(2012/04) Apr 2012

littledd, re. your question about maids: waiting time depends on whether it's a transfer maid who is with agent to one who is still back in her home country so need to clear paperwork and tests. So it can range from a few days to a few weeks. Best to give yourself a lead time of 2 months. She joins your family earlier better than later e.g. after you deliver.

I've found that sometimes it's not really any one particular agent who can provide good maids. At most, if you get friend's recommendation for agent, it's because they provide gd service. My current one is my 4th one liao and it's really the luck of the draw. You can browse biodatas online first to see what I mean:
www.bestmaid.com.sg
www.netmaid.com.sg

My mum prefers maids who have had no experience but I find that by the time they get used to our hygiene standards and pace of work, it's 6 months to a year.

The best helper I've had so far is a transfer maid who has worked here for 6 yrs and had 4 ex-employers. On paper, that didn't look so good but after interview and knowing she had experience working in Chinese families with young kids and 3 generations, she proved to be really good.

Anyway, good luck. If you have a religion, pray hard for a good helper ;)

Gina: I got the nan xing bei xing mixed with zhi ke powder! Double power. Seems like my cough stopped a little while after i drank half a bottle of it. Shal finish the rest before i go zz. Hopefully i can get a good night's sleep today. Hb flying off again tmr. I really need to get well. All alone to battle #1.

Haru/Twoormore: The nausea will go away soon. Don't think so much about it.

Summerbliss: My gynae was telling me use the EDD from the V-scan. Cos v-scan more accurate. But v-scan only do once during the 6w visit. Anyway, it's meant to be estimated lar. To keep you prepared. haha....

3 more weeks! To end of 1st tri for me. 3 weeks quick quick pass!

I'm march 2010 mummy.
I still have a box of Dhaxtra Softgel fish oil (30 capsules) that purchased from my gyne at TMC to let go at $45/-. Expiry Jun 2013.
Self collection at tg pagar mrt station.

Pls PM me if you are keen. Thanks

Hi BabySeeToh,
Its bn awhile im here.. Im Always tired. If im not working i'll be sleeping at hme. I am so lucky hubby helps with the housechores & Mom does all the cooking. Sumtyms i do feel useless.. I cnt really remember wat i've updated here. As of today baby is 12weeks. So shud be ard 5cm by now? My next appt is on 8th oct. Edd is confirmed 8th apr 2012. I alr have baby bump wh is already showing. Again, im lucky cos going to work i can walk from home, plus gynae recommends walking during pregnancy. If im reali lazy i tke cab wh cost only $4.00, so u cn ges how short the distance is. Nauseous
still comes & goes.. Like most mummies here i eat in order to drown the nauseous feeling.. Bby seemed to be in the mood for mee soto as i hv bn eating it for the past 3days for breakfast.. Oooh ya.. I cnt go without breakfast too.. I'd feel so weak if i dun eat something.
Hubby tries to talk to baby everdy ( wh i dunno if baby can hear at this stage), but still he does it everydy. He kisses good night too.

Hi Mums,

Nov Mum here, just wanted to share a link with you guys in case some of you would like to get some Carters/ Baby Gap stuff

Do visit https://picasaweb.google.com/116573977670613870697 and feel free to PM me or email [email protected] if you have any questions about the products or would like to place an order.

Thanks and have a safe pregnancy everyone!

LittleDd
Its really luck when comes to choosing a helper. Once you find a good one, do keep them! hahaa. Like mine, she's with me 3 years olds.. not perfect but compared to the woes i hear from my friends, i'm not taking any chances.

Finally hit the 11th week. Though not puking as much, this morning i puke out yellow stuff.. yucks!!!

any remedies you have tried and worked if your face is breaking out like mine? The poor complexion is really affecting my confidence so much, the only major setback of pregnancy so far. Even feel so ugly to see hubby

Hi ladies,I'm discharge volunteerily from tmc on sat coz I feel that they r not treating my gastric problem. I was refer to a gastric specialist but as it was a saturday, nothing much was done except for giving me more medicine.

Anyway, was admitted to kkh on sat night because my mum got too worried over my gastric pain. Although My gastric is still here, I feel that kkh treated my gastric problem with more concern. The nurses here are more pro active than tmc. And it is much cheaper.

I still cannot be discharge becoz the gastric prob is not recover yet. Anyway, to my surprise I like kkh better than tmc in terms of everything except for the trainee docs here

dear mossie, take care! are u eating on time???

littledd, i have alot of maids problems with my 1st and 2nd maid. to summarize, my 1st maid was caught by the police for prostitution, was sent back to indon the very next day (and she was not pretty not young loh!) 2nd maid was working for me for 1 year, only given 1 off day for the entire year, and she got pregnant that very one time.

So in short, hiring maid is based on luck! my current maid is 47yo! so i m not worried she will get pregnant, cos she has already menopaused! haha. but she is not exactly v good, cos old already, limited energy. but still see how if i wanna change again, cannot afford the kind of "heart attack"

Oh my goodness, i think i should just appreciate my current maid more. she's been with us for almost 2 years. only negative point is she's always on the line (using earpiece) and my MIL tells us she is lazy at times.

Thought I should get another one to help me out with the baby. My hubby is working most of them time so I'd probably need some assistance if possible.

My colleagues are guessing I'm pregnant but I don't know why.. I'm refusing to let anyone know of the good news yet except for some.. maybe cos' i'm not yet at 12 weeks, currently at week 10 only and previously i had a m/c.. don't want to get people excited for nothing again..

Anyone mentioned to the bosses already? How did it go??

Yoz mummies> I had past my 12 wks and really no more vomit feel and my helper cooking smell i can stand it too. on the 12 wks day was the worst for me vomit feeling for the whole day. after that ok liao was just a bit giddy this morning not sure was it disturb sleep last time but after i sleep a while this morning I got better.

Dear all, I think I not able to join this thead anymore. Received a call from kkh that my blood test result is out. Bb have trisomy 13. My heart sank.

All the best to u gals.

Pinkyxu, hugs n do take care.

Mossie, take care n hope u get well soon.

I m down with sore throat n constipation. Hv no choice but to take medicines prescribed by doc. Hope its ok for bb. Any cure for constipation? Can we take prune juice everyday?

littledd,
I told my bosses in my 5th week. Don't really have much of a choice because I'm supposed to bring students for overseas trip this Nov and I have to declare that I cannot go. They are quite positive and even helped me announce to the rest of the management team so that they can factor in for their deployment planning for next year.

Pinky: Take care.

I am back to the doc again for the runny nose and cough. Felt really terrible last night with the block nose and cough. This time doc gave me cough syrup! Suitable for infants kind. Haha... And another 2 days MC. I think i am the only one down with MC due to flu yah. everyone MC-ing due to preg problems. Sighz. Record breaking number of mc this year.

Bbtwo: Prune juice is ok. Take note of the sugar though. U can take fybogel if you need also lar.

ok... back to bed for now. Be back later.

PinkyXu> Did KKH recomend to still do a amuntic fluid test (sorry can spell correctly) before any further action? Pls chk and do take good care.

Constipation> there is this syrup that my Dr prescribe to me previously its call Lactus Syrup which u can buy off the shelf at KKH pharmacy. Its safe for us but of course best method id lots of fruits and water until it doesn't works then use theis.

Leo baby, tml going to see the doc not my gynae. The nurse called up me who advise me to do the test for trisomy 13. But I looking to the bad end. I dun want to give myself any hope. Ya if the result again not gd, I may terminate this pregnancy.

Pinkyxu:you must be feeling really down. While it is good to be mentally prepared for the worst, pls try not to jump to a conclusion before you've done the more invasive and accurate amnio or cvs test. Fts is still only 90% accurate. I just went for the counselling and blood test at kk today. Will be doing detailed scan on Friday.

On a happier note, saw my baby for the second time today! So cute waving arms and legs. 12 weeks this week and eddy.now moved earlier to 7 Apr.

LittleDd - my maid also have same problem. Talk too much and even ignore my kids according to my mum. I just scolded her this morning. But otherwise she does do quite an ok job with housework and cooking so-so. My mum wants me to get rid cos thinks she has bad attitude.

went for my 2nd check up today. baby is 10 weeks and we could see all her fingers and toes clearly, really cute! still have slight nausea today but am hanging in there...

pinky Xu,
do take care no matter what ya?

hi Pinky Xu, sorry to hear that... though u do not want to pin too much hope, u still can pray and leave everything to God.

I went for my OSCAR scan & blood test today. So waiting for my gynae to inform me the blood test result... will also be praying for my lil one...

Oh... I remember someone was asking about the orange piece of paper for the Fetal Assessment centre @ TMC. There are different packages. I am doing the OSCAR + other stuff package (not FA test). I don't think there will be more discount lar. The different packages just to cater for different needs.

Cheekieduckie
I was the one who asked. Thanks for checking! Hehe good that the clinic did not shortchange me. Anyway I paid slightly less than $300 for the Oscar screen after sbi disc. Another $55 for blood test.

Btw any mummies started taking dha? What brands do u take? Previously I took neurogain. Trying to see if there r any other options.

Gina: Yes. The FBI/SBI card gives discount @ pharmacy. But the prices i realized are slightly marked up. I checked for a few items only. So might be cheaper to get from Guardian or outside. Depends on what supplements you getting. You do get discount @ delifrance though. I love delifrance! Also got discount for visiting the 24x7 clinic *touchwood*

Chk with you all what is the rate of CL and no. of days now? CL I source asking for $2200 I just had mine in yr 2010 for $1888 only leh.

Hi Leo_baby
My cl is charging $2100 for 28 days. But i need to apply work permit for her. The rate shld b 2100-2200. 2yrs ago in 2009, she charged $1900.

Pinky... sorry to hear, do take care.

Hello odiey, i'm taking DhaXtra for fish oil supplement. No issues with it thus far.

Is it too early to start sourcing for a CL? I'm popping end Apr.

I bought the Cocoa Butter stick from body shop to apply on my bump area that's beginning to show.. lazy mommies, this is a good option cos' it's in stick form! Pretty convenient and has a pleasant chocalate scent too.

enidmummy.. i have very very gossipy colleagues even saying i went for abortion when i lost a lot of weight some time back, they spread gossips that i had an affair with a married director and now am carrying his baby so have to get married to another man to take care of the kid etc.... i really despise them and their manager who reports to the same boss as me, also hates me for no apparent reason.. since she's the admin manager, i still have to let her know when i'd be on maternity and then comes the gossip again which sometimes do make me cry! i really dont know how to break it to them.. am hitting 3 months in 2 weeks already.

littledd, why ur colls are so mean? talk like that??!! pls ignore them, dun let them affect ur mood

regarding CL
i guess the rates increases due to inflation. i have yet to engage any CL, but i must hire one this time. i had a terrible confinement bcos i didnt have cl, i need more rest this time. haha

Pinky - sorry to hear that. Do remain strong.

My OSCAR scan is also not that good. Still high risk so am going for the Amniotic test in Oct to get a 100% result. My HB and me very worried but we try to stay positive and frens and family have been encouraging. This is our first and hope everything will turn out ok for us and for you as well.

LittleDd: If you want a CL, better start sourcing now. I have friends who sort of booked/confirmed 2. Just in case 1 fly kite, or got schedule prob. The good ones usually get booked real early.

Looks like CL is good biz now leh! Maybe I should ask my MIL go take up the job. Haha...

Dellise - You are so strong! I'm praying that my OSCAR scan will go well on Friday morning. For #2 the results were not that good but we didn't go for amnio as the risk of miscarriage from amnio outweighed the risk of our baby having Downs.

Any mummy still has MS after 12 weeks? Even though its 12 weeks for me but I still have occasional puking episodes. Like when I merlioned a Burger King Fish burger two nights ago. Feel so much better after it was out but the process was still horrible.

LittleDd
Your colleagues are really nasty to gossip like that! Does the director know what these aunties are saying behind his back? He can't put a stop to it? Just ignore them but I know you must be feeling awful. Well work is just work, if really not happy, can always change after maternity leave. Dun let it affect the bb.

dellise
Dun despair. Previously, my colleague was in a dilemma as her oscar test was also not very good. In the end, she decided to just continue with the pregnancy and the detailed scan showed that the bb was developing well. She has just given birth last week and the bb was fine. Esp if you are not in the high risk age group, not all is lost.

Re CL
yes, next yr is dragon, so def lotsa ppl having bb. 3 of my other frens are also preggy, and our EDD are one mth after another and 3 of us are having the same CL. So u can expect that the CL will all be booked very fast esp the good ones. So no harm just looking out and book first.

I jus back from my Oscar scan. Sorry to break the news to u gals but wun be able to join you gals for the journey as my baby skull is not able to be form properly called Acrania. I would encourage mummies to do scan early then late. Opt will be done tomolo at TMC. Stay Happy and All the best for all the happy dragon babies & mummies!

Enidmummy,
U with moe? Do u know if maternity leave is counted by days or weeks?

Looking for a part time cleaner. Does anyone have any to recommend? Thanks.

Leebabytwo, sorry to hear abt ur case... Yes pls do a mini confinement after ur op tmlo. take care and u will be blessed with a healthy baby soon...

Tmlo is my gynae visit, haven do oscars yet... It's getting a bit worrying. Hope my results will be good..

Hey LEEBABYTWO... I feel so depressed reading your post.. sorry to hear about it. I believe this is your second baby? Thank God you still have no. 1.. I pray that you will be safe and strong and faster get over with the mini confinement so that you can try for another one soon! *hugs*

Just a personal experience, i had a natural m/c in mid June this year, did a mini confinement and the gynae said usually after m/c or termination of pregnancy, it is very easy to get pregnant as the hCG levels are still high in the body.. and now i am pregnant again at 10 weeks exactly today. So i hope you think positively.. at least now u can go back to slim figure while we are all gonna look fat lah.

Also another tip is to drink DOM to "pu" your body.. dont drink it neat as it is very strong.. add some water and enjoy one shot every night b4 bed!

Wishing you well for tmr.. rmb that you are not alone and are always welcomed here

Ni,
tnx.
To me, I feel worrying a while is better to be worrying throughout yr 9mths and things turn out to be not good. Its risky to the mummy n baby.
Another thing, I feel choosing the rite gynae is impt. I m not blaming anyone but I had 3 checks wif Dr Ang but he din say anything. All along I dun feel quite comfy wif him so I decided to go to Dr WK Tan. From her first check, she told me tat baby head is not rite and to do Oscar the following week. N the time lag from the last Dr Ang check n Dr WK Tan check is only 5 days difference. So mummies if you not comfy wif a dr, change asap. Or if not get a second or third opinion to be safe. Imagine, nothing was realised til my third trimester? Luckily, I m only 12 weeks now.

LittleDd,
yup, its my second bb. I believe God has his reason for taking my baby to his side. Anyway, tis wasn't a planned one. Plus, my first child journey stil a torture since day one til now. LOL! For that reason I m thinking of going for IUD end up kena scolded by the nurse. Oops! I tink I better stop being negative and scare the mummies here.
Tnx, I will pop in from time to time.