(2006/11) November 2006 MTBs

Bearyhugs,
I think Mei Lik is busy cos she has not been coming in for a while liao... I'm also waiting for her to send me my gal's montage...

I got my slings yesterday... but the size is wrong.. so went to change.. but got to take another design cos if not got to back order again...
I seems to have problem wearing the slings leh... how you wear the slings har? if it the front carry?
I so clumsy leh... :p

my gal went for her 2nd dose of her 5-in-1 jab.... a bit cranky these 2 days.. haiz... I also down with cough and hubby also done with flu.....cos I spread to him.. :p so tired.....
anyone taking the optional jabs? rotavirus, pneunomocal (dunno spelling), etc?
dun feel like letting my gal take leh..

hi,elmo
which sling u refering to maybe i can help u i mean teach u to use the sling cos i got 2 type 1 is the ring and another is lucky baby sling if u live near me i can come over teach u.

hi pauline,
good job for the compilation.. all the babies are so adorable!!

I'm also staying at block 385.. same as nov mum =) 3 of us can have a mini-bukit gombak gathering first..heehee

here's ashley in her stroller

720888.jpg

adding my boy to the list...there's THREE Caydens here!!

Gingercat (Ignatius @ 18/10/2006)
dumbger (Cayden @ 28/10/2006)
Jalinetdc (Nouvelle @ 30/10/2006)
mrspiggy (Rui chuan 1/11/06)
JovialGer (Cayden & Jaydon @ 1/11/2006)
twendy (Lorraine @ 1/11/2006)
bbroom (Ashley @ 04/11/2006)
June2006 (Sammie @ 06/11/2006)
Nov mum (Wayne @ 07/11/2006)
PPP (NianQi @08/11/2006)
Doggymum (Alyssa 10/11/06)
babyblush (Chloe 10/11/06)
mycrysania (Corum @ 11/11/2006)
pa&ma (hayley @ 11/11/2006)
Smiley74 ( Nicole 12/11/06)
Mousy_pig (Kaitlyn @ 13/11/2006)
Apple (Avril @ 13/11/2006)
Stacey (Brandon @ 15/11/2006)
rkjk (Ryan @ 17/11/2006)
Momo (Lexi @ 20/11/06)
Karin(Gabrielle @ 20/11/2006)
starmoon (Megan @ 21/11/2006)
xiaoyang (Zhi Yo @ 22/11/06)
babygal_1(kenise@ 22/11/06)
Gan (Hayley @ 26/11/2006)
Pauline (Cayden 26/11/2006)
Straw_berry (Owen 3/12/2006)
Bearyhugs (Zavier 3/11/2006)
elmo (Kate 6/11/2006)

elmo

i might be letting gabby take pneumoccocal cos my doc recommended it but quite ex and needs 4 dosage...each dosage $170...my fren's son also took but she let him take at 6 months so only need 2 jabs

Elmo,
Erm, the hotsling that you've gotten, u can just download the video from the website to see how you should wear it. I'm still using the front carry position but my boy would look quite squashed each time I put him in. He enjoys being in it n can always fall asleep in it. Now tat he's just turned 4 months, I started carrying him in the hip position.

bbroom~

Cheers! PM anytime you feel like meeting.. I wonder if we ever pass by each other before hor? Walking pass each other without knowing! I very seldom bring my cayden down. Only once or twice..

mine's too! :D

PPP (NianQi @08/11/2006)
rkjk (Ryan @ 17/11/2006)
Momo (Lexi @ 20/11/06)
elmo (Kate 6/11/2006)
greybearie (Bjorn @ 21/10/06)

mt boy who has been sleeping thru the nite for the past month (7.30pm - 6.60am with a 9.30pm feed in between) suddenly woke up this morning at 4 am wailing to be fed!! Then he woke up again at 7.40am and had another feed. I wonder if this means that his days of sleeping thru are over or maybe it's a sign that my milk ss is dwindling and he's not getting enough during the day? anybody been thru this? any way i can ensure he can continue to sleep thru?

babygal,
I'm using the hotsling.. something like the lucky baby sling.... just another brand.
Thanks for your offer.. I stay pasir ris leh... you near?

bearyhugs,
I looked liao.. but still feels not right le....
I tried the front carry position but before i put my gal in, she already started crying... think this mummy very chor lor... she very unhappy. :p
my gal head still not stable yet leh.. so dun dare to use the hip carry.....haiz! maybe I try again tonight....
must make it work man.. if not waste a lot of money if my gal dun like.

Momo, my gal also managed to sleep thru the night.. but once is a blue moon.. might wake up to feed.... it could be that they are experiencing growth spurt... and they need more... our body wil adjust the supply accordingly... so not to worry.... unless something is causing your supply to dip... (like stress, sickness, etc)....sometimes could be a one-off thing where she just wants more lor...
so dun worry too much now... wait a few more days....

Karin, wah! $170 per jab? so ex ah!

elmo, i told u liao already right... our bbies seem too big for the front carry.... wait till yours is abit more stable then u can try the hip carry. my elder son is still happy with the hip carry at 2 yrs old. for pneumococcal, if your bb is not going to infant care, then maybe can delay taking the jab? only 1 jab is needed for above 2 yrs old. i m still thinking to let my elder son take or not cos i m sending him to playgroup soon...i heard that it is very painful.. but then again, pneumoccocal affects younger children more... it is up to you loh.

for rotavirus, if u want to take, have to take now cos above 24 weeks cannot take liao. i let my girl take it. my elder son last time ganna once when he was abt 14 mths old and it was very bad.... the virus was so potent that the whole family ganna... then my sis who was at my place for a visit also ganna, together with 2 of her children. i find that although it is just stomach flu, it can be quite serious, esp if your child cannot stomach anything, incl medcine... then gotta admit hospital for drip.

wow...really sooo many pic of babies...cute cute.

Thanks Pauline for the afford.

Xiaoyang,

My baby also got no christain name...let her choose herself when she grow up.

momo & karin,

My baby refuse to drink milk the whole day of sat and her intake is about 8ozs only! I couldn't sit down there and wait anymore so brought her to PD on Sun, accoding to PD,her gum swollen and her stomach full of wind plus a bit nose block...all these made her refuse to milk...after taking medicine, now her intake become normal...medicine like "sian tan" leh.
after half and hour of taking, she can drink liao....what a release!

Karin & Momo,

Hi Karin, my PD oso charging SGD 170/jab. Hayley took her first jab together with her 6-in-1 2 weeks ago. Though expensive no choice cos her cousin in childcare and always come home to my MIL after childcare and touch her hug her kiss her..scarry..so i quickly let her have her jab early.

However, if ur bb dun come in contact with many kids den perhaps u can delay abit in the jab..so can save abit..like wat ur frds did..take after 6 mths.

PPP (NianQi @08/11/2006)
rkjk (Ryan @ 17/11/2006)
Momo (Lexi @ 20/11/06)
elmo (Kate 6/11/2006)
Peng (Yuheng @ 6/11/20006)

Hey, I've added mine.. Thks.
PPP (NianQi @08/11/2006)
Pisces (Angus @ 11/11/2006)
rkjk (Ryan @ 17/11/2006)
Momo (Lexi @ 20/11/06)
elmo (Kate 6/11/2006)

jannie,
aiyoh....... I want to do front carry leh.. cos I wan to use it to bf one leh....oh dear....
but bearyhugs can do it leh....

I intend to send my gal to playgroup when she turns 18 mths leh....
painful? oh dear... my gal now seems to know go clinic must jab liao... sat before the doc even jab her.. she cry liao... very heart pain.....cos she seldom cry like that one...
which jab they say will cause "Zhi Bi" one har?

Hi babygal_1, thanks for the advise. Maybe i'll try it since she's not getting any better. Can i give the liquid pink panadol instead? The one that pd gave for fever? Should be the same as pill form rite?

Have added in mine again since the name disappeared after the last post...

PPP (NianQi @08/11/2006)
Pisces (Angus @ 11/11/2006)
rkjk (Ryan @ 17/11/2006)
Momo (Lexi @ 20/11/06)
elmo (Kate 6/11/2006)
Hurray (Danessa 9/11/06)

elmo, my maid who is shorter than me could use my hotsling to front carry my girl.. maybe there's abit more cloth since my maid is shorter. i gave up trying to feed my girl in public liao.. she is also so kpo, she suckle for a while will unlatch and look ard... then latch again, suckle a bit then unlatch and look again.... *pengz*

that jab i think is MMR at 15 mths. but most kids are ok after taking it lah. just maybe a few days of uncomfort after taking the jab.

PPP. Xiao Yang,

My boy also doesn't have an English name. Le Xi is his Chinese name. Same as PPP, we'll let him choose his own English name when he grows up.

PPP,
So glad to hear that your baby's feeding well again. I just called TMC parentcraft to ask about weaning off bfg, and Mrs Wong told me that my boy is drinking too little. She said he should be easily drinking 150ml and above (he's very erratic, sometimes stop at 80ml, but usually drinks only about 120ml to 130ml)...She also said he should be doing at least 3 hourly interval (he's now at 2 and a half to 3 hourly), feels like everything is wrong... :p Also asked her about him waking up for middle of nite feed after sleeping through for the past month and she said he's hungry, so have to increase the feed amount. Dunno how to since he always wails when we try to feed him more...sigh...

Another question for mummies here. What do you do with your babies during the day? I mean apart from playing with them, putting them on the bouncer, and giving them some tummy time. I find that I'm running out of things to do with him... :p Feel a bit guilty because I'm like always wishing that he would sleep more (but at the same time afraid that if he sleeps too much during the day, he will not sleep well at night) so that I can get more time to do my own stuff...sigh, I'm really quite useless mother, half the time clueless about how to take care of baby...
Plus have no one to ask cos my mum passed away one and a half years ago and my MIL is no help at all. Feel very alone and isolated and tired sometimes. I

Momo~

Dun worry abt baby's activites during the day, cos they simply dunno what is 'bored'...
(That explains why kids can watch the same cartoon vcd/dvd, over and over again!)

For my son, i'm just guilty of letting him watch too much tv! Cos i'm busy with my stuff, nobody accompany him, then just let him lie on his bouncer and watch tv most of the time..

Not sure if any of you have observed the same thing:

During my confinement, one day I carried baby martin and it sounded 'crack', I was shocked and scared, I told my hubby, and he asked me to be calm. After we see nothing happen to baby (cry for pain etc.) I almost forgotten this incident. Until recently, sometimes when I lift him from baby cot, still has 'crack' sound. I myself always have such 'crack' recently (due to aging i supposed :p
) but to a young baby, it sounds impossible ler....but he still stay happily and smile a lot....
I should have asked GP when bring him for jab but I forgot (wat a lousy mum).
Any mummy also encounter this 'crack' from baby? Is it normal?

elmo
i live somewhere near bukit merah dun think can teach u liao.
hurray
yup it the same as the liquid wan u can try give abit lor btw my gal todae juz recover from the flu.
jannie
is the front carry position same as the kangaroo position u mention.

Momo,

Don't feel useless....we r all a great mum.

If u feel u have no one to check or ask, u can look for me, all mummies here too, we will try to help each other here.

Hi Pa&Ma-
Actually, I delivered in KL.

Hi Pisces-
Your baby also share the same birthday as Pa&Ma's Hayley and my boy

Momo-
Firstly, I would like to salute you for taking up the challenge of being a stay home mum! Don't think I can do it man... So, you are definitely NOT useless ok?

Maybe you can check out http://www.babycenter.com They have an activity list for different week our baby is at. You can also subscribe, and they will send you update every week, to tell you what to look out for... I have tried out some of their activities. And there's one that my boy love - 'Fly fly away!' Haha... he knows that when I lift him we will be playing that, and he will smile and smile.

Another suggestion is to get Baby Einstein VCDs/DVDs (or other VCDs of that sort). That can help you at least 25 mins. My boy can sit in his Bumbo and watch quietly. Don't get Language Nursery. Get the Baby Mozart and Baby Bach or Baby Beethoven.

I am also doing flashcards with my boy. That one probably can only help you take up 5-10 mins in a day though.

Hope the above suggestions help!

momo
dun feel sad sometime i also dun noe wat to play wif my gal but i am lazy at time so i put her to bed btw u can try talking to her so ur bb can learn to speak as well at the same time or read story to her as i also do the above to my gal btw r u a sahm.
If yes maybe we can come out and let our bb socialize at the same time.

PPP...

Thanks so much..
I've really learnt quite a lot from this forum. And sometimes I think it's wat's kept me sane so far... (think hubby will be insulted by this, but he keeps saying I worry too much, I think it's because he doesn't see certain things because he's not with baby the entire day....:p)

Mycrasania, Babygal,

No lah, not sahm. Actually supposed to go back to work this friday but last minute the aunty-in-law who is supposed to babysit my boy bailed out, so now looking for a babysitter, and am trying to apply for no pay leave till end April to make sure that I get a good one. I am torn between wanting to be a sahm and a working mum because would love to witness all the development of my boy, but at the same time want to be able to earn my own keep, and also think that staying at home has turned me totally paranoid, worry about this, that, everything. So think going back to work is perhaps much healthier for me and baby, and hubby... :p

BTW, Mycrysania, I also subscribe to babycenter. But haven't checked out the activity list yet...I should go and do that and try to spend more quality time with my boy before i return to work...am going to miss him sooo much since i've been with him everyday for the past almost four months...

Oic since u paranoid about all tis best is back to work or there will be friction in relation as saw alot of tis type of cases happening around me.
Btw wish u all the best in looking for a babysitter.

Momo

Me too going back to work soon...sure going to miss my bb though sometimes he gives me alot of headache...sometimes cried n cried dunno what he wants..especially these few afternoons very cranky...so difficult to feed him..so just 'dump' him into his cot n let him continue all his nonsense..in the end he will fall asleep...i guess he is tired..

Momo,

for me , l rather work then to be a stay home mum cos after staying at home for 3 months maternity leave, l think l will go crazy if staying at home whole day long..l think it depend on ur character also.

l ask my friend how she can tahan to stay at home to look after the 2 kid, now she got pregnant again. She mention her life is quite rountine, bring them to playground, school, lunch, teach them schoolwork, time realli pass very fast.if you think you are more happy to see ur kid moving every milestone, then it will be fun. If not..rather work and get paid and dun need to see hubby face ..hahahah

momo, sometimes me or my maid would put the bb in the stroller and push it ard to whereever and whatever we are doing.. like washing the dishes or hanging the laundry.. like that can talk to bb at the same time while doing housework.

bbgal_1, i m not sure how the kangeroo position is like. if u go to hotslings website, u will see how the front carrying position is.

Hi momo,

My baby has been taking care by a babysitter for a month plus already....so far so good! so there is still agood babysitter around...which part r u staying, maybe I can check with my babysitter see she got any friend interested....My babysitte is same age as me! She got three daughters and the youngest one already pri 4! mine just 4mths!

kelly,

i also heard the *crack* sound from my baby twice. My Hubby and me got so worried something was wrong but my gal didn't cry and was still smiling so i think it's ok.

I have a sling from Bayb. So far only managed to carry girl in cradle position. When I try to 'experiment' with other position, she will protest and I also very scared might drop her.

My ultra modern mum says I look like 'Kampong Woman' with the sling and refuse to use it! Lucky baby sling looks more hip!

Momo,

I agree with what the LC says. That baby is not drinking enough in the day that's why they wake up at night.

My gal can also sleep thru when i was on maternity leave and ensured she drank enough in the day.

But i realise that when i go back to work, my MIL is not able to feed her enough in the day cos my gal always struggle at the bottle nowadays. Becos of this, she wakes up frequently at night. Although very tired, but i think just have to *tong* for these 2 months until she start on solid. Whenever she wakes up, i will breastfeed her since she is not drinking well from the bottle in the day. This is the only way i hope she drinks enough.

anyone here has 2 children and manage to wean your 1st child off breastfedding?

My gal was crying her head off yesterday night when i gave her a bottle for the nigh feed. She only stop wailing when i breastfed her.

The same thing also happen when i left here one night at my in-law's place. She cried so bad that my FIL called me over.

Just worried how do i wean her off in future?

Hi Mummies who are on bf,

Any idea how long can we store our warmed breastmilk before we need to throw away??
Cos my son seem to be taking lesser now and it always pain me to throw away the unconsume milk.

jannie, hahah.... she is curious mah... i wanted to buy the sling to feed my gal one leh... cos have problem bf in public... i thot that will help...

pauline, i thinking of starting her on half day first. then see how.... if I preggy again then wil put her on full day lah. :p
i think they will have frends to play with some have classes when they get a bit older.. i also not sure... cos will only look around next yr bah...

babygal, ya lor.. to far liao. :p
but thanks anyway for your offer.

poohger, after warming the milk, can only keep 1 hr...
maybe you try giving lesser... and if he seems hungry still then give more at the next session or when he cries for milk
my gal also tends to drink lesser during the morning.. so I give her lesser in the morning....

elmo,

yah, i also thought the sling can help me for bf, but realise it doesn't always work cos my baby too kpo, same as jannie's bb

Anyone started to feed yr bb with cereal? Noticed most cereal brands stated fm 6 months onwards, but friscocrem got cereal for 4 months and abv. Anyone tried that?
My gal is on total FM and thinking of letting her to try friscocrem cereal mixed with FM...