(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Megan> hahah CY all new for the new year...

TYL> thanks dear!

luvbabe> hahaha ya, we always buy and buy then later complain no $$ hoh hahahah.. Gd luck in your new hunt! I am actually comtemplating to work in banks but am worried of the long hours hahahah

wow hello...

super busy today only read a few post...

hehehe...

CY and Sherry, good luck huh... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

all the best...

Megan> Ya, all new except hubby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wahaha...

Thanks luvbabe,sherry & febie!

Gg home now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] next time only can knock off 630pm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

smalldreams : There so so many stores those long shawls etc. Can you show me pictures of what you really looking for? I can then check them out for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin: OH NO! I dun mean to make you feel so bad! I am sorry! I mean Arwen keep falling these days and we are use to it but that day was a bad fall and when she cry like siao, I feel like so useless ..

Cy / Sherry! Good Luck!!!

Lamb: Hope this trip, Nat will have loads of fun [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin, regarding the febm, if you want, you can defrost it and try first. If it doesn't taste sour and you are ok after consumption then can give to Mattias. By right, bm can freeze for 3 months, stand alone freezers can keep for 6 months so depends on how comfortable you are with the quality of the thawed FEBM.

CY and Sherry, good luck and congrats! Hehee, perhaps can consider adding a NEW member to the family too? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I was jus talking to hubby abt moving on. Just got additional portfolio added to me, yes getting 1 salary but doing 2 full time job. And worse, the deadlines are so demanding that I work from 7am - 7pm in office every other day. Errghhhh....

Alamak, I only bought 1 set of gong fu CNY clothing for Chris at Chinatown last Fri. No time to go shopping. I feel v jealous coz ger ger clothings always nicer than boy boy one.

Xin, milk bath sounds like a gd idea for Mattias. Natural rich moisturier for BB skin [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For sharing and discussion, want to seek your view if woman should put family planning over career 1st or the other way?

yuki>ya, I'm always tempted by gal clothes. lucky ayden is a boy or I will spend more.

so many moms thinking of moving on. good luck to all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

personally, I put family planning over career. We're only fertile for a number of years + babies are only young once. Career is always there. Just that might have to compromise on pay/advancement. But then I was never the high-flyer ambitious type. :p

Morning mummies...

Yuki> Personally, I will put family planning over career. Totally agreed with what TYL said, our children and family will always be with us but for job, we are definitely replaceable. I have worked extremely hard and long hours earlier before I had Luis. My outlook totally changed when Luis was critically ill when he was born and I really treasure my family very, very much!

I feel it is not worth to push ourselves to the limit for the sake of the job/career!

yuki> hahaha try a girl girl this/next yr la.. hehehe.. chris looks so charming in that photo lor.. love it!

I will probably plan for BB2 last quarter ba but have to ensure i settle well in the new firm first. Meeting them tomorrow and another on Tues, so wish me luck ba!

yl> ya, esp when we have a BB now.. i just wanna ensure i ger enough $$ for the family and able to knock off latest bt 630/7pm hahaha..

Yuki

between a couple, usually the husband go out and chiong, and wife plays supporting role. but of course, there are some where both are ambitious, then family may take a back seat, like starting kids later, or have next one later, or outsource etc. At end of day, depends on what is comfortable for the couple.

But one thing is, age waits for no man, and money can never finish earning.

wow...

serious talk this morning...

before Shayne was out, i can work like nobody business... after he's out, he becomes my priority. as many hav said, $ is impt but still family come first. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sherry, i havnt start looking yet, cos so bz with cny n hse. How is the mkt nw Ah? I wonder shld i go bk to same sector or something else.... Yuki, i also very jealous to see so many girl clothes, i have a gongfu suit for A when i was preggy lo, nw he finally can wear. Hehe!

Furby/ luvbabe, agree with wat u all say. I got a fren whom lost touch for a while told me her story, She almost lost her family cos of wk. Hb earns less so for sake of her girls She chiong n leave kids n hsewk to maid. Every yr go holidays etc.The hb felt bored, took up tennis n get to know a girl......to save the family she ask for transfer to wk lesser hrs n lesser pay. She ask me nt to b like her But i m nvr the ambitious kind .

I fully agree with all the mummies views. Similar to many mummies, I used to work 'no day no nite' before having Chris. Now I strive towards working 'day but got nite'. In fact I felt v guilty since beginning of this yr that I spend less than an hr with Chris every day, coz I reach home past 8 and he needs to sleep by 9+. On certain nites, he refuses to sleep despite tired as he wants me to read story books to him, curddle and hug him.

Haizz, my boss hinted to me to consider having number 2 coz we have huge timeline and deliverables to meet in 2011 and 2012. I feel damn sian, told myself I am prepared to quit my job if the company does not support family planning. Wonder if I am too impulsive....

yuki>I heck care lah. always got time deliverables at different points of the year de. If want to try, just try. If don't try, wait regret how? Its not like we want no 2 means we'll immediately get no 2. The age gap between my brother and I is 5 years not because my mom didn't want one earlier but cos she was unsuccessful despite all her tries.

Anyway, no point being upset now cos you don't even know when you will have no 2. N by then, project timelines might change. For all you know, your boss might change and the new boss will be v supportive of families. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

let's hope the new budget will have more bb incentives! :p

BTW, Chris is so sweet!

firipy> i think for eve only needs to work half a day or till 3 ba. at one raffles quay...

Market is picking up le, u can try looking out wo

Yuki> huh? but govt encouraging us to have more BBs wo hahahaha.. i guess still need a job cause very shiong to just rely on one income for 2 kids le...I am seriously comtemplating to throw in my letter on Monday but my dear colleagues have been asking not to be so impulsive.. wait for bonus etc but its April lor!! And i am really sick of the shit i am getting... i was resignated cause i move to a new role but now, it seems like its a demotion to me and i lose out on an additional of 4 days. I emailed her and ask if it's deemed as a demotion and she din reply me wo!! fxxking pissed!!!!

sherry>secure a new job le then throw letter lah. If you get a new job before April, yay. If not, at least you still get your bonus?

TYL> Not even sure if Sherry will get her bonus lor....

Sherry> Understand how you feel coz me too, I also moved to a new role, not my choice but thought just do and work and see how. But, people here are not making life easy for you lor. Super duper pissed with some colleagues in this team and also my boss!!! I am extremely motivated to move out!!!

firipy> yeah, like what Sherry said, mkt is picking up now. If want, can start looking after CNY coz now busy and people are also on leave for the festive seasons....

Yuki> Spending less than 1 hr with Chris is really quite little leh...No wonder he doesn't want to sleep and want time with you.... Nowadays, I make sure I am home by 8, so will spend time with Lucas till 930pm or so, then after 930pm will be Luis time till he goes to bed about 10/1030pm. Then, next morning, Lucas wakes up early at 6am, so I will also spend some time with him till Luis wakes up about 730am/8am, then get him ready and send him to school by 845am! 24hrs a day for a mummy who needs to juggle work and home is not enough! Luckily, I don't have to handle housework, else I sure concussed de!!!

ya spending time wt kids are precious...cos once lose it we can turn back the clock...my current job is vy good tat i can be home by 5.45pm, a lot of time wt kids. But the prob is tat it's not really a stable job...one hand think of changing but am afraid if change job no time for kids....haiz!!!

hi hi, aren't you galz bz with preparing for CNY? :p

Luvbabe

I can imagine what you have to go through.

It's like, at work, we chiong like mad, then at home, put on another hat and chiong again until bedtime. But I won't trade motherhood for anything else in the world. It's too precious, we're so blessed to have little ones.

Yuki

You pose the qn here, of course the mommies that log in here will say Family 1st! :D Try asking yr colleagues, i'm sure many will say career first. I know so many people who are single or married without wanting kids. I feel that they're really missing on something so lovely, but then, who am I to say that? we all have different values after all.

Sherry

All the best for the move.

You must feel really pushed to a corner.

Once I was so sick of my job that I applied for another one and was even prepared to take $300 to $400 paycut. My hb told me I was crazy. Everyone wanted to work upwards and I was going downwards but at that time I was desperate. In the end, I turned down that job offer. Am still at my old place but like TYL, Firipy I'm also not the ambitious sort lah. As long as I get my pay, i hve time for my kids, I'm happy. And I also like the flexibility here. Happy to work from home even if I can do that once a week.

Megan

You're right. We can never turn back the clock.

We're all getting older by the minute.

Jessie

Thanks dear, if you have time, let me know which reliable sites can ship in cotton shawls like this one. I know u're bz with the CNY & the flight back soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5065507.jpg]

luvbabe>no guarantee of bonus? then time to go. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hope your situation gets better. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

smalldreams>you are quite right. I've friends who really love kids but just don't want them. They're happy to play with them occassionally. We're lucky we have supportive hubbys who love kids too. I sat next to this couple at a wedding and the wife was looking so wistfully at ayden. from our chat, can tell she really wants a baby but her hubby refuses to have one. He immediately said 'no' when we asked if he wants one. can tell from her reaction that she's quite resigned to not having a child. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

TYL

Oh no, poor wifey. I think no matter what, women have some maternal instincts and we'd all long for our own kids.

There are some people who'd rather rear dogs & cats than have kids. Hmmmm....

smalldreams>hee, ya. like my insurance agent. she loves her dogs. but when my hubby offered to let her carry Ayden (he was 7-8 months then, I think), could tell she was quite relunctant. :p

smalldreams> You're so right to say that we, as mothers, chiong all the way (at work and at home). All our time was given to kids, family and work. However, I don't regret having kids as they are definitely my greatest joy. I still feel so excited over what Luis and Lucas are learning on a daily basis. I feel so warmth at heart when I reach home to have my 2 darlings running after me and hugging and kissing me. This made me forget all the sufferings and pain I had at work.

TYL> Yeah, no guarantee bonus de! Frankly, I also don't feel motivated at work anymore and yes, time to go!

Actually, I also have a girlfriend who loves kids and would love to have her own but her hubby don't want...Very sad!

wat happen to man huh..they r not the one who bear wif the waking up, vomitting n pain durin pregnancy...hahaha..my DH said he dun 1 second kid..phobia..alamak..

smalldreams

you are so right. On the other side, there are career women out there who are either not married or married but not having kids. Could be husband's wish also.

I know of kidless couples always go golf, weekend travel, spa, restaurant, night outs, shopping etc. I wonder how is it like.

I also have girlfriends who set up own company, and very successful, and ambitious, but family taking a backseat.

YL,

We are doing a huge project and the team's heads all on the big boss chopping board if we don't deliver by Jul 2012. Only more and more work which is really tiring. Like today, I knocked off close to 8pm again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Luvbabe,

Agree with u. No matter how tired I am, my fatigue will be gone the moment I hug and kiss Chris. Woman is fantastic, can wear different hats 24-7-365!

Smalldreams,

I chatted with my colleagues over lunch abt this topic too. Interestingly both the guys and gals agreed woman shld not compromise family planning over career.

I just discussed with DH and we agreed family shld come 1st. So most prob will try for #2 mid of the year [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yl> I guess I won't be able to last that long haha.. I just can't wait to get out of that plc

Luvbabe> I guess there will be bonus but is not expecting much.. Even for increment, i only get $100 a year.. And imagine they took away 20% in 2009.. How many yrs do I need to work with them in order to take bk the 20% cut?? To a point, I told my new mgr that I dun see a point doing appraisal.. Just give me the $100 la!! Haha.. N can u imagine some of my colleagues din even receive any notification to do their appraisal!!! Seriously, that HR mgr must be SLEEPING. Haha.. Feel like throwing that letter to my boss on Monday.. Like I was sharing with jo, I m stuck as a recruiter but I can easily land myself in another recruitment or search firm if I wanted to.. Cause anyway I will be doing the same time yeah!! Let's see how the talk goes tmr and another on tues with a bank ba... Wish me luck ba

Yuki> ya, I also have friends who dun hv kids and they are forever traveling lor... Like wat u say, they are definitely missing out alot of fun n joy thru parenting but I guess as the kids get older, we, as parents will prob experienced a different level of stress lor... Guess there is always pro n cons la hoh

Jessie> dont worry. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we're an accident prone family. today mattias got poked by yakult straw and gum bled, then fell on mouth while crawling, then kiap fingers between high chair and table and finally got kiap by pjs buttons. so poor thing. :p

sherry, luvbabe> hope you find a better job soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cy> yeah, now can do playdates on weekends. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

on work and parenting> i've long decided that family should come first. initial plan was to tk 10 years off to tk care of my children and homeschool them but now i gg bk to work liaoz. sighz. somehow feel that i'm not very productive at home. :p dunno how to cook nor do housework. let hb try out til no.2 comes and then decide next step.

hope i wont be too caught up with work when i go bk. coz hb is the type that knock off on time and hm by 6pm. i confirm cant do it. quite stressed. :p

Yuki, I also choose family over career !! Am never ambitious lor tat y I struck in this company for 12 yrs !! Now leaving also cos of weekend off n ph ... Praying hard it will be smooth sailing !!

All e best to u too Sherry !!

Mummies, dun worry...

Am sure those of u searching for better opportunities will succeed. If u have taken the first step out, I'm sure a better future awaits you....

I'm stuck in a situation too...

Dunno to search for better opportunity or stay on...

Current co pro family. But I'm like stagnant there...

Dunno to go for career advancement a not...

And super worry that I got no time for Shayne.

hello my kampung frens!!

all new careers?? good luck CY! sherry all the best for interview! or is it sign LOA oredi??...but fore warn, banks v stressful even in HR coz turn over quite fast yeah...

my burden is too heavy & pay is too low..but cannot afford to quit coz hubby's job is never stable..dun even haf emergency funds to talk about...which is quite sad..every month also waiting for pay day coz too many bills to pay and bring food on the table..

but i choose family, or should i say child bearing earlier coz i like kids...but yet only giving them minimal..felt bad towards T1 coz cannot even come home in time to guide her..everyday when i am home..all 3 kids are sleeping..sad...hope dat things get better when 4th headcount in my office come in..

sherry, not taking the bus now coz wan to walk T2 to school every morning..coz too busy during the workweek...worry dat he gets neglected..

xin,

kekeke...you v cute le...reminds me of T2, accident prone...my bestie always say i gotta bubble wrap him when i go out...coz he always...like almost everyday fall down or knock into something when he was young....

not to worry it gets better when they are older..

fatbabe> arhgg, no wonder din see u for the last few weeks hahaha... seriously i am not very keen to work beyond 7, if possible hahaha.. thus, am comtemplating if i shld move in house to banks lor.. might have good benefits and progression..

its a verbal offer but haven discuss on package though he say i will get a cut in all placement and its really quite enticing cause it double more than what i am getting here,, but then again, its what they say la.. gotta be in it then i will know if its true wahahaha.. the one for Tues is a referral from ex boss, he put in good words for me so abit paisei if i dun attend.. so gotta just go and show face wahahha.. anyway, they might not be keen in me.. As for the rest of the offers comes from agencies and headhunter firms lor.. i am basically stuck in recruitment ba so even when i throw my CV out, i will only get offers from such firms.. pro and cons la hoh...

anyway i think i am gonna act like a bitch when i tender hahaha.. call in my director and air out all my grievances and tto complain abt that Fat stuid lazing HR mgr whahahaha...

sherry

wow, you are so capable, got so many job offers. No harm going for interview to find out more.before 35yo, just go for it. Then by 40yo, one should be more or less settle into something. This is because in the 30s the income and prospect curve will rise and peak before stabilise.

xin

you are very brave to think of homeschooling. Those mummies are really confident, disciplined and focused to be able to do that.

furby> nono, i am not capable..i am basically in recruitment and thus, its quite easy for us to hop around if u intend to stay in this line.. but of course, if u dun hit ya target then out we go in 3 mths lor..

Sherry, good luck to your interviews.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2 more days to our BASH!!!

See ya all on Sunday!