(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Hi hi all Apr mums, I have been MIA for a long long time as I have been busy with my project prior to my delivery ... and this thread is soooo active that I couldn't even catch up with the reading!!

So finally, managed to do some read up during my confinement *hee* Interesting happenings here...
Seems like a lot of ppl are naming their children Yu or Xuan. My bb daughter's is Yu3 Han2 too.

Hello Jasminetea, can help me to update the empty slots under my nick finally? *pai seh*
My bb's DOB=7 Apr, 0253am; name=Yu Han; weight=2980g. Thx!

Here are pics of winnie's bb:

413595.jpg

413596.jpg

Jumbo, try not to get overly anxious when your BB cries. Remember, we are our BB's protector and care-giver. What i have done is whenever BB cries, i will first check is it peeing or pooing, does BB needs to change pampers. Cause, my BB will cringe and make a little bit of noise when he poos or pees. Next is milk time - is it time for feeding? when all his physical needs are met and he is still crying, then will try to sing songs and cuddle him till he sleeps. Of course, every BB is a different individual. Try to monitor your BB's day patterns and work things out for the night issues.

Babe, must burp your baby regardless of FM or BM. My boy, if he never burps cannot sleep well, cause he will spit and make noises like keno choke like dat

anyone bb 3 weeks can fuss n feed for 7-10h without nap? my gal seems to have this prob starting noon. feed n sleep in arms..put in bed cry..sleep well at night for 6h followed by another 2.5h stretch.help i'm going nuts

babe

My bb also gets frightened and jump with legs and hands outstretched.. asked the doc.. and she said it is very normal for NB

Mine can also fuss n feed for this long.. starting evening time.. from 830 pm to 5 am! feed like on every hourly interval

Do you ladies tend to find many differences btw the way you and hb wants to handle the baby? Feeling quite upset as I seem to find fault with almost everything on how my hb handles baby.. I will just tell him off and want to do things my way.. like never give him face like that.. not good for our relationship in the long term

hunniepot, does this startling affect her sleep? when u say hourly, u mean the time btw u end feed till the start of the next feeding time? how long do u nurse? Mine not even got break from breast for 1h...y bb like that? how u manage?

Initially I also like u wif hb but now close one eye or juz talk nicely to him. discuss differences but muz admit sometimes i treat him a bit like maid to do wat i wan..i also muz change

babe

Hourly meaning.. the time the last feed ended to the time the 2nd feed starts... how about you? I nurse for very long ah! about 25 to 30 mins on each side.. very tiring... you doing TBF? latch on or EBM? Think bb is undergoing growth spurt.. thats why.. can last for a few days to a week.. from what I read.. each bb is different..

The startling does not affect my bb's sleep most of the time.. she will just continue to sleep after that.. yours? Think this is where the beansprouts pillows come in handy?

How I manage? Just feed when she wants to feed.. keep telling myself thats the best I can give her? Read this article and it helps to give me the perseverence to go on breastfeeding: http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/indexbreastfeeding.html - (He can't still be hungry.. he just ate!)

And I used to feed her using the cradle hold.. even during night feeds.. it is terribly tiring.. now Im doing it the lying down position.. and it helps lots.. cos it allows me to rest and sometimes I just fall asleep while bb suckles away

Yeah.. I am also treating him like a maid.. ask him to fetch this and that for me.. blah blah.. he has been a fantastic hb.. but I just cant agree with the way he handles bb.. just told him earlier that we must have a heart to heart talk.. let each other know of our expectations on how to handle bb.. and also our expectations of our ILs.. hopefully this will help.. cant go on like this.. it will definately put a heavy strain on the relationship

babe,
my CL told me tat's y bb's hands and legs muz bundle up n then try to let bb sleep @ side. It seemed to help for my little Xuan Ting as she's scared of the rainbow vacuum cleaner whenever my PTM or hb use it to clean hse.

<font size="+1">April 2006 MTB</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loving</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Johor Specialist Hospital</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bbtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr A.L. Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kokopooh</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jumbo</TD><TD>02/04/2006</TD><TD> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joan(Babe)</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr See Tho KY</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD>07/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hunniepot</TD><TD>08/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD> Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mochie</TD><TD>09/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Jeanette Chen</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Goh Sheng Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wishbear</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Phyllis Liawu</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shylyn</TD><TD>11/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Kee</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Lai </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Tan</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Y W Lim</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chenoa</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Vincent Lee</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ice</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>SGgal</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr SW Seng</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jade</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr HY Wee</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutecute</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhaocaimao</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr C W Fong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winne</TD><TD>22/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>DR KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBLim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evonlimsy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jilian </TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Telly</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1sttimemum</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Heng Tun Lan</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emon</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nana</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunshine Tay</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yukie</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr S H Kee </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snowy</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sponge</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adelene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shanti</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Sureh Nair </TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bubbles</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">Total No of Boys : 21</font>
<font color="ff0000">Total No of Girls : 24</font>

<font size="+1">We Are Born!</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>Baby's Name</TD><TD>Baby's Weight</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jumbo</TD><TD>02/04/2006</TD><TD> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>23 Feb 2006, 11.18pm</TD><TD>Nixon</TD><TD>3235g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hunniepot</TD><TD>08/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>21 Mar 2006, 11.57pm</TD><TD>Amanda</TD><TD>3100g</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>27 Mar 2006, 01.40pm</TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>2400g </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>30 Mar 2006, 10.11pm</TD><TD>Ruth</TD><TD>2690g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>31 Mar 2006, 03.22pm</TD><TD>Gladys</TD><TD>3405g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>02 April 2006, 10.05am</TD><TD>Ryan</TD><TD>2760g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>02 April 2006, 10.52am</TD><TD>Owen</TD><TD>2800g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>03 April 2006, 10.29am</TD><TD>Enya</TD><TD>2390g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kim Tan</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>03 April 2006, 12.31pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>04 April 2006, 05.16am</TD><TD>Yu En</TD><TD>2300g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>05 April 2006, 03.30pm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>06 April 2006</TD><TD>Jo</TD><TD>3000g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>07 April 2006, 02.53am</TD><TD>Yu Han</TD><TD>2980g </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>07 April 2006, 07:49am</TD><TD>Kai Jun</TD><TD>2900g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babe (Joan)</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>07 April 2006 11:33am</TD><TD>Keziah</TD><TD>3240g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ray</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>07 April 2006</TD><TD>Nicholas</TD><TD>2880g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>08 April 2006 10.52am</TD><TD>Ying Ham</TD><TD>2345g</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>08 April 2006 12:32pm</TD><TD>Jaslynn</TD><TD>3140g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jade</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>11 April 2006, 09.46am</TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>2790g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shylyn</TD><TD>11/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>11 April 2006, 09.57am</TD><TD>Ivec</TD><TD>2470g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evonlimsy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>11 April 2006, 03.36pm</TD><TD>Lim Xuan Ting</TD><TD>3660g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>11 April 2006, 06.21pm</TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>3430g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>11 April 2006, 08.16pm</TD><TD>Xue En</TD><TD>3035g </TD></TR><TR><TD>1sttimemum</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>12 April 2006, 10am+</TD><TD></TD><TD>2900g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>13 April 2006, 02.30am </TD><TD>Matthias</TD><TD> 3920g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheers</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>13 April 2006, 06.32am</TD><TD>Dylan</TD><TD>3130g</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bblim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>13 April 2006, 08.00am</TD><TD>Reanne</TD><TD>2600g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>13/06/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>13 April 2006,3.05am</TD><TD>Chanz</TD><TD>1630g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>13 April 2006</TD><TD>Josh</TD><TD>3660g</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>17 April 2006 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yukie</TD><TD>28/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>18 April 2006</TD><TD>Ashley</TD><TD>3460g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>18 April 2006</TD><TD>Elgin</TD><TD>3190g</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chenoa</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>21 April 2006, 11.30am</TD><TD>Yann Yen</TD><TD>2800g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winne</TD><TD>22/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>21 April 2006, 8.00pm+</TD><TD></TD><TD>3000g </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sponge</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>22 April 2006</TD><TD>Ariel</TD><TD>2630g</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

Hi Babe,
Me din deliberate regularise her feeding. She just get hungry about 4 hr intervals (end of feeding to start next feeeding). The first few days when I try to feed her at 2 or 3 hourly 'cos trying to let her suckle for milk supply, very diff. to get her open mouth. But now my breasts engorged 'cos enough milk for her but have to "reserve" for 4 hour. She can suckle very hard and fast. My nipples are now cracked and sore. I never exceed a feeding by 20 min. Usu, she done within 10min, sometimes only 5min. But my nipples are very short, she has great diif. to latch on. On a bad cycle, I can take 1 hr to feed, but only 10min is her suckling the rest of the time is spent on latching her on. Worse when she more keen on sleeping than milking.

Around 5am, my breasts are too full and milk leak. Quickly get her to suckle even though she just fed at 3.00pm, but she don't want. Think still not hungry. So, pump out my BM at 5.40am. She din't fall asleep after the disturbance. We coaxed her until she play with her tongue or turn her head towards the nipple (on either my chest or hubby's chest) then we gather that maybe now she's hungry, and bottlefeed her the EBM. Bottlefeed very fast. She finish 3 oz in less than 10min. (I separate into 3 portios of 1 oz 'cos not sure if she can finish all in one go...dun wanna waste excess milk in the bottle.) I use Pigeon....she takes to it well and so for the last 2 oz, I let daddy feed her...I just lie down and watch.

She's sleeping now....next feed suppose to be 11.30am. let's see if she wakes up punctually again....

She gets the startling too, but most of the time she continues her sleep. I din use any pillow on her stomach. Just cover her nice and cosy in blanket.

But my gal is quite weak leh....hachiu hachiu a lot. The room also not cold, aircon at 27degC a bit stuffy stuffy like that, she also hachiu. (sigh)

Is ur bm oily? I observed tt e bottles r really oily everytime after feed. Not too sure whether it's becos of e food i ate or becos i consume fish oil pills. Any of u eating e fish oil pills &amp; also hv oily bm?

Shylyn
Ya, think bm is oily. Everytime after I pump and wash the funnels (which are used to cup the breasts), I always feel the funnel plastic really oily, so no choice got to wash with baby dish detergent...

hunniepot, me end feed start feed can b 30 min apart in afternoon.siong. btw, how u know how long to nurse. me also nurse v long like u. sometimes try take out when she fall asleep n she cry. sometimes dun feel like burp her coz wake her up then waste effort..I also drect latch

chenoa, u lucky gal, think us younger than mine some more. Tough to get my gal sleep long. even burping can wake her up...wonder y she always not full. Bottle feed wont get nipple confusion?

babe

Mine sometimes also like that.. 30 mins apart.. do you nurse on both sides at one time? I only nurse on one side at night nowadays.. too tired to offer her both sides and I dont end up burping her at night as I fall asleep even she finish feeding.. how many times you latch her on nowadays? How long has she been so cranky?

babe.. so long as you direct latch on since the very beginning.. at least for the first few weeks.. then you intro bottle teats.. slowly.. but not too often.. think she should not have nipple confusion..

Chenoa,
i think your bb's sneezing is b'cos she try to clear her nose. You might want to check her nose and clean her with a cotton bud. My girl also like that. She dun sneeze so much after cleaning.

Babe,
I think bb do get nipple confusion. My girl change the way she latch on after I start bottle feed her. She dun open her mouth so big anymore but just want to suck the nipple. Now my nipples are sore.

Shylyn,
BM is oily. We also transfer some of our body fats to our bb so that they can grow and gain weight.

same here ... nite feed usually one side she'll sleep...it's my afternoon go crazy... u also ah...me feel more comforted got ppl in same shoes...how long did urs last? she off n on cranky...think i juz geting too tired n feel each day get worse...

babe

I know.. my girl is coming to 6 weeks liao.. and think she has this growth spurt thingie serveral times already.. was so tired initially esp at night.. and ended up giving her a bottle of FM on several occasions.. regretted doing so.. as she she doesnt poo as much.. so now I just nurse whenever she wants to feed.. I stop looking at the clock while nursing her (time seems to pass easier this way) and let her nurse as long as she wants on each side.. and I also stop counting the no of times she feeds a day.. just go thru motion.. and I dont feel so tired! Still tired but not as draining as b4..

Yah, I also stop looking at the time and learn how to look at my baby face instead for feeding time. I let him latch on as long as he likes and he will automatic unlatch when he got enough. The problem is that I am always feeding him one side only and I dunno if I am doing the correct thing. He will refuse the other side when he has enough.

My bb feeding time can range from 10 minutes to an hour for each feed.

Winnie,
your gal gal got name already? My hubby see her photo posted by hunni and he says she takes after her father...very chubby cheeks!

thks for ur support..me also today feed one side end up she naps only 35-45min...once diapers wet, she cries. wonder how u know she hasenough of 1 breast? sometimes she juz stop suckles n sleeps.

maraquan, u mean ur bb feed on 1 breast for 1h?

hunniepot,how long does ur bb growth spurts days last? So common n den have 2 c doc on the cluster feeding ya?

babe

what do you mean by cluster feeding?

Eh.. it depends actually.. hers is about 3 to 4 days.. the PD I went to advised me to feed on 1 side until it is completely empty (when it is completely soft) so that she will take in the max amt of hind milk (which is higher in fats) so she will feel full for a longer period.. if you switch her accordingly to the timing.. she might have more foremilk than hindmilk so she might wake up more often and demand for milk..

Babe,
as long as she shows signs of stopping to suckle, I will tickle her chin or neck. Sometimes, they are tired and will rest a bit between each burst. If my gal has enough, she will purse her lips and turn her mouth away from the nipple even when you put it to her lips. I feed her only one breast at a time also. Don't offer 2nd breast unless 1st breast is empty 'cos there a difference in the foremilk and hindmilk nutritional content.

Right now, my pump supply is about 90ml/breast/feed(every 4 hr), but she will suckle probably like 60ml (estimate only lar...cos she doesn't totally empty my breasts like the pump.)By simple calculation, each day she takes about 360ml.

PD recommends (15ml x weight)/feed(every 3 hr), total 360ml which corresponds quite closely to my gal's intake.

Hope this helps you.

cluster feeding as in frequent feedings with little breaks...

so u gals brought bb to c pd due to the fuss n feeding ah...thks for sharing the advice...

Maraquan, how often u pump? b4 or after feed?

hunniepot, u express to store too?

RE: Oily BM
Thks Tracy &amp; Terrier for e clarifications. However, my sil's bm wasn't oily leh..so my mil commented whether it's becos she's using a lot of sesame oil for cookingg my food as she didn't use much during her daughter's confinement.

RE: foremilk &amp; hindmilk
Oh dear..in my case, i expressed my bm for my bb..thus e nutritional content will be mixed up right? Beside, everytime i expressed, it's around 300ml &amp; bb is only able 2 drink at most 100ml at a time, thus will he get e nutrional value in one feeding?

babe

I dont express and store.. how about you? Prefer to latch on.. unless bb only suckles on 1 breast.. then I will pump and store if the other side feels full and uncomfortable

Latch on certainly saves trouble. Heehee..but trying everyday to store some coz going back to work in 3 mths...sianz...5plus i express after my feed, only get 30ml...so low compared by 4 am 110ml. One day at most I get chance to express 2-3 times coz of her odd schedule. Dunno when she wanna eat. Then if she wanna eat straight after I express, stress dunno enough or not..

Today I tried ur advice of feeding one breast till she dun wan b4 offer the other..somewhat at least she sleeps 30-45 min after that or otherwise play around 30min...some break finally..

Btw, juz wanna ask u gals wat time do u usually bath/sponge ur bb each day? wonder if it affects her sleep pattern.

tks for all the advise and info. I had given birth via c-sec on 26 April to my little boy Kevan. He is @ 3.55kg

babe

Yeah.. latch on definately saves trouble.. very troublesome to have to sterilise the bottles, wash them and heat them up.. same case also.. if my bb empties both breasts.. and I try expressing right after.. can only get about 30 to 50 ml.. think it will take time for the flow to increase..

I bathe my bb at different hours.. not very good.. most of the time in mid afternoon..

jumbo

Hey.. are you still feeding Nixon similac infant formula? How much are you getting each can of 900g for? I itchy hands, bought 1 tin of 900g.. confirm cant finish (didnt know have to discard the FM if unfinished after 4 weeks).. cos I cant even finish 1/2 tin of 400g in 4 weeks.. can I sell to you if you dont mind? Can pass it to you when I go back to my mum's place over the next few weeks?

chenoa,
ya...my gal oso "hachiu" alot...and we normally put the air-con at 26 or 27 degree...

the worst is...my gal had fever for about 3 days...really scare us....her fever till 39.4 degree....but now recover already....thanks god...

Chenoa,
Ur gal got very beautiful eyes! she loks like u more i think? Ya got a name for my gal liao (Toh shu Han shervil). Ya loh everybody oso commented dat she looks like hubby! MIL said she looks exactly like hubby when young!

Ladies here is my birth story:-

21 Apr
0400 - 0800hrs
Happen to feel some discomfort &amp; cramp but stil bearable &amp; able to slp thru so tot it's fa;se alarm again!

0900 -1000hrs
woke up by the cramp went to toilet &amp; saw some discharge wif some blood stain! Call gynae but he's away for seminar &amp; was told to get admitted but i scare false alarm so gynae's asst told me to be at his clinic by 1200noon.

1215hrs
Reach gynae's clinic he did a quich chk on cervix &amp; was told dat dilated to almost 3cm. So gynae told his asst to prepare he letter of admission &amp; ask me to get admitted immediately &amp; confirm will deliver by tonite!

1230 - 1430hrs
Told hubby dun feel like admitted so early! so we went shopping @ Junction &amp; went to Mac Donald's went to NTUC to do some last min shopping! Den felt like the cramp &amp; back &amp; leg a bit numb liao! So hubby said better get admitted!

1500 - 1800hrs
Reached Mt A &amp; was refered to delivery suite was asked to changed to hospital gown &amp; given enema o clear my bowels &amp; as usual loh was asked some medical questions blah blah abt 15mins later went to toilet &amp; was strapped on CTG after dat! Gynae came abt 1745hrs did a cervix chk again only dilated 1cm gynae bursted my waterbag @ 1800hrs &amp; was put on drip &amp; given some water. Was told by Gynae i'll deliver b4 mid-nite! so he went for his nite clinic &amp; was told he'll be bk by 2000hrs.

1900 - 2030hrs
Felt the contractions gettng stronger &amp; stronger but still berable so the nurse came in to chk the drip &amp; increased it &amp; ask whether i 1 epidural or any jab i said no laughing gas will do! Abt 20mins later almost cant take it lio &amp; ask for a jab on my thigh but dun think it helps leh! Jus keep on breathing the gas until i almost knock out den feel a very sharp pain &amp; feel like passing motion so hubby went out to call the nurse! when the mid-wife came by to chk &amp; said dat can see bb's head leh so ask the nurse to call gynae! But was no allowed to push even got the urge to push cos gynae not here yet &amp; within 15mins gynae arrive he performed episotomy &amp; wif 3 pushes my gal is born!

Winnie,
More like me meh? Dunno leh....Some say YY looks like her dad, some say like me. She now a bit fatten up.

I like her best when she's sleeping....so tranquil and she will break a smile (tou xiao) occasionally. Do your babies tou xiao also?

YY enjoys bathing after a fulfilling feed. She will close her eyes and sleep throughout the process, obivious to me wiping her face or shampooing her head and washing her body. My MIL finds it amusing that YY can sleeep during bathing, She machiam enjoying a shampoo in the saloon and soak in the spa.... hahahaha.

chenoa, ur gal realy an angel. I am starting to question if i haf enuf milk. dunno izzit not enuf rest as no cl. she like nv satisfied. need to feed few times. how u know u got enuf milk? how long per feed/per breast?

hunniepot, i try to shower my gal at fixed time.

gals, u got experience u nurse until bb sleep or spit out nipple? lost nipple after burping like suddenly wake up n start cry n search for nipple? izzit she not full? how to avoid being treated like pacifier?

babe

Think it is not cos you dont have enough milk.. I also questioned myself when my bb kept crying for milk every hourly during her growth spurt.. but once I realised that it is growth spurt.. I could handle her better.. (mentally) just monitor and see how? Being tired and having not enough rest will hinder the flow.. perhaps in this case.. you may want to feed FM at night and have a good night rest? Thats what I did during the first growth spurt that I encountered.. moreover you dont have CL.. who else helps you look after your girl?

So long as your bb pees and poos oftem enough.. it is a sign that she has enough.. and another sure sign that she has enough milk is to weigh her.. the nurses told me that a weight gain of 900 g to 1 kg is average for babies in the 1st month of life...

gee..my gal from start of feed to another start of feed can b 45min..then juz now almost sleeping she pooed, after change diapers cry..now back on feed in 10 min...coping on my own..sometimes mil help carry...my mum cooks for me..

how long per feed/per breast? i dunno when breast empty coz dun feel engorged...breast like not v hard at all.

babe

My breasts also like not hard leh.. dont feel engorged at all also.. but then after baby suckles for like even 45 mins.. still can squeeze out milk from my that breast..

I feed on one side till baby spits out nipple.. or until she falls asleep..