(2011/12) Dec 2011

Winniep: I'm really glad that it had made your day! It had made mine too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For my previous 2 pregnancies in May 09 and Apr 10, I gave birth in Tmc.we took a premier single room and mine was a natural delivery with epi.total bill came up to about $5k.medisave deducted was about $1.8k. Husband paid $2k via credit card the moment we checked into the labour ward.then paid the remaining amount via credit card upon my discharge.

Anybody know about mount a's charges? We're planning to take a single bedded suite there this time.This time round, I'll have 2 young kids, a helper, a husband, an overprotective mother and not to mention relatives coming to visit me constantly so I'll need the space in my room to accommodate them!

For baby bedding, we usually get it from Ikea.it's really affordable and come in bright cheerful colours.it holds up really well in the wash too! We alsO bought our cot from ikea ($79) and a gOod quality mattress ($69) from them.my girl is almost 2.5yrs and we still love the cot.for my boy who is almost 1.5yrs, his cot is $199 inc mattress from Mothercare. Our changing table is $59 from ikea and the inflatable changing pad is $10.

Hello Mommies,

I have been a silent reader because i am busy working in the day and normally I read the post during weekend... happy that everyone is doing well[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I used to study in US for about 5 years. I get used to online shopping there and until now I still do online shopping in US websites... baby stuff I find that Singapore sell very pricey compared to States... I started buying online bb stuff this week since I am already 21 weeks.. hopefully everything turns well[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I would like to join FB group... I wonder how i can be added into the fb group.

My email address is [email protected]

Thanks alot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Joanne : premier is just a little bigger than the normal single room.pricewise it is around $50 more a day compared to a normal single room. and I had a touchscreen computer which could be wheeled to my bed so I was able to surf and send out emails from my bed.our main concern was the size of the room actually. I remember emailing the preadmission form to tmc at around 20 weeks and they had my info at hand when I checked in but no hospital can guarantee your choice of room until you check in because they might be running a full house then.

One thing to note - if you check into tmc anytime before 11pm on that day, they will start charging you from that day itself.I remember after my Gynae confirmed I should head to hospital in a few hours, I went home, had a shower, ordered mcdonalds, watched a bit of tv and only arrived at the hospital at 11pm.hahah.of course, if you cannot tahan then pls go to hospital asap!

Hi all went for usual check up today. Gynae says I put on too much! Omg I was shocked too. This time round I put on 2.5kg. She said I should maintain below 1.5. But overall she said my weight increased was 6kg so still ok. She said the increase of weight should be more only after the 7 mth. Told me to reduce my carbo n cut down on sweet stuff like durian!

I think it could be due to me not exercising. So lazy :p have to seriously start exercising. Do you mtbs have a exercise group?

Winniep: I'm not part of an exercise group but am currently taking KKH's fitball classes, felt it was a good work out for my pelvic area. Also starting their aquafitness class from late Sept.

Hi mummies here, I used to be a silent reader cos too busy during weekdays to come in, only occasionally on wkends.. 'but reading the earlier posts on dogs sparked me! I have a Maltese, and I looove seeing my 2-yr old playing with her. My dog will get over excited at play, and my girl will get all happy yet scared at the same time which is such am interesting sight... I think it's good to let them grow together as companions [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now I'm currently expecting #2, also a girl..

On e topic of exercise... I have to admit I don't do any!! Does e occasion sweeping count?? =p

Hello cjdg and welcome!

I'm not really a pet lover (although I am friends with people who are!) and I feel it's so cool about your child with your maltese!

I guess sweeping is a form of exercise! But may not involve all important muscle groups! Haha!

Morning everyone! Hi cjdg, ooo ur dog n girl is solo cute. I can imagine hoe funny e scene is.

Ms carpe, I checked kkh websit i think there are no more classes for mtbs. Can't find it. Guess have to source elsewhere

Morning! Wow, u ladies are so early!

Ms carpe, u're right.. Sweeping will only involve arms n legs I suppose. E other exercise is shopping! Haha..

Winniep: I think they hv, I didn't find info from website too, I had gone to KKH patient education centre to inquire and sign up. Try calling them (patient education centre) at 63941268 for earliest starting classes for pre/post-natal fitball or their aquafitness classes.

Cjdg: Shopping does exercise a different set of different muscle group! Haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I only know swimming does help in pregnancy thou don't really know what is it helping but I started anyway.

Can't swim many laps also. I think I only enjoy soaking in water.

i would like to check with u ladies... are any of you planning to do the infant photography for your bb? those where the photographers will take photos of your babies when they are <2weeks old.

I'm thinking to... i missed it for my #1, thinking of getting it for #2 this time, but not its not cheap. thinking of asking your opinions on this...

so boring!!! lolx..

cjdg, i am taking preg shots and maybe taking baby shots but should be after confinement.. Will it taking with with my AD photographer...

Aloo mummies!!!

Joanne : Oh yes, i cant do laps as well when swimming. So, i float around! haha.. My gynae said exercising, like walking, swimming will help esp when delivering the baby in natural way. Not sure how it will ease, but guess, its good to exercise!

I have got a weird qn! Does any mummy feel that they have start growing hair in their stomach? I am not a hairy person, but since preggie, i realized my stomach got a bit hairy! I don know if its the stretch cream that i am using which causes this effect... but it feels weird!

cjdg: I had my baby boy's infant photo taken in Kidz Pictures in Forum. Ask for the lady boss who's skills are much better than her staff. If you take studio photo of the newborn, you can capture that crystal clear pinkish skin that only newborns have it...short while before their skin changes. The angmos usuallynhead straight to the photographer directly from hospital!

Cp, head straight?? ang mo maybe no need confinement but we asians need right?? if can head straight, i dun mind leh.. straight go studio there take photo before heading home for the torturus 1 month!! btw newborn baby quite fragile and eyes not that gd yet.. can take studio photo?? coz usually studio, will use flash de, wouldnt it be harmful to baby's eyes?

Yes yes! Mine use to super fine hair and now its yes, its more and a bit longer, esp my stomach area! Is this some sort of preggie symptoms? hmm...

ha ha...guess the photos part i can DIY! lol...

just did a studio shoot last week and took 1500 photos in 8 hours...

straight from hospital to home...then i can whip out camera and start taking...hhhmm...maybe i'll start in the hospital itself! ha ha...

For infant shot, my fren did it when her gal was just 9 days old.

But I feel very heart pain leh. The infant is only 9 days and kenna exposed to bacteria etc? And in many photos, she was crying so hard. Normally, newborn bb can just go out lidat?

No experience with bb since I'll be first time mummy but for my dogs, they can only go out after 3 mths and some mandatory vaccinations, haha.

My baby boy went for the studio shoot when he was 1.5wks old..couldn't go earlier coz he was warded for jaundice. He behaved v well & the photos turned out splendid! This Forum studio specialises in baby/kids so they're q professional in handling the little ones. Then studio photo when the kid can sit on his own.. Somehow studio photos are much nicer than this with our own cameras...more professional lah..

for infant shots u can also engage the PG to do home visit. which i think more hygenic.. but I din do for my boy for some of my fwens do regret spending. they say baby grow up cuter then more worthwhile to spend.

hello stardust, i'm from feb mummies' thread. i saw your comment on the maternity pillow and i went to orchard og to check it out.. However the saleslady told me they don't carry it.. and they haven't had it for a few years now. -_-" which dept did you buy from? I checked both maternity and children's section.

Luwen - yah, I tot so too. Get my bb gal to take with me, hubby and the 2 dogs will be quite nice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Newborn shots, mummy will be in confinement.

Planet - it's where the bolsters are. There's alot leh. On the packaging, it's not mentioned that it's a maternity pillow though. Maybe the SA is not aware.

Hi planet, I got it fr og orchard on 5 aug after stardust's recommendation. ;) it's on the top floor (can't rem 3rd or 4th) where the bolsters are. If u face the pillow section, it's on the left of it. I asked a sales girl n she brought me to it. Yup, not labelled as maternity pillow, it's only 19.50 before discount. Pillow case quite limited but just another $11 bucks more, very nice to hug, hope u find it soon.

yup, I am considering paying more to get the photographers over to my home since we be doing confinement... but studio got nice setup, should be nicer right??

Luwen, i am afraid i will be like some of your frens who regret! haha.. but cos I already #2, and been thinking since i had my #1, if i dont do now, i don't think i will have #3! hee...

CP, your bb photos were taken with Kidz pictures? they can be found in the forum? if so, i'll check it out...

on the topic of hairy, i am hairy by nature, so i cant comment much! but i'll take note the next time i shower for hair on stomach.. nw stomach so big, I oso dont really notice them

cjdg: Yes, all my kids' studio photos are taken in Kidz Pictures in Forum. They're great with kids! Discovered them only when my girl was 6 mths old son quickly sent my boy there after he was clears from jaundice. Will probably go there when my 3rd child is born. Anyway, it's once a lifetime lah... But I'm not taking pregnancy photos as all bloated don't look nice..hee..hee...

I juz came back from Taka baby fair...really many choices for prams..see til lost on what to buy! Finally settle for a Graco pram as it has steady wheels & all the stuff that I want in a pram, reasonable price too. My aunty was there to sponsor it so daren't choose too expensive pram tho' she was eyeing at a costly Aprica pram which I find unnecessary to spend so much on a pram... Saw that Ferrari walker again..told my hubby die die must buy that when my baby is older..love it! Probably will go again to shop for other baby stuff coz aunty was there with us & will fight with us to pay for our purchases so daren't buy too many stuff there.. She's nice & generous but I don't want to take adv of that lah...

yup.. i went to OG bugis yesterday, and when i asked them abt the maternity pillow... they also say that they dont carry it..

can someone tell me the brand or show me the pic?

i m thinking of buying one since it seems like a gd deal.

thanks,.

ok Mummies to be

I've called up KKH Patient Education Centre. They currently have slots for a 3-session class starting from 3rd Sep (Sat) from 11-11.45am at $66. I'm thinking of signing up. The class will be open provided there are enough participants.

The link to the KKH PEC is here: http://www.kkh.com.sg/EducationAndTraining/Pages/PatientEducationCentre.aspx

The Aqua Fitness left one vacancy only and its from 1-1.45pm. I cant go cos i'm having my Antenatal classes at AMK.

littlefren, stardust> thank you! I finally found the pillow after a second visit to OG!! it IS in a corner of the pillow section and it's indeed not called a maternity pillow so no one had any idea what I was talking about. it's called a body pillow.. or some of the SAs called it the "extra long pillow". =)

however i didn't buy it in the end.. cos it looked like just a straight extra long bolster.. i forgot to take a picture but the photo on the wrapping is something like this? http://images.sodahead.com/polls/000618539/polls_080109_BodyPillow_05_0955_672112_answer_4_xlarge.jpeg

there isnt a L shape for the head so I thought I might still need an additional pillow to support the neck. which kinda defeats the purpose. but i must say it is the cheapest of this kind i've seen so far. only $18.90 plus 20% discount. spotlight also carries it at about $24.

jasline> if you are keen, the pillow is actually wrapped in clear plastic and put in those clearance baskets. they are folded into half so look out for a smaller rounder packaging and not a long one. i went to OG orchard so i'm not sure if the OG bear bugis has it.

anyway, the one that i was thinking of getting.. is something like this: http://breastfeedingpillows.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/Cozy-Comfort-Pregnancy-Pillow.jpg

or this: http://www.maternitywearguide.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/big-maternity-pillow.jpg

anyone seen these around? =)

planet, the pillow at OG got so long meh??

wah, the one u wan is so big, that will take up alot of space then ur dh got no where to slp. haha

Ling: heh.. i dunno man.. the maternity pillows look like they can fit abt half a king size bed? the most eat into hubby's space abit lor. haha. i two person, he one person leh. :p

Oh btw have you mummies decided on your pediatrician for your bb? I went for my routine check up on Sat and my Gynae ask me whether i have chose my pediatrician. I asked her to recommend me. She gave me three names and told me to decide and let her know the next visit.

Winniep: Generally gynae will ask you to choose a PD in the same hospital so easier for convenience sake. PD will check on your newborn after birth & all the necessary checks. You're free to change to whichever PD you like after baby's 1st outpatient visit if everything assume ok. For vaccinations, you can opt to jab in poly clinics if you're comfortable with it. My eldest kid started with Dr William Yip in Gleneagles coz gynae spotted 1 of her heart veins didn't close before birth so we opted for this PD who is also a kids' cardiologist. Thank God that my daughter is ok as the vein closed up within her 1st mth after birth. We stick on to him as we like the way he handles the kids. He's still my kids' PD now & will send my 3rd baby to him too. Choose a PD you're comfortable with so that he can take good care of your kids in their childhood years.

Stardust & other mummies, I rem seeing post of bulk buy of quinny zapp extra ...

I am keen too. Can I have the info again, thanks.