Any 2009 mummies living in Punggol

Congrats, Miffy.. that's indeed a gd news :D
I had problem getting a confinement lady oso, mostly taken up liao.
Lucky able to get 1 recommended by my hubby's colleague. Not sure is she good.

Hi bluzcorner, so nice to be able to be a SAHM.
I'm waiting for that day to come so that I can spend more time with my kids :D. Don't know when will it be :p

Hello Ladies, thanks for your concern. Now both kids are better, but still have running nose and coughing with phelgm. Guess it's going to take a while for them to recover since most of the people are also sick.

Hi Miffy, Congratulation! Times to eat and eat
My boy also like to play cooking, cashier, vaccum and have lot of "wa wa". My girl play cars, monsters and no "wa wa"
My nanny always said my kids have opposite characters.

Hi Miffy, am going to pm you a confinement auntie contact. My ex-company colleagues all uses this auntie and they all have good comments on her. But the price might a bit high.

Hi Smile & Ophelia, thanks!

Hi Ling76, thanks for recommending the confinement auntie but I have managed to find one. She's recommended by another confinement auntie and happened to be doing confinement for someone living in sengkang. I met up with her yesterday and she seemed gentle and experienced, so I have booked her.

I can't really eat and eat yet, as I have indigestion when I'm pregnant. When pregnant with my girl, it lasted about 4.5 mths. I'm so bloated now and look like 5 mths pregnant

Haha, ur kids so cute, opposite characters. But my niece and my girl do like boy stuff too such as watching thomas the train cartoon and playing with trains.

my gal fungal infection still somes n go, nv really recovered but at least now not as bad liao.

Hehehe..... really looking forward to my break, but hor, i had calculated i can only tendered on 10 Jan so that i can get paid for the cny holidays.... hehe, i really did my maths. But i dun think i can last for SAHM la, the most is 2mths.

Ling, dun think wanna go back to mkting liao, too stressful. I wan to find a less stressful job so i can enjoy my time wif my gal.

Hi Miffy, I'm feeling the same as you. My appetite actually increase only when I'm in my last trimester. 1st 2 trimester actually can eat much.

Maybe due to the weather now that's why everyone is getting sick. My gal also had indigestion since last sat, still not well yet. At nite also can't sleep well, keep tossing & turning about. Apetite also drop abit. Intend to bring her to PD.

Hi Miffy, I remember my gynae asked me to drink something to help with the indigestion. But i can't remember the name now, maybe you can check with pharmacy. Is your gynae at Punggol Plaza?

Hi Miffy, hee...my boy also plays "cooking" with my gal but his favourites are still the cars and vehicles! Wau, your cleaning auntie really slow, hope you can find another good one soon! I might not enroll my boy with Wunderkind liao bcos of the timing, hubby suggest to put him with Dayspring when he is 3 instead. I also had indigestion and very bad morning sickness during my 2 pregnancies, keep burping nonstop and vomit. Gynae prescribed probiotics "Protexin Balance" that time.

Hi Bluzcorner, another 2 months and you can be a temp SAHM! Yah, should find less stressful job especially if you plan to have no. 2!

Hi Ophelia, hope your gal will be better soon! Wau, time really flies and you are already in your last trimester! Your EDD march right?

Thanks Ling0, my EDD end march.
Quite worry about how to handle both kids during bed time.

Been wondering can my MIL able to handle both of them too. I cldn't get my gal in any child care.
At the worst case I have to quit my job
but financially will b very difficult.

Hi Ophelia, dun worry too much...just enjoy your last trimester now and spend more time with your gal! For me, I insisted on letting my kids sleep together so first few weeks was quite tough as the moment my boy cry, my gal will cry too or vice versa. But later on, they were so used to each other's crying till they will just ignore...haha!

Think your MIL should be able to handle both since so experienced le but will be tired for her lor. Maybe you can get in part-time cleaner to help her with the chores or maid if you dun mind having one.

I have your same concern too when I resigned that time...but I told myself, money will never be enough...the more we earn, the more we spent so just have to make do with what we have.

Hello, how is everyone?
Finally both my kids seem to get better recently. But meimei vomit in the car while on the way home, and has been crying during sleep. Hope nothing serious.
By the way i receive a missed call from Teacher Hanna today. Tried calling her back but nobody pick up. Anyone also receive call from her?

Hi Ling76, good to know that both your kids are better le.

Yes, I received a call from Wunderkind yesterday informing that they are not ready to start in Jan yet.

Hi Ling0, thanks.
Wunderkids - Huh, not ready to start in Jan'11. Haiz..
What is your plan for your boy now? I wonder are there any class for 2 yrs old in Punggol?

Hi Ling0, I've been to TalentPlus a few years ago when I'm looking for a playgroup for my son
I dun really like their environment the previous time. Not sure whether have they do any improvement, but think I will prefer Tots House than Talentplus.
Actually I'm thinking of enrolling my girl to Dayspring if Wunderkind doesn't start their 2yrs old class. But I'm scare of the total expenses of nanny+my boy p1+my girl pre-n. Dunno can handle it or not. Still thinking....

Hihi, how have everyone been? Sorry to hear that Wunderkids won't be able to hold a class next Jan. Has anyone considered home based playgroups? I recall seeing an ad in this forum before.

Hi ophelia,

I manage to find a childcare centre for my gal. Its faith educare centre. After gov. Subsidy is $427.60. timing is 7 to 9 in the weekdays n 7 to 2 on saturday. The centre is behind primemart you may like to check it out.

Staying in punngol since 2006. My gal is going to 3years old next year n second one due in April so putiing my elders one to childcare.

Hi Ling76, I see...heard that the class is mixed-age groups (18m to 3yo) for TalentPlus so dun really like it too. Your gal born in Jan? I have called Tots House before, they only accept kids born in 2008 or Jan 2009...same as Dayspring and Kidz Playhouse. Btw, Dayspring can use CDA to pay, you might want to consider?

Hi Althea, how are you and baby? When going back to work?

Hi KyMi, Welcome and Congrats!!! Your no. 2 girl or boy? Btw, your gal born in 2008?

Hi Ling0,

Thanks... My no. 2 is a Boy....
Yap, my gal born in Jan 2008.
Last year she is in the Talentplus. yah the class is mixed-age.. but the malay teachers is good lor...
just tat I want my gal to learn more things so putting her to childcare centre... which close at 9pm as i dun hv anyone to help me pick her up at 7pm if I cnt made it on time...

How are u? It's been a while since I drop in here. I've been busy with chores (the new cleaning auntie quit last min & I haven't been able to find a replacement yet) and also have been feeling very sleepy...so whenever my girl naps, I do the same...zzz :p

Hi Ling76, my gynae's at TMC. She did gave me some pills to aid my indigestion but I tried not to take them unless at times when I feel really uncomfortable.

Hi Bluzcorner, can start countdown to your resignation day. same like u, I'll prefer a less stressful job if I return to work, then I can spend more time with the kids when they are young.

Hi Ophelia, maybe you can get ur relative or neighbour to come help your mil for a few hrs each day when u are working?

For me, I'm sure I'm unable to cope with 2 kids by myself. I'm already having a headache handling my girl now that she's reaching the "terrible 2". I thought of getting a maid but financially it'll be tight as i'm not working. My hb said we would have to cut down on our expenses and reduce both sides' parents & my allowance. But I know my mil will surely complain and say why do I need a maid since I'm not working? -.-"

Luckily, my mum said she'll help me out. I'll send my girl to half day childcare in SK in the morning and go over to my mum's house with #2. So, in the morning, my mum & I will take care of #2 and in the afternoon when my girl & my niece are back from sch, we would try to manage to take care of the 3 kids together. Well, I hope it will work out if not I really have to get a maid and a lecture from mil...

Hi KyMi, welcome & congrats!

Hi Miffy,

Yalor.. My gal now also start to b very clingy liao.
Keep asking me to carry her even when we r at home.
Really worry about how to handle both kid when times come. Moreover I intend to bf my 2nd gal.

My gal is terribly sick for a week liao. PD cant detect the actual virus that cause her illness. Says it may b a new bug

She cough terribly till vomit a few times. Feel so sad to c her at this state. She cant sleep at nite keep coughing badly & nose block. Haiz.....

HI Miffy,

Thanks....

Haiz, so worry....
my gal going child care tomolo... dun know she can cope or not.....

Hi Ophelia, how's ur girl? hope she's getting better. my girl has fallen sick too, sudden fever in the middle of last night. seem to be lots virus ard, u do take care too!

have u check out faith educare centre as mentioned by KyMi? its really not easy taking care of 2 kids...I'm worried too. if one of them falls sick, I would have to stay at hme to take care of them instead of going over to my mum's (so as not to spread the virus to my niece). I don't know how I'm going to cope with 2 sick kids, eps I'm the kind that fall sick easily if I don't get enough sleep.

Hi KyMi, understand how u feel, I'll be worried too. the first few days will be tough for ur girl but it will get better when she gets used to the environment, classmates and teachers.

Hi Miffy,

She is better at least didn't vomit liao, but still cough badly with lots of phlemn & running nose.

Feel so bad to leave her at home when I go to work. Miss her so much. Especially now she sick she really cling on me so much.

Still in dilema whether to put her in care center. Afraid she may think that we dun love her since we have her mei-mei.. That is why I keep harbour the thought of being a SAHM to look after them myself. But not easy to do so with our current financial state.

Alot of thing to worry, duno is it myself who think too much :p

Happy New Year to everyone.
Hope every kids who are sick, recover soon and stay healthy and bubbly quick quick.

My girl has been sick too and it was during the Christmas time. She was admitted to KKH on 24/12 Christmas Eve suspected of dengue fever and discharged on 26/12 after her daily bloodtests showed negative for dengue and improvement in blood counts. But she still needs to go back polyclinic to do blood test 2 weeks later to check her blood counts is on the going up trend. Haiz.. so tired. Nowadays she will sometimes cried in her sleep, guess she still has nightmares about needle poking her hand to do the blood tests.

Think its better to avoid all crowded places now since so many bugs and virus are spreading to our kids.

To all mummy whose kids are sick, take care and drink more cooling water. It will help your health.

Hi All Punggol mummies!

Nice to see you all...

Ling76, my boy also not well. I went to KKH twice and he is diagnosed with acute bronchiolitis

Have to stay awake to make sure he is not having high fever again.. *cross my finger*

Hi Ophelia & friomum,

Do you believe in chinese medicine? My boy used to have running nose which will led to serious coughing with phelgm. There will also be times when he will need nebulizer to help him.

Then I do lot of research on internet and got lost cos so many things to try and not sure which will work. So we decide to try chinese medicine which suppose to be natural. When he is young, he used to see this doc at Thomas. We can see improvement but it will be abit slow. If you are interested, maybe you can try it out.

Chee Seng Tong Medical Hall
200 Upper Thomson Road #01-02 Thomson Imperial Court S(574424)
Tel: 6251 3268

For your info, we need to give the doc a small angbao after consultation. If you are going on sat/sun, it is better if you make a booking. But there is a booking fee and I think is around $2-$3. Cannot remember liow, too long liow

Does anyone have old PAP boy school uniform of size 4XL? or anything above XL?
Please let me know.

Hi Ophelia, you may want to try feeding your girl with white fungus soup cooked with almonds (nan xin bei xin, can get from chinese medical shops). It's suppose to eliminate cough and reduce phelgm.

I'm in a dilema too. After my girl had fever, I wonder if I shld just keep her at hme till she's older & her immunity stronger. But my hb feels that its better to send her to school so that she can learn to socialise and not cling to me so much. Anyway, now deciding between half day CC or short hrs preschool class and to get a maid or not....sigh. I'm the worrying kind too :p

Hi friomum, welcome! How old is ur boy? Hope he gets well soon.

Hi Ling76, thanks for the info on the chinese doc. I shall ask my sister to bring my niece to try it out. My niece often get sick and has a lot of phelgm.

By the way, anyone heard of appletree playgp in punggol? There's 2 in punggol, wonder what's the difference?

And any news from Ms Hana? I tried to call her but cannot get through. Wanted to ask her if the timing is confirmed, can change to an earlier timing...

Hi miffy,

Thanks for the advise....
glad she is ok, she cries on the first day when i left but she stop when a teacher assistance carries her....
2nd day was the best, she din cry at all when m hubby sent her there.....
today is the worse, I shouldn't had step into the childcare she tot tat i am companying her to class...
she cried very loudly when I left.....
hopefully, tomolo will be beta.....

Started my girl at childcare but don't really like it so am looking out for a playgroup for my 19mths old girl, do let me know if you've good ones to recommend within Punggol. Thanks!

Hi miffy,

Thanks you. I'll boil some fungus soup for her this weekend :>

The main problem is her phelgm all congested ard the nose area, the infection had spread to her ear. She seem alot beta after taking a week of antibiotic.

But if her ear infection dun recover by next week, PD suggest to go for ENT scope :S
Quite worry about this.

SO does any1 here manage to enroll to kids kingdom this year?
I may need to look for a CC for my gal next yr. Duno which is beta also.
Heard sunshine Kids is good, but they only provide 2~3hr of lesson.

Hi Ophelia, oh dear, hope your girl recovers from her ear infection soon. My girl starts having cough and runny nose yesterday and tomorrow's her birthday. Hope she gets better by tomorrow and can enjoy her birthday.

I'm considering getting a maid, so don't think I can afford to place my girl in Character Montessori with my niece. I'm looking for cheaper CC or pre-nursery. Where's sunshine kids? Is it a CC, how come they only provide 2-3 hrs lesson? That's rather short if it is a CC.

I tired calling Kids Kingdom today but didn't manage to get through. Maybe be looking at Carpe Diem afterall. I called Qdees, there's 5 kids in the waiting list.

Ling76,
Thanks for the address. I will discuss wif my hubby about it. I also believe chinese herbs are natural so its safer

Luckily he has no fever already..now only left the cough and phelgm

miffy,
hi!my boy is 15mo.
Argh..virus all around!hopefully ur gal get better soon and happy birthday (in advance) to ur lil one

Ophelia,
oh..i dunno that the infection can cause ear infection too..hopefully ur gal getting well soon and no need to go of ENT

how old is ur gal? is she still in bottle? my SIL said dun feed them wif too much diary products like cheese and yogurt when they tend to have ear infection. and keep her head higher than body while she is drinking.

miffy,
hee.. Got the name wrong :p shld b dayspring kindergarden, got confuse with all the centers name. Read fm forum many said it is gd.

Friomum,
my gal is 21mth old.. Still bottle feed. I usually hold her head higher than body when feeding, but she loves cheese & yogurt :s
she is much more better liao, think that antibiotic works well on her. Hope dun have to go thru ENT.

Had any1 get CNY cloth 4 the kids ardy? I had a hard time looking 4 suitable cloth. Not much shop take in new design 4 CNY mostly is those x'mas theme design.

Hi friomum, thanks! my girl is well and she enjoys her bday. but now i'm sick, down with a bad cold since fri and had seen the doc 3 times.

Hi ophelia, oh u are referring to dayspring. ya, heard its good, just that it's a bit far. I got my girl's CNY clothes online tis yr. Last yr, I bought cheongsam like shirt and pants from the shop on the 2nd level at punggol plaza and from kiddy palace.

there's a tots house in punggol, blk 1xx. anyone know where is it located? any reviews? tot of considering it besides dayspring.

btw, how's the PD at punggol plaza? Thinking of switching my girl's PD when I have #2, so that it will be more convenient. Thanks.

Hihi, how has everyone been?

To those mummies with kids who are unwell, u can try "xiaoer qixingcha" a form of chinese herbal brew for kids. My son has been taking it since young and he rarely falls sick. In fact, so far he's sick only once. Got a throat infection but it's prob because he had 2 immunisations in one day which rendered his immunity low.

So sianz, maternity leave almost up. Too busy to enjoy. But yeah, maid is finally here. Speaks decent mandarin so communication is not an issue. Phew...

Oh yah, saw this ad on the forum, anyone interested?

Dear Parents,

Are you looking for a safe place to leave your prince and princess while you are at work or for flexi hrs? No worries, I am here to enlighten your concerns, a mummy of 2 lovely kids. I strongly believe every child is brilliant; hence I will motivate the child to recognize his or her uniqueness to learn and grow to be a confident child

Providing a quality ambience and love is very important for a child’s growth. My home is a bright, clean and is highly conducive for young children to stay, explore, discover and learn through play and creative hands-on activities.

Having the passion for teaching and nurturing young children, I will also provide exclusive aided supervision in their educational learning skills at NO extra charge and FREE learning materials and the child will bring their work back home 

Learning Educational Skills Program
============================
1. Bonding & Play-time
2. Warm-up Greeting Songs
3. Math Development: Recognizing numbers, counting, size, shape etc
4. English Development: Recognize ABC’s and identify alphabets, simple word recognition, pronunciation/ speech etc
5. Fun Story Time
6. Integrated Theme Activity: Arts & Crafts, Flashcards, Music & Dance
7. Bubble time with Farewell songs
Services rendered (Inclusive of Learning Educational Skills)
=============
~ Ssmall group of max 3 kids for nanny service from 7am to 7pm ($350 nego with meal provided!!)
~ Small playgroup of max 3 kids for daily 2 hrs program ($130 only!!)
~ Flexi hours care from 6pm to 9pm ($200 only!!)

Venue: Punggol Drive
Do feel free to contact me for a fruitful discussion: 97811 758 (Mrs Ron)

Hi Althea, the "xiaoer qixingcha" is it bitter or has herbal taste? I wonder if my girl will take it.

Ur maid is an experienced one? wow, so gd that she can speak mandarin. and now that she's here, u can have more time with ur kids.

Good Morning Ladies! How is everyone and hope all kiddos have recover and bouncing around now

Hi Miffy, my son went for Tots House playgroup before. It is inside the RC, beside Mee Toh School. Cannot remember the Blk, but just walk towards the hdbs behind the clinic and all the way back, and you can see the RC.

2 classes are held at the same time at Tots House. One for the playgroup (3 yrs old) which will be in the inner room, and the older group will occupy the outer room. Everytime the younger group need to go washroom, they will bypass the older group classroom. You can go and check the place out. The teachers are quite ok.

I didn't know there is a PD at Punggol Plaza. Are you referring to Kidslink? If yes, it has been closed for some time.

Hi, how's everyone? Busy with CNY preparation? the thread seems quiet these days...

I'm better now but still get stuffy nose now and then, not sure if its due to the weather. But having preg insommia now, sigh...when preg with my girl, i also have this problem but this time seems worse. When I can't sleep or wake up in the middle of the night and can't get back to sleep, I can't help feeling worried and scared.

Hi Ling76, thanks, will check out Tots House one of the days, prob after CNY. Did ur son enjoy his lessons at Tots House?

Ya, I think its Kidslink. I know its located on the 4th level. Thanks, didn't know it has been closed.

Hi Miffy,

How about drinking warm drinks eg Milo? I used to have that problem too. I would be wide awake in the middle of the nite and can't sleep. So i tried drinking Milo, take some biscuits and surf the internet/SMH. After a while, I'll feel sleepy enough to lay down and rest.

My son enjoy his lessons at Tots House bcos he has friends. But he can't remember his teachers or friends at Tots House now.

Yesterday my son showed me his K2 math book from PAP and I got a shock. They are now teaching simple multiples, division and doing addition & subtraction with numbers more than 10. The words they used are also not familar. Like XX number with XX number is addition. Dunno how to teach him when he go P1 next year. So scary...

Hi Ling76, thanks for the suggestion. Maybe I will try taking warm milk instead. I get heaty easily, so don't dare to take much milo. My health not that good, thinking after breastfeeding #2, I shld go and see a chinese sinseh about my health.

Yesterday also couldn't sleep much. When I on the fan, i feel that my nose gets stuffy. Off the fan and I feel warm...aiyo, don't know what's wrong with my body. Going to my gynae visit on thursday and ask her for advice...

Oh mine, sound scary to me the K2 maths. I heard my friend attending maths class for parent when her son went P1 and I thought she's kiasu, now seem like its necessary.

Happy new year ladies!

Sorry miffy, missed your earlier question about the 小儿七星茶. It is not bitter, has a 甘甜 taste. Especially now Cny, can get a bit heaty, so u can give some to your gal. Btw, have u got another cleaning lady's help? Should be tough for u to manage a toddler with the housework not forgetting u r pregnant as well. Take good care of your health too.

Actually having a maid frees my hubby and myself to some free time to ourselves. Although I frequently have guilty feelings of not being able to spend sufficient time with them, having some me time does make me feel much better to care for them. I find that being home 24 hours with my boys is both mentally and physically draining esp when the older one clings to me like glue. Now the younger one is also starting to choose his caregiver. Hubby wanted to carry him to soothe him to sleep but he ended up howling. Sheesh.

Oh miffy, I can pass u a pack of 小儿七星茶to try first if u r worried your gal won't like it. Just pm me, otherwise my response time is slow. Haha.

hi, happy cny 2 all the great mums..
Wish everyone 心想事成 万事如意 most imptly 身体健康

Hi Althea, thks, will buy a dose of 小儿七星茶 and let my niece and my girl try.

I haven't manage to get a replacement cleaning lady but my husband has been helping me with the cleaning and ironing during wkends.

Recently I have not been sleeping well, keep waking up many times at night and keep having stuffy nose. And sometimes feel worried and scared and I don't know why. I didn't feel this way with my 1st pregnancy. Anyway, shld be getting a maid afterall. She will be coming mth end or early mar.

It is probably your pregnancy hormones acting up which is making you feel insecure. The stuffy nose syndrome is its common though during pregnancy. It is due to increased blood flow to the nasal region causing some swelling in the nasal cavity. Some people experienced nasal bleeding as a result so be careful not to blow your nose too hard or u may end up bursting the cappillaries. Not too sure what u can do about it. There r definitely medications to help but since u r pregnant, you want to avoid drugs as much as possible. How about inhaling some prematurely vapours? But u must check to see which are safe for pregnancy.

What is your future maid's nationality? I am one who really detests having a maid at home but now that she is here, I am really grateful. Is yours brand new? You will need to train her initially so can still get a bit frustrating. Hopefully she is a fast learner. Btw, where are all you mummies staying? I am staying behind prime supermarket. Our kids can play together someday.

Miffy,

I did feel insecure at a period of time too.
Maybe I just worry too much abt how to handle both kids. Keep thinking of what will happen & what to do.