Premature babies support group

During Vivian recent vaccine the nurse at the Polyclinic told us that it is better to take 5-in-1 with e hep b taken separately if baby is prematured. Anyone have any experience on this.

Mr Q> My twins had the 5 in 1 and Hep B separately. All done at KK Clinic K during their followup check ups. We didn't have to ask for it, I guess that's their normal procedure. Don't recall any bad reactions except once my girl caught a cold from the clinic visit itself.

Hi all preemie mummies, so long never log in to this thread!
Hope all the preemie mummies and daddies are fighting well.
My boy and girl twins are turning 1 yr old next week....FINALLY!

Hi Mr Q,

Welcome to the forum. I guess you are the 2nd daddy in this forum.(At least I not alone). As for feed, doc will have a formula to calculate during the hospital stay. Once back home, do try feed on demand. Give extra milk until your Vivan does not want. Then see how long Vivian can tahan until the next feed. Hope this help.

David, thanks a lot for e advice. There r so much for us to learn. Vivian has been putting on weight well. She was 1.21kg at birth, 2.1kg when she was discharged in end Apr. Now she is 3.55 kg. Just wanted to be sure we feeding her just nice.

Baby Studio having their warehouse sale from 2-4 June 11 at their Chai Chee showroom. http://www.babystudio.com.sg/ for those interested. Their baby wipes going for 4 value pack (1 value pack = 3 pack x 90 pcs) at $20. They also have strollers car seats cots etc.

Hi, I'm new to this forum, quite glad to find this.
I'm currently 27+2 preggie. Due to pregnancy complications, I might be delivering my bb girl next week or so.
We have bot a steam sterilser, breast pump and some milk storage bags. We will like to know what else we need to prepare for our preemie when she's in the nicu.
Is there any book or website which is complete, concise yet easy to understand?

Many thanks in advance.

Hi.. I have a premmie who's recently come home from KKH special care.
I realised that she doesnt cry much as compared to my first child who was a term baby. What was it like for you all when your premmies came home?
Also, did your premmies have prolonged jaundice?

hi, dewberry,

hw preemie was yr child?

was d starter of this thread and my kid was 24wk preemie and is now five yrs old...when he was in nicu/scn, the nurses commented that hes the baby who wun cry out for milk when hungry.....

but now hes as per normal, naughty and noisy...and turning five soon...when i asked the nurses do i need him to wake him up for milk when he was younger or need to feed him even thru tube when hes fast asleep..the answer was yes as he din noe hw to signal he wants milk...

but everythg is as per normal when he grew up...not particularly noisy or wat...

he had jaundice in hospital..stayed for five mths..but not sure if it was prolonged or not as he was ok when he went home..

Dewberry, hope that my answers which may not help to answer yr queries but do hope it helps to set yr mind at ease..

hi costa,
my gal though born fullterm also doesn't cry for milk or look for food when hungry. end up, we keep feeding until she vomits.

did your boy not vomit upon you feeding him, since he doesn't know how to look for food? is he able to express himself for hungry and look for food now?

hi dewberry, i think doesn't cry is not a common indicator for premmie, rather it may be the character that your child is of strong nature type.

my gal, born full term also does not cry like others since birth. today, i'm seeing her a strong character girl whom i think she's an independant sort. she may just cry less than a second if in pain, and that's it..to us parents, we may think it's an abnormal pattern but she seems alright and a happy going child always..

chalkey,

My son was tube fed...smhow the milk went in and he din regurgitate it out..

he din vomit mbe becuz we fed him in a few hours interval and when he drank by bottle, he really took a super duper long time to drink..can drink until fall asleep..and cant finish...

nows he five yrs old and he is very vocal and expressive and at cc now ...and he doesnt eat food and has oral aversion to some food which we told his childcare..juz today i was at his cc to celebrate his birthday early and i saw the long list that we gave his school...he wld vomit if hes asked to eat food that he doesnt like..

hes picky eater thats why vy thin....he wld express his wish to eat certain food like noodles, spaghetti etc thgs he doesnt eat, i really no choice like cakes, biscuits, cupcakes, pau and some goodies that kids like he cant take at all.....

think his digestive system is not very good, but smhow the docs never said anythg abt it...

hi costa,
description of your son sounds a bit like mine, whose very picky eater and very, very thin. my gal is 30th months only 11kg, 87cm. not gaining much since birth and frequent vomit. i think also has digestive prob.

anyway, did pd give your son any appelin to boost his appetite? is he on special milk formula cos nutren junior is not bad. it has 30% whey that helps in digestion and food absorption plus weight gain. my gal is on it. i recommend this over pediasure.

i'm sure you have similar headache as me for setting menu or types of food. what's your son's statistic now?

what i can see is, there are some similar behavioural pattern for both types of bb (premmie or full term who's born below 2.5kg)

chalkey,

my son is about 16 kg or so at the age of coming to five in end june....thk hes underweight??i gv him some appetite booster but smtimes give smtimes forget haha...height wise, he compares okay wif the rest of the kids..only thin..

he is on pediasure...nutren junior sounds familiar..can buy fm ntuc right? pblem he is very fussy..even if we mix other milk powder, he can taste it?so no choice stuck to pediasure..anythg he eats, he wld go and smell it first like a dog (hes born in year of the dog) and if dun like the smell, no way he wld eat..

u can call him strange, when we pass by bakery, he wld say very smelly and make noise...his nose very sensitive but guess this is perculiar to him and not any other preemie..

my mum does d cooking and she wld cook thgs that he wants to eat like noodles or wat ..if its left to me,i pbly give him a bottle of milk as i m very lazy haha...

Costa,

You are not alone. My boy also having the same problem. Extremely fussy with food. He is now 2+ only weight at 10.6kg. He is a preemie too born 1.1kg+. Just opp with Costa, he dislike soft text food like noodle, porridge, vermicelli etc. His favourite is biscuit, or anything with crunchy texture. He is currently on pediasure. Vomit very often, sometimes smell our food will cause him to vomit.

Chalkey, where to buy the whey? Is this recommended by doctor or dieticien? Any other benefit other than gaining weight?

Hi mummies. Thanks for ur replies.
My baby was born at 32 weeks plus..Discharged at 35 weeks, she's 36 weeks plus now.
No issues at birth but was in SCN for weight gain.

I wake her up for feeds every 3 hourly. Hardly any crying even when I oversleep alittle at night and feed her slightly later. So I'm just wondering if it's normal. My older child cried for milk, wet diaper or just no particular reason at all. So its a really huge difference. And I'm wondering if it's due to prematurity.

Oh yes, were your premmies quite sleepy too?

Her jaundice level does not require phototherapy but still need to for blood test regularly. They think it might be due to breastfeeding jaundice but don't encourgae formula as that might cause constipation..

julbee74,
My #2 boy failed his 1st hearing test at TMC on his left ear. We went to KKH ENT for 2nd opinion after a few mth later and he pass..

Costa,
Shake hand with u la.. Both my boys v v v picky on food too.. And they only luv junk food.. Headache when come to meal..

dewberry,
My #1 boy was born 1.5kg at 34wker. Discharged 21days later at SCN, same as ur gal, he has no issue except to gain weight during his hosp stay. Think the demanding for milk is depend on the bb not on whether he/she is a premmie. Cos my boy during infant time, he demand milk zhun zhun every 3hrly. And he didnt like to nap

treeice,
nice to see you here again!!!my son doesnt take burgers, maybe hard to chew only french fries and now he doesnt take also...sigh..school outings are nitemares if they bring them to fast food joints as he doesnt eat those fast food items like mashed potatoes...etc...and even those kfc pop corn chicken, the sch had a hard time convincing him to try..

angel,
*shake hands*..eating hard food is okay as it helps to develop muscles....i wish my son wld take biscuits too !!i really dunoe why his nose is so sensitive..even when i m eating bread he wld ask me to sit far away and scream that he cant stand the smell

dewberry
my boy didnt cry much too when in scn.. he was borned at 31weeks @ 1.62kg. the nurse did comment that the whole row of babies crying but he's not.. but mayb like wat chalkey say, he didnt cry or didnt cry for injection too..

chalkey/costa
my boy turns 2 today and he's a fussy eater too.. but somehow i tink becoz he dun chew his food so quite selective with food.. but now he's in childcare.. he quite ok with most of the food.. he's better with harder stuff now but cannot b too big piece.. i gave him pediasure too.. so far the dietitian say his weight gain is ok.. he's about 14kg and 93cm..

hi Mummies,

My boy is 30months now, only 10kg, 82cm
He didnt gain much weight too, for the past year, i think only 1kg ...sigh...

The thing is unlike u guys, my boy is not a picky eater at all. He has preferences over food, but he never refuses trying any sorts of food. He even loves eating carrot, veggie! His favorite food are fish, prawns, meat, noodles and like most kids, he loves cakes, breads, biscuits. He is on pediasure since 1 year old but it doesnt add any fat on him...

The only issue he has now is still constipation. we are really running out of ideas and energy to deal with it. No matter what he eats, the problem remains
Right now, we are giving suppository every 3 days to release if he doesnt poo on his own (which is most likely the case). I am very frustrated, but can only hope that as he grows older, it will get better..

But somehow, it's really weird to think that, since he eats so much, sleeps so much, and doesnt poo, where has the fat gone to?

Hi Jagiebaby,

My hubby is quite moderate size, 177cm, i am shorter 158cm. Dun think it's the gene...probably because he was IUGR last time. Doctor wasnt concerned about his size , since he was born at 650g, they said if you calculate the % he has grown, he is doing a good job already.. Well, thats a way to console myself too , haha.

Actually i m not longer too bothered about his size as long as he is healthy. But the constipation problem really gives me headache~

Nutren Junior can be found at shengshiong, ntuc, guardian, giant and all retail mart. the cheapest i can find is from pharmex (at kaki bukit or kembangan, u check its website). but, for pharmex, you need to buy a total amount of assorted items or milk for $200 to get free delivery.

i have tried my gal on pediasure (constipate and vomit instantly cos too thick). i called up nestle and they recommend my gal on nutren junior as she was having severe GERD, vomit plus not gaining weight. nestle explain to me that nutren junior has a good component of whey which helps in digestion and less constipated.

in fact, nutren junior is not that sweet and heaty vs pediasure. pediasure may have probiotic in it while nutren junior doesn't. probiotic can easily be fed via other sources. pooh is best texture on nutren junior or peptamen junior (both by nestle).

i have bought many can of 400gm nutren junior from pharmex. just an offer of thot:- if any mummies want to give it a try, can buy from me at the purchase price i got from pharmex which is $13.50 or just get from retail mart.

as for constipation, i have tried various methods to let my gal pass her stools..i found out that feeding her a quacker oats meal works wonderfully. you just boil quacker oats meal with ingredients or egg as a solid lunch or breakfast or teatime..your kid will sure pooh within hours.

my gal doesn't cry, sleeps little and eats very fussy. she's born 2.45kg full term but display characteristics as premmies too like bad vomit reflux and to-date, still doesn not know how to chew, bite and swallow. feeding and training her to eat solids is a chore rather than enjoyment..

lastly, those who are on pediasure or nutren junior will have to accept that your kids may eat lesser solids because these supplement drink is very filling (as it gives a complete nutrition diet and helps in gain weight). i had hard time feeding my gal solids when i first introduced her to this supplement drink. she will close her mouth and reject solids even at the 3rd, 4th or 5th hour.

You need to evaluate that it could not be your child's fussy eating but rather he/she still feels full. We finally brought her to see one of the PD whose specialised at gastro.. he told us to just feed nutren as night feed so that can last until next morning. on the morning, feed the usual milk formula (eg: friso, nan, etc) plus solids as per normal. Indeed, he's right. By adjusting the different types of milk feed, my gal can eat both solids and milk as scheduled time (although still fussy with a bit of appelin to help).

You may wish to look into balancing between feeding them a good nutritious solid meal vs feeding a supplement drink. In long run, a nutritious solid feedings may help while just supplement with once or twice of pediasure/nutren junior daily.

Hope above may shed some light to all.

I have to agree that preemies never seem to be hungry. If I can recall, Danya only cry 3 times in the past 2 year for feed.

Danya passed her IQ assessment in May. She is on par with the kid of the same age in term of understanding and responding to request. Very comforting is that her ability to verbalize is above average. Her growth has finally reaching the bottom 10%. She weighs in at 9.1kg and 79cm tall.

We were invited back to KKH for coffee afternoon in early June. The atmosphere was heavy at first. Half way through the sharing session, Danya started singing for the other mummies and daddies which give a brighter moment. I am surprise by Danya spontaneous singing but I have to admit that I am proud of my little warrior. She has overcome so much.
5605052.jpg

Hi Julbee,

Don't worry. The hearing test is accurated but also very sensitive which might give a wrong result. Danya only passed her test on the 2nd try.

david, cheeky picture of danya u have there!

jas, have i ever suggested Nan HA for ur boy? helps my gal with the constipation problem (but very stink)

re weight..my gal is 13+kg at age 4.5.... even 3 year olds are taller and bigger than her!

Julbee74
Yup, he passed the 2nd time but he went for another review dunno how many months after he discharge and the result is good..

Hi mummies.

Did your babies have to go through a cranial ultrasound too?
Mine did and apparently there was some bright spots. Doc mentioned it's quite common in premmies and should go away in time. Plus ultrasounds are not conclusive as well.
They said they will perform another one when the baby is at full term age.

Anyone know much about these cranial ultrasounds and what they mean? Can share your experience?

Hi Mummies and Daddy,
understand that quite a no. of the babies here are on pediasure. Does any of your babies here have problem with phlegm? My bb has a lot of phlegm. Not too sure whether it is caused by pediasure anot?

Hi David,
What is the IQ assessment about? Is it done for all premature bbs at 2 YO? Is it 2YO CA or AA?

Hi Drewberry,

Cranial scan is actually a brain scan. My girl did once during ICU day and another one when she was about 1 year old. Yap, my girl do have a white spot but Doc say it is ok.

Hi Maple,

My girl is on Pediasure. Yes, alot of phlegm. For whatever reason that nobody really know, formula milk will develop phlegm. But overtime, the phlegm will get lesser.

Hi Maple,

Premmie will have to go through an IQ assesment to gauge their mental development. This is done during CA 2YO. Just in case an early intervent for development is required.

Dewberry and mummies and daddy david,

good morning!!

dewberry, my son had his cranial ultrasound done...think it was an MRI done when he was in hospital...Reason being as preemie, some of them wld have bleeding in the brain and grade 1 is the most okay...grade 4 is the most jialut and siong one...

my son had grade 3....its smthg that cannot be reversed meaning a grade 3 cant get to grade one or two or four u get wat i mean?

but now hes a turning five year old child and has his own issues here and there but other than that, as a parent, i just worry smtimes for his development intellectually and physically..

hope this helps to answer yr question and for my son, mri was done when he was still in hospital rather than after discharge as it wd be troublesome to bring him back to hospital and then do the mri and also for hospitalisation charges, its better to do it whilst staying there..

hope that this helps..

maple,
my bb was on neosure and now pediasure...he has his ups and downs due to his lung issues but dunoe its due to milk powder or wat...

regardg iq tests, its only for extreme preemies below a certain weight(i cant remember what is the weight, i cant remember the exact criteria)..my son took the test when he was around two..so far okay and he wld be taking another one at age of 5.5 which wld be in five months time..

hope that this helps to answer yr queries..do post yr questions here and if anyway i can help to answer, i will help ..

cheers and have a gd day ahead

Thanks Jagiebaby n David for ur info.

My gal still in SCN.she still has 1 post feeding desat each day. Docs r testing her for prader willi syndrome..n her first hearing test failed.docs keep telling mi she is not normal as she is already full term n her coordination in feeding is still not there even thou SLT says she has improved Alot...

david
danya is so cheeky and so sweet...

dewberry
my boy went for the scan too.. he was grade 1..

costa/david
i bet ur really read up alot or the experience count.. my boy was preemie too but i dun seem to know alot of things like ur..

julbee74
ur gal went for how many test le? btw, wat is prader willi syndome?

jagiebaby,

thanks for your compliment, i will be so happy today hahah...super thick skinned..truth be told...hmm, actually alot of things i dunoe one, its that i hv to go thru and i got some nurses frens who teach me thgs along the way i guess..and when my son has to go thru all these tests, i hv to learn as well, wat to do??

jagiebaby, yr boy wasnt that preemie right? mbe that was why he doesnt nd to go thru so much things??

prader willi syndrome is as follows :

http://www.pwsausa.org/faq.htm

actually i dunoe wat is this also but so coincidental, i was at kkh last nite and discussing the different syndromes wif my nursing frens...

costa
my boy was borned @ 31weeks..he's lucky, he can breathe by himself on 3rd day.. but is the feeding cordination that made him stay longer in SCN loh..

PWS so chim.. dun even know got this kind of thing..

initially, i don't feel a need to mention that phlegm induced by pediasure but since someone brought it up, i should say there's likely a truth in it. the person-in-charge, mellissa at pharmex told me about this too, when i called her up to understand the pros and cons between nutren junior vs pediasure.

i urge you to give a call to melissa of pharmex at kaki bukit to understand these two products, then you should able to judge if need to give a try to the brand that i have mentioned above.

Hi Bloom/Jagiebaby,

Danya look cheeky by still skinny. Still need to puff up more.

Hi Jajiebaby,

I do read alot abt premmie condition and also learn alot from the Nurses in NICU and all the mummies in this forum.