(2012/06) Jun 2012

Hi mummies, my health condition ok, no high BP or anything at all, so she really puzzled me by saying induce when I lost only 200g.

I just weigh and my weight regained back, I suspect it could be due to water retention and etc so weight lost.

Tmr I might go see my family doc and seek an 2nd opinion, all my friends r suspecting that my gynae wants to go holiday so asking me to go for induce.

I not convenient to say my gynae name here, but she is located in East.

Ivy, I found that's very strange too. Especially she never check dilation too! might be she want for convenience sake and want to earn more $$ from you. Imagine if ended with c-sect the bill will be more!
My colleague just told me actually last time her case where her cervix can't dilate more than 3 cm is becoz she's induced. My prev gynea estimate her baby weight already 3.5 kg at 38 week, so said better induce if she wants natural since he found her cervix is narrow. In the end induce, not successful, ended with emergency c-sect, baby born actually only 3.1 kg. a bit strange. And baby is born end may. I suspect might be wanting to go holiday that's why like that??

Becoz my experience with my prev gynea is okay, even he can predict when my baby will be born and true. Quite convenient that time since I am very well prepared

Ivy, my gynae also want to induce me when I lost wt. But I lost 2kg within 1week. Baby gained 100g. So gynae was worried abt baby not absorbing, cord ard neck. Since I had exactly Same experience with #1, I decided against induction. Went home n self monitor.

#1 failed induction after 2 days. Third day schedule csec.
So my #2 I'm still sitting at home waiting for plug to drop or Waterbag to burst.

ivy > is tis ur 1st bb? I was seein 3 gynae for my #1. Fr my experience, individual gynae has their own set of "habits" n "beliefs", whether it is to their personal benefits or patients interests we really wldnt knw for sure. Tats y we nd thm. Bt since its our bb, we try to mak the best choice n hopefully its the wisest too. I wil suggest tat u clear all ur doubts w ur gynae n mak sure u n ur hubby r convince of ur final decision. U r rt to seek 2nd opinion fr the family doc, bt again i doubt he wil giv much firm advice as his practition is nt in tis line. Alternatively u may also seek 2nd opinion fr tcm specialised in tis area. Imho.

Ivy

My #1 was natural delivery so can't really share personal experience. But if your bb is gaining weight, & ur weight loss is only 200g, it seems a bit extreme to induce now. I just wonder if there's any other medical condition that prompted your gynae to suggest inducing so quickly? I also second the others - clarify with your gynae. Ask her to explain to you why she came to such a decision. At least if u can better understand her reasons, you can make a better decision too. We're all not med profs, so may not be the best person to advise. If u want a 2nd opinion, I suggest consulting another gynae. A GP, frankly speaking, may not be able to advise at all, esp if he has not been trained in gynaecology or family medicine.

Hi Groovy,

Yah loh, dunno whether she is going holiday so push me to go for labour. I heard before that there are really gynae who asked patients to do c-sec or induce because they going holiday... ;(

Christine, yah, my first baby...so I'm at a loss totally dunno what to do at all.

Last night I had 'show' and this morning have slight cramp like menses cramps, does that means my baby coming out soon?

Tomorrow my gynae wants to reduce me, so I have no time to look for another gynae..but my family doc she's very knowledgeable so I just want to hear what she says.

Ivy

Spotting after a VE is common. I had spotting after my VE & went into labour 2 days later. Sometimes it could trigger labour too, coz went to touch & stretch the cervix mah. Maybe u'll just go into labour tmr without needing to induce liao.

Ivy

Do ask as much as you can when you see your gynae before u make the final decision. Like what Jul says, you could naturally go into labour by tomo if you are having a bloody show now!

Nattan

Hang in there!! The ending line is near. Are u considering to stop work earlier than 2 weeks?

Adeline

That's good news! Have a good one week break! Everyone deserves me time.

I did a lot of walking and standing yest as we brought my ILs to the Ubi car mart to look for second hand cars. Had really bad BH last night! Felt the pain all the way to my lower back at 3am. I thought this must be it man! Then went toilet to pee
And tried to take deep breaths while changing position. Then the pain went off. Phew - thank god! I still need to go to work this week!!

Ivy: my gynae only told me that he will induce if bb weight is stagnant or bb no moving. He not a person who pro inducing birth aways ask me to wait. I already overdue 3 day and he said wait till Monday and see him. He plans to induce if bb not growing or 7 days pass edd. Maybe like the others say tonight maybe you will go into labour naturally. Ask your gynae again if u r not comfortable

I have no spotting after VE examination. Gynae said cervix shortening. Ctg only shows very mild contractions. I have another approx 3 weeks to my due date
Everything seems the same except frequent peeing n bad feet water retention recently.

Ivy:
From what I heard its ok for mum to lose a bit or stagnant at the last stage as long as the bb is still growing and gaining well. Abit strange to want to induce but best to ask her the reason for suggesting.

Just came back from seeing my family doc who advised that it's better I go induce too.
She said since my baby weight is ok and I'm already full term.
She also said a gynae must have her concerns when she asked mummies to induce, she said losing weight is dangerous too.

She suggested that I go in tomorrow, take weight check again, ask gynae check my dilation and also do CGT test.

Ivy

Then go in and do the test tomorrow. There is no harm and ask why she wants to have you induced. Nothing to be woried about. In the meantime monitor your bb movements. Bb shld move at least ten times within two hours

Just went to the motherhood fair. Pampers NB and buggies NB all sold out le! Ought 4 packs dryperz and goon and desitin cream. Carpark v v full.

hi ivy,

think better go in to check early ..yeah oso for a peace of mind too...

yeah i got reverse issue. hoping my baby gain more weight before i give birth..yeah been eating lots these few days....2.1 kg at week 35..all the doppler test and CTG tests are okie..baby is active too...so i have been trying to increase my food intake ...anyone as the same tinggy huh? gynae say small got advantage cos natural is muchie easier.....

we can drink coconut from which week onwards huh? issit week 36 huh? mi forgotten liao liao after reading some threads last time..anyone can help?

Philips Avent Manual Breast Pump Out & About Set.

Used less than 5 times due to absence of breast milk.

Bought at $159, letting go at $80!

Item in great condition with full accessories in Original Packaging.

Self collection at East area. Pls sms / whatsapp Jean @ 91122351.

Hi Miss freedom,

Are you give birth on 11 May? My ger now is 23 days old. since yesterday onwards morning since 7/8am wake up for the milk all the way until maybe about 11/12pm then slp. Try to rock, pat and bring walk walk she will fall slp. After put her to the cot, least than 5/10mins, she will start to cry. After carry then fall slp again. The whole morning for 3/4 hrs, she will keep looking for milk after wake from the cot. Sometimes 3.5oz EBM - 3oz FM - 2oz FM/EBM. If keep giving her to drink she will vomit out. Headache! I wrap half of her body with cloth, cos she only wear top and pampers with mitten and booties. After that use another cloth cover at the stomach area.

My ger also cant latch on properly, so everytime she will be very fussy and crying even the nipple is already inside her mouth. So i feed her by bottle. I try to pump but sometimes she not sleeping or my kids making noise need to company them, in the end cant pump at the timing. Sometimes within 10mins i can only pump from both side total 100ml only. is it normal? My ger now can drink 3 - 3.5oz of EBM or FM.

Sunbelle, my gynae is Dr Denas Chandra of The Women's Specialist.

You can start drink coconut juice already. I've been drinking since 34 weeks.

Jolene
I received ur Tx alr.. =)

Mummies at motherhood fair
Issit too late for me to make the trip there now?? Haha procrastinator me just decided to move my ass! Thibking of doing some light shopping and also to bring #1 out since he likely gonna b cooped up at hm during my confinement =s

sunbelle > i hv booked the hosp, bt nt on specific date for the csec yt. Cos gynae asked me to wait til tue visit. Ya, wldnt b surprise tat the hosp is crowed. It wil b lik tat everywher for our dragon bb for the future yrs too. Cc, nursery, kindergarden, pri, sch n the list goes on.

<font color="0077aa">hopecg, yes! i actually started missing being pregnant! hope to have #3 but hb says not so soon. :p

go out while u still can! and eat what u crave now. i am longing to hold my cup of bubble tea!</font>

jolene > hw to avoid? Unless u hv anthr pl to sty? If thers drillin m knockin, the noise wil b unbearable esp we gona b on confinement at hm for a full month. Nt to mention regular cleanin require as its gona b dusty.

Repainting - I scare the paint might affect the baby somehow. I can move to my in laws place in the morning - afternoon at least ma.

sunbelle: u can start drinking coconut already,some of them here started pretty early.i just drank my first one today..36+ weeks.

petrina: chris asked u to induce again.. during my previous visit, i told him i hope it to be natural, dun wan induce..he was reassuring me, if my weight gain in normal and all check up is normal, sufficient water and all..he would not suggest to induce

sapphire,
i'm also looking forward to bubble tea. keke

jolene,
reno probably will be dusty, maybe you can put the bb in the bedroom, turn on the air con.

confinement:
think i already broke a few rules ...
- wash hair on 4th day after birth, wash hair on alternate days.
- went to PD visit on the 7th day.
- went for gynae visit on the 8th day.
- went to kiddy palace and aussino to buy some more bb stuff today, 9th day.

latching bb:
my nipples are sore after latching continuously for a few feeds. Bb drinks every hour when i latch, my bb does not empty my breast fully. If i latch incorrectly, he'll suck in air. If i pump and feed, bb can last for 2-3 hours. My nipples are drooping downwards after pumping

kadice: i lost wt lor.. De Jevu with #1..
Then my BP 150/99. Heartbeat 99. So he say he don't wanna let me go.
After negotiation, he ask me do CTG, check baby's heartbeat ok liao.. then BP went back to 135/90. Then he say ok, let me go.

Joey: aiyah.. not living in olden days.. I everyday wash hair since delivery #1. then PD visit &amp; gynae visit sure muz go de.. How can dun go?
Shopping wise, i usually take opportunity from doctors' visits to go in morning then shop then reach home at night.
I have no excuse to go shopping if i don't go doctor. Cause MIL nag. Otherwise i'll surely go out.

my confinement lady was nagging me not to wash my hair, my mum also nag, but i couldn't take it :p
i think going out for 2-3 hours makes me feel happier too..

Mummies, I experience contraction since morning. Went gynea and he said 3 cm dilated asked to go hospital but he didn't do ctg. looks like today is the day. He had major operation in tmc at 1.30 about 2 hours. I want to deliver in mt a. Will pray hard he will be there when the baby going to get out

Chris

Haha you don't have courage for natural, I don't have courage for Csec. let's just jiayou together ok? However our bbs come out, most impt is healthy, happy can already

My next appt is Wed, if I haven't popped by then. Getting a bit antsy from the waiting.

Joeey

The weather is so bad, confinement is so hot, how not to wsh hair? At least u wahs every alternate days. That's my aim, but I could end up washing daily like for my last confinement haha. I perspire a lot, so it's very difficult not to bathe. Really salute mummies who can dun wash hair for 12 day, or 28 days or whatever.

I also need to wash everyday... else will feel so icky. Also, not very hygienic leh... I think so long bathe with warm water and don't catch a cold is good enough. All those confinement practices are for long, long ago in ancient China..

Groovy

Jiayou! I'm still waiting for my turn hee

Jolene

My flat was being repainted last yr. It's quite ok leh. Not smelly or anything. Just keep the windows closed when the workmen are at your floor.

Hm.. I feel my contraction stops. Very strange. My gynea also never cek ctg. hm... But maybe will go hospital still. Quite scary. Hopefully not false alarm but still got time to wait for gynea! This is my #2. My heart beat so fast. Haha. But I feel baby has gone down already. My upper tummy feels empty if I press

groovy,
jiayou ! seems today is a good day to deliver eh

okie, now i dun feel so bad about washing hair on alternate days. My Mum was very worried for me as this is the last confinement, if dont 补 now during these 28 days, next time no chance already.
And i'm still coughing now, all the herbal stuff have to dilute and drink.

Good luck Groovy! You will do great!!

So nice to be relaxing at home for the next whole week. Hopefully can keep my lil bub in till full term and she comes out naturally on EDD without any fuss,no long labor and a healthy lil girl and during this process of child birth, i am in total relax mode with my epidural,that would be my only wish

Morning ladies

Another wet &amp; rainy morning. Had to drag myself to work. Very kan cheong now cos many things to clear and hand over by Wed. ARGH.

Groovy

Are you at the clinic or at home now? Jia you k? I thought no 2 already should be more chilled and less panicky? Hehe…

Joeey

Singapore weather is too humid la..if don’t wash hair and shower, we will stink like mad. Sure end up post natal depression cos so uncomfortable and disgusted with our ownselves! Just make sure you wipe yourself and blow your hair dry quickly. Take precautions but don’t overdo it.

Jul

My appointment is tomo. Phew – had a scare on Sunday early morning. For a moment I thought this is IT! Then I asked my girl, are you planning to come out ah? Mummy still have to work till Wed &amp; have things to settle!! Then I felt her wriggle and move inside. Afterthat, the contractions stopped. Gosh..panicky man….i only told my hubby in the morning, didn’t want to make him more kan cheong. Hahaha…

You stopped work already right?

Smilezz

Yeah I CMI liao. Can't walk, how to work &amp; sit scrunched at the cubible all day. Feeling super useless now.

Groovy

Oh so is it tdy or not?

nattan/jul: ya!! North pole sounds very attractive.. if cold just wear thicker. but if hot how to wear any thinner??
unless shave head otherwise muz wash daily..

Jul: how come ur appt on wed? u'll be 39+wk le wor..

Groovy: so how? today or u still wanna wait till waterbag break?

Smilez: time ur contractions bah. maybe just BHC.

Huehehehe. In the end I go home nOw. Doctor said just go home first. Maybe psychological also becoz my mum said can only come this thursday or friday so baby wants to wait. Lol. Lucky I don't gO labour ward yet