(2010/05) May 2010 mtb

Hi MTBs and FTBs,

Just a update on our current status, we are overwhelmed to receive a call from our gynea yesterday saying the full amnio test result is a all clear.

Gynea also double confirme it's a boy through the amnio test result :D. At first, I was kinda hoping for a princess but after the oscar test thingy, I dun care anymore, so long baby is healthy.

Wife also said she felt baby kicking her a little for the first time.

Oh, my wife just gain 1 kg since her pregnancy, was kind of worried tho. I guess every preganancy is different.

Hi everyone, I'm new here. 1st time mtb, my edd 18 May seeing Dr. Joycelyn Wong(TMC).

Having throat inflammation, phlegm, right side of nose blocked and left side nose bleeding since yesterday morning. I still went to work in the morning attend urgent meeting and see GP in the late afternoon. Rest at home but refuse to take medicine tough doc say it's mild.

Woke up at 4am to clear phlegm and finally took medicine after hubby nagging. Wonder my baby also kana my phlegm or not, or affected by me for taking medi.

Before pregnant, I'm someone stubborn not taking western medi cos the drug only make ppl sleepy and make me more sick at times. I believe healing through time but now I taking medi, so kinda worry. If call gynae, sure say no worry as long tell GP that I pregnant... sigh..

HI mummies, hvnt log in since my last chat here.

My EDD is 28 May also seeing Jocelyn Wong. This is my #2 pregnancy.

Oscar test is all clear, but judging from the above postings, i better watch my weight :p

i envy those with NO WEIGHT GAIN! last pregnancy i gain only total of 12kg which is not very much..now only 16 wks i hv oredi gained 5kg arrgh..

Cant wait for my next appt, doin detailed scan, we saw abit of sthing in between bb's legs few days back so could be a boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies, it's been a long while since I last posted here. Anyone going to the Cordlife talk today?

I am currently their member. Proposed to my preg friend to join me for a discounted scheme to sign up with Cordlife. More attractive than the one offered at Cordlife (this was what my agent told me).

Any mummy who is keen can contact me for this proposal from my agent. My dear friend still could not decide to sign up with Cordlife or Stemcord hence extending my proposal to mummies here now.

Pls pm me if keen k. Thanks.

SK and gladseow: i still have zero idea what's cord life and cord bank all about. jeez.

Alsky: Congrats on all clear. Must be a huge relief, and it's a boy! double happiness.

Hi Sue,

My secret food is my own-made dessert which I have featured afew days ago in this thread. Is white fungus with papaya and pear dessert. You can click at the Dec08 archive to see. Is a very easy recipe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

You can also try to eat two small apples and drink lots of water(slowly) after breakfast. It works for me.

Yogurt

I don't really like the yogurt taste after my MS. Weird. I used to LOVE it but after my MS, I find it very "chemical" taste.

Hi Gladseow

Try boiling some barley water without sugar. You can google to find barley is good for swelling. Also good for UTI.

Also try to sleep with your both legs on pillow. And to avoid drinking any fluid after 8pm.

Hi Maggie mee

Me too! Can feel pain here and there due to the stretching. Esp at night when I lay down to sleep. My tummy feels like bursting. Have to relax for a few mins before it subside. Now my tummy is like a size of a baby pillow. Very obvious. And it's like getting bigger and bigger each week. Maybe I'm now in the wk20. I read a article in babycenter.com. It did mentioned that after wk20, my tummy will start to grow 1cm per week. Wow! Scary. Where got some much skin to stretch.

I have put on 4kg since my first appointment with gynae. Hate the weighing scale. Very paranoid everytime when I have to step on it.

Baby kicking

Hi mtbs/ftbs. Just to share with you all. I can feel my baby kicking since last week. Yeah! It really feels like blowing bubble. Very light. But the feeling is "wordless" to describe.

Hi mtbs/ftbs

Just to share with you all. I went for my detail scan yesterday. Baby is ok. And I'm having a GIRL! Yeah! We are very happy.

Hi Bbf, can help me to add in the list. Thank you so much.

Detail scan

My detail scan was not a very pleasant experience. The sonographer was stern and unfriendly. Got "told off" when I ask her question about baby... Said she is concentrating on the scanning and need me to keep still and don't talk. Husband got shocked/upset by her attitude. Didn't bother to tell us much what she is doing. Just a word everytime she scan a new location like - "Kidney", "Brain", "Limp", "Stomach", "heart". And she was very "soft spoken". My husband couldn't really heard what she said. Didn't show us our baby "private part". She only said "Do you all want to know the gender? (We said "Yes") Is a girl" - That's it. When we asked to see the fingers and toes. She said not within the detail scan checklists. I checked with my sister who did her scan in KKH too(after my scan). The sonographer did showed her the fingers and toes. Sigh. Now I'm thinking of doing the 3D scan. Anyone doing it in KKH? As for the gender, she did mentioned is only 80-90% accurate eventhough is a "detail scan". Aiyo.. what a experience.

hi vivi2010,

sorry but could you provide me ur details once again? I haven't had the time to keep track of the past posts so I only browse through the thread for what is addressed to me.

Alsky, congrats on clearing the amnio! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i've gained 4kg @19 weeks and started wearing my maternity wear last week. there's no point covering up anymore, the bump is out and very obvious.

New mtbs who have just joined this thread, if you can make a post to BBF with your details. It makes it easier for me to pick up the details and update the list. Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hope everyone is doing great!

bbf, my edd is 26 May 2010, seeing Dr Woo.

Destiny, i haven gained weight compared to pre-pregnancy weight. In fact i'm still 0.5 kg away from pre-pregnancy weight. bit worried abt not gaining weight but gynae said the baby is growing normally. bb is 9.1cm (from head to bum) @16 week. but his body is bit curved, so might be slightly longer than 9.1cm.

wow thanks everyone on their input on weight gain. there r stil quite a number of mummies who lost or havent gain any weight. Amazing to mi..dun u girls feel hungrier often? *scratch head*

sorry to disturb, i have a tin of Anmum Materna for pregnant woman, chocolate flavour (900g) and 3 free sachets to let go. Interested pls PM me. Thanks!

Hi Bbf

Below is my detail

EDD: 3May2010

Nick: Vivi2010

BB No.: 1

Gynae's name: Dr Loh

Hosptial: KKH

Thank you so much for your effort of doing this list. Really appreciated [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi bbf

You have repeated mine twice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Maybe you can remove the one above. Thanks again

Hi Vivi. thanks for the info. Very helpful of you. I will boill barley to drink regularly.

Jus to share my experience while i attended cord life talk last Sat. There were 3 topics that day.

The 1st was baby massage demo and talk by Mrs Wong from TMC. It was interesting how she handled the real life babies. Maybe after my girl is born, might want to join her class so that I can learn how to bond more with her.

Thereafter there is this cordlife talk from the doctors. the topic was quite boring. Not very detailed talk on what will be happening during the process. All I knw is it is similar to bone marrow. And the best thing is that it will cause no pain to mother and baby. Anyway, I will consult my gynea on this again and most probably might donate baby's cordblood to Singapore cord bank (FOC).

The 3rd topic was from Diana Ser and Bi Ren. keke. Bi ren is pregnant 5 mths with a girl. That will be her 3rd kid. Was interesting as they talked abt their experience, tips etc.

Will overall, feel that the talk was worth going. Knowledge gain and the best part is it is FOC. Of course, also not forgetting abt the goodies bag (free diapers inside).

Hi Everyone, I was MIA for the last two weeks. Baby ok but mummy not well.Was at home resting, got 2 weeks hospitalisation leave from Gyne for havg bad sore throat, flu and was feeling weak. Was given antibotics, now better. I have more energy now and back to work. Thankfully my kind collegues helped me cover most of my work and left with some paperwork to complete.

Im 18 weeks now and hoping to find out the baby's gender at the end of the month's appt.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anne raj, do tk care of urself ya?

yes yes im sure u will get to knoe ur bb's gender tis time round! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

all mums take care now

this is supposed to be the happy trimester

heheheh,

soon BBF will be overloaded with updates

try to be cheerful and take time to pamper urself

go for manicures and pedicures.

Hello everyone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Alsky

Congrats. so happy for you. I'm going for my amnio this wed. Think of it making me nervous. Cant help keep thinking abt the needles.

Anne raj

U take care. Must drink alot of water and have plenty of rest esp having flu.

Thanks destiny and orange for your concern.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]I did that sumathi, pamper myself over the weekend with hair cut,mani and pedi...felt so much better, spend Sat window shopping and caught a movie which i havent done in ages... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Alsky,

Congrats!Happy to hear your good news. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anne,

Do take care & rest well.

Im thinking of getting a maid. Any mummies here can recommend a good & reliable maid agency?

bbf,

my first bb. per last visit, i'm having a boy, but need to wait till 20 weeks detailed scan to cfm. I haven decide on the hospital. It's either TMC or Mt A.

Vivien> Yesterday, I made the dessert u featured last monday. I don't have any bowel movement problem so far but the dessert made me SH!T big time!!!!! I had this dessert in a dessert shop before but never had that side effect before. Hb was saying that it is very "qing liang" to drink. He loves it. Ask me to make more. Wahahahahahaha! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

Hope everyone is feeling ok and well. Am going to see bb this sat. Hope to see the gender. *excited*

mamaj, i think most of the hospitals have tours if u call their concierge. it may be able to help u decide better after viewing all their facilities.

Hi Chloie,

I'm so happy to hear that. Actually I'm eating it now. Ha! I love eating it cold even though I know it is not so good for baby. But I think it helps better with the bowel movement when I have it cold.

mamaj, we share the same edd!

i have yet to decide on the hospital to deliver too. i went for the maternity facilities tour in Mt A & i quite like the single wards there. The environment seems cozy. Nx week, i will be gg to Eastshore & Glen E to compare

Hi MTBs, anyone thinking of booking a post-natal masseuse already or too early still? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

While 2nd trimester definitely feels much better than 1st, just realised that i'm hitting 20th week this week already...means 3rd tri is coming soon...when i'll feel like a whale! :p But whatever, shall just enjoy life as it is now lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, this Fri 18th is Isetan members' private sale, Pigeon, Avent, Medela got discount. Heads up for anyone intending to go and is a member or have a member friend to bring you... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi Jerbunny

CL charges i heard are about $2k a month...post natal massage varies from place to place, abt $700+ for 10 days package...

Jerbunny... im tiking of looking for CL after my detailed scan tis mth end! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Let me know if you got any good recommendation... i will first go ask my friends if not, i will check out those confinement agency

Hello to BBfactory and all May 2010 MTBs,

I'm expecting my 2nd BB.

EDD: End May 2010 (TBC)

Gynae's name: Dr Joycelyn Wong

Hosptial: Mt A or TMC

BBfactory, thank you so much for your effort of doing this list (^_^)

Hello to BBfactory and all May 2010 MTBs,

I'm expecting my 2nd BB.

EDD: End May 2010 (TBC)

Gynae's name: Dr Joycelyn Wong

Hosptial: Mt A or TMC

Thank you so much for your effort of doing this list. Really appreciated

JSP...

Waiting for my detailed scan next monday!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope everything will be fine... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So far how are you ? Me no complain except for slighly bigger tummy.. haha..

maggie mee

hahaha... finally got response liao...

i'm also anxiously waiting for my detailed scan next wed lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/bounce.gif] dun worry ya... everything would be fine... remember we r halfway there liao...

i'm fine so far... starting to gain abit of weight... abt 1kg so far... hope not to gain too much coz my #1 i gained so much n so difficult to shed tt last feew kilos lor... my tummy also quite big now... got pple comment like more than 5 mths lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/biggrin.gif]

Hi JSP

I have a very bad experience during my detail scan last week. The sonographer was not very friendly and patient. When I ask about baby's fingers and toes. She claimed not within her checklist. Not keen to answer any of my questions. Feeling very insecure. So thinking of doing the 3D scan. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

vivi

oic... aiyo... u go kkh rite?? usually the sonographer quite nice one leh... n quite detailed one... budden i think its part of the procedure to check for fingers n toes leh... maybe she in a bad mood... so far my experience not tt bad...