(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Starfruit,

You mean during the before go in class and coming out time ar? Today feels especially chaotic leh. Dunno why.

Swmom,

YT on the other hand is quite slack in class. Most of the time she is happy to just sit in my lap and suck thumb. LOL. Ask her to do actions always half a beat slower. People finish liao then she slow slow start. Ask her go and catch the zoo bag, she suck her thumb harder. No wonder my sis complained she non-interactive in class.

SQ,
Yes, I'm no stress at all cuz YT slack, I also slack. LOL. Just now she build her own slide with the rainbow doodle box and a stool then kept performing slide downs on it for us to see.

SQ: surprisingly rae adapted quite well to the class.. she especially likes to site on the little chair and table to do the project and the dance/music section.. dunno if she likes the zoophinics part though cos hb took over then. i will observe again next week.

starfruit,

Is it? I dun think my class got any accidents. Only YT. Cuz YT upend the cup after I put in the dye and the marcoroni flew all over the table. She got impatient cuz the teacher din give us the tape in time and decide to upend the whole thing when I refused to let her shake it. :/ After I tape up the cup for her, she dun want it liao! Sigh... but none of us got blue dye on our fingers though. The mummies are very careful cuz teacher warns us that it can't be washed off for days.

mejo
that's creativity

SQ,

Yar lor, supposed to add colour. Cuz maybe plain macaroni too plain??? Dunno. In any case, YT din want the maracas as soon as I sealed it up. :/

mejo: the reason given to us for colouring the macaroni blue was because we use yellow cellophane paper, as cover, so when u look thru the yellow cellophane, the blue becomes green. the kids learn that Blue + yellow = green. u did not get this in ur class?

Mummies, hb kept telling me that he is worried that ah bian still cant addr papa and mama. But ah bian can say alot of other words like No water, star(in chinese), walk walk(in chinese), No more etc.....instead this time, im not so worried abt ah bian's speech as i can see that he is pronoucing words like tomato, banana, strawberry slowly...

I told hb every child is different. I rather my child progress slow and steady where i can see the development well for him. I dun wish to stress the poor little boy just b cos other children can start walking at 10mths, start talking ard 15mths...etc. I told hb if he is sooo worried then bring ah bian to see pd since we hv not bring ah bian for his 18mths booster jab + assessment.

bbmarch,

If Ah bian can pronounce three syllabus words then he is very good already! YT still can't pronounce three syllabus words even though she can address everybody in the family. Different children just learn differently. YT also dun start off calling papa and mama which logically should be the first few words that they learn to use. Ask your hb to look at the health booklet. Average age for bbs to know and use 3 other words regularly aside from mama and papa is 21 mths!

bbmar
Fabien is good! can pronunce 3 syllabus words! Jo's starting to talk a few words here and there, more gaggle and babble lah

Mejo, hb is concerned cos ah bian just refused to addr papa and mama. He can call MIL "nai nai" which i think is alrite. To me, if a child is mute or autism then he wont even mumble words. Instead the child will just remain so quiet and just yell at things he want. I hv a colleague whose hb started toking at 5yrs. So when her only son refused to tok at 1yr, she immediately sent him to see specialists at KKH then sign up special courses for him. Wasted so much $$ and in the end, her son officially started talking when he was ard 3yrs. From then now, her son tok non-stop!!!

This is one case which makes me not so worried abt ah bian cos both hb and myself started talking ard 16mths....so i guess ah bian might start toking when he almost 2yrs.

bbmar
i would consider that ah bian has started talking now that he has started to articulate more difficult words and can express some of his needs one way or the other.

pax, ya i oso think so. heee... so jo is slower than Mattew in terms of speech? My mum told gals usually can speak earlier as compared to boys.

bbmar
it really depends. supposedly girls shld be earlier, but not true in Jo or Leia's case leh. M and Jo r vv opp.

M's speech was def more adv at 18mo, could already speak in quite fluent Mandarin. Jo's motor skills r way in adv of her peers. dun forget she started walking before she turned 11mo and now she's running and jumping (M only started jumping 2.5yo). my friends who saw her today at a baby shower party, said she's vv well-built, look like 2yo but jus dun have the height. her speech is mostly in mandarin (which her lao shi said is the best way to start) and u have to catch her talking in mandarin. those words she knows how to say r mixed with her gaggles and babbles. she knows more than she can vocalise.

Pax,

I also got the feeling that physically advanced babies tend to be slower in speech? YT I feel is also more physically advance but speech wise is slow. Physically advance as in she can climb here climb there and go up and down small number of steps with no support.

pax, bbmar and who else still ard? i'm here too.. pumping for ayden cos he's not awake yet.. :p he's been sleeping for longer and longer periods of time.. i wonder why..

mejo
YT can go down the steps w/o support? Jo can go up on her own, but not down. i suppose she can, but she would hold the sides to go down slowly.
yes, to ans ur qn, can't have the best of both worlds mah

bbmouse,

If he is sleeping for longer and longer periods at night then it is GOOD! Means he is starting to differentiate between night and day. A good start to sleeping through.

bbmouse
sleeping longer, bcos he's well-fed! no need to worry at all!
is Ayden full time on ebm? r u latching? not supplementing right? dun let him sleep too much and miss his feeds in the day. go on demand after midnite. wake him up abt 11pm for a last feed, then let him sleep. think he can last till 4-5am at least.

Pax,

YT can go down better than she can go up. But only for the two steps in the middle of my living room but not the long flights. She is very cautious and will hold on with both hands to the rails or hold on of my hand for the longer steps. She can just walk down barely even looking to see where's she is going! Quite scary to watch her go down the steps like that though.

pax: yah the f1 was def very exciting.. conspirarcy theory #1: alonso's win was in a way due to his team mate's car crashing!!! hahaha!!

pax: still tbf at the moment.. no stress now cos when he sleeps for longer, this means no pressure that he needs to be fed! kekeke..
ayden is only slightly over 1 week old. he can sleep from 11pm to 4-5am?

mejo: he can also sleep for up to 3hrs or more in the day leh..

mejo
ur place is like my mom's place. split level betw dining and living areas. jus 3 steps. those 3 steps, she can go down on her own, but usually holding the walls, bcos that's how my parents taught her to go down. they dun wan to get heart attack everytime she goes down those 3 steps. the longer flights, she's more cautious and would call for us, but we also dun leave her on her own upstairs lor.

bbmouse
agree on that part, if no accident, no safety car, alonso wouldn't have won.

conspiracy #2: wat goes round comes round. in the end, hamilton did not lose much despite losing the appeal last monday. 3 more races to go and the championship is still open.

i think Ferrari need to get the team in order again. wat a pit stop Massa had.

pax, ah bian too oso speak more in mandarin. Surprisingly, we only used a few english words on him yet he could understd the instructions we gave him sometimes. So i can say ah bian is progressing well but slow. rite?

bbmouse
M could last fr 10pm to 2:30am, then to 7am. it's possible. by 5 weeks, he was already sleeping 11pm to 7am. For M, he was a classic GF baby and fed well. in the day, he drank well and enuf to last. Ayden might be the case.

bbmouse,

Wah, that's a bit long wor. GF said must wake bb for feed at 2.30 am if weight is 3.2 kg and 3.30 am if between 3.2 - 3.6kg if last feed at night is 10 - 11pm.

mejo: i think baby's motor skills can be trained. as in, if they're given the opportunity to do a certain physical activity many times, thry will learn to do it.. sometimes the caregiver is too cautious which can slow down the baby's physical developments.. actuaaly same applies for their intellectual developments...

pax: how can i tell if a baby is jaundiced?

bbmar
why u say ah bian is slow? def not. i would say his development is age-appropriate. cannot compare with Anna or veryberry's YY, who r really adv. among his peers, i would say ah bian is def doing all right. be encouraged.

can only say Massa is SUAY! really bo pian. Alonso had blazing times during practice sessions, but jus SUAY that his car failed on him at Q2 yday. what goes round comes round, i feel he deserves to win.

Pax,

Most of the time YT will hold on to the arm chair just below the steps to come down cuz no walls for her to hold, only cupboard on one side and arm chair on the other. But if she got things in her hands then she will walk down freely. So far she has yet to slip up in going up and down the stairs although there are a few heart stopping moments when she push a toy or chair over and near fell over with it. There was only once when she turned too fast away from her toy container (we accidentally left it too near to the steps) and flew down the two steps.

mejo: for the last 2 nites, he woke up only once throughout the nite and that is at the 3am period. so he'll sleep from 11 plus to 3am, then after that he'll wake up at 6am plus.. he's abt 3.4kg bhah i gather.

pax: yah man.. that was such a disaster. dunno what went wrong though.. david coultard's wasn't too good either.. lost him a podium stand win! :p his girlfriend is very georgeous!

bbmouse,

Agreed. There was once a grandma commented to my MIL that YT is very advanced for her age, can already walk around on her own but both her grandchildren at 2 plus still need carrying around. MIL saw the maid carrying a tod. I think, they simply carry around the kids so much they refused to learn to walk! Last time I free only will bring YT on long walks to ensure that she can walk for long periods of time on her own!

pax, tks for the advice. I shld be happie to see ah bian is progressing well. Ya I agreed...Massa is suay tonite but Alonso does deserves the credit for winning the race.

pax: i also feel alonso deserves the win...

overall, this grandpix didn't disappoint the audience.. it has everything that could go wrong for the drivers despite good weather conditions.. kekekek...

ayden has been fed and has fallen asleep.. me shd be going off soon.. got to get ready for him to wake up at abt 3am..

bbmouse
oh Nico Rosberg is damn good looking wor!
ahaha, i'm spot on! Ayden is like M leh. go on demand for the feed after midnite. cont to wake him for a feed at 11pm. u shld go read ur GF book liao.. i think Ayden would be like M