(2013/05) May 2013

sunflower, my 1st reading was 3000, 2nd reading 2 days apart 8000. Doctor cannot see sac or anything. 3rd reading 401500. Finally see sac and heartbeat.

I do not know why mine is so high..

sunflower, he was pretty worried as at 8000 hcg, he cannot see anything as sac shows around level 1500 to 2000. I was so worried last week after reading too many google reports

hi mummies..
thanks for e advise. will try to drink more water. as i really dread drinking water now.

makes me so bloated n full .then burping whole day..

Hi ladies...

To all mummies with morning sickness... my gynae prescribed Florxine. Its Vit B6 + Folic Acid. I find that it helps me. Just 1 pill in the mornings.

Kiringal: Oh how come so expensive? beacuse of blood test?

I saw someone talking about cranky #1 child. My boy also. He always tell me he wants to beat the baby faint... I think he is super jealous over the baby...

hi ladies, sorry long time no log in ah..heehee

baby_kk - thanks for the update but i think i will change my hospital altogether.Polyclinic screwed up.

regine - i am most definitely switching to another gynae. My gynae for #1 is Lawrence Ang.

Give u guys a short summary (might be long though),will appreciate ur patience. Might be helpful for those having #1.

Found out last july , i was expecting #1 in July last year. EDD was March 2012 but my daughter couldnt wait and came out a month earlier.

As a first timer, was a bit kan cheong and so wanted to make sure i had a good gynae and through forums, found out Lawrence Ang was a good one. Booked him and knowing what i would expect at his clinic, i prepared wateva questions i had in advance and went for my appts.

Clinic @ Sembawang was awfully small and often i found myself standing alot. He had too many patients.

Consultation - Always short and chop chop but he will answer whateva questions you may have.

Scanning - the machine i think was not so fantastic coz half the time i really couldnt see my daughter clearly.

Assistants - his assistants are the straight forward type.Wise not to ask too many unnecessary questions.

Payment - Cash or Nets , No Credit. (Think now still dun have)

In between, i was given Folic Acid and Prenatal Vitamins but i was not able to swallow the Prenatal Vits as i got phobia of swallowing huge pills lah.

So what i did was to load up on lots of Salmon(Ikea's Poached Salmon) and Milk (Meiji).
Also ate too much pasta and potatoes and towards the end of my pregnancy , i was diagnosed with gestational diabetes and was referred to a diabetes specialist at Thomson but i hated that guy..he was not friendly at all and didnt listen to me when i suggested alternative stuff..he just said to do Plan A and if that failed , then Plan B..injecting insulin is not a good thing actually but he was forcing me to do it...i got pissed and told him off. Then i went online and found out how to control my sugar level and it worked..the next appt i told him what i did, he was not happy and simply said if it works for me,then just follow that. That was the last i saw him..thank god..on top of the diabetes, he would have also caused me to have high blood pressure...

Delivery Day..to be cont later..gtg ..

Ciao

gaya3

Ange, hi^5! My gyne also prescribed me that folic acid. Told me that there's added ingredient to aid ms.. But, I don't find it working for me... Haha so ended up, I need to pop
Another anti-nauseous pill before meal if I'm appetite is poor...

kiringal: the nurse told me is fine. So I don really wan to worry too much. Today I have another test, will call the hospital later in the afternoon to find out the result.

my blood test cost me $100.

wow! sounds like there's a lot to learn.

My gynae also gave me folic acid. Basically he gave me three pills. The nurse says it's vit B12, folic acid and the third one is "an tai yao" (medicine to keep the baby safe). It starts with D something...

Just realised i havent gave my details:
Edd: TBA
Gynae: Dr KC Ching
Baby #1
Hospital: Mt A
West

fool4love: u mean dydrogesterone, right. this is important for us for "ann tai". I taking Folic acid as well. My 2 weeks supply cost me $59 from hospital. I will be seening my dr on Friday and doing scaning for the first time.

I found time fly so slow after knowing I m pregnant. Anyone have the same feeling as me!!

Gaya, I'm so sorry to have heard on ur bad experiences with Dr Ang.. He's my gyne for #1 and for #2, I'll also be sticking back to him.. I do trust him though.. I do agree that the seats available at his clinic is v limited.. But, I can't ask for more, for the affordable package I'm paying for.. And true that all his 3d are blur and he doesn't bother to try harder to get a nice snap shot but it doesn't matter as I plan to do up a 4d scan
Video at Tmc..

He's a 'chop chop' guy but professional enough to tell us that when the foetus is fine, it's really fine..

I suggested to go into induction at 39w3d.. I had my first pill inserted during noon, and i self check-in into mt A in the afternoon(for those who're with him, although he do mt A, but he nv like going to mt A etc. he tried to brain washed to go to Tmc me but failed, and went along with my preference).
He was gd and caring enough to drop by 10-11pm to check on me and inserted another pill(could be done by nurse). Not forgetting that he has to go to and fro btw Tmc and mt A as he's also having patients at Tmc..
Next morning at 7.30am, he's here again to break my waterbag and put me on drip at the labour ward. And of course, there's also risk of induction as cervix may not be opened in time.. Luckily for me, my cervix corporated and dilated fully at 11am+ w/o epi.. It was quite a long wait(less than 30min) for him to arrive.. I was already having the pushing effect but was told not to push till he arrived.
I was then constantly hugging on my gas mask and inhale like no body biz.. When he arrived, I was too drowsy to push and he assisted me via vacuum.
When my girl was out, he did apologized to my hb as there's a minor scratch on my girls head due to the breaking of water bag (as my girl is already v low).. Well, he could have just kept quiet on the minor scratch as there's already a round redness on her head due to vacuum effect.,
His stitching was gd for me as 'after cutting', I did tear further till before my 'anus hole'. My recovery was gd and thus I'm
pleased with him.

Can i join? Great to see so many mummies due in May 2013.

fool4love: We are using the same gynae.
My #1 was delivered by Doc Ching. Very nice old gentleman. But is those chop chop type. Won't say much unless u ask. But overall, he is a very experience gynae. Was given 3 medicines too. The medicine starting D should be Duphaston.

Edd: 6 May 2013
Gynae: Dr KC Ching
Baby #2
Hospital: Mt A
North East

Gaya, wow awaiting for your delivering stories.

Reddish, my #1, I was also by induce. Admit at midnight put on pill then morning push in OT and poke water bag and suddenly too fast too furious and pop less than 1.5hrs without epi. But now I am so scared of birth already, maybe as age grew became so timid.

Vanishree
Why ur gynae put u that? My gynae put in that but is call another name but same as to an tai cos of previous history. Maybe your doctor want to be safe.

eil: Yes... i feel time passes very slowly... it's like I'm living my life in weeks... sheesh

reddish: Gynae said if that worked for me then I don't need the other medicine. Phew! Luckily it did.

I'm upset with myself for losing my temper at my son earlier. Big lashing at him. Plus I found out my cleaning spoilt a few pieces of my clothing and I was irritated the whole morning and really impatient with my son too. Don't like it when I'm like that...

Eil..it is normal not to show yet! With my first, I didn't show until at least 3 months. Last time I feel fat and unattractive in the 6th/7th month but now I'm already feeling upset when choosing clothes. Haha..and by the way I still won't get seats in the MRT..people in front of me usually mysteriously fall asleep.

Alice..can't really recall that was 6 years ago. But I used epi and I think I paid $1000 in cash to the hospital. Package with Dr Heng was about $600. Now I know hers is $650 but still slightly cheaper than some gynae I think.

Raihana
Thanks for sharing on Dr Lubna.
From online reviews I found out that Dr Lubna's charges are quite expensive and her delivery charges are also around $2k. Whoa. To me that's a lot of payment. I think for Dr Aziz, a few years ago it was $1k, then about $1.3k. Not sure about now.

Are you a FTWM?

Pink tulip - yup I think she's a bit more ex..Dr Heng's is about $1600 now I think. I'm working full-time now - how about you?

Bbkk, 1.5hrs to fully dilated was v fast! Haha... U Must be having v bad and intense contractions every sec! Mine came off as a signal to pee.. 100x urgency to pee but I didn't pee much into the bed pan. I was pushing and pee-ing and the nurse did a check and I was fully dilated! And was told not to push.. And I 'kiap' my legs tightly together to stop myself from pushing.. Lol,.

Raihana - Yes I'm a FTWM too. How I wish I have enough savings to stay at home for a while

I see, I've never had this package thing. Previously it was pay-per-visit. About $70 per visit including consultation, scan & supplements. I wonder how much it is now.

Is anyone here on the subsidised gynae check ups at polyclinic?

Reddish
Urgh, I hated the part when the cervix dilated from 7 cm to 10 cm, so intense & painful ! Giving birth is not my favourite thing to do.

I'm so scared of giving birth that at my second one I was crying to the midwife,"I don't want to give birth, I don't want to give birth." Haha ..talk about drama.

I salute those of you who didn't take epi. Any tips on managing the pain? I thought of trying at least no epi with this last one.

Pinktulip: sigh..don't we all

ashrai: yeah...i know what u mean, those ppl on mrt will sleep in a sec when they saw anymore need the seat. i hope my tummy will not grow too big during the period.

My company will be having stock take next mth, I hope I can be excuse from doing. I m really so worry cause is tired climbing up down squat up down carrying heavy things. But I don really wan to let anyone know yet. sign

ipanbaby: I m now seeing SGH which take a lot of time. I think seening at polyclinic take up more time that why I am waiting for the bb to be stable & consider to change to nearby clinic.

Hi Eil

Ya. dydrogesterone is the one. Haha. didnt want to take out my medicine and start typing in the office. I also dont really want to let too many people know about it yet. though i was told by one of my colleague that my pregnancy is an open secret.

My office has three preggie ladies (including me) now. Two are due in March 2012 and are their #2. Am a bit paisei to ask them for advice. Am still sticking to my baggy clothes though my pants and skirts are a total no-no now.

Eil: Maybe you have to let your colleagues and boss know about your pregnancy cos stock taking can be very tedious. Better to let them know and "save" yourself rather than let people talk behind your back...

Raihana
I didn't take epi for my 2 previous labours. I was more terrified of the epi than the pain itself. At that point in time I really didn't know whether I could survive. I just left it to the hands of God. Too painful. I did take a jab but i felt it was useless coz for #2 one, i gave birth 10 minutes after they gave me the jab when nurses told me it'll take 15 minutes for the effect of the jab to kick in.

eil
Oh no, perhaps can try to minimise carrying the heavy stuff? chope the smaller boxes first. I see, I didn't know it would be a longer wait at the polyclinic.

So strange, birth rates going down, yet gynaes allover fully packed.

Fool4love
i've not informed anyone at work yet too. I think i'll wait till after 1st trimester. I've yet to see a gynae too.

Eil - please take care..carrying stuff is a no-no in your first trimester pls.

Pinktulip - i wish you'd be in the room with me during my delivery ;)

Tapiku - thanks for the update

I haven't announced it to extended family and friends but I've told everyone at work, including the cleaner cos I'm just that excited.

Dr Heng clinic at Parkway East Specialist Centre Bedok will be relocated to somewhere near Dakota Mrt Stt.

So sad, i need go to Parkway East Hospital for my further check-up after end of the year.

Reddish, I kept on wanted to push but the midwife dun allow say I will tear my wound, but I really cannot take it and keep pushing until I got pus on my bottom. The contraction was so intense and feel like shitting.
Wah u pee out? I tot we got to clear everything before going in OT room?

Raihana - lol, why leh? Isn't your hubby enough? Or get a doula. I'm just a mom. haha.

I've not even informed my own mother. It's like a secret for now. But my hubby has told my MIL. I hope my MIL doesn't text my mom before I tell her myself.

Bbkk
I had that feeling too coz the baby's placing pressure on our rectum right. So scared I'd let something out instead of the baby leh. Phew.

I didn't take anything to clear my bowels. went naturally earlier at home.

Vi: I'm terribly afraid of pain too.. so I took epi as soon as I can...in fact too soon... epi had to be topped up. Hahaha I am contemplating doing it without this time around... but I believe it's just a fleeting thought. :p

updated

<table border=1><tr><td>No.</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>baby #</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>NSEW </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Alice saw</TD><TD>27-Apr</TD><TD>Dr Lan Heng Tung</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Parkway East</TD><TD>East </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Happymrs</TD><TD>30-Apr</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>East </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Dreambig</TD><TD>2-May</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Watashi</TD><TD>3-May</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>kikapo</TD><TD>4-May</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Raihana</TD><TD>4-May</TD><TD>Dr Lubna</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>Parkway East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Ivy E</TD><TD>5-May</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>fabbie</TD><TD>5-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>bubu</TD><TD>5-May</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>captain_piglet</TD><TD>6-May</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Central </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Wendy Lee</TD><TD>6-May</TD><TD>Dr KC Ching</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Yaya</TD><TD>7-May</TD><TD>Dr Geraldine Tan</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Central </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Cima_yv</TD><TD>7-May</TD><TD>Dr Woo Bit Hwa</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Shirley</TD><TD>10-May</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>North </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Memphissbelle</TD><TD>10-May</TD><TD>Dr Ben Neo</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>East </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Junebunny</TD><TD>11-May</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>babymaine</TD><TD>11-May</TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>East </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>WongJaf</TD><TD>11-May</TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Central </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Tapiku</TD><TD>11-May</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tuan Lan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Parkway East</TD><TD>East </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Ange</TD><TD>12-May</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Rina Koh</TD><TD>14-May</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Gaya</TD><TD>16-May</TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>not enough shoes</TD><TD>16-May</TD><TD>Prof John Tee</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Passion88</TD><TD>17-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>iko0508</TD><TD>19-May</TD><TD>Dr Caroline KHI</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>HK </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Bbkk</TD><TD>20-May</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>fruitloops</TD><TD>20-May</TD><TD>Dr Tan HK</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>North </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>rejoy28</TD><TD>27-May</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Pinktulip</TD><TD>28-May</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>schumy</TD><TD>28-May</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tuan Lan</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Parkway East</TD><TD>NE </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Debbie</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Poon King Fu</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>North </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Novsnow</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Jiali</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Irene Chua</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Reddish</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>seraphinee</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>East </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>sleepyskies</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Central </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>lovetohavekid</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Matthew Lau</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>welyn</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Sweetpea</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>North </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>fool4love</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dr KC Ching</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>West </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>ml83</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Nicolieaa</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>baby_regine</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Jialing</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>vi</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>min</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>wt81</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>trixia</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>love16</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</td></tr></table>

Vi: But because I epi-ed too early... I din really feel contractions... and I had to push based on midwives counting etc... Still thinking if I wanna feel all that pain this time around. Hehe

I go for epi for my #1. Will go epi for #2 too. #1 labour last 20 hours. I can't take it already after the 1st 6 hrs. Gotto top up too. Coz labour time is too long.

BBKK, yes i pee into the bed pan. I did clear my bowels before going to labour ward.. But prior to that, I drank milo/water at 4-5am.. And I was on drip, thus there's pee... hahahas!I even requested for bed pan not once, but twice! lol

I didn't took epi as i've already have scolosis since young. i'm already experiencing frequent back aches and i dont wish to further burden it with epi.

But i took the thigh injection though.. its foc.. lol... it doesnt numb the pain but it's said to make one sleepy... true enough, after that injection, i was sniffing badly together with my laughing gas and by the time my gyne reaches, i'm in lala land... i just cant be sober!v v zzz.. the midwifes tried to wipe my face with a wet towel but that doesnt helps... already too into lala land and cant push.... lol

fool4love / ipanbabr / ashrai: yeah i know... I guess I will let them know a week before.

omg... i really don wan to think of giving birth at this moment. That is so scary!! I wan to enjoy the happy moment now.

Sorry, what is epi??

Ml83: so funny la ya boys haha. ya elder one like not enff didi like that haha. I wish u luck on Monday! I'm sure this time round can see bb hb! I also going to see woody Monday so kan Cheong! Aiyo lol

Kiringal: so ya now still got spotting? On n off ma? Btw why u not in the list wor. Didn't see u.

Job:
Gals whoever that didn't know. If u gals want to keep ya own job without company terminate or u can say to be a safe zone. Is advisable to tell ya boss ya expect after ya 1st trims. Cus under the law we are not cover by gov if we fall into 1st trims. There's no wrong to keep sercet from ya boss unless ya company policies stated. And hor u gals have medicial claim only some company will claim some will not but will place in unpay leave. So u gals must take note! If ya company wants to play trick u should go to gov hospital which is cover by employment act. Something like that.

reddish: I only discovered I had scoliosis after childbirth as I had such bad pain in the knees i couldn't carry my son who was 10kg then. I eventually sought a chiropractor and managed to live relatively pain free. In fact, I'm seeing him tomorrow to get adjusted.

Hellow mummies, wow so many of you talking about epi or natural without epidural already ah? haha.. My #1 was with epidural. I got low threshold of pain. :p didn't regret taking epidural as labour was 14 hours! Can't imagine how i can endure if i don't have epidural. But then again, due to epidural, i didn't know how to push. Pushed for 1 hour then baby got vacuum out.

eli_sunflower, epi aka epidural is a form of pain relieve during labour. numbs the lower part of the body while you are still conscious. So you won't feel the pain or any feeling during labour. Sometimes even when supposed to push also dunno how hard to push.

fabbie: so u mean after 2nd trims, we are safer? did u went to MOM? How can they help??

Debbie: thanks... tis is my #1. I don really wan to think too far cos I know is really painfull &amp; tired.
poor women

Wendy: 20hrs? Mine was 16hrs n i nearly faint from it.. drained from energy.. I took epi too.. n I shivered throughout.. haiz! Not a v pleasant experience man..

Re: 2nd pregnancy
Izzit true that labour for 2nd pregnancy will be shorter? I dun like e side effects of epi too.. n I'm feeling backache occasionally.. dunno izzit due to epi..