(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Hi mommies!!!

LTNS! Been so busy preparing for Cole's birthday party. Finally everything settled... so now seat back and relax! kekeke [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tooth:

Hmm... Cole's 7th tooth just appeared. He's been drooling A LOT! Everyday his tee will be soaking wet and we have to change 2-3x a day!

Weight gained:

according to his pd, weight gained now will not be great probably 100-200g per month or so. So as long as they are eating well & drinking well everything should be fine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

little joy,

probably turn up the temp to 25-26 degrees? My son sleeps in aircon room but he prefers temp at 25degrees, anything colder he will wake or if too hot, he will also wake up. sigh... gd life! hahaha

Jasmini, if he is healthy don't worry too much. their weight gain is rather slow at this age, as long as is not dropping. My boy is taking about 3/4 to 1 adult rice bowl of porridge per meal (lunch and dinner).

Luckyone, can try use corn starch powder, see if he is allergy. I am using a cream that my mum bought. Is a chinese cream and very effective. shall take a pic and show it to you.

jasmini and ylc.. i let him sleep at 25deg leh and his hands & ears are cold. Last night, i tried keeping it at 26deg and it seems better. Shall monitor...

Luckyone: I got the cream from AgapeBabies online. There are also some BPs selling this on the forum. I paid ard $21 for it. I think Watson's n Robinsons also carries some California babies stuff.

Jasmini , it's ok for them not to gain so much weight now since they are active and crawling ard , as long as they don't lose weight it's fine . My friend has a 2.5 yr old boy and he is 13kg and my boy is already 10kg at 10 mths , even though his weight has not increased for 2 mths

My boy eats 90ml cereal for breakfast and about 200ml of either noodle or porridge for lunch and dinner . He latches on 3 times a day and in addition takes 360ml of FM for his dreamfeed / early morning feed

So how has the last few days of SAHM been ?

woah - luckyone & mich, both of you very lucky! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] babies are chubby, healthy and willing to eat!!

my baby not even 8kg leh, SIGH. cos his birth weight is low (i gave birth early). then i BM all the way till recently, plus he is 'hyper'active, so end up he is quite lean. SIGH. i want chubby chubby one!!! my friend's 4 mth's baby weighs more than mine...!

ya i feed my boy a rice bowl full for his 3 meals - gave him beef every lunch, fish every dinner (he HATES fishy smell). add in egg yolks + butter even. hardly gain any weight. can you believe it? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

takes a very long time to feed my baby after he is halfway through...he gets bored, don't want to sit down anymore, want to play toys. how you mommies cope? how long do you take to feed your bb? and can your bb 'guai guai' sit down in the highchair throughout?

haha, mich i'm still 'working', serving my notice period. But i was not working last 2 days, back to work today. Ahhh, it's bitter-sweet. Sweet becos i made it! I can't believe i can actually care for my bb myself. Bitter cos i'm DEAD tired! Kudos to all you SAHMs, esp those without any maids/helper/MIL!! How did you all do it?!?!

I wonder whether i 'over-entertain' my boy - bring him playground, park, swim, shopping. then i do housework / cook his food when he is napping. then clean up after him when he is asleep! then he wakes up at 6am everyday. i'm so sleep-deprived!!!

creams, powder, sunblock:

yes i highly recommend California babies too! i buy their whole range - from the sprees in this forum (should be cheaper than Agapebabies i think, but must wait for shipping) the powder is cornstarch, not talc, so shouldn't be allergic. all natural products, good for sensitive baby skin.

while their most popular pdt is the calendula cream that many moms rave abt, the BEST product IMO is the COLDS and FLU bubble bath! When the weather is cold, or bb is down with flu, this helps him clear his runny nose and sleeps very very well. Plus i use Baby Vicks on him, his cold goes away nicely w/o need for oral medication.

so far, he only seen doc twice for cold - one is bad flu, another is HFMD...

Jasmini: i bought from Agapababies thro their sprees in SMH forum as well. Cos I also bought food items mah. Then can get free courier shipping. hehe.

There's always a cheapest price after I buy anything.

Thanks Chloemum..but my hubby said bit sticky le..if cant find other, maybe wil go to tis brand.

Jasmini, can I know the link? thanks!

Jasmini BB healthy, active and happy can already[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] They're so active now that the calories consumed get burned so quickly! Wish my metabolism was the same!

My boy has been 10.5kg since he was 7mths,so can imagine my backpain bending up and down all these while..;p

As for toys, can try the highchair suction toy? As for me, i feed him quite quickly and let him off the chair after feed.

I think my boy eats less than yours..not a full rice bowl.

Yeah, i got my desitin cream stash from agape too. cheaper and bigger tube!

Pinnky, you can go to the list of sprees here:

STEP 1:

SMH Overseas Spree:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/590029.html?1301991479

STEP 2:

To buy California baby products, you can buy from Drugstore.com (there are other merchants, u compare prices)

http://www.drugstore.com/search/search_results.asp?Ntt=California+Baby&Ntx=mode+matchallpartial&N=0&Ntk=All&srchtree=1

STEP 3:

So search for sprees on Drugstore such this one (example only - search for the cheapest spree!):

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/5206259.html?1301980566

STEP 4:

You can PM / Email / post your purchases!

jasmini: thanks for sharing. the savings not significant. and previously i needed the cream urgently, so just went straight to agape, and bought the cereals as well. And it's free courier, no need to depend on the postal service. =P i like things delivered to my door at the timing i am at home.

Hi mummies! How do u do?

Have been busy with Raihan's bday celebration. We are celebrating early -this sunday bec hv a cousin leaving for overseas next week. Crazy planning. Bec in Chalet so alot of DIY.

Any ideas for games for adults?

Btw, I have to miss the 1st bday bash. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] My FIL's bday same day.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] So we def will celebrate at my ILs plc...

chloemum,

haha yes for the convenience it's so much better! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You buy HappyBellies cereal? i used to buy from NTUC finest for abt $9 cos it's convenient but recently i bulk-buy from spree for $5+. she happen to stay very near me so okay la...

i'm using the calendula cream, very good and smell so good. wondering whether i should try the flu bubble bath that jasmini introduce.

jasmini. yes. i buy happy bellies brown rice cereal from agapebabies. also bellamy, wadoko, and the puffs.

the seller u sent is too very far. so... unless can find a better and more convienient deal, just stick to NTUC or Agapebabies for now.

Jasmini, my babe isn't 8kg yet either. She is way too active, very picky eater and falls sick very often becos she is in IFC. So whatever weight gain she has is shed very easily.

It just sounds like ur boy has a high metabolic rate. If u and ur husband ain't big size i dun think ur boy will be that chubby or big either.

My hubby is asking me to consider resigning and staying at home. Leave the girl in school but at the first signs of being sick look after her at home. Cos it is very stressful juggling my job and staying at home with her when she isn't well.... still in a dilemma what to do.. not working sounds great... but i like spending my own money!!

She finally stacked the donut rings on her own this morning!! yeah pinnky the one u bought [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but her attention span was only to 2 donut rings..after that it was flung all over the place..

oh yeah i want to sell my fisher price jumperoo.. she wasn't very fond of it and i dunno why i cannot post in the want to sell thread. Anyone know anybody who wants one?

morning mummies, seems like there quite a number of mummies, planning to hav a 2nd one. jiayou!

enrichment class, any mummies send bb for classes can share you exprience? what is the diff between diff school? and what kind of benefit you see in those classes?

hi everyone! its mid week!!! *happy*

my baby has rashes too. could be due to the weather. thanks to mummies here, i am now loking at the cream for her via the links provided.

lilstarz29, how about flexi-work hours? maybe talk to ur boss? Not working is fun, but taking care of baby is also very very full time work. Why not take a 2weeks trial (take leave and see if u can manage)...

lilstarz29, why not? Since ur hubby has offered u..hehe..every mth make sure he gives u the pocket money for shopping..haha..

well done, Kiersten..so proud of u!! My boy dun fancy at the rings at all..I just bought a jumperoo from SN's friend..hehe..but too bad, my boy didnt like it at all..I think u can try to go WTB thread, last time saw few mummies r looking for it..ur is it rainforest or precious planet?

Mrs Teo..so fast..I thought to register soon..u goin to Toa Payoh branch? I think I will send my boy when he is 18mths..

Mrs Teo, my job not suitable for flexi-hours cos a lot of cx meetings.. so unless i quit to find part time or something.. but wha the way she sick 1 week 1 week really no joke is very disruptive. yeah can manage lah... but erm...think i will become like mad woman becos no maid and i ain't the most patient in the world.. thats why the hubby say leave in school if not he will go crazy from me stressing him out ;p

Pinnky...yeah will make sure got pocket money thats why he say stay home 1 year only she should get stronger by 2 years old haha....but to quit then next year again find job like damn sian also.. mine is the rainforest one..yeah she also like not very fond of it hardly used it.. okie i go look at the WTB thread.. thx..

ya toapayoh branch.

erm no need to queue leh.

my sis sent her dotter when she was 1, then her son when he was 18mth. not much diff.

for me, just to let her be with kids her age group lor. i see her at home also i feel sian for her.

if i can then i go home early, or bring her out.

yday we sneaked out to playgym harbourfront. she had fun.

what is Shichida about?

I super confuse with all these classes. Are they really that good? Nowadays parents very KS. Keke...

thinking of getting guests to Sophie b'day party to get her some classes instead of clothes or toys. more meaningful

mush

then can ask for gymboree vouchers.. playgym is fun now that Ash is familiar with the place.

for me, i ask for angpows (easier leh) if they buy toys u still have to lug them home (if partee is not at home)

clothes - very fast cannot wear.

Mrs Teo..is it? then I dun need to register so early lo..hehe..I got email them b4 to check d price..not cheap also..but wil still send him over cox Shichida is good..

Mush..shichida is abt right brain training..they use flash card to train

lilstarz..harr..then better think twice..or maybe by time u got 2nd one, ur hubby wil ask u to stay at home to tk cr both..hehe..

Lilstar,

It's just that my baby is born early, so he has a plenty of catching up to do (my hubby and i not petite).

Haha, i just quit my job [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and my maid just went back. i'm giving myself 2 mths to try out...if i can do it, i guess you should be okay! financially-wise i know what you mean! it's always better to earn your own keep than 'asking' $ from hubby, esp since we are now equals in society. but it's nice that my hubby offered to pay me an equivalent of my current salary if i decide not to return to work after the trial period (you can discuss with your hubby).

but in any case, i just got a nice bonus so it should last me for a year or so, without the need to touch my savings or get a 'salary' from my hubby. so the tip is: leave after you get the bonus. kekeke

Jasmini,

But i think ur son eats quite a fair bit. I think my girl surviving on air most of the time she was born tiny too even though born not that early.

Wah ur hubby pay u ur salary so good ah.. my hubby can't afford that.. yeah my bonus pay out only in end april and i still have to give 2 months notice..i dunno.. just not keen to stay home leh...maybe i see how her health goes cos i planning to change her to a montessori school when she turns 18 months.. i think her current school maybe hygiene not so good..too many babies not enough teachers...

Shichida

My gal is going for her shichida class tmr. Once a week lesson but parents gotta follow up with kid everyday. My sil gave up after a few terms. Maybe I'm kiasu but I'd rather spend some money for her to go learn something than her

staying at home crawling here and there and screaming everytime.

Pinnky

Not sure if you're aware but there was a promotion when I sign up for the weekday class.

pancake,

i think discoutn not much. i thnk 780 weekends.. then 745 weekdays right?

ya, i also heard must practice eveyrday. my hb doing daily practice while i will bring her for once a week lesson.

Pancake , let us know after tomorrow class if Shchida is good . I also signed up my boy but have not decide whether to join the class this term or next term

Mrs Teo , you sign up for which timeslot next term ? I thinking of taking the Sat morning slot

Jasmini , wah your bonus so good , you in banking sector is it ? When your last day of work then can have playdate at your house [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I will be going back to work on 1 July and then will send Nat to half day IFC . Will try and see how it goes for 2 mths and if doesn't work out , will consider to quit and maybe stay home till end of the year

pancake.. thats very good discout. did u sign with toa payoh branch or was tereh liek a special thingy

michelle,

i havent pick weekend or weekday yet.

Hellooo! Shichida> I have do some research on Shichida, heard from some mummies it expensive and some don't really think it's effective on their child.

I'm thinking to teach my boy myself instead.

Now starting with flash card, pop out picture book, classical music and baby video 1st (to build bonding as well).

I just find out my boy has good memory!

I used to tell story using a lion soft toy, I named it "Spaky".

Now if I ask him where is Spaky? He will look at his baby cot corner which I hand the lion there (^^) Will try to use other stuff to tell story or singing to build his memory.

Hi Mummies... anyone been to peekaboo at kallang leisure park? anything for 11mths baby crawling to play with??

Luckyone..u very hardworking.. ihvnt' been reading/ or using flash card( thought we bought it ).... been lazy n tired ... i think i must catch up...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi update on birthday bash.

One mummy already transfer the funds to me.

Thanks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sheryl right? I already update in the spreadsheet. Feel free to check and let know if there is mistake.

haha, all thanks to the mommies here, who encouraged me to be SAHM and also to lobby the support of my hubby. so i ask him 'how you plan to support me? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]'

then he said he'll pay me my salary so long as i do not work lor ( but no increment, no bonus, no cpf!)

mich, i was previously in banking, but switch to FMCG when economy downturn. bonus is abt the same as banking cos last yr our company performance v gd. maybe we can have playdate end of the month? let me confirm and set up a date [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

we can go swim + park/playground!! do u have baby float? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if u like, we can also walk across to East coast park.

Peekaboo:

Maggi mee, you need to BYOS (bring your own socks) to enter, but entrance is free for <1yo. There are plenty of balls, swing, slide, rocking horses, trampoline (to bounce) etc etc.

it's not say very comprehensive but worth to go if you happen to be there or stay nearby.

Survey of the day:

when will you start to send your kids to 'school'/classes?

was discussing with my SIL yesterday and she said i ought to be sending my bb for classes soon...like those GUG sessions. i was planning to send my boy to a christian kindy when he turns 3yo cos way cheaper($600+ for 1 term!) compared to the others charging $1.2K - $1.5k a mth! i thought since my boy is going to spend his next 17-20 yrs studying, i don't wanna start him so early. but my SIL says i shouldn't think that way...must sign up for everything ('_')"