From what I remember hearing from my husband, yes it is on the same day. However do note that the polyclinic BT may be less sensitive than some of the HPT we get outside cos at the polyclinic, the sensitivity is 25 mIU/ml hCG whereas I think for some early predictor tests u can get outside on your own, it is probably 18 or 20.

Oh i see.. Tks for the info! I thought BT is the most sensitive one.. I saw a HPT which claims to be highly sensitive, cant remember at Guardian or Watson's.. Brand is Fortel if im nt wrong. Not sure if it's reliable or nt. My cycle gone haywire recently so im not even sure when to expect my nxt period. Boobs have been sore for 5 days now.. Today very very sore esp at the sides!

Ok my mistake for not putting it across correctly. hcG is first present in ur blood, then your urine. So if you test +ve on a BT, you may not test +ve on your HPT because the conc. of hcG isnt high enough in your pee yet. On the other hand, if you see a faint line on your HPT, chances are that it will be a clear positive on the BT. The time lag is about 2-3 days (i.e. hcG will be present in your pee 2-3 days after it is first present in your blood).

hi all, i am newly married. thinking of starting a family soon. each period cycle on average is 38 days.. is that too long? my periods are also not regular.. sometimes 28 days, sometimes 40 days, hence the average. periods were much worse in the past, once i went by without period for 3 months!!! resulted in acne all over my face.

my hubby is overweight.. work 12 hour shift for 3-4 days a week. a tcm doctor once told him he cannot have sex too often (?!) due to weak back.

now that we are married and thinking of starting a family.. do u guys think it is necessary to visit a gynae for pre-conception checkup to iron out any issues. am planning to visit tcm to 'bu' my body first.

have not done an scan or pap smear or blood tests etc before..

help please!

hi all, i am newly married. thinking of starting a family soon. each period cycle on average is 38 days.. is that too long? my periods are also not regular.. sometimes 28 days, sometimes 40 days, hence the average. periods were much worse in the past, once i went by without period for 3 months!!! resulted in acne all over my face.

my hubby is overweight.. work 12 hour shift for 3-4 days a week. a tcm doctor once told him he cannot have sex too often (?!) due to weak back.

now that we are married and thinking of starting a family.. do u guys think it is necessary to visit a gynae for pre-conception checkup to iron out any issues. am planning to visit tcm to 'bu' my body first.

help please!

You may wish to do your first pap smear before you start. No need to rush to do things like follicle scan, HSG first because you are just starting to try. Please also start on folic acid asap :)

What the TCM said abt being unable to have sex too often is bull. If you are not intending to time your ovulation etc, the alternative will be to have sex regularly, i.e. 2-3 times every week. May be good if you exercise together with your hb so you can motivate him to lose some weight.

You may wish to do your first pap smear before you start. No need to rush to do things like follicle scan, HSG first because you are just starting to try. Please also start on folic acid asap :)

What the TCM said abt being unable to have sex too often is bull. If you are not intending to time your ovulation etc, the alternative will be to have sex regularly, i.e. 2-3 times every week. May be good if you exercise together with your hb so you can motivate him to lose some weight.

thanks for your reply! will get the folic acid from unity.
do you think i should still get a gynae first for checkup regarding my irregular periods?

i have been learning to time my ovulation. i use a period calendar. everytime it prompts me that im at my fertile period, i will check my cervical mucus. but they always dont tally! eg if say fertile but my mucus is actually thick and whitish.. O_O totally blur liao.
so.. should follow my own body right. i heard that before ovulation it will be slightly thick and wet, ovulation will be almost liquid like or raw egg white texture? i dont think i have ever seen the egg white texture.. only see liquid, almost like water!

do you think i should still get a gynae first for checkup regarding my irregular periods?

i have been learning to time my ovulation. i use a period calendar. everytime it prompts me that im at my fertile period, i will check my cervical mucus. but they always dont tally! eg if say fertile but my mucus is actually thick and whitish.. O_O totally blur liao.
so.. should follow my own body right. i heard that before ovulation it will be slightly thick and wet, ovulation will be almost liquid like or raw egg white texture? i dont think i have ever seen the egg white texture.. only see liquid, almost like water!

for how long have ur periods been irregular? for me, i had that for 8 yrs, andhaving no periods for like 3-4 mths wasnt uncommon for me (so in a year, i get abt 6 to 8 periods on avg, sometimes less?), so i acty consulted a gynae 1x 10 yrs ago, and another one in march this yr because i didnt get my period despite stopping oral contraceptives 3 mths earlier.

oh and yes, if what the app says does not tally with ur bodily signs, ignore what the app says and see what your body is telling you instead. your "almost like water" CM shld be ur fertile CM i believe. I doubt every woman sees EWCM. I didnt see any EWCM after i got my period and started clomid in march (also no positive ovulation predictor strips!!) so i thought that there wasnt any chance for me... so i just adopted a wait and see approach and continued to have fun. nv had my period since mar and am abt 16 wks along now..

for how long have ur periods been irregular? for me, i had that for 8 yrs, andhaving no periods for like 3-4 mths wasnt uncommon for me (so in a year, i get abt 6 to 8 periods on avg, sometimes less?), so i acty consulted a gynae 1x 10 yrs ago, and another one in march this yr because i didnt get my period despite stopping oral contraceptives 3 mths earlier.

since i hit puberty lor. when i was in sec sch/ jc i didnt chart my periods but i believe they were v spaced out. when in uni i started taking antibiotics for acne. when stopped acne got worse. doc prescribed contraceptives. after stop, period din come for 3 months and face got worse and worse. went to tcm instead. after 2 mths of medicine, period finally came and became regular with tcm help. after stopping tcm, back to original symptoms, missing period and acne. took contraceptives again for 6 mths. straight aft that self condition body by taking bai feng wan. somehow managed to get my periods to continue coming even tho on average is 38 days..

sorry for my grandma story!

speaking of bai feng wan, it is recommeded for pple who are TTC? how should i take them? eat for 2 weeks after period?

oh and yes, if what the app says does not tally with ur bodily signs, ignore what the app says and see what your body is telling you instead. your "almost like water" CM shld be ur fertile CM i believe. I doubt every woman sees EWCM. I didnt see any EWCM after i got my period and started clomid in march (also no positive ovulation predictor strips!!) so i thought that there wasnt any chance for me... so i just adopted a wait and see approach and continued to have fun. nv had my period since mar and am abt 16 wks along now..

how did your doc prescribe you clomid? must TTC for certain period with no results then take? i read online that for women with irregular periods can take clomid too.

i told my dr, i'd love to have a horse baby. and yes i am all prepared to start on clomid + metformin (cos i hve pcos). but of course there are some doctors who will start clomid only if u ttc for a while.

since i hit puberty lor. when i was in sec sch/ jc i didnt chart my periods but i believe they were v spaced out. when in uni i started taking antibiotics for acne. when stopped acne got worse. doc prescribed contraceptives. after stop, period din come for 3 months and face got worse and worse. went to tcm instead. after 2 mths of medicine, period finally came and became regular with tcm help. after stopping tcm, back to original symptoms, missing period and acne. took contraceptives again for 6 mths. straight aft that self condition body by taking bai feng wan. somehow managed to get my periods to continue coming even tho on average is 38 days..

sorry for my grandma story!

speaking of bai feng wan, it is recommeded for pple who are TTC? how should i take them? eat for 2 weeks after period?
correct me if i understood u wrongly - it seems that ur AF comes on avg every 38 days now? then that isnt considered irregular... and for bai feng wan, sorry i cant comment cos I personally do not really believe in TCM and have not taken bai feng wan b4.

and pardon me for asking, are you overweight qi89? if you are, you may want to get urself checked for PCOS cos severe acne + irregular periods + overweight etc are symptoms. i dont have severe acne, am slightly overweight by the asian BMI definition (tho by caucasion stds, i am not). but i have pcos nia~

u need to visit gynae to check then only they will decide whether u need clomid or nt. as clomid do have its own side effect.
since u mention u have ard 38days cycle. i can say tat u actually O later.
I also have ard 35days cycle. n i O on ard CD20/21. depending de.
mayb u need to try detecting ur O period first wif OPK or BBT. so u know ur body better.

As for bai feng wan. i did not take before. some ladies say its gd. but my gynae say no gd. hahaha..
so i never take since i trust my gynae....

suggestion is tat u can try for 3-5 cycles first before u decide to go for a check since normally for n newly wedded couple, will take 1yr to conceive naturally. unless u really wan then can go c gynae for a check....

and pardon me for asking, are you overweight qi89? if you are, you may want to get urself checked for PCOS cos severe acne + irregular periods + overweight etc are symptoms. i dont have severe acne, am slightly overweight by the asian BMI definition (tho by caucasion stds, i am not). but i have pcos nia~

hi hi its ok.. im not overweight! bmi is 19.9.
what i read online is that u can have pcos but no severe acne, excess hair or obesity leh. make me more and more confused haha.

u need to visit gynae to check then only they will decide whether u need clomid or nt. as clomid do have its own side effect.
since u mention u have ard 38days cycle. i can say tat u actually O later.
I also have ard 35days cycle. n i O on ard CD20/21. depending de.
mayb u need to try detecting ur O period first wif OPK or BBT. so u know ur body better.

As for bai feng wan. i did not take before. some ladies say its gd. but my gynae say no gd. hahaha..
so i never take since i trust my gynae....

suggestion is tat u can try for 3-5 cycles first before u decide to go for a check since normally for n newly wedded couple, will take 1yr to conceive naturally. unless u really wan then can go c gynae for a check....

thanks for the advice. can you share your gynae details?
whats opk? i know bbt is basal body temperature.

hi hi its ok.. im not overweight! bmi is 19.9.
what i read online is that u can have pcos but no severe acne, excess hair or obesity leh. make me more and more confused haha.
yup u r right. i too do not have excess hair and neithre am i obese but i am a pcos sufferer. but one thing to note tho... irregular periods =/= cannot conceive ya. just makes it a bit harder , assuming u dont have other problems e.g. STD , male factor infertility etc. I thikn it's a good idea to relax now and just enjoy ur (sex) life with ur hb! If u ask me...I do miss the days when I had more energy. I guess it's easier said than done to relax (cos i was a nervous wreck in feb /march such that i was crying over having -ve OPKs, -ve HPT, no periods) but it def is much better when u just heck care and focus on ur hb :) Miracles do take time to make!

thanks for the advice. can you share your gynae details?
whats opk? i know bbt is basal body temperature.
My gynae is Dr Loh SF. He is specialist in Fertility issue de. becoz i on off try for few yrs no have then go for him to have a check up.
I dun have much symptoms yet i m PCOS. but doesnt mean u cannot conceive. juz take longer time as O is late.
OPK - Ovulation predictor kit. use to test whether r u goin to ovulate soon.
I used tat instead of take BBT as i dun like to wake up on the same time everyday to take. keke...
it works for me lar. but it still depends on individual.

mayb u can try naturally first before deciding to go gynae to check or wat. lesser stress. some ladies find it very stressful to take BBT n use OPK.

help please!

My hubby is slightly over weight... no such thing as back issues for him.

Generally If you are below 35 n haf been trying for 1 yr without successfully conceiving then you should speak with a gynae. If above 35 is 6 mths. But must b active in trying.

My cycle is also 38 days. It is considered on the longer side compared to the norm 28 to 30 days but the impt thing is that you do ovulate.

Not everyone has cervical mucus when they ovulate for me.. it doesnt happen often. So i prefer to use an OPK.

i think i will go polyclinic to get a referral to find a gynae for pre-conception consultation. i want to confirm if i have pcos and if i have any cysts or blockages due to period pains. at least know that me and hubby are healthy :)

When i conceive my #1, i was obese.
AFter seeing TCM/western dr no result, we decided to take a break and concentrate on losing some weight first.
Than shortly got pregnant le.

Now with #1, very hard to go exercise.

Qi89, maybe can try different position for his weak back?

my CM also not very zhun 1. It is more slimy/wet before my AF come. Take temperature even more difficult coz i don't get a good night rest with #1.

When i conceive my #1, i was obese.
AFter seeing TCM/western dr no result, we decided to take a break and concentrate on losing some weight first.
Than shortly got pregnant le.

Now with #1, very hard to go exercise.

Qi89, maybe can try different position for his weak back?

my CM also not very zhun 1. It is more slimy/wet before my AF come. Take temperature even more difficult coz i don't get a good night rest with #1.

hi my hb is considered obese. he exercises v regularly but the weight is just too hard to lose. thinking of bringing to tcm cuz he's too heaty and he has 'toxins' in his body.

can i ask, if your cm is not accurate, how you chart your ovulation?

i think i will go polyclinic to get a referral to find a gynae for pre-conception consultation. i want to confirm if i have pcos and if i have any cysts or blockages due to period pains. at least know that me and hubby are healthy :)
u can go to polyclinic. but waiting time is long to c gynae as under govt.
but then meantime u can still try while waiting...... mayb u will hit jackpot while waiting...

hi my hb is considered obese. he exercises v regularly but the weight is just too hard to lose. thinking of bringing to tcm cuz he's too heaty and he has 'toxins' in his body.

can i ask, if your cm is not accurate, how you chart your ovulation?
one way is to use OPKs. :)

uhh think he din give a term for it. just say weak back. shen xu means weak kidneys right. i know kidneys is linked to fertility.
well..depends on whether u believe in tcm...i have heard of tcm who says "shen xu" when thr person sprained the back.

@gammahedging ,@darbi , you all got sore boobs when BFP? I don't have....

I am getting very anxious. I've no symptoms at all, except feeling more tired than usual and on-and-off cramps. Wanna see gynae right now but on the other hand, i know i cannot see anything now. Barely 5 weeks.

Gamma & darbi, any of u feels lower body ache at this moment? I m having bad ache since last weekend, after work lay on bed jus feel like the lower body is not mine, super "sour"..

yew_yew,
relax, every ppl is diff de. me preg starting also no symptoms. but i went to c gynae when at wk5 due to I am PCOS. so gynae tell me to c him once preg to get med.
for u. tink by wk6plus shld b able to c heartbeat. wait for another wk then c gynae... meantime juz try to relax.....

I am getting very anxious. I've no symptoms at all, except feeling more tired than usual and on-and-off cramps. Wanna see gynae right now but on the other hand, i know i cannot see anything now. Barely 5 weeks.

Oh i completely had no symptoms when bfp. I was tired n slpt 10hrs a day. Dull cramps r norm cos womb is stretching n bb is growing. At 5 weeks it will b a dot on the vaginal ultrasound. Wait a bit more n u can see heart beat. Do take the supplements now while yr MS has not kicked in.

Gamma & darbi, any of u feels lower body ache at this moment? I m having bad ache since last weekend, after work lay on bed jus feel like the lower body is not mine, super "sour"..

Currently i haf been experiencing some backaches on and off.

hi ladies, i m back again....
today at CD33 , still waiting for Miss O. Have been feeling very tired, feel like sleeping early at night but when i lie down on bed, i can lie for 2hrs, insomnia!!! sometimes even stayed up at 1am but feeling extreme tired.. I didn't take any caffeine stuffs so it is not bcos of food.
having backache at waist level... my cm is light yellowish jelly type.... headaches on n off almost daily. gastric pain on and off and cramps on and off. diarrhea at noon after lunch!!! wonder if anyone encounters these? dono is it the rainy weather that makes me sleepy? I am feeling sleepy all the time recently. could it be pre-O symptoms?

stoney, gamma : a few more mths and u can see baby already... same for hopeful mum, even faster.

darbi, iwanbaby, moving on to 2nd tri soon right?

yew yew, enjoy what u can do now b4 your bad days start LOL

who is another one with the same repeated name who tested + ard e same time as yew yew ah??

stoney, gamma : a few more mths and u can see baby already... same for hopeful mum, even faster.

who is another one with the same repeated name who tested + ard e same time as yew yew ah??
Hi Emily,
yup. another 2mths plus. time juz passes....
how u been? ur cycle got shorter now? hope all is well for u.....

Hi Emily,
yup. another 2mths plus. time juz passes....
how u been? ur cycle got shorter now? hope all is well for u.....
i m ok.. still flat tummy if u are not talkin abt my tummy fats :p
not seeing any gynae and tcm at the moment. taking a break, dono how long will my break be... trying to pamper myself now and not think abt making babies so far. but well, i m still ttc-ing for bb, just tat nv think that much. last time i used to be v stressed up taking monitoring bbt, daily opk and tilting my butt aft ttc. but now, though i still taking bbt but not tracking as much as last time, i just wake up n take, may not be e same timing daily. opk as n when i feel like it and i will stay in bed for a while and clean up n slp aft bd-ing.

wow tat's pretty fast! u are abt e same time as hopeful mum if i m not wrong... wow woo woo bb in ur arms in no time! :D

yar i also have no symptoms!! had some cramps at the start after bfp, then now nothing for a few days already!!! but i still went ahead to see a gynae yesterday just to check check and have a peace of heart... like u say... too early lor so only a sac lol. i thought i am lucky one with no symptoms... but gynae say... just wait and see... symptoms is highest week 8-10... SIANZ i thought if by now nothing means i am lucky girl!! >.<

me me!! hehe *waves*
hi ladies, i m back again....
today at CD33 , still waiting for Miss O. Have been feeling very tired, feel like sleeping early at night but when i lie down on bed, i can lie for 2hrs, insomnia!!! sometimes even stayed up at 1am but feeling extreme tired.. I didn't take any caffeine stuffs so it is not bcos of food.
having backache at waist level... my cm is light yellowish jelly type.... headaches on n off almost daily. gastric pain on and off and cramps on and off. diarrhea at noon after lunch!!! wonder if anyone encounters these? dono is it the rainy weather that makes me sleepy? I am feeling sleepy all the time recently. could it be pre-O symptoms?
sounds more to me that you're overworked or something! get some rest dear... need to be well rested for hormones to be regular... :)

Emily, m in tri 2 already.. :) bad lower body aches nowadays..

I think its doodoo u referring to ba...