(2010/07) July 2010 MTB

lynn, i too , start feeling already guilty abt my #1 since now i am so big , can't really carry him that much like before. cant imagine later on with my csection wound.... praying hard that things will work out with minimal stress.

i have also heard from my second time mummy friends, BF didnt seem to be less difficult either for round 2. aargghhh

Mummies who are fully breastfeeding: Do ur baby latch on for full 20min on each breast? N hw regular do u feed ur baby? Every 3 hrs or whenever they cry??

My boy seems to be slping all the time. He can slp straight 4hrs w/o waking up to drink. N whenever he drink, he never latch on for long. Was wondering if he is having enuff [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

This morning the upper part of my tummy was quite painful its 10 to 15minutes interval lasted for an hour, called the nurse, she said can admit myself.. but now i dnt feel the pain already. so i didnt go to the hospital.. abit sad coz my husband's bday is tmrw so will be pleasant surprise if she comes out today...

Good evening ladies.

Felt so tired. Waiting for time to do last pump for the night before i knock out.

By the way, do you all feel cold easily? Before giving birth, i feel hot and after giving cold, i feel cold easily. Dunno is it becos i dun eat enough but I always eat until very full lei.

AK: Ya.. must put the cream on her butt.. I think my CL quite knowledgeable. She can tell me if no red, dun put the desitin cream or else next time no effect. Even my PD commented that my CL is very experienced. Told me anything I dunno can ask my CL. Haha!!

Jaudice: Today BB went for blood test and result came back that the level had drop from 14 to 13. The clinic nurse told me to continue to sun tan BB and monitor on my own.

minibean, glad to heard your bb's jaundice went down so much. went for bloodtest today, only dropped by 10% so PD asked me to do another 3 days of phototherapy. hopefully by monday, her jaundice can go down some more.

jo_lyn, my bb is the same, only latch on for max 20mins and only 1 breast. after that, she will sleep very deeply and impossible to wake up. during the day, she wakes up 2-3hours for feeding. at night, can be every hour!

babycoco: my baby keep slping!! I was forced to wake him up if he slp more than 4hr to feed him. I am abit worried that he will be dehyrated and his jaundice go up again. He also latch on 20min on one side of breast only. N he will fall aslp. Whenever i change to another side of the breast, he will already be in deep slp! Haiz..

Ann: I actually feel v hot after delivering. guess its all those herbs n tonics the CL prepares for me. I used to have constipation but during confinement, with the food she prepares I think my health has gotten better and bowel movements are so regular!! Check with your CL if there is any herbs u can take for this cold problem.

babycoco: i am sure she will be fine. don't worry put her under phototherapy more often and it will go down even more during week 2.

Jolyn and babycoco: mine also kept sleeping. on the 5th day, he slept from 9pm to 3am and i got even more worried but CL and mom said it is a good thing as long as you tank him for the last feed with enough milk to sleep through. By the way try not to let baby latch too long in one breast. 10 mins should be enough and move onto the next breast and when its done, pump out the excess. I latched my #1 20 mins on one breast and he fell asleep the last time. During his 1 month celebration he put on less than 1 kg and PD told me to feed him more, so I decided to express going forward so that i know exactly how much he drank. For #2, I have expressed out and bottle feed with EBM, and he put on 200-300gms back to his birth weight within a week.

jo_lyn, minibean, i thought 1st 10 mins is only foremilk? hmmm maybe i should do 10 mins on each breast. i also find that because bb only latch on 1 breast, the other breast becomes very hard, painful.

by the way, do you find when you bottle feed, bb is not as sleepy? but if latch on, bb will fall asleep very soundly for min 2 hours.

SPRING Maternity $10 Vouchers (2 pieces)

2 Vouchers of $10 to let go together at the price of 1.

1 Voucher with no expiry date, 1 voucher with expiry date of Oct'2010

Voucher condition: Minimum purchase of $20 to make use of the voucher

Additional perk: Receive free set of baby mitten and bootie with any purchase of $10 at SPRING in single voucher

Accept direct bank deposit, item to be mailed to your home address.

Contact [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4181478.jpg]

babycoco: yeah when we bottle feed him, he would finish up as much as he can but once he is full, he will fall back to sleep. My CL said this is common for first 2 weeks and when they reach 3 weeks old they will be much more actie! LOL

Not sure about foremilk so i rather EBM him instead and its easier for me to ease back to work if he's not too attached to my nipples. I had a gf who became SAHM as her daughter cannot take to bottle and wants to be BF instead.

Hi all... can check u all got wash the bed sheet etc before BB use? since it is packed can dun wash just use it?

diaper cloth need to wash before use?

i also washed everything before letting bb use. my girl also will go into deep sleep after 15-20mins on one breast, impossible to wake. then i just pump out the other side.

i alternate between latch and pump, since latch cannot moniter how much she's taking and very lei-chey to latch and then pump. kudos to all mummies who can latch and then pump, not much rest till the next latch cos gottta sterilise pump and bottles etc..

haha just throw into washing machine only la! never hand wash, if it's bb's clothes, i just choose "delicate" mode, got one "hand wash" mode too but i never use it cuz it will take 2 hours plus, waste water haha! i am so kiam siap lol!

babycoco & minibean: so far i only let bb latch on and i din pump out excess. Getting lazy! My boy also latch on one side n fell aslp. End up one breast is HARD, one is SOFT. Now i try to time 3 hrs n wake my boy up to feed. Thinking whether shld i pump out the excess and store now.

When my boy is in hospital for jaundice, i requested cup feeding instead of bottle feeding. Cos i scared he get used to bottle and dun want my nipple. hahaha...

minibean: u on ur PM liao? i cant msg u the masagge lady no.

Shann: Ya hor.. can use washing machine! Haha... Later tell my hubby he confirm happy!

Anyone know where to buy non-biological agent? Sigh i hand itchy go buy a organice bedsheet if use normal one wash will very fast got those 'mao mao' thing come out.

Seems like alot mommies got latching problem or BB dun latch long... think BB tired so cannot latch very long?

for those mommies who are bf, this is what I did last year when started to bf my boy. if the first time my boy latch on my left breast, then on the next feed I will let my boy latch on my right breast first...that way is much better to clear the breast. Of course on top of that I still pump, but to advise not to pump all the time after baby latch on, coz will make our breast condition worse, as in sore and crack nipples. So for me I pump early morning after my baby latch on and oso night time before I sleep...try not to sleep through the night to avoid engorgement, coz we also have to catch up to supply baby's demand. Hope my experience helps mommies here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My baby doesn't know how to suck. When I put him to my nipple he just lick a bit that's all. Nurse tried to bottle feed but he doesn't know how to suckle the teat as well. So they inserted a tube directly into his stomach so that he can feed. I'm so heartbroken and there's nothing I can do. He's in the special care nursery now and won't let him out until he knows how to suckle. So I'll be going home without him tomorrow. Am super duper sad. My milk supply also hasn't came yet and all I have are tiny drops of colostrum on my nipple. Lagi more sad! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jolyn: enabled PM liao! wat is cup feeding?

my gf told me that whenever we have blocked ducts just let baby latch on that side and it will clear the lumps! wow....

Congrats to all mommies who have given birth. I'm gg to be overdue in another two days but there is no sign of baby wanna come out. Now I considering induce or csect. Can I ask the mummies who induce how long the labor took? Is csect wound v painful?

baby gal keep moving in my tummy, kick here and there, so scared that she will break the water bag eh.. sometimes i feel sharp pain in my v area, don't know whether it's at cervix or not, so uncomfortable, like something is poking the cervix, wanna force the mucus plug to drop. (maybe i am too imaginative haha) but i don't want to give birth yet, wanna wait till one more week at least, now week 37.

going to see gynae on coming tuesday!

minibean: i pm u after i feed my bb. now latching him w/o my hp with me.cup feeding is they put the EBM on a tiny cup n fr there feed the baby. this is to not let the bb get used to bottle teat.

Kat,

hugs! don't be too sad ya, will affect milk supply. Tell urself ur bb will learn to suckle soon with help. Meanwhile if possible, start expressing to establish milk supply. U want to be able to provide when ur kiddo is ready to suckle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babycoco : My gal was admitted for one night at Gleneagles. She passes her test this morning by a mere 0.1 only! Phew! Was told to sun her when she's back home and be going back for another check up next week.Hopefully her jaundice will go away! Our bill totalled $570.. which is lesser than the estimated bill of $864. Which hosp did u go to? They actually offered to rent the machine? I wasnt aware coz I was told to admit baby.. and in GEH.. the photo-therapy treatment is not visible to us so I cant see my bb while she's doing the treatment. But when the nurses pushes her out.. she curled up like a small little ball tucked in one of the corner of the plastic container. Looked very poor thing.. and she is as red as a lobster. And the plastic container has no cushion or mattress one.. How much is it to rent the machine to do at home huh?

babycoco & minibean : My gal also sleeps most of the time. ANd when I latched her,, she will fall asleep while sucking one. My CL also said it is normal. I wondered if she's getting enough milk coz she's also hungry leh. I was told to latch bb for 30-45min by the lactation specialist leh! So that bb can suck the hind milk. So usually I latch 30-40min on one side..then if bb is hungry still I will latch her on the other side. My bb will stop when she "feels" like it.. so will latch until she fell asleep or when she pushes out the nipple herself.

Btw hor.. anyone of you measure your weight after birth? wondering how much you lost after bb is out? And if anyone of u actually managed to "lose" the tumtum already? My tummy is big and loose and "crumpled" looking after one week. Wondering if it will look and feel like this during baby's shower!

babycoco : My gal was admitted for one night at Gleneagles. She passes her test this morning by a mere 0.1 only! Phew! Was told to sun her when she's back home and be going back for another check up next week.Hopefully her jaundice will go away! Our bill totalled $570.. which is lesser than the estimated bill of $864. Which hosp did u go to? They actually offered to rent the machine? I wasnt aware coz I was told to admit baby.. and in GEH.. the photo-therapy treatment is not visible to us so I cant see my bb while she's doing the treatment. But when the nurses pushes her out.. she curled up like a small little ball tucked in one of the corner of the plastic container. Looked very poor thing.. and she is as red as a lobster. And the plastic container has no cushion or mattress one.. How much is it to rent the machine to do at home huh?

babycoco & minibean : My gal also sleeps most of the time. ANd when I latched her,, she will fall asleep while sucking one. My CL also said it is normal. I wondered if she's getting enough milk coz she's also hungry leh. I was told to latch bb for 30-45min by the lactation specialist leh! So that bb can suck the hind milk. So usually I latch 30-40min on one side..then if bb is hungry still I will latch her on the other side. My bb will stop when she "feels" like it.. so will latch until she fell asleep or when she pushes out the nipple herself.

Btw hor.. anyone of you measure your weight after birth? wondering how much you lost after bb is out? And if anyone of u actually managed to "lose" the tumtum already? My tummy is big and loose and "crumpled" looking after one week. Wondering if it will look and feel like this during baby's shower!

Haha... Shann me also Tues seeing Dr Iren!

I also beginning to feel the pain & funny movement but my BB not as active as before... make me very paranoid.

Me only wk37 this coming thurs.. weight gain super fast... another 2kg gain today i weigh.. I think doc will ask me induce or c-sect... i nv eat durain etc leh dunno why so fast grow.

AK: i didnt wanna admit my baby as my #1 stayed in hospital for a day and i was heartbroken so i asked the PD if i can rent it and do at home instead and renting is usually 3D2N but cons is baby keeps crying nonstop for the first day so you have to bear with it. it cost me $230 to rent 3D2N for the light and eyemask. if u wanna get the bed, i think another $60.

I measured my weight before i left on the 4th day for c sction. down by 6 kg. baby was 3kg, placenta water etc another 3kg i think. tummy still there la super sian! the skin is super wrinkled lor at tummy area.

jolyn: ok take ur time.

happybee: c section wound quite painful but at my 6th day, it is bearable without painkillers and now i dun even feel any pain at 8th day. dun worry.

Thanks. Still considering both options but think mayb will go for csect cos scare induce fails den have to suffer the pain twice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My birth story:

02/07

4.20am - I started to feel contractions with the interval of 5 mins. However only admit TMC at 6.45am.

7am to 9am - Nurse did CTG & confirm contractions kick in every 5 mins however cervix still not dilated.

9.45am - Gynae came to check & suggest to induce since is overdue for one day. Insert pill & waited for 6 hours.

4pm - Put me on drip.

5pm - Nurse did VE check on me. Only 1cm dilated.

8pm - Gynae did another VE check on me. Still 1cm dilated. Burst the water bag & told me my progress is very slow. He ask me to relax if not cervix can't dilate.

8.30pm - Cannot tahan the pain liao - request for the gas hoping it can help to reduce my pain however it doesn't work on me. After breathing the gas, it make me so high till I feel more painful.

10pm - The pain became unbearable therefore I opt for epidural. Once epi kick in, finally can have a short sleep.

11pm - Nurse did a VE check - dilate up to 4cm. both my hubby & me are so pleased to hear that.

03/07

1am - Nurse did another check - is still 4cm... very disappointed

2am - Baby heartbeat is not regular therefore the nurse called gynae. Oxygen was given to inhale. Once I start inhaling baby heartbeat is more stable.

2.30am - Gynae arrived & help to increase the dilation to 9cm (heard from my hubby, gynae actually put the whole hand in to force the cervix to open). Gynae asked the nurse to increase the dosage of the drip & told us that he will give us another 30mins for the cervix to open up till 10cm... if not he have to do an e-csect since the baby heartbeat is not regular.

3am - Gynae came in to check & told us that the cervix is open up till 10cm liao however baby is still quite high up therefore he told me that I got to push hard.. at that moment I'm so happy as he allow me to try pushing...

3 to 3.40am - Push & push & push...but the nurse can only see baby's hair.. already very tired liao

3.45am - Gynae came in & check on the progress.. he told us that he will try using the vacuum however if baby still can't come out he got to do csect on me cos baby heartbeat is going down.. 1st time vacuum - unsuccessful... I'm very stess & upset..

4am - 2nd attempt, gynae say this is the last chance if really can't... he will get the nurse to prepare OT..

4.08am - Baby Dylan is successfully out from my stomach... at that moment I'm so happy cum touched that my happy tears just flow down my eyes uncontrollable...upon seeing him every pain that I gone through is worth it!

In whole - my labour took around 22 hours... epidural really help me alot... I'm also very grateful to my gynae - Dr Woo Bit Hwa cos he is very calm & allow me to try natural & have faith in me that I can do it... when he ask the nurses to get me pushing..their facial expression/body language was already very discouraging... they think that it is impossible for me to push my baby out... during the pushing, one of the nurse ask my gynae twice whether he want him to prepare the OT...

After I successfully push out my baby, I heard different remarks from the nurses whom are in my delivery suite...

nurse A - mention that I'm lucky to successfully push out the baby...as i'm quite short.. she say usually short women can't go through natural cos they have problem doing pushing...

nurse B - mention that my baby is only 2.98kg... i already push until so hard liao... luckily my baby is not big if not sure can't push out liao...

I'm really grateful to my gynae... really owe him a big "THANK"...

Sorry for sure a long-winded birth story...

Jo_Lyn heres what i did..

morning - afternoon = 2 hourly feed. min 15 mins on each breast. if she sleep on one breast, i will let her rest, try to burp her and latch her on another. but since shes on 2 hourly, if she cannot latch on the 2nd breast, i will leave it and let her sleep. the next feed, i will let the latch the other one.

night feeds = 3 hourly or feed on demand. cause bb didnt sleep much in the afternoon, then i will let her sleep more in the night. this is like a routine for her so that she dun keep waking up for feeds in the night and she can differentiate night and day. 15 mins minimum on each side also..

initially i was worried cause hospital ask me to latch 15 mins on each side, so i tried to do it when i get home. but seems quite impossible as days go by. so i got advice from my friend is that.. it doesnt matter if bb latches on both sides, it matters that bb gets the hind milk instead of jus the fore milk.

i also have this prob that when i realise after 20 mins and go to the other side, she will not latch on. so i jus let her latch as much as possible on the same side so that she gets what she needs to tahan thru the night.. at least she got the hind milk.

i also monitor on bb poo and pee.. i had ask the hospital what they did before i was discharged. they told me that they change bb diapers before OR after feeds.. so thats what i do at home too. and every change, i can see that its wet and i know bb is getting enuff.

Jaundice -- my bb was discharged the same day as me and she was having a 8.8 upon discharge. went to PD ytd, her jaundice still there.. PD say it will recover after 1-2 weeks and ask me to feed more fluids (BM) to bb to pass it out.

bb regained back to her birth weight. her birth weight was 2.605 and now her weight is 2.745. she was discharged at 2.4 somthing kg..

now i jus need to get her jaundice down and she recovers asap. i so upset to see her face colour.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kat - dont be upset. believe in bb.. try and talk to bb more.. and dun get discouraged ok? BM and BF are mother nature stuff.. but hor.. latching is not... latching and suckling right is by practise one.. i hope the nurses are letting u try latch frequently so that the bond is there also. like what other mommies say, cont to pump ur milk and stay positive and ready.. at least by the time bb learns how to latch, bb will have milk ready for him...

JIA YOU!

Atomic kitten, actually PD suggested we send bb to hospital but we asked if we can rent phototherapy machine. Although I think bb will probably recover faster in the hospital. At home we sometimes off the machine when bb is fretting so I think recovery is slowed down.

Thanks for the advice Serene! I will try that out too. Currently I also will jus latch on one side till my boy doesnt want. And do alternate breasts on each feeding. Do u pump after each feed for now?

I will be delivering my bb gal tomorrow noon. This is an elective c section delivery. I wish everything will be smooth and well. I will be very busy after bb is born. So just wanna to wish myself and all of you here all the best! I may not log in my FB and surf net for some time. To those who have my contact no, do keep in touch with me!

Jia you, every one and stay blissful. Remember to stay happy no matter what, only we can make ourselves happy.

Hi afternoon mummies.. so envy u all who has popped! i was having lunch with my mum ytd and drinking my coconut when i felt strong pains. more like diarrhoea pains but no diarrhoea! not sure if it was contractions so i started timing & it was like 10-min interval. i called & my gynae asked me to go hosp to check... end up i was really having contractions but only 1cm dilated. so my gynae wanted me to go back again at nite, if bb is ready i can be admitted. i was happy thinking that i may be in labour or he might induce me~ lol

by evening time, there was no more pain, only mild cramps. i knew i will be asked to go back home. true enough, after monitoring i was told it was just BH. but indeed the contractions in the afternoon were really strong and regular. Sigh.. wasted time and medical bill to travel there twice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hey mummies, anyone bought the avent manual pump? how much is it? Reading from the june mummies forum that it's good at clearing lumps / blocked ducts. i've got a lotta lumps that i can't massage away [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bliss,

All the best ya!

Sweetkiss,

How much was your bill? So far i didnt really experience any cramps or BH..BH i think only once or twice and it lasted like less than 10 mins..from last visit, gynae said my tummy still very soft, so he say not time yet. Today i just reached my 37th week and gg for my visit again tmr..tmr gg for the Strep B swap test and CTG..not sure if he is gg to do VE or not..think i sounded crazy..but i think i am looking fwd to the labour process leh..

liss: jiayou!! take care and see you soon here with baby pics!

peanut: i used that for my #1 and u still need to massage the blocked ducts away. the only thing about the avent manual pump is that it pumps only one side and the other side may leak so i find it kinda wasteful actually. otherwise i still think electric pump drains the breasts better

minibean - thanks for the info. guess i have to be more hardworking to massage the blocked ducts. i use the freestyle, but only one side at a time. then i hold a bottle to collect the drips from the other side hahaha. bo liao right, pay so much for a handsfree pump and end up using it like that hahah

Congrats!!! to those who hv pop.Thank for adding me in yr facebook.I had been a silent reader for quite some times.Too shy to join.i'm still waiting for my turn to come but i oredi schedule 12 July to induce if the baby is not out yet.As i'm quite a unlucky mum hving high BP during pregancy and G.Diabetic.I had to inject insulin every morning and monitor my blood sugar 6 times per day.Ended up my baby is quite mini size.Only 2.5Kg @ 37wk.And worse thing is my baby is consider to be a defected baby.I can only know how serious his condition is after he come out to this world.I'm so damn worry...sigh...me having gone through 3 IVF treatment than hv this previous baby yet...haiz...now i can only hope for the best.

suntan: the afternoon bill was like $57+.. then the night one cost $70+.. my gynae also said not time yet though i am 39 weeks+. my next checkup is tues, i hope by then can confirm if i need to induce/etc cos i very impatient already haha!

my baby still not engaged yet but cervix is 75% effaced. I had VE done by the nurse ytd.. actually i am OK with doing VE but dunno is it due to the gel or wad, i always itch after that!

feel that my MIL is very insensitive.. knowing that i went to hosp due to pains, she told my hubby that i am very "kan jiong", waterbag nv burst & no bleeding etc why go hosp.. but at that time how i know? if it were real contractions and the pain is unbearable i cant possibly wait blindly isnt it.

peanut: try using for both breasts for the freestyle. u will be amazed how fast you can pump! LOL I usually take average 10-15 mins max to pump each session. i dun even use the handsfree kit. its like, u got to wear a bra and attach those straps. but i dun wear bra at home! LOL u know wat i mean? weather so damn hot liao still wear bra?

sweetkiss: you are nearing EDD already of coz if contraction u will be alarmed. not gan chiong. dun think so much about MIL la cannot compare with olden times.

minibean - without the handsfree kit you just hold on to both sides? i still wear bra coz need to use breast pads..always leaking :p i go through at least 8 to 10 pads a day. feel quite wasted.

sweetkiss,

Ya, i think its better to go to hospital if not sure and dun be a hero ya.

minibean,

But if dun wear bra, the breast wont leak? Me also thinking of holding both bottles together and not wear the hands free kit..hahah

Btw mommies,

I have a few mothercare vouchers, each is $10 but must spend a min $50 before you can use the voucher. Anyone wans? Its gg to expire on 30 Sep 2010 I seldom buy things from mothercare, so wont need these vouchers.

jaslyn,

Sorry to hear about your bb. Since other things would need bb to be born to assess and decide, so for now, dun worry too much ya and just concentrate on having a smooth delivery ok. . *hugz* When is ur EDD? Are you in our list already?

jaslyn: dun worry so much. Look forward to seeing your baby soon! I have a fren who has GD and the baby turns out fine. u already done your best and this pregnancy aint easy for you with the daily jabs.

peanut and suntan: yeah i hold both sides so i dunno how to massage and pump at the same time! i only leak whenever i look at my baby or hear his cries. then i'll run to get tissue to wipe! LOL but if you are wearing bra, then try the handsfree. can surf internet at the same time pump! haha

sun_tan: i PM u abt the voucher already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies out there,

for those who have pop.. can i ask have u all ask the massage lady to come & massage???? I was told by my confinement lady to wait abt 2 week later.. Is it ok???

Actually i book the massage lady at 16 July... But I pop out earlier.. so i tot to call my massage lady abt 2 week later than arrange her to come to massage me....

Any advise???