(2010/10) October 2010 MTB

apple,

yeah, few more months to go. seems so far yet so near. in the 16th week just like that and soon will be at the halfway mark le.

diveera,

thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can't wait to go back home and sleep. feeling under the weather. :p babies naturally love being carried, and perhaps cae just wants to be close to those he loves too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zuen: my hb can't handle his mum. Forever fighting. Wen is Vesak day huh?

Seabreeze: I hope she will get over the shock soon. Nowadays her face all the time black except wen playing w Logan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Fifi: thanks! Quite exciting to b preggie again.

Thanks mummies on the review of exersaucer. Might go rent one n see how.

hi mummies! I was just wondering what other vegetables can we feed our babies now? I've tried cauliflower and broccoli. I'm thinking of introducing some leafy vegetables like "Heng cai"(hokkien). Sorry I dunno what's the English term for it. Is it ok? Should only give the stem or only the leaves?

By the way, most vegetables can be made into purée form and freezed right? Thanks in advanced!

jac

Welcome back!

Irish

Now that u mentioned salty milk... I had no choice but to taste the milk before feeding Aedan. Cos I really hate milk and now that he's on Enfapro... I find the milk smell and taste even stronger than enfalac! Hahhahaha I almost wanna puke when tasting man!!! LOL! Luckily it's sweet lah. I wonder why urs would b salty.. It's like now we have to be so careful in everything we feed the child. No quality check! Hais

stella,

17 May. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Then you must really think of your plan B liao. Haiz.MILs are a handful. Worse if you are at their mercy.

Zuen: sorry, I gotta take a raincheck on Vesak day. My mum jus had a heart attack and her condition looks quite bad. I'm not sure how things r gg to go for the next few days and weeks.

Shin,

I intro heng cai to my boy too. My mil says it's good, she says I can intro cabbage too. Also tried intro pumpkin, 'zhen zhu dou'. So far, he eats everything. I cook porridge everyday, can be quite fulfilling but I think I too kiasu, add too much ingredients

Enfapro, initially when I intro enfa to my boy, he rejects most of the time but I didn't taste the milk, I tot maybe it's sweet, that's why he didn't like it.

Mummies, may I hv your advices on these areas:

1. How often shd I change milk bottles? 3 mths?

2. I want to start feeding my girl rice cereal. How much to feed?

Good Morning everyone. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Claudia

How do you cook the Heng cai with the porridge? I mean which part of the veg u use?? Yah I also gave pumpkin Liao. I also cook porridge everyday until sometimes I dunno what ingredient to use. Lol

Ange

Hmmmm.... I didn't know need to change milk bottles... Why must change?? I thought only change the teats but so far I've only changed the teats once. If every 3 months change milk bottles very xiong on the wallet leh... Hahahahha

As for cereals.. It depends which brand u using. Like healthy times cos it's very flaky so I use morE spoons. If happy baby I use less. For a start u can start with 1 or 2 tsp.. And add bm/fm to mix to the thickness u want... Then slowly increase no of tsp lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] depending on how ur baby takes to the cereals.

Shin, ya lor.. If need to change every 3 mths very expensive. I cant recall where I saw it frm. However there is a lifespan to everything so I believe we cant use same bottle on a child for few yrs. Thx on the cereal tips. I will try it out this weekend ;)

hello all,

shin,

for me i use spinach leaf, i put the stalk into the slow cooker but never offer to bb. I will cut the leaf into small pieces before putting , into the slow cooker. I also give bb minced pork, i will mashed it up, mixed into the porridge and served.

ange,

i change the milk bottles about 6 monthly, but i will change the teats every 2-3 months.

stella,

i am sorry to hear what happen to ur mom condition n mil reaction towards u expecting another bb. hopes everything will be fine and dont stress yourself too much.

jac,

happy return! so excited for you on ur halfway mark, rest well ask others to do it and dont exert to much force.

zuen,

i will be coming with bb to jp, if meet up is in the morning-noon session. keep me in the loop.

Shin: for heng cai i use only the leaves. then chop up v finely and throw inside porridge.

diveera: i laughed when you mentioned v stress counting the amount of milk cae drinks. me too me too!! Like a bean counter. I mix as much ebm as possible into his cereal and porridge too. But must try not to be too stressed about milk intake. 500 ml already fully meets their calcium requirement for the day. Plus there is calcium in cereals too. Also, can give more of high calcium food like butternut squash, pumpkin which most babies like. I also discovered that he likes to take some cold ebm (by spoon) midway through his solids, i suppose it's a refreshing drink.

stella,

wishing your mum for speedy recovery. hope everything will be fine including ur MIL reaction.

starry,

welcome back! home sweet home always. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] btw, already know the gender?

can we feed baby spinach at 6months? may I know how to cook.

Morning Everyone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Stella,

Sorry to hear about yr mum's condition, hope she makes a full recovery soon, meanwhile you take care too!

Think it will take some time for yr MIL to digest the news, dun worry everything will turn out fine! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: Pumpkin,

Can buy those Australia ones, find that they taste better than butternut squash at times and softer too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cherry,

Butternut is another pumpkin type, looks like a gourd, u can find it in most supermarkets [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, mummies who need to replenish baby's stuff.

Robinson's member sales today and tmr, 20% + 20% on selected items [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happy Shopping! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning all,

Stella, sorry to hear abt your mum. Hope she will be better soon. Take care of yourself as well as the 1st tri is more unstable in comparison.

Re :Bread

When can we give babies bread? He has been staring at my breakfast for the longest time! Like so ke-lian

Good Morning!

Stella, hope your mum recover soon. Do stay positive albeit difficult.

Lilbluey, thanks for sharing on Robinson. Hope I have time to go there. Do need to buy some stuff.

Emma, yalor I try to relax more by putting ebm in his morning cereal. As long as he drank 300+ml by bottle, i will assume he did get the balance 200ml by latch. Latch about 2 to 3 times daily. Thanks for info that butternut and pumpkin has high calcium. I try looking for yogurt but only found those suitable for above 1 year. You know of any yogurt we can give them now? Will try to make banana milk shake tomorrow for him. Just bought the small size banana this morning.

Btw mummies,

Just want to let you know now no more baby stuffs at Tangs Orchard! And I believed Tangs Vivo City also doesn't carry kids stuffs. huhuhu..

I actually love to go shopping there becoz Citibank Tangs can get 12% rebate everytime so it's considered the cheapest..

Just Sharing....

Came across an article regarding spinach, it's best recommended to give it to baby 8 mths and above becos it contains high volume of oxalic acid which directly affect the body absorption of calcium/iron.

Try not to mix spinach + tofu when feeding your child as calcium will hinder the absorption of iron and vice versa.

Most importantly, eat everything in moderation. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

LilBluey,

Thanks for the info. so I will postpopne to give spinach. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Diveera,

I found yoplait yogurt which mentioned for 6months+ baby. I found at market place, cold storage and NTUC finest.

Diveera

my Ethan drinks only 100 to 120 ml by the bottle in the morning - this is after going for 13 hours without anything, and then refuse!! So I mix in another 30 ml into his breakfast cereal. Can't wait till he is 7 months old as i intend to start giving tofu and cheese then - these are high protein and calcium food. Three weeks more to go... will make tofu fruitee smoothies for him, yummmy!

erm...i have this Chinese nutrition book that says banana+milk is not a good combination (but banana+cheese is apparently recommended?). The reason they give is that it will hinder protein absorption, as banana has high levels of some kind of acid and will result in the milk solidifying (ddidn't really understand all of the scientific terms). But I will still continue to give banana+milk sometimes, no need to be over kancheong.

Lilbluey

Yeah agree shouldn't mix high calcium and iron foods. One good combination is that Vitamin C will aid the absorption of Iron. So, good to give fruits in the same meal as iron-fortified cereals.

sharing a useful website with lotsa info about nutritional value of various foods, what age baby can start to eat, plus recipes:

www.wholesomebabyfood.com

diveera

to add on: if you're looking for fruit/milk combinations, my chinese book recommends papaya+milk, hami-melon+milk, mango+milk.

Shin,

For the heng cai, i use the leaves and stem too but have to remove the " xu xu" (dont know what is it call) else very hard. I chop all the veggie into tiny pieces and put it inside a cup. Pour water into a pot and put the cup inside and boil on high fire for half and hour then simmer for about 1 hr. I use the sieve and metal spoon to mashed everything into puree. Yah, i agree everyday cook porridge until dont know what to cook..my mil says can use chicken liver to make porridge for baby next time. today i add lily bud into the porridge, not sure he will eat later or not?

today ntuc selling enfa pro a+ 900ml for $38.80 and i bought 4 tins of it.

thanks mummies!!! My mil tell me to use the stem part instead of the leaves leh... Now I'm confused! Hahhahha

Ange

I really didn't know milk bottles must change but of cos there's a lifespan lah... Hahaha... Soon they gonna outgrow it anyway... Haha.. So far I only bought new bottles to add on to th collection... Have yet to get rid of old bottles [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilbluey

Thanks for sharing. Yah I also read abt the spinach thing so I haven't given spinach yet...

cherry/Claudia

Thanks for sharing the tips![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I just humtum and cook lah! Haha cook until I sians.. Dunno if he eat until sians not.. Lol

Wats lilybud???

Btw $38.80 for enfapro considered relatively cheap Liao... I bought mine from Luvbabies at $37.50. Now they have new online website... Easier to shop!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zuen:

Thanks for organizing gathering. Can't confirm yet cos not sure if going my in laws or parents place. Will only know nearer to date.

Nevertheless keep me posted k? See if I can droP by a while.

loca,

my boiboi also has mild eczema and he's teething and it's sticky hot so we have to keep him cool all the time. the polyclinic prescribe him with Biotin cream.

irish,

thanks for sharing about enfapro! although i never used enfapro, i think we should exercise caution on other fm brands too. get back to us when supplier has gotten back to you! i wanna know what they say!

stella,

i agree with seabreeze. give her sometime to accept it. eventually everyone will accept your children. it's like that one. especially when she sees your children playing together. damn cute. heart will melt!

starry,

now i know you went holiday without jadelyn! haha. i never went out without all my kids with me ley. even my hubby cannot stand the thought of leaving our children behind. which also means that he is usually not interested to date me anymore haha. we always go out as a family, even vacations. duno if i'm lucky or what lah but sometimes a bit sian oso no couple time. (but dunno how come sure got HS time one LMAO). eh how far along are you already? this time your symptoms worse than #1 or not?

diveera,

how come target until 10 months? haha. i'm trying to see if i can hit 12 months at least. then review again. so far so good. really save lots of $$ from buying milk powder.

ange,

i never changed my bottle b'cos they still look fine. but i change teats a lot b'cos it doesn't seem to last very long. unless the bottle turns cloudy, then i'll change. as for rice cereal, for a start i intro 8 teaspons already hurhur and my boiboi finished it all. that's 8 really, really full teaspoon. like a mountain heap each.

emma1776,

cold ebm?! why do i never think of that! i think i better try liao! it's not too windy for bb's tummy?! i stop being crazy counting how much he takes in. i forgot that my constant latching prolly meet his daily nutritional needs already.

period,

ok heng ah, my period finally came. i actually missed it for the whole month of April then come May still no period. hubby oso asked how come your period not here already, got test or not. if accident then how ah? still ask me?!! goondu! lol. luckily i trust my instict and when i started feeling crampy i quickly used the pad and voila auntie oso came and visit me lor. damn irregular, very hard to plan liao. anyone else like me?

mommies thanks for sharing what your babies are eating i am reading with great interest!!

Mummies, a million thanks for your well wishes and encouragement. My mum is stable but not able to eat or drink because she has difficulty swallowing. Fed by tube now and she is very weak n drowsy. I hope she recovers soon but heart problems very unpredictable. Jus ytd morning e ward said she can b discharged then evening like dat. Heng nvr discharge.

Melissa: wa ur boy's appetite very gd! Mine doesn't seem to lke solids. Cereal at max only 3 of his weaning spoonfull. Porridge only a few spoons he dun wan already. But now he loves his milk and he can baby sign for milk! Dunno how to wean like that.

melissa

i desperate lah, that's why try the cold ebm!! and he likes it!! mouth open wide wide for the next spoon - can feed him 50 ml like that!! He thinks that it is ice cream, haha! So far he is okay, no wind leh. But all along he doesn't suffer from wind problems. Maybe u try a bit for your boiboi first, if no problems then give more?

Stella,

Take care of urself ya.

West mummies gathering on 17 may, am:

1. ZuEn

2. Cherry

3. Vivian

4. Xin (maybe)

5. Jac (maybe)

Did I miss out anybody?

So we meet in jp?

Melissa,

This pregnancy is tougher than previous. Nauseousness felt worse and dragged till past 2nd tri. Have headache on and off plus more easily tired also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Glad ur aunty came! Otherwise have #4!! But anyway, accidents can happen huh! *winks winks*

zuen,

Can I ask a gf along? Her boy is 7mths old too. Let me know and I'll ask her along? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zuen,

u miss out apple!

Melissa,

u r funny about having time for HS. My period is very regular n accurate! Sure plus minus one day.. I wanna take oral

contraceptive pills from gynae soon, I have yet to read up on any long term side effects. Any advise mommies?? luckily I got not much time n mood for HS... So not so worrying for me! Lol

Shin n all,

sorry if I give out any wrong info.. I am sharing based on my personal opinion n my own actions. I didn't mean anything or to impose any harm... I also those rojak mom, anything also okay for myself n family, that's y logging in to learn...

Melissa> Same lor.. I think hubby also doesn't like the idea to leave Josie for couple trip. hahaha.. My mum especially disagree becoz she never does that to us. Only 1 time in our lives. She bring us to our aunt house and leave us to go to China with my dad who's on business trip for 1 week. That's when I was 10 years old if I'm not wrong.. My dad goes business trip very often, even to Europe(UK, Holland, Italy), South Africa, Hong Kong, China, Mongolia, etc but mum never follows him and never leave us alone..

MIL maybe OK if we leave Josie to her to Medan. She always said to Josie that she want to bring her to Medan. hahaha.. Even before Josie is born she already told us if we want to leave Josie in Medan instead of leaving her under maid care or any infant care. Dunno if she's just joking or not. But of course we don't want lor..

MIL last time also leave bro-in-law when he's 3-4 mths old under her parent's care to travel overseas with my FIL, hubby and his other younger brother.

My mum already told me she doesn't want, even before I ask her. I sometimes told her got my friend leave their baby under their parents care then they can go overseas..

angel,

I just scrolled back and saw ur post asking if I knew the gender. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Still don't know yet. Hope to find out in another couple of weeks!

Starry & zuen: thanks! I'm praying hard.

Starry: wen did ur ms start for no 2? For Logan I didn't hv ms. This one I'm already feeling queasy but not sure if it's ms or the fact I'm down w a flu n cough...

Shin,

I heard from my mil saying that the stem is more nutritious. Chop the leave & stem inside simmer also later become very very soft. I also first time mum, everything also gather opinions from others & learning.. But really satisfying to see that my son is appreciating my porridge..he really no waste milk , no waste porridge..everything also

clear.. Really like me & my hubby, alway finish the last grain.

I know luvbabies is cheaper but my hubby kiasu, says it's 'safer' to buy from ntuc or cold storage. He also instructs me not to buy milk powder from giant, shop & save..haha

Stella,

sorry to hear abt ur mum, hope she's showing progress .

Starry,

do update us on the gender & take care..

Anyone knows where I can get ipad 2 now? Everywhere is out of stock..

Oh ya... Lily bud is ' bai he ' which ppl used in dessert soup .

stella, hope your mom get better soon!

Emmie - i belong to everything my baby can chew and swallow = can feed kind of mom. My baby have been eating gardenia bread with me every morning for about 3 weeks. I give small bits of it and he love it. Now can even recognise the bag and will "ask" for it every morning. ha ha ...

Change of milk bottle - I also read somewhere that got to change every 3 months. Can't remember why. So far I did change the bottles because I notice the bottle seem to get cloudy or change colour. Teats also spoit easily. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

claudia

oh icic.. yah i learn lor.. hehe.. and ask a lot and ask my MIL and granny to help also.. lol.. but with a slow cooker.. everything is more convenient also lah...

lol.. when diapers and FM are all so ex... $0.50 also need to save! LOL. i have been buying all the time from LuvBabies and so far (touchwood).. nothing wrong with the quality of the product ah.. doesnt mean NTUC or cold storage will be better.. hahahaha... it all depends on the QC of the product bah.. but its ur hubby's preference. lol

Diveera,

was wondering how much ebm is sufficient for daily intake?? Cos sometimes I fall aslp and miss giving bb last feed 180ml ebm but she is fine with it!! Doesn't wake up in the middle of the night. So now I'm wondering if I shld drop it. But I scare then I'm not feeding her enough. Now I feed 4x 160ml and 1x 180ml. Sigh tis is such a guessing game hor.

metta, so u eat wholegrain? white? or? I want to give but not that great at scrutinizing food labels for forbidden ingredients :p