SingaporeMotherhood | Family Fun

January 2021

13 Huat-some Qipao & Cheongsam to welcome CNY 2021, the Year of the Metal Ox

Who’s ready for a huat-tastic Year of the Ox in 2021? We are! And we’ve got the whole fambam dressing up for it too, with these CNY qipao, cheongsam, and dresses from homegrown labels to add welcome colour and cheer to the lunar festivities. Dads and little men aren’t left out; there are beautifully constructed shirts in local weather-friendly fabrics for papas, as well as darling rompers for baby boys. Last but not least: yes, matchy-matchy sets are still available if you’re thinking of having some #twinning fun with your little ones this lunar new year.

1. Charmed on 9th Ave

The CNY collection drops online at 9pm — TONIGHT — 4 January 2021! You read it here first! Grab them fast as these in-house designs are manufactured in limited quantities only. Expect qipao-inspired dresses for mums and girls, and matching shirts for boys. Stand out in the ‘angpow’-red Lorie Orient collection, or cut a muted (but no less striking) figure in the Starla Bloom Orient sets. 🛍 e-store

2. Chubby Chubby

Geometric butterflies, layered honeycombs, dance, and rainbow-hued sparkles make up the new exclusive signature prints in Chubby Chubby’s 20/21 festive collection. We love how they exude lightness and magic, blending hints of festivity with classic shapes. Think rompers for baby boys, bubble dresses for baby girls, midi dresses for mums, and linen shirts for dads. And because the prints are more about design than “dong dong chiang” (you know what I mean), each piece enjoys extended wearability beyond the CNY period! #win And oh, did we mention that they come in eco-friendly bamboo fabrics to ensure all-day comfort? Great for little ones with sensitive skins! 🛍 e-store

(See also: CNY Ang Pow Giving Guide: How Much to Give to Friends’, Colleagues’ & Neighbours’ Kids)

3. Le Petit Society

You don’t have to be a plant parent to love Le Petit Society’s new Blossoms of Hope range. They’ve even made the ox look good by interspersing motifs of it with foliage and spring blooms. So pretty! And nursing mamas, take note: the ladies tiered maxi dress in this range is breastfeeding-friendly. Another one on our want list? The ladies fitted dress, which boasts a figure-accentuating a fitted bodice, a mandarin collar, and a fun, flirty peplum hem. For something more traditional, mix and match pieces with Le Petit Society’s signature prints — the mandarin orange, lion dance motifs, pretty florals, or the quirky pompom ones. Top them off with matching masks too! 🛍 e-store| Stockists

4. Little Kooma

cny-cheongsam-2020-little-kooma

Fusing traditional details with quirky modern graphic prints, Little Kooma is especially popular with K-drama fans. Just take a look at the CNY collection for babies and children, and you’ll know why. While you’ll certainly find classic cheongsam cuts for girls and mandarin-collar shirts for boys, it also features a wide range of hanbok-style dresses. Psst… if your daughter is still obsessed with Elsa, she’ll love the Frozen-themed cheongsam dresses. 🛍 e-store

5. Little Qipao

Source

Happiness and Harmony take centrestage at Little Qipao, with strong colour themes in kungfu tops for boys and dads, and oriental-style dresses for girls and mums. Real men do wear pink here, and we love how they match so well with the girls’ and ladies’ dresses. For bright and breezy yellow with auspicious pineapple prints, check out the Affinity range. There are father-son, mother-daughter, and siblings’ twinning outfits too. 🛍 e-store

(See also: How to Spring Clean your Home with the Kids to Prepare for CNY)

:: NEW :: Love, Bonito

Love, Bonito’s Lunar New Year collection for 2021 has everything we love: colour, texture, and pretty prints. And that’s just the kids’ collection. For women, we’re lusting after the bold, romantic, and ruffled looks, but love the sleek shapes as well. Some of the styles are already sold out, so get your hands on the ones you like ASAP! 🛍 e-store

6. Maison Q

Can you guess which favourite children’s book Maison Q’s ‘What the Ox Heard’ collection is inspired by? It features the brand’s signature reversible wear for babies and kids from six months up to seven years old, and traditional-meets-contemporary styles for everyone else in the family (tweens to adults) starring line-up of lovable characters. If it’s too tough to choose just one design (from Fantastic Mr Ox, Lucky Cat, Flirtatious Peacock, and Pandamania) why not get them all? 🛍 e-store | Stockists

7. Miz Apparels

Source

Specialising in matching sets for mums and daughters, Miz Apparels offers a wide range of cheongsam for the girls. From classic looks to fun modern prints and lacy ensembles, there’s plenty to choose from. Designed in-house and made in Korea, you’ll even find unique hanbok-themed cheongsam dresses here! 🛍 e-store | #B2-13 Marina Bay Link Mall, 8A Marina Boulevard

:: NEW :: Oeteo

It’s not a Lunar New Year collection per se, but we think that this new limited edition capsule collection from Oeteo is quite perfect for the upcoming festivities. Named ‘Sayang Sayang’, it features locally-designed Peranakan tile prints on 100% cotton, in enduring styles that kids can wear beyond the CNY season including Oeteo’s award-wining EASYEO baby rompers, which use no snaps, zips, or buttons! 🛍 Till 21 January 2020 at Motherswork Great World City, and thereafter online at the Oeteo e-store

8. Peas n Plums

Mum, if you’re the kind who focuses on feasting (me too) then the peplum cheongsam tops here, which are wonderfully forgiving on food-loving bodies, are perfect for you. Made of 100% Korean cotton, these, like the matching qipao for girls and the shirts for boys, turn CNY-style into understated fashion-forward pieces that no one will mind wearing for special occasions throughout the year. 🛍 e-store P/S: Use the code “Motherhood&Peas” for a 15% discount storewide, including discounted items (but excluding masks and bags).

(See also: How to Survive CNY while coping with Fertility problems)

9. Pocketpig Diary

Their mission is to convey happiness for CNY 2021, so this year’s Pocketpig Diary collection features prints that will put a smile on every face. Think children playing at the dragon playground, friends and family spending time together, as well as their signature oriental and mandarin orange designs. We like-y! Mother-daughter twinning looks are available, as well as matching mandarin-collar shirts for boys and cheongsam dresses for girls. 🛍 e-store

10. Sea Apple

Source

Homegrown children’s clothing brand Sea Apple’s CNY 2021 collection has some of the most unique pieces we’ve seen, and in the most luscious fabrics. Take a look at the Secret Garden Modern Samfu and the Lace Cate Cheongsams for girls, and tell us if you think otherwise. The boys’ collection is just as stylish — we love the über cool Morris Butterfly Liberty Mandarin Shirt! Baby sizes (girls only) start from six months, while kid sizes go from 12 months to 12 years. There are to-die-for lace cheongsams for mums too, if you want to twin with your little princesses. 🛍 e-store | Stockists

11. The Elly Store

Source

For the first time ever, Elly has not one but two CNY collections, and there’s a story behind all the 15 prints in them! Follow them all on a trip around the world as influences from Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas blend in with CNY and Disney to create the most adorable outfits that demand a second (or more) look. Think Japanese kintsugi and Korean dancheong designs, Mickey Mouse meets martial arts, an Alice in Wonderland maze, and even Disney tropical prints for the wild at heart. Sizes for kids start from 3 months for babies, to 12 years for pre-teens. 🛍
e-store | Flagship | Stockists

(See also: How to Answer these 10 Nosy #NoFilter Questions during CNY)

12. The Missing Piece

Source
Source

With 2020 behind us, it’s “Time to Bloom” like this season’s TMP collection which is inspired by springtime and fresh beginnings. There are looks to covet, from family sets in the new exclusive TMP custom toile print inspired by Kampung Bugis, as well as ingenious new convertible numbers that boast removable sleeves(!). Similarly, find TMP signature-style cut-out dresses that separate into top and bottom for increased wardrobe versatility. Need something more to finesse your look? Take your pick from specially-curated accessories like statement earrings, porcelain hairpins, and embroidered headbands, then strut your stuff in the new limited-edition Peranakan-inspired beaded sandals. 🛍 e-store

13. YeoMama Batik

Their full collection isn’t online yet. However we’re already lusting over what we’ve seen so far, like the super adorable batik cheongsams for little girls. And I can imagine the Wushu Batik Wrap Top and Maxi Skirt having a permanent place in my wardrobe even after CNY. There are also traditionally-styled cheongsam and forgiving kaftan dresses to let us enjoy guilt-free feasting — love! Men and boys are not left out. They have a wide range of batik shirts to choose from. Check back for updates! 🛍 e-store

Your Qipao and Cheongsam for CNY 2021 — sorted!

If you enjoy dressing up for the lunar new year, why not try one of these qipao and cheongsam dresses? Get the matching fabrics in shirts for your men and boys too. Then everyone in the family can look ox-fully huat-tastic as you step into the Year of the Metal Ox together. Huat ah!

Featured image: Le Petit Society

All content from this article, including images, cannot be reproduced without credits or written permission from SingaporeMotherhood.

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Telegram for the latest article and promotion updates.

13 Huat-some Qipao & Cheongsam to welcome CNY 2021, the Year of the Metal Ox