(2013/08) August 2013

amanda: wah your dream can carry on....lol...so scary...

melilone: lol...sometimes he never say anything is good thing...which means nothing to worry ^.^

poky: stay positive...like what amanda say oscar scan might not be 100%....there are some cases that tho doc say the baby might have downsydrome but in the end when give birth..the baby is okay...i believe there are some other test also...previously in this forum...they were mention gentics test...see how the results first..then can decide the next step..most important stay happy...baby will then be healthy...keep talking to baby and tell baby to grow healthy..

Poky, don't worry. Things will be fine.

Has everyone planned for your confinement? Mother's/MIL's help, CL, DIY? My mum did for me for #1, this time I am thinking of getting a CL, but haven't contacted any.

Ellen: I am seeing a gynae in the west. Near bt bk central. Let me know if you are keen to know.

thx mommies or ur enouragement.

usaginoko, but cvs higher mc chances rite? my gynea didnt offer me that. only amniocentesis. so i not sure if she can do cvs or not?

p, i took both. blood n scan. blood was ok. but scan was not.... not only ds was higher chance. the other 2syndrome also at higher risk.

waitil mon, clinic to return my call, then ask abt cvs n gynea opinion then decide on which procedure....

Poky, how old are u? My friend also, had very bad results for her #2. She dunno do genetic scanning or amino, then the results was very good. She is expecting a healthy baby boy and birthing soon.

diorly. I 34 tis yr. But stil at 33 in Aug. So quite stunned by results. As i not 35 yet. Read there alot of false positive for Oscar. But i always have the worst luck... And i a very emo n negative thinkin in nature... So thinkin of all worst scenario...

Vinette. Thx! Wil try to look on positive side...

Poky, u may wish to consider doing a genetic scan at ssr clinic before going to further invasive tests.

http://www.ssr.com.sg/education.htm
http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/2583277.html?1356099620

U can read more in the above links. Many opted for this scan before going for cvs or amnio n found out actually their bb was perfectly alright. This doc is very experience in what he is doing.

Actually I m standing by all these info in case I need to do oso cos I m 36 this year oredi. I know is hard but u must be positive. Heard alot of case Oscar results no good but actually bb is ok. Keep us update ya?

I think most of us r abt the same age. Dun worry poky, there r ways for further tests. I'll go for the genetic scan mentioned by chocpockie too. I did 4 times amino in my second preg to drain amino fluids due to some complication.. It's very fast and they usually put some anesthetic before it so not too bad.. Dun despair, just go for whatever tests then decide.

genetic scan is not invasive..its just very high tech machine doing the scanning.

We are of the same age.. hehe. Be positive.. =)

Poky: dun be too worried first. Talk to baby more and decide the next course of action. And ocsar really have quite a number of false positive. Just stay positive and it will be fine. Hugs.

Poky, I read Dr Kumar will advise the patient is really need to do amnio or cvs after his genetic scan. His machine is very powerful that can scan clearly all the organs of our baby. If bb shows fine, he would against amnio n cvs due to the risk involved.

Chocpockie I'm with kkh. There are 3 options for Oscar, the scan only is immediate cos just need to measure nuchal translucency, I.e. the thickness of the space at the neck area. The other two is blood test only, or blood test with scan, both need to wait cos of the blood test.

Poky, I think many mummies have been to see dr Kumar, u can check the threads around. Looks like he's really quite good, I think I saw his charges as around 450 or something like that. If u want something non invasive and can spare that amount, it's a good option. Otherwise will be amino. Meanwhile, I can imagine its hard on u as CNy is round the corner,take heart, I'm hoping for good outcomes for u!

Bbreeze, actually I m with KKH oso. I been seeing this tmc gynae becos I couldn't get an early appt to see my KKH gynae. Since tmc doc oredi scheduled me for Oscar, so I juz do Oscar at tmc and bring the results to KKH. So when is your Oscar. Done oredi? Mine on 4 feb.

Tks for your info.

Chocpockie I think we're with same gynae? June tan? I waited v long to see her too..but once I got to the first appt, they scheduled my 2nd & 3rd appt as well, the wait in between is as per usual like abt 1 mth. In between they scheduled me for those scans like oscar and detailed scans.

I've done my blood test, left with scan next week. Then seeing gynae ard end feb..I think in between, they will call me to notify me of the Oscar results..I've been reading up on how they do the scans so I can try to determine myself when they do it..waiting for such results can get me very jittery..

Bbreeze, yes yes June Tan. Ya, they also scheduled me for next appt and detailed scan. Heard from nurses at TPS she is best there. I told the nurse initially I thought of booking tan Kim Teng, she softly told me luckily I didn't. Ha :p

I did Oscar at KKH 4 years ago but I totally forgotten how they did it for me. Really age catching up. Agree, waiting for such results make one very anxious.

Hi Poky,
Please stay positive. It must be hard on you right now but don't think all the worst case scenarios. Try to take the other mummies advices and go for an alternative opinion before waiting for the amino test.

Age...
I'm going to be 36 in June. Suddenly from low risk group to high risk group in terms of age. I also feel a bit worried. For this no3, I get tired easily. Forget about shopping at orchard, walk a bit more also backache. Is it because I'm old or just heavy or unfit?

Any mummy still feeling tired after their first trimester coming to an end?

chocpockie
actually the screenin to me at first was juz like oscar. can only scan n 'guess' probability. not garantee.. thus wasnt into it. but now... feel like it at least give me a chance to decide risk mc thru amniocentesis n to give an earlier answer than then the mth wait.... i think i go for the scan...

juz called the clinic... apt on tis fri morn...... but will double check with my gnea on her view though...

mommies, thx for all the support n advices. really encourage me to think more positively.

morning ladies!

Poky: Take care & cheer up.. I believe that baby's health is linked to ours.. we must also stay cheerful

Ahcapp: im in my 11weeks nw n im feeling horrible.. im still vomiting haha..

Ah capp, I oso 36 n is next mon. Oso feeling energy draining off especially still have 2 kids around. No maid n is a sahm. Sometimes ask myself how to tahan.

Poky, u mean u going c Dr Kumar this fri? I agree it is earlier than amnio n can know earlier cos can be done at week 13. Non invasive too. Hope ur scan shows everything ok n no need go for further test! Oscar really quite a few of inaccurate results, so don't think so much of it 1st.

good morning mummies... very nauseous today..im gg to finish off my first tri this week, but i really dunno how to survive if everyday from here is still going to be like that and worse dunno if i will make it through visiting during cny. i feel so old.. in my mid 30s too, and sit too long also backache!! oh dear..

chocpokie, i've been with Dr JT for years. She specialises in complicated pregnancies, which happens to be what my previous pregnancies were. She has been there for so long, but never went into private practice unlike many of her friends, so i think she is the very dependable and can count on kind?

ya. tis fri mornin to c dr kumar..... unless my gynea manage to talk me out of it? i goin on a wk trip on jus after my 16 wks. so if doin amniocentesis is b4, i not comfortable to travel so fast after the test. wat if the pressure n stress cause mc? then straight after the trip, hubby on workin trip n wont b back til wkend. i hv to wait, else who goin to take care of my two gals while i on bed rest? so if after trips, earliest i can do the test is in my 18wks plus.... plus 3wks of waitin time for results.... somebody please kill me to end the wait ba.... so i figure spendin the 500 to ease my mind, prepare myself earlier? y not? better than goin crazy over the wait! i really tryin to think positively that there a lot of false positive for oscar...but then, there stil tis little little chance of touchin wood...

Bbreeze, glad to know JT specializes in complicated pregnancies cos my previous 2 pregnancies weren't a totally smooth one. I had GD and low placenta. Ya, it is impt for gynae to be dependable, those really good ones in KKH left one by one to run their own clinic. Heard recently she promoted to snr consultant?

Poky, in fact many patients at KKH turn to Dr Kumar for genetic scan (KKH nurses know too) when Oscar results not satisfactory. In fact, KKH normally advise patients to do cvs or amnio directly if Oscar no good. But nowadays we patients are better informed than last time oredi. At least there is still a alternative route for us to choose. I guess your gynae wouldn't be against this idea.

Agree lor, this $500 is definitely well spent to get a peace of mind and avoid those invasive tests if possible.

bbreeze.. i'm also feeling quite nauseous today. took express bus to work and felt that my back and butt hurts from sitting too long (1hr 15min journey). but despite the nausea, i still managed to finish one tuna sandwich. haha.

Poky: all the best for your scan k!

all the talk about Oscar is making me quite nervous.. almost 3 weeks to go before mine!

just went for my blood tests for Oscar! looking forward to the ultrasound so that i can see my lil' one!

last night, i did my first merlion!! but it was not immediately after dinner. just felt super uncomfortable after dinner.. when i went to bathe 2hrs after dinner, i merlion-ed

hopefully it's the first & last time!!

oscar test is actually v simple. no need to get nervous.. i did mine 3 weeks ago. no worries, everything will go well. even if result not good, also doent mean got problem. it's just a probability after all.

Morning all, I checked with my gyne, he was saying, that genetic test is still at the initial phase, is that true? cos i tell him i feel like going for it and he say tat its not necessary quote "if you have a headache you will take pain killer and not go for CT scan right"

Have booked for oscar but still thinking abt the genetic test. haiz....

Melilone, genetic scan is normally to seek a 2nd option b4 going for amnio or cvs I feel.

Initially I thot the same way as u, maybe can skip Oscar n go straight to genetic scan. But my hb felt we shld go thru the normal way 1st.

hmm, ya lor oso hb feel tat no need to go through so complicated scan, n my gyne say i'm still consider as low risk profile.

I was thinking to spend twice the money *touchwood* might as well go for the advance scan. that is my point.

AHCapp : I am coming 39 this year...really no joke...everyday i feel tire, headache , giddy, stomach pain, back ache.....somemore I am plus size mummy...really cannot walk for too long .
I also sometime pain untill tears, asking my hubby how am I going to survise another 7 mths?
I am so scare that i will be force to lie on bed ...cannot work....

Hi mummies, I also had very bad nausea, headache and tiredness yesterday. So terrible.. 2nd tri is from 12weeks onwards right? Hope we will feel better soon.

How come some is 12 some is 14 weeks??? then when can i tell the whole world that i'm pregnant?? haha

Genetic test> just called the Camden clinic, they said that the accuracy is the same at Oscar. I think will still proceed with Oscar. hope everything will be fine.

Er I tot tiredness back ache is all common right? I'm in my late 20s but still having the same problems. haha

hmm... 11 weeks onwards is consider a foetus. but officially 2nd trimester start from 14 weeks. that's what i gathered from quite a no of websites.

tired and backache is part & parcel for pregnancy regardless of age. hehehe...just got to bear with it lah..

Think 2nd trimester is from week 14 cos when i asked my gynae on friday, he says i still have another 1 week plus to go before I'm in my 2nd trim.

that's why i was asking earlier when is it considered 2nd trimester... anyway if you wanna err on the side of caution, then announce after 14 weeks lor. haha. i guess it could be something to do with the fact that at week 1 and 2 we weren't really pregnant yet ya? and, 40 / 3 = 13+ weeks.

hehe.. just say gain weight lor.

During CNY, i will be 16 weeks. i need to monitor and see whether tummy suddenly pop up too obvious. if still not super obvious, i will just say i gain weight. wanna announce only after 20 weeks when i know boy or gal.

diorly> same here haha but my gyne say can show pics liaoz haha.

still ask me to go take ang bao with the pics. so funny lor.

wah wait till 20 weeks? now i cannot stand wanna tell everyone already! haha but i'm only 10 weeks.