Advice needed for Day 3 Newborn - Breastfeeding with Supplement Formula

Aspiring Dad

Hi all,

I’m a newbie dad and we just had a baby boy in Perth few days ago. Like to seek the collective wisdom of this forum regarding breastfeeding.

My wife’s been breastfeeding the lil one almost 1-1.5hrs in between each feed. But the newborn started crying inconsolably after each feed on day 2 and was still showing hunger cues after feeding. The initial feeding took 30mins on day 1 and almost an hour on day 2. My wife is suspecting she is not producing sufficient colostrum and milk supply is not here yet. Lactation consultant tried to hand express colostrum to no avail and gave us a breast pump to use for 15mins after each feeding (which is taking a toll on my wife after the long feeding session

On day 2, Newborn started to cry more frequently and at most sleep for 30mins then start to fuss again. Noted his pee had reddish discharge and was informed that its urea crystals and the nurses said it’s normal. I googled and read that the baby could be dehydrated due to insufficient colostrum/milk intake. They also claimed that the increased feedings were due to cluster feeding.

I caved in and requested for formula milk of which the nurses started to get edgy and informed us that whatever we experienced is normal. Somehow, our paternal instincts told us that the baby is definitely very hungry from his inconsolable crying. The nurses got us to sign a consent form for the usage of formula milk.

After giving lil one 20ml of milk, he sleep soundly after and even passed poo. But we could gradually see that he is rejecting the breast a little more (perhaps no colostrum/milk flow as compared to bottle feeding). He started to fuss when latched on on day 3 night and I could visibly see the guilt and despair on my wife’s face for feeling the inability to provide for the kid.