(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Just did my Oscar test yesterday with the scanning and blood test. Prof Tay says that the chances for my baby to be down with Down Syndrome is very slim. To be exact is 1/2850! And actually the blood test is not necessary. Anyway we still go for it to play safe cos i am 30 oredi. Anyway managed to see the baby kicking and waving its limps. Very Cute... very active...Too bad I am not able to feel it now. The foetus is now meansure 46mm and now I am 11.3 weeks. Prof Tay says it is 100% matched with my LMP and the size of the foetus. Not sure how they measure on the LMP. Anyway just hope everything goes smoothly.

I do have cramp sometimes in the middle of the night. Dunno why. Anyone has that as well? Now to my next visit will be one months time. But feel insecure for not able to see what the baby is doing. Anyone has any device that can hear the baby's heartbeat. I almost wanted to buy the stethoscope. hahhaa... v kuazhang rite.

hi giolyn, i can understand the insecurity u are feeling! coz my next appt is also 1 mth later. and coz i can feel that baby yet, i juz cant help but to worry if the baby is doing well...hm....

Thanks Edde for sharing the same sentiment as me. Undeniably I am a quite paranoid. Cos a good fren of mine has a stillbirth at her 6months. She discovers it when she can't feel the baby kick for one day and rush to the gynae and confirm the misfortune. So now it makes me more worried as I am not able to feel the baby kick cos too early and not able to see how the baby is doing. Arrrggghhh...
kao_frustrated.gif

HI giolyn
congrats! glad that everything is fine, how come oscar test can be taken so early at 11weeks? im turning 31 this oct, hope too see good results in 2 weeks time. you should be able to know the gender by next appt!
as for me, i feel like peeing more often but not a lot of urine tho'. Im taking vit B6 and anti-ms pills to help me eat more and feel less lousy, also discovered that im better when im out eating with frens or at frens' place.

hi , all .... although this is my 3rd pregnancy . but i still cant stop myself from worrying and become anxious over the pregnancy . wat i am hoping for is that time will go faster and pregnancy is stable.
my the other worry is that i dun no whether i wan to get a confinement nanny or get a confinement catering ? or if i should get my mother in law to do confinement for me ????? As my due date is early apr next year , but i know i will deliver in march . i had "very" bad experience with my mother in law in my previous 2 confinements . . haiz , do u know wat i had for the whole day ? she only cook white rice and "MEAT" in red wine for me for one meal . and the other is kidney in red wine and rice ... that's all ... i had ask her whether can i take "Mian Sian" during confinement , she give me a firm "NO" . haiz ,. . . . and i know i am not having a good confinement period under her care . . . wat should i do ??

hi all..

i hv not been logging in for almost 2 weeks.. been very tired these days.. and just got my second scanning yest... now i'm about 3 mths and my bb is almost 5cm, can see the bb is forming.. so excited and my EDD has bring forward to 5 mar 07, don't know will it move forward again after 1 mth

Belle, how u been getting on? my gynae is Dr Koh C H, intend to deliver at TMC. You are in Hong Kong? are you singaporean? so are you going to deliver in singapore?

Don't know why always feel like blurting or vomiting after every meals.. really hate that feeling.. maybe that's the sign of my morning sickness

hi giolyn, i think its inevitable that we will worry... aft hearing so many unhappy incidents, i begin to realise that we shldnt take a smooth preg for granted... but anyhow, just take gd care of ourselves and the little ones for now k!

pinky u are not feeling better? me neither...
i hope i wont be like regina so cham, 3 mths still has MS???!!! regina, it must be very hard on u.. u take care yeah!

catherine, if i were u i will get a confinement lady, coz she can help u wil some housework besides cooking and looking aft u and baby... if you get confinement catering, then u wld have to look aft the household and the baby by yrself... but wld yr mil sense something wrong if u dun get her in this time round?

hi catherine
get a confinement lady to help you with some chores better? im getting one cos nobody can help me

Hey edde
still feeling lousy but relying on vit B6 and anti ms pills, i'm eating slightly more but still very little and pple have been telling me to eat more, maybe i have phobia of vomitting. im eating all the wrong food - ice lemon tea, canned food, ice-cream.i feel very bad towards my bb. well 1 more week to week 12, i pray that things will be better.
any changes physically? my breasts are bigger quite obvious, tummy a little bit.

hi very berry & autumm,

i wouldnt hesitate to go for the test if not for the financial part frankly. We sort of just recovered from the 'aftermath' of our wedding costs, & we lost some savings due to wrong decision being made on a property we are suppose to purchase, hence our cash is forfeited. then now bb is here..so we are abit tight on cash
before i can save up again, most of the amt spent on my gynae visits & my thyroid blood test. I cant really 'wait' too long for a bb cos i m 33 this nov. by the time i give birth i would be 34 yrs & 4 mths lor...i guess thats why gynae recommend i take the test. i wonder why they take our age when we give birth & not the age we conceived huh? i rem. my gynae say i m 1 in 400 chance..discussed with hubby oredi, most likely we would just only do the 20wk test n not the oscar oredi.

Hi taysetsuri,
hmmm your condition is the opposite of me. i guess with ur increment in hormones its 'not too bad'? cos my gp did tell me preggy ladies need more hormones for the bb to grow. i think as long as your hormone level dun shoot too high its safe for u. Yes i believe either hyper or hypo need to be monitored closely. i think i need another blood test in another 1 to 2 mths time too.

hi catherine, i face the same prob with u now..if u can afford one better start looking now cos all the good ones will be snapped up fast.

Just met my MIL today to ask if she can help with confinement..the thing is she is working in the evening hence can only come to my place in the day & by 4-5pm she will need to report for work. at nite i will hv do everything myself cos hubby is on shift. i feel bad asking my MIL to travel to & fro daily, but looks like no choice cos i dun want to stay at her place i will def. not be able to sleep at nite. after this comes the prob of who will take care of my bb after my confinement lor..haiz..MIL is out, i kept telling myself i solve one problem at a time, now too many things i hv to make a decision eventually ..hopefully i dun hv to quit my job to care for bb

pinky, i also have been drinking a lot of lemon tea and eating lotsa mac! i can eat mac 3 days consecutively coz anything else makes me puke. like now, i just finished my mac dinner. a bit sick of it now but boh bian..

i am also relying on the anti ms med...

i notice my tummy quite big leh!! quite noticeable lor... but its now in this awkward stage whereby pple wld think i am FAT! then they must be wondering why this woman so fat still dare to wear tight fitting clothes and show the big tummy!! haha!!! but i tink this tummy is not due to baby... most like all my MAC!!!! haha!!!

hey edde
you still crave for mac ah! so interesting but at least there's meat and bread, not so bad. my gynae did say most part of the tummy are made of of gases..i think those without MS will show faster.

regina,
yes i am in HK now but i intend to deliver in singapore. not well recently. got gastric from vomitting too terribly and then will feel very tired and weak thereafter. i feel this pregnancy is not easy and feel like giving up. Especially still got to work.

pinkypink , edde, blurbelle,
i was also thinking to get a confinement nanny but my hubby said that dun need to waste the money as his mum will surely wan to cook for me during my confinement period . but the thing is i dun really wan her to cook for me , as those food really makes me NO appetite.think my hubby wanted to save $ also lah , cos now he is the only breadwinner in the hse , as i am not working . i haven talk or discuss with my MIL yet , ... if i ask her not to help me during confinement , think she will probably know something must be wrong bahz .... so SIANZ leh
cos my maid jus went back home last month as her son is sick and she decided not to work in singapore anymore . so , i had no choice but to let her go lor , ... then who knows after she went back , then i realised that i am pregnant again . So sian leh , some more now not working , also quite sick of staying at home .....

hi catherine,

wat abt ur own mum? can she help? or is ur MIL 'open to suggestion' type. will she be offended if u tell her wat u would like to take during ur confinement? for me my MIL will ask me wat i feel like having during my pregnancy now.(she will offer to make soup for me) normally i dun hv craving la..n feel bad she has to travel all the way fr west to my place in the north. for me besides saving $ by not engaging a CL, i also hv to think where my MIL can sleep. Looks like i hv no choice but to ask her come n go daily liao. AT nite i hv to make do with my almost zero experience of taking care of bb on my own + my hubby's possibility of not being ard at nite when he is working.

blurbelle , i think my MIL will be angry lor if i dun get her to help . as she is very "old fashioned" type of aunties .... haiz , cos she is staying jus opp block of me , so quite easy for her to come to my place la . but i also worried bout my 2 sons , ... no one taking care of them . so if i get my MIL to look after them then haiz , ... i also dunno how . my mum will not be able to help me , cos she is working and staying quite far from where i stay . so travelling a bit of problem.

hi catherine, alamak, like that abit hard to siam ! yeah your kids might not hv enuff attn during this period. any close relative, cousins etc that not wking n can come by at some point in time to help will be helpful too. at least some emotional support so u wont be so worried fearing they are not well taken care of. Hope u can solve ur problems soon take care ok!!

I'm feeling pretty happy today. Went for my checkup last nite. At 12+weeks now. Doc says everything looks fine. Baby at 5.4cm now and seems like I am having a boy. Hmm, actually I could feel that I am most likely having a boy, guess it's mother's instinct. But doc say cannot be 100% sure lah, only about 80% sure. Saw baby waving slightly.

My doc measured the neck skin for baby (NT scan) and says reading is ok. However he did ask me to consider doing the Triple Test at 16weeks. That is a blood test for Down Syndrome too. Different from OSCAR. Hmm, Triple Test is normally done at week 16 and cost alot cheaper too. Think about $90+. OSCAR is normally done at 11-14 wks. Think that is $300+

Anyway, I can have a little peace of mind now. Especially when I am going for a short holiday to Taiwan from tomorrow. Now at least I can go happily.

Wish all mummies a great day today!

HI Autumn,
so happy for you too....so fast your doc measure the neck skin ya? my doc din do all these for me during my last visit

enjoy your trip tmr and be careful of what you eat ok?

Hi Doggy, thanks. Hmm, actually measure neck skin should do at 12weeks. That's what my doc say leh. So the last time you went checkup, how many weeks were u at? How many weeks are u now?

hey autumn
so early can see the little birdie already? haha...feel so happy for you. mine will be in another 2 weeks' time, will be 13 weeks then, must wait for soooo...long. mine is oscar - NT + blood test, not sure whats the diff with triple test.
hey doggymar,
are u already feeling better? im really counting down to the day when i can eat a buffet.

Hi pinkypink, thanks. Actually hor, i think that if it's a boy, can see birdie quite fast... of course still cannot be 100% sure lah.. cause, birdie is quite obvious one.. as opposed to a girl's... u know what I mean.
I have a collegue, who also saw a little birdie when she went for scan at 11weeks.. now it's confirmed for her as she is currently at 7months liao.

Hmm, before they invent the OSCAR test, there was the Triple Test. Basically, they test for the same thing.. but OSCAR can be performed as early as 11weeks.. so for some ladies, they want to go for that, in case if they need to terminate, then it can even be within the 1st trimester, so less traumatic. As Triple Test is done at 16 weeks, it's already in second trimester...

Well, but I quite trust my doc lah. I am not sure, but I think not all doctors know how to do the NT scan. Pinkypink, when you did your OSCAR, who was the one who did the NT scan for you? Is it your gynae? Or another specialist or radiographer?

Hi Pinky & autumn,
how old are you gals? must we do all these tests? my gynae only mentioned i must do blood test on my next visit leh....

during my last visit, i'm in my 11th week and now me in my beginning of 14th week.When i see him next week, will be around 15-16th week then...

Hi Pinky,
during my 12th week, i'm better. these few days, back to last time, keep vomiting!!! food cant digest and have been vomiting badly at night...throw out all the dinner

Hi doggy, I am 31 this year. Hmm, actually we are both doing the same test lah. I assume the blood test that your doc is asking you to do at your next visit is the Triple Test. As mentioned, that is usually done at 16 weeks.

As for the NT scan, it is a scan to measure the neck skin, which as I said earlier, I don't think every doctor know how to do. For that test to have full meaning, it should be accompanied by a blood test too. That means, measuring neck skin + blood test. I didn't do the blood test portion, as my doc think it's not very necessary. He just did the neck skin scan. For some doc, they may feel it's pointless to do neck skin scan, unless u also do the blood test. As such, I think that is the OSCAR test. But I think, maybe for OSCAR, there may be higher level scan, such as looking out for nasal bone. I am not very sure since i didn't do that.

Hmm, anyway, my doc didn't charge me any extra for doing the neck skin scan. It's part of his normal routine scan. It's just a form of added assurance, but of course with no guarantees. Which is why he suggest that I may want to do the Triple Test (blood test) at 16 weeks.

Hi doggy
im turning 31 this year too! oh im hoping that it will subside once i turn 13th week - 2nd trim.
you really poor thing, i also puke out yakult this morning

Hey autumn,
my oscar will only be done in 2 weeks' time.

Hi gals, I am 8 weeks pregnant, EDD is 29 march. Mind I join this thread? Like many of you, my MS is quite tough to bear, although I have not puked yet, just feel very nauseated permanently from morning to night. Sigh!

Hi MTBs, can i ask whether your appetite is normal or much reduced? i find that i cannot eat much and even drinking water will make my stomach bloated because the stomach is not digesting fast. So at night cannot eat and will vomit.

Pinoopy, u only feel nausea but no vomitting right? this feeling is terrible hor, i dunno how to tahan and then still got to work. can't be keep on running to toilet right. u should ask for anti-ms pills

hi belle(pepper),
yes, me exactly the same as you...cant digest well and keep vomiting my dinner out recently. drinking plain water is really worst! like yest, eat dinner at 5plus and by 9.30pm, still not digest and i m feeling terrile. End up throwing out all my food
really hope everything will be fine man

Hi belle(pepper), ya I got the MS pills but the nurse recommended me not to take unless I really vomit a lot. She also recommended not to drink more than 1/3 glass of water at a time. I also feel my stomach digestion is really lazy! The food keep turning round and round inside the stomach..

* Autum - Congrats! You mentioned about mother's instinct, so pretty accurate ya. One of my GF also had this special instinct and it turned out to be 100% true :p

* Carol - Take care of yourself and stay positive. Wishing you all the best.

*Mar bride, Pepper - Take good care of yourself ya.

Can I ask how many interval weeks do you visit the Gynac? Looks like there are many test to do. My Gynac only mentions about the Down Syd test during the 11-14 weeks. Must we also do OSCAR test, triple test etc? Oh...I am so confused. Has it got anything to do with age? Becos I read from all yr post on age. Can anyone help me to clear my doubts? Thks..thks

hi , all mummies ...
i am now in my 8 week (i think so) then i was actually hoping for a girl . as i had 2 boys . . but how do we know that we are having girl or boy except from ultrasound scan ??
heard some people saying that if expecting girl , the mummy will have lots of breakouts and the complexion will be bad ? dunno is it true or not ?? or via versa ..........

quite anxious to know the baby's sex but have to wait for another 2 more months to confirm , .. haiz

hi , taysetsuri
think oscar test and triple tests are all up to u whether u wan to take up or not , cos there is no forcing or must to do it . but of coz if doing the test , will be better lor as u can have a peace of mind and will know how is ur baby progressing mahz . oscar test is amuch better test then triple test as the result is more detailed and so the price for oscar is far much expensive then the triple test .
for my 2nd boy , i did the oscar test as my gynae told me that my baby's neck is a bit thicker and the reading is above 3 (mm or cm) me forget le . so he ask me to go for the test , but think the test is ok lor , as u wont get definate result and that time , during the oscar , i did a blood test too . and the reading is also similar to wat my gynae told me , so after that , my gynae also ask me to wait till detailed scan during 20 weeks then check again lor ...... :0

hi , taysetsuri & all mummies ,

pardon me for interrupting u all .... for disturbing ur conversation .. hee , (pai seh)

Hi Tay, thanks! Yup, mummies's instinct can be pretty accurate. As for all the tests, think you don't worry so much. Listen to your doc for advise. Catherine has provide quite a good explanation for OSCAR and Triple Test. If you do the OSCAR at 11-14 weeks (usually 12 weeks), then you don't need to do Triple Test (at 16weeks). They both test for Down Syndrome. And, as what Catherine says, you don't actually have to do any of the tests if you don't want to. It's just to give you a risk assessment, especially if your age is high.

Normally they think that women above 35yrs have higher risk of having Down Syndrome baby. Which is why, I am now at 31yrs, my doc didn't insist that I do the test. He left it up to me to decide. I remember my aunt, last time when she was pregant, her doc insisted she do some tests, even amniocentesis cause she is close to 40 years old.

Doggy, I think you, Pinky and myself, we are all 31yrs old! I am also born in 1975. Hmm, perhaps Pinky's gynae is the more cautious kind, so he/she may ask Pinky to do the tests.

Actually, all clinics and hospitals will let you know about the tests available. It's really up to the mother to decide whether you want to do or not. I read in some other thread a mum-to-be did the OSCAR even though she is only 28yrs old. So, maybe if you are the "playsafe" type, or you just want to have peace of mind, then you can do the tests.

* Catherine lee - Thanks for the clarification. So the two test measures the same thing? Or is it different? How come at 20 weeks, still need to do another test.

Hope that your dream will come true for a little baby girl. How old are yr two boys? Is it true that mother's body will only "fully recover' after 2 years before going for the next bb? Can share yr experience with me? Hee...I told Hubby must try to close the factory before hitting that x age.

Hi Catherine, congrats on your 3rd one. Wow, must be pretty tough to have 2 boys and be pregnant huh.

I hope you get your wish to have a girl
There are a lot of old wives tales around about the sex of the baby. I heard before about the complexion one. Seems that mother will have bad complexion, if girl, cos the girl must be pretty. Then last nite, my doc said it's the other way around, cause if you have boy, the level of testosterone (male hormone) will be higher. Well, but I think no truth in it lah..

Another one which I somewhat believe is the shape of the stomach. I think if you have a boy, the stomach will be sharper, more protuding. For girl, stomach is rounder, not so sharp.

aiyoh, the clinic girls forgot to call me back to tell me the results of my Oscar test, which i did on Sat... got me worried yesterday. they just informed. my risk assessment is 1/9007. phew.

bb at 13+ weeks is 7cm already! my hubby kept measuring that using his fingers... according to the book, now the womb is growing from plum size to grapefruit size! no wonder i'm left with just 2 pants that i can fit into! time to go shopping this weekend!

hi , mummies ,

taysetsuri..
the oscar test and triple blood test uaually are tested on the same thing which is down syndrome. the test which is done at 20 weeks is called a detailed scan which it is more result positive and it checks all parts of baby's organs and etc ... but the detailed ultrasound scan is much cheaper , its about hundred plus bahz as i done it at TMC . so maybe that is more detailed lor ... & it is "a" must to do the detailed scan . , my 2 boys , 1 is 4 yrs old , the other is 17 months . actually , i am not quite sure about how fast our body will recover after a delivery , but i think its not so true la . jus that during confinement , muz really take good care and do a proper confinement to avoid all sickness and illness when next time grow old . & this is very true .. although i am not very experience la , cos i am aso a blur blur sotong as i am only 25 yrs old tis yr . i only hear wat other says lor then get a bit of experience .
& i can say at this forum , can really learn a lot of things and can gain lots of experience too .

autum ,
thanks for ur opinion & advise .
i dun dare think too much , otherwise wait my dreams will be trash . (hee) wait till i go for ultrasound scan on my 16 weeks then i let u all know the gender okie ??? really hope that time will pass faster leh .......

hey can i check with u girls if u know whether down syndrome is genetic? i know chances of getting a downs baby increases with age.. but if there is a case in ur family (my uncles's son was a downs baby).. so what are my chances of baby havingd own syndrome? How about abnormalities like cleft lips.. isit genetic as well? in which week will u be able to detect this abnormalities??(my hubby's cousin has this condition).. now i so worried.. cause it seems like both side of our family have problems.

Mar bride and pinoopy, we are all so poor thing....if i vomit out my dinner then i will feel hungry and next morrning got gastric. So weak and helpless...

my gynae in HK says bnetter don take anti-ms pill because not conclusive that it is harmless but i really cannot survive without them. i will jump off a building man....so i will take my chance. U girls not taking anti-ms pills?

I don believe that after 1st tri will not have nausea anymore....seems like 2nd tri is not as rosy as depicted. BUt like hope that we will be better soon and can enjoy good food and be fat pregnant women ha ha.....

Hi Autumn,
yeh my gynae quite cautious, she has already brief us these test from very early stage. If im not wrong, triple test is the old form of test which is abt 70% accurate whereas oscar combines 2 tests - serum from blood + NT scan (neck thickness) which is 90% accurate. So if you do oscar, no need to do triple. the next test will be detailed scan at 20th week to check whether bb is physically ok.
hey starfruit,
from wat i read, down syndrome is mostly due to genetic reasons or age. As for cleft, not sure but could be things we eat, cos gynae said try not to eat too much vit A from food like liver or carrot.
hey veryberry
congrats for the good news!

hi doggymar
yes im born in 1975.
hey bellepepper,
my appetite of cos reduced a lot, lost 3kg. sometimes a bit giddy giddy. sometimes i wonder why some women get ms and some dun, is it because we are weaker? eating and finding food i want to eat is difficult, drinking water even more difficult, cannot drink coffee, tea, cold drinks like barley, grass jelly, lemon tea...all my favourite.