(2013/05) May 2013

rejoy: maybe you mean the pumping pal breast pumping flanges? I recall the ladies talking abt this before and some of them said good for handsfree pumping...can be used with medela pumps. Think its a strap to hold onto the pump and bottles etc...can google to see the pics.

Hi Eva,
Me oso same gynae as you and Fabbie. I had my #1 with him and we delivered at Mt A. I have not ask him abt the hospital selection for my #2 yet. Maybe should try asking him this Thurs when I see him. I oso hope I can go Mt A, I love the environment very much.
Yes, I think he dun go thru birth planning with us, he did not discuss with me about any birth plan during my #1. Anyway, I did not though of any birth plan la. I only indicated to him I wanted natural delivery and he just say ok. Just like that only.

Breathless,
Whenever I take just half a flight of stairs, I already feel breathless. Even carry my #1 will oso….

The baby grow and will press on the diaphram
So normal to feel breathless

Once the baby turn and engage , will feel more relieve and it is time to deliver!

Chiro: I brought the medela freestyle at $799. still okay. Mumsfairy is $899.

Rejoy: Mumsfairy will be at the mini expo fai from 22nd-24th Mar. =) If that the one you want.

Griny: You ask already can le me know? I tried asking 2 times, ytd I asked against and he is strongly against it and I just went for the tour at Mt A before I visited the doc and they said many patients complained him during the tour that he shared scary stories to discourage them to go. =S But even if you don't go through birth plan, did you go for full bf? =)

Bbreathless:
Thanks ladies. I was worried cos i am asthmatic too, i sometimes dunnoe if it is asthma attack or just due to the pregnancy. I just keep resting and hope the breathless feeling goes away.

Sleeping:
Oh yah another complaint of mine, i have trouble sleeping at night, this position also not comfortable, that position also. Arrghh.. i feel myself like old lady - keep complaining only.
i tried to sleep side way but it just seem to be pressing on my tummy too. I put a pillow in between my leg, it is the same thing not comfortable at or. Anyone has any remedies? I am deprive of sleep.

eh...i still can sleep back down leh
hehehehe..my colleague say i am the most agile pregnant woman she met.

maybe i have been fat all the while so this extra weight like no different to me

Min: I also cant get into a good position to sleep at night. Ppl recommend sleeping on the left (or just on your sides although left is for better blood/oxygen circulation) but sometimes I flip here and there like roti prata still cant sleep. Worse, I wake up lying on my back. So much for me trying to make an effort to sleep on my side. hahaa. If sleeping on your side makes you feel like you are pressing on your tummy, can tuck a small pillow below your bump. Its supposed to help relieve some pressure. I alternate between sleepless nights and v.tired nights...so 1 night cannot sleep, the next night v.tired just sleep and it goes on and on...

JC: sleep back down as in sleep on your back? hahaha. I cant control how I sleep...as long as it allows me to sleep through the night, I cant be bothered. hahaha.

Min, i'm also breathless easily these days lol. And my room is on the third floor. I climb up to my room i panting already. Last time not the case haha. I remember feeling this way too for #1.

JC, i also can sleep back down. haha

mummies, i know milk cannot go with multi vitamin. how about fish oil huh?

usually i take fish oil + multi vi together but if i drink milk in the morning, i will wait till afternoon. But keep forgettng leh...

dairy product doesn't go well with multi vitamin. If you drink milk, you will not absorb the iron in the multi vitamin.

so say you drink milk or soya, the nurse tell me must wait 2.5 hr at least before you take the multi vitamin.

Eva,
I will ask him on my coming Thurs appt. What bad stuff did he say abt Mt A? The horrendous carpark? Car park is not any better in TMC I think. Plus my hubby dun like TMC carpark system. We chose him bcos he has clinic in west area and can deliver in Mt A. Hopefully he agree, if not both of us will be very disappointed.

Sleepyskies,
I oso flip like nobody business and take quite a bit of time to fall asleep these nights. Plus with an active bb in the womb at night dun make things better.

JC,
Take supplements got so much knowledge…. I just pop everything in since my #1…. Den I think I dun get the best out of the prenatal vits that I was given.

Does anyone here have numbness in the hands?
I have this numbness which my gynae and normal GP says its carpal tunnel syndrome.
It is painful esp during my slp at night and at work and finger painful to bend.

Eva: I have friends who gave birth in TMC and Mt A recently. No complains from them so I supposed both hospitals are quite ok. For me personally I like Mt A very much. My #1 was borned in Mt A and for #2 I'll still go back to Mt A.

Post-natal massage: I booked mine months ago cos the popular ones are usually booked like 6 months in advance. Mine is Mdm Ida, 94249829. I won't say that it's a must-do but I do find it beneficial. The massage helps the womb to contract back and helps in the overall recovery during confinement. And the massage lady will also help to clear our ducts which is very important I feel cos it's very to have block duct/engorgement during the initial phase of breastfeeding. And it's pretty comfortable and not very expensive (about $50 per session) so I think it's worth it.

Just went for gynae check-up yesterday. Bb is 1.6kg at 31+ week. Weight pretty average and everything is well. My parents accompanied me to the visit and bb was very coorperative and we managed to get a good view of the bb face through the 3D scan
bb head also went down already and hopefully it will remain so till I pop.

Sleeping: I also has problems with sleeping position. I will tried to sleep on my left and right then end up on my back. And when I sleep on my sides, baby will start moving. So think he don't like sides. =S

Dairy product: I heard during BFing also not encouraged to take dairy products right? I didn't know and I often end up eat my multi-vit and fish oil about 30 min after soy milk. Then does that mean, all my multi-vit and fish oil intake goes to waste? =S

Hi Joanne, our EDD quite near. Your doc from Mt A? =)

Griny: I choose him because he is in CCK too. Think we are visiting the same clinic. He told us that the carpark only got one entrance and always jam. If he stuck there while I delivered then baby turn blue and die then no matter how good the care of the hospital, also no use. My hubby heard this part super scared but I was a trainee nurse before and I thought Midwife is suppose to help delivered if doc can't rushed in time. =S Then he also said it is not about the decor or wall paper. Guess he really don't want Mt A. In the end I told him I will discuss with my hubby again but when I told my hubby, I super moody and wanna tear le because feeling so moody as my hubby is changing job near my EDD and I just want to ensure my baby and I will be in good environment esp if my hubby might not be able to stay over to accompany me. Hai... Maybe wait till u visit him, then share with me?

Irene: My friends told me TMC still okay but many strongly support Mt A. One of them told me, midwife at TMC scold her because when she dilate 5cm then want epidural so she said if I can take it in turn of being said then TMC still okay. I heard already went O.O I thought midwife suppose to give support?

Numbness: I also have numbness but think due to water retention? Should be quite common right?

Jill: my edd on May 10 base on lmp. Kept changing den finally doc say may 8 based on the growth. Actually tmr is her exact 32 weeks.just I bought forward by a day. Lol.. I will be seeing my gyne this coming Mon at 32 weeks 5 days. When's your edd? Hopefully baby will come out after May..

Jc: how many boxes did you buy?? I wanted to stock but scare Gt what expiry carrier what.. Since Gt no expiry, I will just buy more and keep.. If not last min wanna buy, super troublesome.. Have you finished all your shopping?

Jill: keke i am same EDD with u, 13/05. but gynae said mayb brought forward to early May wor...

Joanne: me too, my gp said is carpal tunnel syndrome and told me to wear a wrist support. Initially only right hand kena but now left hand oso numbness in the morning, both hand cannot bend , very painful loh!

tsm - wow my gynae never say antyhing. he is very interesting one. i ask him what does he recommend for me when to take maternity.. he say "Oh.. work all the way!" -_____-!!! I shall take a look at the system myself next visit which is scheduled 23rd March.~ Usually yeah they estimate based on the baby weight right?

Jill: i oso dunno how the gynae determined the edd wil b b/f...,but she said my bb weight is a little bit underweight loh. She said i am super small size of course bb will be small size so no need to worry... will see gynae next Monday.

Eva: Yup the nurses and midwives and the lactation consultants at Mt A are generally nicer from mine and my friends' experiences. About the part that Gynae can't arrive in time, you are right that midwife can help to deliver. In fact in some countries, it's the midwife and not the gynae who do the delivery. And in some cases that I heard from my friends/colleagues, especially those who had their #2 or #3, the baby came out so fast that when the gynae arrived, the gynae only helped to catch hold of the bb and cut the umbilical cord, very easy money LOL. Throughout the delivery, it's the midwives that accompany us mainly. The gynae only come here and then for a while and during the final pushing part for natural birth. For some of my friends, the gynae only gave instruction over the phone and only appear when it's time to push. But these are for cases whereby the delivery process has no surprises. I am quite surprised to hear that your gynae actually use the carpark as a reason for delay in arriving during birth delivery. Although Mt A carpark is quite messy now due to reno, what I understand is for doctors and emergency patients (eg ladies in labour), there's priority for parking. And in fact, Mt A has valet parking. This is what I read from Mt A website "Car parking within Mount Alvernia Hospital is by valet service from 8am to 6pm, Mondays to Saturdays, except on Sundays and Public Holidays. The valet service is offered free-of-charge to all our visitors and patients."

shirley : i only bought 6 boxes. If my supply really a lot, than i will buy again. my colleague told me she only stand by 2 boxes nia.

Hi Eva, my doctor is from Chong Pang clinic and he operates at Mt A or Thomson so i chose Mt A.
My gynae actually wrote a letter for me to my company doc and company doc wrote a letter to SGH specialist in hand surgery but end up i chose not to go as i wanted to see if it will go away after delivery.
Mine numbness is whole day and its not the numbness which is painful but my 4th finger espcially cannot bend and is very painful and every night i will be awaken by the pain and can even lose my grip on things. =(

why don't consider taking taxi when delivering?
my hubby say if really due before my induced date, we better take a taxi there coz he will be so freak out to drive properly. Skali i deliver in his car..hhahahah

Joanne, my CGH doctor oso arranged me for physical therapy but i didnt go too. I a bit worry if the pain & numbness not go away aft deliver then how to take care of bb....

Tsm, ya i am also worried abt this pain and numbness as i even drop my cup due to the pain in my finger and during the morning i can hardly open my room door or even the tap. Both gynae and my GP says it depends for some ppl it goes away perhaps in a mth or in a few mths but i also heard that it might not go away so i intend to see how after delivery since now nothing can be done.
After taking neuroforte for the nerves and another medicine for for blood circulation it still does not really help. =(

my edd is 06 May. Am going to Mt A. Doc only delivers in Mt A or Mt E.

Valet carpark is only available IF there are parking. If not, you have to park at macritchie reservoir. But there's a shuttle bus from the reservoir to the hospital which comes every 15 mins or so. Still okay la. Hubbs can drop you off and he can park the car. That's what happens to me when i go for checks.

JC, abt the multi-vit and fish oil, my gynae just told me iron cannot friend with Calcium. Have to take this 2 separately.

Thanks meiliew. Like this i better take my fish oil in the morning .

I tend to forget to eat if i dont take in the morning. Need to wait at least 2.5 hr..by than busy with work...etc than forget all abt it

Jc: I bought like 9 boxes.. Haha.. Not alot also. Hopefully Gt milk!!! Btw, I am in kkh now.. Just contraction with pain earlier. Den call up to gyne. He ask me to admit to kkh.. Now they doing ctg for me.. Baby pls be good.. Stay inside until full term pls!!!

Xuan n Eva: can buy the cot or playpen before delivery. Before delivery, ask dh to set up. U go elsewhere. After set up n baby not out yet. Just put an angbao with even amount of money under the mattress.

Or during our stay at hospital ask ur dh to set up also can.

EVa: sorry was busy now then reply u.. what u mean he don't do birth plan? u mean TMC standard drop already? really ah the last time i was there is 2008 haha but i think will still stick to TMC.
i haven't try Mt A before but for me i think Mt A is much ex. so i choose TMC. and TMC have the Discount card for the room so might as well stay there lor. im going to choose 4 bedded. cuss usually 4 bedded will be full and they will upgrade to u to 2 room which u pay only 4 bedded room. my frd very lucky.. get 4 bedded.. then just nice 2bedded full then they upgrade to 1 bedded paying the price of 4 bedded lor! so lucky sia! haha About the nausea yes i will feel like vomiting sometimes

setting baby cot:
wah this is my first time hear about angbao thing LOL. anyway no.1 i didn't do anything everything is fine. when im looking at the baby cot fix. nothing happen so don't think will pantan on that lol

JC: gold pig???? lol eh my hub also say that.. buy liao u always anyhow throw n put.. -___-

Min im having very bad heart burn plus i cant stop eating!!v

Eva: one thing our doc i named name a nick cal Dr Normal. lol cuss u ask him anything he will say its normal hahahaha when is ya next appt? mine is 1st APril!

shriley: my due date 6th may now still 3 weeks visit leh.. sianz… next visit is 1st april. abt milk bag don't think so got expire date wor

shirley update us ya! sorry didnt see ya last post.. aiyo.. im so blur.. take care n hope u can be home soon ^___^

Hub's Leave
btw Gov stated say babies born 1st of May hub will have those leaves added am i right? if my due date is 6th may n my baby pop at end of april will my hub still can leave? did gov stated anything? anyone knows?

I am back home now.. Was having irregular contraction.. Need to monitor cos ctg was showing contraction. She prescribe me with med to stop contraction.. Hopefully the contraction will stop..

Fabbie: I just bought 9 boxes of the milkbag..

fabbie: if u pop before 1 May...ask your gynae write a letter and states that your EDD. Then submit the letter. That's what I heard from people. can appeal de...

Milk bag: I bought 1 box 50pcs - nanny and just got my friend to help me buy 5 boxes 40 pcs - boots from bkk. Don't dare buy too many, scare later skali I no milk.

Shirley: Pls take care....

Fabbie: yes, can appeal one, cause it is based on EDD...

Xuan: sure can one, preserve.. :0.. or else worse come to worse, sell it away, sure gt ppl buy from you one.

Wonder how is 2K now. haven see her posting...