(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi Tingting, wendyg, prissy,

How to sleep train? CIO? other than that, any other way? cause we tried it before and it just doesn't work for us. possible to do it now, when they're two? somemore now i'm pregnant, due in october, and my girl starting school this week. so many things going on for her now, probably cannot start sleep training now also..sigh

Hi emmie,

Did the rashes appear after the fever subsided? if yes, then maybe its fake measles, will last for few days. But the best thing would be to call the doctor or nurse and check, to be on the safe side, and for peace of mind

hi emmie, yup, the rashes should appear after fever subsides. if both occur together, better check with doc.

i'm a mummy,

now that they're older, can try to talk reason to them. over the day, reinforce the message that they're now big boy/girl, n will sleep in own room. mummy/daddy will be around, will see u in the morning, etc. let them have their comfort toy/blanket. some crying is inevitable. though i agree it may not be a v good time for ur gal to start.

u can try reading up Dr Weissbluth's book. i think for kids beyond 2 years old he recommends the silent method, i.e. if the kid gets out of his room, bring him back without saying a word. this may happen many many times for the first few nights, but when the kid gets the message that getting out of bed will not get what he wants, he'll stop the action.

hi emmie,
if the rashes appear after the fever subsided then it's like what I'mAMummy mentioned. Shld be fine if you observed the rashes clearing batch by batch eg. chest one clearing, then move to feet then fading by night... usually takes abt 3days or so for all rashes to popup and clear.

re: mattress on the floor
he climbs onto our bed via that mattress.
this morning just before 7am he came in and climbed into our bed. But didn't go back to sleep coz sun rose liao.

applejuz,
u try b4 YLS catering? i think is quite cheap and value for money....but dunno the food good or not...

ling,
tatz why i dunno which one to choose....i have 3 catering in mind....neo garden (tried b4, not bad), YLS (heard from frenz, value 4 $) and Melrose (very cheap, S$13/- for 12 dishes, but dunno howz the food...)

thanks tingting/imamummy/cakey
the rashes only appeared after the fever subsided. WEnt to the doctor who confirmed that it's fake measles. But she didn't prescribe any medicine. Sure hope the rashes will fade away soon...looks like a case of bad skin problem...quite ugly.

re : sleep training
it will take a few days for the child to get the idea that they are supposed to sleep on their own. Can't expect them to be ok when out of a sudden you move them to their own room. My boy will walk over in the middle of the night and climb onto our bed as well. If really dog-tired that day, we will let him be. But we tend to carry him back to his own bed when he falls back to sleep. Will always have 'mishaps' but just got to be firm.

skippy,
i din try YLS before leh, but i think its quite popular in this forum too..

Neo Garden is very good & got discount if u r ordering for full mth or birthday. I ordered many times liao... tat's y wan to try new ones for Kecia's full mth..:>

emmie
my boy has been sleeping in his own rm since 2m old. those were the days.. before he learnt how to walk! kekekeke

i must be quite hard hearted then.. when zephan upgraded to normal bed, i actually pasted some foam tape along the closing side of the door so that there's more resistance and he can't open the door.. :p ok lah, it was initially meant to prevent him from locking himself in the room..

hi!!!!
thanks for all the wishes!! I am well and bb is looking fine. Will try to upload some pix when i sort out my "CL" issue.

So much for planning, and bb decided to come out on 31 Aug, just a day before Cayden's 2nd birthday. That meant that we got to change the celebration venue to mt e!

Pil wanted 6th sep, but on 30th, i got brown stain and light contraction. So we decided to bring forward the C-section date to 1 Sep (to coincide wtih gor gor's birthday). But on 30th midnight, i was woken up by painful contractions (now i really know how it felt like!) I kept going to the toilet as there was a feeling for a big time poo.

My hb was so in deep sleep that i tong till 5am, and then decided to wait him up. By 7am, (we took our time lah...) we reached Mt e and my dr did a VE for me (wow biang, no one warned me abt it!)No dilation, but contraction VERY CLOSE and show alot. Dr told me if natural, bb will be out by end of day, but fear that bb will be in distress as i have no dilation. So we just took him out at 8.31am on 31/8/2007. hehehe....I opted for epi-C....was a breeze except for the shivering which i hated most. No pain till today.

On 1 Sep, both my fil and my dad struck 4D-our ward no.

My milk came in pretty early this time, but it is dipping liao cos i have not started pumping to increase ss.

Cayden seems ok so far, except during sleep time. My helper picks up quite fast, so within 2 days, he is sleeping with her.....soon, he will be on his own when the CL is gone as i would like the maid to help me with the bb if my gina ford regime is unsuccessful.

RE: CL,
My original CL is not able to come so early. So she got me a stand-in who is indirectly or directly causing me more blues.....I am looking for someone to help me till next tues-10Sep. PLEASE let me know if you know of anyone reliable exp in bb care.........

hi aidanee
i hate the VE too... some people say not painful, ya right...

re: help for bb care
i guess all of us in this thread qualify.. hahahaha.

wendyg, my boy also been sleeping in his own room since birth. But his papa went to spoil market by letting him sleep in our bed. So there goes the peace/training! Actually I prefer them to be walking...cos otherwise i would be the one walking over to pacify him. At least now he comes to our bed on his own. I don't need to wake up. :p

Congrats aidanee!
Would your mum be able to help you in the meantime?

emmie, look at it the other way.. if u have to go over to pacify, u'll sometimes be too lazy/tired to go n he'll have the chance to learn to self soothe to sleep.. that's currently my case.. haha..

forgot what VE is like liao...

Aidanee,
wow, Cayven brings in luck hor!
Since already got contraction, why dun try normal delivery? take epi lor, no pain at all too..:p

So did Cayden sayang 'didi'?

Wendy,
i hate VE too! hi-5 man! Not painful only if u relax, but 1-yr no sex, how to relax... haha

applejuz
hey, i tried to relax ok. But it was still so dam painful. It's NOTHING like s.e.x. at all HOR!
alamak, u 1 yr 'vegetarian' ah, why hubby o'seas?

tingting, i also want him to self-soothe...he does most of the time... but cos hubby needs his beauty sleep, no choice but to go over if the little fella doesn't walk over on his own.

my mom will be a standby for Cayden (in case he falls sick in school etc) and if the new replacement is another imposter again (i just managed to get another one to stand-in)......i do not want to tire her out....all the changing n bending gonna hurt her back man!!!!

my mom also asked to stand-in for the 1 week, but i think i may also get "bluer" cos her rules are even stricter and she will nag and nag and nag........i used to get depression due to my mil's and mom's differing views and constant monitoring...now that i am on my own, i feel more relaxed. I think this is the reason y my milk came in so fast....hahahah...

applejuz,
we asked the midwife too...tot might want to try for normal, then got chance to ride over 1 sep (but who wants such a long labour?!!!!!) but my gynae said no leh...my cervix is hard like rock, he said. hahaha......

hi aidanee
Hehe, dun worry..10 sept will come very soon

Actually VE is not painful if the gynae is very experienced cos I went once for VE during my first tri with another gynae and it hurts!!But with my gynae is a total breeze so it really depends.

I think sleeping training lies primarily with the parents. Toddlers now are so smart, if they know that if they try hard enough and get their way, they will.

Besides the trip back from Barcelona which Anton climbed over the playard to look for me at 11plus pm... for 3 days and finally I managed to stuffed the supporting ledges that was aiding him in climbing over, he stopped doing it and knowing that he will never climb over, he decided to go back to sleep. So once he gets the idea that he cannot get what he wants, they will definitely go back to sleep.

triniti
and in the meantime, husband gotto bear with XX mins/ hrs of crying, which he can't.. and on the days when he's at home, most definitely he'll either rush in, or make me go in. Inconsistent. So the verdict is... i think this will carry on for another XX months & i just gotto live with it...

wendyg
But I think you should let ur hubby know that by doing that all the time, it will exhaust both you and him in the long haul. What happens if u have number 2 and if u are pregnant?
Its also good to have good sleeping habits right from the start...maybe should have a good talk with hubby re the future and not just the present

somehow my body got used to interrupted sleep since i was preg with isaac. Am i being too idealistic if i say that husband will handle isaac and i will handle #2? Or will everything fall onto me.... and will i get used to it...

i already told him, with #2, we're not going to rock bb to sleep anymore. All sleep problms will come to an end once isaac can sleep on his own thru the nite. For next one, will follow routine as much as possible, ensure bb gets enuf milk etc. Hopefully not as clueless as 1st time round. Hopefully 2nd time round more bm, so that bb dun keep waking due to hunger, so that easier for bb to settle to sleep. O'wise spend some $$ on infant formula to exchange for some sleep. also can la. hahaha
Last time i think was too insistent on TBF, i act hero and suffer and was bfg & pumping all the time, but still not enuf milk for isaac. So he might've been crying due to hunger, mayb he could sleep for long coz he got hungry so fast etc. So now, older and wiser, hope not to repeat same mistakes with #2.

hi wendyg,
Agreed with you.... my hubby frankly told me he (and elder kid) unable to support me well hence ask me to give in and dun be too hard to insist on BF and make everyone unhappy (all not enuff sleep, both big and small ones crying etc). Might as well spend the effort for adjustment/bonding/nuturing them which can also make them healthier and smarter. So in order to keep the harmony, I din insist on BF too much and things are more smooth lor...
But of course in the first place my supply is quite little lar, else should not have problem.

somehow i wonder if BF is the cause of it all, or is it just part of the problem. I think it'll help to manage expectations, be it on BF, sleep training, distribution of duties, etc., and not be too hung up about sticking to plans when things don't fall in place as you want them to.

so wendy, #2 coming up already?

cakey
mine ss also not up to standard, work v hard to build up. pump until backache, neckache, etc. Some people hv so much they just discard overdue ones, for me every drop so precious! It's my white blood...

tingting
#2... akan datang... wait lor.

yeah yeah, i second it too, formula milk to exchange some sleep.. :p
sigh, my ss oso very little. pump so hard oni get 40-60ml.
even if i latch until flat, bb still cry for more milk, end up still gotta give FM.
She's oredi drinking 110ml, now 4.5kg liao.

wendyg
thanks for your advise!!... at the end of a week, it's getting better but still cry when we leave... i used your "raisin" method... my son likes sweets.. so i will pass the teachers some sweets to give it to him when he started to cry real hard when i leave.... then i will hid outside the room to peep..... after receiving the sweet from the teacher.. still didnt stop crying.. but after the teacher opened the sweets for him to eat.. stop quite quickly after that!!.... hopefully can do away with this sweet tactic soon...otherwise i will hv the teeth problems to deal with later on!!.... anyway thank you so much for sharing...luckily i need not pull him out like your friend did

tingting
for my son saying bye bye to places & people with parents/caregiver around is easy but not saying bye bye to parents & be left alone at the cc.... hopefully he will be able to say bye bye to us without crying when we drop him off soon!!

I'm a mummy
hopefully your girl is coping well with the idea of going to cc

almcaleb.

after some time, my boy bonded with the teachers there n he was happy to go school n see teachers. glad ur sweet tactic works.. parenting is never easy!

Hi Skippy,
70ml before you latch or after latching?

This time, my ss seems better for a week old bb (compared to previous).....after latching on one breast (he lasts abt 3hrs), i can express abt 100ml. I suspect he is not drinking much too...maybe 50 or 60ml. cant tel cos i latch on all the time. have not offered bottle yet.

Last 3 nites, after last feed at 10.30pm (1 breast), he woke up only at 4plus am (last night or this morning 5.30am), took another breast for 30mins, and dozed off till 8.30am. I hope he will continue to be like tat.........

aidanee,
serious!!! tatz good man! i didnt pump out after he latched on. lazy.... i tried one time b4 he latch on, can only pump out abt 150ml...(after 3-4hrs...) i think it also depends...but seriously, tis time round i very lazy...plus, Kyrell got eczema...dunno wat i ate causes him rashes on the face...

skippy,
150ml is good too leh.for a less than a month old...y? you want 300ml? your breasts will be so engorged if you do not express rite? or u want to make mask? heheheh....

i m also abit lazier this time...or rather i am not so stressed in producing ALOT of milk. I think as long as it is sufficient. My bb is also small and dun drink alot....Dun think it is wise to stock up alot of frozen stock as i remembered the taste and smell is abit different...my cayden used to reject frozen ebm, got to top up with FM to sweeted the taste....

I am staying on my own now. So slightly more relaxed, and maybe that's y ss is sufficient for the bb at the moment.

Cayven is coming 2 weeks old end of this week. He also has alot of milk rash and milia. I think some are heat rashes too...hehehe...i have not bathed since ...just wash the private part and clean the breasts...YEEK! hahaha, i am pretty traditional in some ways.

He is still abit yellow...have been sunning him...now he is so red!

aidanee,
hur?!?!?! not bath for 2wks?!?!? haha...i shower after i came home...hee...(secretly.) cos really very sticky n feel so uncomfortable...

i also didnt stock up any frozen milk...

this thread has been pretty slow lately. is it because of the topic? sorry lah, kindda get carried away with the 2nd intruder.....

Gor gor Cayden has been a rather good boy these days....i feel so blessed. hope it will continue on........teachers also commented that he seems more cheerful last 2 weeks (he is on full day now), i guess the activities in school are great in working him out and so by the time he comes home, he is too tired liao...

skippy,
i have stopped stocking up frozen ebm after my boy seemed to have nipple confusion everytime after i expressed. the nipples went abit out of shape. so can u imagine if i offer teat, he will either reject me or the teat totally. so now he is on full latch-on.....tiring. he slept from 11pm to 6am this morning. phew.

For those on CC, do they provide some report/writeup in 1 or 2 sentences daily or weekly? Otherwise how communication to the parents are done (since might not be the parents who sent/fetch the kid)?

cakey, i'll receive a monthly newsletter to share what are the things the kids have learnt for the past month. there's also a communication book but not often used though. sometimes i also feel a bit uninformed abt his day, but as my main aim is for him to socialise and have a good time, i'm fine so long as he's happy to attend school. furthermore, he springs up a word/song/action now and then, so i assume he must have learnt sthing there!

Re: bathing & washing hair

this is kinda of a silly question, but Can ijust check, how often do you bathe your ds or dd in a day, and how often do you wash his or her hair? i bathe my girl twice a day (once after she comes back from school around lunch time, and once after dinner around 830pm) and i wash her hair with shampoo both times cause her hair will be sweaty or sometimes she's really messy when she feeds herself. But my mother and MIL are complaining saying that small kids cannot wash hair so often, not good for them.. and cannot wash hair so late at night. But have to wash her hair at night mah, how to let her sleep with sticky or unclean hair? help..

hi i'm a mummy
isaac showers twice a day, b4 12.30pm and abt 7.30pm. Both times wash using J&J Top to Toe Wash so that we dun hv to separate shampoo and body. His hair is short and easy to towel dry.

u due soon?

Hi Wendyg,

Due end october, counting down the days cause very uncomfy heh but i think once baby arrives, lagi stress

Your son so cute and cheeky in the photo keke which school is he attending now?

that time i was asking about starting pre-school..My girl's first week in school, she cried for a while first 2 days, then the rest of the week was fine. But the second week and this week, cling on to me like glue, and will cry for few mins when i drop her off. Tell me she doesn't want to go to school, will cry etc. but once i'm out of sight, she's ok. usually by the time i walk from the school to my car parked outside, she stopped crying liao. Think its for show, for me to see one sigh..she's super sticky, so i think every morning she must have a little mini drama for like 1 or 2 mins hehe once i picked her up, i was 'spying' on her from outside the gate, she was playing toys with her friends. When i opened the gate, she saw me, called out to me, then promptly open her mouth and started wailing/crying on top of her voice. stunned all her classmates and teacher. Think she crying for me to see..like blaming me, mummy why you leave me here! sigh, bully mummy..

i'm a mummy

harnor, the best is to deposit her and walk away. She recovers fast, and i dun think she will bear a lifelong grudge against u for leaving her in sch. haha.

we pulled isaac out of sch since Aug coz he kept falling sick. Anyway the reason why we put him there was coz my folks were taking a 2 month trip Feb-Apr 07, and after Apr since he adapted to the tchrs we thought let him continue. But when he kena HFMD 2nd time, we pulled him out and my folks took over. The ctr kept insisting he was the 1st case in sch (ie he didn't catch it fr there), and seemed pretty glad to let him suddenly stop classes without demanding any notice period. Maybe the principal scared he spoil the centre's reputation..

anyways he's gonna start half day again in Oct, and looks like he will go back to the same ctr coz that's most convenient for us to drop him off/ pick him up. Nearest my home. Hope this time wun fall sick so much.. been giving him vitamins. And since he's a bit older by now, hope he will observe basic hygiene eg WASH HANDS! haha.

i'm a mummy,

YC bath twice a day but only use shampoo in the morning. The evening bath is just water and even the hair, I use the towel to just wipe. Wonder if I am still bathing him like a baby hahahaha