my hubby say I find it harder to accept reality.

I also don't think you should consider surrogacy. I ever tot of that option and even adoption. But to truly heal from this experience is to have a normal pregnancy and eventually have a baby to hold.

Coincidentally, today is Jordan's 3rd anniversary. Aaron look very much like his brothers especially when he's sleeping.

no lah no need to hold me in high esteem lah. I'm just someone u know who had a terrible pregnancy history, but eventually made it!
take care!

Java, your experience must have made you a much stronger person. I tell myself i am. I found meaning from this whole ordeal and new perspective. I envy you alot cos you have Aaron to hug, to love, to dote, and to feel motherly.
I believe we will love our children more after previous loss. I keep imagining holding my son in my embrace...could only imagine cos i did not do it..my husband also, just gently stroke him on his cheeks.We kinda regret....the only memory now is a photo. He looks like me..sigh..my tears giving way...

Java, your experience must have made you a much stronger person. I tell myself i am. I found meaning from this whole ordeal and new perspective. I envy you alot cos you have Aaron to hug, to love, to dote, and to feel motherly.
I believe we will love our children more after previous loss. I keep imagining holding my son in my embrace...could only imagine cos i did not do it..my husband also, just gently stroke him on his cheeks.We kinda regret....the only memory now is a photo. He looks like me..sigh..my tears giving way...