(2008/06) June 2008

Hi Ellysia,

she go cc for a week, will be sick for 2 weeks lol. That is so routin after we monitor in our calander on those day she report to school and MC again.

shinely

hmm my son fell sick every month since he attended CC. He even got 3 bronchitis attack tat he was put on asthma prevention plan. Recently just went to KKH for specialist to review, doc say need to cont the plan and cont to monitor.

Ellysia,

Har, so sad to hear that too. So you still going to put her in the cc? Me and hubby we both so scare of the baby health that why we decided to withdraw loh, we even forgo the deposit. (as did not give one month notice)

Yup. No choice i can't stop work as still need to support my own parents and my younger brother.

I heard tat the getting sick part is usu a lot in the inital 6 mths.

We feel tat our boy learn to be more independent, improve his vocab after he attended CC. He also learn to interact better with other kids.

Why dun u work part time instead? Then put in half day CC? Half day dun get sick so often.

Shinely and Ellysia,

My boy also keep falling sick after attending cc, once every month and recently became even more frequent. In may he was hospitalized for bronchitis and in early July he had another bout of bronchitis. We took him out from cc for a month. He only went back on 26 July. Then on 28 July, he had bronchitis again. So now, I’m keeping him out of cc till he recovers. What the pd told me was that each time when he did not fully recover and we send him back to school, it becomes a bacterial infection and gets worse. So now, once he gets a cough/cold, we intend to keep him out till he fully recovers.

Ellysia,

Ya, i did try her for one week half day before. The next day, she fell sick agin. That why no choice liao.
I was looking for any work from home job, if you know if any, pls recomm ok.

Tera,
so you looking after your boy alone? me looking after her alone, feel so tired and everyday so routin loh.

Tera

The KKH specialist also said tat he didn't recover well so the attacks keep coming. She said have to stop the vicious cycle or else it will affect the growth.

I ask the specialist how come last time before go in CC, he doesn't have any such incident. Specialist say cos exposure to virus in CC is more, so he get sick more often, then cos his airway is the sensitive type so prone to bronchitis.

Now he is on the asthma prevention plan (need to take inhaler daily), can see tat is better. Previously when he keep having the bronchitis, he slim down quite a lot.

Ellysia,
ya, when baby is sick, their slim down alots, mine also like that, cause they cant sleep well.(me also slim down looking after her day and night, cause to to 4 hrly wake up for her fever medicien)
My girl that time also having airway infection, took alomost a month to recover.

Shinely

Ya appetite is still the same but dunno why still slim down. my boy got one stage slim until i can see his ribs shape.

Ellysia,
I also asked the KKH doctor how to improve his immunity when he had his 2nd attack and he said that by having the illness is building up his immunity. He also said that alternatively, we may want to consider taking him out of CC for a while to let his body recover, which was what we did. He was fine and well for a good 2 weeks, then after going back CC for just 2 days, he started to cough.

My boy also has sensitive airways. That was in March when he coughed for very long and the SBCC pd suggested stopping aircon and his cough stopped. Same here, my boy also started having this bronchitis attacks only after starting cc. When I asked if I needed to send my boy for a check-up cos he was having bronchitis so often, the pd told me its fine, just that some kids are more prone to bronchitis.

And yes, I noticed he slims down after having bronchitis.

Shinely,
I am working so my maid will look after him at either my parents or my IL’s place. But I can understand how tiring it is cos on weekends, I am usu the one to look after him. And a bad thing of him not going CC is that he’s been watching TV the whole day.

Tera,

ic,that good plaining. My got no IL to help, so everything is us .
Baby wake up le, got to settle her liao..no time for chat le..tata.. on off will come in again.

Tera,

Doc said bronchitis will affect the internal a lot, things we can't see. After he had 2 bronchitis attack, KKH emergency recommend us to KKH specialist.

I tink is bec our boy is more allergic prone lor. some kids dun fall sick so often in cc or at least not so serious, probably bec immune system is better or less sensitive airway.

Ellysia,

Yeah, I will check with KKH next week during his review, if there is a need for any follow-up. The worry about bronchitis if left untreated is that it will lead to asthma.

Agree lor, some kids attending cc seem to be fine. My boy keep falling sick. And its been 6 mths liao.

Tera,
How to determine fully recover from Bronchitis? My son still taking antibiotics and having slight cough but I let him go back cc after 10 days staying at home.

Eversince he attend cc, he was diagnose with sensitive nose result bronchitis. My gal and I also kanna. Now still wondering should I permanently stop cc and change to pg instead or continue another month since now is his 5th mth in cc.

Morning ladies..

Tera,
haiz, take care ger..Char still having blocked nose and abit of cough, she is recovering but i tink i will bring her to Yu guo again lor..hiaz..

Hows lucas?

Connie,
My ger also gana Brochitis in June lor...it was terrible..hiaz..so heartpain to see them sick til like that...But they hv already been in cc for so many mths liao, we hv to hang on lor, if pull them out now, then all the previous xinku when they fall sick and they body already half-adapted to the cc virus liao then all will be wasted...Thats y now I am still hanging on though my mil and mum ask me to pull charlotte out of her cc. Worst is becos her cc is air-con type too... I am holding on now...

feifei

Yah i agree.. we are also hanging on.

Connie

Same lah. My boy also sensitive nose, like me and hb. His running nose, cough etc always due to sensitive nose.

Tera

Same, 6 months too. But i tink for those other kids have been at the CC longer than my boy, i dun tink they fall sick that much as my boy. Even the cleaner says my boy is weak constitution. I suspect is bec some of the kids there are from infant class so they r ored v adapted to the virus there, whereas my boy has been at home for 20 months before he go CC.

Actually the specialist doc at KKH says its not bronchitis lead to asthma. If the kid is asthma prone (maybe allergic), airway & nose etc will be more sensitive than other people. So more prone to bronchitis.

She also say too many bronchitis attacks will cause the medicine (inhaler) to be ineffective on the body for future attacks. Tats why must keep the attacks to a minimum.

I tink my boy is more serious bec' he has family history of allergies & he always develop wheezing during bronchitis. So at the 2nd attack, the emergency doc at KKH ored said have to see specialist.

Btw, for running nose, the KKH specialist recommend my boy to take Zyrtec. Cos she say better for kids with more sensitive nose. I feel this is better than chlormine.

Ellysia,
HB n me don't have sensitive nose lei. I was surprise I also kanna bronchitis. My gal lungs was affected and only advise to take anti biotics.

The pd also kept asking me to pull out since cc don't really learn a lot. 2-3 hrs pg will do.

my boy seem enjoying cc lor. kept saying teacher last week. Yst go sch, come back super happy. kept shouting papa, ah ma, kaka but nvr call mummy lor.

Sch called and say my boy is having fever. Sigh.
MIL bring him back le, i taking half day to bring him back home from MIL house.

Ellysia,
must take care and help curb his sensitive nose. if not taken care properly, it will lead to asthma when your boy is older.

my elder boy suffers from that. basically, he is a sensitive boy. eczema from baby time. then grew to be sensitive airway. he has asthma attacks when the environment is not taken care of properly. he is sensitive to the extent that he cannot take mosquito bites too. the part he gets bitten will get very swollen and blisters will then develop. doc says this is something he will outgrow as he gets older.

as for asthma, he is now on this long-term inhaler. so far it's been ok. *touch wood* when he was bad, he cld get an asthma attack every month or so.

i swear by zrytec too.
it's good in curbing allergies. now whenever i hear my kids sneezing away, i will quickly let them take a dose first.

Tera,
I think it's a good idea to keep him out of cc for a while too. The home environment is also important. Try to ensure that it is clean and dust-free e.g. change his bedsheet fortnightly.

here's the list of things to note for kids with sensitive airway.

http://www.hpb.gov.sg/diseases/article.aspx?id=774

I really believe in treating it early. Cos I have seen what my boy went through. No joke to see an asthma attack.

I gone crazy with all the safety item to prevent my boy from opening the fridge , door etc. Kept buying n buying and still not enough since he kept damaging it. Not having any concrete solution but to continue to buy. Else all the ice cube kept landing in my dog bowl.

Anyone keen on below, Free domestic delivery for order above USD99.00. Temp. using exchange rate 1.40 and will finalise after receipt Cc bill.
Not earning anything since I'm using Leng's vpost.

http://thebabysgallerie.com/show_details.asp?thisID=468621&ref=Safety%20Center

Leng,
Do you think worth to buy from this website? I buying locally at > S$10. Or do you have any better to recommend?

Feifei,
We bought e Barney tix! Hehe, so excited.

Re: sick
My dd now seldom fall sick. She has been attending pg since e beginning of e year. Previously, she was at my mum's place n mingle with her cousins who r in full time cc. She only sees them a few hours a day n can fall sick like once or twice a month.
Now tat she's in pg n home most of e time, she barely fall sick, maybe once in every 2 months? I think e virus in cc really very strong lor. Lil zuen is doing well n liking school. She will b attending e 3 hrs pre-nursery class next year. By e time she's home, have lunch + nap, it is probably about 3+pm. I tot this arrangement is good too compared with sending her to a full day cc.

Feifei,
paisei for late reply.

for the barney show, hubby also got asked... but got some issue, cant predict if i able to go for the show with them... so at the moment stil waiting to c if condition get better.

ZuEn,
so gd, ur gal can have "language training" with her cousins. my gal the only child in both families... all adult talkin to her onli... LOL...
i now placin my hopes on that once she enter childcare, her language skills will get better...

Eve,
must update me when spencer suddenly sprout alot of words/sentence when he start cc in oct wor.. then i b even more encouraged liao... kekeke

Tera,
its a long time since u last log in le. i also think its good to stop cc for this period of time till u see the improvement in Lucas health, its a long term thing so must take good care lor.

Zuen,
have to agree Full day cc as compare to few hours pg has higher risk of getting sick. Another reason for placing my boy in half day cc is also to min the risk. but then tiring for me coz during my lunch time have to bring him back plus makan plus returning office.haiz see how it goes.

Poky,
same here, my boy also the only kid in both families. so its good to expose them to friends kids or classes lor.
Sure man. im looking forward to. i know i shouldnt compare, but i really envy leh seeing some kids of my boy age already singing and having conversation lor. k lah. wait lor. alwasy tell myself soon will be my turn. hahah trying to b positive la.

Poky,
Good n bad wor. Sometimes I see her say something tat exactly mirrors wat her cousins say and we dun like. But kids really pick up languages very quickly when they have pple to model after wor.

Eve,
Must n very tiring. My only worry is tat she has to spend time alone with my maid with current arrangement. I even bigger headache when no 2 comes along. Haven firm up on the babysitting arrangement. Now, we r at people's mercy, asking my mum and/or mil to help supervise e maid, waiting for them to answer.

Zuen,
Same here. i also depend on my maid and my mil to help supervise. but in time to come my mil will be going to my bil place to takec of their baby. so must hurry to place my boy in half day cc 1st. luckily now only 1 boy. if 2nd one comes think must go infant care liao. sianz also high cost and risk of falling sick. must really plan properly.heheh

How is your maid so far? does she love your girl? most impt must be guai type lo. and teachable kind.

Ellysia,
Hope your boy is better today. Take care!

FeiFei,
Lucas is better today but still got a bit of running nose and cough, so I am not putting him back in school yet. But I also agree with you that at this point, we have to press on cos already been 6 months..and most imptly, he enjoys school so I do not think I will stop him completely. Also, my boss has been rather flexible and allowing me to work from home so I guess I will make use of that if he falls sick again (hope not so soon)!

Soya,
Thanks for sharing!
I just learnt this from another pd last night. Cos I asked him how to know if cough is due to sensitive airways or virus. He said if due to sensitive airways, its usu just cough. But if there’s fever, cold etc, then most likely virus.

Connie,
I also dun really know when bronchitis is considered as fully recovered. To me, it is when there is no more cough.

Eve,
Hello! Yeah, as I was sharing with you, busy with my boy cos he keeps falling sick, so seldom come into forum. So exciting for you ah, Spenser going school soon! ;)

Maid Woes
Talking about maids, I think I will need to get a new maid very soon. My maid was caught this morning for shoplifting at Sheng Shiong. To think she has been with me for 2 plus years..I am still in shock now. She’s being remanded at the police station now and can only be released tonight. Hubby and I dun intend to keep her cos we think that this is a serious character flaw and the trust is broken. So if any of you has any maid agency to recommend, can PM me please? Thanks in advance!

Morning ladies...

ZuEn,
which cat u bot and which day and time u going? Wonder if can see u guys there anot =)..

Ya lor, agreed with u that cc virus bery strong lor, i also dun understand..

Eve,
I tink hor, we better enjoy our kids now that they onli can ehh, ahhh, cos when they speak, we will find them a chore..hee

Tera,
hope lucas recovers soon! =)..

ya lor, its good that they go to sch to keep them occupied and can hv frens to play with..Char likes going to sch too =)...Haiz, talkign abt #2, i also did tot of, whether can i resign and be a sahm for 1 yr until my #2 is old enuff to go cc lor...Like wat zuen mention, we are really at the mercy of other ple to look aft our kids...

Moreover, i am studying now, sometimes so pekchek til i wan to resign and look aft char my own..So much better, can discipline her, educate her and bond with her..but e down side is, income reduced and might be financially tight then.haiz...

Ahyo, scary le, ur maid got tell u the reason?

Eve,
I changed maid once liao. E old one brought my girl to e corridor n neighbor house without permission n that was after 2 serious warning tat she cannot bring my girl out of e house without permission. Trust broken so no point keeping. Otherwise, I have to constantly worry abt when she will go siao n bring my girl out again.
New maid more blockheaded. Need to push to move but more obedient.

Tera,
She stole!!! Oh no. Haiz... We r all headache over maid now. I m super worried tat my current maid cannot handle when no 2 comes. She's quite slow n will naturally nuah when she has e chance.

Feifei,
Sun, 5pm show. Cat 2. Burnt a big hole in pocket Liao. Hope tat I m not too big by then.

Morning Mommies,
for the barney tickets, the 20% discount for friso gold can only b use for 1 ticket ah? 1 tin 1 ticket only?? then other ticket stil have to pay at full price??

zuen,
Wow, fast hor..hehe..how u doing?

Poky,
I tink its 1 tin 1 ticket off wor..Unless now have offer from NTUC, u buy 2 tins wor...When u going?

My boy has been having fever since Tuesday. hb bring him to see PD and PD say there is an fever/flu epidemic ongoing (but news didn't report) as Since this week the clinic has been flooded with kids of similar symptons.

Be careful and get yr kids to clean/wash up etc more often during this period.

These few nights we haven't been sleeping well bec his temp shoot up during late nights. whole day temp is like roller coaster up and down. Me and hb took turns to take leave and my boy is sticky + work v busy so didn't have time to login.

soyabean

My hb has childhood asthma which he outgrow only in sec school. He had attacks occasionally especially when flu. For my boy, Doc always say can't diagnose at this age yet but signs show tat he is v prone.. guess can't avoid. Only have to manage it as it come lor.

I also will prefer few hrs PG/half day CC but really no choice, my MIL after her op we also dare not ask her to cont take care liao.. plus my IL will be moving house next year once their new house is ready. If got No2 will have to put infant care straight le..
If i can be stay-at-home-mum will be also good lor, but still have to support my parents n bro leh. no choice.

Once my IL move house, we will have to convert our weekend car to a normal car.. meaning we have to pay up $10K++ to govt lor. Cos we can't park at IL house and their new place is v far, so definitely will cross over the 7am time buffer.

feifei,
thinkin to go on sat, hubby n my gal only. i worried, i may not b in good condition still.... but i juz ck the seats. for Cat2, the seats are alrdy quite near to the Cat 3 seats liao. =(
mayb not goin liao, bo wah leh, spent so much, seats so bad.... nxt time, will buy once it started isntead... hahah

U tinking to get forehead thermometer? I read tat forehead thermometer is usually not as accurate as ear thermometer, although it is v easy to use.

Hi Connie,

I bought a 'furlin', can be use as ear and forhead. Been very handy and small to bring out everytime. SO far so good, have being using everyday to check baby temp.

Aiyo, lil zuen down with throat infection. There are ulcers at e back of her throat! Fever for 3 days liao. It is such a torture to try to make her take e antibiotics. On urgent leave today cos she will cry when I am more than 10cm away from her. Haiz.

Janiviy,
Doc says not HFMD. Similar strain of virus but ulcers only at e bk of throat. No requirement to inform school. She had fever for 3 days liao. Today 4th day n fever appeared to b subsiding. 2nd day on antibiotics so think effect kicking in. I hope e nightmare will pass soon. She lost her appetite n is so super cranky.

Hi Mummies..long time no post...hope everiones well...

Am facing SUPER TERRIBLE 2..now...
Not sure why recently she refuses to wear her clothings... refuses food...am so tired....coping wif her..

anyone can offer any advice ?!! :'(