(2008/09) Sep 2008

Breadmum:
Don't worry, my ger just learn how to crawl 2 days ago. Even she crawl, she will just crawl a few steps, then she will sit there, waiting for me to carry her.

breadmum- my same lo .mine something have to place the gerber star in front of him then he willmove forward a bit.he is really taking his own sweet time to learn

Millie, Bigtoes, not too good to use alcohol on baby's head cos they are stillr ather fragile and I heard from my mom that these concentrated alcohol will be too "la" for the baby.

babies not interested in crawling etc
maybe they just prefer to observe and explore with their other senses for now. who knows, they could be the really cool babes and dudes, not the kancheong and always in a hurry ones! ;)

jasmine- i like the bibs where u get it from.. so cute..

baby K like know the ceiling fan, and light. heard from my parent that opps block those corridor door have light mine block havent on yet. he seem like want to cry so funny.. now he sit in the walker love to dash here and there when we act like want to catch him. but he always want to put his touch the fan even though we put the fan net on it.

Crawling
<font color="808080">My boy can't crawl on fours too! Still dragging away. He is more interested in walking...</font>

Discovered my boy's 'talents'
<font color="808080">1. Can dance to fast music (I did not teach him @ all!)
2. Can says "Ba ba, Ma ma, Mum mum, Pa pa (scared)" - However I don't think he know the real meaning. BUT he knows what's a bird. He says "Bird bird" when he saw one today! Video on FB =)

And he says "Apar" when we say Apple lol</font>

dmbb, breadmum, goldfish
heee... well i have two kids so maybe i can share something. info: this is just hte beginning :p... first it's when our bbs will learn to crawl, sleep through the night, walk, then when are they going to talk, to reason then when .... etc...the race is just heating up :S

really as parents you will and must worry, even now i worry that ch isnt babbling as much . maybe she has hearing loss?maybe infection?maybe maybe...

it's difficult to 'not compare'. it's easy to assure you when my child is ahead. but as parents, you will worry.

the only thing i can share is that kiddoes i know who are late developers in motor skills are often very advanced in speech and neuro development at a later stage, around 2 years onwards. just be very positive towards your child and continue reading to them. you'll be surprise one day. of course if you really suspect there's something wrong with your child, no harm bringing them to see specialist. usually can spot at around 18mths.

Hi mummies/koras, I've gotten a reply from the friend of the parents of baby Kai Xin (the baby who needs help for a liver transplant). Fyi...for mummies who wish to help.
Sent: Thursday, June 25, 2009 11:18
To: xxx
Subject: Re: Email address

Hi xxx,

We thank you so much and sorry for causing so much trouble. We appreciate all your effort to help Kai Xin.

Yes, I'm one of the friends who is helping out here but rest assure you that Eric and Huey Jing are aware of all these as they also have access to the mail. They do read when they have the time and we usually liase with them if there are any mails that needed their attention.

On Sin Chew side, you can write a cheque and mail to them but it might take them like a week or two to clear the cheque and the amount after clearing will be after deducting the foreign cheque clearance fees together with the exchange rate of the day.

There are Maybanks in Spore which you can contact them at 1800-MAYBANK (1800-629 2265) to see if they could help you to bank the money into the Msian account. You can locate their branches here http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/corporate_info/locate_us/index.htm

xxx, we really really appreciate for all the inconveniences you're going thru and a million thank yous to you and your group of mummies in Spore. Please convery our thanks to them.

Will keep all of you updated in the blog when Kai Xin will be down in Spore for the transplant.

May you all be well and happy.

Rgds,
Pick Shan on behalf of The Lokes
On Thu, Jun 25, 2009 at 7:14 AM, xxx wrote:

Dear Eric/Huey Jing (or friends of the Lokes who are helping them on the admin stuff),

Hope you are well. We heard about baby Kaixin’s condition and really wish to extend our little help from Singapore as well. We are a group of mummies from the Singapore motherhood forum and we’ve tried to contact Sin Chew Newspaper to offer our help from Singapore, but we have not gotten any reply from Sin Chew. I don’t know what you can do at your end, but just to let you know we are currently pending for Sin Chew to reply, if they did not reply, we are also not sure what can we do next since they are the coordinator of this fund raising. We really hope help can reach Baby Kai Xin soon.

Hi mummies, it's been some time since we share pics of our babies! Shall we start posting again because seeing our cheerful babies will definitely brightens up everybody's mood! Let me kick start! Here's my cheeky little girl and her spikey hair

2615985.jpg

koras, where can I get the fan net?

Not sure if you mummies have this experience too, but whenever there are any blemishes ie. mosquito bites, scratches, etc on your baby, do your PIL push the blame to you?

My MIL is taking care of my baby while I'm working, and every time, if a mosquito bite or scratch appears on her, she or my FIL will immediately say the bite is from my house, or the scratch wasn't there previously. Within less than an hour of arriving at my house, while I was cleaning baby up, and noted a mosquito bite, my FIL will immediately say must be bitten in my house as it was not there previously. So now I keep getting all the blames.

Breadmum, I bought the rice liao. How u want me to pass to u? Also, do u want the photos that our hubby took at Cordelia's place? Got 1 pic very nice one - - Ethan and yourself also smiling one..

<font color="aa00aa">chillicrab (chillicrab) - ur girl is a cutie
Love her cheeky smile!
koras (koras) - ur son is also a handsome little boy!

wingkei (wingkei) - your ILs are really too much...just let it go one ear in, one ear out? Babies are prone to mozzie bites and the marks fade away anyways....if not, switch the air-con on when he sleeps?

Mommies worried about babies being slow - It is obviously normal to compare &amp; worry if our babies are behind..but i guess we just have to remind ourselves to count our blessings - most impt is that our babies are healthy &amp; happy
Everyone learns to walk &amp; talk eventually!</font>

Chilicrab, ur bb pix is majiam ‘studio-kinda’ leh! Beri nicey and cheerful!!!

Liliboymum, u are so very right to say that parents are always in a ‘worrisome’ mode. And to be frank, (though I am not a pessimistic person), I have been keeping a lookout for telltale signs that my boy is developing ‘un-normally’ due to the previous CMV virus scare. Though doc say it is not congenital so is not harmful, but I am still having the inner fear that it will affect his hearing and sight vision. So whenever he is crawling ard, and I call out his name, he will turn his head to look for me, I always feel so relieved upon that sight though this is something that most parents take it for granted loh…

And yah, when our kids grow up, there are more tings to worry abt… autism lah etc etc tat is too early to pick up any signs now oso

Rachel - have pmed u. will collect from you tomorrow. tell me how much. we share cost . k?
nice pictures. okie will see tomorrow.

Cordelia - i collect the rice for you? i've to pass you some nice pictures of evan too.

l'l CY^^l'l CH &amp; Bigtoes - thanks :) its true though that my little ones speech and neuro devt is ahead. Mine can clap, understand when we scold him by pouting, gently stroke our faces when we say "love". So there are other aspects of joy of their growing up.

bigtoes- thanks but now know how to throw temper le..
wingkei- my baby also get bites even by small ants. so its common.

Breadmum, will sms u my address. I've actually asked if Cordelia wants to come to over to my place tomorrow afternoon, and let the babies play together..and she's checking with hubby first. U free? I have a crawling tunnel at home, maybe can get Ethan to try to see if he wants to crawl inside? :p

Also, bring a thumb drive if you have any, incase if u want the pics.

Hello Mummies.....

Have not log on since my trip back from holiday and already there are so many interesting topics going on..
Well, Baby and Mummy survived the trip and I will definitely recommend the Club Med to any mummies out there cos they are so Baby friendly.
They provided baby cot, steriliser, food warmer, stroller, bath tub and even baby bottle food.....and you dont have to pay extra!

Motor skill :
Not crawling on fours yet, just on his tummy doing the commando crawl style. He's showing signs that he's starting to go on four so everytime he gets on his four and try to move forward, he falls flat on his tummy again.....

Knowledge :
I do picture flash cards with him since he's about 3mths and now, he can recognise quite a number of animals, fruits, etc.
I guess the thing with baby is to keep repeating and repeating, they will get it sooner or later.
I take pictures of the fruit, show him the actual fruits and let him taste the actual fruits and in the process keep repeating the word.
I do object pointing at home with him too....I call it "What's that" game. In the initial first 2weeks, I just pick about 5 objects and every day, bring him to the object, hit the object and name the object ( 2 X ), about twice a day. After 2 weeks, I will bring him to somewhere near the objects and ask him "Tell Mummy where is the .....eg. Refrigerator". He cant point yet, but he will look at the object - so I guess he does know.

<font color="aa00aa">JP(jnp) - I didn't get any flash cards for Kieran, but like you I do bring him around the house and point out items. Nothing structured, but just random fun. Babies nowadays are quite smart - just have to point something to them a few times, &amp; they get it. By the end of the day, when i ask "where is the ----?", Kieran would know to look or reach out to the object.

Other times, i would lead him around the house, and if we go near the door for instance, i would ask him to "Pat pat the door", or the fridge, or if i am carrying him, ask him to switch on/off the lights, pull a tissue for me from the tissue box etc..hehe - training him to run errands already

Bigtoes/Goldfish - hehe I took this pic with a DSLR that's why the effect is good lo! Daddy has to play peekapoo with her in order for me to catch her laughing like that

wingkei - erm...frankly my mil and I do this to each other all the time =) but not in a harsh way though. Depending on who spotted the mark/rash first, we would ask each other if it happened at her hse or my hse, haha...I think I'm more of the paranoid one, so I'll usually be the one who's asking how come there are rashes, marks, etc etc.

Pei/JP - My baby can't crawl on four too. Just like JP yours, mine is getting on four but can't move forward yet hehe =) She only knows how to sit up by herself from tummy position a week back, now she's an expert, keeps doing it!

Mummies, post more pics of your little ones mah

<font color="aa00aa">Baby photo update: Okie, here are 2 taken from my facebook albums - these were from about a month ago. One of baby Kieran getting ready for a 'fight', the other was at one of the kiddy rides in the shopping mall
2622656.jpg
2622657.jpg

Hi Breadmum,
Sori I din catch ur posts earlier! I only have time to come to the forum now. Guess Ethan and Kydric has a good time playing and enjoying calrose rice by chef rachel!

Hi Rachel,
Thanks for the calrose rice! Evan luvs it very much. SOrry I have to leave early coz Evan refused his milk again (only willing to drink at hm) plus MIL coming over my plc.

Let Cayden join in pic-sharing =)

<font color="808080">Everyone show cute babies, let me show u my CHILLPADI =D</font>
2623033.jpg

<font color="808080">There are times where he can be quite sweet too</font>
2623034.jpg

<font color="808080">He might be a serious gambler in the future... *gasp*</font>
2623035.jpg

<font color="808080">No matter what, he's a king in my heart <3 (Cayden wearing the adjustable jeweled crown handmade with love by me)!
-Cayden got the 'sorry' face here- lol</font>
2623036.jpg

like to chk if u all are giving yoghurt to ur little ones? I've recently bgt yoplait miam petite from ntuc but realised that it's for bigger kids. My bb is 9mths now so i found out that i shld buy baby yoplait instead. Anyone knows where to get it?

Hi Klara's mum

I get my bi weedkly baby yoplait from the Market Place supermarket at Tanglin Mall. Not sure where else is available ...

Just to find out anyone here brought n used the HANAMUGURI CARRIER selling in the BP spree?
Thought of buying, anyone can share is it GOOD?

Thanks Rachel for buying the rice.i hope Kydric slept well.

Codelia - No probs. Ethan was late due to his poop antics :p

Sept mummies - do confirm your attendance for next Sat.So that we can pm you the address on sunday. As my hubby will be working, am gonna bake one loaf of bread instead. Believe it should feed enough people.

Sri Leo - what will u be bringing? and will you be joining us?

Date : 11 July
Time : 1pm to 4pm
Venue : Tampines (will pm you the address)
Place : Function Room

1. Cordelia +Hubs + BB (fruitcake)
2. Rachel + Hubs + BB (jelly)
3. BigToes + Hubs +BB (bread and butter pudding)
4. Breadmum + BB (choc bread + tuna apple filling)
5. Mamyvelle + BB (ribena)
6. Mille + BB (fish balls)
7. dmbb + hubs + BB (chicken nuggets)
8. Angeline Goh +BB (curry puff)
9. Sri Leo +BB

Good morning everyone!

Cordelia, it's not chef rachel! I dont cook at all. :p Hubby is the chef at home, and Breadmum helped to cook the porridge and mash the fish! :p

U try cooking the porrige for Evan already?? Bought mushroom last night, I'm going to try it on Kydric tomorrow or Wed! hahaha.. He either will have the same taste bud as mummy or daddy! (Mummy hates it, whereas daddy loves it!)

Breadmum, as usual, Kydric only slept 30mins, so we brought him out to the mall, and he slept from 6pm-8:30pm while we shop around and had our dinner. Hope Ethan loves the nectarine (peach).

Its been a while since I last had the chance to post.. haaa.. after seeing dmbb at MYGYM yesterday, then I realised that I'd not been coming to the thread.

Hope mummies and babies are good..

mrsseng, I have the carrier.. It's pretty ok lar for that price. My boy falls aslp easily in there but quite difficult to take him out without disrupting his sleep though..

Klara's mummy, u mean there's baby yoplait? Oh no! I've fed my boy 2x with the normal yoplait that we can find easily in NTUC.

Breadmum : yes confirm . Erm ... u help me buy le? anyway will be bringing my 5yrs old niece along too.

And omg , my girl is 9mths le , yesterday went mothercare brought some clothes for her . And she can fit in to 0-3months clothing. still quite loose fitting somemore. she still 6.5KG at 9mths. wad should i do ar?

Anyway JTS mothercare having 50% off their clothing for dbs cardholder.

Hiyall
I tried to use my endo thermalpot to cook porridge for bb and it turn up good!!
But tat is like 2hrs in the thermalpot lo. Hopefully tonite when I try to cook it again, it will turn up fine with an hr I hope!

Btw, does ur bb finish a lot of porridge huh? Mine is like a few scoops nia and cannot put him on the feeding chair for long cos he will squirm and wanna to get out of the chair!!! But when he is out of the chair, he can still eat loh but haiyah.. beri messy loh

I know my friend let her daughter watch DVD cartoon to keep her engrossed and she will guai guai eat bt mine don’t lo.. or rather I have not tried that yet
Anyone experiencing same prob as me?

Mamyvelle,

Give vitamins supplement? Or try the "si seng" brown rice loh (but can be heaty hor). But I think, as long as she's healthy, petite should be fine for girls.

Goldfish, I try to keep him occupied in his high chair and give him toys on his tray, or bowl, spoon, etc etc.

Mamyvelle - you pay me on the day. when i buy i'll tell u. see ya.

Goldfish - so you got the endo in the end? good to hear the porridge turned out well.
They will squirm the first few times, and like what Rachel says, put some toys on the tray or spoon or plastic bowls. They will throw but note they get impatient if we feed them too slowly too.

Rachel - mine knocked out at 7.30pm after reaching home. Brought him down for a birthday party and he fell asleep and managed to catch Evan &amp; Cordelia for a brief moment.:p

breadmum
I no idea wat to bring... tot of bringing mashmallow or fish finger... which one better? Yup, will be joining... sorry if I seldom post here... work cant access to internet....
Please PM me ur address &amp; mobile no. in case I'm lost... hehehe... thk u so much...

crayonshinchan, i also haven't been coming into the forum for quite a while... ;)

mamyvelle, where is JTS? my bb can also wear the mothercare 0–3mths clothing (separates) but she's 7.9kg. i think some bbs are just more petite, especially girls. did your pd say anything abt her weight?

goldfish, my bb keeps trying to get out of the chair too! sometimes i take her out (feed while balancing on my lap) and then put her back after a while.

Rachel,
I don't steam the sweet potato, just add them in the calrose rice porridge. Then i will puree everything cos Alston prefers soft gluey food though he has 8 teeth now. I tink his other teeth are also erupting .

Breadmum,
Mine only has the word THERMOS on the flask, and comes in 300g and 500g. For 300g, food can oni be kept hot till 5hrs as indicated in the brochure while food can be kept hot till 7hrs for 500g. Yup, i put the food at boiling hot temp (right after i cook the food) in the flask, but it remains lukewarm or slightly cold after 4-5hrs.

Rachel, I tried giving toys… and arghh.. it is quite a mess hoh? For my bb, he will stuff toys into his mouth filled wif food and arggghhh, I have food bit flying all ard the place. Opps.. I am a clean freak u see. LOL

Breadmum, yeap, got the endo from Tangs at a promo price of $99 (6 L + FOC 2.5L). Bt onie time will tell whether issit that good in the long run liao? :p

Saw the spree on HANAMUGURI carrier. Looks damned cheap for a carrier leh!!!

Anyone NOT giving dinner solid food feed for bb?

Paiseh.. side-track abit to HOUSEHOLD CHORES
What kind of wet-mops are u guys using??? I am currently using Roman Mop.. bt does not cling hairs and dirt after repetitive use
I am one lazy person. Prefer to mop the floor only instead of vaccum-mop tat kinda

Hello mummies, anyone interested to get the Walking Wings Moon Walker for their baby to help them walk? The price is $35. There is a 10% promotion if there are 10 buyers. My friends and I need 5 more mummies to join the spree. If anyone want to join this spree, please pm me. The walker looks something like this but in black and red.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_vNJP3ewvu4

Look forward to see everyone on 11 July again!

Mamyvelle, 2nd album completed? If so, bring it ok? I'll also bring mine!

Goldfish, yes, it's usually quite messy. Get use to the mess, cos when they learn to self feed at some point, it will be super super MESSY loh! You can try to put newspaper on the floor, and only need to clean up the high chair, and I always bring my baby to shower after his meal.

I'm also not giving dinner solid food, cos I realised that by the time we reached home (usually at 8pm), he's tired, and it's very difficult to feed when they are so grumpy.

Wet mops - I use the kind of "pink" colour one that is sold at NTUC ($10 for 1)... not sure how good it is though, cos I'm not the one mopping! :p