(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Outing to the Zoo on 23 Dec 2010 - Meet 1000hrs Outside Zoo entrance (Near the elephants)

1 - Cy

2 - Sherry x2

3 - fatbabe

4 - luvbabe x2

5 - yuki

6 - Afann

7 - Summermama

8 - mindy

9 - tyl

10 - Xin

11 - Vinwee -x1 paid

12 - Josie x1

13 - tobu x1

14 - MsTan x3

Mummies the rate i get from Zoo as below. Birdpark also same price if u wanna get n use for next trip. Valid min 6 months :p

S$17 adults & $8.50 for child

Pm me if you wan to buy & collection @ the zoo on 23 Dec or my office area near Clarke Quay !!

Pls transfer to my posb savings account 051-22642-9 latest by 22dec noon.

mommies> i had initially wanted to share this earlier when our LOs first started solids, but never got around to doing it. i hope you will find this information useful without ever having to use it.

to dislodge foreign object

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4888570.jpg]

opening airways

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4888571.jpg]

starting cpr

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4888572.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4888573.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4888574.jpg]

Febie -

my hubby has decided and print

"ISAIAH enjoys being THE ONE!" hahaha

Little_Lamb - allowance for my mom is purely allowance. Marketing is seperate..

Sometimes when my BIL not free and we will bring her to market.. each marketing cost $150, sometimes extra she will pay lar. We used to take turn n pay for twice a week but that time me n hubby on diet n replaced dinner with milkshake n we stopped marketing liao.. but we still do it once awhile.. hehe

melissa - yah lor paying the amount might as well get a maid.. can help me iron n wash my clothes.. i HATE doing laundry and ironing..

But my mom cannot come over coz m staying with in-laws and she has to be at my sister house to take care of my niece too.. If gonna get a maid.. i will bring maid n baby over to my sister house everyday.. my MIL n FIL both are working.

But MIL dont like to have maid at home..

problem right.. hahaha

now me n hubby are trying to work out..

if he can be a SAHDad instead.. n get a maid to help him.

he was saying that for me to be SAHM will be immpossible.. unless i struck toto.. coz i quit i have no income n no transport allowance.. but if he quits, he still has freelance income..

n i told him that then the maid have to be super ugly and fat.. if not when m not around at home dunno what will happened.. hahahaa :p he say i siao..

mindy/smalldreams, I got endless complain abt hb's relatives including my fil, they gave bday cake to A when he was like dunno hw old, luckily I saw n stop in time. There was once they wanna let my boy play with a obviously sick baby. Sneeze n nose dripping. I said dun let them near each other, n somemore they can "say better than ytd, sneeze n nose watering lesser than ytd, most prob she is teething"! I vey angry I shouted:" if anything happens to A, I m the one who can't slp at nite n I dowan him to go stay KK hotel again!" My poor boy got flu n cough the next day lo! They tink its fun to see them play together n they hardly see each other. Its like hello??? Its not fun to nurse a sick baby, the mental heartpain n all...

mindy, my mum says if u maid is fat n ugly when ur kid is ald older its ok, if ur maid is ugly n fat since ur baby is born hor, its better nt to get one cos wait the baby grows up to look like her hahahha! Ur hb so gd lo, I tink if its me, I sure kanna called to go hm on urgent leave if my hb is SAHD!

mindy: It is so nice of your DH to be so considerate of your career[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and also very good, he is actively discussing options with you.

Seriously... being a WAHM can be tough as I work alot but over the one year, I don't miss out anything with Arwen and I have full control over her upbringing , that is something I am grateful for. Arwen's nanny is not cheap, about SGD 800 a month , I have to support my parents which is another SGD 800. We discussed many many many times if I should stop work but after calculating, I may not earn alot but it is enough to cover the nanny, my parents, all Arwen's expenses and we do not have to use DH salary but also means whatever I earn is all gone, no savings lah.

Point is, I heartpain whenever I think of how much we pay for the nanny but it does give Arwen stability which to me is vital as we do not have anyone else here.

Yah, here also got this saying, if the caregiver is untidy, messy , very ugly, it will have a negative impact on the baby . I mean it is not about looks but more like overall presentation lah.

tyl> oh i send mine to my first skool at simei. think the only thing about them is they tend to be forgetful, like sometimes forget to return my water bottle or tell me the day before that my milk powder finishing. other than that, i like them.

cocomama> wah v useful information indeed! no need to attend already.

mindy> hehe hmm the SAHD is a good idea. don't worry lah, i'm sure isaiah will keep the maid and ur hubby so busy that nothing can happen =)

CocoMama:

I enjoy reading yr "theories" cuz they make some medical sense[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Thanks for sharing the banana scone recipe. I will prob try out these few days. From where did u learn yr infant CPR from? Yr notes look totally different from mine but the steps are still the same. Actually i am not surprised that some people bring their helpers along cuz i have heard of some of my friends who do that too. Thanks for yr compliment but i certainly dun live up to the name of being a meticulous mum!!!

cocomama > where did you learn the 1st aid? I am I saw keen (for the longest time ever) and only saw from TMC parentcraft, but not sure if it's good.

Mindy > sorry to hear what happened to Isaiah.... if this happened to Bryan, I would have stirred up a storm with my mum, bro... cos having sharp pieces of bones in their food is definitely not acceptable. Other than what other mummies have suggested of you preparing your own meals, etc., how about letting Isaiah try taking soft steam rice with soup and the ingredients in the soup (provided your mum's place cook soup everyday)? At least I personally felt in such way, there should be no such bones pieces in the meal. On getting a maid, I know there are quite a few mummies here, like Afann, who have left their LOs with maids alone at home since they return to work after ML and they are coping well. However, this is a luck thing and you might want to try it out. It may not be as bad as you think. Going to IFC might be another solution, but Isaiah might not be used to it. Sharing my experience on IFC, Bryan and my colleague's daughter get very sticky to us whenever they return home every evening and every weekend. We deduced that this is due to the lack of personal attention they have at IFC, so you have to be prepared if IFC is one of your solutions.

lamb > I believe in being natural when it comes to our LO's physical development, so I don't care if Bryan is still not being able to walk. He is cruising fine and can only stand hands-free for no more than 5 seconds, but to me, it's good enough for now. I am also not an advocate of walker cos I find that a walker defies the logic of walking, i.e walking while sitting down. We don't sit and walk at the same time, right? Other than that, walker is a dangerous item in my personal opinion. I have seen how fast babies cruise from one end of the house to another with a walker. Can you imagine if they accidentally bang onto a table and something from the table fell and hit them, or we are carrying something hot and they are so fast that they bang into us before we can stop them? I might be very imaginative, but I have to pre-empt what might happen for the use of each item in the house.

Horsey > you manage to get fresh apricots for Lucien? I have been hunting for it cos I have run out of ideas on what fruits to give Bryan cos other than those highly allergenic ones and super sweet ones, I think I have let him try anything else possible.

I'm 1st time mommy and my LO born in end Jan.

Big foot,

You can get fresh apricot from fresh market or even supermarket. Read abt kiwi is ez to get food allergy for some baby, you may want to avoid this first.

mindy: wow you are putting a lot of effort for the party! Kudos to you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I simply cannot find the energy to do it. Outsourcing everything at the moment for Emma's party, including decor.

i can feel the helplessness in your post. For me, I've tendered my resignation in Nov, gotta give 2 months' notice. Cuz I feel like I'm getting things done half-heartedly, and I simply cannot accept the outcome. It helps that DH is earning enough for us not to compromise on our current lifestyle. But I honestly believe your DH will be able to care for Isaiah better. My "vote" goes to SAHD. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For our parents, they may feel like their time to take care of kids are over; being grandparents mean playing with grandkids and passing them back to mommy/daddy/helper when they have had enough. So the meticulousness may not be "up to normal standard". And like what Pauline mentioned, the maid will just "close one eye" cuz it's technically "not her responsibility".

lamb: same here! Emma's like just found her voice box 2 weeks ago, and has been yelling at everything, the TV, her food, her toys. My gosh, bringing her to church is soooo taxing. She simply yell at inappropriate timings. Gotta sit near the exit and rush out if necessary.

jessie: love that hat you knitted! But when Emma stretched the cap I crocheted out of shape, I was like, "argh, I spent nights doing it!"

Btw, peekaboo is still on tomorrow from 2.30pm onwards [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

been so bz lately... n oso stayed over @ MIL's (no internet connection), so missed out alot in here....

andie,

too bad tmr got gathering, cant join u @ peekaboo liao... gona miss the active emma!

@BigFoot: i happened to chance upon them at cold storage.. $8.95/basket but sour ones.. still, my boy enjoys leh, didnt reject.. haha..

@ET: eh how come mine have 2 collection dates? where's the collection place? if inconvenient, can arrange postage?

@melissa: ur baby at simei infant care?? mine was there for a short 2 mths then i dun like their services, ya like u said carelessness. Obviously they forgot to pack the bottles but they 'blamed' tat i nvr check!! The most turnoff part was .. i happened to be there during the first few days to see how they took care n they mixed up the bags.. used my boy's towel on another baby.. then logically shd use tat child's clean towel to dry my boy rite.. NO!! they were abt to use the same towel on my boy! I SCREAMED NO AT THEM n said.. wait, i ran back home to take a new towel!! Can u imagine.. i was there n such happened so behind back, arghhh..

then i transferred him to another infant care, even closer to my home at changi simei cc - elfa.

what's ur baby's name? ;p

Horsey, paisei, i mean this is the collection of $ for the tees, cos in my spreadsheet i got collection for the Jan Bash and this...

Horsey, the collection/postage can arrange later? Cos if you transfer the postage to me first then its so messy for me as i am the fund collector, but not the person to order..

big foot - Thanks for sharing. But I think the version of your walker and the walker that I'm referring to might be a little different. The walker that I was referring to is something like this http://intl.fisher-price.com/cn/infanttoys/product.asp?s=buplayzone&index=0&pos=0&id=53893 . It can serve as a ride on and also a walker. But I am still thinking if I should get it. If I were to get it, it'll probably more be for outdoors use, to take her to the garden with it. This one allows for walk and also for riding. And I really must get her some good pre-walker shoes soon as well.

andie - Well, for Nat, she doesn't scream or yell at random. Probably when she's frustrated or when she's excited, so it's still pretty much 'under control'. But she's pretty much developed a habit which all kids go through and I really hate! Which is to pick up small things to put into her mouth!!! Oh man, so I gotta constantly watch out for small things around the house lest she puts them in her mouth to eat!!! Thank goodness the helper comes here everyday.

btw, horsey, your bb goes to the same childcare as Pauline's but different centre. I used to go to the CC for the gym. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just curious, who's Kayle? Your bb is Lucien, ya?

hi everyone...

cocomama, tks for the info...

time passes real fast our bb will be turning 1 yrs old soon...HW will be 1 nx wk...other than bogeh, she is growing well...walk wout support for at least 4-5 steps....just love cruising around the house, on n off will let go off her hand n try to walk...

those going to zoo outing...have fun!!!

cocomama>thanks for the instructions. Did you learn at KK? They look similar to the course notes I received from KK previously.

Megan>so fast! Lucas also turning 1 this Sat.

melissa>opps, blur me keep forgetting to reply to messages. :p Can't remember if I told you but there's a new childcare opening up near my mom's place which is quite near to your home too. It looks nice from the outside. If you ever want to transfer your gal out, can consider that. :p

@ET: no worries.. btw what's the estimated waiting time? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@LSnTYL: i keep having a thinking that grapes n berries are not suitable as yet.. hmm since so many mommies had tried grapes already, maybe i should let mine try too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh really.. sorry, didnt notice mommy Pauline's post on this.. just popped in lately only. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kayle is Lucien's 'gf'.. hahaha.. no lah, my fren's girl, who is 5 days Lucien junior. Cos of their birthday proximity, we tend to keep each other informed on their activities so they can 'go on dates' together. ;p

U gals all staying in Simei/Tampines area? hee.. Im staying just behind Changi Simei CC. ;)

Mindy,

all in one line or?

For those want to add additional order.

today is last day, pls check and confirm all your clothing by 3pm today.

We will not entertain anymore changes as this is really time taxing. Hope you all understand.

we did this purely out of goodwill to share great deals.

Lamb: I got the walker from Playskool but can be clumsy eh. Me and Andrea compare how the babies walk with this and the other one, the other one, baby got more space to walk in between the handle.

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=5122797633

Maybe if you want can sell you my Playskool walker cos we don't use

http://www.amazon.com/Playskool-Step-Start-Walk-Ride/dp/B00004T2WP

You can pop over on 31st Dec and see if Nat likes it or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Jessie,

Juz finding out if u hv any contacts for any gd research pple who is willing to be a researcher for an executive search firm in China-SH ? Must be able to speak gd English & resourceful to get names/cold calling.

Thks !

@ Febie: thanks for the update! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@ Jessie: I have the playskool walker too n my boy is never keen to walk with it.. he's only interested on the wheels! ;p

Mommies, i have a pair of tickets to Baby Loves Disco Xmas Party @ Zouk this sunday between 2-5pm. Any mommies interested?

My hb is on last min outstation n i cant cope with a baby n all barangs so letting go the tickets at $60 (this is what I paid).

Interested, can drop me a PM. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i finally unpacked and rested enough to post something. :p.

no time to really read through arcives though.

tyl> better dont let ayden eat too much grapes. my hb say it has the highest sugar content among all fruits. maybe tt's y ayden loves it. :p

andie> sorry, cant join u and emma today coz mattias got abit of runny nose frm the trip. even i also abit blocked nose. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

walkers> i have the playskool one too. but the older version. i find it quite stable compared to another fisher price walker.

but i feel the wheels dont provide enough resistance when they are just learning to walk. a short stool or table is better. or laundry baskets as some mummies use. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sharing abt my trip. it's actually a church camp. but i only listen to about 1 hr of the sharing as it coincided with mattias naptime!!!

we stayed at Nongsa point. quite a nice place. but only the chalet has kitchen, normal rooms dont have. :p. we brought some potatoes and sweet potatoes, which i passed to my sis to boil for me. hee. mattias didn't really like jar food. eating less and less as the days go by. but i kept hte nicest ella's kitchen stage 3 for the last 2 meals. so he still ate. some jars which he ate in singapore, he didn't want to eat there. sighz.

he couldn't sleep well at night and the aircon made his runny nose return. sob. so from the 2nd night we on the fan instead. Thank God that this resort has fan. but every night he still woke up a few times.

when we got home, unpack and wash like crazy. :p.

after this experience, hb n i are thinking twice abt gg sydney in feb. :p.

jessietan - Hey ... thanks for sharing. The Little Tikes one might be easier for them to walk with, eh? You gonna get it? Yeah, maybe I should let nat try out the playskool one at your place before I consider the FP one coz' both of them are quite similar in styles. But 31st December a bit too long leh. Kekeke. As it is, she's pushing around her IKEA high chair already. SO I need a solution real quick! Hhahahaha.

lsntyl - Yeap, I read about that too. But it's also good to hear mommy's views in here about walking before making my decision. Hehhee.

xin>welcome back. hee, sometimes, ayden will refuse the grapes too. He doesn't like fruits that are too sweet so he'll reject them. his taste buds v diao lor. but ok lah, most of the time, he'll eat what we serve.

by feb, will you be giving mattias more table food? If so, won't b so bad?

lamb>hee, ok. u strike me as a mom who likes to have all the facts so I thought I'll highlight the walker ban to you. Ayden pushes his ikea high chair too and he even lifted up part of his pram. gave me quite a scare.

horsey>I stay in Bedok

Lamb:

I also lean twds NATURE when it comes to walking. Cuz pushwalkers can actually slow down their ability to walk plus there's also safety issues as the wheels dun provide much resistance. But if u r thinking of using it as a ride-on in the garden, then that would provide Nat with some fun. I think the pushwalker function would come in handy when they can actually walk cuz all kids like to push something. That's my 2 cents' worth[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin:

I see it's not just Aly that absolutely hates jar food.yeah, she had the same problem during the trip too...eating less and less from the jar as the days go by. But surprisingly, she din even lose any weight!!! Dun think so far/too much abt the Sydney trip. By then, after 1yo already, can b more relaxed abt food and hence, prob easier to travel[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For mummies who have successfully weaned their LOs from the bottle to cup for all milk feeds or are in the process of doing so, care to share your PRACTICAL experience on doing so? Thanks in advance[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hey mummies...presenting my little rascal - Jace...hope you all dun mind...hehe

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/4892860.jpg]

callalilly>we haven't started weaning ayden from bottle to cup but he's started drinking water from the cup already. normally ok although he tends to spill a little when he's tired of drinking. sometimes he will also play with the water and blow bubbles instead of drinking properly. :p

bride_09>can see Jace likes his soft toys. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

TYL:

Yeah, same as Aly. She's quite proficient with both the straw cup and sippy cup when it comes to drinking water. Hence, i am thinking that perhaps it's abt time that i wean her off her bottle. I have actually started weaning her to cup for her 2.30pm milk feed but somehow, it's rather messy when it comes to milk. So i am wondering how do mums actually make the transition cuz the books make it sound like it's relatively easy!!!

callalily>ayden doesn't like to use the straw/sippy cup! but then maybe we didn't try hard enough. The nuby bottle kept spilling so we just moved him straight over to the cup for his water. Will intro him milk in a cup when he doesn't spill as much water. :p

Megan

Kawann! Wah, HW can walk already uh! So clever! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My lil A have been taking 1 -2 steps independently but I think she's scared of falling, so she'll quickly get on fours and crawl.

Xin

Welcome back! Hope you & M get well soon. The change of weather probably caused the runny nose. Don't worry lah, in, things might change when you go to Sydney. He'll be 13 mths by then?

Little Lamb

That walker is so cute uh, and when Nat is big, she can use it as a ride on too. Ride ons are useful I think. My #1 has a few ride ons and there was a time he used it to travel around the house on it, hahaha. Like a mode of transportation.

Am sooooo sleepy. Just got back to office from a site visit this morning. Having bubble tea now. Got slight headache too.

*yawns*

lamb > sorry to have mixed up your meaning of walker [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. I have the Playskool walker too, but dare not let Bryan push it around cos there is literally no resistance on tiled floor. I also felt it is not very safe cos there is no back support, but this differs from parents. I will still get a proper ride-on walker (like this one: http://www.amazon.com/Disney-Winnie-Pooh-Ride-Ride/dp/B0002HRWES) for Bryan as his birthday present as he was glued to it when he saw it in Toys R Us.

Callalily > how did you switch from sippy cup to straw cup, as in how did you teach Aly to use the straw? I have been trying to do that for Bryan, but he doesn't seem to understand the concept of straw.

Elynn

My friend gave me a tip - use the yakult straw first. You can also demo to him. Just offer the straw to him periodically everytime it's time for water. he'll get it soon enough.

smalldreams>woo, bubble tea! haven't had that in a while.

we tried the yakult straw! purposely buy the drink just to get the straw but he still doesn't quite like it. Think maybe flow slow? since he prefers to drink from the cup, we let him be for now. easier to handle for us also cos it means I don't have to wash straws. :p