Joy, I always use 1 long del monte banana and 1 whole apple/pear. I will pour about 4 to 5 oz of this purée into a small bowl or fill up half of the small bowl. The remaining I will put 4 oz into each Avent storage cup and store in the fridge. I don't freeze baby food as I like to make fresh ones for her. The most I will keep 24 hours. If she can't finish, I'll eat.

Faith, yes i freeze the pureed food using oxo cubes... will wake up early n thaw them before warming it up to mix with porridge or heinz smooth baby rice.. most food can be frozen except avocado, banana n porridge... i will prepare them fresh on the day.. for porridge i will wake up early to cook in slow cooker then puree it.. for avocado n banana, i will prepare them just before meal...
after the first meal, i will thaw the food for lunch n then warm it up.. so when they wake up from morning nap will feed them lunch.

they are used to the routine.. i feed them one at a time.. the other will play at jumperoo or gym mat.. they taking 3 naps during the day.. ard 10am, 2pm n 6pm...

joy n faith, i using the small malaysia bananas instead of the del monte type.. cos the long type is heaty n will cause constipation easily.. i use 2 small bananas n puree with formula milk before mixing with apple

faith i freeze because it actually maintain the freshness of the food n lock in the nutrients as the fruits will degrade very quickly if store too long in the fridge.. i watched food detective n the nutritionist commented tt frozen food will lock in nutrients tts y can keep longer.. i read baby food books also recommend the food to be freeze.. Usually i prepare food for 3 days.. as they finish up very fast.. so wun keep in the freezer tt long

Cheery, then how long do you feed your twins? I read and it says not more than 15 minutes per feeding. But it really takes me more than 15 minutes to feed my girl. About 30 minutes. You feed them on high chair or rocker chair?

Actually I ask this series of questions because I often find myself very busy preparing foods for her, feed her, clean her up, wash up and clear up the mess. From the time I start preparing food till I finish clearing up the mess, it can take me like 3 hours. I usually don't wipe her mouth with damp cloth because I read that this action actually irritates them a lot. I just let her mess around with her food even when she uses her hands to touch her mouth, her hair and the tray on the high chair with the food. I only do one final clean up at the end of the feed. I read that mealtime for them now is the time to have sensory exploration as in you rather let them put food in their mouth than anything else. My girl has developed the pincer grasp skill so she will pick up food that has dropped onto the tray and put into her mouth to eat.

Because she doesn't sleep well at night, so I also don't sleep well too. So in the morning, I tend to just nurse her and make her sleep so that I can catch some winks too. I tried waking up early to prepare food but she will also wake up after I'm gone for a while. It's like she can really smell me that I'm not beside her. Even for naps, it's the same.

Do your twins really sleep at 10 am, 2 pm and 6 pm sharp? Then what time is their bedtime? And how long is per nap? I realise because my girl wakes up at 11ish in the morning. She only takes one nap in a day after her first solid meal, which she sleeps for about 1-1.5 hours.

So yeah Cheery, are you still BF? How many times a day? I don't really keep track. I'm still BF on demand. But I think it's about 3-4 times.

faith, between 10 mins to 30 mins as both their speed is different... i put them on high chair during feeding.

i do wipe their face if it gets too dirty.. they like to place their hands in the bowl which i dislike but no choice lol..

yes ard tt time not sharp.. power morning nap abt 1-1.5 hrs... Usually afternoon is shorter abt 1hr.. bedtime is 9pm as i dl them to sleep.. they usually wake up in the night for dream feed.. last feed at 6 then i start my day doing their food..

yes i still bf on demand too.. nv keep track.. just latch when they want milk

Then does any of your babies refuse to sleep? My girl is very alert and active. She can stay awake for hours. I try to make her sleep when I think she has been awake for more than 2-3 hours, she will fight against to sleep, even I DL to sleep.

ImageUploadedByForum1437461123.498583.jpg

FYI

Why avocado cant freeze? I actually freeze and fed them lolx. usually give fresh but that time I just freeze cause got excess. today bought avocado again intend to give. my girls from start schedule is gone liao. I think ifc is good cause they can schedule for me but weekend like faith all haywire. my girls sleep pattern also bad. usually younger latch can sleep but elder must really see her mood. she is one sleepy baby who refused to sleep. middle night also can whin and toss and turn but she aint hungry.

faith, usually they are ok but if one refuse to sleep.. after playing for a while he/she will rub eyes or yawn n i will latch them to sleep... mb ur girl is oversimulated tts y fight against sleep.. need to calm her down first before latch her to sleep... they are taking their afternoon nap now..

i m using oxo blocks cubes that are BPA, phthalate and PVC free,
Top-rack dishwasher safe
Microwave and freezer safe.. i dun have microwave at home.. only use hot water to warm it up.. the plastic is quite thick not those flimsy type..

Iwantahealthybaby, usually i pureed avocado with fm.. tts y cannot freeze.. if u cut into slices can freeze.. but i prefer to use fresh avocado cos it tends to brown.. Usually use half for them.. the other half i eat or make avocado banana shake for myself haha..

So even when they go out, they can also sleep accordingly to the time that you mentioned: 10 am, 2 pm and 6 pm?

Actually I know my girl is overstimulated. I tried turning her off but she has an inquisitive mind, everything she's also interested.

faith, depends on what time we go out.. Usually i bring them out only after the 2 feedings.. so morning nap definitely at home.. when out they tend to nap on n off in carrier when in air conditioned places.. especially in buses.. once board the bus within 5 mins they sleep.. Think it's the noise generated by the engine tt made them sleep...

no lah haha.. i carrier one my dh carrier the other haha not alone if take bus.. impossible.. only with stroller then i bring them out on my own... yes stroller must be folded on bus.. so no way for me to take bus if out alone with stroller as not possible to fold it..

Cheery u are really shen! Haha. Salutes! I love babies that can sleep fast. My girls everything also interested especially younger one. Elder one is easily tired type but can't sleep. My girls usually sleep in car but happens always when near destination lol. For me I puree my avocado like that no add anything new so I just freeze the rest. Yes they brown easily but I think still can eat right.

My elder been refusing food now don't know why. Any suggestions?

Iwahb, I read at about 9 months old, it is about the age that they will start rejecting foods. My girl is taking less too so what I did was feed her about 3 oz of main course like mashed meat/fish/vegetables/porridge and 2 oz of dessert like mashed fruits in one meal. My girl is quite into fruits. I notice if I give her just mashed fruits, she can finish more than the usual size of main course.

But generally I think my girl is a small eater. Just like in the past, she didn't drink a lot of milk.

Now I try to keep feeding time to 15 minutes and I notice towards the end of the 15 minutes, she will always start to have the "want to vomit out the food" expression. Don't know if she's gagging. She will make the want to vomit sound.

Remember previously I mentioned she could finish 5 oz of solids? That was the first time and after that, she had fever. I don't know if I had fed her too much that she developed fever at that time.

So after that, I only give her 4 oz per meal but she always cannot finish. Always left about 0.5 to 1 oz of solids.

Iwantahealthybaby, my boy also recently start to reject food.. Dunno is it due to teething.. 2 lower teeth coming out.....

faith i start off with 1 oz.. then 2 oz.. just increase to 3 oz... Dunno why then they can take 5oz

Cheery, my girl is also teething. Same the two lower teeth are coming out already. I also read that during teething period, they may not have appetite. My girl lost her appetite when she had that fever end of June. Then after she recovered, her appetite is never as good as before fever. Before fever, I didn't need to coax her to open her mouth. She would just open her mouth readily. Now sometimes I need to coax.

I also read their stomachs are just as big as their fists.

faith, yap i think so.. just now i give him pear mix with sweet potato.. he finish everything.. cos pear n apple are his fav food.. so Think have to mix food with these 2 fruits then he willing to eat..

My elder also when sick no appetite and after recovery also no Good. They have two bottom teeth already wonder if the upper coming out soon. I didn measure how much I give them just feed and feed but my estimate is not a lot.

Actually I'm a bit worried on the progress of my elder. She tends to get tired easily and not as active compare to her sister. Motor skills also not as good. Who can I go get it check. she does look at you when u talk to her, try to grab things but somehow she didn make extra effort. She rather cry and wait for things to go her way.

Iwantahealthybaby, my boy same as your elder girl. progress slower than my girl.. rather wait for me to bring to him then make an effort to get it.. but my girl motor skills very good.. go all the way til she gets wat she want..

joy, yes both mine like to drink water.. Usually i give them halfway through the feeding n end of the feeding.. feed them using the spoon from a bowl

Today my girl champion. She woke up at 6.30 am. Then slept from 7.30 am to 9.45 am. Fed her solids at 10 am. Took 5 mouthfuls and refused to eat. Then slept at 12.45 pm to 1.30 pm. Fed her solids at 1.45 pm. Took about 6-7 mouthfuls and refused to eat. I gotta eat together with her. Then she only wanted to eat from the teaspoon that I was using and not from her usual feeding spoon.

My girl likes to drink plain water.

Hello ladies, i am finally back. My phone has been spoilt on and off. Send to service centre reformat everything then come back spoilt again. Now then i just install back this forum apps.. how are you ladies?

iwahb-jus 2share, polyclinic will schedule 9m check.. if they feel anythg 2check further, may refer 2kk specialist.. i guess tat will b subsidised.. prudently, can brg 2pd n check b4 tat, if pd suggest anythg, tell é doc directly at è 9m check n ask for referal...
this is wat i plan 2do..

my one dun lik 2drk water.. tryin hard...

Mine...once she knows it's plain water, she will open her mouth but food, she will not open. Only at the beginning. Sometimes I feed her water in between the solids, she will look at the spoon and check if it's water. If it's water, she will open her mouth.

Yeah there's this 9mo checkup at polyclinic. It was scheduled when we took the last vaccinations when she was 6mo. Mine going in August.

Also check the health booklet for the development checklist. Let the doctor know if your baby has not developed certain skills/behaviour by certain months old.

Download Wonder Weeks app. It's very useful to me.

good 2drk water...food can try dif food, mayb baby jus feel like havin a dif food on that day.. water only 1kind... dun like problem... mayb i try a dif cup...

iwahb-i also wan 2say usually these uncommon behaviour we see in baby is temporary.. it's a stage n will outgrow...

Thxs everyone. My girls doesn't have 9mths checkup at polyclinic. Oh wait ok I think they schedule them a hearing test somewhere in August. Probably I ask the doc. The thing is my elder she show signs of wanting and trying but she doesn't work for it. I remember few months back I brought her to kkh Dr Khoo she say she is doing well cause she looks at the doc and will try to grab her stuff etc. don't know Isit I got two babies right in front of me that's why the difference is so obvious. Cheery is ur boy always sleepy and gets tired easily? My elder will. My younger now like champion Liao can crawl can pull herself up to stand and sit from crawling position. Talking about eating my elder the most able to bluff her into eating 2 spoons and that's it. Younger on bad days 6-7 and on good days 10-15 spoons. Even I eat myself they also refused to eat further.

Iwantahealthybaby, same my boy also show signs of interest but will not work for it.... Usually he will wake up 1st during nap time n i just coax him back to sleep.. dun get tired easily as he likes to stay awake n wants to be carried.

my twins also have development checkup(including the hearing test) at 9 mth at polyclinic..

he quite picky with food... only finish those food tt he likes.. so have to try n error to see what food he likes n dislikes.. then see if can mix to bluff him through...

I quite worried actually cause she not active plus don't want work for it. Tired easily. Maybe we got twins So it's very obvious to compare. She doesn't like solids so far I try quite a few she doesn't eat much. I don't think is she don't like cause she don't even open her mouth to try. However IFC say she will eat they feed her porridge will eat and finish like half a bowl. Wonder true A not. Can't believe my porridge don't taste as good but still can't be this reason cause she didn even open mouth to try. My younger is the active and work hard for her toys and super don't want to sleep type lol. Total opposite.

Iwantahealthybaby, my boy also tend to resist.. so i coax him to try then he realise it's his fav pear or apple n he will just keep opening his mouth for me to feed n finish everything.

I quite worried actually cause she not active plus don't want work for it. Tired easily. Maybe we got twins So it's very obvious to compare. She doesn't like solids so far I try quite a few she doesn't eat much. I don't think is she don't like cause she don't even open her mouth to try. However IFC say she will eat they feed her porridge will eat and finish like half a bowl. Wonder true A not. Can't believe my porridge don't taste as good but still can't be this reason cause she didn even open mouth to try. My younger is the active and work hard for her toys and super don't want to sleep type lol. Total opposite.

Probably infant care got add abit of soy sauce or salt in the porridge to make it more tasty. Did u ask the teacher if they add anything in it?

I'm now feeding her multivitamin syrup to increase her appetite. Today I make butternut, carrot and apple for her. She eats more than yesterday. I think it's the apple. I taste it. It's actually quite nice! LOL!

snow I ask the teachers before they say for them no add of soy or salt. then I hear I not convinced. they say for them no means for others yes la...

oh faith I think might be the butternut too. my girls tend to love their porridge if I add butternut inside.

Iwant you might try feeding using fingers. My boy also refused to open his mouth when feed with spoon but he tried when I use fingers. That was few weeks ago. So when he tasted food he then opened mouth to spoon. Otherwise i just let him play with food using hands. He would eat some. Slowly he picks up eating. Now this habit slowly changed :)

snow I ask the teachers before they say for them no add of soy or salt. then I hear I not convinced. they say for them no means for others yes la...

oh faith I think might be the butternut too. my girls tend to love their porridge if I add butternut inside.

Lol mostly infant care or childcare will add abit of seasoning in it de... I also strictly no seasoning until my boy turn 1 yr old then I add abit now n then.. We let him eat abit of outside food also.... So next time when we bring him go oversea easier for us

I started feeding my girl outside food but really just a bit. Yesterday had high tea with my friend, I fed her the bread with my fingers. She ate and was quite happy about it. I think my girl is like a 小大人. She wants to eat together with us, wants to eat the food we are eating and wants to use the cutlery that we are using too. LOL!

Faith, my son also like to mimic what we are doing. If he see us eat, he will reject his milk n want to be spoon feed. He even want to snatch the spoon n feed himself but I told him no. If I let him eat by himself, I think I have to bath him after every meal.

I think my son is minion. He likes banana n can finish 1 long one n still asking for more. Other food still need to coax him then open mouth.

Jts, philip food processor can also make porridge but I think slow cooker still taste better.

ete u mean using my fingers? I notice they tend to like self feed (broccoli, pasta, fruits and biscuit) more but porridge self feed very very very very very very messy! I cannot take it. they eat not even 3 mouths I can take half an hr to clean up the high chair lol. I haven't let my girls eat banana cause they always seems to be coughing so I on hold. I ever let younger eat banana and she bite of one big chunk so worried she will choke.

oh yesterday I walk past mothercare and saw they steam eggs in the food processor so I guess really can cook using that.

Haha yes feed using your finger so that they taste food n want more. But of course porridge very messy haha...

iwahb-u dun mean 2wan u wan 2feed eggs right?

this weekend will try more thgs.. when baby keep wantin 2eat its quite fun...

So far I have only let my girl self feed banana and bread. For porridge, I will scoop the porridge onto the spoon and ask her to take the spoon. She will put the spoon into her mouth. Less messy. I actually started with water first so even if she spills, it's still okay because it's just water. Easier to clean up.

There was also one time I just let my girl ate directly from the whole banana. In the end, she bit such a bit chunk that she almost got choked. I gotta put my finger in to dig out the banana which was still in her mouth. After I dug out, then I realised she bit such a big chunk. Dangerous!

Faith, my son also like to mimic what we are doing. If he see us eat, he will reject his milk n want to be spoon feed. He even want to snatch the spoon n feed himself but I told him no. If I let him eat by himself, I think I have to bath him after every meal.

I think my son is minion. He likes banana n can finish 1 long one n still asking for more. Other food still need to coax him then open mouth.

Jts, philip food processor can also make porridge but I think slow cooker still taste better.
Kitkats, sometimes what I do is take off the clothes. Only left with diaper and bib. Then I feed her. So even she's messy, it's easier to clean up. I don't wipe her mouth and hands throughout the meal. I only wash her hands and face and mouth after she's done.

I wanted to feed them with only diapers on but mom don't allow say wait catch a cold. so the mess is like chair, clothes, tray and everywhere messy. if I give spoon to let my girls self feed they will flip the spoon high and low like waving to you and the porridge will fly all over the living room.

Haha! Iwahb, your description is always so funny! Same lah. I must guide the spoon into her mouth. If not, she's also waving the spoon at me.

hahaha ok I thought how come your girl sounds so cooperative can self feed..u know I tried too to guide the spoon into their mouth but they will stop me half way their hands will be like grabbing the spoon stopping me from going further and then their hands will slide down to the spoon tip and tada messy again lol. actually secretly I fear I will be one of the parents out there feeding the children and their eyes just stuck on ipad while feeding.

iwahb-i also very worried i will b lik tat.. or hav 2knock culteries 2get attention.. tryin not 2make this a habit...

When I feed my girl, I switch off all visual and sounds. No tv, no music. I fed her potato, carrot and minced chicken just now. I marinated the chicken with 1 drop of sesame oil and a dash of pepper. She finished everything, which is half a bowl. Yesterday when we went to JB, I filled up the Tiger thermal 250 ml cup with butternut, carrot and apple. I scooped half of the 250 ml thermal cup, she also finished everything. Great improvement! Yeah yeah.

Do you all feed water in between solids or after feeding? I used to feed water after solids. Then I realise feeding water in between solids, she tends to finish the food. If feed after solids, she cannot finish the food.

Ohh... Oops... Sorry I mean banana purée, he sure bite big chunk if given whole piece.

Faith, sometime I don't let him wear anything except diaper for meal. During meal, he will put his hand into his mouth n after that rub his eye... Omg. the purée on his eye lashes, brows . Or Sometime touch his head after putting his hand in the mouth. Then cannot sit still, must turn here turn there knock the tray bend down to see the floor touch the chair. Every where he touch is purée, so I try to wipe as I feed. If TV is turn on, he will focus on tv n not open his mouth. It can be frustrating when feeding him.. But now thinking of it.. So cute... LOL.. This is Parenthood