(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

invisible grilles> they collect quite alot of dust according to my hb... coz he used something similar in his work place... the only way to clean is to hose down...

ET> oh dear, u tried calling? they're an old couple. not so it savvy i guess... but service really good... came back a few times... (but does it mean the quality not good? :p)

we v silly, went to do casement for kitchen too... now so hard to hang out clothes... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]...

pretend play> i must have a girl so tt can play cooking with her... but boy also can hor...

febie> when have play date shayne will have many friends to play with him... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pauline> oic, think my doc gave a commercial mixture tt said store below 25deg... so i kept in fridge... but hb say actually dont need...

u get well soon too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sherry> tt day i saw shernice's dress v nice leh... just add fairy wings lor... next time sure got oth chance to wear... all the best for the contest. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

haha.. so forum is up again!

Gd morning mommies.. thank God it's friday!

enchanted baby contest: no one call me yday. So either my boy not cute enough, or I'm penalised coz the registration is incomplete - I din send birth cert - scanner somehow just refuse to work. But even if they call me, my boy also doesn't have the right clothes to match the theme!

Xin: how is it that the invisible grilles will collect more dust? Fr what I can see, it's straight and vertical, so I thought this will trap less dust than conventional grilles? But Sherry has a point, since it can't be opened, cleaning windows may be difficult.

ET : thks, already rec'd yr email & had emailed them the details to register.

Re : LNT trial class @ Toa Payoh branch

If anymore mummies keen to join us on 30 Oct, 6 Nov & 13 Nov, Sat at 2-3pm @ Toa Payoh branch, do PM me yr details (Mummy name, Child name, Child date of birth & contacts) to register.

cheerieheart:

The room divider i was mentioning is from Lindam. It can double up as a playpen as well. Not sure how useful it may actually be and also if it will actually serves its purpose as a room divider. Just something to consider...which i need to do more research on. It costs $199. Maybe other mummies who have used this can provide some feedback[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Xin:

Thanks for the info on the invisible grills. Since they have the potential to collect a lot of dust, then definitely worth reconsidering installing them. I may just do w/othe window grills, watch my gal like a hawk and teach her not to climb windows.

Hiya mummies

Was out on a whole day of course yesterday. Now, no mood to face paperwork :S

Wah, so many mommies unwell. Hope they'll be well soon. If not, at least there's the weekend to nurse yrself back to health (then again, i know no one likes to be sick during the weekend).

Talking abt medication, I think the docs in s'pore really love prescribing meds uh? maybe it's coz the parents also want meds for fast relief since paying so much. My friend who's in the US said, docs there don't prescribe medicine for kids below 2 yrs of age. More for natural healing altho it may take weeks. Let the body heal itself. I thought tat was really cool.

When I told the doc that A had some runny stools, he prescribed me antibiotics. But I noticed A didn't pass motion even once after we got home, so i didn't even mix the antibiotics. I mean, why overmedicate her? Plus, once we start on 1 dose of antibiotics, we have to complete the whole course. I don't like that [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sherry

Friday *IS* the weekend. Who has mood to work?! hahahah...

smalldreams> hahaha yeah.. simply no mood...

Abt medication, yeah i agree.. if possible, it will be good that it heal naturally cause body would have build up natural antibodies to fight the virus but then again, mummy heart ache la.. hahha

good morning all...

yes the forum was down last nite...

Sherry, Poofy,

yes i also no mood...

looking fwd to afternoon... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Febie

What's happening in the afternoon? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sherry

ya lor, we heartache coz nose dripping, but actually it's good for them. I also try to minimise medication. Think esp if they're full TBF, we shud have more confidence too...

smalldreams:

I agree with u totally on the medication bit in S'pore. Unfortunately, it's very difficult to tell parents dun need nedication & just let the illness run its course and let the body heal naturally. Imagine paying gd money just for the doctor to tell u that. It's a mindset that parents/patients have that they must have medication since they have paid money though many a times,i suspectt the medicine ends up not being taken cuz of belief that too much medicine is not gd. Quite ironic right?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning mummies... TGIF!

smalldreams, SP> Agree with you...I usually will not give my boys any meds unnecessarily, especially antibiotics...Will try to let their body heal on their own, otherwise, I will opt for TCM. Somehow, the ang moh meds will cause weakness to the body but TCM ones will not only heal but also boost appetite and energy.... Have tried it on Luis already.

meeting up some of the committee for the bash... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shayne also having a lil runny nose but not that bad... no medication... and usually i tried not to give medication too... even for myself...

Febie

Whoa...serious business leh...got committee some more...ahhaha have fun, gals!

Sherry, Yuki

Gosh those masak2 toys are super cute!

Too bad our babies are still so small. tempted to get for my 3 yo boy tho. I mean, these days, men shud also cook for family and they shud start early when they are preschoolers!

SP, Luvbabe

Hahah, what to do, humans are complicated creatuers. But great to know you gals are also pro-natural healing ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Previously I also wanted med that worked instantly but I think reading on others' perspective really helps. in the long run, little medication is still the best.

smalldreams:

Actually i am not all that pro-natural healing. I believe in symptomatic treatment as well. If it means the medication will provide relief esp in the intial stages rather than letting the illness progress & needing stronger medication subsequently, i will not hesistate to take it or give my gal. Sometimes, got to weigh the risks vs benefits[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

very angry with my pc, dunno y I have to keep restarting, ald type so much!

cheerieheart, I almost can't make it, cos my pc nt cooperative ytd, scan like dunno hw many times....nt ur boy nt cute la, its cos u nvr give them BC. I still dunno hw to dress him,wanna let him jus wear diaper n wings, mum said very cold cannot...arghh

Re: medication for babies

My parents r someone who tinks see doc must got med n bb sick better nt drag n let them heal themselves after wat happen tat time we all abit scared

Poofy, yes...

we wanna do it properly, safely and fun for everyone, thus really thanks the mummies here for being so helpful and nice...

u sure u not joining? we are seriously expecting u, Adam, Aifah and your hubby... come give it a thot ok?

hi Mummies,

one of my ex-colleagues is tryin to sell off her Enfapro... She stays in CCK...

here's the price:

900gm - $35 (stock on hand: 2 tins)

400gm - $ 14.50 (stock on hand: 4 tins)

if u are interested, pls call Florence at 9023 7774

pls dun pm me ok?

I'm only helping her to post...

ok gtg...

bye...

have a great weekend everyone... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Tam L, Thanks for the news on the recall.. I have one of the products. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Have emailed them asd ask them if they are replacing for us in Spore as well...

Anyway, Happy CHILDREN'S DAY to all!!!! TGIF -- i just wanna countdown till knock off and play with my bb... hehe

apple_gal, dun worry abt ur bb's wt.. My girl @ 9mths only weighs 6.9kg.. she's happy & drinking well (thou little) so im not really bothered abt it..

Hi Jan mommies....happy children day to all your darlings! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Im a Feb mommy but on and off il just pop by in here and read up. I read that some mommies here are well travelled and i do really need tips for my dotter's first time travelling outta Sg.. In Nov, my hubby and I with our baby are planning on a two week vacation in LA...which is I think a darn bold move of me, i guess... A 15 hours whole lot of hours...

Any tips on the following for me?

1) Baby sleep pattern - LA is 15 hours behind Sg...(eg. from singapore depart 0945hrs, we'll reach LAX at 1215hrs same day, LA local time. In between 15 hours. How do i adjust her timing? i dont know!

2) What are the essentials to bring on a long distance flight and how do i entertain her for such a long period of time without her getting cranky and disturb other passengers? Any good toys to recommend?

3) Do i need to bring a travel playpen to place her in for when she sleep? i somehow think playpen are rather heavy to bring on board.

4) Can i bring on board water in flask and bottle for feeding her? Or do i have to request? Cos i rather bring my own from home....

5)how do i change her on board?

Ive so many questions...can anyone help and advice this inexperienced mommy? Thank you so much!

Febie, Firipy

it's ok lah, thanks gals, you gals have fun planning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melody, Apple_gal

My girl is also the lightweight sort. I weighed her last week - at 9 mths, she's only 7.2 kg! She's also generally happy and able to crawl, cruise etc, so I shall not worry much abt her weight. Both my kids never the chubby wubby sort (tho their parents are like balloons).

BLue_Y

wow, LA! So fun! Shopping would be wonderful there. Envy!

firipy: guess organiser very strict with rules. But i did ask them is it ok din send BC, at least they should reply and let me know the situation. But hee.. save me the trouble of hunting around for costumes! Hope your boy boy enjoy himself and hope you all win something!

callalily: Where did you see the Lindam room divider from?

Guess it depends on babies, some don't like to be confined to a small area and prefer to roam the house. I think my boy might belong to the latter category :p

Blue_y, i m so envious, nvr been to states before! Can pack me in ur suitcase but i tink ur suitcase gonna b ultra overload with me, haha!

Cheerieheart , i cant find anything for boys.... So i m gonna just bring him in his moomoo or tigger romper. If they dowan him then nvm its jus nearby.

Sherry, i saw at toysrus, wanna call u but realise dun have ur number somemore got tinkerbell dress , see ya tmr.

Hi mommies, long time no post Liao...

Regarding traveling: will be bringing Esther to Genting with us in another 2 weeks time... Still debating whether to bring Singapore water to boil or to use malaysia''s water.. Only next yr march then going Hk/macau. By then she's one yr old already. Might be easier with food.

Firipy, Esther is also participating in the contest tomorrow but reporting at 4:30pm. Hope to see u n ayden..

jessie>I finally collected my loots from xin. Love them, especially the softplay books and the carters/first moment rompers. thanks!

xin>thanks for letting me tompang with you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheerieheart>the blue singlet still too big for ayden to wear wor. lucky I got some carters/first moments rompers. like the quality and look v much. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babies entering bb contest 2moro>good luck! I hope all the top bbs are jan babies. :p

Hello...

Hope mummies n babies get well soon!!

Jus on my way home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] super busy at work!!!

Mummies @ compasspoint - Will come support u all after work with leticia n hb tomorrow. see ya !!

smalldreams,I almost wanna let him go naked n jus wear angel wings lei with diapers, but mum say no wait catch cold....I m going to let him be the lost boys fr peter pan.They wore animal suits too...

wei, pretty Esther is going there too? I was tinking go at 4 abit early lei, I scared bb turned cranky. U stay ard our area too?

thanks CY n tyl! Cya tmr CY

Melody, apple_gal, my gal now at 8mth+ oso below 7kg. trying my best to pump her bt most importantly she is healthy n happy.

Btw any one have give their lo colostrum power or any supplements?

Sherry, firipy, remember to take pics for ur lo n post here ya. Can't go n support ur coz need to pick hb frm airport.

Leticia weight also less than 7.5kg nia. My sis call her fake bui bui !! Hehee...

Sk mummies, anyone hav empty milk tin above 700g ?? I wan get friso promo cos realize last day on 6oct !!

Firipy, nope we don't stay nearby.. Staying in yishun. A friend told me abt the contest she saw in the papers n asked me to participate.. Also headache abt wat to wear. but I was told by the lady who called me that the judges will not judge on attire.. No compulsory to wear enchanted theme..

Cy, must the empty tin be friso also?

hope all your LOs had fun on their first children's day... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...

cheerieheart> think as long as got surface will collect dust ba... the invisible grilles actually has a lot more surface to colelct dust than normal ones... think to clean windows can only poke hand out from between the lines right?

SP> u v brave leh... think v hard to watch every second leh... now i see mattias getting more and more active... so scary...

smalldreams> ur doc didn't even do stool test then give antibiotics ar... :p...

tyl> u're welcome... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wei, the empty tins must b non friso. I nvr read papers de so..... Haha! If nt for the forum i wont know. My boy can meet more gals tmr, hee

Cy, if u wan I can pass to u. I have abt 5 empty 900g Enfalac tins.. Let me know how can I pass to u.

Firipy, cya tomorrow.. Hopefully will not be overcrowded w babies...

Smalldreams - hehe..i do hope so it will be fun..cos i guess wont be easy with an infant in arm and so much to do and see...will try my best and will relate my experience after i come back..hehe

Firipy - i can pack u in suit case..but you must bear with the space constraint..hehe..confirm kena bring many bags..think baby stuffs already one bag liow...

Xin:

u r very right! Aly is also getting more and more active by the day. She attempting to climb all over the place now. I am not brave at all...that's why i end up watching her like a hawk! If i have to leave her alone to go abt some chores, i will just leave her in the playpen for a while (cuz she will only willingly stay in there for a while only). The playpen is probably also only a temporary solution cuz come toddlerhood, she will prob climb out of it or worse topple out of it. Will prob see wat happens b4 i decide on the grills again. My niece & nephew have survived my place so i may escape w/o having to install them. Also we may wanna shift house...which is in the pipeline as well...just waiting for property prices to drop again or b more stabilized.

cheerieheart:

Err...actually Aly is also very playful and doesnt like being confined. These days, she all over the place...reaching for everything in sight and then throwing them onto the floor. And i have been busy picking up after her cuz i cant stand mess or the house looking like a warzone. The Lindam room divider can b found in Kiddy Palace (for sure) and maybe Robinsons. Maybe just something to think abt...not exactly sure abt the usefulness or feasibility too.

wei,

My MIL abit kaisu, for babies they bring Sg water no matter how far the country is, cruise, HK, taiwan etc...lolx

In fact, I think 1 year old more difficult to bring out for tour, limited choices of food for them. And gotta suit their timing coz that's the age they start to learn to fuss and throw tantrum.

How is everyone doing? Been hell busy with work, clearing the shit someone left behind. Damm sian. Hope everyone have a great weekend.

Torres lower tooth just popped on Children's Day.