(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

On the topic about Childcare... Yesterday... I received Ravienna's Progress Report from the school. Apparently, she has picked up Mandarin and I read very good reviews about her. Brought tears to my eyes... my baby is doing well in school. I also received her colouring sheets, art and craft and a CD with all her photos in the classroom. So impressive.

After a long and painful first few months... finally it is all paying off. Im very happy that I have sent her to CC. So Annie.. hang in there my dear... the painful times will end and you will then see little Kayden with improved social skills, language skills and more.

I remember that day at Hokey Pokey... when I was talking to Kayden I (naturally Indian) was talking with my head shaking at the same time. Then Kayden did the same thing... hahahahha so cute.

Jayamum: Woah.. good that Ravienna is going great in school. They even give you a CD of her photos? Mine only give me printout of six photos in one A4 size paper.

Kayden really imitate you? Too bad I missed it. He likes to imitate pple nowadays. Haha!! Sometime I imitate him saying No till he fed up also.

Manuka Honey: Mummies, Kayden has been coughing for more than 3 weeks now and I find that he has alot of phelgm. His cough at night is bad. I heard Manuka honey is good to get rid of phelgm. Any mummies tried before?

I only know Manuka Honey is good for sore throat....not too sure abt phelgm. But for kids that young not sure if its suitable too.

hmm..the thread is so quiet lately.

Anyway, I wanna ask if any mummies encounter or know of someone who's kid has similar prob as mine.

Since we came back from our short trip to Batam in early Mar, Isaias, seems to be suffer from secondary lactose intolerance. He has mild diarrhoea when we came back from Batam, so we thought maybe it's the food or water that's not so suitable for him.

But since it's mild diarrhoea (not the 5-6 times a day type), we let him continue his FM...until like after 1 week later, still no improvement to his stool (wet & watery, and poo at least 2 -3 times a day), we switched him to soy from mid-Mar onwards. Then his stool improved to normal soft stool and only poo 1-2 times a day.

Then after 2 weeks on soy, we put him back to FM, then the watery stool of 2-3 times poo starts again immediately the next day, so following day, we switched back to soy again!

We went to see the PD and the PD suggested to let Isaias stay on soy for at least 6 months cuz cld be due to some virus. And he could be having secondary lactose intolerance cuz he does not have rashes, etc or could even be suffering from some gastro (dunno what, can't remember) and if after 6mths symptoms still persists after we switch bk to FM, she may want to refer us to see a gastro specialist. HUH?!

But we "geh kiang", after only about 3 weeks after we switched bk to soy (instead of waiting for 6mths, cuz soy FM not cheap, heehe), we switched back to FM for one of the feed 2 days ago (at night), the next day, my boy has watery stool & poo 2 times again.

Now switched back to soy and we don't know if we should let him stick to soy for 6mths or could it be now the FM brand (Enfa) which he has been drinking since NB (from Stage 1 - 3), is no longer suitable for him now.

mrs long: howie lately also LS!! like 7-8x a day.

then we brot him c doc he's on soy + milo now.

the soy milk smells damn yucky, he rejects big time. even i myself also wanna puke aft smelling.

aft taking soy, his poo now is soft (but not watery) & poos abt twice a day.

doc recommended only to change back to fm when his poo is more solid.

now my concern is afraif howie will reject fm lata. cuz now he drinks the soy with milo powder to mask the yucky soy taste..

hope all the kids recover soon! =)

DQ>> how come howie suddenly will also be "lactose intolerant"?

Soy + milo? that's new.

Luckily for Isaias, he switches from soy to FM quite easily, though I must say soy really smells yucky.

Cuz Isaias poo is normal after we switched to soy for weeks, so thought ok to switch bk to FM, but the same prob arises again. So maybe we gonna let him stick to soy for at least another month or so.

My son just went to see doc too. As he was having diarrhoea.

His poo also watery and abt 4 times daily since last week.

Doc said is stomach flu. Also recommend me the soy milk as he said that normal milk power contains lactose which cause the diarrhoea.

Just now make one bottle for him and he totally reject. My mum said tried to mix w milo. My mum used to mix this way when my sis was a baby. U can try it.

But He rejected too. Cause the milk is really yucky.

Haha.

Now also don't know to contiune the soy or FM?

Yes Mrs Long and Annie. Ravienna attends CC at "Cuddle kids, woodlands". They are alright as it was a desperate measure by me to send her to CC as I was starting my full time job. Im planning to place her in "Learning Vision" for her N1. Registration begins Sept 2012. I tried to place her at LV last year but no vacancy... so I cross my fingers for this year. I know the fees is bloody high ($1200 per month before rebate) but I have heard very good reviews about LV and I like the environment. Want the best early start for my baby.

Annie, I have been "Facetiming" with Ravi and have been pestering him to follow me to Library and Kidzplay this Saturday. I take your advice lah... if I never try I will never know.

kat: I think Enfa has FM that is lacto-free, not sure if it's as yucky as soy or better tasting/smelling, maybe you can give it a try.

If kids have diarrhoea, best to avoid FM at all. Some will dilute the FM but nothing beats avoiding FM altogether for a more effective remedy to stop the diarrhoea.

mrslong: dunno leh... juz sudden LS.

now better le...

i feeding him w the friso soy. cuz tat's the smallest tin i found. doc already warned me abt him rejecting soy.. asked me stdby milo to disguise the soy taste. =)

kat: perhaps try to increase a bit more milo vs soy proportion.

initially when i put i scoop milo, he rejected. now i put 1.5 scoops, he's fine.

Location: Tentatively Hokey Pokey at Suntec City(Any suggestions are welcome)

Date: Saturday - 14 July

Time: 11am - 1pm

1) xbeanniex + BB + Hubby

2) peanut + Hubby + BB

3) charliebrown + Hubby + Kenji

4) sweetkiss + Hubby + BB

5) chelz + Hubby + BB

6) mrslong + HB + Isaias

7) Jasline + Hubby + Jayden

8) Nicole + Brayden

9) Phy + Hubby + #1 + Rayden

10) Pris + hubby + Brandon

11) Nok + hubby + Leola

12) Marie + hubby + Howard

13) Geri + hubby + Renee

14) Ica + hubby + Hannah

15) Jolynn + hubby + Enzo

16) sun tan + hubby + Skyler

17) Jaclyn + hubby + Gareth

18) Grace + Hubby + #1 + Alwyn

19) Irene + Hubby + Nathan

20) Yvonne + Hubby + Ivan

21) Shann + hubby + Chloe ( near my EDD! Send me to hospital if my water bag burst k lol)

22) Sandy + Hubby + Luke

23) Eliss + Hubby + Keila

24) Justina + Hubby + Jaden

25) Minmin + Aiden

26) Daisy + hubby + Kaley

27) Annie + hubby + Kayden

28) Babycoco + Hubby + Amelie

29) Jaya + Hubby + Ravienna

30) jellypurin + Sydney + hubby + #1?)

31) Carol + hubby + Joy

- no more ... please add onto the waiting list in case anyone from the above list opts out! :) -

waiting list

1) Kepsis + kayden

2) tigger_mum + Hubby + Ryan

3) suika + hubby + #1 + Livia

4) fazzy + hubby + Eiliyah

5) Michelle + Shanelle

6) May + Hubby + Benedict

7) tchoupi + hubby + Paul

8) vivi + hb + edvian + elder boy

Dear Mommies that are in the confirmed list above (first 31), please kindly transfer $50 to Irene at 189-08583-4 POSB Savings OR 130-314-822-7 UOB Current Account.

Once payment has been made, please email Irene at [email protected] and provide her with a reference number so that she can tabulate.

For anyone with extra adults (i.e. husband attending as well), please transfer $5 per additional adult.

This payment will pay for:

1) Birthday Cake

2) Food Catering

3) Goody Bag for each birthday Child

4) Cupcake for each birthday Child

5) Decorations... balloon for each child

6) Professional Photographer

7) Balloon Sculpturing

8) Games and prizes. Please note that if you are able to help us find sponsors for prizes, do let us know too! =)

Please send payment by latest 15th of May. Any payments not in by then, we will contact those that are in waiting list to be fair to everyone, thank you!!

Just to mention that we also need to choose a theme for our birthday bash this year. Last year was Mickey Club house, so something different this year?

Any suggestions?! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

It's been a long long time since I last posted.. haha.. Thanks for organising the party. If need help just let me know.

Theme suggestion.. armmm.... the big fat purple dinosaur?

NOK: hahaha my gal like to dance along with this purple monster!(not Dibo the gift dragon right? - another big purple dinosaur - dragon)

Hi Mommies. How are all of you and your tots?

Thanks to Jaclyn and all who work hard in getting the party organised.

Irene/Jaclyn - Payment advise below.

To Irene-Jul12-B-Party 130-314-822-7 (SGD)

Amount SGD 50.00

My Initials Jellypurin

Transaction Reference 1204120223090389

Hi Everyone!

I have already received payment from a few of you! A big THANK YOU for being so supportive =)

Just like to clarify a bit about the payment as follow

Birthday child & 1 adult: $50

Additional adult: $5 each

Silbing: $10 each

So for e.g. Phy + Hubby + #1 + Rayden is $50+$5+$10=$65

Please kindly transfer the payment to me at 189-08583-4 POSB Savings OR 130-314-822-7 UOB Current Account.

Once payment has been made, please email to [email protected] and provide the transaction details, the gender of your child/children and your contact number etc for my reference.

Name:

Total number of adults attending:

Total number of children attending:

Birthday Child Name:

Birthday Child Gender:

Name of Sibling (if applicable):

Gender of Sibling (if applicable):

Email Address:

Contact Number:

Amount Paid:

Date & transaction ref for payment:

Kindly note that the deadline for payment is 15th of May.

Hi Ladies.

Firstly, thank you to all the ladies on the organising committe for organising the party and I know that it was be a wonderful party as it is in the hands of these organisers.

Irene, I have transferred $55.00 to your posb account and have emailed you the details accordingly.

Ladies, I may not be very active here... but I do check from time to time. Take care and do have a wonderful weekend.

Annie, looking forward to seeing you and Kayden at 11am tomorrow at Sembawang Library. Ciao

Hi Irene, i've transferred 55bucks to you. Ref: 7619178514

Thanks to all the organising mummies! please do let me know if you all need any help. i'm not very talented but i can do saikang haha.

theme-wise, anything would be great!! all the ideas sound fab, esp sesame st and angry birds haha

Hihi Everyone,

To all mommies who posted about the payment: Yup I have received them with thanks =)

So far more than half have made the payment. Thanks for the prompt payment and great support!

I have a question to ask. Kayden had been coughing for quite a while. Mummies who are my FB friends will know how often I visited the hospital with him recently.

I am wondering if it is his current milk powder that causes him to have phlegm in his throat. Currently he is on Enfagrow.. thinking of changing him back to Nan Pro.

Any advise?

Ann,

erm...you can try for 1 mth on NAN pro. Luke also coughing on n off...he's on NAN pro thou. but mine is since he's a bb he's quite a phlegmy boy. so bo pian...

another reason tt's causing the phlegm is night feeding. i realise when he drinks his milk then go sleep he will kinda of have phlegm in the morning..so nowadays i ask my MIL to cook barley or rice water give him. or even cooling tea let him drink.

milk is consider a heaty stuff. hope kayden recovers soon.

Ann: my gal is on Nan HA 3 but recently she had watery stools since last thursday after her milk (within 30 min of her milk usually)

i change her immediately to KariHome Goats milk step 3 for time being.

my gal have phelgm on/off even on NAN HA 3, but i do give her "pearl powder" twice a month which i see helps her phelgm condition pretty well. Usually after giving her the next 3 days can see difference...lesser phelgm "sound". I got the $30/分 from 福華 medical hall - grind the pearls on the spot then divide them into per dose - /分 can divide into 2 dose.

Dear Mommies attending JULY 2010 Babies 2nd Year Bash

Please choose from one of these themes:

Winnie the Pooh

Sesame Street

Mickey Mouse (i think not this cos we did it last yr)

Carebears (see attached pic)

The above are the more gender friendly ones.. rest of the themes are more specific and some others are harder for us to find decorations for the playground [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/6958861.jpg]

Junie: It's in JB(Kulai) about 1 hr car ride from JB custom

my colleague say can google on website.

there's 1 year ticket selling very cheap via online now. go check it out...