(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Febie

*wave* bz at work?any more china trips?

CY

ya lor, i also think quite xiong to be preggy when baby hasn't turned 1. Dunno leh, i always feel we must enjoy baby as much as possible first before we have another one, unless our age is catching up and we must quickly have another one.

When I preggy with #2 when #1 just turned 2 yrs old, sometimes I feel a bit sad, like I'll miss the time spent with #1. But thinking back now, I guess the gap is not so bad, tho perhaps might be better if the gap a bit bigger, say 3 yrs.

Wendy

Woah u mean Lucas is that big? XL is very big leh. I think L shud be OK. Ooohhh I saw you posted on FB abt Lucas munching the donut. HAHAHA! So funny. With peanut some more! But he strong boi...hahaha... maybe a plain donut not so bad lah :p

Mindy

Eh you really slimmed down a lot! Power mannn!

Febie? 2nd one.. i think my hubby will go crazy..

Hahah he just mentioned yesterday.. by going through all contraceptive prevention and still got pregnant.. he will go "tie it Up" immediately..

I think with one is enough for time being till we get our new flat in 2013.. if not the next baby will have no place to sleep..

I missed out alot of archives..

about the zoo.. who can help to buy tickets?

Can my hubby join me too? as m not sure if i cant handle Isaiah alone.. Pushing the pram in zoo is not easy.. alot of steep slopes.. hahah

The t-shirt printings.. m having a hard time to decide which design to chooss.. but guess i must decide and submit soon..

Can customize my own wordings right?

smalldreams.. hahah actually m slimmer than my pre-prenancy weight liao..

was 65kg before pregnant.. n after popping Isaiah i was 72kg and now m 60kg.. But the tummy huh.. still very loose n flabby.. but lazy to do sit up.. Dont know what to do with it leh.. sianz

smalldreams> Peanut & choco & i dunno wad ingredients is in e donut !! Haix! Hope he'll be fine !! My hubby was still joking with mi it was mi who place e box there, if it was him, i would have scolded him upside down!

Lucas is a big boi! But i have yet weigh him recently .. I guess he's ard 10kg?

mindy> Tt's gd tt u have slim down alot !! I have gain a few kgs after staying @ my mum's place .. Eat, play & zZz nia.. Did do much market-g, hsechores blah blah ..

But i think alot of mummy here also very slim lor.. like Pauline.. also very slim lor. I still look like giant by standing beside her.. haha

Yah.. barnyard party..

any mummies who are having barnyard party theme after the 8th Jan?

Isaiah's party on the 8th Jan and we have alot of barnyard theme decor and also balloons..

Hubby also will do balloon arch on that day..

We hope to let go all party stuffs after the party.. Any mummies dont mind 2nd hand and interested.. Let me know in advance k! i will show you what we have prepared..

Mindy > I'm interested !! But not sure wad do u have .. As i have bought abit here & there also :> Lucas's party on 22 jan :>

Wendy.. Okay Okay.. We bought 2 barnyard centerpiece from Partycity.. n we have alot of farm animal cutouts.. Once the masterpiece is out.. i will take picture and show you. hehe

I went to artfriend at bras basah to buy the "grass patch" bloody hell so expensive.. $33 for a small piece.. n my hubby scolded me. haha

i wanted grass patch to be placed on my cupcake trays..

But m unable to find any cow prints papers in the damn whole building.. popular also dont have..

any mummies have any idea where can i find moomoo prints paper in Singapore?? i wanted to personalized make gift bags..

@ Wendy: Your Baby Lucas is very cute! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] His actual birthday is on 22nd Jan? Haha.. 1 day senior.. Mine is 23rd Jan n just nice for his next year bday bash. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, any mommies going for the 'Baby Loves Disco - Xmas Party' this Sunday at Zouk? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mindy> No pro .. I didn't buy any centerpiece .. Just bought banners & cutouts, napkins, plates, cups, table covers, hairchair kit nia ..

Hello! Finally got a bit of time to pop in a bit.

WAH! Lucas sure looks very happy man! He got sugar rush or not?

Yah.. like a lot of adverts these days eh. Please keep them short. Thanks.

The teeshirt got size ah? I must go see later.

Now busy preparing for Tokyo trip, quite looking forward to it. Hope it is not those cold rainy places.

wah mindy

I'm looking forward to see photos from yr party!

U're so meticulous!

Horsey

Geee, partying starts early hor...! lol....

Jessie

Enjoy planning for yr trip!

Horsey: Wah! If I am in SG, I sure go, I am a hardcore Zoukette keke!

smalldream : Thanks but I know sure tiring lah. Thank God my friends all very lay back one so I know won't be like those very rush trips. For the first time, I actually give all the itineries to my friend to sort out and plan. I normally take control of all these trips but this time, good to just go and be told what to do and where to go!

Now I am worried about the shuttle bus from airport thingy, those who went, how you get from airport to downtown Tokyo eh ?

Horsey> Ya Lucas's bday on 22 Jan :>

Jessie> Ya i woke up my mum & told her Lucas sure will be a damn happy boi today !! All thanx to mi for being a stupid mum placing e whole box tt low .. Sure have sugar rush from e chocolate !! I restrict him from eating all those forbidden food & whenever my mum ask mi whether can Lucas eat this & tt.. I will shout back 1 word 'NO' !! & now it was mi who let Lucas eat all these food .. Arghhh!!

Outing to the Zoo on 23 Dec 2010

Time : tba

23 Dec 2010 - Meet 1000hrs Outside Zoo entrance (Near the elephants)

1 - Cy

2 - Sherry

3 - fatbabe

4 - luvbabe

5 - yuki

6 - Afann

7 - Summermama

8 - mindy

9 - tyl

10 - Xin

11 - Vinwee - paid

Mummies the rate i get from Zoo & Birdpark as below.

S$17 adults & $8.50 for child

Pm me if you wan to buy & collection @ the zoo on 23 Dec or my office @ Clarke Quay !! Sorry not able to do postage.

CY> I guess maybe i can join on 23dec .. When is e last day to re-confirm with u? But must we visit e birdpark on tt day also or we go use tix another day? :>

Wendy, Let me know by 22Dec Noon as need to purchase ticket from company.

Paisey didnt post clearly - Its only for Zoo adm with tram ride only or Birdpark adm w panorail ride..

CY> Oh ok .. Will let u know by 22 dec noon then :> Thanx! :>

So if we can get e birdpark tix also, can go another day? :>

Hallo mommies ...

Been a while since I posted. Did lurk in a few times but mostly posts about zoo and teeShirts, can't chip in much and of course a lot of ads recently. Thought it isn't allowed? Hrrrrmmmmmpppppphhhh! Anyway, had a rather rough week last week, I finally succumbed to the weather and came down with a cold. Thank goodness DH was around otherwise with Nat at her stage now, I'd surely peng san and had a good rest in bed for about 2 days.

Nat and I had been going out quite a bit lately and meeting up with my friends and her friends. Then the other day ... Nat went to a birthday party where Jessie and Arwen went too and oh man, she was screaming a lot during the party! I dunno what is it with her and screaming recently. It's as if she discovered her voice box. When she's excited, she'll just scream! I hope Arwen wasn't traumatized by Nat!

Anyway, wanted to bring about a topic about walking. I have been talking to some mommy friends and have been wondering .... for walking, Nature OR Nurture? A mommy friend shared with me that I should get a walker or a ride-on for Nat so that it'll encourage her to walk. Coz' from just cruising around, she may not be inclined to walk if there's nothing to lure her. Yet another mommy friend had differing opinion. She feels strongly that Nat will walk in her own time when she's ready.

Would love to hear the mommy's thoughts over here on this. Anyone's LOs have started walking already?

wendy > Lucas is so power! Smart! Knows what is yummy food!

Mindy > Why don't you google for the pix? I saw some quite cute ones online. You can print 1 copy, then blow it to your desired size and wah-la... you get your pix. Maybe print them in black and white for your bags, then bring some markers and crayons to the party and guests (esp the kids) can keep themselves entertain through the coloring session.... Just a suggestion...

Bigfoot.. yah this is what my hubby was saying too.. but i tot it will be easier to buy off the shelve..

or cow prints cloth also cannot find.. haiz

yl, it's the thought that counts. ;) I got to prompt my hubby if I want to try any new restaurants cos he is a creature of habit. He doesn't mind eating the same thing again n again. Easy for me. Hee.

cat c got personalised text, must have missed it, got to go see again then.

zoo excursion? I am keen too, cos both gals are free cos below 3 years old, what is the usual price for adult tic?

mindy, I think u look very tall n slim n glamourous. Your hubby n u make a really good looking couple. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hey mommies...

Good to see some of you here today. Been busy clearing work so that I can't head off to my vacation w/o having to worry about work.

Wendy> Hope that Lucas will not start rejecting his usual food after finally tasting some 'real' food. He sure looks like a big boy.

smalldreams> how are the kiddos doing? let me know if you can join the playdate at xin's place. hope i can make it cause' Yongxian's nap time is getting rather erratic lately.

lamb> glad that you had a good rest. i am afraid of falling sick especially now with Yongxian. i take the flu jab yearly.

actually i am more towards nature. we did not get a walker for Yongxian and he was happy to just cruise around. i strongly believe to let him learn and develop at his own pace. he started walking 2 weeks ago, but would still get down to crawl whenever he wants to get somewhere fast. having said that, i would still want to nurture a reading habit in him as i think that good habits come from nurturing and not by nature. i think some areas need to be nurtured whereas some will develop naturally. am i confusing you here?

re sharing recipes>

i would like to share a Banana scone recipe with mommies here. i found it in Amanda Grant's book, but I left it in the oven for too long so it became rather hard.

450g self-raising flour

pinch of ground cinnamon

60g unsalted butter

1 very ripe medium banana, roughly mashed

284ml buttermilk (i replaced this with greek yogurt)

4-6tbsp full-fat milk

1. preheat oven to 180deg

2. sieve flour and cinnamon into a bown, rub in butter until mixture resembles breadcrumbs. stir in banana and buttermilk

3. add enough milk to make a soft sticky dough. drop little spoonfuls onto a greased baking sheet

4. bake for 14-16 minutes, until golden and cooked. leave to cool.

i halved the ingredients and managed to make a dozen of scones appx the size of xiao long pao.

Hello, I have no courage for no 2 lor...

think most likely one only...

Swim buddy, i also hope to be there on 23rd but cannot leh... sob sob....

Wendy, I saw your post but could not stop laughing... First of all, Lucas is really smart lor... he can pick up the food nicely without messing the rest... and he still smiling happily.

dun be guilty, just monitor him ok?

Small dream,

no more trips lah. just went there to attend the fair.

horsey>updated for you already. hope no more changes le hor. I'm also busy at work so can't keep going in to change. :p

wendy>Lucas looks so happy. :p

jessie>enjoy your japan trip! I taken both train and Narita Express as transfer between Narita and Tokyo. Narita Express is faster and more comfortable. But more expensive. :p There's a Narita Exrpress + suica card package that's quite value for $ though. maybe you want to consider it. http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/suica-nex/

lamb>I'll leave it to Ayden to decide when he wants to walk. He's already started cruising and climbing up and down the beds/tables/chairs, etc. Cannot leave him alone de.

Wendy> yeah can as expiry min 6months but got to let me know as need to purchase & pass to u during meetups!!

Lamb> C.Yang Renee is walking very steady!!Saw on FB :p

febie>ya, I couldn't stop laughing when I saw how pleased Lucas looked. :p v clever of him to know where to get the good food. Ayden will just wait to b fed. :p

wish u can join the outing on 23. I miss Shayne leh. He looks so cute and huggable... I can't take leave on 22. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@ LSnTYL: ya ya confirmed liao.. very sorry hor.. ;P

So mommies, most of your babies are already cruising but not yet walking? Hmm.. wonder when.. mine

Does all mommies here plan to stop at 1? I would love to have no 2 but without much family support, wonder am i insane to even think abt it..

Oh, just wondering what fruits have you all explore with the babies?

I had only tried apples, bananas, papaya, pears n only yesterday apricot.

Any other fruits to recommend?

Cy, I wanna bring Sharlyn to the zoo aft xmas but haben cfm my leave with my boss.. Is the $17 applicable for weekend as well??

cocomama & lsntyl - Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Nat has been cruising for a while already but not showing signs of wanting to walk, despite us holding her hands and guiding her. I tried her on a ride-on the other day, she wasn't even keen to be on it. My guess is that she's not ready for walking. And I am actually more inclined to just leave it to her to decide when she's ready. However, based on past experience, she's the sort who needs to be exposed before she'll take to things. So really ... I dunno either.

cy - I am not surprised about Renee, she has always been really fast in a lot of aspects. :D In fact I'm guessing Ayden09 or Aifah should be walking also by now.

horsey,

I have tried papaya, banana, apple, pear, prune, grape, orange, chiku, pretty much what we eat. Usually we puree or smash the fruit with fork and add to her morning oat cereal. For 3pm snack, we slice the fruits for her to hold and feed herself.

I am easy when it comes to food, as in I will let her 'taste' chwee kway, fried carrot cake, roti prata, chicken rice, plain biscuits, bread etc. But her proper meal is still mainly no added salt or sugar.

I don't really buy baby cereal or biscuits, she eats the normal adult instant oat cereal we eat since day 1. I reckon some baby food/biscuits is rather sweet and salty with additives, but with commercialisation, it can be as good as they want to make it out to be.

Melody, can use anyday... ur office near clarke quay too right?

Let me know so i pass to u this sat :p

Pauline> Zoo walk in rates as below;-

Adult S$20.00

Child (3 to 12 years old) S$13.00

Ok got to get back to work liao... busy busy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

lsntyl> what a pity! i was looking forward to meeting the regular moms and babes on 22nd.

lamb> don't worry much about it. they develop and change rather quickly. once they get interested in something, they pick up very fast. for now, enjoy the hands holding.

Horsey.. Isaiah is crazy about bananas recently..

If he sees a banana and we don't give it to him.. he will shout and cry. he can finish one banana by himself with just 2 little teeth at the bottom..

The rest of the fruits.. he will eat it like poison.. n puke away.

Pauline.. you are too kind to say that.. hahaha

but really make my day.. kekek "blush"

About walking..

Isaiah also cannot walk yet but he is trying very hard to stand up on his own without any support..

But normally i will lend him 2 fingers n push his butt up.. but normally he will just fall back again.. My mom put him in the walker very often.. especially when she needs to cook n when she feeling lazy..

Actually recently.. there are alot of problems i faced with my mom who is the main care-taker during the day.. Can u guys imagine that Isaiah can choked on a Pork Bone with sharp corners.. n trying so hard to breath n cough out the bone till his eyes are filled with tears n the face turned red!! The stupid maid cook the bone together with the porridge and nvr take out the bone when she is done with the cooking..

so my mom assume that that she took out the Big one.. but who knows that there are smaller ones hidden inside..

This is not the first time that happened.. it was the 3rd time.. First is fish bone.. 2nd is Ginger.. and i wanted to say her n told her that this is damn seriously can caused death.. then she was saying is okay.. i know i know is over liao dont say me anymore m upset too.. she thank God saying that isaiah is a lucky boy he will be fine.. But m pissed.. He can be lucky once n twice n even 3rd time.. but will he be as lucky the next time??

Haiz.. my sister also never say the maid..

m telling my hubby.. m really clueless of what should i do.. even my own mother also can be so careless and with bad attitude in terms of preparing baby food.. What can i do to prevent this from happening?

get another maid to help them? Will it help?

or send to childcare center?

or quit my job n take care myself? abit tough..

Or my hubby quit his job n be SAH-Daddy.. coz he can bring in freelance income.. n get a maid to help me? also expensive..

sianz..

mindy, speak to your sis first?

get your sis to speak to the maid?

if she change, u can buy her a xmas present...

as a form of thank you and encouragement.

I also quarrelled with my mum a few times concerning the food she gives. but she understand what i'm facing. now is my auntie, she always give Shayne sweets to lick lor...

given him bread with sugar... tell her many times liao, still like that... when i say her, she said i ill-treat the child... i was really speechless lor.. she loves my son but if anything happens, i'm the one taking care, not them lor... i also super sian...

mindy> so sorry to hear about Isaiah's choking incident. you are right. choking is a very serious issue. all it takes is 4 minutes for someone to choke to death. i attended an infant CPR course sometime last year and a coursemate there related that one of her relatives' grandchild choked on a small cube of apple that the child's mother fed her. they didn't know what to do then, panicked, the child turned blue and then she was gone. she was 18 months and they were so traumatised that their younger child was still being fed pureed food at 2 years old.

perhaps you can prepare Isaiah's food yourself? at least, you can be sure that they are free of bones and any potential choking hazard. and get them to learn about what to do if he does choke. we just have to be prepared for such incidents.

febie> i can understand your frustration. i think you deserve more respect as the parent of the child. they need to understand that it is your child that you are talking about. too much 'help' also make life difficult yeah..

Mindy

Oh dear, that sounded very serious, thank God Isaiah is fine. Would it help if you were the one who cooked the porridge every morning, and

get yr mom/ helper to feed it to him?

Febie

I agree with you... whatever happens, it's us who have to take care of the baby. My MIL fed A kuih lapis last weekend ok! I know I'm definitely more relaxed when it comes to food, but kuih lapis?! That's damn sweet lah. But I close one eye since I was quite far from them & there were people sitting between us. But at home, I told HB, don't even think of feeding her that. And HB would say, "See, not me uh, it's your mommy who doesn't let you eat this blah blah".

Cocomama

That's a very sad story [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Little Lamb

Go easy on the walking part. Nat's not even 12 months yet...enjoy her crawling and babyhood first k? once they start to walk, it can be hard to catch them, heheh.

Renee started walking already? Wow! How come I missed it in FB? Sometimes logging on thru iphone can really make me miss some posts.

A is still not walking lah. There were some times she took 1-2 steps probably by accident, then she gets down on fours to crawl. Probably faster to crawl :p

smalldreams> yeah.. very sad indeed. Yongxian also prefers to crawl when he wants to get somewhere fast. my MIL said that he walks like a drunkard.

febie.. i was real pissed n do not even want to go up to the house to see my mum n the maid for almost 3days.. I do not want to go up coz i know when i see my mom i will definitely say her one.. n my sister asked me not to bring up this matter anymore.. if not anything happened again when we are not around.. she will not tell us after that.. But m like WTF?!?!

my son almost choked to death and i cannot say anything about it.. n my hubby say m over reacting?? huh? so i told him .. u go send n fetch isaiah back from there.. i do not want to see her till i m cool down..

I told my sister to warn the maid seriously..

is her responsibility to prepare food for baby.

Be it is grandma fault or the maid's fault.. if this kinda thing happened again.. She will go back immediately. But my sister kept quiet n did not reply me.. so i doubt she said anything..

Cocomama & Smalldreams..

i thought of preparing the food myself too.

But every morning.. means i need to wake up at 5am and prepare 2 meals? Lunch n Dinner? or one type he eat 2x?

i m going to prepare stock and freeze it into cubes and pass it to them.. so they can use the stock to cook porridge.. yah the babies eat porridge with sweet potatoes everyday.. Yes Every meal and everyday.. with other veges lar..

but sweet potatoes is standard in every meal.

i told them off a few times.. but every time i see also got sweet potatoes..

where can i buy those BPA freeze box off the shelve?

mummies.. actually i was told by my ex boss's wife..

she was saying is okay if babies don't walk.. means they will have good life next time... the later they walk the better it will be.. means they start their "hardwork life" later.. hehe

cocomama,

I think Nat is not ready yet. She's not even keen on holding hands to walk. So I'm leaving her be. It's just that there's always this small voice at the back of my head wondering if I let her be, will she eventually learn to walk? Common sense is she will but only a matter of time. I took about 18 months to really walk and my mom was worried for the longest time.

And mainly because I was being plonked in the playpen and walker most of the time. So I wonder if i dun expose nat enough, will she learn to walk. Your coursemate's story was really scary! These days, Nat can eat chopped food already (ie. No need to mash) just that sometimes, the bigger chunks, I'll just cut them up. But I'm also scared sometimes about her choking. Just cannot take it for granted coz' they still tend to get distracted when eating and can sometimes forget to chew before they swallow.

mindy,

That is really some scary business over there. Even for my dog, I was always very careful never to give him bones because they can really cut the throat with the sharp ends. I think even if it means being firm with your mom or the maid, you just have to do it. Remember ... at the end of the day, if anything happens to Isaiah, nobody will say oh, it was the maid or your mom who was careless. Because Isaiah is your responsibility and the responsibility falls upon you to enforce things. I know it sounds harsh but sometimes, if you need to put your point across, you just need to.

Like for Nat, I always make sure my helper is on high alert for cleanliness etc. For us as adults, we can close one eye but I'll never let my helper relax when it comes to matters relating to Nat, simply because they're still so small and are still dependent on us.

febie - I can totally understand your predicament even though I have not been through it yet coz' being all the way here, Nat is 'protected' from all the 三姑六婆s. I think when it actually happens, I won't be able to say much also but I'll make sure DH is the one who enforces it if it's his side of the family. I think sometimes, when we dun take care of the child on our own, we tend to have to accept the fact that others will have their own style of raising our kids. To them, as long as I never feed the child poison, I am not harming them.

smalldreams - Ha! For some reason, I knew you'd ask me to take it easy. You're the 'take things easy' mom. I'm not stressed lah, just that I would love to hear thoughts from different moms about their LOs walking, whether they buy 'gadgets' to assist their LOs or they simply let them walk at their own pace.