(2012/04) Apr 2012

Hi Mummies, I would like to share this piece of info on maternity shots by a good photographer.

He is currently having a soft launch promo which is going at just S$250. It includes a 2hr shoot, about 10-15 images edited and returned in low res JPG and 3 prints. More optional upgrades to the packages are available for customisations. Edits and prints go thru olor enhancements and touchups, prints are done with premium print makers. Website: http://www.3littlepics.com/. Contact: Tey Yong How +65 9793 2031. Can preview his profile on FB

Eliz n mossie: I see.. I also tink.is happy occasion but did hear abit from ppl who mention about the pang tang thomgy :p
By the way..anyone check out the TMC child birth class is it fully book by now??

Mossie
Me too.. need to wake up to pee!! So tiring.

Ms Tan
I also do what i like.. as long as the elders don't say NO, i don't ask. haha.

Eliz: Me 2 have to wake up every nite to pee. After tt can't slp at all.

Ms Tan: For cakes (wedding & full mth), my mum dun allow me to eat even though I m not pantang but just do wat she says.. One of the things i pantang is using scissors or nail clipper on bed. It is No No for me. My #1, I use nail clipper on bed and my boy's ear got a small clip there..

Mossie, I decided to do the genetic scan without gynae advice, for a 2nd opinion. This was after the detailed scan. We wanted to be sure that there are no other issues which may have been overlooked during the detailed scan at TMC.

Your detailed scan very cheap wor! Even mine done at TMC was close to $300 I think.

Tangerinez, so they did not detect anything during the detailed scan at TmC? So the detailed scan are actually not sufficient enough.

I'm surprise the detailed scan is only $80 whereas the downsymdrome test I took in kkh is $300+ with blood test. During the DS test, they scan more on the baby's heart as compare To my detailed scan.

Ginger, you didn't get referral note from Dr Lee? Mine is 2.30pm, will see you there. The basic detailed scan is $380, if additional assessment is needed then will up to $480, comes with DVD and 2 sets of report, bring everything back to Dr Lee though the nurse at Dr Anandakumar may ask you to keep 1 set. Dr Lee side will give 1 set back to you after your review. Did you get your Oscar result back? I don't remember they have passed to me, will ask a copy on Sat.

Mossie, the problem (refer my fb post) was first discovered thru detailed scan. But I see the HOD like never give much info so I wanted another opinion to play safe.

If discover anything thru detailed scan they usually send you off to specialist for further scanning.

At Prof Ananda he spent a much longer time with the genetic scan. His machine can spot more things cos so much clearer.

Oh, I missed the part that u saw another sonographer. I always though prof ananda is the first sonographer u saw. Sorry for my blurness

Heh, I also blur blur de. Sometimes info overload, normal

meinmei> the nurse at dr anan change my appt to 1:30. so i'll be there before you. i called dr lee's clinic, the nurse say she will fax the letter direct to dr anan's clinic. so i jus go straight there. i dint do the oscar test with dr lee. i did it with my previous fertility dr, so i have a copy of that with me.

act i quite bu shaung with the nurse at dr anan. initially my appt was at 3.30pm. then she called me back, and told me there's a earlier slot at 12pm. then i told her 12pm i cant too earli, so i wana stick to my original 3.30pm. then she say she gave my 3.30 slot away. quite pissed at that time. cause she dint even ask me before she gave it away. heng she manage to get me at the 1.30pm slot.

Regarding the panting issue,
I did not avoid red matters on purpose but more of unable to attend due to my severe ms n fatigue...once I'm better, I do attend bdae celebrations, weddings etc especially close frens.. But white matters is a definite no no
For renovation,limited only to some moving in of new furniture..major movement like doing up my boys room n drilling of holes are avoided..just to be on the safe side..

Same as u mossie, I wished April would come soon... Cos so many things I can't do with #1 with a big tummy.. Especially now when he is sick and wants to be carried and I can't carry him for long, only left with poor hubby carrying him thruout nite..I think hubby will be next to fall sick with exhaustion...sigh..

Ginger, oops, she didn't call you to confirm then gave away? Not right of her, I think her name is Stella. Mine was 21st but I cannot make it therefore ask for waitlist for 22nd, she has opened 23rd but never tell me! I called to check then I know, initially, she has put me at 4.30pm or so which I told her I'm not sure if baby will cooperate, may take longer then she helped to called the 2.30pm appt patient to swop with me.

I do not attend both good or no good occasion, the 2 weddings that I've attended, I've seeked the wedding's couple permission prior to confirming my RSVP. Going by the good old saying, best to avoid all. When I say avoid the not even ang bao. Ang Bao means you have attended though not in person.

May I know if I can spring clean my storeroom? It's stacked to the door! No room for addition! My mum told me no. My HB's organization sucks, lots of empty spaces in between the storeroo not fully utilized. Both my HB and helper is open door, stack, never organize one.

i think Stella is the receptionist. there is a nurse whom i call her nurse hong but she will ask to be addressed as hong. when i call to make/change appointments i will ask for nurse hong. no issues with arranging for appointments.

BUT my appointment was at 2.30pm, we reached at 2pm and guess what time we got to see the doctor? 4pm! by the time we are done it was almost 6pm... hope you girls are luckier!

MEinME: I do springclean etc moving stuffs n organizing nicely. But for too heavy stuffs n cleaning of high cupboards n toilets, I leave it to hubby.

Pinkbunny, what does everyone do there after dark? The atmosphere must be quite nice with snow right?

Pinkbunny - No snow? Can your hubby rent a car or borrow one so that you don't have to depend on your MIL to go out?

Ethan_ethel,
How is ur ms now? Mine is still here and suffer lots of heartburn too. I Wana pop soon so all the uneasiness will go away although I haven't prepare the hse for baby arrival. Don't care lah, whatever comes along then see how. Aiming very hard for apr soon.

How is ur no.1 now? I hope he a feeling better. If u can't carry him, maybe u can hug him in bed. That's how mine steal hugs from me. Remember to out a pillow on tummy if u r co slping. My pillow blocked lots of karate kicks for me

MeinMe - I do springcleaning too but no lifting of heavy stuff or reaching stuff in high cupboards.

Anyone went to the Robinson's members sale? I went and ended up buying a couple of pillows, new bedsheets, a stroller raincover and flight socks!

Ethan_ethel, I do bear hug with my girl, no carrying, just sit on chair to hug or lay down on bed. I'm waiting for tummy to be bigger then she can bear hug and lean on my tummy. kekeke

Mossie, mine kicks big time too AND recently she likes to "squeeze" on my pillow!!! Lucky that I only sleep with her on Fri and Sat nights (her camp out days), other days, she settles in her own room and bed.

Ok, I'll whip my organization skill then. No worry, my HB and helper will help with the carrying.

mossie and ethan_ethel, high 5! I also can't wait for Apr to come and am counting down!

MeinMe, my in laws wouldn't approve of me moving anything in the house now but having said that my helper and hubby went to move things in the storage room coz need to make space! Hee... So I think it is ok. Happy spring cleaning but don't over exert yourself!

On this note, can I ask when you ladies intend to set up bb cot? Coz ordered one and thinking of asking for delivery and assembly after 34/35 weeks. BUT my in laws disapprove of any moving or assembly in the house before bb is born and only want us to do after bb is out. I can understand the rationale as a bit pantang myself but if dun assemble before bb is born, where is bb going to sleep? And doubt I will have much energy to supervise all these things after giving birth so want to do it earlier. I thought if can delay to march, should be ok. Opinion?

El, I went to the member sale yesterday and thought the offers were not bad especially with the $30 voucher. Bought my Avent steriliser and bottle warmer set at $199 less the additional $30 and it came with 4 free PES plastic bottles and 2 soothers! According to the auntie, I got a good deal coz normally they don't give the better PES bottles as free gift and just the normal PP ones. In case anyone wants to buy, do check that you got the right bottles as the PES bottles will come in a golden labelled box rather than the normal white box that says "classic".

Also bought a Graco playpen to put in living room or in our room during the day. Didn't think of getting one as was still thinking of a 2nd cot but hubby was so taken in so decided to get it. I am not sure if Graco is good to buy but think someone here recommended so I just follow! Hee...

And then bought a few other items like NUK bottles and teats and other misc things. Think I am a shopaholic! Lol...

Starrie - If you're getting a new cot its impt to air the cot and the mattress before baby sleeps on it. There is this "new" smell.

Starrie- The $30 off voucher with $180 purchase was really good to use! Made us want to spend more!

Starrie, yours is a good deal with the additional $30 off. I got mine from the Philips sale, $120 sterilizer with bottles and pacifiers. I thought that as long as you are not there should be fine. Recently, my HB and helper dismantled my girl's bunk bed into 2 singles. I was out the whole time they were doing it. I also not in when my helper changes bedsheet.

Since the elders say no, do respect them. Probably put the frame and bedding at where they should be to air them, wash sheets, get your HB and helper to assemble after you have delivered and before you go home.

Mossie,
My ms is much better now, but suffering from flu .. Could vomit entire meal due to itchy throat n intensive coughing ... Hope your ms ends soon too ...hugzzz..

My boy wants to be carried walking ard or standing up when he is cranky feeling sick ..I tried carrying him sitting down, hugging in bed..he does not like leh...think he likes to sleep upright while being carried due to his blocked nose bah..

I went Robinsons sales on mon, a day before the sale to reserve the items.. Then my sil went to pay the next day, we got a few $30 vouchers discount with our cards... Saved quite a fair bit..
Mainly got new bedsheets for the whole family..pigeon supplies n nuk bottles..
Got plenty of toys for #1 though.. So that he can have fun opening all the presents on Xmas..the kitchen set @ $60 is a steal..;)

Mossie, were you the one asking about the Avent Video Monitor? Robinson selling it at $299 with a set of pillow and boster.

Guess we ladies really know how to shop!

Yes, I agree the $30 with every $180 spend is really good! Made me spend more than I wanted too! Lol... Really good "gimmick" to tempt us! I also used the voucher on the playpen which is why hubby was so tempted to buy as it was already on sale and then there was additional member discount for these 3 days and another additional $30 off! So from $300+, it became $219!

El, that was my concern abt the "new" smell so wanted to assemble it earlier.

MeinMe, I also want to respect them and so I thought if I am not at home, it should be ok but they also say no. Alternatively, I also suggested to get the pple to assemble outside and then just move in so that there is no drilling but they also said no.

Actually hubby and I feel that they are being quite extreme coz not only they do not want us to drill in the house (this is still understandable) but they also said cannot move things into the house and cannot buy any bb things until bb is born!! Like that, how to survive? BB don't need to eat or wear anything? And how can I go out once bb is born to get all these things? So if going by their logic, can't even bring the new cot into the house to air!

Meinme, I'm looking at the video monitor previously but bought the normal ones instead becoz the normal ones got longer distance range.

Ethan, I also went to the Robinson sale.. Yah.. With the 30 voucher discount is really worth it
I bought milk bottle sterilizer..comes w 4free Nuk bottles.

Ms Tan, you bought the NUK steriliser right? We were thinking of buying that as quite worth it to get free NUK bottles but we also need a food warmer so decided to go for the Avent set.

Btw, could I confirm that NUK teats cannot be used on Avent bottles? Coz I only want to use NUK teats so if cannot, I might need to get rid of the Avent bottles I got.

Also, can I check if anyone has good recommendations on where to get bibs and socks? I was thinking of Carters for bibs and for socks, I was looking at a BP but not sure coz their socks seem a bit ex ($10 per pair) and only come in 1 size (0-12). Most of the time, I have seen they come in 2 sizes (0-6) and (0-12) so not sure whether to get. Or does anyone have the contact of the previous BP seller that I remember some pple got their socks from? Tks!

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/6457777.html?1324380482

Gingerbreadger, starrie : yes ,I bought the NUK sterilizer. Also comes w a refill pack of milk bottle detergent if I rembr correctly. V worth lor. I only know Nuk teats can fit in pigeon bottles.. Not Avent I guess..as Avent one is wide neck. My fren ask me not to use yellow type teats..she said it will turn sticky after awhile..wonder if is true..

Ms Tan, yea.. I know NUK teats can fit most other bottles but don't think can fit Avent as it is proprietary or something like that. I also read that the yellow type teat (latex) does get sticky after a while and requires frequent change but we decided to use it as latex is a natural material while silicon (clear teat) is not. So we prefer to use something more natural first especially for newborn. Also, think the lady was saying latex is softer so might be more suited to newborn. Not sure if true or not... But might decide to change later to silicon if really too troublesome.

gingerbreadger, I think the NUK sterliser set that Ms Tan was mentioning (that comes with free bottles and detergent etc...) is $108. If you cannot wait for next Robinsons sale, I know Kiddy Palace also sells the set with 4 free bottles at $101 but without the other freebies like detergent etc...

El, just to check with u, does doc tee let u know the baby weight and size for every visit? He nv tell me what's my baby measurement before. My old gynae will have it printed on the scans everytime.

Ladies, Im finally here in the forum, writing to you from my own bed at home!

Reached home, eat a bit and immediately slept for a few hours! Its 4 nights worth of sleep I'll say. Nothing beats sleeping on your own bed isnt it?

Now that I'm home, when I go to the toilet, I cannot shut the toilet door whenever Im inside. Gynae forbids me to shut the door incase another bloody episode occurs inside the toilet. And at least one family member must accompany me at all times while at home. I also cannot go out of the house. Gynae said better stay home rather than roaming around outside even when I feel a bit better later on. He said it would disastrous if another bloody scene occurs outside of the house. The only time that I can go out is when I go to NUH to meet him for appointments.

Mossie - Nope. Dr Tee doesn't tell me the baby's weight and size for every visit. Last visit I asked him what the baby's weight was and he said 800-900 g, but I think it was from the average size chart and not because he did any measurements!

Andreanie - So glad that you're back home. Hospital beds are so uncomfortable! Good that your gynae gave you permission to rest at home instead of staying at the hospital. I had a friend who had to have bed rest in hospital for the last 3 mths of her pregnancy as she was having premature contractions and had to have ventolin drip. She said it was so boring that it was torture!